Verwandeln Sie Ihre Albträume oder ängstlichen Träume in angenehme Erlebnisse

Bild eines Mädchens, das in einen düsteren Wald schaut, aber mit Lichtstrahl durchscheint
Bild von Willgard Krause


Erzählt von Marie T. Russell. 

Videoversion

Der folgende Satz ist das Wichtigste, was ich über Träume und Träume zu sagen habe: Nachdem ein Traum vorbei ist, ES WIRD EIN SPEICHER!

Dies ist der Schlüssel, um Ihre Träume zu meistern.

Vom Albtraum zum Abenteuer

Das wesentliche Element, das einen Traum zum Albtraum macht, ist das Gefühl der Hilflosigkeit angesichts von Ereignissen, über die Sie keine Kontrolle haben. Wenn Sie in der Lage sind, etwas gegen diese Ereignisse zu unternehmen, das das hilflose Gefühl beseitigt, wird der gleiche Traum eher zu einem Abenteuer als zu einem Albtraum.

Ein Albtraum tritt nur auf, wenn Sie unter starkem Stress stehen und Stress sich als Muskelspannung im Körper niederschlägt. Wenn die Spannung stark genug ist, kann sie die Körperfunktionen beeinträchtigen, und dies kann eine Art viszerale Angst hervorrufen, die einen Albtraum oder sogar eine Reihe von Albträumen hervorruft.

Wenn die Spannung auf irgendeine Weise gelöst wird, hören die Alpträume auf. Wenn genug Spannung wieder auftritt, selbst wenn man sich an den Albtraum erinnert, können dieselben oder unterschiedliche Alpträume erneut auftreten oder im Wachzustand Angst und Hilflosigkeit hervorrufen.

Kannst du Albträume verbannen?

Abgesehen von Medikamenten, die Gefühle unterdrücken oder maskieren, verwenden einige Psychologen derzeit eine Technik, bei der Klienten, wenn sie sich an einen Albtraum erinnern, geraten werden, ihre Gedanken auf etwas Angenehmes umzustellen. Dies hat dazu geführt, dass einige Kunden in einem bestimmten Zeitraum weniger Albträume hatten und wird daher als sehr effektive Technik angesehen. Es löst eine gewisse Spannung und es ist eine Tatsache, dass Sie, wenn Ihre Muskeln entspannt genug sind, keinen Ärger oder keine Angst spüren können, für die beide Muskelverspannungen erforderlich sind.


 Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail


Es ist auch eine Tatsache, dass das Bewußtsein oder Nachdenken über gute Dinge, wie das Zählen Ihres Segens, angespannte Muskeln entspannt und ein Gefühl des Wohlbefindens erzeugt. Diese Technik hat jedoch nichts mit den Überzeugungen und Unsicherheiten der Kunden zu tun, die aus einem Mangel an Selbstwertgefühl, Selbstwertgefühl und Selbstvertrauen resultieren. Solche Überzeugungen können zu mehr Gefühl der Hilflosigkeit führen, was zu mehr Albträumen führt.

Eine andere Technik besteht darin, Menschen über einen Zeitraum von Monaten in klarem Träumen zu schulen, damit sie den laufenden Albtraum bis zu einem gewissen Grad modifizieren können. Dies war für einige Leute erfolgreich, aber es dauert lange und ist inkonsistent.

Die Erinnerung an den Albtraum heilen

Jetzt ist es jedoch an der Zeit, die effizientesten und effektivsten Techniken vorzustellen, die Sie jemals für den Umgang mit Albträumen finden werden. Effizient, da es normalerweise weniger als fünf Minuten und oft weniger als eine Minute dauert. Effektiv, weil es direkt mit den Gefühlen der Hilflosigkeit umgeht und diese verändert. Wie macht es das? Indem wir mit dem eigentlichen Problem arbeiten: der Erinnerung an den Albtraum.

Während eines Albtraums sind Sie den Gefühlen der Angst und Hilflosigkeit ausgesetzt, die die Traumsituation hervorruft. Wenn Sie jedoch aufwachen, haben Sie es nicht mehr mit dem Albtraum selbst zu tun, der vorbei ist, sondern mit der Erinnerung, die manchmal ein ganzes Leben lang anhält.

Hier können Sie ohne weitere Diskussion Folgendes tun. Ich werde meine eigenen Traumerfahrungen als Illustrationen verwenden, obwohl ich Hunderten von anderen mit den gleichen Techniken geholfen habe. Wählen Sie die Methode aus, die Ihnen am besten gefällt, oder experimentieren Sie mit jeder.

Das Wesentliche dieser Techniken ist, dass Sie direkt mit dem arbeiten Erinnerung des Alptraums, der noch existiert, und nicht mit dem Albtraum selbst, der vorbei und erledigt ist. Dies hat zwei sehr wichtige Konsequenzen.

1. Da die ursprüngliche Erfahrung nicht mehr existiert, ist der Speicher das Problem.

2. Da der Speicher das Problem ist, müssen Sie nicht wieder einschlafen, um damit umzugehen. Sie können direkt wach und bewusst damit arbeiten.

Option 1: Ändern Sie Ihre Reaktion

Nachdem Sie aufgewacht sind, wählen Sie, sobald Sie in der Lage sind, einen Punkt in der Erinnerung an den Albtraum, an dem Sie auf etwas reagiert haben, das sich ereignet hat, und ändern Sie mit Ihrer bewussten Vorstellungskraft Ihre Reaktion. Manchmal ändert sich dadurch Ihre Einstellung zum Albtraum, und manchmal führt dies zu einer spontanen Änderung der Charaktere und Ereignisse, die den Albtraum zu einem interessanten Traum macht.

Meine Frau wird sehr wütend, weil ich ihre Kleidung nicht richtig gestapelt habe und ich denke, ich sollte sie alle aufheben und weglegen und sie schreit mich an und ich nehme wütend eines ihrer Höschen und lege es auf einen Stapel . Ich denke immer noch, ich sollte die Kleidung weglegen, aber ich werde verwirrt und es ist schwer, klar zu denken. Sie fängt wieder an zu schreien, dass sie keinen Respekt vor mir hat und ich werde wütender, aber sie sehe die Kleidung immer noch verwirrt an. Wir geraten in ein schreiendes Match und ich wache sehr verärgert auf.

Der Wechsel

Wenn ich aufwache, die Augen immer noch geschlossen, aber wach bin und mich an den Traum erinnere, entscheide ich, dass der Traum geändert werden muss, aber es fällt mir sehr schwer, dies zu tun. Dies ist ungewöhnlich für mich, zeigt aber, dass einige starke Überzeugungen am Werk sind. Ich arbeite weiter daran und kann mir endlich vorstellen, die Kleider aufzuheben und in eine Kiste in einem eigenen Raum oben zu legen, und das macht mich zufrieden und glücklich. Oh, und übrigens, meine liebe, süße Frau wird in Waking Life nie so wütend auf mich.

Option 2: Ändern Sie die Story

Wählen Sie nach dem Aufwachen, sobald Sie in der Lage sind, einen Punkt Ihrer Wahl in der Erinnerung an den Albtraum aus und verwenden Sie Ihre Fantasie, um die Geschichte zu ändern. Denken Sie daran, Sie arbeiten mit der Erinnerung an den Albtraum, nicht mit dem Traum selbst, der nicht mehr existiert. Geben Sie sich also die Freiheit, die Geschichte so zu ändern, wie Sie es möchten, damit Sie sich gut fühlen. Diese Technik fühlt sich nicht nur gut an, sondern hilft auch dabei, Ihre Überzeugungen über sich selbst zu ändern. Folgendes habe ich getan, als ich in der High School war.

Ich renne eine Straße entlang und habe Todesangst, weil ich von zwei BMOCs (Big Men on Campus, übersetzt als „Mobber“) verfolgt werde. Ich sehe ein Kellerrestaurant zu meiner Rechten und renne die Treppe hinunter. Das Restaurant ist leer, also versuche ich mich am Ende der Treppe unter einem Tisch zu verstecken. Die BMOCs rennen hinter mir die Treppe hinunter, sehen mich unter dem Tisch, treten ihn um und beginnen mich zu verprügeln. Ich wache sehr ängstlich auf.

Der Wechsel

Ich bin unter dem Tisch und sobald die Mobber den Fuß der Treppe erreichen, stehe ich auf und werfe den Tisch ab, stampfe zu den beiden Jungen, knacke ihre Köpfe zusammen und werfe sie nacheinander die Treppe hinauf und in die Straße. Dann decke ich den Tisch aufrecht, bestelle ein Bier bei einer hübschen Kellnerin, setze mich und trinke es (und Junge, hat sich das jemals gut angefühlt).

Das Ergebnis? Niemand hat mich jemals wieder gemobbt, und ich hatte nie wieder einen solchen Albtraum.

Option 3: Setzen Sie den Traum fort

So seltsam es auch klingen mag, ich habe festgestellt, dass sich der Albtraum, wenn Sie zulassen, dass er über den Punkt hinausgeht, an dem Sie aufgewacht sind, unabhängig von der Situation, immer positiv auflöst, wenn auch in einigen Fällen Fälle, die eine Weile dauern können.

Wählen Sie erneut einen Punkt Ihrer Wahl in der Erinnerung an den Albtraum, einschließlich des Anfangs, wenn Sie möchten, und denken Sie daran, wenn Sie das Ende erreichen, das Sie aufgeweckt hat. In diesem Fall versuchen Sie nicht, etwas zu bewirken. Sie lassen einfach zu, dass sich die Geschichte auf ihre eigene Weise entfaltet, bis Sie eine Lösung erreichen, die sich gut anfühlt. Weitere schlimme Dinge könnten passieren, aber bleiben Sie dabei, wenn Sie können.

Einige Menschen sind durch große Gefahr in eine religiöse Erfahrung geraten. Ein Mann, den ich kenne, der von einem wiederkehrenden fallenden Traum geplagt wurde, ließ sich in den Tod fallen und blieb dabei, bis Engel kamen und ihn in den Himmel brachten. Einige erhalten aussagekräftige Erkenntnisse, die ihnen bei der Lösung von Beziehungsproblemen helfen. Was folgt, ist eine meiner Erfahrungen, als ich siebenunddreißig war.

Ein Mann droht, mich zu verprügeln, es sei denn, ich lege eine Lizenz vor, die mit siebenunddreißig endet. Ich finde endlich einen, der an einem Gestell hängt, aber er kommt immer noch hinter mir her. Ein schwarzer Polizist überquert die Straße. Ich nutze die Ablenkung, um mich hinter einem Busch zu verstecken. Der Typ kommt vorbei und ich rase mit meinem Auto in Richtung Strandteil der Stadt, gehe durch Ampeln usw. Dann bin ich auf einem Fahrrad oder renne auf dem Bürgersteig und krachte durch Äste.

Die Fortsetzung

Während ich wach bin und dort anfange, wo ich aufgehört habe: „Ich stürze durch die Äste und mein Fahrrad stürzt immer wieder und ich lande auf einem Hof. Der Typ hört und kommt hinter mir her, aber eine große Bulldogge im Hof ​​jagt ihn weg und kommt zurück, um meine Hand zu lecken. “

Präkognitive oder beunruhigende Träume

Sie müssen diese Techniken nicht auf Albträume beschränken. Sie funktionieren genauso gut mit jedem unangenehmen oder beunruhigenden Traum, einschließlich solcher, die vorkognitiv zu sein scheinen. Eine Studentin von mir träumte, ihr Kind sei von einem Baum gefallen und verletzt worden. Sie überarbeitete den Traum, so dass das Kind auf eine Matratze fiel. Zwei Wochen später fiel das Kind von einem Baum, stand aber auf und ging ohne Schaden davon.

Ich möchte die Einfachheit und Effektivität dieser Techniken hervorheben und die Tatsache, dass sie direkt nach dem Aufwachen aus dem Traum oder sogar Jahre später durchgeführt werden können, wenn der Traum Sie immer noch beunruhigt. Denken Sie daran, alles, was Sie tun müssen, ist mit dem Speicher zu arbeiten, denn dort liegt das Problem.

© 2017, 2020 von Serge King. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Nachdruck mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Herausgebers
Bear & Co, ein Abdruck von Inner Traditions Intl.
www.innertraditions.com

Artikel Quelle

Traumtechniken: Arbeiten mit Nachtträumen, Tagträumen und Grenzträumen
von Serge Kahili King

Buchcover: Träumtechniken: Arbeiten mit Nachtträumen, Tagträumen und Grenzträumen von Serge Kahili KingTräume können unser Leben auf tiefgreifende und greifbare Weise verändern. In diesem Leitfaden zur Beherrschung der Kunst des Träumens untersucht Serge Kahili King, Ph.D., Techniken, um die Kraft der Träume für Heilung, Transformation und Veränderung Ihrer Erfahrung der Realität zu nutzen. Er stützt sich auf seine Analyse von mehr als 5,000 seiner eigenen Träume sowie der von Studenten und Kunden aus seiner fast 50-jährigen klinischen Arbeit und untersucht, welche Arten von Nachtträumen wir haben, wie wir uns besser an sie erinnern und wie wir sie nutzen können sie, um unsere Gesundheit und unser Wohlbefinden zu verbessern und wie man sie interpretiert. Das Buch befasst sich auch eingehend mit Tagträumen, einschließlich Fantasie, geführten Bildern, Meditation, Visionen und Fernsicht, und bietet Techniken zur Verwendung von Tagträumen für Heilung, Einsicht und Kreativität. 

Für weitere Informationen und / oder um dieses Buch zu bestellen, klicken Sie bitte hier. Auch als Kindle Edition erhältlich. 

Weitere Bücher dieses Autors.

Über den Autor

Foto von Serge Kahili King, Ph.D.Serge Kahili King, Ph.D., ist Autor zahlreicher Werke über Huna und hawaiianischen Schamanismus, darunter Urbaner Schamane und Sofortige Heilung. Er hat einen Doktortitel in Psychologie und wurde von der Kahili-Familie in Kauai sowie von afrikanischen und mongolischen Schamanen in Schamanismus ausgebildet. Er ist Geschäftsführer von Huna International, einem gemeinnützigen weltweiten Netzwerk von Einzelpersonen, die sich dafür eingesetzt haben, die Welt zu einem besseren Ort zu machen. Er lebt auf der Big Island von Hawaii. Besuchen Sie seine Website unter http://www.huna.net/
 

Weitere Artikel dieses Autors

Sie Könnten Auch Mögen

VERFÜGBARE SPRACHEN

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

 Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Marie T. Russells tägliche Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Horoskop Aktuelle Woche: 12. - 18. April 2021
Horoskop Aktuelle Woche: 12. - 18. April 2021
by Pam Younghans
Dieses wöchentliche astrologische Tagebuch basiert auf planetarischen Einflüssen und bietet Perspektiven und…
Passen Sie sich mit der überwundenen Denkweise dem Unerwarteten an
Passen Sie sich mit der überwundenen Denkweise dem Unerwarteten an
by Jason Redman
Erraten Sie, was? Das Leben ist unfair und der Kampf ist eindeutig unfair. Verrückte Dinge passieren im Kampf, dass…
Den Einfluss des Ego verringern ... für unser höchstes Wohl
Den Einfluss des Ego verringern ... für unser höchstes Wohl
by Lawrence Doochin
Wir haben alle die Wahl, und lassen Sie uns klarstellen, was diese Wahl ist. Martin Luther King Jr. sagte uns, dass…
Die Heilkraft des fantasievollen Spiels
Die Heilkraft des fantasievollen Spiels
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
So wie Erwachsene davon profitieren, mit Freunden oder einem Therapeuten über ihre Herausforderungen zu sprechen,…
Vom Schmutz zum Boden: Lebensmist bietet ein hervorragendes Wachstumspotenzial
Vom Schmutz zum Boden: Lebensmist bietet ein hervorragendes Wachstumspotenzial
by Alan Cohen
Wenn Sie oder ich Joe während seiner riskanten Comedy-Zeit getroffen hätten, hätten wir ihn vielleicht als roh oder…
Steigerung des gesunden Durchsetzungsvermögens und des Übens durchsetzungsfähiger Kommunikation
Steigerung des gesunden Durchsetzungsvermögens und des Übens durchsetzungsfähiger Kommunikation
by Tina Gilbertson
Jeder von uns hat Gedanken, Gefühle, Meinungen, Vorlieben und Bedürfnisse, die nicht unbedingt stimmen…
10 Gründe, warum Männer leiden
10 Gründe, warum Männer leiden
by Barry Vissell
Ich habe kürzlich die Leitung eines Online-Männerretreats beendet. Jeder von uns wurde zutiefst verletzlich und…
Chakra-Heilungstherapie: Tanzen auf den inneren Champion zu
Chakra-Heilungstherapie: Tanzen auf den inneren Champion zu
by Glen Park
Flamencotanzen ist eine Freude zu sehen. Ein guter Flamencotänzer strahlt ein überschwängliches Selbstbewusstsein aus…

MOST READ

Die sehr merkwürdige Geschichte des Osterhasen
Die sehr seltsame Geschichte des Osterhasen
by Katie Edwards, Universität von Sheffield
Während Sie an diesem Wochenende Ihren Schokoladenhasen die Köpfe abbeißen, fragen Sie sich vielleicht, wie Cartoon…
Die Jahreszeiten unserer Natur: Neuanfang, Wachstum, Belohnungen und Erneuerung
Die Jahreszeiten unserer Natur: Neuanfang, Wachstum, Belohnungen und Erneuerung
by Meredith Young-Sowers
So wie es in der Natur vier Jahreszeiten gibt, erleben auch unsere inneren Naturen vier Jahreszeiten. In dem…
Sex in alten Kulturen und in der modernen Welt
Sex in alten Kulturen und in der modernen Welt
by Dolores Ashcroft-Nowicki
In der gesamten aufgezeichneten Geschichte der Welt und ihrer Religionen war die Macht des Sex ein…
Wie unsere Gesundheit und unser Glück von einem blühenden Planeten abhängen
Wie unsere Gesundheit und unser Glück von einem blühenden Planeten abhängen
by Melissa Marselle, Universität De Montfort
Während der COVID-19-Sperren bemerken mehr von uns die Vielfalt der Tiere, Bäume und Blumen…
Wie man aus dem Herzen lebt: Drei liebevolle Techniken
Wie man aus dem Herzen lebt: Drei liebevolle Techniken
by Caroline Sutherland
Um den Gipfel Ihres persönlichen Berges zu erreichen, muss Ihr Auftrag darin bestehen, zu lieben, zu inspirieren,…
Psychologische vs. prädiktive Astrologie - Verbinden der beiden zu einem
Psychologische vs. prädiktive Astrologie - Verbinden der beiden zu einem
by Glenn Perry, Ph.D.
Liegt der wahre Wert der Astrologie in ihren Einsichten in menschliches Verhalten oder in der Vorhersage der…
Erleuchtung ist kein Ziel - es ist eine große Akzeptanz
Erleuchtung ist kein Ziel - es ist eine große Akzeptanz
by Osho
Denken Sie nicht an Erleuchtung als Ziel, das ist es nicht. Es ist kein Ziel; es ist nicht etwas, das ...
Generation C: Warum Investitionen in die frühe Kindheit nach COVID-19 kritisch sind
Generation C: Warum Investitionen in die frühe Kindheit nach COVID-19 kritisch sind
by David Philpott, Memorial University von Neufundland
Gespräche über die Generation C, die COVID-19-Kinder, beginnen. Während genau welches Alter sollte ...

New Attitudes - Neue Möglichkeiten

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 Inner Publikationen. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Changing Your Nightmares or Fearful Dreams Into Pleasant Experiences

image of a girl looking into a gloomy forest but with light ray shining through
Image by Willgard Krause


Narrated by Marie T. Russell. 

Video version

The following sentence is the most important thing I have to say about dreams and dreaming: AFTER A DREAM IS OVER, IT BECOMES A MEMORY!

This is the key to mastering your dreams.

From A Nightmare To An Adventure

The essential element that makes a dream a nightmare is the sense of helplessness in the face of events that you have no control over. If you become able to do something about these events that removes the helpless feeling, then the same dream becomes an adventure, rather than a nightmare.

A nightmare only occurs when you are under heavy stress of some kind, and stress translates into the body as muscle tension. When tension is strong enough it can interfere with body functions, and this may evoke a kind of visceral fear that produces a nightmare or even a series of nightmares.

When the tension is relieved by any means, the nightmares cease. If enough tension recurs, even by recalling the nightmare, then the same or different nightmares may happen again, or may produce fear and helplessness in the waking state.

Can You Banish Nightmares?

Aside from drugs that suppress or mask feelings, some psychologists are currently using a technique in which clients, when recalling a nightmare, are advised to switch their thoughts to something pleasant. This has resulted in some clients having fewer nightmares in a given period and is therefore considered to be a very effective technique. It works by relieving a certain amount of tension, and it is a fact that if your muscles are relaxed enough you will not be able to feel anger or fear, both of which require muscle tension to exist.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

It is also a fact that being aware of or thinking about good things, like counting your blessings, will relax tense muscles and produce a sense of well-being. However, this technique does nothing about clients’ beliefs and insecurities that come from a lack of self-worth, self-esteem, and self-confidence. Such beliefs may build up more feelings of helplessness, which result in more nightmares.

Another technique is to train people over a period of months in lucid dreaming so that they are able to modify the nightmare in progress to some degree. This has been successful for some people, but it takes a long time and is inconsistent.

Healing the Memory of the Nightmare

Now, however, it is time to present the most efficient and effective set of techniques you will ever find for dealing with nightmares. Efficient, because it usually takes less than five minutes, and often less than one minute. Effective, because it deals directly with and changes the feelings of helplessness. How does it do this? By working with the real problem: the memory of the nightmare.

During a nightmare, you are subject to whatever feelings of fear and helplessness that the dream situation brings up. When you wake up, though, you are no longer dealing with the nightmare itself, which is over, but with the memory, which lingers sometimes for an entire lifetime.

Without any further discussion, here is what you can do about it. I will use my own dream experiences as illustrations, though I have helped hundreds of others with the same techniques. Pick whichever method most appeals to you, or feel free to experiment with each.

The essence of these techniques is that you are working directly with the memory of the nightmare, which still exists, and not with the nightmare itself, which is over and done with. There are two very important consequences of this.

1. Because the original experience no longer exists, it is the memory that is the problem.

2. Because the memory is the problem, you don’t have to go back to sleep to deal with it. You can work with it directly while awake and aware.

Option 1: Change Your Reaction

After you wake up, as soon as you are able, pick a point in the memory of the nightmare where you reacted to something that was happening, and with your conscious imagination, change your reaction. Sometimes this changes how you feel about the nightmare, and sometimes it results in a spontaneous change in the characters and events that turns the nightmare into just an interesting dream.

My wife gets very angry because I haven’t piled up her clothes properly and I’m thinking I should pick them all up and put them away and she yells at me and I angrily pick up one of her panties and put it on a pile. I still think I ought to put the clothes away, but I’m getting confused and it’s hard to think clearly. She begins yelling again that she has no respect for me and I get more angry, but still look at the clothes in a confused way. We get into a shouting match and I wake up very upset.

The Change

When I wake up, eyes still closed but awake and remembering the dream, I decide that the dream needs changing, but find it very difficult to do. This is unusual for me, but indicates that some strong beliefs are at work. I keep working at it and finally am able to imagine picking up the clothes and putting them in a box in a room of my own upstairs, and this leaves me feeling satisfied and happy. Oh, and by the way, my dear, sweet wife never gets angry with me like that in Waking Life.

Option 2: Change the Story

After you wake up, as soon as you are able, pick a point of your choice in the memory of the nightmare and use your imagination to change the story. Remember, you are working with the memory of the nightmare, not the dream itself, which no longer exists. So give yourself the freedom to change the story any way you want that makes you feel good. In addition to feeling good, this technique has the benefit of helping to change your beliefs about yourself. Here is what I did when I was in high school.

I am running down a street, scared to death because I am being chased by two BMOCs (Big Men on Campus, translated as “bullies”). I see a basement restaurant on my right and run down the stairs. The restaurant is empty, so at the bottom of the stairs I try to hide under a table. The BMOCs run down the stairs after me, see me under the table, kick it over and start to beat me up. I wake up very afraid.

The Change

I am under the table and as soon as the bullies reach the bottom of the stairs I stand up and throw off the table, stomp over to the two boys, crack their heads together, and, one by one, throw them up the stairs and into the street. Then I set the table upright, order a beer from a pretty waitress, sit down, and drink it (and boy, did that ever feel good).

The result? No one ever bullied me again, and I never had another nightmare like this.

Option 3: Continue the Dream

Odd as it may sound, I have discovered that, in your recall, if you will allow the nightmare to continue past the point where you woke up, no matter what the situation, it will always resolve itself in a positive way, though in some cases that may take a while.

Again, pick a point of your choice in the memory of the nightmare, including the beginning if you want, and keep it in mind when you reach the ending that woke you up. In this one you do not try to make anything happen; you just allow the story to unfold in its own way until you reach a resolution that feels good. More bad things might happen, but stay with it if you can.

Some people have gone through great danger into a religious experience. One man that I know of, troubled by a recurring falling dream, allowed himself to fall to his death and stayed with it until angels came and took him up to heaven. Some get powerful insights that help them resolve relationship problems. What follows is one of my experiences when I was thirty-seven.

A guy threatens to beat me up unless I produce a license ending in thirty-seven. I finally find one hanging on a rack, but he still comes after me. A black cop crosses the street. I take advantage of the diversion to hide behind a bush. The guy passes and I race in my car toward the beach part of town, going through stoplights, etc. Then I am on a bike or running on the sidewalk and crash through branches.

The Continuation

While awake and starting where I left off, “I crash through the branches and my bike goes tumbling over and over and I land in a yard. The guy hears and comes after me, but a big bulldog in the yard chases him away and comes back to lick my hand.”

Precognitive  or Troubling Dreams

You do not have to limit these techniques to nightmares. They work just as well with any unpleasant or troubling dream, including those that seem to be precognitive. One student of mine dreamed that her child fell out of a tree and was injured. She redid the dream so that the child fell on a mattress. Two weeks later the child did fall out of a tree but got up and walked away without harm.

I want to emphasize the simplicity and effectiveness of these techniques, and the fact that they can be done right after you wake up from the dream, or even years later if the dream is still troubling you. Remember, all you have to do is work with the memory, because that’s where the problem is.

©2017, 2020 by Serge King. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher
Bear & Co, an imprint of Inner Traditions Intl.
www.innertraditions.com

Article Source

Dreaming Techniques: Working with Night Dreams, Daydreams, and Liminal Dreams
by Serge Kahili King

book cover: Dreaming Techniques: Working with Night Dreams, Daydreams, and Liminal Dreams by Serge Kahili KingDreams can change our lives in profound and tangible ways. In this guide to mastering the art of dreaming, Serge Kahili King, Ph.D., explores techniques to harness the power of dreams for healing, transformation, and changing your experience of reality. Drawing on his analysis of more than 5,000 of his own dreams as well as those of students and clients from his almost 50 years of clinical work, he examines the types of night dreams we have, how to remember them better, how to make use of them to improve our health and well-being, and how to interpret them. The book also explores daydreams in depth, including fantasy, guided imagery, meditation, visions, and remote viewing and provides techniques for using daydreams for healing, insight, and creativity. 

For more info and/or to order this book, click here. Also available as a Kindle edition. 

More books by this Author.

About the Author

photo of Serge Kahili King, Ph.D.Serge Kahili King, Ph.D., is the author of many works on Huna and Hawaiian shamanism, including Urban Shaman and Instant Healing. He has a doctorate in psychology and was trained in shamanism by the Kahili family of Kauai as well as by African and Mongolian shamans. He is the executive director of Huna International, a non-profit worldwide network of individuals who have dedicated themselves to making the world a better place. He lives on the Big Island of Hawaii. Visit his website at http://www.huna.net/
 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration
 

INNERSELF VOICES

Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Horoscope for Astrological Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…

MOST READ

Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
by Samantha Murray, University of Florida
Insects are attracted to landscapes where flowering plants of the same species are grouped together…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The inner child waits patiently for the adult to notice it, to talk to it. It asks itself: "How can…
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
by Bishakh Rout, McGill University
Over the years, new scientific discoveries have led to softer and more comfortable contact lenses.…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
by Anne Fishel, Harvard University
Most parents already know that family mealtimes are great for the bodies, the brains and the mental…
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
by Jaci Brown, CSIRO
We wait in anticipation of droughts and floods when El Niño and La Niña are forecast but what are…
DNA-based Cancer Vaccine Triggers Immune Attack On Tumors
DNA Based Cancer Vaccine Triggers Immune Attack On Tumors
by Jim Goodwin, Washington University in St. Louis
We think this is the first report of the use of a neoantigen DNA vaccine in a human, and our…
To Lower Cancer Risk, Eat More Mushrooms?
To Lower Cancer Risk, Eat More Mushrooms?
by Sara LaJeunesse, Penn State
Replenishing antioxidants in the body may help protect against oxidative stress and lower the risk…
In Defense of Conspiracy Theories and Why The Term Is A Misnomer
In Defense of Conspiracy Theories and Why The Term Is A Misnomer
by David Coady, University of Tasmania
It’s reasonable to suppose many of the views that are now dismissed or mocked as conspiracy…
Playing An Exercise Game Can Help Fight Dementia?
Can Playing An Exercise Game Help Fight Dementia?
by ETH Zurich
Cognitive motor training helps in the fight against Alzheimer’s and dementia, according to new…
The Long Term Benefit Of Lifting Children Out Of Poverty Today
The Long Term Benefit of Lifting Children Out of Poverty Today
by Diane Whitmore Schanzenbach, Northwestern University et al
Many studies conducted in recent years show that lifting children from the burdens of poverty has…
Why Pushing Chicken Doesn’t Get People To Eat Less Beef
Why Pushing Chicken Doesn’t Get People To Eat Less Beef
by Jim Barlow, University of Oregon
It would be great if more poultry and fish production and consumption would reduce that of beef,…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.