معقدة ، معقدة ، أو كلاهما - الفروق النقدية في عالم جديد

معقدة ، معقدة ، أو كلاهما - الفروق النقدية في عالم جديد
الصورة عن طريق أريك سوشا

نحن نتحرك من أ سياق "القيادة عندما أعرف" أو عندما كان يجب أن أعرف ، حيث تعني الاستراتيجية تخمين المستقبل ، إلى عالم "القيادة عندما لا أعرف" حيث تعني الإستراتيجية إعداد أنفسنا لأي مستقبل يأتي في طريقنا.

-ديدييه مارلييه ، شريك إداري في شبكة Enablers في سويسرا
من مشاركته في مدونة في 28 نوفمبر 2014

في منتصف الستينيات ، أغنية بوب ديلان ، "الأوقات التي هم فيها" ، أصبح النشيد المناهض للمؤسسة للشباب المحبطين. لقد حملت رسالة نبوية كان يمكن أن تكون تحذيرًا مشؤومًا ودعوة مفعمة بالأمل. بالنظر إلى الوراء الآن من سياق اليوم ، تبدو أغنيته لطيفة وسذاجة إلى حد ما. وكان الوقت أكثر بساطة.

بعد مرور خمسين عامًا ، لم تعد الأوقات "a-changin" ؛ الأوقات لديك تغيرت جذريا. عالمنا هو أي شيء ولكن بسيط. في الواقع ، التغيير السريع والمستمر الذي لا يمكن التنبؤ به هو "الوضع الطبيعي الجديد". أصبح التعقيد هو النظام اليومي على كل مستوى من المجتمع ، من أنظمة الأسرة إلى الأنظمة العالمية. إنه عالم VUCA * - عالم يشعر بالحيوية بشكل متزايد ، وغير متوقع ، وفوضوي ، وغير آمن للبعض. (* VUCA: متقلب وغير مؤكد ومعقد وغامض)

في كثير من الأحيان ، نجد أنفسنا لا نعرف كيفية المضي قدمًا ، سواء على المستوى المجتمعي أو المستوى الشخصي. لقد أصبح من الواضح بشكل مؤلم أن الأنظمة والنهج والمبادئ التوجيهية والصيغ والحكمة التقليدية التي اعتمدنا عليها لفترة طويلة لم تعد تعمل. في الواقع ، كلما حاولنا "إصلاح" الأشياء أو "السيطرة على الأشياء" مرة أخرى ، كلما أصبحت الأشياء "خارجة عن السيطرة".

معقد أم معقد؟

في الإحباط ، يسأل الكثير من الناس: لماذا لا يعمل هذا؟ ما الذي سيأتي إليه العالم؟ كيف يمكننا أن نجعل كل شيء على ما يرام مرة أخرى؟

ولكن مع انتشار حركة القيادة الواعية ، بدأ المزيد من الناس يتساءلون: كيف نفعل رد على كل ما يحدث؟ ما الذي يحتاج إلى تغيير في طريقة تفكيرنا في القيادة والخدمة؟


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بينما لا توجد إجابات بسيطة أو نهائية ، لدينا ثلاثة أسئلة يمكن أن تكون طريقة قوية للبدء. وهناك أيضًا سؤال بسيط آخر ، ولكنه ليس واضحًا ، يمكن أن يقودنا على الأقل إلى نهج فعال: هل هذا الوضع معقد أم معقد؟

غالبًا ما تستخدم الكلمات المعقدة والمعقدة بالتبادل في المحادثة اليومية. ومع ذلك ، فإنهم يصفون في الواقع نوعين مختلفين من الحقائق يتطلبان نوعين مختلفين جدًا من الأساليب - مجموعتان من المهارات مختلفة جدًا. إن فهم الاختلاف وإدراك ما إذا كان الموقف معقدًا أو معقدًا أمر بالغ الأهمية بينما نتنقل في عالم اليوم غير المؤكد والمتغير بسرعة.

عندما تكون الحالة معقدة ...

عندما يكون الظرف أو الوضع معقد، من الممكن أن "نفكر" في طريقنا من خلالها - لتحليلها ومعرفة ذلك. القضايا المعقدة مثل عقدة متشابكة أو كرة خيطية. قد يستغرق الأمر بعض المعرفة والخبرة لمعرفة ذلك ، بالإضافة إلى الكثير من الصبر إذا كانت هناك طبقات متعددة من "سلسلة معقودة". ولكن مع بعض الوقت والطاقة ، يمكننا حلها. من خلال المعرفة والخبرة المناسبة ، من الممكن تحديد جميع الأجزاء أو المكونات ، ومعرفة كيفية ارتباطها ببعضها البعض ، وكيفية العمل معها.

فكر في الأسلاك في منزلك. على الرغم من أنك قد لا تتمكن من اكتشاف المشكلة بنفسك ، إلا أنه يمكن للكهربائي المتمرس عادة تتبع المشكلة وحلها. أو ربما توجد مشكلة في أحد البرامج التي تستخدمها. قد تكون هناك طبقات من التعقيد في هذا النوع من المشاكل ، ولكن يمكن لخبير البرمجيات عادةً العثور على جذر المشكلة وحلها.

In معقد المواقف ، عادة ما يكون هناك تسلسل خطي ، يمكن تحديد السبب والنتيجة للأحداث أو الاختيارات أو الإجراءات التي أدت إلى ما يحدث الآن. عادة ما تكون البيئة المحيطة بالمسألة مستقرة إلى حد ما ويمكن التنبؤ بها إلى حد ما ، وغالبًا ما يكون هناك اتفاق عام بين الأشخاص المعنيين حول النتيجة المرجوة. يمكن حل المواقف المعقدة عادة من خلال نهج يركز على الحل.

In معقد المواقف ، ليس من غير المعقول أن نتوقع من القادة الحصول على إجابات لأسئلتنا. نأمل أن يتمكنوا من تحديد المشاكل المطروحة بوضوح ومعرفة كيفية حلها ، أو على الأقل معرفة من يطلبون المساعدة. نأمل أن يكون هؤلاء القادة قد ارتقوا إلى مناصبهم بسبب خبرتهم ومعرفتهم وخبرتهم في مجالاتهم. لذلك ، في هذا السياق ، قد نتوقع من قادتنا تطوير رؤى واضحة للمستقبل وتصميم استراتيجيات واضحة لتحقيق الأشياء.

عندما تكون الحالة معقدة ...

ومع ذلك ، عندما يكون الوضع أو الظرف مجمع، لم يعد الكثير مما سبق ينطبق. من المحتمل أن يكون هناك العديد من القطع المتحركة ، وقد تتغير هذه القطع باستمرار أو تتطور أو تتحول إلى أشكال أخرى. تتغير الظروف باستمرار ، وقد يكون هناك العديد من الأفكار والآراء المختلفة حول ما يجب أن تكون عليه النتائج.

في كثير من الأحيان ، تحدث أشياء كثيرة في وقت واحد. قد نشعر أن بعض هذه الأشياء مرتبطة ببعضها البعض ، ولكن الروابط بينها ليست واضحة. القليل جدا يمكن توقعه ، ولا يوجد تسلسل واضح للسبب والنتيجة. تستمر الأرض تحت أقدامنا في التحول وتميل أنماط الحركة إلى أن تكون دائرية أو غير منتظمة بدلاً من الخطية. يمكن أن تشعر البيئة بأكملها بعدم الاستقرار.

In مجمع المواقف ، لم تعد معارفنا وخبراتنا السابقة ذات صلة. إن الطرق التي عملت بها الأشياء من قبل ليست بالضرورة كيف ستعمل مرة أخرى. لذلك ، فإن وضع خطة أمر صعب ، إن لم يكن مستحيلاً. كل شيء يتحرك ويتغير.

عادة ، أفضل ما يمكنك فعله عند العمل في التعقيد هو البحث عن خطوتك التالية ، واتخاذ تلك الخطوة ، ثم ملاحظة ما يحدث نتيجة لذلك. ما تتعلمه أو تكتشفه من خلال هذه الملاحظة يخطرك بخطوتك التالية. بعد اتخاذ هذه الخطوة ، تتوقف مؤقتًا لاستشعار الخطوة التالية. وتستمر في تكرار هذه الدورة طالما كان ذلك ضروريا.

مجمع تحتاج المواقف إلى قادة يتمتعون بقدرة كبيرة على التفكير الكامل والوعي الكامل. إنهم بحاجة إلى قادة ماهرين في الإبحار بالشكوك والتقلبات والتغيير السريع - قادة يفهمون كيف يعمل العالم كطاقة متحركة.

لذلك ، عند العمل في التعقيد ، يجب أن تكون توقعاتنا من القادة مختلفة عن عندما نعمل في حالات معقدة. توقع أن يحصل القادة على جميع الإجابات ، وأن يحددوا بوضوح ما يحدث ، وأن يعرفوا ما يجب فعله ليس واقعيًا. هذه ليست الطريقة التي يعمل بها التعقيد.

خصائص التعقيد والمعقد
النظم والمواقف

معقد

مجمع

هناك تسلسل يمكن التنبؤ به ، والسبب والنتيجة.

القليل جدا يمكن التنبؤ به - لا يوجد تسلسل واضح للسبب والنتيجة.

أنماط الحركة خطية.

أنماط الحركة دائرية وغير منتظمة - ونادراً ما تكون خطية.

يمكنك تحديد جميع القطع أو المكونات ومعرفة كيفية العمل معها وكيفية ارتباطها ببعضها البعض.

هناك العديد من القطع المتحركة التي تتغير باستمرار. تحدث الكثير من الأشياء في وقت واحد ، ولكن الروابط بينهما غالبًا ما تكون غير واضحة.

يمكنك "التفكير" في طريقك - يمكنك تحليله ومعرفة ذلك.

يجب أن تكون قادرًا على "قراءة الإشارات". يتطلب الموقف تفكيراً كاملاً ووعي كامل.

يمكنك وضع خطة واتباع الخطة أكثر أو أقل للنجاح.

يعد وضع خطة أمرًا صعبًا ، إن لم يكن مستحيلًا ، لأن جميع القطع تستمر في التحرك والتغيير. لذلك ، يمكنك فقط البحث عن خطوتك التالية ، والتصرف ، ثم الوقوف جانبًا لمراقبة الأنماط الجديدة أو المختلفة التي تظهر ، ثم اتخاذ خطوة أخرى. ثم تستمر الدورة في التكرار حتى لم تعد هناك حاجة إليها.

المعرفة والخبرة السابقة قيمة وتخدمك جيدًا.

غالبًا ما لم تعد المعرفة والخبرة السابقة ذات صلة بالموضوع - فكيف عملت من قبل لن تعمل بالضرورة مرة أخرى.

تميل البيئة إلى الاستقرار.

تميل البيئة إلى أن تكون أقل قابلية للتنبؤ بها وأحيانًا غير مستقرة.

هناك اتفاق عام حول النتيجة المرجوة.

غالبًا ما يكون هناك العديد من الآراء أو الرغبات المختلفة حول ما يجب أن تكون عليه النتيجة.

أنت تعمل نحو نتيجة محددة أو تنشئ نتيجة محددة. إنه نهج يركز على الحل.

سيتم الكشف عن النتيجة أو النتيجة بمرور الوقت. من المفيد أن يكون لديك شعور بالاتجاه ، ولكن هذا لن يكون واضحًا دائمًا ، خاصة في البداية. ومع ذلك ، نادرًا ما يخدم الالتزام أو الارتباط بنتيجة أو نتيجة معينة في موقف معقد.

تميل العلامة "المعقدة" إلى التطبيق بشكل أساسي على المشكلات أو الأنظمة الميكانيكية أو الفنية ، أو على المهام التي سيتم تقديمها من خلال طرق منطقية خطية ، وحيث يمكنك توقع نتائج يمكن توقعها بشكل معقول.

تميل التسمية "المعقدة" إلى المواقف التي تنطوي على مشاعر الناس وقيمهم وعواطفهم ؛ العلاقات الشخصية أو المهنية ؛ أو النظم التنظيمية أو المجتمعية.

التنقل في الحالات المعقدة و / أو المعقدة

في التنقل معقد المواقف ، من المفيد أن تكون تحليليًا ومنهجيًا. ومع ذلك، في مجمع المواقف ، نحن بحاجة إلى أن نكون بديهيين ، مبدعين ، مبدعين ، مبتكرين ومرنين نحن بحاجة إلى أن نكون قادرين على الاستجابة بسرعة لما يحدث في الوقت الحالي. بدلاً من الحصول على جميع الإجابات ، نتعلم أن نكون مرتاحين في "عدم المعرفة". من المهم أن نعطي أنفسنا ، وكذلك الآخرين ، الإذن بتجربة شيء جديد ، مع العلم تمامًا أنه قد ينجح أو لا يعمل.

ينبغي تشجيع ودعم الاستكشاف والتجريب. بدلاً من عرض النتائج من منظور النجاح أو الفشل ، من المفيد أن ننظر إليها من منظور "ما نتعلمه ؛ ماذا نختار للمضي قدما ؛ وماذا نختار أن نترك وراءنا؟ "

يتطلب التنقل في التعقيد القدرة على الرؤية تحت السطح - إدراك ما هو واضح - والرقص مع كل من الصورة الكبيرة والتفاصيل في نفس الوقت. وهي تنطوي على الإحساس بوقت التوقف ، وإعطاء الأشياء الوقت للالتقاء أو الوقوع في مكانها ، ومتى المضي قدمًا في العمل الحاسم. يصبح النظام أو الظرف نفسه مرشدنا ومعلمنا ، حتى مع تغيره وتطوره.

من منظور الفيزياء الكمومية معقد يعمل العالم في المقام الأول في حالة "الجسيمات" من الأشكال الثابتة. ال مجمع العالم ، من ناحية أخرى ، يعمل أكثر بكثير في حالة "الموجة" - حالة من الطاقة تتحرك باستمرار حيث يكون أي شيء ممكنًا. كلما فهمنا الحياة والعلاقات والأنظمة المجتمعية والهياكل التنظيمية على أنها طاقة متحركة ، أصبحنا أكثر وضوحًا حول كيفية التنقل في عالم معقد.

العقل الفكري والعقل الحدسي

في ال الفصل الأخيرتحدثنا عن العقول الفكرية والبديهية وكيف لها نقاط قوة مختلفة ولكنها متكاملة. تحدثنا عن أهمية شراكتهم ، وفي الوقت نفسه ، أهمية العقل البديهي الذي يقود الطريق.

هذا صحيح بشكل خاص عند العمل فيه تعقيد. غالبًا ما تكون المواقف المعقدة مربكة ومربكة للعقل. يتوق العقل إلى النظام - لكي تتناسب جميع القطع معًا في هيكل خطي منظم ومتسق. إنها تريد أن تكون قادرة على التحكم والتنبؤ بما سيحدث. ومع ذلك ، في النظام المعقد ، يكون التسلسل الخطي والأنماط المتوقعة هي الاستثناء وليس القاعدة. لا يستطيع العقل الفكري وحده استيعاب العديد من القطع المتحركة وأنماط التعقيد المتغيرة.

من ناحية أخرى ، فإن العقل البديهي الأكبر لديه قدرة أكبر بكثير على التعامل مع التعقيد. وهي مصممة لاستكشاف واكتشاف ومراقبة ما يحدث ، والبحث عن الأنماط الناشئة والتعرف عليها ، واستشعار الرسائل المخفية ، و "ربط النقاط" بين ما قد يظهر على السطح لظروف وأحداث غير ذات صلة. عندها يمكن للعقل الحدسي أن يشعر بكيفية الاستجابة وتمييز ما قد تكون عليه الخطوة التالية.

إيجاد البساطة ضمن التعقيد

بطريقة غير متوقعة ، هناك بالفعل بساطة في التعقيد. إن الاقتراب من التعقيد بالتعقيد لن يصل بنا كثيرًا. ومع ذلك ، فإن الاقتراب من التعقيد بأسئلة بسيطة ومباشرة وقوية يمكن غالبًا أن يقطع الجوهر ويبدأ في فتح بعض المساحة داخل التعقيد حتى نتمكن من رؤية طريقنا من خلاله. وذلك لأن الأسئلة البسيطة والقوية يمكن أن تأخذنا مباشرة إلى وعي أكبر بالعقل الحدسي.

يمكن لهذا النهج الحدسي في المواقف المعقدة أن يشعر بأنه مضاد للفكر. إنه نهج مختلف تمامًا عما اعتاد عليه الكثير منا. ومع ذلك ، إذا منحنا الفرصة ، فإن جزءًا أكبر منا - ذواتنا البديهية - ينبض بالحياة. بالنسبة للعقل الحدسي وذكاء القلب ، يبدو هذا النهج طبيعيًا تمامًا. نحن نتوسع إلى ما هو أبعد من خبرتنا الفكرية إلى التفكير الكامل والوعي الكامل. نصبح خبراء في إدراك الطاقة والمعلومات ، وتلقي التوجيه ، واستشعار الخطوات التالية ، والانتقال إلى العمل.

© 2017 by Alan Seale. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من المؤلف و
مركز الحضور التحويلي.

المادة المصدر

الوجود التحويلي: كيف تحدث فرقاً في عالم سريع التغير
من جانب آلان سيل.

الوجود التحويلي: كيف تحدث فرقاً في عالم سريع التغير بقلـم آلان سيل.الوجود التحويلي هو دليل أساسي لـ: الأشخاص الذين يرغبون في الانتقال إلى ما هو أبعد من رؤيتهم إلى عمل ؛ القادة الذين يتنقلون في الإقليم الجديد المجهول والرائد ؛ الأفراد والمؤسسات الملتزمون بالعيش في أعظم إمكاناتهم ؛ المدربون والموجهون والمعلمون يدعمون أعظم الإمكانات في الآخرين ؛ الموظفون العموميون الملتزمون بإحداث فرق ؛ وأي شخص يريد المساعدة في إنشاء عالم يعمل. عالم جديد ، قواعد جديدة ، مقاربات جديدة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون. متوفر أيضًا بتنسيق Kindle.

المزيد من الكتب كتبها هذا الكاتب

عن المؤلف

آلان سيلألان سيل هو مؤلف حائز على جائزة ، ومصدر إلهام ، وحافز التحول ، ومؤسس ومدير مركز التحوّل التحويلي. وهو مبتكر برنامج التدريب على القيادة التحويلية وتدريب المدربين الذي لديه الآن خريجين من أكثر من دول 35. وتشمل كتبه حياة بديهية, Soul Mission * Life Vision, عجلة الإظهار, قوة وجودكم, خلق العالم الذي يعمل ، ومؤخرا ، مجموعة كتابه ، الوجود التحويلي: كيف تحدث فرقاً في عالم سريع التغير. تُنشر كتبه حاليًا باللغات الإنجليزية والهولندية والفرنسية والروسية والنرويجية والرومانية وقريبًا باللغة البولندية. تخدم ألان حاليًا عملاءًا من ست قارات وتحتفظ بجدول محاضرات وتعليم كامل في جميع أنحاء الأمريكتين وأوروبا. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في http://www.transformationalpresence.org/

فيديو / عرض تقديمي مع آلان سيل: بناء جسور الاتصال والإبداع المشترك

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تولي مسؤولية صحتنا: تجسيد الوعي 5D
تولي مسؤولية صحتنا: تجسيد الوعي 5D
by جوديث كورفين بلاكبيرن
التباطؤ والاستيقاظ على الأرض
التباطؤ والاستيقاظ على الأرض
by إليزابيث إي ميتشام ، دكتوراه

من المحررين

التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للعزلة الاجتماعية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)
ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.
الجانب الخفيف من التحليل النفسي لأرنب عيد الفصح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في InnerSelf ، نشجع الاستبطان ، وبالتالي كان من دواعي سرورنا أن نرى أنه حتى أرنب عيد الفصح قد طلب المساعدة في فهم عاداته وإكراهاته.
ماريان ويليامسون تعكس جائحة فيروس كورونا
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
تأملات ماريان ويليامسون حول جائحة فيروس كورونا الحالي في 31 مارس 2020.

Complicated, Complex, Or Both—Critical Distinctions in a New World

Complicated, Complex, Or Both—Critical Distinctions in a New World
Image by Arek Socha

We are moving from a context of “Leading when I know” or when I should have known, where strategy means guessing the future, to a world of “Leading when I don’t know,” where strategizing means preparing ourselves for whatever future comes our way.

Didier Marlier, Managing Partner at Enablers Network in Switzerland
from his November 28, 2014 blog post

In the mid-1960s, Bob Dylan’s song, “The Times They Are A-Changin,” became an anti-establishment anthem for frustrated young people. It carried a prophetic message that could have been both an ominous warning and a hopeful invitation. Looking back now from today’s context, his song feels somehow gentle and naïve. It was a simpler time.

Fifty-plus years later, the times are no longer “a-changin;” the times have changed—radically. Our world is anything but simple. In fact, rapid, continuous, unpredictable change is the “new normal.” Complexity has become the order of the day at every level of society, from family systems to global systems. It’s a VUCA* world—a world that feels increasingly edgy, unpredictable, chaotic, and, for some, unsafe.  (*VUCA: volatile, uncertain, complex, and ambiguous)

Too often, we find ourselves not knowing how to move forward, whether at the societal level or the personal level. It has become painfully clear that the systems, approaches, guidelines, formulas, and conventional wisdom that we have relied on for so long are no longer working. In fact, the more we try to “fix” things or to “get things under control” again, the more “out of control” things become.

Complicated or Complex?

In frustration, many people ask: Why isn’t this working? What is the world coming to? How can we just make everything OK again?

Yet as the conscious leadership movement spreads, more people are starting to ask: How do we respond to all that is happening? What needs to shift in how we think about and approach leadership and service?


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


While there are no simple or definitive answers, our Three Questions can be a powerful way to begin. And there is also another simple, yet not-so-obvious question that can at least steer us towards an effective approach: Is this situation complicated or is it complex?

The words complicated and complex are often used interchangeably in everyday conversation. However, they actually describe two different kinds of realities that require two very different kinds of approaches—two very different skill sets. Understanding the difference and recognizing whether a situation is complicated or complex is critical as we navigate today’s uncertain and rapidly changing world.

When A Situation Is Complicated...

When a circumstance or situation is complicated, it is possible to “think” our way through it—to analyze it and figure it out. Complicated issues are like a tangled knot or ball of string. It might take some knowledge and expertise to figure them out, as well as a lot of patience if there are multiple layers of “knotted string.” Yet with some time and energy, we can resolve them. With the proper knowledge and experience, it is possible to identify all of the pieces or components, figure out how they relate to each other, and how to work with them.

Think of the wiring in your house. While you may not be able to figure out the issue on your own, an experienced electrician can usually track down the problem and solve it. Or perhaps there is a problem in a software program you are using. There might be layers of complication in this kind of issue, yet a software expert can usually find the root of the problem and resolve it.

In complicated situations, there is usually an identifiable linear, cause-and-effect sequence of events, choices, or actions that led to what is happening now. The environment around the issue is usually fairly stable and somewhat predictable, and there is often general agreement among the people involved about what the desired outcome is. Complicated situations can usually be resolved through a solution-focused approach.

In complicated situations, it is not unreasonable to expect leaders to have answers to our questions. We hope that they are able to clearly define the problems at hand and know how to solve them, or at least know whom to ask for help. Hopefully, those leaders have risen to their positions because of their experience, knowledge, and expertise in their fields. Therefore, within this context, we might expect our leaders to develop clear visions for the future and to design clear strategies for making things happen.

When A Situation Is Complex...

However, when a situation or circumstance is complex, much of the above no longer applies. There are likely to be many moving pieces, and those pieces may be constantly changing, evolving, or morphing into other forms. Conditions are constantly shifting, and there may be many different ideas and opinions about what the outcomes should be.

Often, many things are happening at once. We might sense that some of these things are related to one another, yet the connections between them are not obvious. Very little is predictable, and there is no clear cause-and-effect sequence. The ground beneath our feet keeps shifting and movement patterns tend to be circular or erratic instead of linear. The whole environment can feel unstable.

In complex situations, our past knowledge and experience is often no longer relevant. The ways that things worked before is not necessarily how they will work again. Therefore, making a plan is challenging, if not impossible. Everything keeps moving and changing.

Usually, the best you can do when working in complexity is to look for your next step, take that step, and then observe what happens as a result. What you learn or discover through that observation then informs your next step. After you take that step, you pause to sense what is next. And you continue repeating this cycle as long as necessary.

Complex situations need leaders with great capacity for Whole-Mind Thinking and Whole-Being Awareness. They need leaders who are skilled at navigating uncertainty, volatility, and rapid change—leaders who understand how the world works as energy in motion.

Therefore, when working in complexity, our expectations from leaders must be different than when we are working in complicated situations. Expecting leaders to have all the answers, to clearly define what is happening, and to know what to do is not realistic. That’s not how complexity works.

Characteristics of Complicated and Comple
Systems and Situations

Complicated

Complex

There is a predictable, cause-and-effect sequence.

Very little is predictable—there is no obvious cause-and-effect sequence.

Movement patterns are linear.

Movement patterns are circular and erratic—rarely linear.

You can identify all of the pieces or components and figure out how to work with them and how they relate to each other.

There are many moving pieces that are constantly changing. Many things are happening at once, yet the connections between them are often not obvious.

You can “think” your way through it—you can analyze it and figure it out.

You must be able to “read the signals.” The situation demands Whole-Mind Thinking and Whole-Being Awareness.

You can make a plan and more or less follow the plan to success.

Making a plan is challenging, if not impossible, because all of the pieces keep moving and changing. Therefore, you can only look for your next step, act, and then stand aside to observe the new or different patterns that emerge, and then take another step. The cycle then continues to repeat until it is no longer needed.

Past knowledge and experience is valuable and serves you well.

Past knowledge and experience are often no longer relevant—how it worked before will not necessarily work again.

The environment tends to be stable.

The environment tends to be less predictable and sometimes unstable.

There is general agreement about the desired outcome.

There are often many different opinions or desires about what the outcome should be.

You are working toward a specific outcome or creating a specific result. It’s a solution-focused approach.

The outcome or result will be revealed over time. It’s helpful to have a sense of direction, yet that will not always be clear, especially at first. However, commitment or attachment to a specific outcome or result rarely serves in a complex situation.

The “complicated” label tends to apply primarily to mechanical or technical issues or systems, or to tasks that will be served by logical, linear approaches, and where you can reasonably expect predictable outcomes.

The “complex” label tends to apply to situations that involve people’s feelings, values, and emotions; personal or professional relationships; or organizational or societal systems.

Navigating Complicated and/or Complex Situations

In navigating complicated situations, it’s helpful to be analytical and systematic. However, in complex situations, we need to be intuitive, creative, imaginative, innovative, and flexible. We need to be able to respond quickly to what is happening in the moment. Instead of having all of the answers, we learn to be comfortable in the “not knowing.” It’s important to give ourselves, as well as others, permission to try something new, fully knowing that it may or may not work.

Exploration and experimentation should be encouraged and supported. Rather than viewing outcomes from a perspective of success or failure, it’s more helpful to look at them from the perspective of, “What are we learning; what do we choose to carry forward; and what do we choose to leave behind?”

Navigating complexity requires being able to see beneath the surface—to perceive beyond the obvious—and dance with both the big picture and the details at the same time. It involves sensing when to pause, giving things time to come together or fall into place, and when to move ahead in decisive action. The system or the circumstance itself becomes our guide and teacher, even as it changes and evolves.

From a quantum physics perspective, the complicated world operates primarily in the “particle” state of fixed forms. The complex world, on the other hand, operates much more in the “wave” state—a state of constantly moving energy where anything is possible. The more we understand life, relationships, societal systems, and organizational structures as energy in motion, the clearer we become about how to navigate a complex world.

Intellectual Mind and Intuitive Mind

In the last chapter, we talked about the intellectual and intuitive minds and how they have different, yet very complementary, strengths. We talked about the importance of their partnership, and at the same time, the importance of the intuitive mind leading the way.

This is particularly true when working in complexity. Complex situations are often confusing and overwhelming to the intellect. The intellect longs for order—for all of the pieces to fit together into a linear, organized, consistent structure. It wants to be able to control and predict what is going to happen. However, in a complex system, linear sequence and predictable patterns are the exception, not the rule. The intellectual mind alone cannot grasp the many moving pieces and shifting patterns of complexity.

The larger intuitive mind, on the other hand, has a much greater capacity for handling complexity. It is designed to explore and discover, to observe what is happening, to look for and recognize emerging patterns, to sense the hidden messages, and to “connect the dots” between what might appear on the surface to be unrelated circumstances and events. The intuitive mind can then sense how to respond and discern what the next step might be.

Finding Simplicity Within Complexity

In an unexpected sort of way, there is actually simplicity within complexity. Approaching complexity with complexity will not get us very far. However, approaching complexity with simple, direct, and powerful questions can often cut through to the essence and begin to open up some space within the complexity so that we can begin to see our way through it. This is because simple yet powerful questions can take us directly to the greater awareness of the intuitive mind.

This intuitive approach to complex situations can feel counter-intellectual. It’s a completely different approach than many of us are used to. Yet if we give it a chance, some bigger part of us—our intuitive selves—comes alive. To the intuitive mind and heart intelligence, this approach feels quite natural. We expand way beyond our intellectual expertise into Whole-Mind Thinking and Whole-Being Awareness. We become experts at perceiving energy and information, receiving guidance, sensing next steps, and moving into action.

©2017 by Alan Seale. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the author and 
The Center for Transformational Presence.

Article Source

Transformational Presence: How To Make a Difference In a Rapidly Changing World
by Alan Seale.

Transformational Presence: How To Make a Difference In a Rapidly Changing World by Alan Seale.Transformational Presence is an essential guide for: Visionaries who want to move beyond their vision into action; Leaders who are navigating the unknown and pioneering new territory; Individuals and Organizations committed to living into their greatest potential; Coaches, Mentors, and Educators supporting the greatest potential in others; Public servants committed to making a difference; and Anyone who wants to help create a world that works. New World, New Rules, New Approaches.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. Also available in Kindle format.

More books by this author

About the Author

Alan SealeAlan Seale is an award-winning author, inspirational speaker, transformation catalyst, and founder and director of the Center for Transformational Presence. He is the creator of the Transformational Presence Leadership and Coach Training program which now has graduates from more than 35 countries. His books include Intuitive LivingSoul Mission * Life VisionThe Manifestation WheelThe Power of Your PresenceCreate a World That Works, and most recently, his two-book set, Transformational Presence: How To Make a Difference In a Rapidly Changing World. His books are currently published in English, Dutch, French, Russian, Norwegian, Romanian, and soon in Polish. Alan currently serves clients from six continents and maintains a full teaching and lecture schedule throughout the Americas and Europe. Visit his website at http://www.transformationalpresence.org/

Video/Presentation with Alan Seale: Building Bridges of Connection and Co-Creation

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(updated 4/15/2020) Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.