عالقة في المنزل مع شريكك؟ ننظر إلى المتقاعدين عن كيفية جعلها تعمل

عالقة في المنزل مع شريكك؟ ننظر إلى المتقاعدين عن كيفية جعلها تعمل خذ ملاحظة من الأزواج الأكبر سنا الذين يعرفون كيفية القيام بذلك بشكل صحيح. Geber86 / E + عبر Getty Images

في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، يقضي عدد غير مسبوق من الأزواج فجأة كل ساعة من الاستيقاظ والنوم مع بعضهم البعض.

وهذا ما كثير من الأزواج المتقاعدين الأكبر سنًا يفعلون ذلك أيضًا، حتى عندما لا يكون هناك جائحة. تجاربهم تستحق الاستماع إليها ، لأن العديد من دراسات علم النفس تجد أن الزواج بين مجموعة مؤهلة للرعاية الطبية هم الأسعد من أي الفوج عبر مدى الحياة.

استعراض البحث يكشف أ نمط السعادة الزوجية على شكل حرف U طوال دورة الحياة. يتميز الزواج المبكر بالعديد من الجوانب الإيجابية المتداخلة مع الكثير من الصراع ، بينما يتمتع الأزواج الأكبر سنًا بأعلى مستويات الرفقة مع مستويات منخفضة من الصراع. الأزواج في منتصف العمر الذين يقومون بتربية الأطفال هم في الجزء السفلي من الولايات المتحدة. يميلون إلى رؤية انخفاض في تمتعهم ببعضهم البعض ، إلى جانب تصاعد في القتال.

بالطبع ، قد ترغب في أن تتقاعد بأمان مع شريك الآن ، خاصة إذا كنت حاليًا بمفردك. إن العمل عن بعد أو مواجهة البطالة أثناء إدارة منزل من غرفة واحدة ، والتخطيط لثلاث وجبات في اليوم دون نفاد الطعام والقلق بشأن صحة عائلتك يجعل التقاعد يبدو وكأنه عطلة حالمة.

ولكن هناك بعض أوجه التشابه المهمة بين التقاعد والعزلة التي يتطلبها التباعد الاجتماعي. تقلصت الشبكات الاجتماعية الخاصة بك. بدون اتصالات العمل والأصدقاء للقاء لتناول طعام الغداء أو في صالة الألعاب الرياضية ، يصبح الشريك أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى. كمعالج كان يعالج الأزواج في جميع مراحل الحياة منذ ما يقرب من ثلاثة عقود ، أشهد حاليًا التحديات العلائقية لهذا الوباء ، المكبر الكبير الذي يمكن أن يبرز أفضل العلاقات وأحيانًا الأسوأ في العلاقات.

عالقة في المنزل مع شريكك؟ ننظر إلى المتقاعدين عن كيفية جعلها تعمل يعتمد الأزواج الأكبر سنا على بعضهم البعض للمساعدة في تجاوز العواصف. محتوى المراهقين / Niyani Lingham Green / DigitalVision عبر Getty Images

اعتمد علي

كبار السن والمتقاعدين التركيز في المقام الأول على دعم بعضنا البعض: هل يمكنني الاعتماد عليك عندما أحتاج إلى المساعدة ، أو أشعر بالخوف ، أو القلق بشأن الموت أو لا أشعر بحالة جيدة؟ وهل أنا على استعداد لأن أكون مصدر الراحة والاستقرار عندما تحتاجني؟


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بغض النظر عن عمر أو مرحلة الزوجين ، كشف الوباء الحالي عن الحاجة إلى المزيد من التبعية المتبادلة. هل يمكنني الاعتماد عليك لحماية نفسك ولنا عندما تذهب إلى متجر البقالة؟ إذا شعرت بالخوف من صحة والدي أو صحتنا ، فهل يمكنني أن أخبرك؟ إذا دفعني تعليم الجبر (وهو موضوع واجهته صعوبة في المرة الأولى) لأطفالنا إلى نقطة الانهيار ، فهل يمكنني أن أطلب منك تولي المسؤولية بلطف وبدون أي عيب؟

الآن هو الوقت المثالي لتطوير عضلاتك التي تطلب المساعدة ، وبالتالي ، للترحيب بضعف شريكك. يمكنك التدرب الآن على مدى السنوات القادمة عندما تحتاج إلى أن تكون مرتاحًا مع الاعتماد المتبادل بشكل أكبر - أن تكون قادرًا على الاعتماد والاعتماد عليه في لحظات الحاجة والضعف.

لديك معارك أقل ألطف

زميلي الطبيب النفسي بوب والدينغر ، يجلب الأزواج الثماني في مختبره لدراسة صراعاتهم. أخبرني أنه كثيرا ما يواجه صعوبة في جعلهم يعيدون تمثيل القتال. بعد أن خاضوا نفس المعارك لعقود من الزمن ، يشعر هؤلاء الأزواج الأكبر سناً بالملل من احتمال جولة أخرى. إنهم يعرفون بالفعل خطوط الآخر. هل علينا القيام بذلك مرة أخرى؟

عندما يقاتل الأزواج الأكبر سنا، فإنها تميل إلى التعامل مع الصراع بشكل أفضل من الأصغر سنا: هم أكثر عرضة للتدخل في عبارات المودة وهم أقل عرضة للتعبير عن الاشمئزاز والعداء والأنين. نظرًا لأن العلاقة مركزية جدًا ، قد يكون من المرجح أن يغفروا لشركائهم أو يتركون التظلم ينزلق.

لذا ، حاول أن تقاتل عندما تبدأ وتفكر في أن تقول لشريكك ، "هل يمكننا التحدث عن شيء أكثر إثارة للاهتمام؟ ربما نعلم بالفعل كيف سيتم الكشف عن ذلك ".

أو ، إذا كان النزاع مهمًا في الهواء ، فحاول أن تتذكر أنه يمكنك قول شيء ما دون الاستسلام ، أو إعطاء ابتسامة أو لمسة دافئة غير لفظية.

من الجيد أيضًا الامتناع عن الإدلاء بأي تعليقات مزعجة أو سيئة. يوصي الباحثون الأزواج باتباع "النسبة السحرية" من 5 إلى 1 خلال معركة لتأمين علاقة مستقرة: حاول أن تقول خمسة أشياء إيجابية لكل زنجر أو تعليق سلبي. هذه النسبة ، التي قد تبدو غريبة ، تقوم على حقيقة ذلك التفاعلات السلبية تحمل وزنا أكبر من الإيجابيات.

عالقة في المنزل مع شريكك؟ ننظر إلى المتقاعدين عن كيفية جعلها تعمل عندما تتضمن كلمة "للأفضل أو الأسوأ" كل لحظة استيقاظ. Drazen_ / E + عبر Getty Images

ركز على الواقع الحالي

تشير الدراسات إلى أن الأزواج الأكبر سنا التركيز على الحاضر ويكونون أكثر قدرة على قبول العلاقة كما هي ، بدلاً من التطلع إلى الوقت الذي ستتحول فيه.

بينما قد لا يناقشون وفياتهم ، تتشكل وجهات نظر الأزواج الأكبر سنا بأفق زمني أقصر. عادة ما يهتمون أكثر بالتجارب الإيجابية ، ويريدون فهم عواطفهم بشكل أفضل والتركيز على مجموعة أصغر من الأصدقاء المقربين والعائلة.

حاول التركيز على ما هو جيد في علاقتك. ما الذي تحبه وتشعر بالامتنان له؟ إذا ركزت على طرق دعم شريكك ، تظهر الأبحاث أنك أنت وزوجك تشعر بتحسن بشأن العلاقة. لن يكون التركيز على العاطفة أمرًا صعبًا خلال جائحة يثير مشاعر قوية من الغضب والخوف والقلق والحزن والحب والامتنان. ما الذي يمكنك معرفته عن شريكك الذي لم تكن تعرفه من قبل عن نقاط قوته ، وطرق التأقلم والتصدعات في هذا التأقلم؟

التعلق برفقة شريكك على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع قد يجعلك تفكر في التعبير "للأفضل أو الأسوأ ، ولكن ليس لتناول الإفطار والغداء والعشاء". ولكن قد تخرج إلى الجانب الآخر ببعض المهارات الجديدة. ليس عليك الانتظار حتى التقاعد لتكون علاقة أقوى.

نبذة عن الكاتب

آن فيشيل ، أستاذة علم النفس المعاونة ، كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

أسرار الزواج الكبير من تشارلي بلوم وليندا بلومأوصى كتاب:

أسرار الزواج الكبير: الحقيقة من الأزواج الحقيقيين حول الحب الدائم
من جانب تشارلي بلوم وليندا بلوم.

يستخلص بلومز الحكمة في العالم الحقيقي من الأزواج غير العاديين 27 إلى إجراءات إيجابية يمكن لأي زوجين اتخاذها لتحقيق أو استعادة ليس فقط زواج جيد ولكن واحد عظيم.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ثلاث خطوات لإعادة رؤية قصصنا الكوكبية
ثلاث خطوات لإعادة رؤية قصصنا الكوكبية
by إليزابيث إي ميتشام ، دكتوراه

من المحررين

لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Stuck At Home With Your Partner? Look To Retirees For How To Make It Work

Stuck At Home With Your Partner? Look To Retirees For How To Make It Work Take a note from older couples who know how to do it right. Geber86/E+ via Getty Images

Across the country an unprecedented number of couples are suddenly spending every waking and sleeping hour of the day with one another.

That’s what many older retired couples do too, even when there isn’t a pandemic. Their experiences are worth listening to, because many psychology studies find that marriages among the Medicare-eligible set are the happiest of any cohort across the life span.

A review of the research reveals a U-shaped pattern of marital happiness over the life cycle. Early marriage features many positive aspects interlaced with a lot of conflict, while older couples enjoy the highest levels of companionship with low levels of conflict. Midlife couples who are raising children are at the bottom of the U. They tend to see a plunge in their enjoyment of one another, along with an uptick in fighting.

Of course, you might wish you could be securely retired with a partner right now, especially if you’re currently on your own. Working remotely or facing unemployment while running a one-room schoolhouse, planning three meals a day without running out of food and worrying about your family’s health makes retirement look like a dreamy vacation.

But there are some important similarities between retirement and the isolation required by social distancing. Your social networks have shrunk. Without work connections and friends to meet for lunch or at the gym, a partner becomes more essential than ever. As a therapist who has been treating couples at all stages of life for almost three decades, I’m currently witnessing the relational challenges of this pandemic, a big magnifier that can bring out the very best and sometimes the worst in relationships.

Stuck At Home With Your Partner? Look To Retirees For How To Make It Work Older couples rely on one another to help weather the storms. Adolescent Content/Niyani Lingham Green/DigitalVision via Getty Images

Lean on me

Older, retired couples primarily focus on supporting one another: Can I depend on you when I need help, feel scared, worry about dying or don’t feel well? And am I willing to be that source of comfort and stability when you need me?


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


No matter the age or stage of the couple, the current pandemic has revealed the need for much more mutual dependency. Can I count on you to protect yourself and us when you go to the grocery store? If I’m feeling scared about my parents’ health or mine, can I tell you? If teaching algebra (a subject I struggled with the first time around) to our children has pushed me to the breaking point, can I ask you to take over, kindly and with no eye-rolling?

Now is an ideal time to develop your help-asking muscle and, in turn, to welcome your partner’s vulnerability. You can practice now for the years ahead when you’ll need to be comfortable with more mutual dependency – being able to count on and be counted on in moments of need and frailty.

Have fewer, kinder fights

My colleague, psychiatrist Bob Waldinger, brings octogenarian couples into his laboratory to study their conflicts. He told me that he often has trouble getting them to reenact a fight. Having had the same fights for decades, these older couples are quite bored at the prospect of another round. They already know the other one’s lines. Do we have to do this again?

When older couples do fight, they tend to handle conflict better than younger ones: They are more likely to interject expressions of affection and are less prone to voicing disgust, belligerence and whining. Because the relationship is so central, they may be more likely to forgive their partners or let a grievance slide.

So, try to catch a fight as it starts and consider saying to your partner, “Can we talk about something more interesting? We probably already know how this is going to unfold.”

Or, if the conflict is important to air, try to remember that you can say something kind without surrendering, or give a warm nonverbal smile or touch.

It’s also a good idea to refrain from making any contemptuous or nasty comments. Couples researchers recommend following the “magic ratio” of 5 to 1 during a fight to secure a stable relationship: Try to say five positive things to every one zinger or negative comment. This ratio, which may seem outlandish, is based on the fact that negative interactions carry more weight than positive ones.

Stuck At Home With Your Partner? Look To Retirees For How To Make It Work When ‘for better or worse’ includes every waking moment. Drazen_/E+ via Getty Images

Focus on the present reality

Studies suggest that older couples focus on the present and are better able to accept the relationship as it is, rather than looking ahead to a time when it is going to be transformed.

While they may not discuss their own mortality, older couples’ perspectives are shaped by a shorter time horizon. They typically pay more attention to positive experiences, want to understand their emotions better and focus on a smaller group of close friends and family.

Try focusing on what is good about your relationship. What do you admire and feel grateful for? If you focus on the ways your partner is supportive, research shows that both you and your spouse will feel better about the relationship. Focusing on emotion will not be hard during a pandemic that elicits powerful feelings of anger, fear, worry, grief, love and gratitude. What can you learn about your partner that you didn’t know before about his or her strengths, ways of coping and cracks in that coping?

Being stuck with your partner 24/7 may leave you pondering the expression “for better or worse, but not for breakfast, lunch and dinner.” But you may come out the other side with some new skills. You don’t have to wait for retirement to have a stronger relationship.

About The Author

Anne Fishel, Associate Clinical Professor of Psychology, Harvard Medical School

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Secrets of Great Marriages by Charlie Bloom and Linda BloomRecommended book:

Secrets of Great Marriages: Real Truth from Real Couples about Lasting Love
by Charlie Bloom and Linda Bloom.

The Blooms distill real-world wisdom from 27 extraordinary couples into positive actions any couple can take to achieve or regain not just a good marriage but a great one.

For more information or to order this book.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)