كيف العلاقات الوالد والجدين دورا هاما في تشجيع الإيثار

كيف العلاقات الوالد والجدين دورا هاما في تشجيع الإيثارالعمل سويا. ESB Professional / Shutterstock

هناك أفكار متضاربة حول دور العائلة في المجتمع الأوسع. بعض ، لا سيما في الولايات المتحدة ، يجادل بأن وحدات الأسرة ضرورية ل مجتمع مدني قوي، وتقديم مساهمة كبيرة في الحياة العامة. آخرون - معظمهم في أوروبا - قول أن الأسر تتصرف بطرق ذاتى

نحن نعلم بالفعل أن العائلات تمرر بعض السمات والموارد يستفيد الأجيال الشابة. يشتركون المهارات والمواهب ، أو يتركوا المال للأطفال والأحفاد في الوصايا. ومع ذلك ، يعتقد فريق البحث لدينا أن علاقات الشباب مع آبائهم وأجدادهم يمكن أن تساعد بالفعل في تفسير مشاركتهم في الأنشطة التي تساعد الآخرين والبيئة.

لنا دراسة نشرت حديثا، سألنا المراهقين 976 الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 13-14 في ويلز عن أنشطتهم لمساعدة الآخرين ، وعلاقاتهم العائلية أيضا. وقال أكثر من ربع المراهقين في الدراسة إنهم قاموا بنشاط واحد على الأقل لمساعدة الآخرين أو البيئة في كثير من الأحيان. في حين قال ما يقرب من الثلثين أنهم قاموا بنشاط واحد على الأقل إما في كثير من الأحيان أو في بعض الأحيان. ومن بين هؤلاء ، كان النشاط الأكثر شعبية هو تقديم الدعم للأشخاص الذين ليسوا أصدقاء أو أقارب - على سبيل المثال المساعدة في بنك الطعام المحلي - يليه إعطاء الوقت لجمعية خيرية أو قضية.

كما أعرب المراهقون عن مجموعة من الدوافع المختلفة لمشاركتهم. كانت الاستجابة الأكثر شيوعًا هي تحسين الأشياء أو مساعدة الأشخاص (43٪) ، متبوعة بالاستمتاع الشخصي (28٪). وهذا يشير إلى أنها مستوحاة من مزيج من الأهداف الذاتية المنحى والنكران ، وهو ما ينعكس أيضا في حقيقة أن ثلثهم قالوا إن مشاركتهم كانت مفيدة شخصيا واستفادت الآخرين والبيئة أيضا.

تأثير الأسرة

الشباب الذين تحدثنا إليهم حددوا العائلة باعتبارها الطريق الأكثر أهمية في المشاركة ، وأخبرونا أن والديهم لعبوا دوراً قوياً في تشجيعهم على المشاركة في الأنشطة التطوعية. كانت العائلة أكثر أهمية من كل من المدرسة والأصدقاء لهؤلاء المراهقين. قال أكثر من نصفهم إن آباءهم شجعوا مشاركتهم - أعلى من جميع الخيارات الأخرى بما في ذلك الأصدقاء (29٪) والمعلمين (24٪).

ووجدنا أيضًا أنه كلما كانت العلاقة التي يشعر بها المراهقون مع أمهاتهم أفضل ، زادت احتمالية مشاركتهم في الأنشطة لمساعدة الأشخاص الآخرين والبيئة. كما أن وجود علاقة جيدة مع الجد القريب كان مهمًا أيضًا. من خلال ما وجدناه ، ضاعفت فوائد وجود علاقة إيجابية مع كل من أفراد الأسرة من احتمال مشاركة هؤلاء الشباب في أنشطة لمساعدة الآخرين وأعطت فائدة مزدوجة (مقارنة إذا كانت لديهم علاقة إيجابية مع عائلة واحدة فقط الأعضاء).

وعندما طُلب منهم التركيز على الجدين الذي رأوه في أغلب الأحيان ، قالت أربع من كل خمس مجموعات من المراهقات إنها جدية أنثى (والد الأم أو والد الأب). هذه النتيجة تعطي دعما قويا للحجج التي قدمها علماء الحركة النسوية للاعتراف بشكل أفضل بدور المرأة في المجتمع المدني ، والمجال المحلي أو الشخصي كمجال سياسي.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


من المحير أن تأثير الآباء غير ظاهر في بياناتنا ، خاصةً تلك التي لدينا متابعة المقابلات مع الآباء والأمهات تشير إلى أن كل من الأمهات والآباء تشجيع أطفالهم على المشاركة في الأنشطة لمساعدة الآخرين. هذا شيء سنحتاج إلى إجراء مزيد من التحقيق.

بشكل عام ، تكشف دراستنا أنه يبدو أن الآباء يلعبون دورًا رئيسيًا في توفير مسار للمشاركة المدنية وتشجيع الشباب على المشاركة. تشير هذه العلاقة بين الروابط الأسرية والمشاركة المدنية إلى أن بعض القيم التي تنتقل بين الوالدين وأطفالهم قد تساعد في مشاركتهم في الأنشطة لمساعدة الآخرين والبيئة. وبهذا المعنى ، تشير إلى أنه يمكن أن يكون هناك انتقال بين الأجيال للمشاركة المدنية.

كما أن نتائج أبحاثنا تقوض فكرة أن العائلات القوية لا تسهم في المجتمع المدني ، وتقترح بدلاً من ذلك أن الروابط القوية التي يتم توطيدها داخل العائلة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى روابط خارجها. هذا يقوض الفصل بين "العامة" و "الخاص" الذي يمر عبر المفاهيم الأوروبية للمجتمع المدني.

تُظهر بياناتنا أن العائلة أكثر أهمية بكثير في تطوير ميل للانخراط في المجتمع المدني أكثر من المفهوم بشكل عام ، بل والأكثر أهمية من المدرسة ، ربما. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الأبحاث لكن هذه النتائج تتطلب إعادة تقييم لمنزل العائلة كموقع محتمل لمشاركة المجتمع المدني ، والاعتراف على نطاق أوسع بدور المرأة في المجتمع المدني أيضًا.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

استير مودمان ، باحث مشارك ، جامعة كارديف

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الإيثار، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

8 أشياء نفعلها بالفعل تخلط بين كلابنا
8 أشياء نفعلها بالفعل تخلط بين كلابنا
by ميليسا ستارلينغ وبول ماكجريفي
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
by الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراه
5 أساطير عن القمر
5 أساطير عن القمر
by دانيال براون

How Parent And Grandparent Relationships Are An Important Role In Encouraging Altruism

How Parent And Grandparent Relationships Are An Important Role In Encouraging AltruismWorking together. ESB Professional/Shutterstock

There are conflicting ideas about the role of the family in wider society. Some, particularly in the US, argue that family units are essential for a strong civil society, and make a big contribution to public life. Others – mostly in Europe – say that families act in self-interested ways.

We already know that families pass down certain traits and resources to benefit younger generations. They share skills and talents, or leave money to children and grandchildren in wills. However, our research team believes that young people’s relationships with their parents and grandparents can actually help explain their participation in activities that help other people and the environment.

For our newly published study, we asked 976 teenagers aged 13-14 in Wales about their activities to help others, and their family relationships too. More than a quarter of teenagers in the study said that they did at least one activity to help other people or the environment often. While nearly two thirds said they did at least one activity either often or sometimes. Of these, the most popular activity was providing support for people who are not friends or relatives – for example helping out at a local foodbank – followed by giving time to a charity or cause.

The teenagers also expressed a range of different motivations for their involvement. The most popular response was to improve things or help people (43%), followed by personal enjoyment (28%). This suggests that they were inspired by a mixture of self-oriented and selfless goals, which is also reflected in the fact that a third of them said their involvement had been personally beneficial and had benefited others and the environment too.

Family influence

The young people we spoke to identified family as the most important route into participation, and told us that their parents played a strong role in encouraging them to get involved in voluntary activities. Family was more important than both school and friends for these teens. Over half of them said that their parents encouraged their involvement – higher than all other options including friends (29%) and teachers (24%).

We also found that the better the relationship that teenagers felt they had with their mothers, the more likely they were to take part in activities to help other people and the environment. Having a good relationship with a close grandparent also seemed to be important. From what we found, the benefits of having a positive relationship with both of these family members doubled the likelihood that these young people would engage in activities to help others and gave a dual benefit (compared to if they only had a positive relationship with one family member).

When asked to focus on the grandparent they saw most often, four out of five of the teenage group said it was a female grandparent (mother’s mother or father’s father). This finding gives strong support to arguments made by feminist scholars for better recognition of the role of women in civil society, and of the domestic or personal domain as a political space.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


It is puzzling that the influence of fathers isn’t visible in our data, especially as our follow up interviews with parents suggest that both mothers and fathers encourage their children to participate in activities to help others. This is something that we will need to investigate further.

Overall, our study reveals that parents seem to play a key role in providing a route into civic participation and encouraging young people to get involved. This link between family ties and civic participation suggests that some of the values that get passed between parents and their children might aid their participation in activities to help others and the environment. In this sense, it indicates that there could be an intergenerational transmission of civic participation.

Our research findings also undermine the idea that strong families do not contribute to civil society, and suggests instead that strong bonds forged within the family can lead to linkages outside it. This undermines the separation of “public” and “private” that runs through European conceptualisations of civil society.

Our data shows that family is far more important in developing a propensity for engagement in civil society than is commonly understood, even more important than school, perhaps. More research is needed but these results call for a re-evaluation of the family home as a potential site of civil society engagement, and a wider recognition of the role of women in civil society too.The Conversation

About The Author

Esther Muddiman, Research Associate, Cardiff University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=altruism;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}