هل تواجه مشكلة في التركيز خلال جائحة فيروس كورونا؟

هل تواجه مشكلة في التركيز خلال جائحة فيروس كورونا؟ لماذا يقول الكثير من الطلاب أنهم يجدون صعوبة في الدراسة؟ وقد وجدت التطورات الأخيرة في العلوم المعرفية بعض الإجابات. (صراع الأسهم)

الخوف والقلق والقلق وانعدام الدافع وصعوبة التركيز - يستشهد الطلاب بجميع أنواع أسباب معارضة التعلم عن بعد. لكن هل هذه الأعذار أم مخاوف حقيقية؟ ماذا يقول العلم؟

في بداية الوباء ، عندما كانت الجامعات و CEGEPs ، الكليات الصغيرة في كيبيك ، تضع سيناريوهات لمواصلة التدريس عن بعد ، أعرب الطلاب عن معارضتهم من خلال ملاحظة أن السياق كان "لا تساعد على التعلم".

شعر المعلمون أيضًا أن الطلاب "ببساطة ليسوا على استعداد لمواصلة التعلم في مثل هذه الظروف". تم الإبلاغ عن مجموعة متنوعة من المشاعر السلبية في أعمدة الرأي والرسائل والاستطلاعات. أ تم تعميم العريضة حتى داعياً إلى تعليق الدورة الشتوية التي طرحها وزير التربية والتعليم جان فرانسوا روبيرج رفض.

الطلاب ليسوا وحدهم الذين يجدون صعوبة في التركيز على المهام الفكرية. في نشر العمود في لابريستقول شانتال غي أنها مثل العديد من زملائها ، لا يمكنها تكريس نفسها للقراءة المتعمقة.

كتب غي ، مشيراً إلى هوراسيو أرودا ، مدير الصحة العامة في المقاطعة: "بعد بضع صفحات ، كان ذهني يتجول ويريد فقط الذهاب للتحقق من منحنى الدكتور أرودا اللعين". باختصار: "ليس الوقت هو ما يفتقر إلى القراءة ، بل التركيز". "الناس ليس لديهم الرأس لذلك."

لماذا يشعر الطلاب أنهم لا يملكون القدرة على الدراسة؟ تقدم التطورات الحديثة في العلوم المعرفية رؤى حول الروابط بين العواطف السلبية والإدراك في المهام التي تتطلب استثمارًا فكريًا مستدامًا.

سؤال عن اللوزة

"القلب له أسبابه التي لا يعرفها العقل." هذه الجملة من الفيلسوف بليز باسكال من القرن السابع عشر تلخص بشكل جيد الطريقة التي فصل بها العلم الغربي منذ فترة طويلة عواطف الكون "الحار" عن عواطف الكون "البارد" في العقلانية البشرية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


والتر كانون البحث الفسيولوجي قدم شرحًا أوليًا لكيفية سيطرة العواطف ، وخاصة العواطف السلبية ، على أذهاننا. وأظهر أن العاطفة هي نظام إنذار فسيولوجي في الجسم ، ينشط العديد من الهياكل أسفل القشرة الدماغية.

أحد هذه الهياكل ، اللوزة، يثبت الآن أنه مهم بشكل خاص. يتم تنشيط اللوزة الدماغية بسرعة في مواجهة المحفزات المهددة وتسمح لنا بتعلم أن نكون حذرين منها. في مواجهة ما يمكن أن يكون ثعبان مخبأ بين الفروع ، سوف يوقظ الحيوان حواسه ، وينبه عضلاته ويتفاعل بسرعة ، دون أن يكون لديه ترف تحليل ما إذا كان الشكل النحيف هو ثعبان أو عصا.

هل تواجه مشكلة في التركيز خلال جائحة فيروس كورونا؟ في البشر ، تنشط اللوزة بسرعة وبشكل تلقائي استجابة للمنبهات الاجتماعية المحملة بالعواطف السلبية. (صراع الأسهم)

في البشر يتم تنشيط اللوزة العضلية بسرعة وتلقائية استجابة للمنبهات الاجتماعية المحملة بالعواطف السلبية. تظهر أبحاث علم الأعصاب أن الأشخاص ليسوا حساسين للغاية تجاه الشحنة العاطفية لتصوراتهم فحسب ، بل أنهم أيضًا غير قادرين على تجاهلها.

على سبيل المثال ، يمكن للعواطف التي تثيرها رؤية ثعبان في العشب أو شخصية سياسية غير جديرة بالثقة أن تلفت انتباهنا على الرغم من أنفسنا.

انتباه: مورد محدود

قد يعترض المرء أنه لحسن الحظ ، لا يشكل COVID-19 نفس نوع التهديد الذي يواجهه ثعبان في الشجيرات. تزودنا أنظمتنا الاجتماعية بوسائل حماية لم يكن بالإمكان تصورها من قبل ، ونحن على استعداد أفضل للتعامل مع حالات الأزمات.

وتتطلب مواقف التعلم التي أنشأتها المؤسسات التعليمية - سواء كانت فصولًا شخصية أو فصولًا عبر الإنترنت - دائمًا تركيز الطلاب على اهتمامهم والتحكم بوعي في أفكارهم. كما يعلم المعلمون من التجربة ، فإن التحدي الكبير أثناء قيادة أي درس هو الحفاظ على انتباه جميع الطلاب من خلال ضمان استمرار تركيزهم على النشاط في متناول اليد.

عالم النفس المعرفي دانيال كانيمان، الحائز على جائزة نوبل في عام 2002 ، كان من بين أول من اقترح ذلك الانتباه هو مورد معرفي محدود وأن بعض العمليات المعرفية تتطلب اهتمامًا أكثر من غيرها. هذا هو الحال بشكل خاص للأنشطة التي تنطوي على السيطرة الواعية على العمليات المعرفية (مثل قراءة أو كتابة الأوراق الأكاديمية) ، والتي تنطوي على ما يسميه كانيمان التفكير "النظام 2". هذا يتطلب الانتباه والطاقة العقلية.

هل تواجه مشكلة في التركيز خلال جائحة فيروس كورونا؟ تلقى عالم النفس دانيال كانيمان وسام الحرية الرئاسي من الرئيس السابق باراك أوباما في حفل أقيم في البيت الأبيض في نوفمبر 2013. (صراع الأسهم)

إن القدرة على الانتباه المحدود هي أيضًا في قلب النظريات التي تقترح تنفيذ العمليات المعرفية الواعية والمضبوطة الذاكرة العاملة، الذي يقارن بمساحة عقلية قادرة على معالجة كمية محدودة من المعلومات الجديدة.

في الذاكرة العاملة ، يعمل الانتباه كمشرف على تخصيص الموارد المعرفية وجهاز تحكم في تنفيذ العمل. ال دوائر الدماغ المرتبطة بالذاكرة العاملة والوظائف التنفيذية هي وظائف قشرة الفص الجبهي.

عندما تأكل العاطفة في الانتباه

يعتقد الباحثون منذ فترة طويلة أن معالجة العواطف من خلال اللوزة لا تعتمد على موارد الانتباه للذاكرة العاملة. ومع ذلك ، تتراكم الأدلة لصالح الفرضية المعاكسة ، مما يشير إلى أن الدوائر التي تربط اللوزة الدماغية والقشرة الأمامية لعب دور هام في التمييز بين المعلومات ذات الصلة وغير ذات الصلة للنشاط الحالي.

على سبيل المثال، تم العثور على المحفزات العاطفية للتدخل مع أداء مهمة الذاكرة العاملة خاصة أنها لم تكن وثيقة الصلة بالمهمة. علاوة على ذلك ، مع زيادة الحمل المعرفي المرتبط بالمهمة (على سبيل المثال ، عندما تتطلب المهمة موارد معرفية أكثر) ، زاد أيضًا تداخل المنبهات العاطفية غير ذات الصلة بالمهمة. وهكذا ، يبدو أنه كلما زادت المهمة التي تتطلب جهدًا إدراكيًا وتركيزًا ، أصبح من السهل تشتيت انتباهنا.

الكثير من بحث مكثف عن القلق من قبل عالم النفس مايكل إيسينك ويؤيد الزملاء هذا الرأي. يظهرون أن الأشخاص القلقين يفضلون تركيز انتباههم على المنبهات المرتبطة بالتهديد ، والتي لا علاقة لها بالمهمة المطروحة. قد تكون هذه المحفزات داخلية (أفكار مقلقة) أو خارجية (صور يُنظر إليها على أنها تهديد).

هذا هو الحال أيضًا مع القلق حيث أن التجربة المتكررة للأفكار التي لا يمكن السيطرة عليها حول الأحداث السلبية المحتملة. على حد سواء القلق والقلق يلتهمان الاهتمام والموارد المعرفية للذاكرة العاملة ، مما أدى إلى انخفاض الأداء المعرفي ، وخاصة للمهام المعقدة.

هل تواجه مشكلة في التركيز خلال جائحة فيروس كورونا؟ يزداد التعب العقلي عندما يقوم المرء بمهمة بينما يحاول عدم الاستجابة للمطالب الخارجية. (صراع الأسهم)

تشير الأبحاث الأخرى إلى أن مشاعر الإرهاق الذهني تزداد عند أداء مهمة أثناء محاولة عدم الاستجابة للمطالب الخارجية. فقد اقترح ذلك التعب العقلي هو عاطفة خاصة الذي يخبرنا أن مواردنا العقلية يتم استنفادها.

بشكل عام ، يشير هذا البحث إلى أننا نستنفد موارد انتباهنا لتجنب الانتباه إلى المعلومات غير ذات الصلة ، ولكن المشحونة عاطفيًا! لقد أصبح من المفهوم الآن بشكل أفضل لماذا يكون من الصعب للغاية - والمرهق - تجنب التحقق من البريد الإلكتروني أثناء قراءة نص علمي ، للتبديل من البريد الإلكتروني إلى Facebook ومن Facebook إلى التغطية الإخبارية COVID-19 ، عندما نشعر بالقلق حيال المنحنى أو الموت حصيلة في منازل كبار السن.

العاطفة والإدراك لا ينفصلان

يؤكد البحث في العلوم المعرفية اليوم ما نعرفه بشكل حدسي: تتطلب الدراسة الاهتمام والوقت وتوافر العقل. يوضح هذا البحث أن العمليات المعرفية والعاطفية متشابكة جدًا في الدماغ لدرجة أنه بالنسبة لبعض الباحثين مثل أنطونيو داماسيولا يمكن التفكير بدون عاطفة.

ليس من المستغرب إذن ، في سياق مليء بالرسائل حول مخاطر الوباء ، يجد الطلاب صعوبة في التركيز بشكل مستدام على دراساتهم ويبدو أن معظمهم يفتقرون إلى وقت جيد للقراءة أو الكتابة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

Béatrice Pudelko، Professeure en psychologie de l'éducation، جامعة تلوق

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

s

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

Having Trouble Concentrating During The Coronavirus Pandemic?

Having Trouble Concentrating During The Coronavirus Pandemic? Why do so many students say they have a hard time studying? Recent advances in cognitive sciences have found some answers. (Shutterstock)

Fear, anxiety, worry, lack of motivation and difficulty concentrating — students cite all sorts of reasons for opposing distance learning. But are these excuses or real concerns? What does science say?

At the beginning of the pandemic, when universities and CEGEPs, Québec’s junior colleges, were putting in place scenarios to continue teaching at a distance, students expressed their opposition by noting that the context was “not conducive to learning.”

Teachers also felt that the students were “simply not willing to continue learning in such conditions.” A variety of negative emotions were reported in opinion columns, letters and surveys. A petition was even circulated calling for a suspension of the winter session, which Education Minister Jean-François Roberge refused.

Students are not the only ones who have difficulty concentrating on intellectual tasks. In a column published in La Presse, Chantal Guy says that like many of her colleagues, she can’t devote herself to in-depth reading.

“After a few pages, my mind wanders and just wants to go check out Dr. Arruda’s damn curve,” Guy wrote, referring to Horacio Arruda, the province’s public health director. In short: “It’s not the time that’s lacking in reading, it’s the concentration,” she said. “People don’t have the head for that.”

Why do students feel they don’t have the ability for studies? Recent advances in cognitive science provide insights into the links between negative emotions and cognition in tasks that require sustained intellectual investment.

A question of the amygdala

“The heart has its reasons which reason knows not.” This sentence from 17th-century philosopher Blaise Pascal sums up well the way in which western science has long separated the emotions of the “hot” universe from those of the “cold” universe in human rationality.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Walter Cannon’s physiological research has provided a first explanation of how emotions, especially negative emotions, take over our minds. He showed that emotion is a physiological warning system in the body, activating several structures below the cerebral cortex.

One of these structures, the amygdala, is now proving to be particularly important. The amygdala is rapidly activated in the face of threatening stimuli and allows us to learn to be wary of them. Faced with what could be a snake hidden among the branches, an animal will awaken its senses, alert its muscles and react quickly, without having the luxury of analyzing whether the slender shape is a snake or a stick.

Having Trouble Concentrating During The Coronavirus Pandemic? In humans, the amygdala activates quickly and automatically in response to social stimuli loaded with negative emotions. (Shutterstock)

In humans, the amygdala activates quickly and automatically in response to social stimuli loaded with negative emotions. Neuroscience research shows that people are not only highly sensitive to the emotional charge of their perceptions but they are also unable to ignore it.

For example, the emotions aroused by the sight of a snake in the grass or an untrustworthy political figure can capture our attention in spite of ourselves.

Attention: A limited resource

One might object that for many people, fortunately, COVID-19 does not pose the same kind of threat as a snake encountered in the undergrowth. Our social systems provide us with protections that are previously unimaginable and we are much better prepared to deal with crisis situations.

And, learning situations established by educational institutions — whether in-person classes or online classes — always require that students focus their attention and consciously control their thoughts. As teachers know from experience, a great challenge while leading any lesson is keeping the attention of all students by ensuring that they remain focused on the activity at hand.

The cognitive psychologist Daniel Kahneman, a Nobel Prize winner in 2002, was among the first to propose that attention is a limited cognitive resource and that some cognitive processes require more attention than others. This is particularly the case for activities involving the conscious control of cognitive processes (such as reading or writing academic papers), involving what Kahneman calls “System 2” thinking. That requires attention and mental energy.

Having Trouble Concentrating During The Coronavirus Pandemic? Psychologist Daniel Kahneman received the Presidential Medal of Freedom from former president Barack Obama at a ceremony at the White House in November 2013. (Shutterstock)

Limited attention capacity is also at the heart of the theories proposing that conscious and controlled cognitive processes are carried out in working memory, which is compared to a mental space capable of processing a limited amount of new information.

In working memory, attention acts as a supervisor of cognitive resource allocation and a controller of action execution. The brain circuits associated with working memory and executive functions are those of the prefrontal cortex.

When emotion eats at attention

Researchers have long believed that the processing of emotions through the amygdala does not depend on the attention resources of working memory. However, evidence is accumulating in favour of the opposite hypothesis, indicating that the circuits connecting the amygdala and the prefrontal cortex play an important role in discriminating between relevant and irrelevant information for the current activity.

For example, emotional stimuli were found to interfere with the performance of a working memory task especially since they were not very relevant to the task. Furthermore, as the cognitive load associated with the task increased (for example, when the task required more cognitive resources), the interference of emotional stimuli not relevant to the task also increased. Thus, it would appear that the more a task requires cognitive effort and concentration, the more easily we are distracted.

Much of the extensive research on anxiety by psychologist Michael Eysenck and colleagues supports this view. They show that people who are anxious prefer to focus their attention on stimuli associated with the threat, unrelated to the task at hand. These stimuli may be internal (worrisome thoughts) or external (images perceived as threatening).

This is also the case with worry as the repeated experience of seemingly uncontrollable thoughts about possible negative events. Both anxiety and worry eat up the attention and cognitive resources of working memory, resulting in decreased cognitive performance, especially for complex tasks.

Having Trouble Concentrating During The Coronavirus Pandemic? Mental fatigue increases when one performs a task while trying not to respond to external demands. (Shutterstock)

Other research indicates that feelings of mental fatigue increase when performing a task while trying not to respond to outside demands. It has been suggested that mental fatigue is a particular emotion that tells us that our mental resources are being depleted.

Overall, this research suggests that we are depleting our attention resources to avoid paying attention to irrelevant, but emotionally charged information! It is now better understood why it is so difficult — and exhausting — to avoid checking one’s email while reading a scientific text, to switch from email to Facebook and from Facebook to COVID-19 news coverage, when we are concerned about the curve or death toll in seniors’ homes.

Emotion and cognition are inseparable

Research in cognitive sciences today confirms what we know intuitively: studying requires attention, time and availability of mind. This research shows that cognitive and emotional processes are so intertwined in the brain that, for some researchers, such as Antonio Damasio, no thought is possible without emotion.

Not surprisingly, then, in a context full of messages about the dangers of the pandemic, students find it difficult to focus sustainably on their studies and most seem to lack quality time for reading or writing.The Conversation

About The Author

Béatrice Pudelko, Professeure en psychologie de l'éducation, Université TÉLUQ

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

s

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…