لماذا اليقين جيد للرومانسية

لماذا اليقين جيد للرومانسية

ذكرت دراسة جديدة أن عدم اليقين بشأن اهتمام شريك رومانسي محتمل بك قد يقودك إلى رؤية الشخص أقل جاذبية جنسية.

"يعاني الناس مستويات أعلى من الرغبة الجنسية عندما يشعرون بالثقة تجاه اهتمام الشريك وقبوله ..."

"قد يحمي الناس أنفسهم من احتمال الرفض المؤلم من خلال ابعاد أنفسهم عن الشركاء المحتمل رفضهم" ، يشرح الدراسة المشارك المؤلف هاري ريس ، أستاذ علم النفس في جامعة روشستر.

وبينما جادل بعض العلماء بأن عدم اليقين يرقى إلى الرغبة الجنسية ، يقول ريس إن نتائج فريقه تشير إلى عكس ذلك. تقول ريس: "يعاني الناس من مستويات أعلى من الرغبة الجنسية عندما يشعرون بالثقة تجاه اهتمام الشريك وقبوله".

يقول المؤلف الرئيسي غوريت بيرنبوم ، وهو عالم نفسي اجتماعي وأستاذ مشارك في علم النفس في المركز متعدد الاختصاصات في هرتسليا ، ومقره إسرائيل ، إن النتائج توحي بأن الرغبة الجنسية قد "تخدم كمؤشر أحاسيس على ملاءمة الماتي الذي يحفز الناس على متابعة العلاقات الرومانسية مع وعلى النقيض من ذلك ، فإن "الرغبة المثبطة" قد تكون بمثابة آلية تهدف إلى حماية الذات من الاستثمار في علاقة يكون المستقبل فيها غير مؤكد ".

على مدار ست دراسات مترابطة - بعضها تجريبي وبعض مداخل يومية - فحص الباحثون ما إذا كانت الشكوك حول نوايا الشريك الرومانسية وتحت أي ظروف تؤثر على الرغبة الجنسية لدى شريكهم.

في الدراسة الأولى ، قام الباحثون بقيادة نساء 51 ورجال 50 من إحدى الجامعات في وسط إسرائيل الذين عرفوا بأنهم أحاديون ومتغايرون ، تتراوح أعمارهم من 19 إلى 31 سنوات ، ليعتقدوا أنهم سيشاركون في دردشة عبر الإنترنت مع مشارك آخر كان في غرفة مختلفة.

بعد ذلك ، أخذ الباحثون الصور للمشاركين وأخبرهم بأن الشخص الآخر - الذي كان في الواقع من الداخل - يعمل مع العلماء - سيراه. ثم عرض الباحثون على المشاركين في الدراسة صورة لشريكهم في الدردشة. في الواقع ، أظهر الباحثون أن جميع المشاركين هم نفس الصورة لشخص من الجنس الآخر.

في نهاية الدردشة عبر برنامج Instant Messenger ، أخبر الباحثون المشاركين أنه سمح لهم بإرسال رسالة أخيرة إلى "شريكهم". وأخبروا بعض المشاركين أن رسالة من شريكهم في الدردشة كانت تنتظرهم وأخبرت الآخرين أن هناك لم تكن رسالة ، وبالتالي خلق اليقين أو عدم اليقين ، على التوالي ، حول نوايا الشريك المحتملة. بعد ذلك ، طلب الباحثون من المشاركين تقييم الاستحسان الجنسي لدى المطلعين واهتمامهم بالتفاعلات المستقبلية معهم.

قيم المشاركون الاستحسان الجنسي لـ "شريكهم" المحتمل على مقياس 5-point الذي يتراوح من 1 (ليس مرغوبًا جنسيًا على الإطلاق) إلى 5 (كثيرًا جدًا). تُظهر البيانات أن المشاركين في الدراسة اعتبروا الشريك المحتمل أكثر جاذبية من الناحية الجنسية في حالة اليقين (متوسط ​​الرغبة الجنسية لدى المطلع هو 3.15) من حالة عدم اليقين (حيث انخفض متوسط ​​الرغبة الجنسية من الداخل إلى 2.73).

الجواب واضح ، فالرغبة الجنسية تزدهر بسبب انخفاض عدم اليقين.

بينما درست الدراسات من 1 إلى 4 تأثير عدم اليقين على البالغين ، استكشفت الدراستان الخامس والسادس ما إذا كان تأثير عدم اليقين يمكن تعميمه على الحياة اليومية للشركاء على المدى الطويل.

استبدل الباحثون هنا اهتمامًا رومانسيًا مع احترام الشريك المتصور. مرة أخرى ، وجد الباحثون أن الشعور بقدر أكبر من اليقين علاقة تنبأت رغبة أكبر لممارسة الجنس مع شريك واحد - الذي يصدق على كل من النساء والرجال في علاقة رومانسية ملتزمة.

وبالطبع ، فإن عدم اليقين أكثر شيوعًا في المواجهات الرومانسية الأولية عندما لا يُعرف الكثير عن الشريك الجديد ، مقارنة بمراحل العلاقة الأكثر تقدمًا ، عندما يكون اليقين بشأن التزام ونوايا الشريك مرتفعًا نسبيًا. عندما يظهر عدم اليقين بشأن مصلحة الشريك في علاقة ثابتة ، فإنه يتعارض مع الحاجة إلى الأمن الذي توفره عادة العلاقات طويلة الأجل.

يقول بيرنبوم إن عدم اليقين "قد يكون بالتالي مهددًا ومدمرًا بشكل خاص للرفاهية الشخصية والعلاقات في العلاقات الراسخة ، والتي لا يُتوقع أن تكون أقل من ذلك".

تعتمد الدراسات على الجدال القديم حول ما إذا كان معرفة الشريك (أو الشريك المحتمل) للشريك الرومانسي يزيد أو يقلل من استحسانهم الجنسي - وهو بالأساس مسألة ما إذا كان "اللعب الجاد للحصول على" يجعل أكثر نجاحًا في مجال المواعدة .

هل توصلت النتائج إلى أن النقاش دامت أخيرًا؟

"حسنا ، لا يضعون الخنجر النهائي في صميم هذه الفكرة ، لكن اكتشافاتنا تشير إلى أن هذه الفكرة تدور حول دعم الحياة" ، تقول ريس ، مشيرة إلى أن فكرة عدم اليقين "لم تكن مدعومة قط من قبل العلم الصلب - ولكن قومًا الحكمة في أحسن الأحوال ".

مصدر: جامعة روتشستر

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = رومانسية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Certainty Is Good For Romance

Why Certainty Is Good For Romance

Uncertainty about a potential romantic partner’s interest in you may lead you to see the person as less sexually attractive, according to a new study.

“People experience higher levels of sexual desire when they feel confident about a partner’s interest and acceptance…”

“People may protect themselves from the possibility of a painful rejection by distancing themselves from potentially rejecting partners,” explains study coauthor Harry Reis, a professor of psychology at the University of Rochester.

While some scientists have argued that uncertainty spices up sexual desire, Reis says his team’s results suggest the opposite holds true. “People experience higher levels of sexual desire when they feel confident about a partner’s interest and acceptance,” says Reis.

Lead author Gurit Birnbaum, a social psychologist and associate professor of psychology at the Israeli-based Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya, says the findings suggest that sexual desire may “serve as a gut-feeling indicator of mate suitability that motivates people to pursue romantic relationships with a reliable and valuable partner.” Conversely, “inhibiting desire may serve as a mechanism aimed at protecting the self from investing in a relationship in which the future is uncertain.”

Over the course of six interrelated studies—some of them experimental and some daily diary entries—the researchers examined whether and under what circumstances uncertainty about a partner’s romantic intentions would affect their partner’s sexual desirability.

In the first study, researchers led 51 women and 50 men from a university in central Israel who identified as single and heterosexual, ranging in age from 19 to 31 years, to believe they would be participating in an online chat with another participant who was in a different room.

Next, researchers took participants pictures and told them the other person—who was in fact an insider, working with the scientists—would see it. Then the researchers showed the study participants a photograph of their purported chat partner. In reality, researchers showed all participants the same picture of an opposite-sex individual.

At the end of the chat via Instant Messenger, the researchers told the participants that they were allowed to send one last message to their “partner.” They told some participants that a message from their chat partner was waiting for them and told others that there was no message, thereby creating either certainty or uncertainty, respectively, about the potential partner’s intentions. Afterwards, the researchers asked the participants to rate the insiders’ sexual desirability and their interest in future interactions with them.

Participants rated the sexual desirability of their potential “partner” on a 5-point scale ranging from 1 (not at all sexually desirable) to 5 (very much so). The data shows that study participants perceived the potential partner as more sexually attractive in the certainty condition (the mean of the insider’s sexual desirability was 3.15) than in the uncertainty condition (where the mean of the insider’s sexual desirability dropped to 2.73).

The answer is clear—sexual desire thrives on reduced uncertainty.

While studies one through four examined the uncertainty effect on single adults, studies five and six explored whether the effect of uncertainty could be generalized to the everyday lives of long-term partners.

Here researchers substituted romantic interest with perceived partner regard. Again, the researchers found that feeling greater relationship certainty predicted greater desire for sex with one’s partner—which held true for both women and men in a committed romantic relationship.

Of course, uncertainty is more typical of initial romantic encounters when little is known about the new partner, compared to more advanced relationship stages, when the certainty about a partner’s commitment and intentions is relatively high. When uncertainty about a partner’s interest emerges in an established relationship, it clashes with the need for security that long-term relationships typically provide.

Birnbaum says uncertainty “may therefore be particularly threatening and devastating for personal and relationship well-being in established relationships, in which it is least expected.”

The studies build on the age-old debate as to whether or not knowing a partner’s (or potential partner’s) romantic interest increases or decreases their sexual desirability—essentially the question of whether “playing hard to get” makes one more successful in the dating arena.

Do the findings put the debate finally to rest?

“Well, they don’t put the final dagger in the heart of this idea, but our findings do indicate that this idea is on life support,” says Reis, noting that the uncertainty idea was “never supported by solid science—but folk wisdom at best.”

Source: University of Rochester

Related Books

The Summer House: A gorgeous feel good romance that will have you hooked
uncertaintyAuthor: Jenny Hale
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Bookouture
List Price: $10.99

Buy Now

BLAIRE: Blaire Part 1 (The Dark Romance Series)
uncertaintyAuthor: Anita Gray
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Gray

Buy Now

The Play (Brit Boys Sports Romance Book 1)
uncertaintyAuthor: J.H. Croix
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}