شخصيات مثل التقاليد - أنماط فريدة من السلوك التي تبني أكثر من العمر من الارتجال

شخصيات مثل التقاليد - أنماط فريدة من السلوك التي تبني أكثر من العمر من الارتجال مثل موسيقى الجاز ضبطها بدقة. استوديو أفريقيا / شترستوك

إن مسألة ما إذا كانت الشخصية هي نتيجة الطبيعة أو التنشئة التي ابتليت بها الباحثين - وعامة الناس - لعدة عقود. ما نعرفه هو أننا جميعًا فريدون ، ولكل منهم نمط مميز من الكلام والإيماءات والحركة والتفكير. وعندما يتعلق الأمر بشخصيتنا ، تؤثر أفكارنا وأفعالنا الماضية على أفكارنا وأعمالنا المستقبلية. باختصار ، شخصياتنا هي تقاليد. إذا كان هذا هو الحال ، فهل يمكننا تغييرها؟ الجواب نعم ، لكن العملية قد تكون صعبة.

شخصياتنا ، مثل معظم الطرق في عقولنا تختلف ، هي مزيج معقد من الطبيعة والتنشئة. الطبيعة مهمة بالتأكيد: دراسات التوائم ، المنفصلين عن الولادة ، تبين ذلك يمكن أن تشكل جيناتنا حياتنا. والأهم من ذلك أن التوائم المتماثلة التي تربى بشكل منفصل لها شخصيات متشابهة أكثر من التوائم الشقيقة التي تشترك في نصف جيناتها فقط. لكن تنشئة الأمور أيضًا هي: التوائم المتماثلة التي تربى بشكل منفصل - أو التي تربى معًا بالفعل - أشخاص مختلفون للغاية. يمكن للطبيعة والتغذية ، بالطبع ، التفاعل بطرق معقدة: على سبيل المثال ، قد يكون الطفل الذي يهتم بشكل طبيعي بالموسيقى (الطبيعة) أكثر عرضة لتلقي دروس الموسيقى أو استمرارها (جزء من التنشئة). وبالمثل ، فإن الطفل الخجول أو الصديق في البداية سيحدد طريقة تعامل الناس معه: الطبيعة ستشكل ، مرة أخرى ، الرعاية.

إنه لأمر مدهش مدى اختلافنا جميعًا. عند مقابلة زميلي مؤخرًا بعد سنوات 20 ، كان لدي شعور غريب وقوي الألفة والاعتراف. لكنني نسيت تمامًا الأنماط المميزة ببراعة للتجويد ، الابتسامة الغريبة ، ميل الرأس إلى جانب واحد. بدأت المحادثة تندلع ، كما كان الحال دائمًا. كنا ، على ما يبدو ، نفس الأشخاص كما كان الحال من قبل ، وكان التقاطهم كما لو كان بعد بضعة أيام ، وليس بضعة عقود.

وتذكرنا هذه التجارب بأنها التفاصيل التي تجعل كل شخص نواجهه "يشعر" بامتياز. ومع ذلك ، فإننا نميل إلى التفكير في أنفسنا ، وشخصياتنا ، بعبارات أعم بكثير: الناس غراي أو هادئ. استرخاء أو قلق ؛ كريمة أو أنانية ؛ شجاع أو خجول. قد نحاول تحديد هذه السمات بدقة أكبر ، وذلك باستخدام أي من المجموعة الواسعة من اختبارات الشخصية التي تم تطويرها على مدار أكثر من قرن من الأبحاث "السيكومترية" - على سبيل المثال ، نموذج OCEAN المستخدم على نطاق واسع ، بمقاييسه من أجل الانفتاح والوعي والانبثاق والتوافق والعصبية.

سلوك ماذا تشبه؟؟!!! Trueffelpix / شترستوك

لكن هذه الأوصاف المجردة لا تتوافق مع تجربتنا اليومية في تفرد الآخرين. بعد كل شيء ، يمكن للمنتحل أن يستحضر على الفور شخصًا مشهورًا أو سياسيًا من خلال عبارة مميزة أو نغمة صوت أو تعبير وجهي. لكن قائمة مجردة من السمات الشخصية بالتأكيد لا تجلب لأحد على وجه الخصوص إلى الذهن.

أعتقد أن حدسنا المتمثل في أن التفاصيل ، وليس العموميات ، هي التي تجعل كل واحد منا مميزًا على الطريق الصحيح بالضبط. لنرى كيف يكون هذا هو الحال ، فكر في تشبيه التقاليد - سواء في الطبخ أو الموسيقى أو الفن أو أي جانب آخر من جوانب الحياة. نحن نعلم ، في غضون أقل من ثانية واحدة ، الفرق بين موسيقى الجاز التقليدية أو باخ أو الديسكو أو الهيب هوب. هذه هي الخصائص التي تضربنا - مجموعات محددة من الملاحظات والتناسقات والأجهزة. وصف التقاليد الموسيقية من حيث السمات التجريدية (سريع مقابل بطيء ؛ إيقاعي مقابل سائل ؛ ديناميكي مقابل هادئ) أمر ممكن ، ولكن ليس مفيدًا للغاية.

تنشأ التقاليد الموسيقية وغيرها من التقاليد وليس العامة. كل قطعة موسيقية جديدة هي إعادة تركيب وتغيير مقتطفات من المقاطع السابقة ؛ كل طبق جديد هو مزيج من الأطباق السابقة. كل عمل فني جديد يعتمد على شريعة الأعمال الفنية السابقة ، وهلم جرا. والتقاليد الناتجة غنية ومعقدة ومتناقضة ، مع حدود غير واضحة في التقاليد المجاورة. يمكن لعلماء الموسيقى وكتاب الغذاء ومؤرخي الفن ، بأثر رجعي ، التوصل إلى أوصاف متبصرة وتصنيفات مفيدة. ولكن ، للتبديل للحظة إلى الأدب ، إذا كنت تريد أن تعرف ما هو "الشعر الميتافيزيقي" ، فلن يحل أي قدر من المناقشة المستفادة بديلاً عن سماع بضعة أسطر من أندرو مارفيل or جون دون.

أنا أقترح ذلك الناس تقاليد أيضا: تقاليد الأفكار ، الإجراءات وردود الفعل ، أنماط الحركات ، ونبرة الصوت. كل فكر وإجراء جديد هو إعادة تجميع وتنويع لما فكرنا به وفعلناه من قبل - وإلى حد ما ، الاقتراض مما لاحظناه وما يقوله الآخرون. على مدى الحياة ، أصبحت أنماط أفكارنا وسلوكنا راسخة - إن تاريخنا الفريد وعاداتنا وأنماطنا الفريدة هي التي تجعلنا متميزين.

سلوك الشخصيات تشبه التقاليد. Reddees / شترستوك

إذا كان هذا صحيحًا ، فكيف يجب علينا الإجابة على السؤال: ما نوع الشخص الذي أنا عليه؟ هذا سؤال مستحيل ، مثل تحديد المأكولات الانطباعية أو الفلامنكو أو المطبخ الجديد. نحن نعرف الآخرين ، وأنفسنا ، من تجربة الأمثلة ، وليس التفكير في التجريد.

لذلك ، من وجهة النظر هذه ، فإن شخصياتنا مستقرة ، ليس لأن لدينا سمات "عميقة" لا تتغير (منفتح ، قلقة ، مجازفة ، وما إلى ذلك) ، ولكن لأننا نستمد من "تاريخنا" الفريد من نوعه ، وغالبًا ما نرسمه. من الأفكار والعمل. نحن مثل الموسيقيين الجاز - تم بناء أسلوبنا المميز ، مقتطف من مقتطف ، طبقة تلو الأخرى ، طوال فترة الارتجال.

هل يمكن أن تغير؟

من المرجح أن تكون الجوانب المتغيرة لشخصياتنا (إذا أردنا) بطيئة وصعبة. ولكن ، مثل موسيقي موسيقى الجاز الذين يتعلمون حرفتهم ، يمكننا أن نغير ونطور تدريجياً - وبجهد - عادات جديدة للفكر القديمة. في الواقع ، هذه هي استراتيجية العلاج السلوكي المعرفي ، التي تطلب من الناس تسجيل سلوكياتهم وأفكارهم والتحدي فيها وتعديلها بفعالية.

في معالجة ، على سبيل المثال ، الخوف من الثعابين ، من غير المرجح أن تكون أي قدر من قوة الإرادة فعالة ، ولا يزال أقل من أمر قضائي عام "أن نكون أكثر شجاعة" أو "نجمع أنفسنا". ما العمل هو مساعدة تطوير ردود فعل جديدة ل - والأفكار - الثعابين ، لكتابة ردود الفعل والأفكار القديمة غير المفيدة ، على سبيل المثال ، عن طريق التعرض التدريجي لصور الثعابين والثعابين المطاطية ، وفي نهاية المطاف ، الثعابين أنفسهم ، في ظروف آمنة.

A دراسة حديثة أشار إلى أن الشيء نفسه ينطبق على المزيد من سمات الشخصية اليومية. وجد الباحثون أن درجة الرغبة أو النية في أن تكون أكثر صادرة ، على سبيل المثال ، لم تتنبأ بزيادة الانبساط مع مرور الوقت. ولكن إذا حدد الأشخاص أهدافًا (على سبيل المثال عن طريق إعداد موضوعات المحادثة ، وقول مرحباً لشخص غريب وما إلى ذلك) ، فقد تبين أن تغيير الشخصية المبلغ عنها ذاتيا يمكن التنبؤ به من خلال النجاح في تحقيق هذه الأهداف. إذا كنت تريد تغيير بعض جوانب شخصيتك ، فأنت بحاجة إلى ممارسة سلوكيات وأفكار جديدة.

لذلك ، كما هو الحال مع أي تقاليد ، يمكن لكل منا أن يتكيف ويتطور - وبينما صاغنا ماضينا ، نحن أيضًا مؤلفون لمستقبلنا. لكن التقاليد عميقة وكل واحد منا لديه أنماطنا الخاصة من الفكر والكلام والإيماءات والحركة التي تجعلنا فريدين - يمكن التعرف عليها على الفور حتى بعد مرور عقود. بدلاً من الانزعاج من المراوغات والخصوصيات الخاصة بنا باعتبارها "عيوبًا" من نظرتنا المثالية ، ربما ينبغي لنا أن نفرح ببساطة في تفردنا ، وتنوع البشرية بلا حدود.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

نيك شاطر ، أستاذ العلوم السلوكية ، كلية وارويك للأعمال ، جامعة وارويك

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ، الكلمات الرئيسية = تنمية الشخصية ، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Personalities Are Like Traditions – Unique Patterns Of Behavior That Build Over A Lifetime Of Improvisation

Personalities Are Like Traditions – Unique Patterns Of Behavior That Build Over A Lifetime Of Improvisation Like a finely tuned jazz musician. Africa Studio/Shutterstock

The question of whether personality is the result of nature or nurture has plagued researchers – and the general public – for decades. What we do know is that we are all unique, each with a distinctive pattern of speech, gesture, movement and thought. And when it comes to our personality, our past thoughts and actions influence our future thoughts and actions. In short, our personalities are traditions. If this is the case, then, can we change them? The answer is yes, but the process might be difficult.

Our personalities, like most ways in our minds vary, are a complex mix of nature and nurture. Nature certainly matters: studies of twins, separated from birth, show that our genes can shape our lives. Most tellingly, identical twins raised separately have more similar personalities than fraternal twins, who share only half their genes. But nurture matters too: identical twins raised separately – or indeed raised together – are very different people. Nature and nurture can, of course, interact in complex ways: for example, a child naturally interested in music (nature) may be more likely to be given, or persist with, music lessons (part of nurture). Similarly, an initially shy or friendly child will shape how people treat them: nature will, again, shape nurture.

It is remarkable just how different we all are. Meeting a colleague recently after 20 years, I had a strange and powerful sense of familiarity and recognition. But I had entirely forgotten the subtly distinctive patterns of intonation, the quizzical smile, the leaning of the head to one side. Conversation began to break out, just as it always had. We were, it seemed, the same people as before, picking up as if after a couple of days, not a couple of decades.

Such experiences remind us that it is the details that makes each person we encounter “feel” distinctive. Yet we tend to think of ourselves, and our personalities, in far more general terms: people are gregarious or quiet; relaxed or anxious; generous or selfish; brave or timid. We may try to pin down such traits more precisely, using any of the vast array of personality tests developed over more than a century of “psychometric” research – for example, the widely used OCEAN model, with its scales for Openness, Conscientiousness, Extroversion, Agreeableness and Neuroticism.

behavior What are you like??!!! Trueffelpix/Shutterstock

But these abstract descriptions don’t seem to match up with our everyday experience of the uniqueness of other people. After all, an impersonator can instantly conjure up a celebrity or politician by a distinctive phrase, tone of voice or facial expression. But an abstract list of personality traits would surely bring no one in particular to mind.

I think our intuition that it is details, not generalities, that make each of us special is on precisely the right track. To see how this might be the case, consider the analogy of tradition – whether in cooking, music, art or any other aspect of life. We know, within perhaps less than a second, the difference between traditional jazz, Bach, disco or hip-hop. It is the particularities that strike us – specific combinations of notes, harmonies and instrumentation. Describing musical traditions in terms of abstract traits (fast versus slow; rhythmical versus fluid; dynamic versus serene) is possible, but not very helpful.

Musical, and other, traditions arise from the specific, not the general. Each new piece of music is a recombination and variation of snippets of previous pieces; each new dish is an amalgam of previous dishes; each new art work draws on the canon of prior art works, and so on. And the resulting traditions are rich, complex, contradictory, and with boundaries blurring into neighbouring traditions. Musicologists, food writers and art historians can, in retrospect, come up with insightful descriptions and helpful taxonomies. But, to switch for a moment to literature, if you want to know what “metaphysical poetry” is, no amount of learned discussion will substitute for hearing a few lines of Andrew Marvell or John Donne.

I suggest that people are traditions, too: traditions of thoughts, actions and reactions, patterns of movements, and tone of voice. Each new thought and action is a recombination and variation of what we have thought and done before – and, to an extent, borrowing from what we have observed others say and do. Over a lifetime, our patterns of thoughts and behaviour become entrenched – it is our unique history, our unique habits and patterns, that make us special.

behavior Personalities are like traditions. Reddees/Shutterstock

If this is right, how should we answer the question: what sort of person am I? This is an impossible question, like defining impressionism, flamenco or nouvelle cuisine. We know others, and ourselves, from experiencing examples, not contemplating abstractions.

So, from this viewpoint, our personalities are stable, not because we have unchanging “deep” traits (extrovert, anxious, risk-taker, and so on), but because we draw on, and often entrench, our own unique “history” of thoughts and action. We are like jazz musicians – our distinctive style is built up, snippet by snippet, layer by layer, through a lifetime of improvisation.

Can you change?

Changing aspects of our personalities (if we want to) will, most likely, be slow and difficult. But, like jazz musicians learning their craft, we can change, improve and gradually – and with effort – substitute new habits of thought for old. Indeed, this is the strategy of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, which asks people to record, challenge and actively modify their behaviours and thoughts.

In addressing, for example, a fear of snakes, no amount of willpower is likely to be effective, still less a general injunction to “be braver” or “pull ourselves together”. What does work is helping develop new reactions to – and thoughts about – snakes, to overwrite the old, unhelpful reactions and thoughts, for example, by gradual exposure to pictures of snakes, rubber snakes and, ultimately, snakes themselves, in safe conditions.

A recent study indicated that the same is true for more everyday personality traits. The authors found that the degree of wanting or intending to be more outgoing, for example, did not predict increased extroversion over time. But if people set goals (for example by prepare topics of conversation, saying hello to a stranger and so on), it turns out that self-reported personality change can be predicted by success in achieving these goals. If you want to change some aspect of your personality, then, you need to practice new behaviours and thoughts.

So, as with any tradition, each of us can adjust and evolve – and while we are shaped by our past, we are also authors of our future. But tradition runs deep and each of us has our own patterns of thought, speech, gesture and movement that makes us unique – immediately recognisable even when decades have passed. Rather than being troubled by our quirks and idiosyncrasies as “imperfections” from our ideal self, perhaps we should simply rejoice in our own uniqueness, and humanity’s limitless variety.The Conversation

About The Author

Nick Chater, Professor of Behavioural Science, Warwick Business School, University of Warwick

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=personality development;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}