لماذا نحن بحاجة العمالقة

لماذا نحن بحاجة العمالقةاكتشف كل من جالفاني لانفرانكو نوراندينو ولوسينا من قبل الغول (1624): في العديد من المجتمعات ، كان العمالقة جزءًا طويلاً من الحكمة المستلمة. ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

فكر في أي فجوة مائية كبيرة. قد يكون ذلك بينك وبين الجزيرة على بعد عدة كيلومترات من الساحل ، وهو مكان مثل جزيرة الكنغر (جنوب أستراليا) أو سريلانكا كما يتم مشاهدته من الهند المجاورة.

قد تكون الفجوة بين ويلز وأيرلندا ، أو التي تفصل فرنسا عن إنجلترا. لو كنت أخبرك أن شخصًا ما قد مرّ عبر تلك الفجوة ، فقد تبدو مظهرك مني ، ربما خوفًا على سلامة عقلاني. لكن إذا أصررت ، فإن الطريقة الوحيدة التي يمكن بها ترشيد هذا (أو أنا لك) هي أن تعتبر أن الشخص المعني كان عملاقًا.

لقد سار الناس مرة واحدة على جميع هذه الفجوات ، ولكن في وقت كان مستوى سطح البحر فيه أقل ، وكانت هذه الثغرات في معظمها أراضي جافة. خلال العصر الجليدي العظيم الأخير ، كان مستوى سطح البحر في معظم أنحاء العالم حول 120 متر تحت اليوم. كانت أعداد اليابسة أكبر نتيجة لذلك وانضم العديد منها منفصلة اليوم.

مع ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر في نهاية العصر الجليدي الأخير ، أصبح من الصعب للغاية عبور هذه الفجوات ؛ كانت الطرق التي تم اتخاذها أكثر دهاءًا ، ربما ممكنًا فقط من خلال مزيج من الخوض والمشي. ومع استمرار ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر ، أصبحت الفجوات في النهاية غير صالحة للسير على الأقدام - وربما في النهاية طويلا جدا للعبور بالمراكب المائية - ولكن ذكريات متى كانت الأمور تسير على ما يبدو في قصص الشعوب على جانبي فجوة المياه .

وبالنظر إلى أن هذه الذكريات قد تشكلت لأول مرة حول 6,000 منذ سنوات في معظم أنحاء العالم ، فقد تم إخبار القصص شفويا فقط. في البداية ، لم يكن أحد قد شكك في صحة هذه القصص - كان هناك الكثير من الناس لتأكيد صحتها. لكن مع مرور الوقت ، كان المستمعون قد ازدادوا حتما أكثر وأكثر تشككا. لذا في مرحلة ما ، قرر رواة القصص أن التغلب على مثل هذا التشكك ، سيصبح الناس الذين عبروا هذه الفجوات في وقت ما بعد موتهم عملاقا طويلة العمر.

لماذا نحن بحاجة العمالقةبحلول عام 1664 عندما نشر Athanasius Kircher Mundus Subterraneus ، كانت العمالقة بالفعل سمة مقبولة للتاريخ. ويكيميديا ​​كومنز.

في العديد من المجتمعات ، أصبحت العمالقة جزءًا من الحكمة المستلمة. من ساحل ويلز غرباً إلى إيرلندا ، أصبحت الآن على الأقل 73 كيلومترات وعلى الأقل عمق 50 متر - وهي مسافة قد تصبح سالكة على الأقدام على الأقل قبل 9,600 منذ سنوات. بعد قصص ويلز تحدثت عن Brân المباركة (Bendigaidfran) مرة واحدة يسير عبر هذه الفجوة لإنقاذ أخته المنكوبة من زوجها المسيئة. كيف يمكن لأي شخص لا يعرف عن تغيير مستوى سطح البحر أن يتوقع مثل هذه القصة - المهمة للهوية الثقافية الويلزية - ما لم يكن بريان عملاقًا؟ إذن هل قصة Brân هي ذكرى بعيدة لشيء حدث أكثر من 9,600 منذ سنوات؟ ربما.

في جنوب أستراليا ، عاشت مرة عائلة من العمالقة الذين جعلوا منزلهم في سلسلة من الفوهات البركانية. طبخوا طعامهم في هذه الفوهات التي أصبحت تعرف باسم "أفران كرايتبول" ، بعد واحد من العمالقة. لو كانت الفوهات أصغر حجماً ، فربما لم تكن العائلة بحاجة إلى أن تكون عملاقة لجعل القصة ذات مصداقية.

جزر المحيط الهادئ هي المنازل الأسطورية لكثير من العمالقة. في بعض القصص ، كان ماوي - الصياد الكبير للجزر - عملاقًا ، لكن الآخر كان أقل اعتدالا هو Uoke ، الذي سافر حول اقتلاع جزر بكاملها بمخده العملاق.

ذهب على طول الساحل قطع ضخمة قبالة جزيرة الفصح (ذاكرة محتملة للانزلاقات على ضفاف الجزيرة) حتى اندلع حاجز على الصخور الصلبة في Puko Puhipuhi. وصل الناس إلى جزيرة الفصح منذ حوالي ألف عام ، لذلك نجحت القصة ، التي جاءت معهم على الأرجح من جزر أخرى ، على الأقل طوال هذه المدة الطويلة.

لماذا نحن بحاجة العمالقة صورة 1874 لـ Gulliver. ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

هناك عوالم عملاقة متخيلة مثل Swift's Brobdingnag وتلك من عقل Roald Dahl لكن لم يكن القصد منها أبداً الاعتقاد حرفياً. ولكن في أوقات ما قبل القراءة والكتابة ، كان بعضها. شكلت العمالقة الأرض ، جعلوا الناس. شربت الكائنات العملاقة المحيطات ، وحاربوا في السماء وداخل الأرض ، أو يهزونها أو يتسببون في خروج الصخور الحمراء من داخلها.

التنفس الهاله من إنسيلادوس، عملاق مدفون في جبل إتنا (إيطاليا) ، يهرب كما الأبخرة في حين كان يتم أخذها مرة واحدة في الوقت الذي تحولت له لتخفيف الضغط على الجرح الذي تسببت فيه أثينا عندما دفنته تحت صقلية. كان من المفترض في الأصل أن تؤخذ مثل هذه القصص حرفياً ، لترشيد التغييرات في المناظر الطبيعية (خاصة الكارثية منها) ، لتغذية الذاكرة البشرية وإعلام الاستجابات المناسبة.

نقرأ اليوم قصصا حول عمالقة في سياقات لا تعد ولا تحصى - خلق العالم وتدمير العالم ، الخير والشر ، الخرقاء والحريصة - ولكننا نادرا ما نتوقف للنظر في لماذا ومتى يحتاج الناس لأول مرة لاختراعهم.

نبذة عن الكاتب

باتريك د. نان ، أستاذ الجغرافيا ، مركز أبحاث الاستدامة ، جامعة صن شاين كوست

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = العمالقة في الأساطير ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
by ستيفن ناتشمانوفيتش
اختيار الحب دون قيد أو شرط: العالم يحتاج إلى حب غير مشروط
اختيار الحب دون قيد أو شرط: العالم يحتاج إلى حب غير مشروط
by ايلين كادي MBE وديفيد ايرل بلاتس ، دكتوراه.

Why We Needed Giants

intuition

 Why We Needed GiantsGiovanni Lanfranco’s Norandino and Lucina Discovered by the Ogre (1624): in many societies giants were long part of received wisdom. Wikimedia Commons

Think of any sizeable water gap. It might be that between you and the island many kilometres off the coast, a place like Kangaroo Island (South Australia) or Sri Lanka as viewed from nearby India.

It might be the gap between Wales and Ireland, or that separating France from England. Were I to tell you that someone once walked across that gap, you might look askance at me, maybe fear for my sanity. But if I insisted, the only way you might rationalise this (or I to you) would be to consider that the someone in question had been a giant.

People did once walk across all these gaps, but at a time when sea level was lower and these gaps were mostly dry land. During the last great ice age, sea level in most parts of the world lay around 120 metres below today’s. Landmasses were larger as a consequence and many that are separate today were joined.

As sea level rose at the end of the last ice age, crossing these gaps became increasingly difficult; the routes taken would have been more circuitous, perhaps possible only through a combination of wading and walking. As sea level continued rising, the gaps eventually became impassable for people on foot – and perhaps eventually too lengthy to readily cross with watercraft – but the memories of when things were otherwise lingered on in the stories of the peoples on either side of the water gap.

Given that these memories were first shaped around 6,000 years ago in most parts of the world, the stories were told only orally. At first, no one would have questioned the authenticity of these stories – there were many people to corroborate their veracity. Yet as time wore on, listeners would inevitably have grown more and more sceptical. So at some point, storytellers decided that to overcome such scepticism, the people who once crossed these gaps would posthumously become long-limbed giants.

 Why We Needed GiantsBy the year 1664 when Athanasius Kircher published Mundus Subterraneus, giants were already an accepted feature of history. Wikimedia Commons.

In many societies, giants became part of received wisdom. From the coast of Wales west to that of Ireland, it is now at least 73 kilometres and at least 50 metres deep - a distance that would have become impassable on foot at least 9,600 years ago. Yet Welsh stories speak of Brân the Blessed (Bendigaidfran) once walking across this gap to rescue his distressed sister from her abusive husband. How might anyone who did not know about sea-level change be expected to credit such a story – important to Welsh cultural identity – unless Brân had been a giant? So is the story of Brân a distant memory of something that happened more than 9,600 years ago? Perhaps.

In South Australia, there once lived a family of giants who made their home in a succession of volcanic craters. They cooked their food in these craters which have become known as “the ovens of Craitbul”, after one of the giants. Had the craters been smaller, then the family may not have needed to have been giant in order to make the story credible.

The Pacific Islands are the legendary homes of many giants. In some stories, Maui – the great fisher of islands - was a giant but another altogether less benign was Uoke, who travelled around uprooting whole islands with his giant crowbar.

He went along the coast prizing huge chunks off Easter island (a likely memory of island-flank landslips) until his crowbar broke on the hard rocks at Puko Puhipuhi. People reached Easter Island around a millennium ago so the story, which likely came with them from other islands, has survived at least this long.

 Why We Needed Giants An 1874 picture of Gulliver. Wikimedia Commons

There are imagined giant worlds like Swift’s Brobdingnag and those from the mind of Roald Dahl but these were never intended to be believed literally. Yet in pre-literate times, some were. Giants shaped the earth, they made people. Giants drank the oceans, they fought in the skies and within the earth, shaking it or causing blood-red rock to spill out of its interior.

The halitotic breath of Enceladus, a giant buried within Mt Etna (Italy), escapes as vapours while its periodic shakings were once taken as him turning to relieve pressure on the wound inflicted by Athena when she buried him beneath Sicily. Such stories were originally intended to be taken literally, to rationalise landscape changes (especially catastrophic ones), to seed human memory and to inform appropriate responses.

We read today stories about giants in myriad contexts - world-creating and world-destroying, good and evil, clumsy and careful – but we have rarely paused to consider why and when people first needed to invent them.

About The Author

Patrick D. Nunn, Professor of Geography, Sustainability Research Centre, University of the Sunshine Coast

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

intuition
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

I get by with a little help from my friends