النفور من الخير ، النفور من الشر: مخاطر اللامبالاة والسخرية

النفور من الخير ، النفور من الشر: مخاطر اللامبالاة والسخرية
الصورة عن طريق عزانة

لاحظت الفيلسوف والكاتب الديني سيمون ويل بذكاء أنه بالنسبة لكتاب عصرها ، فإن "الكلمات التي تحتوي على إشارة إلى الخير والشر" أصبحت "متدهورة ، خاصة تلك التي تشير إلى الخير". نحن نرى هذا بشكل متزايد في وقتنا الخاص ، عندما تقابل الكلمات المتعلقة بالخير - ليس فقط الشجاعة ولكن أيضًا الجهد والصبر والحب والأمل - بسخرية وعدم مبالاة.

إن مناخنا هو مناخ اجتماعي ربما يخشى فيه الناس من الحكم عليهم من قبل الآخرين ويترددون حتى في نطق مثل هذه الكلمات. ما لم نواجه بجرأة التشاؤم واللامبالاة ، لا يمكننا تقديم استجابات أساسية وفعالة.

وقد انتشر هذا الخلل من الاضطراب الاجتماعي والروحي بسرعة في السنوات الأخيرة. السؤال "لماذا قتل الناس؟" سئل في برنامج تلفزيوني ياباني شعبي. ثم أصبح عنوانًا لسلسلة من الميزات في مجلة وتم نشره لاحقًا ككتاب.

تعطينا هذه الظواهر مؤشرًا على مكان المشكلة: حتى عندما يتم التشكيك في المبادئ والفضائل العريقة التي تم التعبير عنها في جميع الديانات العالمية الرئيسية ، مثل الحظر المفروض على قتل الأرواح البشرية ، يمكن للمرء بسهولة أن يتخيل الموقف تجاه السلوك القهري والعنيف مثل البلطجة. أعتقد أننا يجب أن نستيقظ على حقيقة أن التشاؤم واللامبالاة يقوضان المجتمع من جذوره وأنهما يحتمل أن يكونا أكثر خطورة من أي عمل فردي شرير.

مخاطر اللامبالاة والسخرية

شارك رجلان معهما في نشر سلسلة من الحوارات ، مؤلف الأطفال الروسي الشهير ألبرت ليخانوف ونورمان كازين ، المعروفين باسم "ضمير أمريكا". لقد حذروا بشدة من مخاطر اللامبالاة والسخرية في وجه الشر - حتى أكثر من الشر نفسه - لأن هذه المواقف تكشف عن نقص حاسم في الارتباط العاطفي بالحياة ، والعزلة والانسحاب من الواقع.

نقلاً عن الكلمات المتناقضة لـ Bruno Jasienski ، يحذر Likhanov من الأذى الشديد الذي تسببه اللامبالاة لروح الشاب:

لا تخف اعدائك. أسوأ ما يمكنهم فعله هو قتلك. لا تخف من الاصدقاء. في أسوأ الأحوال ، قد يخونك. خاف من لا يهتم لا يقتلون ولا يخونون ، ولكن الخيانة والقتل موجودة بسبب موافقتهم الصامتة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بعبارة أخرى ، إن تصرف عيوننا عن أعمال القتل أو الخيانة هو الذي يتيح لمثل هذا الشر أن ينتشر بلا نهاية. وبالمثل ، يشير أبناء العم إلى البيان التالي لروبرت لويس ستيفنسون:

أنا أكره السخرية كثيرًا أكثر من الشيطان ، ما لم يكن الاثنين هما نفس الشيء.

يعرب عن قلقه العميق من أن الانهزامية وشك الذات في موقف متشائم ستقوض وتدمر قيمًا مثل المثالية والأمل والثقة.

إن حالة الحياة التي يسيطر عليها اللامبالاة والسخرية تزداد مناعة من عواطف الحب أو الكراهية أو المعاناة أو الفرح ، وتتحول إلى عالم من العزلة الجرداء المؤقت. اللامبالاة تجاه الشر تعني اللامبالاة تجاه الخير. إنه يجعل لحالة قاتمة من الحياة والفضاء الدلالي بعيدا عن الدراما الحيوية للصراع بين الخير والشر.

تحرص حواس الأطفال على اكتشاف اللامبالاة والتشاؤم بسرعة في عالم خالٍ من القيم. ربما لهذا السبب ، يصبح الكبار غير مرتاحين عندما يرون في قلوب الأطفال ظلامًا غريبًا ومألوفًا.

الشر ، مثل الخير ، هو حقيقة لا يمكن إنكارها. بدون شر لا يوجد خير ، وبدون الخير لا يوجد شر: إنهم يتعايشون ويحددون بتكاملهم. اعتمادًا على استجابة أو رد فعل المرء ، يمكن تحويل الشر إلى الخير أو الخير إلى الشر. في هذا المعنى ، كلاهما نسبي وقابل للتحويل. لذلك يجب أن ندرك أن كل من الخير والشر يتم تعريفهما فيما يتعلق بعكسهما أو "الآخر" ، وأن "الذات" يتم تعريفها بواسطة هذه الديناميكية.

"الذات" في غياب "الآخر"

في البوذية ، نجد مفاهيم "وحدانية الخير والشر" و "الحياد الأساسي للحياة فيما يتعلق بالخير والشر". على سبيل المثال ، لكي يتمكن بوذا شاكياموني التاريخي (الذي يمثل الخير) من تحقيق التنوير وبالتالي تحقيق غرضه في الحياة ، كان لابد من وجود "الآخر" الشرير المتعارض ، وفي هذه الحالة ، كان لابن عمه ديفاداتا ، الذي سعى لتقويضه ثم تدميره. . على النقيض من ذلك ، فإن الفشل في الاعتراف والتصالح مع وجود "الآخر" المعارض هو العيب الأساسي في مقاربة غير مبالية وساخرة للحياة ، حيث لا توجد إلا النفس المعزولة.

يوجد شعور حقيقي أكمل بالنفس في مجمل النفس التي ترتبط ارتباطًا وثيقًا بـ "الآخر". ميز كارل يونج بين "الأنا" ، الذي يعرف فقط المحتوى الخارجي للنفسية ، و "الذات" ، الذي يعرف محتواه الداخلي ويوحد الوعي واللاوعي. في عالم اللامبالاة والسخرية ، نجد فقط شعورًا معزولًا بالذات يتجول في عقل العقل الواعي - وهو ما يشير يونغ إلى الأنا.

"الذات" التي تفتقر إلى الهوية مع "الآخر" غير حساسة للألم والكرب ومعاناة "الآخر". إنها تميل إلى حصر نفسها في عالمها الخاص ، إما أن تستشعر التهديد في أدنى استفزاز وتسبب سلوكًا عنيفًا ، أو تنأى بنفسها عن غير انفصال.

أود أن أغامر بالقول إن هذه العقلية وفرت أرضية التعشيش للأيديولوجيات المتعصبة ، مثل الفاشية والبلشفية ، التي اجتاحت القرن العشرين. لقد شهدنا مؤخرًا ولادة الواقع الافتراضي ، والتي ، كما أعتقد ، قد تحجب "الآخر". إذا نظرنا إليه في ضوء ذلك ، فمن الواضح أنه لا يمكن لأي منا أن يظل مجرد متفرج أو ينظر إلى السلوك الإشكالي للأطفال على أنه مسؤولية شخص آخر.

الحوار الداخلي: شرط أساسي للحوار الخارجي

في أثناء المناقشة ، ذكر لي عالم السلام يوهان غالتونغ أن الشرط المسبق لـ "الحوار الخارجي" هو "الحوار الداخلي". "إذا كان مفهوم" الآخر "غائبًا عن" الذات "، فلا يمكن إجراء حوار حقيقي .

قد يبدو التبادل بين شخصين يفتقران إلى الإحساس بـ "الآخر" بمثابة حوار ولكنه في الحقيقة مجرد تداول للبيانات أحادية الجانب. الاتصالات لا محالة. الأكثر إثارة للقلق في هذا النوع من الفضاء الدلالي - في وقت واحد طائش وفارغ - هو أن الكلمات تفقد صداها وتنتهي في نهاية المطاف وتنتهي صلاحيتها. زوال الكلمات يعني بطبيعة الحال زوال جانب أساسي من إنسانيتنا - القدرة على اللغة التي أكسبتنا اسم Homo loquens (رجل يتحدث).

لا يمكن الكشف عن الواقع إلا من خلال حوار حقيقي ، حيث "الذات" و "الآخر" تتجاوز الحدود الضيقة للأنا وتتفاعل بشكل كامل. هذا الشعور الجامع للواقع يعبر عن روحانية إنسانية تزخر بالحيوية والتعاطف.

في محاضرة ألقيتها في جامعة هارفارد في 1991 ، ذكرت أن الأوقات تتطلب روح "القوة الناعمة". لقد اقترحت أن الروحانية ذات الدوافع الداخلية تشكل جوهر القوة الناعمة وأن هذا مستمد من العمليات الموجهة داخليًا. يصبح واضحًا عندما تكافح الروح من خلال مراحل المعاناة والصراع والتناقض والمداولة الناضجة وأخيرا الحل.

فقط في الفرن المحترق للتبادلات المكثفة التي تجرّد النفس - العمليات المستمرة والخارجية الداعمة للحوار الداخلي والخارجي بين "الذات" و "الآخر" الداخلي بعمق - تهدأ كائناتنا وصقلها. عندها فقط يمكننا أن نبدأ في الفهم والتأكيد التام على حقيقة كوننا على قيد الحياة. عندها فقط يمكننا إحضار تألق الروحانية العالمية التي تضم البشرية جمعاء.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
Middleway الصحافة. © 2001. http://middlewaypress.com

المادة المصدر:

سوكا التعليم: رؤية بوذية للمعلمين والطلاب وأولياء الأمور
من قبل منظمة سوكا غاكاي.

سوكا غاكاي سوكا التعليم من قبل.من كلمة يابانية تعني "خلق القيمة" ، يقدم هذا الكتاب منظورًا روحيًا جديدًا للتشكيك في الهدف النهائي للتعليم. من خلال مزج البراغماتية الأمريكية بالفلسفة البوذية ، فإن هدف تعليم سوكا هو السعادة مدى الحياة للمتعلم. بدلاً من تقديم تقنيات الفصل الدراسي العملية ، يتحدث هذا الكتاب إلى القلب العاطفي لكل من المعلم والطالب. مع مساهمة من الفلاسفة والناشطين من عدة ثقافات ، فإنه يعزز الاعتقاد بأن الغرض الحقيقي من التعليم هو خلق عالم سلمي وتطوير الشخصية الفردية لكل طالب من أجل تحقيق هذا الهدف.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

دايساكو ايكيدادايساكو ايكيدا هو رئيس منظمة سوكا غاكاي الدولية، واحدة من أهم المجتمعات البوذية الدولية في العالم اليوم (12 مليون عضو في بلدان ومناطق 177. في 1968 ، أسس السيد Ikeda أول العديد من المدارس غير الطائفية - رياض الأطفال والمدارس الابتدائية والمتوسطة والثانوية وكذلك سوكا الجامعة في اليابان - استنادًا إلى مهمة رعاية السعادة مدى الحياة للمتعلم ، ففي مايو 2001 ، افتتحت جامعة سوكا الأمريكية ، وهي كلية للفنون الليبرالية لمدة أربع سنوات ، أبوابها في أليسو فيجو بكاليفورنيا. حصل السيد إيكيدا على جائزة 1983 ، وهو أيضًا مؤسس العديد من المعاهد الثقافية الدولية ، بما في ذلك متحف طوكيو فوجي للفنون ومعهد تودا للسلام العالمي وأبحاث السياسات ومركز بوسطن للأبحاث في 21st Century ومعهد الفلسفة الشرقية. هو مؤلف العديد من الكتب ، التي ترجمت إلى عشرات اللغات ، بما في ذلك الطريق من الشباب و من أجل السلام.

فيديو / عرض تقديمي: 10 اقتباسات من Daisaku Ikeda عن الاختلافات

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما هي نقطة الحزن؟
ما هي نقطة الحزن؟
by جون فريدريك ويلسون

من المحررين

أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)
ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.

The Dangers of Indifference and Cynicism

The Dangers of Indifference and Cynicism
Image by 建鹏 邵 

The philosopher and religious writer Simone Weil astutely observed that for writers of her day "words which contain a reference to good and evil" had become "degraded, especially those which refer to the good." We see this increasingly in our own time, when words related to good -- not only courage but also effort, patience, love and hope -- are met with cynicism and indifference.

Ours is a social climate in which people are perhaps fearful of being judged by others and hesitate even to utter such words. Unless we boldly confront cynicism and indifference, we cannot make fundamental and effective responses.

This undercurrent of social and spiritual malaise has spread rapidly in recent years. The question, "Why is it wrong to kill people?" was asked on a popular Japanese television program. It then became the title of a feature series in a magazine and was later published as a book.

These phenomena give us an indication of where the problem lies: When even the time-honored tenets and virtues articulated in all the major world religions, such as prohibitions against the taking of human life, are called into question, one can easily imagine the prevailing attitude toward coercive and violent behavior such as bullying. I believe we must wake up to the fact that cynicism and indifference erode society at its roots and are potentially more dangerous than any individual act of evil.

The Dangers of Indifference and Cynicism

Two men with whom I copublished a series of dialogues, the renowned Russian children's author Albert A. Likhanov and Norman Cousins, known as the "conscience of America," both shared this view. They adamantly warned against the dangers of indifference and cynicism in the face of evil -- even more than evil itself -- because these attitudes reveal a decisive lack of passionate engagement with life, an isolation and withdrawal from reality.

Citing the paradoxical words of Bruno Jasienski, Likhanov warns of the profound harm apathy inflicts on a young person's soul:

Do not fear your enemies. The worst they can do is kill you. Do not fear friends. At worst, they may betray you. Fear those who do not care; they neither kill nor betray, but betrayal and murder exist because of their silent consent.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In other words, it is the act of averting our eyes from acts of murder or betrayal that allows such evil to proliferate without end. Similarly, Cousins makes reference to the following statement by Robert Louis Stevenson:

I hate cynicism a great deal more than I do the devil, unless perhaps the two are the same thing.

He voices his own deep concern that the defeatism and self-doubt characteristic of a pessimistic attitude will undermine and destroy such values as idealism, hope and trust.

A state of life controlled by apathy and cynicism grows immune to emotions of love or hatred, suffering or joy, and retreats into a barren, makeshift world of alienation. Indifference toward evil implies indifference toward good. It makes for a bleak state of life and a semantic space estranged from the vital drama of the struggle between good and evil.

Children's keen senses quickly detect the apathy and cynicism rampant in an adult world bereft of values. Perhaps for this reason, adults become uneasy when they see in children's hearts an eerie and familiar darkness.

Evil, like good, is an undeniable reality. Without evil there is no good, and without good there is no evil: they coexist and are defined by their complementarity. Depending on one's response or reaction, evil can be transformed to good or good to evil. In this sense, they are both relative and transmutable. We must therefore recognize that both good and evil are defined in relation to their opposite or "other," and that the "self" is defined by this dynamic.

"Self" in Absence of "Other"

In Buddhism, we find the concepts of "the oneness of good and evil" and "the fundamental neutrality of life with regard to good and evil." As an example, for the historical Buddha Shakyamuni (representing good) to attain enlightenment and thereby fulfill his purpose in life there had to exist an opposing, evil "other," in this case his cousin Devadatta, who sought to undermine and then destroy him. In contrast, the failure to acknowledge and reconcile oneself with the existence of an opposing "other" is the basic flaw in an apathetic, cynical approach to life, in which only the isolated self exists.

A truer, fuller sense of self is found in the totality of the psyche that is inextricably linked to "other." Carl Jung distinguished between "Ego," which knows only the outer content of the psyche, and "Self," which knows its inner content as well and unifies the conscious and the unconscious. In the world of apathy and cynicism we find only an isolated sense of self roaming the superficies of the conscious mind -- what Jung refers to as ego.

The "self" lacking identification with the "other" is insensitive to the pain, anguish and suffering of the "other." It tends to confine itself to its own world, either sensing threat in the slightest provocation and triggering violent behavior, or nonresponsively turning away in detachment.

I would venture to say this mentality provided the nesting ground of the fanatical ideologies, such as fascism and Bolshevism, which swept through the twentieth century. We have more recently witnessed the birth of virtual reality, which can also, I believe, further obscure the "other." Viewed in this light, it is clear that none of us can remain a mere spectator or view the problematic behavior of children as someone else's responsibility.

Inner Dialogue: A Prerequisite for Outer Dialogue

In the course of a discussion, peace scholar Johan Galtung mentioned to me that the prerequisite for an "outer dialogue" is an "inner dialogue."' If the concept of "other" is absent from "self," true dialogue cannot take place.

Exchanges between two individuals both lacking a sense of "other" might appear to be dialogue but are in fact simply the trading of one-sided statements. Communication inevitably fails. Most distressing in this kind of semantic space -- at once voluble and empty -- is that words lose their resonance and are eventually stifled and expire. The demise of words naturally means the demise of an essential aspect of our humanity -- the capacity for language that earned us the name Homo loquens (speaking man).

Reality can be revealed only through genuine dialogue, where "self" and "other" transcend the narrow limits of ego and fully interact. This inclusive sense of reality expresses a human spirituality abounding in vitality and empathy.

In a lecture I gave at Harvard University in 1991, I stated that the times require an ethos of "soft power." I suggested that an inner-motivated spirituality constitutes the essence of soft power and that this derives from inner-directed processes. It becomes manifest when the soul has struggled through phases of suffering, conflict, ambivalence, mature deliberation and, finally, resolution.

It is only in the burning furnace of intense, soul-baring exchanges -- the ceaseless and mutually supporting processes of inner and outer dialogue between one's "self" and a profoundly internalized "other" -- that our beings are tempered and refined. Only then can we begin to grasp and fully affirm the reality of being alive. Only then can we bring forth the brilliance of a universal spirituality that embraces all humankind.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Middleway Press. ©2001. http://middlewaypress.com

Article Source:

Soka Education: A Buddhist Vision for Teachers, Students & Parents
by Soka Gakkai.

Soka Education by Soka Gakkai.From a Japanese word meaning “to create value,” this book presents a fresh spiritual perspective to question the ultimate purpose of education. Mixing American pragmatism with Buddhist philosophy, the goal of Soka education is the lifelong happiness of the learner. Rather than offering practical classroom techniques, this book speaks to the emotional heart of both the teacher and student. With input from philosophers and activists from several cultures, it advances the conviction that the true purpose of education is to create a peaceful world and to develop the individual character of each student in order to achieve that goal.

Info/Order this book.

About the Author

Daisaku IkedaDaisaku Ikeda is president of the Soka Gakkai International, one of the most important international Buddhist communities in the world today (12 million members in 177 countries and regions. In 1968, Mr. Ikeda founded the first of many nonsectarian schools --kindergartens, elementary, middle and high schools as well as Soka University in Japan -- based on the mission to nurture the lifelong happiness of the learner. In May 2001, Soka University of America, a four-year liberal arts college, opened its doors in Aliso Viejo, California. He received the United Nations Peace Award in 1983. Mr. Ikeda is also the founder of numerous international cultural institutes, including the Tokyo Fuji Art Museum, the Toda Institute for Global Peace and Policy Research, the Boston Research Center for the 21st Century and the Institute for Oriental Philosophy. He is the author of numerous books, which have been translated into dozens of languages, including The Way of Youth and For the Sake of Peace.

Video/Presentation: 5 Quotes of Daisaku Ikeda on “Human Revolution”

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…