هدية عيد الميلاد من الملائكة

هدية عيد الميلاد من الملائكة

Iعادة جعل نفسي مجنون مع الأعياد وتعهدت لتبسيط ذلك العام. لقد بذلت قصارى جهدي للالتزام بوعدي ، وبحلول يوم السبت قبل أسبوعين من عيد الميلاد ، شعرت بأنني أتعامل مع إعداد عطلاتي. تم شراء الهدايا ولفها ، وتم التخطيط لقوائم الطعام ، وكانت الشجرة مزخرفة ومزخرفة. كانت حزم الأصدقاء والعلاقات البعيدة جاهزة لبريد يوم الإثنين ، والعروض التي ستنقل شمالاً معي إلى مسقط رأسي في وقت لاحق من ذلك الأسبوع قد تم لفها وتمييزها وتكديسها على طاولة المطبخ. خططت لدفع "الوطن" إلى بانجور ، ولاية ماين ، في وقت لاحق من هذا الأسبوع لزيارتي التقليدية قبل عيد الميلاد.

وتسليط الضوء على تلك الرحلة يوم أن وجود جيدة طويلة لقاء وجها لوجه مع جدتي، أعطيه المعشوق. كنا مونش كعك عيد الميلاد والشاي رشفة ونحن المحاصرين وتذكر وضحك. لن يكون هناك الكثير من الضحك. في وقت لاحق بعد ظهر ذلك اليوم، وأود أن جعل بلدي جولات لغيرهم من الأقارب، وتقديم الهدايا وبشرى للموسم. مع زيارات عديدة وست ساعات ذهابا وإيابا، سيكون يوم مرهقة، ولكن واحدة أدليت به عن طيب خاطر. كان فرصة لقضاء يوم مع جدتي، صديق الحقيقي بلدي، سبب كاف. على الرغم من أننا تحدثنا على الهاتف على الأقل مرة واحدة في الأسبوع، وأنا عزيز كل لحظة من شركتها.

الحدس الإضرابات

مع المهام عيد الميلاد بلدي بشكل جيد في متناول اليد، قررت لمعالجة كومة ثلاثة أقدام عالية من الكي الجالس أمامي. عيد ميلاد حماسية من ستيريو ورائحة الشوكولاتة انخفض اليد تجفيف على العداد لجعل جو مرح، على الرغم من المهمة الدنيوية في متناول اليد.

"أنا بحاجة للذهاب إلى بانجور،" قلت فجأة والحديد الجو، لزوجي.

"هاه ... يوم الخميس، أليس كذلك؟"

"لا، اليوم، وأعتقد أنني يجب أن تذهب اليوم" وجدت نفسي الإجابة.

"اليوم؟" سأل، اخماد الصحيفة ويبحث في وجهي على الحافات من نظارته.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"نعم، وسرعان ما الانتهاء من الكي وعدد قليل من الأعمال الأخرى قليلا."

واضاف "لكن اليوم هو بالفعل النصف خلال وعندما كنت تخطط لمغادرة؟"

"في الواقع، كنت قد خططت لا، ولكن أود أن تكون قادرا على ترك ثمانية صباحا."

"الليلة؟" سأل مرة أخرى. لا أحد على السؤال رأيي، انه متوقف على النظر في ما هو واضح قرار التسرع غير عادي من جانبي. "فما استقاموا لكم فاستقيموا بدلا لك حقا لا تدفع جميع بهذه الطريقة وحدها في الليل."

"أعتقد أنك على حق."

واصلت لجعل طريقي من خلال الكي، ووقف فقط للرد على الهاتف والشراب وعاء من القهوة الطازجة. وأنا تسويتها، ولقد تقدمت قائمة العقلية من الاشياء القليلة المتبقية يجب القيام به قبل عيد الميلاد، ولكن الرغبة في ترك كل شيء والذهاب إلى بانجور مزعجة في الجزء الخلفي من ذهني.

انضم كولين صديقي عندما وصلت أخيرا أسفل كومة، للي القهوة. عاش كولين معنا لسنوات. لأنها لم يكن لديها الكثير من الأسرة بلدها، قد اعتمدنا لها في بلدنا. أطفالي استدعاء العمة لها. قلت لها عن الرغبة في دفع إلى بانجور في تلك الليلة وقلق زوجي.

"يمكنني أن أذهب معك"، تطوعت.

زوجي، تناهى حديثنا، عن طريق الأنابيب في: "إذا كنت تذهب مع العمة، لأنها تذهب. شاغلي الوحيد كان لك القيادة وحدها في الليل."

قررنا أن تدفع مباشرة من خلال والحصول على غرفة في فندق في بانجور. لقد كرهت أن تفرض على أقارب الراحل، وأنا أحب الفنادق. من شأنه أن يجعل ليلة السيدات 'خارج متعة أكثر من ذلك بقليل. من 7: 30، كنا التحميل أكياس بين عشية وضحاها، والهدايا، والأشياء الجيدة محلية الصنع في الجزء الخلفي من سيارة ستيشن بلدي. مسلح مع الهاتف الخليوي، والترمس من القهوة، والأقراص المدمجة عيد الميلاد، والوجبات الخفيفة لمحرك الأقراص، والقبلات والعناق من زوجي وأطفالي، وتركنا في رحلة لمدة ثلاث ساعات لدينا.

الذهاب مع الإيمان، والثقة، والإرشاد

وبعد بضع دقائق، بدأت موجة الثلوج الأول من الموسم، وتغطي الرصيف مع الغبار الأبيض جميلة وإضافة إلى الشعور الاحتفالات. ولكن مع كل ميل، سقطت الثلوج أصعب. في غضون دقائق، وكان عدة بوصات من الثلوج المتراكمة الجليدية على الطريق السريع. لم بلدي الخلفية ذات الدفع بالعجلات السيارات لا تحقق نتائج جيدة في ظروف الزلقة، لذلك أنا تباطأ الى 45 كيلومتر في الساعة. بدأت الريح لركلة صعودا والثلوج التي تسقط في ورقة، والحد من الرؤية إلى بلدي قصيرة المدى من قبل الحزمة مباشرة الأمامي بلدي. I تباطأ إلى 25 كيلومتر في الساعة ويتبع علامات بيضاء عاكسة على طول الجانب الأيمن من الطريق السريع، وتكافح من أجل إبقاء السيارة على الطريق ولكن تبقى هادئة بشكل غريب. وقال لي شيء داخل سنكون بخير.

دون سابق إنذار، وعلامات بيضاء على الرصيف ثم اختفى فجأة. ونحن اصطدمت طبقة سميكة من الثلج لم يمسها، فقدت عجلات السيارة الخلفية الجر وبدأنا ذيل السمكة. كان على نحو ما كنت قادرا على استعادة السيطرة قبل أن تصل إلى snowdrift جانب الطريق.

"أنت بعيدا عن الطريق السريع!" بكى من كولين.

على الرغم من هز، جمعت بسرعة نفسي. أدركت أنني كنت اتبعت الطرق السريعة وضع العلامات على الخروج من الطريق المنحدر الخروج. كنا في منتصف من أي مكان في الملعب الظلام، والثلج العميق. والتفت حول السيارة، والصلاة ونحن لن تتعثر، ووجدنا طريقنا إلى الطريق السريع.

لآخر 100 كيلومتر، تسللت من خلال عاصفة ثلجية نحن. وأخيرا اسمحوا العاصفة الثلجية نحو جنوب دقائق 30 بانجور. بحلول ذلك الوقت، كنا الضحك عن محنتنا وتستعد لدينا تتمتع مساء. وصلنا خروجنا بسلام وبحثت عن الفندق. وكان نزل البلد بالقرب من الخروج دائما مفتون لي، ولكن كنت بقيت هناك أبدا. شملت معظم ليلة مبيت في بانجور أولادي وأماكن الإقامة المطلوبة أكبر. قررنا أن يعطي هو محاولة.

قادمة في نزل لعيد الميلاد

لدينا فرحة، وتزين بشكل جميل نزل لعيد الميلاد. وقد زينت لدينا غرفة في عزر البلاد، وعيد الميلاد اكليلا من الزهور كبيرة معلقة خارج النافذة. مع تساقط الثلوج بلطف كخلفية، بدا الأمر وكأنه مشهد من بطاقة عيد الميلاد من الطراز القديم، وهذا ما قلت زوجي عندما كنت اتصل به ليعلن لنا آمنة، إذا تأخر إلى حد ما، الوصول. أمضى كولين وأنا أتحدث ليلة، يضحكون، ومشاهدة التلفزيون. كان واحدا عشرة قبل ونحن سقطت نائما.

هدية عيد الميلاد من الملائكةفي الصباح اتصلت عمتي أن نسأل ما هو الوقت سوف تكون مريحة لزيارة غرام.

"كانت تواجه صعوبة في التنفس هذا الصباح، لذلك أخذوها إلى المستشفى"، وقال عمتي.

على الرغم المعنية، لم أكن قلق بلا مبرر. كان لجدتي تاريخ من صعوبات في التنفس، والموظفين في منشأة بمساعدة المعيشة حيث عاشت الآن في كثير من الأحيان استغرق نقلها الى المستشفى للعلاج لتخفيف الازدحام البخاخات لها.

"سأتصل بك في وقت لاحق لمعرفة متى يأتي،" قلت عمتي.

أمضى كولين وأنا بقية من الصباح أتصفح المكتبات ويحتسي عصير التفاح الساخن. بعد الغداء، ودعا عدت عمتي.

"قرر الطبيب أن نعترف لها"، قالت. "بحلول الوقت الذي نصل الى هناك، فسوف تتم تسوية انها في غرفتها."

بعد دقائق وصلنا إلى المستشفى وأخذ المصعد إلى جناح طب الشيخوخة. كان يجلس غرام في كرسي متحرك في حين حصلت ممرضة على استعداد لها لسرير. وصعوبة في التنفس لها، وكان من الصعب بالنسبة لها في الكلام، وذلك قمت بترجمة. فهمت ما كانت تحاول أن تقوله. وأشارت إلى خدها، مما يشير كولين لزرع قبلة هناك. يومئ قالت إن قدميها كانت باردة، وممرضة جلبت لها الجوارب. عندما ترشحت أصابعها على أظافري، لامعة مصقولة، وقالت انها تقول لي انها في حاجة مانيكير.

واضاف "اننا سوف تحصل على كارين هنا غدا للقيام أظافرك،" قلت لها. أختي فعلت في كثير من الأحيان الأظافر غرام عندما زارت.

مرت فترة ما بعد الظهر بسرعة وسارة. مغفو غرام من وقت لآخر، ولكن بالنسبة لمعظم من الزيارة، وقالت انها كانت في حالة تأهب والمتحركة. ابتسمت وغالبا ما تجاذبنا أطراف الحديث، وأنها عقدت يدي بإحكام.

أفضل هدية عيد الميلاد

في نهاية زيارتنا، تمنيت لها عيد ميلاد سعيد. همست لها هدايا عيد الميلاد التي كانت في منزل عمتي وقالت انها تريد أن تتصرف على نحو أفضل وليس فتحها حتى عيد الميلاد.

"أنت أفضل هدية عيد الميلاد،" قالت لي. وقالت انها في كل عام.

وصلت بالنسبة لي، وعندما انحنى لأسفل I، وقالت انها عانقني بشدة وقبلت خدي. أنا قبلت جبينها وقلت لها أنا أحبها. ابتسمت وأومأ، غير قادر على التنفس جمع ما يكفي من الكلام.

من المدخل سمعت لها توترت، "أنا أحبك".

والتفت الى الوراء وابتسم، لقائنا العينين.

وكان البيت هادئ رحلة. وصلنا منتصف المساء لتدفئة تحية من الأسرة. بعد نقل قلقي من غرام لزوجي، اتصلت عمتي أن أقول أننا قد وصلت المنزل بأمان. وقالت انها تريد عاد لتوه من المستشفى بعد أن مدسوس الغرام في ليلة.

"قلت لها كنت أراها في الصباح،" قالت. "وفجر قالت لي بقبلة".

توفي غرام من ساعة في وقت لاحق.

شعرت عندما جاء للدعوة، والحزن الساحقة - ولكن أيضا عن امتنانه لشرف أن تكون قادرة على انفاق آخر السلمي، بعد ظهر ممتعة معها.

الاستجابة لأصوات الملائكة

خلال الأسبوعين قبل وفاتها، وكان ينظر الغرام الجميع تقريبا في الأسرة الذين يعيشون ضمن مسافة القيادة معقولة. على الرغم من أننا كثيرا ما تحدث على الهاتف، لم أكن قد رأيتها منذ شهرين، وكنت أعرف كم هي العزيزة وقتنا معا. وأنا أعلم الآن أيضا أن قوة التي شغلت يدي كانت لها علامة لي أنها كانت قوية في الروح، وأنها كان يقول وداعا.

في مديح ألقيته في جنازة غرام، تحدثت عن حبها والإخلاص لعائلتها. لقد تحدثت من قوتها والشجاعة، التي مكنها من رفع ستة أطفال وحدها بعد أن ترملت في الأربعينات من عمرها. قلت أنه بدلا من الحداد خسارة بالنسبة لنا، علينا الاحتفال مع الامتنان سنوات عديدة كانت قد أنعم حياتنا. وتحدثت عن الملائكة.

كيف يمكن لي أن أشرح آخر إكراه بلدي لدفع ثلاث ساعات في الليل لرؤيتها، قبل أيام رحلتي المخطط لها؟ أو من خلال الاسترشاد عاصفة ثلجية المسببة للعمى؟ أو هدية خارقة للساعات الثمينة تلك مشاركة معها؟

وقد أنعم الله I مع الحب والصداقة ملاك هنا على الأرض - جدتي. وقد جلبت لي الملائكة إلى غرام في زيارة عيد الميلاد النهائي. وقالت إنها الآن يسكن معهم، في الراحة والفرح.

المادة المصدر:

كوب من الراحة، حرره كولين بيع.كوب من الراحة: القصص التي قلبك الدافئ، ارفع روحك، وإثراء حياتك
حرره البيع كولين.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر، آدمز اعلام. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في www.adamsonline.com

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

المزيد من الكتب كتبها هذا الكاتب.

نبذة عن الكاتب

كيمبرلي ريبليكيمبرلي ريبلي وهو مؤلف من تنفس بعمق، وهذا سوف تمر جدا، ومجموعة من الحكايات على التجارب والانتصارات من المراهقين الأبوة والأمومة. تعيش مع زوجها وأطفالهما الخمسة في بورتسموث، نيو هامبشاير. وهي أيضا مؤلف''تراسل لاحقا في الحياة'' التي كانت ورشة عمل مميزة في متاجر الكتب في جميع أنحاء البلاد في 2002. لمزيد من المعلومات حول كيم ، تفضل بزيارة www.kimberlyripley.writergazette.com/

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

A Gift from Christmas Angels

A Gift from Christmas Angels

A Gift from Christmas Angels

Iusually made myself crazy with the holidays and had vowed to simplify that year. I had done my best to stick to my promise, and by the Saturday two weeks before Christmas, I felt that I really had a handle on my holiday preparations. Gifts had been bought and wrapped, menus had been planned, and the tree was up and decorated. Packages for faraway friends and relations were ready for Monday’s mail, and the presents that would travel north with me to my hometown later that week had been wrapped, tagged, and stacked on the kitchen counter. I planned to drive "home" to Bangor, Maine, later that week for my traditional just-before-Christmas visit.

The highlight of that day trip would be having a good long tête-à-tête with my grandmother, whom I adored. We’d munch Christmas cookies and sip tea as we caught up and reminisced and laughed. There would be much laughter. Later that afternoon, I would make my rounds to other relatives, delivering gifts and glad tidings of the season. With the numerous visits and six-hour round trip, it would be an exhausting day, but one I made willingly. The chance to spend the day with my grandmother, my truest friend, was reason enough. Though we talked on the phone at least once a week, I treasured every moment of her company.

Intuition Strikes

With my Christmas tasks well in hand, I decided to tackle the three-foot-high pile of ironing that sat before me. Christmas carols blaring from the stereo and the aroma of hand-dipped chocolates drying on the counter made for a merry atmosphere, despite the mundane task at hand.

"I need to go to Bangor," I suddenly said, iron midair, to my husband.

"Uh-huh … on Thursday, right?"

"No, today. I think I should go today," I found myself answering.

"Today?" he asked, putting down the newspaper and looking at me over the rims of his glasses.

"Yes, as soon as I finish the ironing and a few other little chores."

"But the day is already half over. When were you planning to leave?"

"Actually, I hadn’t planned it, but I should be able to leave by eight o’clock."

"Tonight?" he asked again. Not one to question my judgment, he paused to consider what was clearly an unusually impulsive decision on my part. "I’d really rather you not drive all that way alone at night."

"I suppose you’re right."

I continued to make my way through the ironing, stopping only to answer the phone and to brew a fresh pot of coffee. As I ironed, I made a mental list of the few remaining things to do before Christmas, but the urge to drop everything and go to Bangor nagged at the back of my mind.

When I finally reached the bottom of the pile, my friend Colleen joined me for coffee. Colleen has lived with us for years. As she didn’t have much family of her own, we had adopted her into ours. My kids call her Auntie. I told her about wanting to drive to Bangor that night and my husband’s concern.

"I could go with you," she volunteered.

My husband, overhearing our conversation, piped in, "If Auntie goes with you, go for it. My only concern was you driving alone at night."

We decided to drive straight through and get a hotel room in Bangor. I hated imposing on relatives that late, and I loved hotels. It would make our ladies’ night out a little more fun. By 7:30, we were loading overnight bags, gifts, and homemade goodies into the back of my station wagon. Armed with the cell phone, a thermos of coffee, Christmas CDs, snacks for the drive, and kisses and hugs from my husband and children, we left on our three-hour journey.

Going with Faith, Trust, and Guidance

A few minutes later, the first snow flurry of the season began, covering the pavement with a pretty white dusting and adding to the feeling of festivity. But with each mile, the snow fell harder. Within minutes, several inches of icy snow had accumulated on the highway. My rear-wheel-drive car didn’t do well in slippery conditions, so I slowed to 45 miles per hour. The wind began to kick up and the snow started falling in sheets, reducing my visibility to the short range directly ahead of my headlight beams. I slowed to 25 miles per hour and followed the white reflective markers along the right side of the highway, struggling to keep the car on the road but remaining strangely calm. Something inside told me we’d be okay.

Without warning, the white markers and then the pavement suddenly disappeared. As we plowed into a thick layer of untouched snow, the car’s rear wheels lost traction and we started to fishtail. Somehow I was able to regain control before we hit the snowdrift alongside the road.

"You’re off the highway!" Colleen cried out.

Though rattled, I quickly collected myself. I realized I’d followed the highway markers off of an exit ramp. We were in the middle of nowhere in the pitch dark, and the snow was deep. I turned the car around, praying we wouldn’t get stuck, and we found our way back to the highway.

For another 100 miles, we crept through the blizzard. The snowstorm finally let up about 30 minutes south of Bangor. By then, we were laughing about our ordeal and preparing to enjoy our evening. We reached our exit safely and looked for a motel. A country inn near the exit had always intrigued me, but I’d never stayed there. Most overnights in Bangor included my children and required larger accommodations. We decided to give it a try.

Arriving at the Inn for Christmas

To our delight, the inn was beautifully adorned for Christmas. Our room was decorated in a country motif, and a large Christmas wreath hung outside the window. With the gently falling snow as a backdrop, it looked like a scene from an old-fashioned Christmas card, which is what I told my husband when I phoned him to announce our safe, if somewhat delayed, arrival. Colleen and I spent the night talking, giggling, and watching television. It was one o’clock before we fell asleep.

A Gift from Christmas AngelsIn the morning I called my aunt to ask what time would be convenient to visit Gram.

"She was having trouble breathing this morning, so they took her to the hospital," my aunt said.

Though concerned, I was not unduly alarmed. My grandmother had a history of breathing difficulties, and the staff at the assisted-living facility where she now lived often took her to the hospital for nebulizer treatments to ease her congestion.

"I’ll call you later to find out when to come up," I told my aunt.

Colleen and I spent the rest of the morning browsing through bookstores and sipping hot cider. After lunch, I called my aunt back.

"The doctor decided to admit her," she said. "By the time you get there, she’ll be settled into her room."

Minutes later we arrived at the hospital and took the elevator to the geriatric ward. Gram was sitting in a wheelchair while a nurse got her ready for bed. Her breathing was labored, and it was difficult for her to speak, so I translated. I understood what she was trying to say. She pointed to her cheek, signaling Colleen to plant a kiss there. She gestured that her feet were cold, and the nurse brought her socks. When she ran her fingers over my shiny, polished nails, she was telling me she needed a manicure.

"We’ll get Karen over here tomorrow to do your nails," I told her. My sister often did Gram’s nails when she visited.

The afternoon passed quickly and pleasantly. Gram dozed from time to time, but for most of the visit, she was alert and animated. She smiled often as we chatted, and she held my hand tightly.

The Best Christmas Present

At the end of our visit, I wished her a Merry Christmas. I whispered that her Christmas presents were at my aunt’s house and that she’d better behave and not open them until Christmas.

"You’re the best Christmas present," she told me. She said it every year.

She reached for me, and when I leaned down, she hugged me fiercely and kissed my cheek. I kissed her forehead and told her I loved her. She smiled and nodded, unable to gather enough breath to speak.

From the doorway I heard her strained, "I love you."

I turned back and smiled, our eyes meeting.

The trip home was uneventful. We arrived mid-evening to warm greetings from the family. After conveying my concerns about Gram to my husband, I called my aunt to say we’d arrived home safely. She’d just returned from the hospital after having tucked Gram in for the night.

"I told her I’d see her in the morning," she said. "And she blew me a kiss."

Gram died an hour later.

When the call came, I felt overwhelming grief — but also gratitude for the privilege of being able to spend one last peaceful, enjoyable afternoon with her.

Heeding the Voices of Angels

During the two weeks before her death, Gram had seen almost everyone in the family who lived within a reasonable driving distance. Although we often spoke on the phone, I hadn’t seen her in two months, and I knew how much she cherished our time together. I also know now that the strength with which she held my hand was her sign to me that she was strong in spirit and that she was saying good-bye.

In the eulogy I delivered at Gram’s funeral, I talked about her love and devotion to her family. I spoke of her strength and courage, which had enabled her to raise six children alone after having been widowed in her forties. I said that, rather than mourning our loss, we should celebrate with gratitude the many years she had graced our lives. And I talked about angels.

How else could I explain my compulsion to drive three hours at night to see her, days before my planned trip? Or being guided through a blinding snowstorm? Or the miraculous gift of those last precious hours with her?

I had been blessed with the love and friendship of an angel here on earth — my grandmother. Angels had brought me to Gram for a final Christmas visit. Now she dwells with them, in comfort and joy.

Article Source:

A Cup of Comfort, edited by Colleen Sell. A Cup of Comfort: Stories That Warm Your Heart, Lift Your Spirit, and Enrich Your Life
edited by Colleen Sell.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Adams Media Corporation. Visit their website at www.adamsonline.com

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

More books by this author.

About The Author  

Kimberly RipleyKimberly Ripley is the author of Breathe Deeply, This Too Shall Pass, a collection of tales on the trials and triumphs of parenting teenagers. She lives with her husband and their five children in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. She is also the author of ''Freelancing Later in Life'' which was a featured workshop in book stores across the country in 2002. For more info about Kim, visit  www.kimberlyripley.writergazette.com/

A Gift from Christmas Angels
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}