الكوابيس: ماذا تعني وكيف تحلها

الكوابيس: ماذا تعني وكيف تحلهاالصورة عن طريق جوني ليندنر من عند Pixabay

لقد استيقظنا جميعًا سعداء وانتعشنا من حلم جميل للغاية ، أو خائفون وحزينون بسبب كابوس حيوي. الأحلام لدينا لون أيامنا؛ ينقلونا إلى بداية جيدة أو بداية سيئة.

الكوابيس مزعجة أو أحلام مزعجة للغاية. كل شخص لديه كوابيس عرضية ، وهذه في الواقع يمكن أن تكون أفضل الأحلام للعمل معها لأنها غنية عاطفية وعميقة ، وغالبا ما تحمل رسالة لمساعدتنا في الحياة.

أحلام تريد منا أن نشفى. وهم مستعدون لبذل كل ما في وسعهم لمساعدتنا على القيام بذلك - حتى يصيبنا بالكوابيس ، إذا كان هذا هو ما يتطلبه الأمر لفت انتباهنا. ولكن ماذا لو واصلنا وجود كوابيس؟ ماذا يعني هذا ، وكيف يمكننا تغيير الوضع للأفضل؟

هناك شيئان أساسيان يجب تذكرهما بشأن الكوابيس:

  1. يمكن أن يكون امتلاك كابوسًا من حين لآخر أمرًا جيدًا بمعنى أنه غالبًا ما يكون ممتازًا للحلم اليقظ ، مما يضيء المشكلات اللاواعية التي نحتاج إلى معالجتها وإعطائها رؤى عميقة في حياتنا.

  2. إن وجود الكثير من الكوابيس ، أو المعاناة من كوابيس متكررة ، ليس بالأمر الجيد لأنه يزعج نومنا ويمكن أن يسبب تآكلًا خطيرًا في سعادتنا ، حتى أن بعض الناس يخافون من النوم.

الكوابيس المزمنة تزعج النوم

كثير من الناس الذين يعانون من كوابيس مزمنة لا يدركون كم من كوابيسهم يزعجون نومهم. النوم أمر حيوي لصحة جيدة ، لذلك أي شيء يزعج أنه يجب الاهتمام به.

بعض الناس لديهم كوابيس فظيعة لدرجة أنهم يؤخرون وقت نومهم دون وعي ، ويفعلون كل ما في وسعهم لتجنب النوم ، وبعد فترة من الوقت يختتمون الأرق. الآن ليس لديهم مشكلة واحدة ، ولكن اثنين!

هذا يطرح مشكلة ثالثة كبرى: مشكلة القدرة على التعامل مع مشاكل الحياة لأن الشخص قد استنفد. لحسن الحظ ، هناك بعض الخطوات السهلة التي يمكن أن نتخذها للتأكد من أن لدينا حياة أحلام أسعد ونومًا صحيًا واستشفائيًا.

سبب الكوابيس

غالبًا ما يُنظر إلى الكوابيس على أنها سببًا للتوتر أو بسبب الصدمة. ولكن عندما ننظر عن كثب إلى الطريقة التي يعمل بها الدماغ ، نرى أن الكوابيس المتكررة هي أيضًا سلوك مكتسب. هذا يعني أنه ، مثل السجل المكسور ، ينزلق الدماغ إلى أخدود يتعرف عليه ، وتحدث الكوابيس مرارًا وتكرارًا.

والخبر السار هنا هو أنه يمكن تغيير السلوك المكتسب. إذا كنت قد حصلت على عادة سيئة من وجود كوابيس ، يمكنك كسر هذه العادة. إنه شيء بسيط يمكنك القيام به ، وقد أثبتت عقود من الأبحاث التي أجراها الطبيب النفسي الدكتور جوزيف نيدهاردت واختصاصي اضطرابات النوم باري كراكوف ، أنها قوية للغاية.

اكتشفوا أنه عند تغيير قصة الكابوس ، يكون لديك عدد أقل من الكوابيس ونوعية أفضل من النوم ، مما يؤدي إلى قدرة أقوى على التعامل مع حياة اليقظة. تغيير قصة الكابوس يهز الدماغ من أخدودها السلبي ويصبح جديدًا.

الحلم الواضح

الحلم الواضح هو تقنية فعالة لمكافحة الكوابيس وتقليل تواترها. منحت دراسة أجرتها 2003 قام بها فيكتور سبورماكر وزملاؤه للمشاركين جلسة مدتها ساعة واحدة للحديث عن إمكانات أن يصبحوا واضحين في الكوابيس وتغيير الحلم نحو الأفضل. كما تم إعطاؤهم تقنيات الحلم الواضحة.

وأظهرت جلسة متابعة بعد شهرين أنه في جميع الحالات ، انخفض تواتر الكوابيس ، وكانت الجودة الكلية للنوم أعلى. عندما نستيقظ داخل حلم مخيف ، نكون في وضع قوي لنكون قادرين على تغيير الحلم ، على سبيل المثال عن طريق إرسال الحب إلى شخصية الحلم المخيفة ، والسؤال عما إذا كان لديهم رسالة لنا ، أو باستخدام "فائق الوضوح" الصلاحيات "للتغلب عليها إذا كان هذا ضروريًا.

إن فهمنا بأننا نحلم يمكّننا من العمل على تغيير الحلم بطرق إيجابية وخلاقة ، ونحن أقل عرضة للمعاناة من الكوابيس. حتى لو لم تكن حالمًا واضحًا بشكل متكرر ، فإن الشفاء المتاح للحالم الواضح متاح لأي شخص يمارس الحلم الذهن.

ماذا تفعل عندما تتحول الأحلام إلى كوابيس

الأحلام سعداء جدًا بالتحدث إلينا. بمجرد أن تبدأ في الانتباه إلى أحلامك وتبدأ في كتابتها ، ستصبح أكثر إشراقًا ، وأكثر ابتكارًا ، وستجيب على أسئلتك. لكن الأحلام ليست فقط من أجل الدردشة المهذبة. سوف تصرخ الأحلام إلينا في شكل كوابيس عندما يكون هناك شيء يحتاجه عقلنا اللاواعي لفهمه.

سواء أكنت نقوم بقمع أجزاء خفية من أنفسنا ، أو عدم منحنا ما يكفي من الحب والرعاية ، أو إذا كنا عازمين على طريق التدمير الذاتي ، فإن الأحلام تعمل كمرآة ، وتبين لنا كيف نشعر حقا. نبدأ في الحصول على كوابيس. فيما يلي بعض طرق التعامل مع الكوابيس لخلق حياة أحلام أسعد.

خلق أسعد دريم لايف

1. اسأل الحلم سؤالاً. ذكّر نفسك أنه يمكنك تحويل ذلك إلى تجربة تعليمية وتعلمية. خذ نفسًا مهدئًا واسأل الشخص المهدِّد أو العنصر المقلق للحلم ، "ماذا تريد؟" أو "لماذا أحلم بهذا؟" "ماذا أنت هنا لتعلمني؟" "هل لديك رسالة بالنسبة لي؟ "أو ،" ما الذي يرمز إليه هذا الموقف في حياتي؟ "قد يتحول مشهد الحلم تلقائيًا إلى شيء آخر ، أو قد تسمع إجابة على شكل صوت غير مجسم.

2. أرسل السلام والحب إلى كل ما يزعجك. أرسل الحب أو السلام أو المغفرة أو شفاء الضوء الأبيض إلى شخصية أو موقف الحلم المهدد. أشعر حقا في قلبك. هذا عادة ما يحول الحلم في لحظة. يمكنك تجربة أي من الطرق المذكورة أعلاه في حلم اليقظة من جديد.

3. احتضان حلم الشفاء. اطلب من أحلامك أن ترسل لك حلم الشفاء لمساعدتك على إطلاق صدمة الماضي ، أو كسر حلقة الكوابيس. اكتب طلبك على قطعة من الورق وضعه تحت وسادتك ، ولمسها كلما استيقظت في الليل لتذكير نفسك بنيتك. اكتب كل أحلامك ، وابحث عن صور الشفاء مثل الطبيعة النابضة بالحياة ، والحيوانات الصحية ، والمناظر الطبيعية الرائعة ، أو اللقاءات الإيجابية للغاية مع شخصيات الأحلام.

4. استكشف العنصر السلبي باعتباره "جزءًا من نفسي". هذه هي تقنية الاستيقاظ. تعرف على أي جزء من الكابوس لديه أقوى شحنة عاطفية سلبية لك. هل هو الفهد يجوبون غرفة نومك؟ أم المرأة العجوز ذات وجه رأس الموت؟ قد يكون جبلًا مشؤومًا ، أو الإحساس بالدوار الذي تحصل عليه عندما تنظر إلى فجوة لا نهاية لها. حدد المشاعر السلبية بكلمة واحدة أو كلمتين ثم أعد سرد الحلم من منظور ذلك الجزء السلبي من الحلم كما لو كان جزءًا من نفسك. على سبيل المثال ، قد يصبح النمر الفاسد "الجزء القاسي والخطير مني". وبينما تروي الحلم ، ستكتشف ما يريده هذا الجزء القاسي والخطير من احتياجاتك ولماذا.

حاول تسمية أي عناصر سلبية أخرى للحلم بنفس الطريقة ، وانظر كيف تتفاعل معًا عند إعادة سرد قصة الحلم. يمكن أن تكون النتائج مضيئة ، ويجد الناس في كثير من الأحيان أن الأجزاء السلبية من حلمهم ليست في الواقع سلبية كما يفترضون ؛ قد لا يكون النمر قاسًا وخطيرًا - فقد تكتشف أنه يشعر بالضياع وعدم وجود مكان له في غرفة نومك ويتمنى أن يجد طريقه إلى المنزل. هنا ، ستكون الخطوة التالية في dreamplay هي أن تسأل نفسك ، "أين أشعر في حياتي بالضياع والخروج من المكان؟" عندما نجعل الجسر يوقظ الحياة ، غالبًا ما يصبح معنى الحلم واضحًا.

5. احتضن "الظل". تجلب لنا الكوابيس وجهاً لوجه مع القوة الإبداعية لأسلوب الظل الأصلي. النماذج الأصلية هي أنماط أصلية أو شخصيات أسطورية أو صور تنبثق من اللاوعي الجماعي. يمثل النموذج الأصلي للظل كل ما قمعناه - الجانب المظلم لأنفسنا. عندما نختار أن نكون نوعًا معينًا من الأشخاص (على سبيل المثال ، حلو المذاق) ، فهذا يعني تلقائيًا الاختيار ليس أن تكون وسيلة معينة (في هذه الحالة ، غاضب). ولكن هذا لا يعني أن هذه الخصائص المكبوتة تختفي: إنها تعيش في اللاوعي لدينا. هذه الجوانب المرفوضة من الذات يمكن أن تظهر في كوابيس. قد نحلم بالأشخاص الغاضبين ، أو بالرد بغضب أنفسنا. ثم نستيقظ ونفكر ، "لم أكن لأغضب أبدًا في إيقاظ الحياة!" هذا دليل على أن الحلم يكشف عن جانب ظل من الذات ؛ شيء نحن قمع.

اعتقد جونج أنه من المهم احتضان الظل عندما نلتقي به ، من أجل الحصول على نفسية صحية كاملة. لقد شعر أن الظل هو مصدر الإبداع ويأتي بهدايا رائعة إلى النفس ، لكن لا يمكننا الحصول على هذه الهدايا إلا من خلال مواجهة الظل وقبولها.

تظهر لنا الكوابيس جوانب مرفوضة لأنفسنا نحتاج إلى دمجها. عندما نحتضن ظلنا ، فإننا نصبح أكثر سعادة وأكثر توازنا.

عندما ننتبه إلى كوابيسنا ونحاول التصرف وفقًا لرسالتهم ، فإنهم يبدأون في التحول إلى أحلام شفائية ، كما حدث لسوزان. كانت تعاني من كابوس متكرر من الوقوع في فخ وأصبحت خائفة للنوم في حالة حدوث ذلك مرة أخرى.

سوزان الحلم: المحاصرين

في حلمي كنت نائماً ثم استيقظت في منتصف الليل وشعرت أنني بحاجة للخروج من غرفة النوم بشكل عاجل ، ولم يكن هناك باب. شعرت كأنني كنت مستيقظًا بالفعل ولكنني لم أكن كذلك. كنت في حيرة من أمري ، ولم أكن أعرف حتى أي طريقتين صاعدين وأي طريقتين كانتا متوقفتين. في النهاية ، استيقظت وشعرت بالخوف والدهشة.

في كل مرة كرر الحلم نفسه ، كان أكثر حدة. إلى أن أخبرتني كلير أن الأحلام تأتي لمساعدتنا وأنه يجب عليّ تدوينها ، لم أكن أدرك مطلقًا أن الأحلام كان لها هدف. لم أكن أعرف أن هناك علم الحلم. بمجرد أن تعرف أن هناك نظامًا ، يمكنك فهمه. لم أعد أخاف من النوم لأنني علمت أن الأحلام تساعدني.

بدأت في الحفاظ على مجلة الحلم. بدأت أيضًا في معالجة القضايا السابقة وقبول مشاعر الماضي بدلاً من محاولة دفعها بعيداً. لقد جعلني هذا الكابوس محاصراً ، وكنت أرغب في الخروج ، لكن في الواقع أعتقد أنه لم يكن يرغب في الخروج كثيرًا كما كنت أرغب في الاتصال بجزء مني. بعد ذلك بفترة وجيزة ، واجهت تحولًا ، حيث تحول الكابوس تلقائيًا إلى شيء رائع.

حلمت أنني كنت نائماً ، ومرة ​​أخرى استيقظت وشعرت بهذه الحاجة الملحة للخروج من الغرفة ، ولم تكن غرفتي هذه المرة. في حلمي استيقظت ، وأتوقع ألا أجد بابًا ، لكن الباب كان هناك وكان مفتوحًا وخرجت وكنت في حديقة جميلة.

فعلت سوزان ثلاثة أشياء مهمة لإحداث تحول في كوابيسها. أولاً ، قبلت فكرة أن أحلامها تأتي لمساعدتها ، مما جعلها أقل خوفًا من الذهاب إلى النوم. ثانياً ، بدأت في الحفاظ على مجلة الأحلام ، وهي طريقة حيوية لبناء علاقة مع الأحلام. ثالثًا ، توقفت عن قمع مشاعر الماضي وبدأت في معالجتها.

على جميع المستويات الثلاثة ، مكّن موقف سوزان الجديد الانفتاح على عقلها اللاواعي. بدأت في الاستماع ، وتم مكافأتها بالخروج من كوابيسها المتكررة (التي يرمز إليها بالباب) وفي الجمال المتنامي لوجودها الخاص ، الذي ترمز إليه الحديقة في حلمها.

© 2018 by Clare R. Johnson. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر، Conari الصحافة،
بصمة من العجلة الحمراء / Weiser، عيد م. www.redwheelweiser.com

المادة المصدر

أحلام اليقظة: تسخير قوة الحالم الواضح من أجل السعادة والصحة والتغيير الإيجابي
بقلم كلير جونسون

وإذ تضع في اعتبارها الحلم: تسخير قوة لوسيد الحلم للسعادة والصحة والتغيير الإيجابي من قبل كلير جونسونهناك العديد من الكتب عن الأحلام ، تفسير الأحلام ، والحلم الواضح. ما يجعل هذا واحد مختلف هو أن كلير ر. جونسون ، دكتوراه يجمع بين مبادئ اليقظة مع اتباع نهج جديد لالحلم الواضح. والنتيجة النهائية هي دليل خطوة بخطوة لفهم لغة الأحلام ، والاستيقاظ في أحلامنا ، وتحويلها لتحسين حياتنا. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

انقر لطلب على الأمازون

عن المؤلف

كلير ر. جونسون ، دكتوراه ،كلير ر. جونسون، دكتوراه ، هو الخبير الرائد في الحلم الواضح. حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة ليدز على استخدام الأحلام الواضحة كأداة إبداعية (أول عمل دكتوراه في العالم لاستكشاف هذا الموضوع) ، وهي حالم واضح بنفسها ، وهي مديرة مجلس إدارة الرابطة الدولية لدراسة الأحلام. وهي تقدم بانتظام محادثات وتقود ورش عمل حول الحلم. زيارة لها في www.deepluciddreaming.com.

كتب ذات صلة

المزيد من الكتب حول هذا الموضوع

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = healing dreams؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Nightmares: What They Mean and How To Resolve Them

Nightmares: What They Mean and How To Resolve ThemImage by Jonny Lindner from Pixabay

We’ve all woken happy and refreshed from a particularly lovely dream, or scared and sad because of a vivid nightmare. The dreams we have color our days; they get us off to a good start or a bad one.

Nightmares are upsetting or highly disturbing dreams. Everybody has occasional nightmares, and these can in fact be the best dreams to work with as they are emotionally rich, deep, and often carry a message to help us through life.

Dreams want us to heal. And they are prepared to do everything in their power to help us to do so—even plague us with night­mares, if that’s what it takes to get our attention. But what if we keep having nightmares? What does this mean, and how can we change the situation for the better?

There are two key things to remember about nightmares:

  1. Having the occasional nightmare can be a good thing in the sense that they are often excellent for Mindful Dreaming, illuminating unconscious issues that we need to address and gifting us with deep insights into our lives.

  2. Having too many nightmares, or suffering from recurring nightmares, is not good because it disrupts our sleep and can cause serious erosion to our happiness, with some peo­ple even becoming scared to go to sleep.

Chronic Nightmares Disturb Sleep

Many people who suffer from chronic nightmares don’t rec­ognize how much their nightmares are disturbing their sleep. Sleep is vital for good health, so anything that disturbs it needs to be attended to.

Some people have such awful nightmares that they unconsciously delay their bedtime, doing everything they can to avoid sleep, and after a while they wind up with insomnia. Now they have not one problem, but two!

This introduces a third, major problem: that of being less able to cope with life’s problems because the person is so exhausted. Luckily, there are some easy steps we can take to make sure we have a happier dreamlife and healthy, recuperative sleep.

The Cause of Nightmares

Nightmares are often seen as simply being caused by stress or caused by trauma. But when we look more closely at the way the brain works, we see that recurrent nightmares are also a learned behaviour. This means that, like a broken record, the brain slips into a groove it recognizes, and nightmares occur again and again.

The good news here is that a learned behaviour can be changed. If you have gotten into the bad habit of having night­mares, you can break that habit. It’s a simple thing to do, and decades of research spearheaded by psychiatrist Dr. Joseph Neidhardt and sleep disorder specialist Barry Krakow, MD, have shown it to be extremely powerful.

They discovered that when you change the nightmare story, you have fewer nightmares and better quality of sleep, resulting in a stronger ability to cope with waking life. Changing the nightmare story jolts the brain out of its negative groove and into a new one.

Lucid Dreaming

Lucid dreaming is also an effective technique for combatting nightmares and reducing their frequency. One 2003 study by Victor Spoormaker and colleagues gave participants a one-hour session to talk about the possibilities of becoming lucid in nightmares and changing the dream for the better. They were also given lucid dreaming induction techniques.

A follow-up session two months later showed that in all cases, the frequency of nightmares was reduced, and the overall quality of sleep was higher. When we wake up inside a scary dream, we are in a strong position to be able to change the dream, for example by sending love to the frightening dream figure, asking if they have a message for us, or by using lucid “super-powers” to overcome them if this feels necessary.

Our understanding that we are dreaming empowers us to act to change the dream in positive, creative ways, and we are less likely to suffer from nightmares. Even if you are not a frequent lucid dreamer, the healing that is available to the lucid dreamer is available to anyone who prac­tices Mindful Dreaming.

What To Do When Dreams Turn Into Nightmares

Dreams are very happy to talk to us. As soon as you start paying attention to your dreams and begin to write them down, they will become brighter, even more inventive, and respond to your questions. But dreams are not just there for polite chit-chat. Dreams will shout at us in the form of nightmares when there is something our unconscious mind needs us to understand.

Whether we are suppressing hidden parts of ourselves, not giv­ing ourselves enough love and care, or if we are hell-bent on a path of self-destruction, dreams act as a mirror, showing us how we are really feeling. We start to have nightmares. Here are some ways of engaging with nightmares to create a happier dreamlife.

Create A Happier Dreamlife

1. Ask the dream a question. Remind yourself that you can transform this into a learning, healing experience. Take a calming breath and ask the threatening figure or disturbing element of the dream, “What do you want?” or, “Why am I dreaming about this?” “What are you here to teach me?” “Do you have a message for me?” or, “What does this situation symbolize in my life?” The dream scene might spontaneously transform into something else, or you might hear an answer in the form of a disembodied voice.

2. Send peace and love to whatever is upsetting you. Send love, peace, forgiveness, or healing white light to the threatening dream figure or situation. Really feel it in your heart. This usu­ally transforms the dream in an instant. You can try either of the above approaches in a waking dream re-entry.

3. Incubate a healing dream. Ask your dreams to send you a heal­ing dream to help you to release a past trauma, or to break the cycle of nightmares. Write down your request on a piece of paper and put it under your pillow, touching it whenever you wake in the night to remind yourself of your intention. Write down all your dreams, and look out for healing imagery such as vibrant nature, healthy animals, gorgeous landscapes, or highly positive encounters with dream figures.

4. Explore the negative element as “part of myself.” This is a waking technique. Work out which part of the nightmare has the strongest negative emotional charge for you. Is it the leop­ard prowling through your bedroom? Or the old woman with a death’s-head face? It might be an ominous mountain, or the dizzy sensation you get when you look into a bottomless chasm. Identify the negative emotion in one or two words and then retell the dream from the perspective of that negative part of the dream as if it is a part of yourself. For example, the prowl­ing leopard might become “the cruel, dangerous part of me.” As you retell the dream, you’ll discover what this cruel, danger­ous part of you wants and needs, and why.

Try labeling any other negative elements of the dream in the same way, and see how they interact together when you retell the dream story. The results can be illuminating, and people often find that the negative parts of their dream are actually not as negative as they supposed; the leopard may not be cruel and dangerous—you may discover that he feels lost and out of place in your bedroom and wishes he could find his way home. Here, the next step in the dreamplay would be to ask yourself, “Where in my life do I feel lost and out of place?” When we make the bridge to waking life, the dream’s meaning often becomes clear.

5. Embrace the “Shadow.” Nightmares bring us face to face with the creative power of the Shadow archetype. Archetypes are original patterns, mythic characters, or images that emerge from the collective unconscious. The Shadow archetype represents all that we have repressed—the darker side of ourselves. When we choose to be a particular kind of person (for example, sweet-tempered), this automatically implies a choice not to be a certain way (in this case, angry). But this doesn’t mean that these repressed characteristics disap­pear: they live on in our unconscious. These rejected aspects of the self can surface in nightmares. We might dream of angry people, or of reacting angrily ourselves. Then we wake up and think, “I would never have got so angry in waking life!” This is a clue that the dream is revealing a shadow aspect of the self; something we’re suppressing.

Jung believed that it is important to embrace the Shadow whenever we meet it, in order to have a whole, healthy psyche. He felt that the Shadow is the source of creativity and brings great gifts to the psyche, but we can only receive these gifts by facing the Shadow and accepting it.

Nightmares show us rejected aspects of ourselves that we need to integrate. When we embrace our Shadow, we grow happier and more balanced.

When we pay attention to our nightmares and attempt to act on their message, they begin to change into healing dreams, as hap­pened for Susan. She was plagued by a recurring nightmare of being trapped and became scared to sleep in case it happened again.

Susan’s Dream: Trapped

In my dream I was asleep and then woke up in the middle of the night and felt like I needed to get out of the bedroom urgently, only there was no door. I felt like I was actually awake but I clearly wasn’t. I was really disoriented, didn’t even know which way was up and which way was down. Eventually I woke up and felt very scared and dazed.

Each time the dream repeated itself, it was more intense. Until Clare told me that dreams come to help us and that I should write them down, I never knew that dreams had a pur­pose. I didn’t know there was a science of dreaming. Once you know there’s a system, you can make sense of it. I wasn’t going to bed scared any more because I knew the dreams were help­ing me.

I started to keep a dream journal. I also began to address past issues and accept past feelings rather than trying to push them away. The nightmare made me feel trapped, and I wanted to get out but in reality I think that it wasn’t so much wanting to get out as wanting to get in touch with a part of me I’d lost touch with. Soon afterwards, I experienced a shift, where the night­mare spontaneously changed into something wonderful.

I dreamed I was asleep and again I woke up and felt this urgent need to get out of the room, only it wasn’t my room this time. In my dream I got up, expecting not to find a door, but the door was there and it was open and I went outside and was in a beautiful garden.

Susan did three important things to cause the shift in her night­mares. Firstly, she accepted the idea that her dreams come to help her, which made her less scared of going to sleep. Secondly, she started keeping a dream journal, which is a vital way of building a relationship with dreams. Thirdly, she stopped sup­pressing past feelings and began to address them.

On all three levels, Susan’s new attitude enabled an opening up to her uncon­scious mind. She began to listen, and was rewarded with a way out of her recurring nightmares (symbolized by the door) and into the growing beauty of her own being, symbolized by the garden in her dream.

©2018 by Clare R. Johnson. All rights reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Conari Press,
an imprint of Red Wheel/Weiser, LLC. www.redwheelweiser.com

Article Source

Mindful Dreaming: Harness the Power of Lucid Dreaming for Happiness, Health, and Positive Change
by Clare R Johnson

Mindful Dreaming: Harness the Power of Lucid Dreaming for Happiness, Health, and Positive Change by Clare R JohnsonThere are many books on dreams, dream interpretation, and lucid dreaming. What makes this one different is that Clare R. Johnson, PhD combines the principles of mindfulness with a fresh approach to lucid dreaming. The end result is a step-by-step guide for understanding dream language, waking up in our dreams, and transforming them to improve our waking lives. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

click to order on amazon

 

About the Author

Clare R. Johnson, PhD,Clare R. Johnson, PhD, is the leading expert on lucid dreaming. She has a PhD from the University of Leeds on using lucid dreams as a creative tool (the first doctoral work in the world to explore this topic), is a lucid dreamer herself, and is the board director of the International Association for the Study of Dreams. She regularly gives talks and leads workshops about dreaming. Visit her at www.deepluciddreaming.com.

Related Books

More books on this topic

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=healing dreams;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}