لماذا نصوص مجموعة الأسرة تسبب القلق ، وكيفية الهروب منها

لماذا نصوص مجموعة الأسرة تسبب القلق ، وكيفية الهروب منها
ماتياس فرين / فليكر

لست معروفًا أنه من السهل جدًا الحصول على النص عبر النص. أنا أميل إلى الحفاظ على هاتفي صامتًا ، نظرًا لأن ping المرتفع لرسالة واردة يجعل خدعي متوترين من الرعب. أتمنى أن أتمكن من كتم صوت جميع إشعارات جهات الاتصال الخاصة بي - آسف ، أمي ، أبي ، وكل شخص يهمني ، ولكن التواصل معك يجعلني أشعر بالقلق بشكل لا يصدق. لكن من الواضح أن هذا غير ممكن.

ولكنني أقوم بصمت سلاسل الرسائل مع أكثر من ثلاثة أشخاص ، وأختار عدم المشاركة في سلاسل الرسائل تمامًا. إنها لفتة صغيرة ، لكن الانحناء عن هذه الأحاديث الطائفية يخفف من ذهني ، حتى لو شعرت أحيانًا بالراحة والوحدة - ناهيك عن أني مذنب بأنني جعلت عائلتي تشعر وكأنني مصدر إزعاج.

بعد أن وجدت أن تجاهل عائلتي من أجل سلامة عقلى يمكن أن يكون علاجا. يبدو أن الهواتف الذكية تسبب مشاكل أكثر مما تستحق ؛ فقد فتحت هذه الأجهزة عالمًا من الطرق الجديدة للناس (وليس العائلة فقط) لإزعاجنا.

واحد دراسة من جمعية علم النفس الأمريكية في 2017 وجدت أن التحقق المستمر من الرسائل الإلكترونية والنصوص يساهم بشكل كبير في إجهادنا الكلي. نانسي شيفر ، أستاذ الاتصالات في جامعة ولاية كاليفورنيا ، دومينغيز هيلز ، الأبحاث كيف يؤثر استخدام الهاتف المحمول على الحالة المزاجية لدينا ، ويقول إن كونك "متصلًا باستمرار" من خلال البريد الإلكتروني والنص والوسائط الاجتماعية يضمن أنك ستعاني من القلق. ويتخلل التشويش في حياتك العملية أيضًا: كما قال سكوت بيا ، وهو طبيب نفسي في كليفلاند كلينك في أوهايو الدايلي ميل في العام الماضي ، يمكن أن يؤدي التحقق المتكرر من إشعاراتك إلى انخفاض الإنتاجية بنسبة تقترب من 40 في المائة.

في بعض الأحيان ، من المستحيل تجنب النصوص من العمل ، ولكن يمكنك منحك الإذن لأخذ استراحة من الرسائل النصية مع العائلة. الكتابة ل علم النفس اليوم في 2014 ، قالت تيريزا دي دوناتو ، وهي عالمة نفس اجتماعية في جامعة لويولا في ميريلاند ، إن الرسائل النصية الثابتة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى "دورة من صيانة العلاقات المتنقلة" ، حيث "يبدأ الأفراد في الشعور بترابط مفرط" ، وربما ينتهك إحساسك بالخصوصية والاستقلالية. إن الفعل غير المؤذي للرسائل النصية يمكن أن يوتر الروابط الوثيقة بين الأحباء ، بل ويخلق مشاعر الاستياء تجاه الأشخاص الذين ربما يكون لديهم نية حسنة ، لكنهم غير مدركين لارتفاع حصيلة اتصالاتهم المفرطة على نفسيتك.

إذا كانت الرسائل النصية "بدأت تشعر بالإحباط ، أو المجهدة ، أو إذا كنت غارقًا أو محاصرين بها ، فهذا مؤشر جيد على أنك تحتاج إلى وضع حدود" ، أخبرني دانا جيونتا ، أخصائي علم النفس السريري في كونيكتيكت والشركة - كاتب ، مع دان غيرا ، من من التشديد على المركز (2015). وتلاحظ ، بالنسبة لمعظم الناس ، أن وابل الرسائل النصية يؤدي إلى إلهاء غير مرغوب فيه - حتى مزعج -. من شأن ذلك أن ينطبق على الرسائل النصية من أي شخص ، ولكن ما يجعله أكثر إحباطًا من العائلة هو أن التشتت يقترن الآن بشعور بالالتزام. هناك ضغوط للعودة إلى أحد أفراد العائلة وهذا يمكن أن يؤثر عليك أثناء محاولة إنجاز مهام أخرى.

إذا كنت تتلقى مجموعة من النصوص (غير الطارئة) من أشخاص محبوبين (على موضوعات تتراوح من ، دعنا نقول ، نميمة للعائلة إلى خطط زيارة أو انتقادات لأفلام) ، فستشعر على الأرجح أنك بحاجة لقراءة كل واحدة منها. تابع المحادثة. والنتيجة هي ما مارك دوبيك ، وهو طبيب نفسي في ولاية كاليفورنيا الذي كتب على نطاق واسع حول وضع الحدود، والسلوك الحازم (على عكس السلوك العدواني) ، يطلق عليه "عبء معرفي" قد تجد صعوبة في تحمله في خضم مسؤوليات أخرى. ومع ذلك ، فإن مسؤوليتك تجاه العائلة ستبدو حتمًا أكثر إلحاحًا ، وتثقل وزنك عليك ، أكثر من الآخرين. "العلاقات الأسرية مهمة بالنسبة لمعظم الناس وسيكون هناك دافع لمتابعة البروتوكولات الاجتماعية والاستجابة عند التساؤل ، مما يخلق شعوراً بالضغط قد لا يكون موجوداً في علاقة مع شخص غريب" ، يلاحظ.

Tهنا طرق لطيفة لتطرق موضوع الرسائل النصية دون الإساءة إلى عائلتك. قد يكون من الصواب أن تشعر بالغضب إذا تصرفوا كما لو أن الرسائل النصية هي دعوة مفتوحة للتواصل بلا هوادة ، ولكن من المهم ألا تهاجمك أو تستجيب عندما تشعر بالغضب أو الإزعاج. يوضح دومبك: "عندما يأتي الناس إلى منطقتكم ، ويكونون غير محترمين ، يحق لك الدفاع عن نفسك". "عدم مهاجمتهم ولكن للدفاع عن نفسك".

يقول لي ، إن ما يجب عليك فعله هو إلقاء بيان حازم. التأكيد هو "نقطة ارتكاز ، نقطة التوازن" بين العدوان والسلبية. لكن خلافاً للعدوان ، لا يجب أن يأتي التأكيد من مكان عدواني. عندما يتعلق الأمر بطلب العائلة بهدوء لوقف الرسائل النصية ، فهذا يعني أنك صريح وثابت. "يرجى النص فقط لحالات الطوارئ الحقيقية" هو نوع اللغة التي يقترحها.

في هذه الأثناء توصي Gionta بمقاربة أكثر لطفًا. لا يجب عليك مشاركة أنك تشعر بالإرهاق أو الإحباط بسبب الرسائل النصية ، كما تؤكد ، ويجب أن توضح أن خفض الرسائل النصية ليس له أي علاقة بمدى حبك للشخص المعني . قدّم سببًا غامضًا - "أجد صعوبة في مواكبة جميع الرسائل النصية ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي أتلقىها" - ثم تفاوض على إطار زمني للاستجابة يعمل على كلا الجانبين. جرب خطًا مثل: "أحب أن تبقى على مقربة ، لكن الرسائل النصية اليومية لا تعمل بالنسبة لي. هل يمكن أن نحاول مرتين في الأسبوع؟

من المحتمل أن يكون مواجهة المسألة أبسط جزء من هذا السيناريو. إنه رد الفعل ، والشعور بالذنب الذي تبعه ، والذي تبين أنه أكثر الإجهاد عاطفيًا. في الواقع ، قد يكون التفكير في التعامل مع النكسة من عائلتك كافياً لمنعك من معالجة قضية محبطة تمامًا.

"الحقيقة أن معظم الناس لا يعرفون إلا العدوان والسلبية ، ويفكرون في أي شيء غير سلبي على أنه عدواني ،" يقول دومبيك. "عند القيام بذلك ، فأنت تتخذ قرارًا: هل ستفعل ما تحتاج إلى القيام به للحفاظ على راحة البال لديك ، مما قد يؤدي إلى عزل الآخرين في نظام العائلة؟ كل ما تفعله هو قولك أنك ترفض أن تتعرض للإساءة لن يرى الآخرون ذلك بهذه الطريقة. يجب أن تكون على استعداد للوقوف على أرض الواقع ".

بينما لا نستطيع السيطرة أو التنبؤ بكيفية رد فعل الآخرين على أعمالنا ، تضيف جيونتا ، يمكننا التحكم في "كيف نعبر عن أنفسنا ومستوى الاهتمام والاحترام الذي نستخدمه". ما دمت تسجل قضيتك بهدوء وطيبة ، فلا يجب أن تشعر بالرضا تجاه شخص يشعر بالذنب ، أو يجعلك تشعر بالاضطرار للمشاركة في خيوط النص التي تشدد عليك.

يجب أن تشعر أيضًا بأنك قادر على تجاهل الناس تمامًا بالاستجابات السامة. يقول دومبك إنه في العائلات التي يشعر فيها شخص واحد بأن له سلطة على الآخرين ، "فإن أي تعدي على تلك السلطة سوف يكون عدوانيًا". قد يطلب منك هؤلاء أنك تبرر تصرفاتك أو تعرضك لما يسمى القرود الطائرة: أفراد العائلة الآخرون الذين تم إرسالهم لفحصك.

فلماذا ندعو الدراما؟ ألن يكون من الأفضل تجاهل الرسائل ببساطة ، دون أن تتحدث أبداً عن كيفية جعل كل واحدة جديدة تقترب من الذعر؟ يعتقد Dombeck أنها مسألة تستحق العناء لأن فرط إرسال الرسائل النصية يشير على الأرجح إلى نمط بينك وبين أفراد عائلتك. "إذا كان هذا يحدث في رسالة نصية ، فهو يحدث في جميع وسائل الاتصال. هذا ليس بعض السلوك الفريد المعزول. عندما تسأل: "هل هذا هو التلة التي سأموت عليها؟" عليك أن تفهم أن التل لا يقتصر على الرسائل النصية بل التاريخ الكامل للتواصل.عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

نبذة عن الكاتب

إليزابيث شيرمان كاتبة طعام وثقافة ظهر عملها المحيط الأطلسي و رولينج ستون ، من بين أمور أخرى. تعيش في مدينة جيرسي.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = تواصل أفضل ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Family Group Texts Cause Anxiety, And How To Escape Them

Why Family Group Texts Cause Anxiety, And How To Escape Them
Matthias Frenne/Flickr

I am not known for being especially easy to get hold of via text. I tend to keep my phone on silent as the high-pitched ping of an incoming message makes my cheeks flush with dread. I wish I could mute all my contacts’ notifications – sorry, mom, dad, and everyone I care about, but communicating with you makes me incredibly anxious. But, obviously, that’s not feasible.

I do, however, mute text threads with more than three people, and I opt out of family threads entirely. It is a small gesture, but bowing out of these communal conversations eases my mind, even if I sometimes feel left out and lonely – not to mention guilty that I’ve made my family feel like an annoyance.

Yet I’ve found that ignoring my family for the sake of my sanity can be therapeutic. Smartphones seem to cause more trouble than they’re worth: these devices have opened up a universe of new ways for people (not just family) to bother us.

One study from the American Psychological Association in 2017 found that constantly checking emails and texts contributes significantly to our overall stress. Nancy Cheever, professor of communications at California State University, Dominguez Hills, researches how cellphone use affects our moods, and says that being ‘constantly connected’ through email, text and social media guarantees that you’ll experience anxiety. The distraction seeps into your work life, too: as Scott Bea, a psychologist at the Cleveland Clinic in Ohio, told the Daily Mail last year, constantly checking your notifications can drop productivity by about 40 per cent.

Sometimes, it’s impossible to avoid texts from work, but you can give yourself permission to take a break from texting with family. Writing for Psychology Today in 2014, Theresa DiDonato, a social psychologist at Loyola University Maryland, said that constant texting can lead to ‘a cycle of mobile relationship maintenance’, in which ‘individuals begin to feel an overdependence’, potentially violating your sense of privacy and autonomy. The otherwise innocuous act of texting can then strain close bonds between loved ones, and even create feelings of resentment toward people who are probably well-intentioned, but unaware of the toll of their excessive communications on your psyche.

If texting ‘is starting to feel frustrating, stressful, or if you’re overwhelmed or trapped by it, that’s a good indication that you need to set a boundary’, I was told by Dana Gionta, a clinical psychologist in Connecticut and the co-author, with Dan Guerra, of From Stressed to Centered (2015). For most people, she notes, a barrage of text messages leads to an unwelcome – even distressing – distraction. That would hold true for text messages from anyone, but what makes it extra-frustrating from family is that the distraction is now coupled with a feeling of obligation. There’s pressure to get back to a family member and this can weigh on you while you’re trying to accomplish other tasks.

If you’re receiving a stream of (non-emergency) texts from loved ones (on subjects ranging from, let’s say, family gossip to plans for a visit or critiques of films), you’ll probably feel required to read each one to keep up with the conversation. The result is what Mark Dombeck, a psychologist in California who has written extensively about boundary-setting and assertive (as opposed to aggressive) behaviour, calls a ‘cognitive load’ that you might find difficult to take on in the midst of other responsibilities. Yet your responsibility to family will inevitably seem more urgent, and weigh heavier on you, than all the others. ‘Family relationships are important to most people and there will be a motivation to follow social protocols and respond when queried, creating a feeling of pressure which might not be present in relationship with a stranger,’ he notes.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


There are gentle ways to broach the topic of texting without offending your family. You might be right to feel irritated if they act as though texting is an open invitation to relentless communication, but it’s crucial that you don’t lash out, or respond when you’re feeling angry or annoyed. ‘When people come into your territory, and they are being disrespectful, you have the right to defend yourself,’ explains Dombeck. ‘Not to attack them but to defend yourself.’

What you must do, he tells me, is make an assertive statement. Assertion is the ‘fulcrum, the balance point’ between aggression and passivity. But unlike aggression, assertion shouldn’t come from a place of hostility. When it comes to gently asking family to stop texting you, that means being straightforward and firm. ‘Please text me only for true emergencies’ is the kind of language he suggests.

Gionta, meanwhile, recommends a gentler approach. You don’t have to share that you’re feeling overwhelmed or frustrated by the text messages, she emphasises, and you should make it clear that cutting down on texting doesn’t have anything to do with how much you love the person in question. Provide a vague reason – ‘I’m finding it hard to keep up with all the text messages and emails that I’m receiving’ – and then negotiate a timeframe to respond that works for both sides. Try a line such as: ‘I would love for us to stay close, however daily texting isn’t working for me. Could we try twice a week?’

Confronting the issue is probably the simplest part of this scenario. It’s the reaction, and the ensuing guilt, that turns out to be the most emotionally straining. In fact, the thought of dealing with blowback from your family can be enough to stop you addressing a frustrating issue altogether.

‘The reality is most people only know aggression and passivity, and they think of anything that isn’t passive as being aggressive,’ Dombeck says. ‘In doing this, you are making a decision: are you going to do what you need to do to maintain your peace of mind, which might alienate other people in the family system? All you’re doing is saying that you refuse to be abused. Other people won’t see it that way. You have to become willing to stand your ground.’

While we can’t control or predict how other people will react to our actions, Gionta adds, we can control ‘how we express ourselves and the level of consideration and respect that we use’. As long as you state your case calmly and with kindness, you shouldn’t feel beholden to someone who guilt-trips you, or makes you feel obliged to participate in a text thread that stresses you out.

You should also feel empowered to completely ignore people with toxic responses. Dombeck says that, in families where one person feels entitled to power over others, ‘any encroachment on that power is going to feel aggressive’. Those people might demand that you justify your actions or subject you to so-called flying monkeys: other family members who have been dispatched to check on you.

So why invite the drama? Wouldn’t you be better off simply ignoring the messages, never speaking up about how each new one brings you one step closer to panic? Dombeck thinks it is an issue worth addressing because an overabundance of texting likely points to a pattern between you and your family members. ‘If this is happening in text message, it’s been happening in all mediums of communication. This is not some unique isolated behaviour. When you ask: “Is this the hill I’m going to die on?” you have to understand that the hill is not limited to text messages but the whole history of communication.’Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Elisabeth Sherman is a food and culture writer whose work has appeared in The Atlantic and Rolling Stone, among others. She lives in Jersey City.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=better communication;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}