اختيار لتصبح شيخ حكيم

اختيار لتصبح شيخ حكيم

عندما كان الناس يعيشون في المجتمعات الصغيرة والقرى، فإنهم غالبا ما يشعر شعورا اتصال إلى الماضي الذي يسمو أفعالهم وغرس الشعور التقدير لأولئك الذين اجتازوا على التقاليد. وكان رجل واحد ليس مجرد صياد من تلقاء نفسه، تحت رحمة العناصر ومصير. كان واحدا من سلسلة طويلة من الصيادين، تواجه نفس الصعوبات وتعاني من نفس الانتصارات على أنها أسلافه. قدمت هذه النسب الشعور المقدس لأعمال اليومية، وقدم السياق لتفسير الخبرات الفردية.

وكانت هناك قوة لا يصدق أن تستمد من الذين يعيشون في عالم واحد حيث لم نشعر بأننا وحدنا. كان هناك قوة في معرفة ذلك، بالإضافة إلى كونه جزءا من عائلة وقرية، كان واحدا أيضا حلقة هامة في سلسلة طويلة وقوية، ودون انقطاع، وتمتد إلى الخلف والأمام في الوقت المناسب.

أسئلة من قبيل "ما هو معنى كل ذلك؟" و "هل حياتي تقديم أي نوع من الفرق إلى أي شخص؟" من المستبعد جدا أن تنشأ. كان من الواضح أن كل فرد ما هو الدور الذي لعبه في ثقافته. كان واضحا بنفس المقدار مدى صعوبة أن يكون للجميع إذا كان شخص ما فجأة غير قادرة على الوفاء له أو لها وظيفة بعد الآن. الجميع يعتمد على الجميع، والجميع يعتمد خصوصا على حكمة الشيوخ، لأنهم هم الذين كانوا يعيشون لفترة كافية ورأينا ما يكفي ليكون مستعدا لأي شيء تقريبا.

الغرض إلى النصف الثاني من الحياة

كارل يونغ كتب ذات مرة: "إن إنسان بالتأكيد لن تنمو لتكون سبعين أو ثمانين سنة إذا كان هذا لا معنى لطول العمر للجنس البشري ... وبعد الظهر من حياة الإنسان يجب أن يكون له أهمية خاصة به ولا يمكن أن يكون مجرد أطرافهم يرثى لها حتى صباح الحياة ". بعد واحد قد خلق مهنة، ربما أثارت الأسرة، ودفع المستحقات للمجتمع، يجب أن يكون هناك بعض الأغراض إلى النصف الثاني من الحياة.

وكانت شيوخ الثقافات القديمة وحفظة السلام. الرجال من أواخر سن المراهقة إلى مرحلة البلوغ غالبا عرض السلوك العدواني، ولكنه كان كبار السن من الرجال، والشيوخ، الذين تبرأ من العدوان والاستفزازات تجنبها، وتشجيع السلام. شيوخ التصدي للنزعات صراخ الشباب مع التوازن والعقل. لقد فقدنا هذا التوازن الصحي.

أولياء الأمور من الحكمة المقدسة

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، في الثقافات القديمة شيوخ كانوا أولياء الأمور من الحكمة المقدسة وأسرار الداخلية. تقليديا، مرة واحدة للفرد قد انتهت من سنوات الإنجاب ومنتجة جسديا، وقال انه أو انها يمكن ان تتحول بعد ذلك له أو لها الطاقات نحو الداخل إلى عالم روحي. لهذا السبب كانت قد وضعت التراث الروحي وتركة من قبيلة على أكتاف الشيوخ للحفاظ على لأجيال أخرى.

كانت وظيفة من شيوخ وحفظة الذاكرة من قبيلة أساسي لبقاء المجتمع كله. دون ذكريات سباق ليس له مستقبل. على سبيل المثال، وشيوخ قد عاشوا خلال الجفاف الكبير الذي حدث قبل خمسين عاما. كانوا يعرفون ما كان ينبغي القيام به من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة مثل هذه الكارثة. حياة المجتمع بأكمله يتوقف على مثل هذه المعرفة، والمهارة والحكمة من هؤلاء الشيوخ.

مكان الشيوخ في ثقافة السكان الأصليين

مؤخرا، تحدثت إلى صديقي Nundjan Djiridjakin (كين Colbung) عن المكان من شيوخ في ثقافته. Nundjan هو زعيم عشيرة ذكر كبار من الاسترالية Bibulmun قبيلة من السكان الأصليين، وتعمل بنشاط مع الجهود الرامية إلى صون وتجديد الممارسات الثقافية للسكان الأصليين في صفوف الشباب. انه يشع الدفء، والقوة، والانفتاح، جنبا إلى جنب مع مصدر قلق حقيقي لشعبه. قال:

في تقاليدنا، تم تكريم شيوخ لأنهم كانوا هم الذين لديهم المعرفة. منذ فترة طويلة لم يكن هناك معرفة المكتوبة. مررنا على قوانيننا ومعارفنا من خلال التقاليد الشفوية. وكان الناس القديمة أمناء على هذا. وكانوا هم الذين عاشوا لفترة أطول وشهدت أكثر الأشياء. كانوا يعرفون ما يجب القيام به إذا جاء عاصفة كبيرة أو شيء من هذا القبيل. وكانوا هم الذين لديهم إجابات. ترى، ربما كان من مائة سنة منذ هذه عاصفة كبيرة أو الجفاف قد حان. وهؤلاء هم الناس الذين لديهم المعرفة في هذا المجال. لا أحد كان عليه. أنت لا يمكن أن مجرد الحصول على المعلومات من كتاب؛ كان عليك أن تحصل عليه من واحدة من تلك القديمة. ذلك حيث ان احترام جاء فيها.

كثير من الناس يشعرون عدم وجود اتصال والمعنى في الحياة ويتوقون شعوريا عن الشعور بالانتماء الذي كان جزءا لا يتجزأ من المجتمعات أجدادهم. بالنسبة للبعض، هذا بحاجة إلى الانتماء إلى مجموعة هو ببساطة غير ممكن في إطار أسرهم مجزأة الخاصة. هذه الحقيقة ربما تفسر شعبية عبادة من نوع الديانات والمجموعات التي لديها قواعد صارمة في كثير من الأحيان والحد جدا التي تحكم سلوك أتباعها.

قد يتساءل المرء لماذا يريد اي شخص ينتمي الى هذه المجموعة، نظرا لتقليص كبير من الحرية الشخصية. يبدو من المرجح أن الأعضاء لا تنجذب كثيرا إلى إجراءات صارمة والتحريم كما أنهم على استعداد لتحمل هذه القيود من أجل التمتع الشعور بالانتماء إلى مجتمع قوي.

البحث عن الشعور بالانتماء

اختيار لتصبح شيخ حكيموالبعض منا لم يذهب أبعد من ذلك للانضمام إلى عبادة، ولكننا مع ذلك مواصلة البحث عن شيء يمكن أن توفر لنا مع أن الشعور بالانتماء إلى المثل الأعلى الذي هو أكبر من أنفسنا. نحن نتوق لشيء نحن اصدق في والتي يمكن أن نعطي قلوبنا. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، ونحن نبحث عن الموجهين، والناس الذين ساروا أمامنا والذي يمكن أن تشترك حكمتهم معنا. نحن نتوق للشيوخ. وكأن، على بعض العميق، ومستوى اللاوعي، ونحن بحاجة إلى إعادة خلق تجربة الانتماء إلى قبيلة.

هذه الأشواق مفهومة تماما وطبيعية. فهي جزء من تراث البشرية. وللأسف، فإن الثورة الصناعية وتيرة سريعة بشكل لا يصدق من التغيير، الذي هو جزء لا يتجزأ من الحياة العصرية، قد تمزقت بمعنى الاستمرارية التي هي حقا مكتسبا لدينا والإنسان العاقل.

الأجداد والناس قديم الأخرى في المجتمع

عندما ننظر إلى أجدادنا وكبار السن الأخرى في المجتمع، ونحن في حالات كثيرة جدا وتجد أنها لا الأفراد النبيلة الذين نجوا من ويلات الزمن والمآل والذين يحملون حكمتهم مثل جوهرة ثمينة داخل أنفسهم. بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر ويثبط كبار السن شعبنا، وليس خلافا لنا - الناس الذين قد أصبحت أقل حكيمة وقوية في نهاية حياتهم بسبب شعورهم بأنهم غير مجدية وغير محترمة.

ونحن قد طويلا لتكون قادرة على تحويل لشيوخ ويكون لهم مساعدتنا في العثور على طريقنا. ومع ذلك، فإن واقع الحال هو أن تم طمس هذا الدور في ثقافتنا على مدى القرن الماضي، ونتيجة لذلك، لدينا كبار السن هم أكثر حكمة من لا نحن. ربما لديك رائعة عمة مايو تنفق كل يوم في مشاهدة المسلسلات، وبدلا من أن يكون الأكبر التبجيل، وقالت انها لديها فهم أقل مما تفعله. هذه هي مأساة.

هذه المشكلة التي قد يبدو سوى جزء صغير من أشياء كثيرة خطأ واضح مع عالمنا، هو في واقع الأمر كبيرة جدا.

إعادة establising اتصال مع أسلافنا

الاتصال مع ماضينا، مع أجدادنا، ومع الشيوخ الذين قد يكون لا يزال على قيد الحياة في عائلاتنا يمكن أن توفر لنا بشعور من الاستمرارية الحقيقية التي يمكن أن تقوينا في عصرنا من الشك وصعوبة. ومع ذلك، فقد تم تحطيم هذا الارتباط من التغييرات الهائلة التي تحدث في عالمنا. هناك المتصدع، وجود شرخ خطيئة، في خط يربط ماضينا إلى مستقبلنا، ونحن غادر فقدت والحنين إلى شيء ليس لدينا ذاكرة واعية من فقدان.

وأعتقد أن إعادة تأسيس الشعور اتصال أجدادنا هي مهمة البطولية التي تواجهنا في هذه المرحلة في الوقت المناسب. إنها مهمة التي تم عرضها على جيلنا من الوفاء. على المحك يكمن ليس فقط لدينا الشفاء الشخصية والعائلية ولكن أيضا الشفاء من كوكبنا.

تحويل الشيوخ إلى الحكماء

أهمية هذه المهمة هائلة. ومع ذلك، نحن لسنا بحاجة ليشعر بالإرهاق. نحن قد لا تكون قادرة على تحويل فورا شيوخ ونحن نعلم في تلك الحكمة التي يمكن أن تساعدنا في العثور على طريقنا، ومع ذلك هناك خطوات التحويلية التي يمكن أن نتخذها في هذا الاتجاه. هناك الإجراءات التي يمكن أن نتخذها الآن والتي سوف يكون لها تأثير النفوذ ليس فقط على حياتنا، ولكن أيضا على حياة أولئك الذين سوف يتبعنا.

الأبسط والأكثر منطقية مكان للبدء هو مع نفسك. لماذا؟ لأن لديك أكثر قوة على نفسك. حتى تتعلم لاستخدام هذه السلطة بشكل كامل، فلن تكون على استعداد للتحرك للخروج الى العالم معها. ننظر إلى الحياة لديك وأين يتجه وتخيل نفسك في سن الشيخوخة. ما هي الخيارات التي تبذل الآن من شأنها أن تزيد حكمتكم والسلطة؟ هي حياتك من فائدة لأولئك الذين سوف تتبع لكم؟ وسوف أي نوع من المسنين أن تكون؟ كيف يمكنك المساعدة في الاسهام في إحساسنا اتصال مع بعضها البعض؟

كنت شيخ تطور

حقيقة الأمر هي أن كنت بالفعل أحد شيوخ في نواح كثيرة، أحد شيوخ المتطورة. هناك مناطق في حياتك حيث كنت قد تعلمت دروسا قيمة التي ساعدت لك البقاء على قيد الحياة. نلقي نظرة على هذه. مراقبة لهم، ومن ثم تكريم أهمية كانوا قد تعرضوا في صنع حياتك الخاصة وحياة من حولك أفضل. لا أحد يصبح شيخا في كل مرة. كل اختيار تقوم بها، كل انتصار صغير يمكنك تحقيق في العملية الجارية لقمة العيش، يزيد متجر الشخصية من حكمة ويجعلك عضوا أكثر قيمة من مجتمعك.

ما جعل شيوخ لا تقدر بثمن لمجتمعاتنا الأجداد مخزن العظمى من الحكمة التي كانوا قد جمعوا خلال حياتهم طويلة. أنت الآن في عملية بناء تلك مخزن من المعرفة والخبرة في الوقت الحالي. بل هو مسؤولية كبيرة وهامة للغاية.

عندما كنت تعيش حياتك مع الرعاية والشعور بالارتباط مع الآخرين، وسوف تجد أن الآخرين سوف تتحول إليكم طلبا للمساعدة ورأيك. هذا هو علامة على ان كنت قد بدأت لتعمل بوصفها الأكبر في دائرة عائلتك والمدرسة والكنيسة، أو أيا كان تعريف كما مجتمعك. نحن ننتمي إلى العديد من الدوائر المختلفة، وبعضها تتداخل. إيلاء الاهتمام لمكانك في كل من هذه، فضلا عن كونه على بينة من نمط أكبر من حياتك كلها وما هو الدور الذي يمكن أن تقوم به باعتبارها الأكبر.

اختيار لتصبح شيخ حكيم

اختيار لتصبح شيخ حكيمعن طريق اختيار لتصبح شيوخ الحكمة، ونحن في الواقع إصلاح وإعادة إنشاء استمرارية descendance. كما أصبحنا شيوخ، وهذا يبدأ في استعادة المسار الذي تم تناقلها لنا من أجدادنا. يصبح الاكبر هو مهمة مقدسة التي يمكن أن تضفي معنى على جميع جوانب الحياة، من الاحتفالات والانتصارات لأوقات الشدة والهزيمة.

طرح الأسئلة نفسك مثل "ماذا يمكنني أن نتعلم من هذه التي يمكن أن تكون ذات قيمة لشخص آخر؟" أو "كيف أستطيع أن أشرح كيف وصلت خلال هذا الوقت الصعب في هذه الطريقة التي هي مفيدة لأحفادي؟" يمكن أن توفر لك مع أداة فريدة من نوعها لا تقدر بثمن لوالفرز من خلال خبراتكم. ويمكن ان تجعل الإجراءات اليومية الخاصة بك، حتى أكثرها دنيوية وهام ومقدس.

تكريم "صاحبة أفضل" في بلدان أخرى

مرة كنت قد قدمت التزاما لتصبح الأكبر من الحكمة، يمكنك أن تبدأ في تكريم وزراعة هذه الشرارة في كل من حولك، وخاصة القديمة. جميع البشر لديهم القدرة على أن تكون أفضل الذاتي. كل منا لديه بذور نعمة، والرحمة، والحكمة، والحب في داخلنا. كل ما نتوقع أن يحدث في الحياة تميل إلى أن تصبح ما نواجه، لذلك عندما اخترت لإشعار والرد على طبقة النبلاء في تلك حولك، هناك احتمال أكبر بكثير وهذا هو ما سوف تجد في نفوسهم.

ربما جدك هو سريع الغضب هو في الأساس ورجل أناني. بواسطة الاعتقاد بأنه هو أيضا قادرة على أكثر من ذلك بكثير، وخلال معرفة أن كانت هناك لحظات رائعة في حياته حيث يتجلى العطف والرحمة، كنت مساعدته ليصبح الأكبر من الحكمة التي تحتاجها له أن يكون. ويساعد هذا أيضا غرس داخل محيط شاسع من الوعي الجماعي فكرة تقييم كبيرنا لحكمتهم. وذلك سوف يأتي ليكون. الأفعال الفردية الصغيرة لديها وسيلة ليكتسب زخما حتى هم الأقوياء، والحركات لا يمكن وقفها.

بخطوات صغيرة في الاتجاه الصحيح

وفي مواجهة التحديات الهائلة التي تواجه عالمنا، فمن السهل أن تسحقها ومليئة اليأس. ومع ذلك، ونحن نبدأ لإصلاح الصدع الذي يفصل بيننا وبين ماضينا، ونحن يمكن أن تأتي أيضا أن ندرك أن كل ما علينا القيام به هو اتخاذ خطواتنا صغيرة خاصة بهم في الاتجاه الصحيح. وهذا هو فعل كل أسلافنا. أنها لم تحقق كل شيء دفعة واحدة، وأخذوا، والإجراءات الفردية الصغيرة، الأمر الذي جعل جماعي مساهمة في المستقبل.

في وقتنا على الأرض، ونحن بحاجة فقط القيام بدورنا وتمر على الشعلة من أفضل جهودنا وآمالنا أعلى للجيل القادم لأنها تمر الشعلة إلى الذين يلونهم. هذه هي قوة الأجيال.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر. جميع الحقوق محفوظة.

المادة المصدر

مقدس الموروثاتالموروثات المقدسة: شفاء ماضيك وخلق مستقبل إيجابي
بواسطة دنيس لين.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب

نبذة عن الكاتب

دنيس ليندنيس لين هو محاضر دولي، معالج، ومؤلف كتاب في طليعة حركة فنغ شوي في الولايات المتحدة،. أوروبا، وأستراليا. انها هي الرائدة المعترف بها في الفضاء حركة المقاصة التي اكتسبت شعبية كبيرة جدا في جميع أنحاء العالم. كتاب ذائع لها، مقدس الفضاء، وقد ترجمت إلى لغات 12. وقالت انها هي المنشئ للمحاذاة الداخلية فتحا؟ فنغ شوي ونظام المقاصة الفضاء، ومؤسس محاذاة الداخلية؟ معهد، الذي يقدم دورة الشهادات المهنية وورش عمل في نهاية الأسبوع. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في www.deniselinn.com.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Choosing to Become a Wise Elder

Choosing to Become a Wise Elder

When people lived in small communities and villages, they often felt a sense of connection to the past that ennobled their acts and instilled a sense of appreciation for those who had passed on the traditions. One man was not just a hunter out on his own, at the mercy of the elements and fate. He was one of a long line of hunters, facing the same difficulties and experiencing the same triumphs as his ancestors. This lineage lent a sense of the sacred to everyday acts and gave a context for interpreting individual experiences.

There was incredible strength to be derived from living in a world where one didn't feel alone. There was power in knowing that, in addition to being a part of a family and a village, one was also an important link in a long, strong, and unbroken chain, extending backward and forward in time.

Questions such as "What is the meaning of it all?" and "Does my life make any kind of difference to anyone?" were very unlikely to arise. It was obvious to each individual what role he played in his culture. It was just as obvious how difficult it would be for everyone if someone suddenly was unable to fulfill his or her function anymore. Everyone depended on everyone else, and everyone depended especially on the wisdom of the elders, because they were the ones who had lived long enough and seen enough to be ready for almost anything.

Purpose to the Second Half of Life

Carl Jung once wrote: "A human being would certainly not grow to be seventy or eighty years old if this longevity had no meaning for the human species... The afternoon of human life must have a significance of its own and cannot be merely a pitiful appendage to life's morning." After one has created a career, perhaps raised a family, and paid dues to society, there must be some purpose to the second half of life.

The elders of ancient cultures were the peace-keepers. Men from their late teens into adulthood often displayed aggressive behavior, but it was the older men, the elders, who abjured aggression, avoided provocations, and encouraged peace. The elders countered the brash tendencies of the young with balance and reason. We have lost this healthy balance.

Guardians of Sacred Wisdom

In addition, in ancient cultures the elders were the guardians of sacred wisdom and inner mysteries. Traditionally, once an individual had completed the childbearing and physically productive years, he or she could then turn his or her energies inward to the spiritual realm. For this reason the spiritual heritage and the legacy of the tribe were laid on the shoulders of the elders for preservation for further generations.

The function of the elders as the Keepers of the Memory of the tribe was essential to the survival of the whole society. Without memories a race has no future. For example, the elders may have lived through a great drought that occurred fifty years before. They knew what had to be done in order to survive such a disaster. The lives of the entire community depended upon such knowledge, and the skill and wisdom of these elders.

The Place of Elders in Aboriginal Culture

Recently, I talked to my friend Nundjan Djiridjakin (Ken Colbung) about the place of elders in his culture. Nundjan is the senior male clan leader of the Australian Bibulmun Aboriginal tribe and is actively involved with efforts to preserve and renew Aboriginal cultural practices among the young. He radiates a warmth, strength, and openness, combined with a genuine concern for his people. He said:

In our tradition, the elders were honored because they were the ones who had the knowledge. Long ago there was no written knowledge. We passed on our laws and our knowledge through the oral tradition. And the old people were the keepers of this. They were the ones who had lived longer and experienced more things. They knew what to do if a big storm came or something like that. They were the ones who had the answers. See, it might have been a hundred years since such a big storm or drought had come. And these were the people who had the knowledge in that area. No one else had it. You couldn't just get the information out of a book; you had to get it from one of the old ones. So that's where the respect came in.

Many people feel a lack of connection and meaning in life and subconsciously yearn for the sense of belonging that was an integral part of their ancestors' communities. For some, this need to belong to a group is simply not possible within the context of their own fragmented families. This fact probably accounts for the popularity of cult-type religions and groups that often have strict and very limiting rules governing the behavior of their adherents.

One may wonder why anyone would want to belong to such a group, given the large curtailment of personal freedom. It seems likely that members are not so much attracted to the rigid routines and proscriptions as they are willing to endure these restrictions in order to enjoy the sense of belonging to a strong community.

Searching for a Sense of Belonging

Choosing to Become a Wise ElderSome of us would never go so far as to join a cult, but we nonetheless continue searching for something that can provide us with that sense of belonging to an ideal that is larger than ourselves. We yearn for something we can believe in and to which we can give our hearts. In addition, we search for mentors, people who have walked before us and who can share their wisdom with us. We yearn for elders. It is as though, on some deep, subconscious level, we need to re-create the experience of belonging to a tribe.

These longings are completely understandable and natural. They are part of our human heritage. Unfortunately, the Industrial Revolution and the incredibly fast pace of change, which is an integral part of modern life, have ruptured the sense of continuity which is our birthright as homo sapiens.

Grandparents & Other Old People in Society

When we look at our grandparents and other old people in society, we too frequently find they are not noble individuals who have survived the ravages of time and fate and who hold their wisdom like a precious jewel inside themselves. For the most part our seniors are discouraged people, not unlike us -- people who may have become even less wise and powerful at the end of their lives due to their feeling that they are useless and not respected.

We may long to be able to turn to the elders and have them help us find our way. However, the reality of the situation is that in our culture this role has been obliterated over the last century, and as a result, our elderly are no wiser than we are. Perhaps your Great-Aunt May spends every day watching soap operas, and instead of being a revered elder, she has less understanding than you do. This is a tragedy.

This problem, which may seem only a small part of the many things obviously wrong with our world, is in actuality quite significant.

Re-establising Connection with Our Ancestors

The connection with our past, with our ancestors, and with the elders who may still be alive in our families could provide us with a sense of real continuity which could sustain us in our times of doubt and difficulty. However, this link has been shattered by the massive changes occurring in our world. There is a rift, a gaping gash, in the line connecting our past to our future, and we are left lost and longing for something we have no conscious memory of losing.

I believe that re-establishing the sense of connection to our ancestors is a heroic task confronting us at this point in time. It is a task that has been presented to our generation to fulfill. At stake lies not only our personal and familial healing but also the healing of our planet.

Transforming Elders into Wise Ones

The importance of this task is enormous. Nevertheless, we do not need to feel overwhelmed. We may not be able to transform immediately the elders we know into wise ones who can help us find our way; nonetheless there are transformative steps that we can take in this direction. There are actions that we can take now which will have an influential effect not only on our own lives, but also on the lives of those who will follow us.

The simplest and most logical place to start is with yourself. Why? Because you have the most power over yourself. Until you learn to utilize that power fully, you will not be ready to move out into the world with it. Look at your life and where it is heading and imagine yourself in old age. What choices are you making now that will increase your wisdom and power? Is your life of benefit to those who will follow you? What kind of elder will you be? How can you help contribute to our sense of connection to one another?

You Are an Evolving Elder

The fact of the matter is that you are already an elder in many ways, an evolving elder. There are areas in your life where you have learned valuable lessons that have helped you to survive. Take a look at these. Observe them, and then honor the significance they have had in making your own life and the lives of those around you better. No one becomes an elder all at once. Each choice you make, each small victory you achieve in the ongoing process of living, increases your personal store of wisdom and makes you a more valuable member of your community.

What made the elders invaluable to our ancestral communities was the vast store of wisdom that they had amassed during their long lives. You are in the process of building that storehouse of knowledge and experience right now. It is a great and highly significant responsibility.

When you live your life with care and a sense of connection to others, you will find that others will turn to you for help and your opinion. This is a sign that you are beginning to function as an elder in the circle of your family, school, church, or whatever you define as your community. We belong to many different circles, some of which overlap. Pay attention to your place in each of these, as well as being aware of the larger pattern of your whole life and what role you can play as an elder.

Choosing to Become a Wise Elder

Choosing to Become a Wise ElderBy choosing to become wise elders, we are actually repairing and re-establishing the continuity of descendance. As we become elders, this begins to restore the path that has been passed down to us from our ancestors. Becoming an elder is a hallowed task that can lend meaning to all aspects of life, from celebrations and victories to times of difficulty and defeat.

Asking yourself questions such as "What can I learn from this that could be of value to someone else?" or "How can I explain how I got through this difficult time in a way that is helpful to my grandchildren?" can provide you with a unique and invaluable tool for sorting through your experiences. It can make your everyday actions, even the most mundane ones, significant and sacred.

Honoring the "Best Self" in Others

Once you have made the commitment to become a wise elder, you can begin to honor and cultivate this spark in everyone around you, especially the old ones. All human beings have the potential to be their best self. All of us have the seeds of grace, compassion, wisdom, and love within us. Whatever we expect to occur in life tends to become what we encounter, so when you choose to notice and respond to the nobility in those around you, there is a much greater likelihood that is what you will find in them.

Maybe your grandfather is short-tempered and is basically a self-centered man. By believing that he is also capable of so much more, and by knowing that there have been wonderful moments in his life where he exemplified kindness and mercy, you are helping him to become the wise elder that you need him to be. This also helps instill within the vast ocean of collective consciousness the idea of valuing our old ones for their wisdom. And so it will come to be. Small individual acts have a way of gaining momentum until they are mighty, unstoppable movements.

Taking Small Steps in the Right Direction

Confronted with the enormous challenges facing our world, it is easy to become overwhelmed and filled with despair. However, as we begin to repair the rift separating us from our past, we can also come to realize that all we have to do is take our own small steps in the right direction. That is all our ancestors did. They didn't achieve everything all at once, they took small, individual actions, which collectively made a contribution to the future.

In our time on earth, we need only do our part and pass on the torch of our best efforts and our highest hopes to the next generation as they pass the torch to those who follow them. This is the power of generations.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher. All Rights Reserved.

Article Source

Sacred LegaciesSacred Legacies: Healing Your Past and Creating a Positive Future
by Denise Linn.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book

About The Author

Denise LinnDenise Linn is an international lecturer, healer, and author at the forefront of the Feng Shui movement in the U.S.,. Europe, and Australia. She is the acknowledged pioneer of the Space Clearing movement that has gained so much popularity throughout the world. Her bestselling book, Sacred Space, has been translated into 12 languages. She is the originator of the groundbreaking Interior Alignment? Feng Shui and Space Clearing system, and founder of the Interior Alignment? Institute, which offers a professional certification course and weekend workshops. Visit her website at www.deniselinn.com.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}