4 Gründe, die Menschen können nicht mit Standard-Facebook Quit

Kommunikation

fac4 Gründe, warum Leute Facebook nicht ganz verlassen können

Wenn Sie jemals darüber nachgedacht haben, Facebook zu verlassen, sind Sie nicht allein. Vielleicht hast du sogar deinen Account heruntergefahren und hast geschworen, nie wieder zurückzukehren, nur um dich eine Woche später wieder einzuloggen.

Eine neu veröffentlichte Studie in der Zeitschrift Soziale Medien + Gesellschaft verweist auf vier Themen, die die Chancen deutlich von der Rückkehr zu Facebook beeinflussen.

"Diese Ergebnisse zeigen, wie schwierig die täglichen Entscheidungen über die Nutzung von Social Media sein können", sagt Eric Baumer, ein Informatik- und Kommunikationswissenschaftler an der Cornell University.

Menschen, die Social Media verlassen und dann zurückkehren, was die Autoren der Studie "Social Media Reversion" nennen, bieten die Möglichkeit, besser zu verstehen, was auf dem Spiel steht, wenn Menschen Websites wie Facebook nutzen oder nicht nutzen.

Mit Hilfe von Befragungsdaten von 99daysoffreedom.com - einer Online-Kampagne, die die Teilnehmer dazu ermutigte, Facebook für 99-Tage abzumelden - setzten sich die Forscher mit denen auseinander, die das Versprechen abgegeben hatten, konnten sich aber letztlich Facebook nicht widersetzen.

4-Faktoren, die Menschen in die Falle locken

Wahrgenommene Sucht: Diejenigen, die das Gefühl haben, dass Facebook süchtig oder gewohnheitsmäßig ist, würden laut der Forschung der Gruppe eher zurückkehren. Ein Teilnehmer beschrieb diesen gewohnheitsmäßigen Aspekt mit den Worten: "In den ersten 10-Tagen würden meine Finger automatisch auf" f "gehen, wenn ich einen Internetbrowser öffne."

Datenschutz und Überwachung: Nutzer, die das Gefühl hatten, dass ihre Facebook-Aktivitäten überwacht werden, würden seltener zurückkehren, während diejenigen, die Facebook größtenteils dazu nutzen, zu verwalten, wie andere über sie denken, sich eher wieder anmelden.

Subjektive Stimmung: Gut gelaunt? Es ist weniger wahrscheinlich, dass Sie Ihr Versprechen brechen, von Facebook fernzubleiben.

Andere soziale Medien: Die Gruppe stellte fest, dass Facebook-Nutzer sich weniger wahrscheinlich wieder anmeldeten, wenn sie andere soziale Medien hatten - wie Twitter zum Beispiel. Diejenigen, die über die angemessene Rolle der Technologie in ihrem sozialen Leben nachdachten, würden eher zurückkehren. In vielen dieser Fälle kehrten die Nutzer zu Facebook zurück, änderten jedoch ihre Nutzung, indem sie beispielsweise die App von ihren Telefonen entfernten, die Anzahl ihrer Freunde verringerten oder die auf der Plattform verbrachte Zeit begrenzten.

"Zusätzlich zu den Bedenken in Bezug auf persönliche Sucht, die Menschen über Unternehmen nur ungern zu sammeln, zu analysieren und möglicherweise ihre persönlichen Daten monetarisieren", sagt Baumer.

"Allerdings Facebook dient auch zahlreiche wichtige soziale Funktionen, in einigen Fällen das einzige Mittel für bestimmte Gruppen bieten in Kontakt zu bleiben. Diese Ergebnisse unterstreichen die Komplexitäten in der Menschen laufend Entscheidungen darüber, wie zu verwenden oder nicht zu verwenden, Social Media. "

Das Team der Ergebnisse basieren auf mehr als 5,000 Umfragen Teilnehmer von Just ausgestellt, der niederländischen Kreativagentur, die die 99 Days of Freedom Projekt gegründet. Diese Umfragen wurden geschickt Teilnehmer an den Tagen zu projizieren 33, 66 und 99 und waren für jeden Benutzer die Stimmung in der gesamten Facebook-Entgiftung zu messen.

Eine Auswahl dieser Daten wurden dann gemeinsam genutzte mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Just und den Befragten-mit den Forschern.

Quelle: Louis DePietrio für Cornell University

Bücher zum Thema:

Kommunikation
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

4 Reasons People Can’t Quite Quit Facebook

fac4 Reasons People Can’t Quite Quit Facebook

If you’ve ever thought about quitting Facebook, you’re not alone. Maybe you’ve even shut down your account, swearing never to return, only to log back in a week later.

A newly published study in the journal Social Media + Society points to four themes that significantly influence the odds of returning to Facebook.

“These results show just how difficult daily decisions about social media use can be,” says Eric Baumer, an information science and communication researcher at Cornell University.

People who leave social media and then return, what the study authors term “social media reversion,” provide the opportunity to understand better what’s at stake when people use—or don’t use—sites like Facebook.

Using survey data provided by 99daysoffreedom.com—an online campaign that encouraged participants to log off Facebook for 99 days—the researchers homed in on those who made the pledge but ultimately couldn’t resist Facebook’s allure.

4 Factors That Keep People Hooked

Perceived addiction: Those who feel that Facebook is addictive or habitual were more likely to return, according to the group’s research. One participant described this habitual aspect by saying, “In the first 10 days, whenever I opened up an internet browser, my fingers would automatically go to ‘f.'”

Privacy and surveillance: Users who felt their Facebook activity was being monitored were less likely to revert, while those who use Facebook largely to manage how other people think of them are more likely to log back in.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Subjective mood: In a good mood? You’re less likely to renege on your pledge to stay off Facebook.

Other social media: The group found that Facebook users were less likely to log back in if they had other social media outlets—like Twitter, for instance. Those who reflected on the appropriate role for technology in their social lives were more likely to revert. In many of these cases, people returned to Facebook but altered their use, for example, uninstalling the app from their phones, reducing their number of friends, or limiting the amount of time spent on the platform.

“In addition to concerns over personal addiction, people are reluctant about corporations collecting, analyzing, and potentially monetizing their personal information,” says Baumer.

“However, Facebook also serves numerous important social functions, in some cases providing the only means for certain groups to keep in touch. These results highlight the complexities involved in people’s ongoing decisions about how to use, or not use, social media.”

The team’s findings are based on more than 5,000 surveys issued to participants by Just, the Dutch creative agency that founded the 99 Days of Freedom project. These surveys were sent to project participants on days 33, 66, and 99 and were intended to gauge each user’s mood throughout the Facebook detox.

A sampling of this data was then shared—with permission from Just and the survey respondents—with the researchers.

Source: Louis DePietrio for Cornell University

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=quitting facebook;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…