Pour saisir les métaphores, nos cerveaux deviennent sensibles Feely

Pour saisir les métaphores, nos cerveaux deviennent sensibles Feely

Une nouvelle recherche explique comment nous comprenons les métaphores - comme «saisir» une idée - et comment ce processus s’enracine dans notre expérience corporelle.

Certaines études d'imagerie cérébrale par IRM fonctionnelle ou IRMf ont indiqué, par exemple, que lorsque vous entendez une métaphore telle que «elle a eu une journée difficile», des régions du cerveau associées à une expérience tactile s'activent. Si vous entendez «il est si doux», les zones associées au goût s'activent. Et lorsque vous entendez des verbes d'action utilisés dans un contexte métaphorique, comme «saisir un concept», les régions impliquées dans la perception motrice et la planification s'activent.

En moyenne, nous utilisons une métaphore à chaque mot 20.

La nouvelle étude dans le journal Recherche sur le cerveau s'appuie sur cette recherche pour déterminer quand, exactement, différentes régions du cerveau s'activent dans la compréhension métaphore et ce que cela nous dit sur la façon dont nous comprenons le langage.

Pliez la tige / pliez les règles

Les chercheurs ont découvert qu'en moyenne, les gens utilisent une métaphore à chaque mot 20, explique Vicky Lai, professeure adjointe de psychologie et de sciences cognitives à l'Université de l'Arizona. En tant que directeur du Laboratoire de neurosciences cognitives du langage au département de psychologie, Lai s'intéresse à la façon dont le cerveau traite les métaphores et d'autres types de langage.

«… La compréhension de la langue est rapide, à la vitesse de mots 4 par seconde.»

Sa dernière étude utilisait l'EEG, ou des études d'ondes cérébrales, pour enregistrer les schémas électriques dans le cerveau lorsque les participants rencontraient des métaphores contenant un contenu d'action, comme «saisir l'idée» ou «contourner les règles».

Les participants à l'étude ont vu trois phrases différentes sur un écran d'ordinateur, un mot à la fois. Une phrase décrit une action concrète, telle que «Le garde du corps a courbé le bâton». Une autre était une métaphore utilisant le même verbe: «L’église a courbé les règles». Dans la troisième phrase, le verbe a été remplacé par un mot plus abstrait a le même sens que la métaphore: «L’église a modifié les règles».

Lorsque les participants ont vu le mot «courbé» utilisé à la fois dans le contexte littéral et métaphorique, il a évoqué une réponse similaire dans le cerveau, la région sensori-motrice étant activée presque immédiatement - en millisecondes 200 - du verbe figurant à l'écran. Cette réponse a différé lorsque «modifié» a remplacé «courbé».

Réflexion rapide

Les travaux de Lai corroborent les résultats d'études antérieures en IRMf, qui mesurent les changements dans l'activité cérébrale liés au flux sanguin; Cependant, l'EEG, qui mesure l'activité électrique dans le cerveau, fournit une image plus claire de l'importance des régions motrices sensorielles du cerveau pour la compréhension de la métaphore.

«Dans une IRMf, l'oxygénation et la désoxygénation du sang prennent du temps pour refléter les changements causés par le langage qui vient d'être prononcé», explique Lai. "Mais la compréhension de la langue est rapide, à raison de quatre mots par seconde."

Par conséquent, avec une IRMf, il est difficile de dire si la région motrice sensorielle est vraiment nécessaire pour comprendre les métaphores basées sur l'action ou si c'est quelque chose qui est activé après que la compréhension a déjà eu lieu. L'EEG fournit un sens beaucoup plus précis du timing.

«En utilisant la mesure des ondes cérébrales, nous séparons le cours du temps de ce qui se passe en premier», dit Lai.

Dans l'étude, l'activation quasi immédiate de la région motrice sensorielle après l'affichage du verbe suggère que cette région du cerveau est en effet assez importante pour la compréhension.

Les recherches actuelles de Lai permettent de mieux comprendre comment les humains comprennent le langage et contribueront de manière fondamentale à certaines des questions explorées par son laboratoire, telles que: Le langage métaphorique peut-il être utilisé pour améliorer l'humeur des gens? Quel rôle la langue pourrait-elle jouer dans le vieillissement en bonne santé? Et les métaphores peuvent-elles aider à l'apprentissage de concepts abstraits? Lai récemment a présenté des recherches en cours sur l'utilisation de métaphores pour aider à l'enseignement, à l'apprentissage et à la conservation des concepts scientifiques lors de la réunion annuelle de la Cognitive Neuroscience Society à San Francisco.

«Comprendre comment le cerveau aborde la complexité du langage nous permet de commencer à tester l'impact du langage complexe sur d'autres aspects de la cognition», a-t-elle déclaré.

La source: Université de l'Arizona

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = Nos cerveaux; maxresults = 3}

To Grasp Metaphors, Our Brains Get Touchy Feely

To Grasp Metaphors, Our Brains Get Touchy Feely

New research clarifies how we understand metaphors—like “grasping” an idea—and how that process is rooted in our bodily experience.

Some functional MRI, or fMRI, brain imaging studies have indicated, for example, that when you hear a metaphor such as “she had a rough day,” regions of the brain associated with tactile experience activate. If you hear, “he’s so sweet,” areas associated with taste activate. And when you hear action verbs used in a metaphorical context, like “grasp a concept,” regions involved in motor perception and planning activate.

On average, we use a metaphor every 20 words.

The new study in the journal Brain Research builds on this research by looking at when, exactly, different regions of the brain activate in metaphor comprehension and what that tells us about the way we understand language.

Bend the rod/bend the rules

Researchers have found that on average, people use a metaphor every 20 words, says Vicky Lai, an assistant professor of psychology and cognitive science at the University of Arizona. As director of the Cognitive Neuroscience of Language Laboratory in the psychology department, Lai is interested in how the brain processes metaphors and other types of language.

“…language comprehension is fast—at the rate of 4 words per second.”

Her latest study used EEG, or brainwave studies, to record electrical patterns in the brain when participants encountered metaphors containing action content, like “grasp the idea” or “bend the rules.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Study participants saw three different sentences on a computer screen—one word at a time. One sentence described a concrete action, such as, “The bodyguard bent the rod.” Another was a metaphor using the same verb: “The church bent the rules.” In the third sentence, the verb was replaced with a more abstract word that conveyed the same meaning as the metaphor: “The church altered the rules.”

When participants saw the word “bent” used in both the literal and metaphorical context, it evoked a similar response in the brain, with the sensory-motor region being activated almost immediately—within 200 milliseconds—of the verb appearing on the screen. That response differed when “altered” replaced “bent.”

Quick thinking

Lai’s work supports previous findings from fMRI studies, which measure brain activity changes related to blood flow; however, the EEG, which measures electrical activity in the brain, provides a clearer picture of just how important the sensory motor regions of the brain may be for metaphor comprehension.

“In an fMRI, it takes time for oxygenation and deoxygenation of blood to reflect change caused by the language that was just uttered,” Lai says. “But language comprehension is fast—at the rate of four words per second.”

Therefore, with an fMRI, it’s hard to tell whether the sensory motor region is truly necessary for understanding action-based metaphors or if it’s something that’s activated after comprehension has already taken place. The EEG provides a much more precise sense of timing.

“By using the brainwave measure, we tease apart the time course of what happens first,” Lai says.

In the study, the near-immediate activation of the sensory motor region after the verb was displayed suggests that region of the brain is indeed quite important in comprehension.

Lai’s current research extends understanding of how humans comprehend language and will help foundationally with some of the other questions her lab is exploring, such as: Can metaphoric language be used to improve people’s moods? What role might language play in healthy aging? And, can metaphors aid in the learning of abstract concepts? Lai recently presented ongoing research on the use of metaphors to aid in the teaching, learning, and retention of science concepts at the annual meeting of the Cognitive Neuroscience Society in San Francisco.

“Understanding how the brain approaches the complexity of language allows us to begin to test how complex language impacts other aspects of cognition,” she says.

Source: University of Arizona

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Our Brains;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…