المفاهيم الخاطئة في الرياضيات قد تقود الناس إلى التقليل من التهديدات الحقيقية

قد تقود المفاهيم الخاطئة للرياضيات الناس إلى التقليل من شأن التهديدات الحقيقية تم نصح الأمريكيين بالابتعاد عن الآخرين عندما لا يستطيعون البقاء في المنزل. نور صور / جيتي إيماجيس كلاريسا أ.طومسون, جامعة كينت ستيت ; جنيفر تابر, جامعة كينت ستيت ; كارين كوفمان, جامعة كينت ستيت و بوجا سيدني, جامعة كنتاكي

يدعي الناس في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة أنهم "ليس رياضيون. " حتى أنهم يعترفون بسهولة بكراهيتهم لبعض أساسيات الرياضيات ، مثل الكسور. على سبيل المثال ، مشارك في إحدى دراساتنا البحثية حول مدى فهم الكبار للكسور المعلنة: "الكسور هي أسوأ كابوس لي!"

هل يمكن لخوف الناس وتجنب الرياضيات ، وأخطائهم الرياضية الشائعة في المدرسة ، أن تؤدي أيضًا إلى سوء فهم في العالم الحقيقي حول كيفية خطير COVID-19 هو على صحتهم و المجتمع بشكل عام?

نحن علماء علم النفس ، واثنان منا - كلاريسا طومسون و بوجا سيدني - هم خبراء في مجال الإدراك الرياضي. مهمتنا هي التحقق من كيفية تعلم الناس من جميع الأعمار عن الرياضيات. نحدد أيضًا الاستراتيجيات الجيدة والسيئة التي يستخدمها الأشخاص غالبًا عندما يحاولون حل مشاكل الرياضيات الصعبة. استنادًا إلى هذه الملاحظات ، توصلنا إلى عدة طرق لمساعدة الجميع على اكتساب المزيد من التبصر في كيفية عمل الرياضيات.

أحد المفاهيم الخاطئة الشائعة جدًا التي نشعر بالقلق بشأنها هو "تحيز العدد الصحيح. " مرتكز على عناوين و حسابات إخبارية حول الفيروس التاجي الجديد ، نتساءل عما إذا كان هذا التحيز قد يدفع الناس إلى التقليل من مخاطرهم ومخاطر الآخرين المرتبطة بـ COVID-19.

كسر الارقام

تتكون الكسور من جزأين: البسط - على سبيل المثال ، 3 في الكسر ¾ - والمقام - على سبيل المثال ، 4 في الكسر ¾. طريقة أخرى للتفكير في هذا الكسر هي: "من 4 أجزاء ، 3."

يحدث التحيز في الأعداد الصحيحة عندما يميل الناس إلى التفكير تلقائيًا في بسط ومقام الكسور كأعداد صحيحة قبل أن يعالجوا الأرقام بشكل أكثر عمقًا لاستيعاب أرقامهم الفعلية حجم.

على سبيل المثال ، قد يعتقد الناس عن طريق الخطأ أن 1/14 أصغر من 1/15 لأن 14 أقل من 15. أي أنهم تطبيق ما يعرفونه عن الأعداد الصحيحة لجميع الأرقام الأخرى ، بما في ذلك الكسور.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أظهرت الأبحاث أن الأشخاص من جميع الأعمار يمكنهم تحمل عدد صحيح من التحيز - الأطفال, طلاب الجامعات وحتى بعض علماء الرياضيات الخبراء.

وفي إحدى الدراسات، طلاب كلية المجتمع تم عرض سلسلة من كسرين في وقت واحد وطلب تحديد أيهما أكبر. في بعض أزواج الكسور هذه ، كان للأكبر أكبر بسط أكبر ولكن مقامًا أصغر. لذا ، إذا تم عرض الكسور 3/7 و 2/9 ، فإن الطلاب الذين أجابوا على أن 3/7 أكبر كانوا على حق.

أجاب 54٪ فقط من الطلاب الذين شاركوا في الدراسة بشكل صحيح.

عندما سُئلوا كيف قرروا أي جزء أكبر ، قال العديد من الطلاب أنهم ينتبهون إلى جزء واحد من الكسر على حدة ، بدلاً من النظر في النسبة بأكملها. أولئك الذين أجابوا بشكل خاطئ أن 2/9 كان أكبر من 3/7 فعلوا ذلك لأنهم قارنوا فقط القواسم وخلصوا إلى أن 9 أكبر من 7.

ذلك لأن تحيز العدد الكامل - الذي يمكن أن يظهر على اعتبار جزء واحد فقط من النسبة المعزولة - يؤدي إلى استنتاجات غير صحيحة حول مدى الأعداد الكبيرة.

تبدأ الحلول في المدرسة

لماذا هذا مهم؟ يتعلم الطلاب عن الكسور في المدرسة حتى يتمكنوا من تطبيق هذه المعرفة على العالم الحقيقي.

في الحياة اليومية ، يتم عرض الأرقام على الأشخاص ، بما في ذلك الكسور ، ويطلب منهم فهمها. عندما يتعلق الأمر بالإحصاءات الصحية ، فقد يؤدي سوء تفسير حجم الأرقام إلى عواقب سلبية - مثل التقليل من خطورة القتلة من COVID-19.

تزخر القصص الإخبارية بالإحصاءات المعقدة التي تتعلق بجائحة COVID-19. تتضمن العديد من هذه الإحصائيات النسب ، وهي الصعب لفهم و لم يعجبني.

علاوة على ذلك، قلق الرياضيات - شعور الخوف عندما يتعلق الأمر بالرياضيات - يقود الناس للاختيار تجنب تماما، أو تفشل في التفكير بعمق في الأرقام التي يتم مواجهتها في الحياة اليومية. في بحثنا الخاص عبر عينتين من البالغينوجدنا أن الأشخاص الذين يشعرون بالقلق من ممارسة الرياضيات كانوا أسوأ في تقدير حجم الكسور المحددة.

في وقت مبكر من جائحة COVID-19 ، كانت هناك العديد من القصص التي لاحظت ذلك كان الإنفلونزا أكثر فتكًا من الفيروس التاجي الجديد. الرئيس دونالد ترامب نفسه قدم هذا الادعاء عدة مرات.

نعتقد أن هذا الارتباك مستمر بينما تكافح الأمة للتصالح معها يدعو لمزيد من الإبعاد الاجتماعي و أوامر بالبقاء في المنزل لمحاربة انتشار COVID-19. على وجه التحديد ، يمكن ذكر عدد الوفيات أو عدد الإصابات بـ COVID-19 مقارنة بالإنفلونزا بشكل منعزل ، بدلاً من نسبة الوفيات من مجموع السكان. نعتقد أن التركيز على العدد الإجمالي للوفيات أو أعداد الأشخاص المصابين بدلاً من النسب - أو الكسور - هو انعكاس لتحيز العدد الكامل.

في مثال أخير آخر ، الرئيس دونالد ترامب ادعى أن الولايات المتحدة اختبرت عددًا أكبر من الأشخاص لـ COVID-19 أكثر من أي مكان آخر في العالم. في حين أن هذا قد يكون صحيحًا من حيث الأرقام المطلقة ، فإن هذا لا يأخذ في الاعتبار مجاميع السكان ومدى كثافة السكان في البلدان الأخرى.

حساب المخاطر

ما مدى الخطر الذي نواجهه جميعًا؟

لمعرفة ذلك ، نعتقد أنه يجب مقارنة عدد الوفيات بـ COVID-19 بالعدد الإجمالي للأشخاص المصابين. يتم تحديث كل من هذه الأرقام يوميا من قبل فريق من الباحثين في جامعة جونز هوبكنز.

ثم قارن معدل الوفيات هذا بمعدلات الوفاة لأمراض مألوفة أكثر مثل الأنفلونزا حسب تحديثها مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها.

مقارنة معدلات الوفيات

إذا كنت ترغب في محاولة حساب مدى خطورة هذا الوباء مقارنة بالأنفلونزا ، فأنت بحاجة إلى تقسيم عدد الوفيات الناجمة عن COVID-19 على إجمالي عدد المصابين به. ضع في اعتبارك أنه من المستحيل معرفة المقام الحقيقي ، أو العدد الإجمالي للأفراد المصابين، في خضم وباء لأن هذه الأرقام تتغير يوميًا ، والاختبارات محدودة.

نحن نستند إلى تقديرات الوفيات هذه على البيانات اعتبارًا من 2 أبريل. استنادًا إلى أحدث الإحصائيات من جونز هوبكنز ، فإن معدل الوفيات لـ COVID-19 هو 5 ٪ - 49,236،965,246 مقسومًا على 5،0.1 يساوي 62,000 ٪. حاليا ، معدل وفيات الأنفلونزا وفقا لمركز السيطرة على الأمراض هو 54,000,000 ٪ (0.1 مقسومة على 2020،19،50 يساوي XNUMX ٪). خذ لحظة لاستيعاب هذه الحسابات. اعتبارًا من نهاية مارس XNUMX ، كان معدل الوفيات لـ COVID-XNUMX أكبر XNUMX مرة من معدل الوفيات للأنفلونزا - فرق كبير ، ولكن قد يتغير بمرور الوقت مع زيادة البيانات متاح.

بسبب هذه المجهول ، يمكن أن يكون معدل الوفيات أقل في نهاية المطاف من الأرقام المبكرة لأن الكثير من المصابين لم يتم اختبارها على الفور أو تم تشخيصها رسميًا. في حين أنه من السابق لأوانه تحديد بالضبط كم ستكون أكثر فتكًا من أنفلونزا COVID-19 ، بعض التقديرات الحالية تشير إلى أن COVID-19 قد يكون أقرب إلى 10 مرات أكثر فتكاً. من المهم أن نلاحظ أن الباحثين في جميع أنحاء العالم قد وجدوا مجموعة واسعة من التقديرات لمعدل الوفيات لـ COVID-19 ، والذي يظل غير واضح.

للحد تحيز العدد الصحيح، نوصي الجميع بالنظر فيما إذا تم الإبلاغ عن كل من بسط الكسر ومقامه ، أو ما إذا كان أحدهما أو الآخر قد تم تقديمه بمعزل عن الآخر. يمكن أن يساعد ذلك الأشخاص على تجنب ارتكاب خطأ تحيز عدد صحيح.

مع الحاجة إلى صنع يأخذ جميع الناس هذا الوباء على محمل الجد، نعتقد أن القيام بهذا الحساب بشكل صحيح قد ينقذ الأرواح.

نبذة عن الكاتب

كلاريسا أ. طومسون ، أستاذ مشارك في علم النفس المعرفي ، جامعة كينت ستيت ؛ جنيفر تابر ، أستاذ مساعد العلوم النفسية ، جامعة كينت ستيت ؛ كارين كوفمان ، أستاذ مشارك في علم النفس ، جامعة كينت ستيت ، وبوجا سيدني ، أستاذ مساعد في علم النفس ، جامعة كنتاكي

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
by فيليب روسو وبريت ميتشل
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
by ساثفيك براساد وبرادلي ريفز

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

Math Misconceptions May Lead People To Underestimate True Threats

Math Misconceptions May Lead People To Underestimate The True Threats Americans have been advised to keep six feet away from everyone else when they can’t stay home. Nur Photo/Getty Images Clarissa A. Thompson, Kent State University ; Jennifer Taber, Kent State University ; Karin Coifman, Kent State University , and Pooja Sidney, University of Kentucky

People all across the U.S. claim that they are “not math people.” They even readily admit to their hatred for some math fundamentals, such as fractions. For instance, a participant in one of our research studies on how well adults understand fractions proclaimed: “Fractions are my worst nightmare!”

Could people’s fear and avoidance of math, and their common mathematical mistakes in school, also lead to misunderstandings in the real world about just how dangerous COVID-19 is to their own health and to society in general?

We are psychology scholars, and two of us – Clarissa Thompson and Pooja Sidney – are experts in the field of mathematical cognition. It is our job to investigate how people of all ages learn about math. We also identify good and bad strategies that people often use when they try to solve hard math problems. Based on these observations, we have come up with several ways to help everyone gain more insight into how math works.

One very common misconception we’re concerned about is known as “whole number bias.” Based on headlines and news accounts about the novel coronavirus, we wonder if this bias might lead people to underestimate their own and others’ risks associated with COVID-19.

Breaking down the numbers

Fractions are made up of two parts: the numerator – for instance, the 3 in the fraction ¾ – and the the denominator – for instance, the 4 in the fraction ¾. Another way to think about this fraction is: “of 4 parts, 3.”

Whole number bias happens when people tend to automatically think about the numerators and denominators of fractions as whole numbers before they process the numbers more deeply to grasp their actual size.

For example, people may mistakenly believe that 1/14 is smaller than 1/15 because 14 is less than 15. That is, they apply what they know about whole numbers to all other numbers, including fractions.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Research has shown that people of all ages can harbor whole number bias – children, college students and even some expert mathematicians.

In one study, community college students were shown a series of two fractions at a time and asked to decide which was larger. In some of these pairs of fractions, the larger one had a bigger numerator but a smaller denominator. So, if shown the two fractions 3/7 and 2/9, the students who answered that 3/7 was larger were correct.

Only 54% of the students who took part in the study answered correctly.

When asked how they decided which fraction was larger, many students said they paid attention to one part of the fraction in isolation, rather than considering the entire ratio. Those who incorrectly answered that 2/9 was larger than 3/7 did so because they compared only the denominators and concluded that 9 was bigger than 7.

That’s because whole number bias – which can manifest as considering only one part of a ratio in isolation – leads to incorrect conclusions about how big numbers are.

Solutions start in school

Why does this matter? Students learn about fractions in school so they can apply this knowledge to the real world.

In daily life, people are presented with numbers, including fractions, and asked to make sense of them. When it comes to health statistics, misinterpreting the size of numbers may lead to negative consequences – such as underestimating the deadliness of COVID-19.

News stories are rife with complex statistics that pertain to the COVID-19 pandemic. Many of these statistics involve ratios, which are hard to understand and disliked.

Further, math anxiety – a feeling of apprehension when it comes to mathematics – leads people to choose to completely avoid, or fail to think deeply about, numbers encountered in everyday life. In our own research across two samples of adults, we found that people with more anxiety about doing math were worse at estimating how big specific fractions were.

Early on in the COVID-19 pandemic, there were several stories that noted that the flu was more deadly than the new coronavirus. President Donald Trump himself made this claim several times.

We believe this confusion persists as the nation struggles to come to terms with calls for more social distancing and orders to stay home to fight the spread of COVID-19. Specifically, the number of deaths or the number of infections of COVID-19 compared to the flu might be mentioned in isolation, rather than the proportion of deaths out of the total population. We believe focusing on total numbers of deaths or numbers of infected people rather than proportions – or fractions – is a reflection of whole number bias.

In another recent example, President Donald Trump claimed that the U.S. tested more people for COVID-19 than anywhere else in the world. While this could be true in terms of absolute numbers, this does not take into consideration population totals and how densely packed the population is in other countries.

Calculating the risk

How big of a risk do we all face?

To figure this out, we believe you should compare the number of COVID-19 deaths to the total number of people infected. Both of these numbers are updated daily by a team of researchers at Johns Hopkins University.

Then, compare this fatality rate with the fatality rates of more familiar illnesses, such as the flu as updated by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Comparing fatality rates

If you want to try to calculate how deadly this pandemic is compared with the flu, you need to divide the number of deaths caused by COVID-19 by the total number of people infected by it. Keep in mind, it’s impossible to know the true denominator, or the total number of infected individuals, in the midst of a pandemic because these numbers change daily, and testing is limited.

We are basing these fatality estimates on data as of April 2. Based on the most up-to-date statistics from Johns Hopkins, the fatality rate for COVID-19 is 5% – 49,236 divided by 965,246 equals 5%. Currently, the flu fatality rate according to the CDC is 0.1% (62,000 divided by 54,000,000 equals 0.1%). Take a moment to digest these calculations. As of the end of March 2020, the fatality rate for COVID-19 is 50 times greater than the fatality rate for the flu – a drastic difference, but one that may change over time as more data become available.

Because of these unknowns, the fatality rate could ultimately be lower than early figures because so many infected people were not immediately tested or officially diagnosed. While it may be too early to tell exactly how much deadlier than the flu COVID-19 will be, some current estimates suggest COVID-19 may be closer to 10 times more deadly. It’s important to note that researchers around the world have found a broad range of estimates for the fatality rate for COVID-19, which remains unclear.

To reduce whole number bias, we recommend that everyone consider whether both the numerator and denominator of a fraction have been reported, or whether one or the other was presented in isolation. This can help people avoid making a whole number bias error.

With the need to make all people take this pandemic seriously, we believe that doing this math right just might save lives.

About The Author

Clarissa A. Thompson, Associate Professor of Cognitive Psychology, Kent State University ; Jennifer Taber, Assistant Professor of Psychological Sciences, Kent State University ; Karin Coifman, Associate Professor of Psychology, Kent State University , and Pooja Sidney, Assistant Professor of Psychology, University of Kentucky

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)