مكتئب؟ خلق نمط حياة صحي يمكن أن تساعد

مكتئب؟ خلق نمط حياة صحي يمكن أن تساعد
الصورة عن طريق silviarita

في الشريط الهزلي الكلاسيكي ليل أبنير، تتميز شخصية جو بتفصلك باستمرار بسحاب غائم من الظلام يتابعه أينما ذهب. هل شعرت من هذا القبيل؟ يبدو بقية العالم مشمسًا وبخيرًا ، لكن هذه الشخصية لا يمكنها الهروب من الأمطار الغزيرة بلا توقف.

هذا ما يشبه الاكتئاب وغيره من الأمراض العقلية: كل شيء مستهلك. ولكن على عكس الرسوم الكاريكاتورية ، لا يوجد شيء مضحك عنها.

ومع ذلك ، حتى أخطر المشكلات العقلية يمكن علاجها. العلاج والدواء نوعان من العلاج ، والأفضل أن يعتمد على كل شخص ، ومشاكله ، ونصيحة الأطباء. شكل آخر من أشكال العلاج هو خلق نمط حياة أكثر صحة. تعمل تغييرات نمط الحياة على ضبط الطريقة التي تعيش بها يوميًا للحفاظ على الاكتئاب واستعادة حياتك.

الاكتئاب والقلق من الأمراض

الاكتئاب والقلق من الأمراض ، ومثل معظم الأمراض ، يمكن أن تؤثر على نمط حياتك. يحتاج كل من جسمك وعقلك إلى رعاية ووقود مناسبين ، وهو ما يوفره نمط الحياة الصحي. فكر في الأمر: إذا كنت تعاني من مرض في القلب ، فهل تأكل الهامبرغر والبطاطا المقلية وتتوقع أن تتحسن؟ لا. للحصول على أفضل ، كنت تأكل بشكل أفضل ، وتمرين أكثر ، وما إلى ذلك. الأمر لا يختلف مع المرض العقلي.

عادات نمط الحياة الجيدة يمكن أن تساعد عقلك على العمل على النحو الأمثل. لن "يعالجوا" الاكتئاب ، لكنهم يساعدونك على التغلب على أعراضه ويقلل من تأثير ومدة النوبات الاكتئابية. مثل رياضي ، يجعلك نمط الحياة الصحيح أقوى عاطفيا وأكثر مرونة.

لسوء الحظ ، يعاني الاكتئاب من أفضل براعمين: اللامبالاة ونقص الطاقة. هذه تجعل من الصعب القيام بأي شيء. إذا كان هذا يصفك ، كن صبورًا مع نفسك. احتفل بكل إنجاز ، ولا تمنح نفسك وقتًا عصيبًا عند الانزلاق. اتخاذ خطوات صغيرة ، وتذكر أن كل خطوة مهمة. إذا اتخذت بعض الخطوات الإيجابية كل يوم ، فستجد نفسك تحرز تقدما وتشعر بتحسن - ببطء ولكن بثبات.

إن استراتيجيات نمط الحياة في هذا الفصل هي أدوات لمساعدتك في مواجهة أي مشاكل نفسية أو عاطفية وتمكينك من العيش حياة أكثر صحة. ومع ذلك ، إذا كنت أنت أو أي شخص تعرفه يعاني من الاكتئاب أو أي مشكلة أخرى تتعلق بالصحة العقلية ، فهذه الأدوات ليست سوى مكمل للعلاج المهني - ليس بديل.

يشمل "نمط الحياة الصحي" كل الأشياء التي تقوم بها لمساعدة نفسك على الشعور والعيش بشكل أفضل. لكن لا يمكنك التغلب على الاكتئاب بنفسك. وإذا كانت هناك رسالة واحدة آمل أن تأخذها من هذا الكتاب ، فلا بأس في طلب المساعدة. يبدأ ذلك بالتحدث مع الأقرب إليك والحصول على المساعدة: والديك والمدرسين والأصدقاء وما إلى ذلك. ولكن هذا يشمل أيضًا الحصول على المساعدة من الأطباء والمعالجين. ومع ذلك ، فإن النجاح النهائي لأي خطة علاج يعتمد على الفرد ، الذي يجب عليه تبني الخطة وإجراء تغييرات نمط الحياة اللازمة لدعمها.

نصائح للحصول على نمط حياة صحي

تحرك كل يوم

عندما تشعر بالاكتئاب ، فإن مجرد الخروج من السرير قد يبدو مستحيلًا تمامًا ، ناهيك عن التمرين. لكن التمرين هو مقاتل قوي للاكتئاب والقلق وأحد أهم الأدوات لتخفيف الأعراض. تزيد التمارين من درجة حرارة جسمك ، مما يساعد على إنتاج شعور بالدفء ويطلق الاندورفين ، وهي مواد كيميائية جيدة الشعور في عقلك تساعد على تحسين الحالة المزاجية. التمرينات تساعد أيضًا في منع الانتكاس حالما تكون بصحة جيدة.

أي نوع من الحركة يمكن أن تحدث فرقا ؛ ابحث عن شيء تستمتع به ، لذلك ستلتزم به. يمكن أن يكون التزلج ، والمشي الكلب ، أو الرقص على أغنية مفضلة. حتى المشي لمدة عشر دقائق يمكن أن يحسن حالتك المزاجية. اعمل في طريقك حتى ستين دقيقة من التمارين يوميًا (إجمالاً ، وليس كلها مرة واحدة). اطلب من صديق أو أحد أفراد أسرتك الانضمام إليك ؛ ممارسة مع شخص آخر يوفر الدعم والتشجيع.

كل جيدا

هذه حقيقة مثيرة للاهتمام: يتم إنتاج 95 في المئة من السيروتونين في الجسم (الناقل العصبي المسؤول عن تنظيم النوم والشهية والمزاج) في الجهاز الهضمي. هذا يقول الكثير عن العلاقة بين عقلك وأمعائك. الأشخاص الذين يعانون من انخفاض مستويات السيروتونين هم أكثر عرضة للمعاناة من الاكتئاب والقلق والأرق ، فضلا عن السيطرة على الدافع الضعيف وتجربة أفكار الانتحار. إذا لم تعمل القناة الهضمية كما ينبغي ، فمن المحتمل أنك لا تنتج السيروتونين الذي تحتاجه لدماغ متوازن وصحي.

ربما تعلم بالفعل أن ما تتناوله يمكن أن يكون له تأثير كبير على شعورك. في الواقع ، أظهرت الدراسات أن الأشخاص الذين تدور وجباتهم الغذائية حول الأغذية الكاملة غير المصنعة - مثل حمية البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​، الغنية بالخضروات والمأكولات البحرية وانخفاض الحبوب والألبان - لديهم خطر أقل من الاكتئاب وغيرهم من الأمراض العقلية مقارنة بأولئك الذين أكل نظام غذائي يحتوي على الأطعمة المصنعة والسكريات. لذلك لا تعرض صحتك العقلية للخطر بسبب نظامك الغذائي.

قلل من كمية "الوجبات السريعة" التي تضعها في جسمك ، مثل الوجبات الخفيفة المعلبة والسكر والطاقة والمشروبات الغازية والوجبات السريعة. بدلاً من ذلك ، تناول المزيد من الفواكه الطازجة والخضروات واللحوم الخالية من الدهن والمأكولات البحرية. انتبه لنرى كيف تشعرين الأطعمة المختلفة. إذا كنت تشعر بتحسن بدونها ، لا تأكلها!

خلق صداقات

يمكن أن يكون للشعور المنعزل عن العائلة والأصدقاء ، وعن غيرهم من البشر عمومًا ، تأثير كارثي على صحتك النفسية. هذا هو السبب في أن العزلة تستخدم كشكل من أشكال العقوبة في السجن وحتى كشكل من أشكال التعذيب لأسرى الحرب. الشيء المتعلق بالاكتئاب هو أن أعراضه تكون دورية: عندما تكون مكتئبًا ، لا تريد أن تكون حول الناس ، ولكن عزل نفسك يؤدي فقط إلى تفاقم الاكتئاب. عندما يحدث هذا لك ، تدرب على الإيمان ؛ ثق أن التواصل مع الآخرين سيساعدك على الشعور بالتحسن. هذه ليست مجرد قصصية. لقد ثبت علميا.

ها هي الفائدة. وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ليست بديلاً عن التفاعلات وجهاً لوجه ، والتي هي الأفضل لتقليل مشاعر الاكتئاب. من المؤكد أن النص الداعم أو رسالة من صديق يمكن أن ترفع من معنوياتك ، ولكن من الأفضل مقابلة شخص ما. لذا اقبل (أو قدم) دعوة ، وحضور الرقص في المدرسة ، والبقاء على تواصل مع إخوتك أو أولياء أمورك. وإذا لم تتمكن من مقابلة شخص ما ، اتصل به وتحدث معه. بالتأكيد لن يصب بأذى ، وتشير الأدلة إلى أنه سوف يساعدك في الواقع على الشعور بالراحة.

الحصول على ضوء الشمس

أعلم ، وأنا أعلم ، أن قضاء الكثير من الوقت في الشمس يزيد من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الجلد. ثم مرة أخرى ، القليل جدا من الشمس تؤذي رفاهنا العقلي. الجسم عبارة عن نظام لا يصدق ينظم نفسه باستخدام الهرمونات والناقلات العصبية. أعلاه ، أذكر كيف تكون مستويات السيروتونين الكافية ضرورية لمزاجنا (وأكثر من ذلك بكثير).

كما اتضح ، أجسادنا مبرمجة لإنتاج السيروتونين في ضوء الشمس ، وتنتج الميلاتونين - الهرمون الذي يساعدنا على الشعور بالنعاس - في الظلام. لذلك كلما شعرت بالإحباط أو التعب أو عدم التحفيز ، قد يساعدك الخروج من الشمس. في الواقع ، فإن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الاضطراب العاطفي الموسمي - الاكتئاب الناجم عن قلة ضوء الشمس خلال أشهر الشتاء - يعاملون غالبًا بالعلاج بالضوء لمساعدتهم على إنتاج السيروتونين الذي يحتاج جسمهم إلى الشعور بتحسن. بطريقة ما ، نحن مثل النباتات - بدون أشعة الشمس ، أصبحنا بلا عناء ونذبل.

اجعل الحصول على جزء خارج روتينك. وضعت على واقية من الشمس واتخاذ المشي حول الكتلة ، وقراءة كتاب على الشرفة الخاصة بك ، أو تناول الغداء الخاص بك على مقعد الحديقة. الطبيعة تلتئم ، لذا استمتع بها كلما استطعت.

التركيز على الآخرين

هذه مفارقة مثيرة للاهتمام: عندما نركز بالكامل على احتياجاتنا الخاصة ، فغالبًا ما يجعلنا ذلك نشعر أسوأ، لكن التركيز على احتياجات شخص آخر يجعلنا نشعر بالتحسن. مساعدة شخص آخر يمكن أن تمنحك دفعة كبيرة للمزاج. مثل التمرين وضوء الشمس ، لا يجب أن يكون متطرفًا - ربما إعطاء صديق رحلة إلى المنزل من المدرسة أو المساهمة في حملة أطعمة معلبة.

أظهرت الدراسات أن الأشخاص الذين لديهم أهداف متعاطفة (أهداف للتأثير إيجابيا على حياة الآخر) يظهرون أعراضًا أقل للاكتئاب ، ويكون لديهم صراع أقل في العلاقات ، ويشعرون بتحسن في أنفسهم. تطوع ، مد أذن لأحد الأصدقاء ، أو اذهب إلى حفلة موسيقية أو لعبة لأحد الأصدقاء ، أو جرف الرصيف المجاور.

تنفيس عند الضرورة

التمسك بالمشاعر والعواطف المكبوتة ليس بصحة جيدة ، لذلك عندما تشعر بأنك ستنفجر ، افعل ذلك بطريقة آمنة. قد يعني ذلك أحيانًا الصراخ في وسادة ، ولكن في أكثر الأحيان ، تتمثل أفضل الطرق للتنفيس في كتابة أفكارك ومشاعرك في مجلة أو التحدث إلى صديق متعاطف أو صديق أو أحد أفراد الأسرة أو معالج. إذا أردت ، اطلب من الشخص الاستماع فقط ، دون التعليق أو تقديم المشورة ، ثم وصف ما تشعر به (ابدأ بـ "أشعر"). يمكن أن تساعدك تسمية العواطف على تحديد المشاعر السلبية والاكتئاب ، وهي خطوة مهمة في العلاج.

بمجرد تنفيسك ، إذا كنت تشعر بالأمان ، امنح للشخص الآخر فرصة للتحدث. أنت لا تعرف أبدًا - قد يكون لديهم بعض البصيرة القيمة التي يمكن أن تريحك أو تغير وجهة نظرك.

الحصول على قسط كاف من النوم

لا توجد استثناءات لهذه القاعدة: كل شيء يبدو أسوأ عندما تحرم من النوم. يمكن بالتأكيد تطبيق هذه القاعدة على الاكتئاب والقلق. النوم هو أحد الأعراض الدورية الأخرى للاكتئاب: أنت مكتئب ولا يمكنك النوم ، لكن قلة النوم تزيد الاكتئاب سوءًا.

تجنب المخدرات والكحول

الاكتئاب هو اختلال التوازن الكيميائي في الدماغ. الكحول والمخدرات يغيران الكيمياء في المخ. معًا ، يشكلون لكمة ثنائية واحدة تسرقك من أكثر أصولك قيمة - نفسك الحقيقية. إذا كنت تشعر بالحاجة إلى العلاج الذاتي ، فتحدث إلى الطبيب أو المعالج وطور آليات صحية للتكيف تساعدك على الشعور بالتحسن.

افعل شي ممتع

يمكن أن يسمى الاكتئاب أيضًا "نقص المتعة". من الصعب حقًا أن تشعر بالإحباط والاكتئاب عندما تستمتع. في الواقع ، أظهرت دراسات لا حصر لها أن القيام بشيء تحبه يمكن أن يقلل بشكل كبير من أعراض الاكتئاب. ذلك لأن "المتعة" تؤدي إلى إنتاج الدوبامين ، الذي يتحكم في مركز المتعة في الدماغ. لا يهم ما تعتبره ممتعًا - فقد يكون القفز بالحبال أو صيد السمك أو لعب الألعاب مع الأصدقاء - فقط قم بذلك.

العديد من الأمراض العقلية (وخاصة الاكتئاب) تقوض الدافع لفعل أي شيء. لذلك ، حتى لو كان عليك إجبار نفسك ، فعل شيئًا تحبه كل يوم. هي احتمالات ، بمجرد أن تكون فعل هذا النشاط ، سيكون لديك في الواقع. . .مرح، وكما أقول ، من الصعب حقًا أن تشعر بالاكتئاب عندما تستمتع.

الاسترخاء لإعادة شحن

الاسترخاء هو حالة يمكن لجسمك خلالها أن يعيد حيويته وينعش ، ويخفف من التوتر ويزيد من الشعور بالبهجة والرفاهية. الاسترخاء يختلف عن الخمول ، والخمول ، والإفراط في النوم ، وهي أعراض شائعة للاكتئاب.

الاسترخاء لا يعني عدم القيام بأي شيء. يتعلق الأمر بتهدئة المشاعر بنشاط وتطهير العقل لتخفيف القلق وتحسين التفكير وزيادة الطاقة. التأمل هو أحد أكثر الطرق شيوعًا وفعالية لممارسة الاسترخاء ، ولكن اليوغا هي نشاط مثالي آخر ، لأنه يدور حول تمرين بدني تأملي ولطيف.

إذا كنت تستطيع ، انضم إلى صفوف اليوغا أو التأمل ؛ هذه طرق رائعة للتعلم وطرق رائعة لدمج الاسترخاء المنتظم في حياتك. ومع ذلك ، هذه ليست للجميع ، ويمكنك ممارسة أي تقنيات الاسترخاء التي تناسبك.

جربي دقيقتين من التنفس العميق في الصباح أو المشي في الغابة أو مشاهدة غروب الشمس على مقعد في الحديقة. كن مبدعًا وفضوليًا واستكشف أفضل الطرق للاسترخاء وإعادة شحن جسمك وعقلك.

تحدي الأفكار السلبية

الاكتئاب على وجه الخصوص يضع تدورًا سلبيًا على كل شيء ، وخاصة الطريقة التي تراها بنفسك وكيف ترى المستقبل. هذه كذبة من الاكتئاب: الشعور بأن الأشياء السيئة سوف تستمر في الحدوث لبقية حياتك وليس هناك ما يمكنك القيام به حيال ذلك.

عندما تنشأ الأفكار السلبية ، حاول تحديها. قف إلى صوت الاكتئاب واسأل ، "هل هذا الفكر صحيح؟" التراجع واعتبر الفكر مراقبًا موضوعيًا: "هل هناك طريقة أخرى للنظر إلى الموقف أو تفسير آخر؟ هل يبدو الموقف كما لو لم أكن مصابًا بالاكتئاب أو القلق؟ "

الأهم من ذلك كله ، اسأل نفسك: "إذا كان لدى صديق جيد هذا الفكر ، فماذا أقول لهم وكيف أساعدهم؟" استمع إلى هذا الصوت الآخر الأكثر تعاطفًا. قد تفاجئ نفسك أثناء تطوير منظور أكثر توازناً.

تطوير الروتين الصحي

الجميع يطور الروتين والعادات. هذه هي الأشياء التي نقوم بها تلقائيًا كل يوم تقريبًا ، بنفس الطريقة ، في الأوقات نفسها - معظمها لأننا فعلنا نفس الأشياء بالأمس ، واليوم السابق ، وهكذا.

لذا ابتكر عادات صحية بناءً على نصائح أسلوب الحياة في هذا الفصل. في الوقت الحالي ، لا تقلق بشأن تغيير العادات السيئة ؛ التركيز فقط على إنشاء إجراءات جديدة وصحية.

المستقبل مشرق

إذا كنت تعاني حاليًا من مشكلة تتعلق بالصحة العقلية أو تتعامل معها ، فقد يكون من الصعب التعرف على جميع الطرق التي يمكن بها لإثراء مواهبك وقدراتك أن تثري حياتك وحياة من حولك. لهذا السبب من المهم للغاية أن تكون قادرًا على التعرف على هذه المشكلات وتحديدها في نفسك أو في أحد الأصدقاء أو أحد أفراد الأسرة.

ما يبدو مثاليًا على الورق نادرًا ما يكون. الجميع - أنت ، أنا ، الجميع - يواجهون التحديات وخيبة الأمل والأمراض والصدمات التي يتعاملون معها كل يوم. عندما تتعرف على ما تخفيه وتتصدى له تحت السطح، يفقد السلطة عليك ، مما يتيح لك أن تصبح الشخص الذي كان من المفترض أن تكون عليه دائمًا: ببساطة لا تصدق.

© 2019 لكريستي هوجستاد. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
جديد المكتبة العالمية. http://www.newworldlibrary.com

المادة المصدر

تحت السطح: دليل المراهق للتواصل عندما تكون أنت أو صديقك في أزمة
كريستي هوجستاد

تحت السطح: دليل المراهق للوصول إلى الخارج عندما تكون أنت أو صديقك في أزمة كريستي هوجستادالاكتئاب والمرض العقلي لا تميز. حتى في الحياة المثالية للصور ، غالبًا ما يكمن الارتباك والاضطراب تحت السطح. بالنسبة للمراهق في عالم شائع فيه القلق والاكتئاب وغيره من الأمراض العقلية ، فقد تشعر الحياة في بعض الأحيان بأنها مستحيلة. سواء كنت تعاني أو لا تعاني أنت أو أي شخص تحبه من أي من هذه المشكلات ، من المهم أن تكون قادرًا على التعرف على علامات التحذير من المرض العقلي ومعرفة مكان اللجوء. يوفر هذا الدليل الشامل المعلومات والتشجيع والتوجيه التكتيكي الذي تحتاجه لمساعدة نفسك أو الآخرين الذين يعانون. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle وككتب مسموع.)

انقر لطلب على الأمازون


كتاب آخر لهذا المؤلف:
ما أتمنى أن أعرفه: العثور على طريقك عبر نفق الحزن

كتب ذات صلة

عن المؤلف

كريستي هوجستادكريستي هوجستاد هو أخصائي معتمد في استعادة الحزن ، ومكبر صوت ، ومعلم صحي معتمد ، وميسِّر الحزن والخسارة لاستعادة المدمنين. تتحدث في كثير من الأحيان في المدارس الثانوية وتستضيف فتاة الحزن بودكاست والحديث الإذاعي. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في thegriefgirl.com/

فيديو: المؤلف كريستي هوجستاد حول منع الانتحار في سن المراهقة

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Depressed? Creating A Healthy Lifestyle Can Help

Depressed? Creating A Healthy Lifestyle Can Help
Image by silviarita

In the classic comic strip Li’l Abner, the character Joe Btfsplk constantly has a dark rain cloud following him wherever he goes. Do you ever feel like that? The rest of the world seems sunny and fine, but that character can’t escape the nonstop pouring rain.

That’s what depression and other mental illnesses are like: all-consuming. But unlike the cartoon, there’s nothing funny about it.

However, even the most severe men­tal issues are treatable. Therapy and medication are one type of treatment, and what’s best depends on each person, their issues, and the advice of doctors. Another form of treatment is to create a healthier lifestyle. Lifestyle changes adjust the way you live every day in order to keep depression at bay and reclaim your life.

Depression and Anxiety Are Diseases

Depression and anxiety are diseases, and like most dis­eases, your lifestyle can affect them. Both your body and your brain require proper care and fuel, which is what a healthy lifestyle provides. Think about it: If you had heart disease, would you eat hamburgers and fries and expect to get better? No. To get better, you’d eat better, exercise more, and so on. It’s no different with mental illness.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Good lifestyle habits can help your brain function optimally. They won’t “cure” depression, but they help you cope with its symptoms and minimize the impact and duration of depressed episodes. Like an athlete, the right lifestyle makes you emo­tionally stronger and more resilient.

Unfortunately, depression has two best buds: apathy and lack of energy. These make it hard to do anything. If this de­scribes you, be patient with yourself. Celebrate each accom­plishment, and don’t give yourself a hard time when you slip up. Take small steps, and remember that each step counts. If you take a few positive steps each day, you will find yourself making progress and feeling better — slowly but surely.

The lifestyle strategies in this chapter are tools to help you cope with any psychological or emotional issues and to em­power you to live a healthier life. That said, if you or some­one you know has depression or any other mental health issue, these tools are only a supplement to professional treat­ment — not a replacement.

A “healthy lifestyle” includes all the things you do to help yourself feel and live better. But you can’t overcome depression all by yourself. And if there’s one message I hope you take from this book, it’s that it’s okay to ask for help. That begins with talking to and get­ting help from those closest to you: your parents, teachers, friends, and so on. But this also often includes getting help from doctors and therapists. That said, the ultimate success of any treatment plan depends on the individual, who must embrace the plan and make the necessary lifestyle changes to support it.

Tips For A Healthy Lifestyle

Move Every Day

When you’re depressed, just climbing out of bed can seem utterly impossible, let alone working out. But exercise is a powerful fighter of depression and anxiety and one of the most important tools for relieving symptoms. Exercise in­creases your body temperature, which helps produce a feeling of warmth and releases endorphins, the feel-good chemicals in your brain that help improve mood. Exercise also helps prevent relapse once you’re well.

Any type of movement can make a difference; find something you enjoy so you’ll stick with it. It can be skateboarding, walking the dog, or dancing to a favorite song. Even a ten-minute walk can improve your mood. Work your way up to sixty minutes of exercise per day (in total, not all at once). Ask a friend or family member to join you; exercising with another person provides support and encouragement.

Eat Well

Here’s an interesting fact: 95 percent of the body’s serotonin (the neurotransmitter responsible for regulating sleep, ap­petite, and mood) is produced in the gastrointestinal tract. This says a lot about the link between your brain and your gut. People with low serotonin levels are much more likely to suffer from depression, anxiety, and insomnia, as well as exhibit poor impulse control and experience thoughts of suicide. If your gastrointestinal tract isn’t functioning as it should, it’s possible you’re not producing the serotonin you need for a balanced, healthy brain.

You probably already know that what you eat can have a great effect on how you feel. In fact, studies have shown that people whose diets revolve around whole, unprocessed food — like a Mediterranean diet, which is rich in vegetables and seafood and low in grains and dairy — have a reduced risk of depression and other mental illnesses compared to those who eat a diet containing processed foods and sug­ars. So don’t jeopardize your mental health because of your diet.

Limit the amount of “junk” you put in your body, such as packaged snacks, sugar, energy and soft drinks, and fast food. Instead, eat more fresh fruits, vegetables, lean meats, and seafood. Pay attention to see how different foods make you feel. If you feel better without it, don’t eat it!

Socialize

Feeling isolated from family and friends, and from other humans in general, can have a catastrophic effect on your psychological health. This is why isolation is used as a form of punishment in prison and even a form of torture for prisoners of war. The thing about depression is that its symptoms are cyclical: When you’re depressed, you don’t want to be around people, but isolating yourself just exacerbates depression. When this happens to you, practice having faith; trust that connecting with others will help you feel better. This isn’t just anecdotal; it’s scientifically proven.

Here’s the catch. Social media is no substitute for face-to-face interactions, which are best for reducing feelings of depression. A supportive text or a message from a friend can certainly lift your spirits, but meeting someone in person is best. So accept (or offer) an invitation, attend the school dance, and stay up to talk to your siblings or parents. And if you can’t meet someone, call and talk to them. It certainly won’t hurt, and the evidence suggests it’ll actually help you feel better.

Get Sunlight

I know, I know, spending too much time in the sun increases the risk for skin cancer. Then again, too little sun hurts our mental well-being. The body is an incredible system that regulates itself using hormones and neurotransmitters. Above, I mention how adequate serotonin levels are critical for our mood (and much more).

As it turns out, our bod­ies are programmed to produce serotonin in the sunlight, and they produce melatonin — the hormone that helps us feel sleepy — in the darkness. So whenever you feel listless, tired, or unmotivated, getting out in the sun can help. In fact, people with seasonal affective disorder — depression caused by lack of sunlight during the winter months — are often treated with light therapy to help them produce the serotonin their body needs to feel better. In a way, we’re like plants — without sunlight, we become listless and wither away.

Make getting outside part of your routine. Put on sunscreen and take a walk around the block, read a book on your porch, or eat your lunch on a park bench. Nature is healing, so enjoy it whenever you can.

Focus on Others

Here’s an interesting paradox: When we focus entirely on our own needs, this often makes us feel worse, but focusing on someone else’s needs makes us feel better. Helping another person can give you a major mood boost. Like exercise and sunlight, it doesn’t have to be extreme — perhaps giving a friend a ride home from school or contributing to a canned food drive.

Studies have shown that people who have compassionate goals (goals to positively influence an-other’s life) show fewer symptoms of depression, have less conflict in relationships, and feel better about themselves. Volunteer, lend an ear to a friend, go to a friend’s concert or game, or shovel an elderly neighbor’s sidewalk.

Vent When Necessary

Holding in pent-up feelings and emotions isn’t healthy, so when you feel like you’re going to burst, do so in a safe way. Sometimes that might mean screaming into a pillow, but more often, the best ways to vent are to write your thoughts and feelings down in a journal or talk to a sympathetic, car­ing friend, family member, or therapist. If you want, ask the person to just listen, without commenting or giving advice, and then describe what you’re feeling (start with “I feel”). Naming emotions can help you identify negative feelings and depression, which is an important step in treatment.

Once you’ve vented, if you feel safe, give the other person a chance to talk. You never know — they may have some valuable insight that can comfort you or change your perspective.

Get Enough Sleep

There really aren’t exceptions to this rule: Everything seems worse when you’re sleep deprived. That rule can certainly be applied to depression and anxiety. Sleep is another one of those cyclical symptoms of depression: You’re depressed and you can’t sleep, but lack of sleep only makes depression worse, and on it goes.

Avoid Drugs and Alcohol

Depression is a chemical imbalance in the brain. Alcohol and drugs alter the chemistry in the brain. Together, they form a one-two punch that robs you of your most valuable asset — your true self. If you feel the urge to self-medicate, talk to a doctor or a therapist and develop healthy coping mechanisms that help you feel better.

Do Something Fun

Depression could also be called “fun deficiency.” It’s really, really hard to feel down and depressed when you’re hav­ing fun. In fact, countless studies have shown that doing something you love can dramatically reduce symptoms of depression. That’s because “fun” triggers the production of dopamine, which controls the pleasure center in the brain. It doesn’t matter what you consider fun — it might be bungee jumping, fishing, or playing games with friends — just do it.

Many mental illnesses (especially depression) undermine the motivation to do anything. So even if you have to force yourself, do something every day that you love. Chances are, once you’re doing that activity, you’ll actually have. . .fun, and as I say, it’s really hard to feel depressed when you’re having fun.

Relax to Recharge

Relaxation is a state in which your body can recharge and rejuvenate, relieving stress and boosting feelings of joy and well-being. Relaxation is different than lethargy, listlessness, and oversleeping, which are common symptoms of depression.

Relaxation isn’t about doing nothing. It’s about ac­tively calming the emotions and clearing the mind to lessen anxiety, improve thinking, and increase energy. Meditation is one of the most common and effective ways to practice re­laxation, but yoga is another ideal activity, since it’s all about meditative, gentle physical exercise.

If you can, join a yoga or meditation class; these are both great ways to learn and great ways to incorporate regular relaxation into your life. However, these aren’t for everyone, and you can practice whatever relaxation techniques that work for you.

Try two minutes of deep breathing in the morning, a walk in the woods, or watching the sunset on a park bench. Be creative and curious and explore the best ways to relax and recharge your body and mind.

Challenge Negative Thoughts

Depression in particular puts a negative spin on everything, especially the way you see yourself and how you see the future. That’s the lie of depression: the feeling that bad things will continue to happen for the rest of your life and there’s nothing you can do about it.

When negative thoughts arise, try challenging them. Stand up to the voice of depression and ask, “Is this thought true?” Step back and consider the thought like an objective observer: “Is there another way of looking at the situation or another explanation? Would the situation look the same if I didn’t have depression or anxiety?”

Most of all, ask yourself: “If a good friend had this thought, what would I tell them and how would I help them?” Listen to this other, more compassionate voice. You may surprise yourself as you develop a more balanced perspective.

Develop Healthy Routines

Everyone develops routines and habits. These are the things we do almost automatically every day, in the same way, at the same times — mostly because we did the same things yesterday, and the day before, and so on.

So create healthy habits based on the lifestyle tips in this chapter. For now, don’t worry about changing bad habits; just focus on creating new, healthier routines.

The Future Is Bright

If you currently have or are dealing with a men­tal health issue, it may be difficult to recognize all the ways your talents and abilities can enrich your life and the lives of those around you. That’s why it’s so important to be able to recognize and identify these issues in yourself or in a friend or family member.

What looks perfect on paper rarely is. Everyone — you, me, everyone — has challenges, disappoint­ments, illnesses, and traumas they deal with every day. When you recognize and address whatever is lurking beneath the surface, it loses power over you, allowing you to become the person you were always meant to be: simply incredible.

Excerpted from the book Beneath the Surface.
©2019 by Kristi Hugstad. All Rights Reserved.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New World Library. http://www.newworldlibrary.com

Article Source

Beneath the Surface: A Teen's Guide to Reaching Out When You or Your Friend Is in Crisis
by Kristi Hugstad

Beneath the Surface: A Teen's Guide to Reaching Out When You or Your Friend Is in Crisis by Kristi HugstadDepression and mental illness don’t discriminate. Even in the most picture-perfect life, confusion and turmoil are often lurking beneath the surface. For a teenager in a world where anxiety, depression, and other mental illnesses are commonplace, life can sometimes feel impossible. Whether or not you or someone you love is suffering from any of these issues, it’s important to be able to recognize the warning signs of mental illness and know where to turn for help. This comprehensive guide provides the information, encouragement, and tactical guidance you need to help yourself or others experiencing. (Also available as a Kindle edition and as an Audiobook.)

click to order on amazon

 


Another book by this Author:
What I Wish I’d Known: Finding Your Way Through the Tunnel of Grief

Related Books

About the Author

Kristi HugstadKristi Hugstad is a certified grief recovery specialist, speaker, credentialed health educator, and grief and loss facilitator for recovering addicts. She frequently speaks at high schools and is the host of The Grief Girl podcast and talk radio show. Visit her website at thegriefgirl.com/

Video: Author Kristi Hugstad on Preventing Teen Suicide

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}