الاكتناز والتخزين والشراء الذعر: ما هو السلوك الطبيعي في وقت غير طبيعي؟

الاكتناز والتخزين والشراء الذعر: ما هو السلوك الطبيعي في وقت غير طبيعي؟
ازدادت عمليات التخزين والتخزين وشراء الذعر أثناء الوباء.
غريس كاري عبر Getty Images

أعراض الاكتئاب والقلق واضطرابات الوسواس القهري ظهرت أو ساءت بالنسبة للكثيرين أثناء الوباء. هذا ليس مفاجئًا للأطباء والعلماء ، الذين قاموا بزيادة الوصول في جميع أنحاء العالم إلى معلومات الصحة العقلية و موارد.

ولكن ما هو تأثير الوباء على مشكلة شائعة أخرى يساء فهمها في كثير من الأحيان - التخزين؟ حظيت هذه القضية بالاهتمام أولاً عندما قام الناس بتكديس المناشف الورقية ومناديل المرحاض ومعقم اليدين في عربات التسوق الخاصة بهم في بداية الوباء، مما دفع بعض الناس إلى التساؤل عما إذا كانوا هم أو أحد أحبائهم تظهر عليهم علامات اضطراب الاكتناز.

الإجابة المختصرة هي: على الأرجح لا. يتجاوز اضطراب الاكتناز التخزين في حالات الطوارئ. أنا طبيب نفسي في جامعة فلوريدا ومدير مركز الوسواس القهري والقلق والاضطرابات ذات الصلة. أنا أيضًا مؤخرًا تأليف كتاب على اكتناز الفوضى. يركز عملي على تحديد أسباب الاكتناز وتأثيره على الأفراد والمجتمع.

يعاني ملايين الأمريكيين من اضطراب الاكتناز ، وهو مرض نفسي خطير.
يعاني ملايين الأمريكيين من اضطراب الاكتناز ، وهو مرض نفسي خطير.
شونل عبر Getty Images

يعاني الملايين من اضطراب الاكتناز

على الرغم من الإثارة في الصحافة الشعبية على أنها سلوك غرائب, اضطراب اكتناز هو مرض نفسي خطير يصيب أكثر من 13 مليون بالغ أمريكي. السبب هو تفاعل معقد من العوامل البيولوجية والبيئية. عرف الأطباء عن الاكتناز لعدة قرون ، على الرغم من أن المجتمع النفسي لم يعترف بهذا الاضطراب رسميًا إلا على أنه a مرض نفسي مميز في عام 2013. ربما كان أشهر شخص مصاب باضطراب الاكتناز هوارد هيوز.

هذا الاضطراب مزمن وغالبًا ما يستمر مدى الحياة. على الرغم من أن الأعراض تبدأ عادة في سن المراهقة، فهي عادة لا تصبح مشكلة حتى منتصف إلى أواخر مرحلة البلوغ. لا أحد يعرف بالضبط لماذا يستغرق الاضطراب وقتًا طويلاً حتى يظهر ؛ ربما مع تقدم الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أعراض الاكتناز في السن ، تصبح قدرتهم على تقرير ما يجب التخلص منه ضعيفة بشكل متزايد. أو قد يكون لديهم عدد أقل من الأشخاص حولهم ، مثل الوالدين أو الأزواج ، لتشجيعهم على التخلص من العناصر غير الضرورية.

ما هو واضح هو أن الزيادة في سلوكيات الاكتناز على مدار العمر ليست مجرد نتيجة لتراكم الفوضى على مدى الحياة. حول 7٪ من البالغين أكثر من 60 عامًا يعانون من مشكلة اكتناز ؛ هذا واحد من كل 14 شخصًا.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وخلافًا للاعتقاد السائد ، فإن السمة المميزة لاضطراب الاكتناز ليست الفوضى. بدلاً من ذلك ، تكمن الصعوبة في تجاهل ما لم يعد مطلوبًا. العناصر الأكثر شيوعًا هي المقتنيات اليومية: الملابس والأحذية والحاويات والأدوات والأشياء الميكانيكية مثل المسامير والبراغي واللوازم المنزلية والصحف والبريد والمجلات. أفاد أولئك الذين يعانون من الاضطراب بأنهم يشعرون بالتردد بشأن ما يجب التخلص منه ، أو يخشون أن تكون هناك حاجة إلى العنصر في المستقبل

تؤدي هذه المشكلة في التخلص من الأشياء ، حتى الأشياء الشائعة مثل البريد غير الهام والأكياس البلاستيكية والحاويات البلاستيكية ، إلى تراكم الفوضى. بمرور الوقت ، تصبح أماكن المعيشة والعمل غير صالحة للاستعمال. بالإضافة إلى التأثير على مساحات المعيشة ، يتسبب الاكتناز أيضًا في حدوث مشكلات بين الزوجين ، وبين الوالدين وأطفالهما ، وبين الأصدقاء. في أسوأ حالاته ، يمكن أن يؤثر الاكتناز أيضًا على قدرة الفرد على العمل.

اضطراب الاكتناز له تأثير كبير على الصحة العامة ، بما في ذلك ليس فقط أيام العمل الضائعة ولكن أيضا زيادة معدلات مرض طبي, قلق الإكتئاب، خطر الانتحار و الادراكي. ما يصل إلى نصف أولئك الذين يعانون من اضطراب الاكتناز سيعانون أيضًا من الاكتئاب ، و 30٪ أو أكثر يعانون من اضطراب القلق.

يزيد اكتناز الفوضى في المنازل من خطر السقوط، الإصابة بالآفات أو الحشرات ، الظروف المعيشية غير المستقرة أو غير الآمنة وصعوبة الرعاية الذاتية. قد يصدمك معرفة ما يصل إلى 25٪ من الوفيات بنيران المنزل بسبب الاكتناز.

بسبب الإفراط في التخزين والشراء بدافع الذعر ، نفدت الأدوات المنزلية الشائعة في المتاجر في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة خلال الوباء.
بسبب الإفراط في التخزين والشراء بدافع الذعر ، نفدت الأدوات المنزلية الشائعة في المتاجر في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة خلال الوباء.
أيقونة Sportswire عبر جيتي صور

التخزين والشراء الذعر

ما الفرق بين التخزين والشراء بدافع الذعر والادخار؟ هل سيصاب الشخص الذي قام بتخزين ورق التواليت ومعقم اليدين في الأيام الأولى للوباء باضطراب الاكتناز؟ أم أنهم مخططون عقلانيون ومدروسون؟

في حين أن هذه المصطلحات تستخدم غالبًا بالتبادل ، فإن التخزين والشراء الذعر ليسا من أعراض اضطراب الاكتناز. كما أنها ليست بالضرورة نتيجة حالة نفسية أو نفسية. في حين أن، تخزين هو سلوك طبيعي يمارسه الكثير من الناس استعدادًا لنقص معروف أو متوقع. الهدف من التخزين هو إنشاء احتياطي في حالة وجود حاجة مستقبلية.

على سبيل المثال ، قد يقوم الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في مناخات باردة بتخزين الحطب للمدافئ والملح للممرات قبل الشتاء. وبالمثل ، فإن أولئك الذين يعيشون في جنوب شرق الولايات المتحدة قد يخزنون البنزين والمياه قبل موسم الأعاصير.

ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن يكون التخزين مفرطًا. خلال الأزمة ، يمكن أن يؤدي إلى نقص وطني في المواد الأساسية. حدث هذا في وقت مبكر من الوباء ، عندما اشترى الناس ورق التواليت بكميات كبيرة ورفوف المتاجر الفارغة للآخرين.

ومن المفارقات ، أنه كلما زاد اهتمام وسائل الإعلام بالتخزين ، زاد اندلاعه تخزين إضافي. الأشخاص الذين يقرؤون عن النقص المحتمل في معقم اليدين سوف يدفعون إلى الشراء بأكبر قدر ممكن حتى يصبح غير متوفر لأسابيع أو شهور.

أثناء التخطيط للتخزين ، شراء الذعر هو رد فعل متسرع ومؤقت للقلق الناجم عن أزمة وشيكة. يمكن شراء العناصر ، حتى لو لم تكن ضرورية ، لمجرد أنها متوفرة على أرفف المتاجر. قد يشمل الشراء بدافع الذعر أيضًا شراء كميات هائلة من عنصر معين ، بأحجام لن تكون مطلوبة أبدًا ، أو إفراغ رف المتجر من هذا العنصر. كما أن اكتساب الذعر ، والذي يتضمن الحصول على أشياء مجانية من خلال الهبات أو مخازن الطعام أو الكسح ، يحدث أيضًا أثناء الأزمة.

على عكس أولئك الذين يعانون من اضطراب الاكتناز ، يمكن للمشترين الذعر والمخزنين التخلص من شيء لم تعد هناك حاجة إليه. عادة ، بعد انتهاء الأزمة ، يمكنهم بسهولة التخلص من هذه الأشياء أو التخلص منها.

كيفية الحصول على المساعدة

بالنسبة للبعض المصابين باضطراب الاكتناز ، زاد الوباء من صعوبة التخلص من العناصر غير الضرورية. يجد آخرون أن ممتلكاتهم المادية توفر الراحة والأمان في مواجهة حالة عدم اليقين المتزايدة. ومع ذلك ، استخدم آخرون عمليات الإغلاق كإعادة تعيين - حان الوقت لإلغاء منازلهم أخيرًا.

إذا كنت أنت أو أي شخص تعرفه يعاني من مشاكل في التخزين ، فالمساعدة متاحة. الموارد على جمعية الأمريكية للطب النفسي موقع الويب وعلى مؤسسة الوسواس القهري الدولية.

عن المؤلفالمحادثة

كارول ماثيوز ، أستاذ الطب النفسي ، جامعة فلوريدا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي

الأكثر قراءة

hnob2t7o
لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

من المحررين

لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
أنا وزوجتي ماري زوجان مختلطان. هي كندية وأنا أميركية. على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية ، أمضينا فصول الشتاء في فلوريدا وصيفنا في نوفا سكوشا.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: نوفمبر 15 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هذا الأسبوع ، نفكر في السؤال: "إلى أين نتجه من هنا؟" تمامًا كما هو الحال مع أي طقوس مرور ، سواء كان التخرج ، أو الزواج ، أو ولادة طفل ، أو انتخابات محورية ، أو فقدان (أو اكتشاف) ...
أمريكا: توصيل عربتنا بالعالم والنجوم
by ماري تي راسل وروبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
حسنًا ، أصبحت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية وراءنا الآن وحان وقت التقييم. يجب أن نجد أرضية مشتركة بين الشباب والكبار ، الديموقراطيين والجمهوريين ، الليبراليين والمحافظين لنجعل ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 25 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إن "الشعار" أو العنوان الفرعي لموقع InnerSelf على الويب هو "اتجاهات جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة" ، وهذا هو بالضبط موضوع النشرة الإخبارية لهذا الأسبوع. الغرض من مقالاتنا ومؤلفينا هو ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...

Hoarding, Stockpiling, Panic Buying: What's Normal Behavior In An Abnormal Time?

Hoarding, Stockpiling, Panic Buying: What's Normal Behavior In An Abnormal Time?
Hoarding, stockpiling and panic buying have all increased during the pandemic.
Grace Cary via Getty Images

Symptoms of depression, anxiety and obsessive compulsive disorders have emerged or worsened for many during the pandemic. This is no surprise to clinicians and scientists, who have been increasing worldwide access to mental health information and resources.

But what effect has the pandemic had on another common but often misunderstood problem – hoarding? The issue first received attention when people piled up paper towels, toilet tissue and hand sanitizer in their shopping carts at the start of the pandemic, leading some people to wonder whether they or a loved one were showing signs of hoarding disorder.

The short answer is: Probably not. Hoarding disorder goes beyond stockpiling in an emergency. I am a psychiatrist at the University of Florida and the director of the Center for OCD, Anxiety and Related Disorders. I also recently authored a book on hoarding disorder. My work focuses on identifying the causes of hoarding and its impact on individuals and on society.

Millions of Americans have hoarding disorder, a serious psychiatric illness.
Millions of Americans have hoarding disorder, a serious psychiatric illness.
shaunl via Getty Images

Millions have hoarding disorder

Although often sensationalized in the popular press as a behavioral oddity, hoarding disorder is a serious psychiatric illness affecting more than 13 million American adults. The cause is a complex interaction of biological and environmental factors. Doctors have known about hoarding for centuries, although the disorder was only formally recognized by the psychiatric community as a distinct psychiatric illness in 2013. Perhaps the most famous person who had a hoarding disorder was Howard Hughes.

The disorder is chronic and often lifelong. Although symptoms typically begin in adolescence, they usually do not become problematic until mid- to late adulthood. No one knows exactly why the disorder takes so long to manifest; perhaps as those with hoarding symptoms get older, their ability to decide what to discard becomes increasingly impaired. Or they might have fewer people around, like parents or spouses, to encourage them to get rid of unneeded items.

What is clear is that the increase in hoarding behaviors across the lifespan is not just a result of a lifetime’s accumulation of clutter. About 7% of adults over age 60 have problematic hoarding; that’s one in every 14 people.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


And contrary to popular belief, the defining feature of hoarding disorder is not clutter. Instead, it is the difficulty in discarding what’s no longer needed. The most commonly hoarded items are everyday belongings: clothes, shoes, containers, tools and mechanical objects like nails and screws, household supplies, newspapers, mail and magazines. Those with the disorder report feeling indecision about what to discard, or fear the item will be needed in the future.

This trouble in disposing of items, even common items like junk mail, plastic bags and plastic containers, leads to the accumulation of clutter. Over time, living and work spaces become unusable. In addition to affecting living spaces, hoarding also causes problems between spouses, between parents and their children, and between friends. At its worst, hoarding can also impact one’s ability to work.

Hoarding disorder has a substantial impact on public health, including not only lost work days but also increased rates of medical illness, depression, anxiety, risk of suicide and cognitive impairment. As many as half of those suffering from hoarding disorder will also suffer from depression, and 30% or more will have an anxiety disorder.

Hoarding-related clutter in homes increases the risk of falls, pest or vermin infestation, unstable or unsafe living conditions and difficulty with self-care. It may stun you to know that up to 25% of deaths by house fire are due to hoarding.

Because of excessive stockpiling and panic buying, stores across the U.S. ran out of common household items during the pandemic.
Because of excessive stockpiling and panic buying, stores across the U.S. ran out of common household items during the pandemic.
Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Stockpiling and panic buying

What is the difference between stockpiling, panic buying and hoarding? Will someone who stockpiled toilet paper and hand sanitizer in the early days of the pandemic develop hoarding disorder? Or are they instead rational and thoughtful planners?

While these terms are often used interchangeably, stockpiling and panic buying are not symptoms of hoarding disorder. Nor are they necessarily the result of a psychiatric or psychological condition. Instead, stockpiling is a normal behavior that many people practice in preparation for a known or anticipated shortage. The goal of stockpiling is to create a reserve in case there’s a future need.

For example, people who live in cold climates may stock up on wood for fireplaces and salt for driveways before the winter. Similarly, those who live in the southeast U.S. may stock up on gasoline and water before hurricane season.

That said, stockpiling can be excessive. During a crisis, it can lead to national shortages of essential items. This occurred early in the pandemic, when people bought toilet paper in large quantities and emptied store shelves for everyone else.

Ironically, the more media attention on stockpiling, the more it triggers additional stockpiling. People reading about a potential shortage of hand sanitizer will be driven to buy as much as possible until it’s no longer available for weeks or months.

While stockpiling is planned, panic buying is an impulsive and temporary reaction to anxiety caused by an impending crisis. Items, even if unneeded, may be purchased simply because they are available on store shelves. Panic buying may also include purchasing enormous quantities of a particular item, in volumes that will never be needed, or emptying a store shelf of that item. Panic acquiring, which involves getting free things through giveaways, food pantries or scavenging, also occurs during a crisis.

Unlike those with hoarding disorder, panic buyers and stockpilers are able to discard something no longer needed. Usually, after the crisis has passed, they can easily throw or give these items away.

How to get help

For some with hoarding disorder, the pandemic has made it even harder to dispose of unneeded items. Others find their material belongings provide comfort and safety in the face of increased uncertainty. Yet others have used the lockdowns as a reset – time to finally declutter their home.

If you or someone you know has problems with hoarding, help is available. Resources are on the American Psychiatric Association website and at the International Obsessive Compulsive Foundation.

About the AuthorThe Conversation

Carol Mathews, Professor of Psychiatry, University of Florida

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…