Gemeinschaft Feiern und Tanzen in den Straßen

Gemeinschaft Feiern und Tanzen in den Straßen

Wir müssen rasch beginnen die Verschiebung von einem "Ding-oriented" Gesellschaft zu einer "Person-orientierten" Gesellschaft. Wenn Maschinen und Computer, Gewinnstreben und Eigentumsrechte als wichtiger betrachtet werden als Menschen, sind die riesigen Drillingen von Rassismus, Materialismus und Militarismus nicht in der Lage ist erobert. - Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Wenn wir überleben wollen, wenn wir nicht zu zerstören den Planeten und seine Menschen sind, müssen wir lernen, über einander und das gemeinsame Wohl zu kümmern. Wir brauchen eine neue Kultur, die nicht wettbewerbsfähig ist und Halsabschneider, die nicht jeder für sich. Wir müssen erkennen, dass wir alle in diesem zusammen. Dass wir brauchen einander.

Es gibt einige Dinge, die wir tun müssen. Wir müssen den Menschen helfen, verstehen die neue, positive, Visionen der menschlichen Natur und des Glücks. Wir müssen Gemeinde, die "sharing Revolution" und Lokalisierung unterstützen.

Die Empathie Anschluss: Caring For People Sie nicht einmal wissen,

Wir müssen die Menschen engagieren, aber es ist nicht nur Was wir tun, sondern wie wir es tun. Wenn wir die Menschen für das Gemeinwohl kümmern wollen, müssen wir erinnern Empathie - die Idee, dass die Pflege der gemeinsamen gutes Mittel Fürsorge für Menschen, die Sie nicht einmal wissen. Empathie ist ein Gefühl, das verbindet Sie mit anderen, hilft Ihnen das Leben durch ihre Augen. Wir haben gesehen, dass Empathie durch alle Arten von Community-Aktivitäten kommt wie "stop und Chats," studieren Kreise, und teilen Sie Ihre Werkzeuge.

Aber all diese Dinge können in einem halbherzigen Weg erledigt werden. Zu viele Menschen nur durch die Bewegungen ohne Begeisterung gehen.

Die notwendige Emotion Freude. Wir müssen mehr als Gemeinschaft. Es muss fröhliche Gemeinschaft zu sein.

Community: Inspiring People Durch Joyful Solidarität

Warum ist die Freude so wichtig? Weil Menschen zu inspirieren, Veränderungen herbeizuführen - zu arbeiten, um eine Kultur der Fürsorge schaffen - wir brauchen die stärkste, motivierenden Emotionen gibt es, und Freude ist die ultimative Erfahrung des Glücks, die wesentliche Wunsch unseres Lebens. Wir sind ein depressiv, zynisch, einsame Menschen, und nur Freude wird uns bewegen.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Auf einer persönlichen Ebene sind wir isoliert und unglücklich auf nationaler Ebene sind wir so von Feindseligkeit unterteilt, dass unsere Regierung ist gelähmt. Nicht nur staatsbürgerliche Verantwortung abnimmt, gibt es einen Rückgang in jeder Art von Gruppe Aktivität. Wir haben keinen Sinn für gegenseitige Verantwortung, keine Freude der Solidarität. Und Solidarität ist alles was wir haben, gegen die Mächte, die sein zu verwenden.

Wir müssen die Menschen inspirieren, zusammen zu kommen. In Anlehnung an Antoine de St. Exupery, der Autor von Der Kleine Prinz, wenn Sie jemanden, Sie bauen ein Boot wollen, müssen Sie nicht nur geben ihnen die Werkzeuge, Holz und Pläne, nein, dich lehren sie die Sehnsucht nach dem weiten, endlosen Meer. Wir können nicht nur schütteln mit dem Finger auf Menschen. Wir müssen den Menschen eine Vision des freudigen Leben, so dass sie sich in ihrer Entstehung zu werfen werde.

Dancing in the Streets: Die Wiederentdeckung Communal Joy

Gemeinschaft Feiern und Tanzen in den StraßenWie machen wir das? Wir brauchen das Äquivalent dessen, was Barbara Ehrenreich hat als "in den Straßen tanzen." In ihrem Buch dieses Namens, Entdeckt sie, dass die Zivilisation fortgeschritten, Menschen tanzen beenden in den Straßen. Tanzen in den Straßen ist etwas Reales, dass die Menschen zu tun, aber es ist auch ein Symbol - ein Symbol der kommunalen Freude. Ehrenreich, sagt, dass die Leute an der Macht erkennen, dass Menschen, die in den Straßen tanzen Menschen, die Sie nicht kontrollieren können, sind - so ist es allmählich aus der Kultur angetrieben.

Ehrenreich hat eine faszinierende Aufgabe Tracing den Aufstieg der Zivilisation und den Niedergang der Erfahrung von kollektiver Freude. Wie der Kapitalismus stieg, fiel freudige Ekstase. Insbesondere lernten die Leute an der Spitze zu der freudigen Tanz der "primitive" Menschen als etwas eklig aussehen. Ekel und Verachtung sind Werkzeuge der mächtige Nutzungsbedingungen um die Untergebenen zu kontrollieren. Feeling "respektlos" ist eine der wichtigsten Kräfte hinter Wut und Zorn.

Dies ist Fortschritt?? Von Community ... Mangel an Beteiligung ... zur Isolation ... zur Depression

In der 17th Jahrhundert waren die Menschen offenbar mit einer Epidemie von Depressionen betroffen - etwas Neues zu den Menschen. Zur gleichen Zeit gingen die Menschen auf Ereignisse wie Theateraufführungen und Konzerte, um unterhalten zu werden, sich nicht zu beteiligen, wie sie früher getan hatte. Wie das Kastensystem wurde verfestigt, wurden die Menschen besessen Selbstdarstellung und Status. Und Individualismus und Isolation wuchs.

Dann, in der 19th Jahrhundert gab es einen Anstieg der Selbstmord. Max Weber, ein einflussreicher Soziologe und Nationalökonom, sah dies als den Aufstieg des Calvinismus und Kapitalismus - zwei Ideologien, die einen "beispiellosen inneren Einsamkeit" in einer wettbewerbsfähigen, Sink-oder-schwimmen Wirtschaft geschaffen. Sie gab zu arbeiten, nicht, um sich mit anderen Menschen zu genießen. Beide Calvinismus und Kapitalismus zerstört spontane impulsive Genuss.

Dies alles schien auftreten, argumentiert Ehrenreich, wenn die Klassen-System (wieder Vermögensungleichheit) entstanden ist. Sie zitiert einen Anthropologen, Victor Turner sah, als das Tanzen der Bauern als "Ausdruck der communitas - Liebe und Solidarität in einer Gemeinschaft von Gleichen "Das ist etwas, was wir nicht mehr haben -., aber es ist die Vision, die wir suchen.

So, eine neue Kultur zu schaffen, müssen wir den Gegenwert von in den Straßen tanzen zu schaffen - Menschen kommen zusammen für freudige Gemeinschaft, finden Freude an der anderen Kerl. Das war das, was wir in den "60s tun. Alle Bewegungen wurden rund um die Musik und die Leute tanzen und marschieren zur Musik zentriert.

Die Rückeroberung Überschwang und Begeisterung durch gemeinschaftliche Feiern

"Dancing in the Streets" wurde von Martha und den Vandellas in 1964 aufgezeichnet, wenn die Bürgerrechtsbewegung wirklich sichtbar wurde für den Rest des Landes. Es war in 1964, dass die nördlichen Schüler Süden ging in der Bewegung und alles änderte sich arbeiten. Lyrics in dem Song rief: "Dies ist eine Einladung, in der ganzen Nation, Eine Chance für Leute zu treffen!" Genau! Wer von uns kann nicht das Gefühl, die Verlockung und die Aufregung der Bürgerrechtsbewegung, wenn wir die Musik der '60s hören?

Wir müssen diese Gefühle zurückzugewinnen. Es ist mehr als Empathie, es ist die Freude an der anderen Kerl. Es ist, was Kay Jamison, in ihrem Buch Überschwang: The Passion for Life, bezieht sich auf die "Wein der Götter." Überschwang ist eine überschäumende, Brausetabletten Emotion, hemmungslos und unbändigen ist. Pasteur sagte, dass die Griechen hat uns ein wunderbares Wort - ". Ein Gott im" Begeisterung, "Glücklich ist, wer trägt einen Gott in, und wer gehorcht", sagte Pasteur.

Was passiert, wenn die Menschen nicht mehr kümmern? Depression und Einsamkeit und ein Verlust der Verbindung zu anderen. Ein Rückgang im Glück.

Wie können wir wecken Freude und Ausgelassenheit?

Eine Sache, die den Sinn kommt - Feiern in der Gemeinschaft (dh Farmers Markets, Festivals & Fairs)

© 2013 von Cecile Andrews. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Nachdruck mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Herausgebers,
New Society Publishers. http://newsociety.com


Dieser Artikel wurde mit freundlicher Genehmigung aus dem Buch angepasst:

Living Room Revolution: A Handbook for Conversation, Gemeinschaft und der Common Good by Cecile Andrews.Wohnzimmer Revolution: A Handbook for Conversation, Gemeinschaft und der Common Good
von Cecile Andrews.

Das Herz des Glücks ist mit anderen in einem guten Gespräch und Gelächter Beitritt. Wohnzimmer Revolution bietet eine praktische Toolkit von konkreten Strategien zur persönlichen und sozialen Wandel, indem sie Menschen in Gemeinschaft und Gespräch zu erleichtern. Die Regeneration der sozialen Bindungen und das Gefühl der Fürsorge und Zweck, die von der Erstellung Gemeinschaft Laufwerk diese wesentliche Umgestaltung kommt. Jede Person kann einen Unterschied machen, und es kann alles in Ihrem eigenen Wohnzimmer zu starten!

Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen und / oder, dieses Album zu bestellen.


Über den Autor

Cecile Andrews, Autor - Living Room Revolution: A Handbook for Conversation, Gemeinschaft und der Common GoodCecile Andrews ist eine Gemeinschaft Erzieherin mit Schwerpunkt auf freiwillige Einfachheit ", zurückzunehmen Ihre Zeit", die "Sharing Economy" und Pursuit of Happiness Conversation Circles. Sie ist die Autorin von Slow is Beautiful, Circle of Simplicity und Co-Autor von Less is More. Sie hat einen Doktortitel in Pädagogik Stanford University. Cecile ist sehr aktiv in der Transition Movement in den USA. Sie und ihr Mann sind Gründer von Seattle Phinney Ecovillage, Ein Viertel-based nachhaltige Gemeinschaft.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Community Celebrations and Dancing in the Streets

Community Celebrations and Dancing in the Streets

We must rapidly begin the shift from a "thing-oriented" society to a "person-oriented" society. When machines and computers, profit motives and property rights are considered more important than people, the giant triplets of racism, materialism, and militarism are incapable of being conquered.  Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

If we are to survive, if we are to avoid destroying the planet and its people, we need to learn to care about each other and the common good. We need a new culture that isn't competitive and cutthroat, that isn't every man for himself. We have to realize that we're all in this together. That we need each other.

There are some things we need to do. We need to help people understand the new, more positive, visions of human nature and happiness. We need to support community, the "sharing revolution," and localization.

The Empathy Connection: Caring For People You Don't Even Know

We need to engage people, but it's not just what we do but the way we do it. If we want people to care for the common good, we must evoke empathy — the idea that caring for the common good means caring for people you don't even know. Empathy is an emotion that connects you to others, helps you see life through their eyes. We've seen that empathy comes through all sorts of community activities like "stop and chats," study circles, and sharing your tools.

But all of these things can be done in a half-hearted way. Too many people just go through the motions with no enthusiasm.

The necessary emotion is joy. We must have more than community. It must be joyful community.

Community: Inspiring People Through Joyful Solidarity

Why is joy so important? Because to inspire people to bring about change — to work to create a culture of caring — we need the strongest, most motivating emotion there is, and joy is the ultimate experience of happiness, the essential desire of our lives. We are a depressed, cynical, lonely people, and only joy will move us.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


On a personal level we're isolated and unhappy; on a national level we're so divided by hostility that our government is paralyzed. Not only is civic responsibility declining, there's a decline in any kind of group activity. We have no sense of mutual responsibility, no joy of solidarity. And solidarity is all we have to use against the powers that be.

We must inspire people to come together. To paraphrase Antoine de St. Exupery, the author of The Little Prince, if you want someone to build you a boat, you don't just give them tools, wood, and plans; no, you teach them to yearn for the vast and endless sea. We can't just shake a finger at people. We have to give people a vision of the joyful life so that they'll throw themselves into its creation.

Dancing in the Streets: Rediscovering Communal Joy

Community Celebrations and Dancing in the StreetsHow do we do this? We need the equivalent of what Barbara Ehrenreich has described as "dancing in the streets." In her book of that name, she discovers that as civilization has advanced, people quit dancing in the streets. Dancing in the streets is something real that people used to do, but it's also a symbol — a symbol of communal joy. Ehrenreich says that people in power realize that people who dance in the streets are people you can't control — so it's gradually driven out of the culture.

Ehrenreich does a fascinating job of tracing the rise of civilization and the demise of the experience of collective joy. As capitalism rose, joyful ecstasy fell. In particular, the people at the top learned to look at the joyful dancing of the "primitive" people as something disgusting. Disgust and disdain are tools the powerful use to control the underlings. Feeling "disrespected" is one of the primary forces behind rage and anger.

This is Progress??? From Community... to Lack of Participation... to Isolation... to Depression

In the 17th century, people were apparently hit with an epidemic of depression — something new to people. At the same time, people went to events like plays and concerts to be entertained, not to participate as they had done earlier. As the caste system was solidified, people became obsessed with self-presentation and status. And individualism and isolation grew.

Then, in the 19th century there was a rise in suicide. Max Weber, an influential sociologist and political economist, saw this as the rise of Calvinism and capitalism — two ideologies that created an "unprecedented inner loneliness" in a competitive, sink-or-swim economy. You existed to work, not to enjoy yourself with other people. Both Calvinism and capitalism destroyed spontaneous impulsive enjoyment.

This all seemed to occur, argues Ehrenreich, when the class system arose (again wealth inequality). She quotes an anthropologist, Victor Turner, as seeing the dancing of peasants as "an expression of communitas — love and solidarity in a community of equals."That is something we no longer have — but it is the vision that we're searching for.

So to create a new culture, we need to create the equivalent of dancing in the streets — people coming together for joyful community, finding joy in the other fellow. This was what we were doing in the '60s. All the movements were centered around music and people dancing and marching to the music.

Reclaiming Exuberance and Enthusiasm through Community Celebrations

"Dancing in the Streets" was recorded by Martha and the Vandellas in 1964 when the civil rights movement really became visible to the rest of the country. It was in 1964 that northern students went south to work in the movement and everything changed. Lyrics in the song called out, "This is an invitation, across the nation, A chance for folks to meet!" Exactly! Who among us can not feel the lure and excitement of the civil rights movement when we hear the music of the '60s?

We need to reclaim those feelings. It's more than empathy; it's joy in the other fellow. It's what Kay Jamison, in her book Exuberance: The Passion for Life, refers to as the "wine of the gods." Exuberance is an ebullient, effervescent emotion that is unrestrained and irrepressible. Pasteur said the Greeks gave us a wonderful word — enthusiasm, "a God within." "Happy is he who bears a God within, and who obeys it," said Pasteur.

What happens when people no longer care? Depression and loneliness and a loss of connection to others. A decline in happiness.

How can we evoke joy and exuberance?

One thing comes to mind — community celebrations (i.e. Farmers Markets, Festivals & Fairs)

©2013 by Cecile Andrews. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New Society Publishers. http://newsociety.com


This article was adapted with permission from the book:

Living Room Revolution: A Handbook for Conversation, Community and the Common Good by Cecile Andrews.Living Room Revolution: A Handbook for Conversation, Community and the Common Good
by Cecile Andrews.

The heart of happiness is joining with others in good talk and laughter.  Living Room Revolution provides a practical toolkit of concrete strategies to facilitate personal and social change by bringing people together in community and conversation. The regeneration of social ties and the sense of caring and purpose that comes from creating community drive this essential transformation. Each person can make a difference, and it can all start in your own living room!

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.


About the Author

Cecile Andrews, author of -- Living Room Revolution: A Handbook for Conversation, Community and the Common GoodCecile Andrews is a community educator focusing on voluntary simplicity, "take back your time," the "Sharing Economy," and Pursuit of Happiness Conversation Circles. She is the author of Slow is Beautiful, Circle of Simplicity and co-author of Less is More. She has a doctorate in education from Stanford University. Cecile is very active in the Transition Movement in the US. She and her husband are founders of Seattle's Phinney Ecovillage, a neighborhood-based sustainable community.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…