لماذا يجب تقاسم الحكمة: الحكمة التي تم الإبقاء عليها هي حكمة تضيع

لماذا يجب تقاسم الحكمة

إذا كان هناك مكافأة على طول العمر ، فإنه يتم دفعها في شكل حكمة ، وجودة وعيه لا علاقة له بالذكاء / الذكاء أو تعلم الكتب. وقال ثورو: "إنها سمة الحكمة" ، "لا تفعل أشياء يائسة". بول بلتس ، المدير المشارك لمعهد ماكس بلانك للتنمية البشرية في برلين ، يضعها بشكل أكثر إيجازًا ، "ليس للحكمة أي تطرف". إنها مادة أرسطو الذهبية.

كونه منتج ثانوي للتجربة ، فإن الحكمة غالباً ما يمتلكها الرجال والنساء الذين نجوا من فصول شتاء خمسين أو أكثر. في الواقع ، يدعي المعهد المذكور أنه يمكن قياس الحكمة بقدر كبير بالطريقة نفسها التي يتم بها قياس الذكاء. وقد أكدت تلك القياسات أن هناك المزيد من الحكمة تكمن في الجانب الإيجابي من الخمسين من الجانب الناقص ، مع أعلى علامات مسجلة حوالي ستين.

لا تستطيع أن تأكل الحكمة

الحكمة ، ومع ذلك ، لا (بالضرورة) وضع الطعام على الطاولة. ما يثري على حميدة الحكمة هو أنه يجعلنا ثدييات أجمل ، ونعزز النظرة الوجدانية ، والتسامح من عدم اليقين ، والميل إلى إيلاء الاهتمام للآخرين - الخصائص التي تسهم في عصر أكثر سعادة وصحة. إن الفائدة الأخيرة - إيلاء الاهتمام للآخرين - تستحق التدقيق عن كثب.

يمكن تحقيق الحكمة فقط من خلال تقاسمها. يمكن التمتع بصفات إنسانية أخرى ، مثل المواهب ، بمعزل عن غيرها. (صحيح أن الموسيقيين أو الرسامين ، وحتى الكتّاب ، يحصلون على مزيد من المتعة وكذلك المنّا عندما يشاركون مواهبهم مع الجمهور. ومع ذلك ، يتلقى الفنّانون السعادة عندما يسمعون / يرون أنفسهم يقومون بعمل جيد).

الحكمة المحتفظ بها هي حكمة تضيع

يتم التعبير عن الحكمة عن طريق الكلمة المكتوبة أو المنطوقة (ويفضل أن تكون الأخيرة). وظيفة اللغة هي لتبادل أو تبادل المعلومات. وبالتالي تتطلب الحكمة وجود مانح ومستقبل واحد أو أكثر. والأمر متروك للمستأجرين لتقرير ما إذا كان ما أعطاه المانح حكيماً. قد يكون "الرجل الحكيم" الذي يجلس يفكر بسحره على بعض هراء رياح الهيمالايا لا يمكن اعتباره حكيما حتى ينضم إليه واحد أو أكثر من الآخرين الذين سيصدقون كلماته بالحكمة. ما لم يحدث ذلك أو حتى يحدث هذا التبادل ، لا يختلف المرشد عن الصوت غير المألوف لشجرة متساقطة. هل جعلت حقا الصوت؟ سقط؟

من يحتاج؟

سيتبع ذلك أن أولئك منا الذين اكتسبوا قدرا من الحكمة ملزمون بمشاركتها. السؤال هو: مع من؟ إذا كان أولئك الأكثر احتياجاً هم الأكثر افتقاداً للحكمة ، فإن الجيل الأصغر سنًا بشكل عام والمراهقين بشكل خاص سيبدو المستلمين المفضلين. ولكن كما يعرف أي رجل أو امرأة حكيمة ، فإن المراهقين لديهم نفور ، وهو شيء يقترب من حساسية نفسية لأي معلومات (خاصة في شكل نصيحة) قادمة من أي شخص أكثر من ثلاثين. وسواء كان هذا دليلًا على معاداة الطبيعة أو انحرافًا ثقافيًا أم لا ، فهناك طرق لتقليل مقاومة المراهقين. هذه الطرق لها علاقة بالتعبئة: طريقة ووسائل المشاركة.

في المجتمعات البدائية ، عقد الشيوخ مشورة منتظمة مع أعضاء القبيلة. تم غرس الحكمة الجماعية عن طريق الطقوس الرسمية والنزهات غير الرسمية في الغابة.

إن أقرب مجتمعنا الحديث يكمن في تعزيز الجمعيات المماثلة ، وهي برامج الإرشاد التي ترعاها منظمات خيرية مثل الكنائس ، ونوادي الخدمة ، والجماعات المدنية ، والتجمعات العرقية من نوع أو آخر. هذه جيدة بقدر ما يذهبون. المشكلة هي أنها لا تذهب بعيدا بما فيه الكفاية. نادراً ما تصل برامج الإرشاد المتاحة إلى الشباب الأكثر احتياجاً والأكثر عرضة للخطر: شباب المدن الداخلية. تملأ حاجتهم للانتماء والحصيلة من قبل عصابات التشغيل العشوائي الذي حولت روحهم المتوحشة مراكزنا الحضرية إلى غابة عواء. تشجع برامج الرفاهية المضللة الآباء على مستوى الفقر على أن يخرجوا "أوول" مما يخلق فراغًا في القيم من هذا النسب ، حتى أن أكثر برامج التوجيه طموحًا يبدو أنه تمرين على عدم الجدوى.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


رحلة تبدأ بالخطوة الأولى

لكن رحلة الألف ميل يجب أن تبدأ بالخطوة الأولى. قد تكون تلك الخطوة مجرد ملحق للإجراءات المعيارية الخاصة بفحص الأحداث الموجودة الآن في مختلف مراكز الاحتجاز ؛ جهد التوعية التي بدأها كادر رعاية من شيوخ المجتمع. قد يعمل البرنامج على هذا النحو: عندما يتم الإفراج عن الجاني الصغير من الحجز تحت الاختبار ، يتم تعيينه كمرشد متطوع يطلب منه الشخص الذي يخضع للاختبار ، في حالة إعادته إلى مركز الاحتجاز ، لإنفاق حد أدنى من الوقت مع - قل نصف يوم في الأسبوع. هذه المرة لن تستخدم في الوعظ أو التدريس أو أي نوع آخر من تقديم المشورة. وظيفة الأقدم ، في البداية ، ستكون أقل مستشارا وأكثر من مستمع غير قضائي (دور يتطلب قدرا كبيرا من الحكمة!) الذي يقرض أذن متعاطفة لكل ما هو على عقل الشاب.

في معظم الحالات ، لن يكون المراهقون المضطربون قادمون جدًا ؛ ربما سوف يستاءون مثل الجحيم هذه الجلسات الإلزامية. قد يستغرق الأمر عدة أسابيع ، وربما أشهر ، قبل أن يكون هناك أي نوع من العلاقة مع ثقة كافية لتشجيع المراهق على التماس رأي الشيخ. سوف تتحكم شروط الجمعية في نوع ومدى أي مساعدة قد يرغب المرشد في التطوع بها. هذه تفاصيل ، مهما كانت مهمة.

بمجرد استيفاء متطلبات الاختبار ، يكون الأمر متروك للطرفين بالنسبة للمستقبل ، إن وجد ، للعلاقة. إن حقيقة أنه جهد تطوعي ، خال من المصلحة الأنانية ، يرسل رسالة مفادها أن العديد من الشباب لم يتلقوا من قبل. شخص ما يهتم حقا. شخص لا يقودها الخوف أو الواجب أو الغضب أو الطموح يريد أن يساعد. أي شخص خلع من زخارف السلطة. نوع من الأجداد بديلة.

وغني عن القول أن 99 ٪ من الوقت ، سوف يرتبط الرجل الأسود بشكل أفضل لصبي أسود من امرأة بيضاء.

التدخل المبكر

ويمكن تطبيق هذا المفهوم أيضًا كتدبير وقائي ، والعمل مع منظمات الدعوة ، ووكالات المدن الداخلية (بما في ذلك قسم الشرطة) وجماعات الشباب ، وحتى العصابات المنظمة. أو ، في حالة المجرمين لأول مرة ، يمكن تطبيقه كبديل للحبس.

فليبسيدي من البلوغ

يستند مثل هذا البرنامج على وضع "كبار" المرشد. الناس الذين تجاوزوا الستين ليسوا تهديدا لشخص ما - ستة عشر للسبب نفسه للأحفاد والأجداد: إن لديهم عدو مشترك!

ومن المؤكد أن الحكمة الأكبر سنا لا يمكن استخدامها بشكل أفضل من مساعدة أولئك الذين سيخضعون لسيطرة سفينة الفضاء في هذه الألفية الجديدة. أي جهد آخر هو عرضة لإنتاج مثل هذه النتائج ذات مغزى. المراهقون ، رغم اضطرابهم ، هم أقرب إلى جعل حياتهم تعمل أكثر من الكبار. أقرب بحكم عدم وجود الوقت للذهاب بعيدا جدا.

القالب يتصلب ، ولكن لم يتم ضبطه بعد.

لا يمكنك أن تفقد

وسواء كنت ترى أي نتائج إيجابية ناتجة عن إرشادك ، فسوف تحصل على ربحين:

1. الارتباط مع الشباب يبقيك في قلبك شاب و

2. عندما يمتلئ عقلك بمشاكل شخص آخر لا يوجد مجال لتنمو بنفسك.

هذا المردود الثاني هو الأكثر قيمة بكثير. لأن هذا هو وقت الحياة عندما تكون مهنتك أو مهنتك تحتل مساحة أقل من ذهنك - مما يترك مجالًا أكثر فأكثر للتسلية من القلق الذي يصاحب الشيخوخة. (تميل هذه المخاوف إلى التوسع في نسبة مباشرة إلى مقدار الاهتمام المدفوع لها.) في هذا الوقت من الحياة ، يخدم خدمة الآخرين مصالحك. وما هي أفضل طريقة للتصدي للصورة الأنانية لكبار السن بدلاً من كونها مُحسناً بدلاً من المستفيد ؛ راعي بدلا من عاضد.

وفي ثقافة لا تسعى إلى الحصول على مشورة أعضائها المسنين ، فإن مثل هذا البرنامج سيوفر المنصة المفقودة. إن كوننا من المدافعين عن الموارد الأكثر قيمة (والمهددة بالانقراض) لهذا البلد هي قضية جديرة بالاهتمام مثل أي شيء يمكن أن تقوم به.

المتحكمين

ومكافحة التصرف بين الصغار والكبار للعيش في عوالم مختلفة والحفاظ على الاستمرارية بين الأجيال هو الدور التقليدي للمواطنين الكبار في المجتمع. "الجماع الاجتماعي بين الأجيال" لاحظ جون جاي تشابمان "هو أساس أي مجتمع متحضر".

في اختلاف حول هذا الموضوع ، أسس مارتي نولتون ، مؤسس Elderhostel (برنامج تعليمي عالمي لكبار السن) ، منظمة غير ربحية تسمى Gatekeepers to the Future ، مكرسة "للحفاظ على الأرض واستعادتها وكل حياتها ".

لا يوجد شخص مجهز بشكل أفضل ليكون حراس الأرض الطيبة أكثر من أولئك الذين هم أكثر دراية به (والأشخاص الأكثر مسؤولية عن حالته الحالية). من خلال تسخير موارد ومعارف ومهارات وحكمة كبار السن ، خلقت نولتون مجموعة من المحامين للأجيال المستقبلية غير الممثلة.

فتح الصنبور

إن مقدار الحكمة التي ستضيع في الوقت الحالي في تلك المجمعات التقاعدية البائسة هو إدانة للمتقاعدين وأولئك الذين سيستفيدون من محاميهم. يقر الدكتور كين ديكتفالد ، وهو عالم في علم الشيخوخة وعلم النفس في بيركلي (الذي عمل لدى دائرة كاليفورنيا للشيخوخة) ، بقوله: "لقد قمنا بعمل ضعيف وخلق فرص للمساهمة من قبل كبار السن. بدلاً من السؤال عما يمكننا ( عامة) بالنسبة لكبار السن ، يجب أن نركز على تزويد المسنين بفرص عمل الأشياء لنا ولأنفسهم ".

انها حالة الفوز / الفوز عندما ينطوي المجتمع على كبار السن في أنشطة ومصالح أعضاء صغارها. يكتسب الصغار خدمات و خدمات لا تقدر بثمن مقابل القليل أو لا شيء. كبار السن كسب احترام الذات وانخفاض ملحوظ في الأوجاع والشكاوى الجسدية والعاطفية. الفائدة هي دواء وقائي قوي.

أعيد طباعته بإذن من الناشر
هالة كتب ، سان فرانسيسكو.

المادة المصدر

الوقت يحدث - أنت ما كان يمكن أن التقطت وقت أفضل أن يكون Fiftysomething
بواسطة كومس Samm ه.

مرة يحدث من قبل H. Samm كومس.يناقش مزايا كونها خمسين ، ويصف كيف يمكن للناس من هذا السن تغيير نظرتهم نحو الحياة والشيخوخة ، ويناقش فلسفة الشيخوخة

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب

نبذة عن الكاتب

H. Samm Coombs نشط في الحركة البشرية المحتملة منذ 60. شارك في تأسيس مركز لتحقيق الذات للشباب. تجربة ألهمت نجاحه الرائع (إصدارات 4 ، التي يبلغ مجموعها أكثر من نسخ 100,000) ، في سن المراهقة البقاء MANUAL، التعامل مع الجانب الثاني من الخمسينات. كما أنه كان وراء ACT II ، وهي ورشة عمل (تسمى الآن "مجموعة الاسترداد") لفرد واحد فجأة. يمكن الوصول إلى السيد كومبس في [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = sharing wisdom؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Wisdom Must Be Shared: Wisdom Retained Is Wisdom Wasted

Relationships

Why Wisdom Must Be Shared

If there is a reward for longevity, it is paid out in the form of wisdom, a quality of consciousness that has little to do with intelligence/I.Q. or book learning. "It is the characteristic of wisdom," said Thoreau, "not to do desperate things." Paul Baltes, Co-Director of the Max Planck Institute for Human Development in Berlin, puts it even more succinctly, "Wisdom has no extremes." It is the stuff of Aristotle's Golden Mean.

Being a by-product of experience, wisdom more often is possessed by men and women who have survived fifty or more winters. Indeed, the aforementioned Institute claims wisdom can be measured much in the same way intelligence is gauged. And those measurements have confirmed that more wisdom resides on the plus side of fifty than the minus side, with the highest marks recorded around sixty.

You Can't Eat Wisdom

Wisdom, however, doesn't (necessarily) put food on the table. What's rewarding about the benignity of wisdom is it makes us nicer mammals, fostering a mellow outlook, a tolerance of uncertainty, and the inclination to pay attention to others -- characteristics that contribute to a happier, healthier old age. The latter benefit -- paying attention to others -- is worthy of closer scrutiny.

Wisdom only can be actualized through the sharing of it. Other human qualities, such as talent, can be enjoyed in isolation. (True, musicians or painters, and even writers, receive more pleasure as well as manna when they share their talent with an audience. Yet artists receive pleasure when hearing/seeing themselves do good work.)

Wisdom Retained Is Wisdom Wasted

Wisdom is expressed by means of the written or spoken word (preferably the latter). The function of language is for the exchange or sharing of information. Thus wisdom requires a giver and one or more receivers. And it is up to the receivers to decide if what the giver has given qualifies as wise. A would be 'Wise Man' who sits contemplating his navel on some windswept Himalayan crag cannot be considered wise until he is joined by one or more others who will certify his words as wise. Unless or until that exchange happens the guru is no different from the unheard sound of a falling tree. Has it indeed made a sound? Fallen?

Who Needs It?

It would follow that those of us who have acquired a modicum of wisdom are obliged to share it. The question is: with whom? If those most in need are those most lacking in wisdom, the younger generation in general and teenagers in particular would seem the preferred recipients. But as any wise man or woman well knows, teenagers have an aversion, something approaching a psychological allergy to any information (especially in the form of advice) coming from anyone over thirty. Whether or not this is evidence of Nature's contrariness or a cultural aberration, there are ways to lower teenagers' resistance. These ways have to do with packaging: the manner and means of sharing.

In primitive societies, elders held regularly scheduled counsels with the tribe's pubescent members. Collective wisdom was inculcated by means of formal ritual and informal strolls in the forest.

The closest our modern society comes to fostering similar associations are mentorship programs sponsored by do-gooding organizations like churches, service clubs, civic groups, and ethnic assemblies of one sort or another. These are good as far as they go. Trouble is, they don't go far enough. The extant mentorship programs seldom reach the young people most in need and most at-risk: inner city youth. Their need to belong and be counted is filled by run-amok gangs whose savage ethos have turned our urban centers into howling jungles. Misguided welfare programs encourage poverty-level fathers to go AWOL creating a values vacuum of such proportions that even the most ambitious mentorship program would seem to be an exercise in futility.

A Journey Starts With The First Step

But a journey of a thousand miles must begin with the first step. That step might just be a supplement to the standard juvenile probation procedures now in place at various detention centers; an outreach effort initiated by a caring cadre of community elders. The program might work like this: When a young offender is released from custody on probation, he or she is assigned a volunteer mentor with whom the probationer is required, on penalty of being sent back to the Detention Center, to spend a minimum amount of time with -- say a half a day a week. This time would not be used in preaching, teaching, or any other kind of advice-giving. The elder's function, in the beginning, would be less an advisor and more a nonjudgmental listener (a role requiring a great deal of wisdom!) who lends an empathetic ear to whatever is on the young person's mind.

In most cases, these troubled teens are not going to be too forthcoming; probably they'll resent like hell these mandatory sessions. It may take many weeks, maybe months, before there is any kind of relationship with enough trust to encourage the teenager to solicit the elder's opinion. The terms of the association would control the kind and extent of any help the mentor might wish to volunteer. These are details, however important.

Once the probationary requirements have been met, it's up to the two parties as to the future, if any, of the relationship. The fact that it is a volunteer effort, devoid of selfish interest, sends a message that many young people never before have received. Someone really does care. Someone not driven by fear, duty, anger, or ambition wants to help. A disestablished someone devoid of the trappings of authority. Sort of a surrogate grandparent.

It goes without saying that 99% of the time, a black man will better relate to a black boy than a white woman.

Early Intervention

This concept might also be applied as a preventative measure, working with advocacy organizations, inner city agencies (including the police department) and youth groups, even organized gangs. Or, in the case of first-time offenders, it could be applied as a substitute for incarceration.

The Flipside Of Puberty

Such a program's foundation rests on the mentor's 'senior' status. People past sixty are no threat to someone sixteen -- for the same reason grandchildren and grandparents get-along: they have a common enemy!

Certainly elder wisdom can be put to no better use than to help those who will be at the controls of Spaceship Earth in this new millennium. No other effort is apt to produce such meaningful results. Teenagers, however troubled they may be, are a lot closer to making their lives work than most adults; closer by virtue of not having had time to go far wrong.

The mold is hardening, but not yet set.

You Can't Lose

And whether or not you see any positive results produced from your mentorship, you will receive two payoffs:

1. associating with young people keeps you young in heart, and

2. When your mind is filled with someone else's problems there's no room to grow your own.

That second payoff is by far the most valuable. For this is the time of life when your vocation or profession occupies less of your mind -- leaving more and more room to entertain the anxieties that go with aging. (These concerns tend to expand in direct proportion to the amount of attention paid to them.) At this time of life, serving others serves your best interests. And what better way to counter seniors' selfish image than to be a benefactor instead of beneficiary; a patron rather than patronized.

In a culture that does not seek the counsel of its elder members, such a program would provide the missing rostrum. Becoming advocates for this country's most valuable (and endangered) resource is as worthwhile a cause as any you could undertake.

Gatekeepers

Countering the disposition of young and old to live in different worlds and maintaining continuity between generations is the traditional role of society's senior citizens. "Social intercourse between generations," observed John Jay Chapman, "is the basis for any civilized society."

In a variation on this theme, Marty Knowlton, the founder of Elderhostel (a worldwide educational program for seniors), has established a non-profit organization called Gatekeepers to the Future, dedicated to "the preservation and restoration of the earth and all its life."

No one is better equipped to be custodians of the Good Earth than those most familiar with it (and those most responsible for its present condition). By harnessing seniors' resources, knowledge, skills and wisdom, Knowlton has created a corps of solicitors for the otherwise unrepresented future generations.

Opening The Tap

The amount of wisdom presently going to waste in those wretched retirement compounds is an indictment of both the retirees and those who would benefit from their counsel. Dr. Ken Dychtwald, a Berkeley gerontologist and psychologist (who has worked for the California Department of Aging) acknowledges, "We've done a poor job creating opportunities for contribution by older people. Instead of asking what can we (the non-old public) do for the elderly, we should concentrate on providing the elderly with opportunities to do things for us, and for themselves."

It's a win/win situation when a society involves its seniors in the activities and interests of its junior members. The juniors gain invaluable counsel and services for little or nothing. The seniors gain self-esteem and a marked reduction in physical and emotional aches and complaints. Usefulness is a powerful preventative medicine.

Reprinted with permission from the publisher
Halo Books, San Fransisco.

Article Source

Time Happens - You Could Not Have Picked A Better Time To Be Fiftysomething
by H. Samm Coombs.

Time Happens by H. Samm Coombs. Discusses the advantages of being fifty, describes how people of that age can change their outlook towards life and aging, and discusses the philosophy of aging

Info/Order this book

About The Author

H. Samm Coombs has been active in the human potential movement since the 60's. He cofounded a self-realization center for young adults; an experience that inspired his phenomenally successful (4 editions, totalling more than 100,000 copies), TEENAGE SURVIVAL MANUAL, dealing with the flipside of the fifties. He also was behind ACT II, a workshop (now called 'Recovery Group') for the suddenly single. Mr. Coombs can be reached at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Related Books:

Sharing the Wisdom of Time
RelationshipsAuthor: Pope Francis
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Loyola Press
List Price: $29.95

Buy Now

Sharing Wisdom: The Practical Art of Giving and Receiving Mentoring
RelationshipsAuthor: Robert J. Wicks
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: The Crossroad Publishing Company
List Price: $17.95

Buy Now

Sharing the Wisdom of Time
RelationshipsBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: Messenger Publications

Buy Now

Relationships
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}