ما يصلح لي: يسأل لماذا

ما يصلح لي: يسأل لماذا
الصورة عن طريق Bessi

إذا كنا هنا ، على الأرض ، لنعيش ، ونحب ، ونصبح من المفترض أن نكون ، فنحن بحاجة إلى النمو والتعلم. وبالنسبة لي ، غالبًا ما يأتي التعلم من فهم "لماذا". لماذا تكون الأشياء كما هي ، ولماذا تحدث الأشياء ، ولماذا الناس هم كما هم ، ولماذا أتصرف بالطريقة التي أفعلها ، ولماذا يتصرف الآخرون بالطريقة التي يتصرفون بها. بمجرد أن أفهم "لماذا" الموقف ، يمكنني عندئذٍ فهم كيف أحتاج إلى الاستجابة الآن وفي المستقبل.

كنت أعيش في ميامي في وقت إعصار أندرو ، أحد أقوى الأعاصير على الإطلاق. بعد بضعة أيام عندما تحدثت إلى العديد من الأشخاص الذين دمرت منازلهم ، أكثر ما سمعته هو أن هذه التجربة قد ذكّرتهم بما هو مهم حقًا. نعم ، لقد تضرر منزلهم بطريقة أو بأخرى ، نعم لقد فقدوا سطحهم ، نعم ، لقد كان الأمر بعيدًا جدًا ، ولكن ما تم حسابه حقًا هو أن أسرهم وأحبائهم كانوا في أمان.

لذلك فهمت أن هذا كان أحد دروس إعصار أندرو. لمساعدة الناس على إدراك ما يهم حقًا في حياتهم. ليست وظيفتهم ، ولا سيارتهم ، ولا منزلهم ، ولا وضعهم ، ولكن المهم هو الأشخاص الذين يحبونهم والذين يحبونهم. تعلم هذه الحقيقة كان ردهم على "لماذا". وكان هناك بالتأكيد دروس أو رسائل أخرى جاءت من تأثير أندرو. لكل واحد منا مسار مختلف وتعاليم ودروس مختلفة.

اذا ها نحن الان...

ها نحن ، بعد أكثر من 30 عامًا ... و "إعصارنا" الجديد يسمى Covid-19.

لذلك ربما يمكن أن يقودنا هذا إلى "لماذا" فيروس كورونا. ما هو هدفها الأعلى؟ وأود أن أقول إن الغرض ، على الرغم من كونه عالميًا ، يمكن أن يكون مختلفًا بشكل خاص لكل واحد منا. فقط كل شخص بمفرده يمكن أن يعرف في داخله ما هو "سبب" هذا الفيروس ، وفي أي حالة.

ربما هو إدراك ما هو مهم حقًا في حياتك. ربما يدرك ما هو غير مهم. أو التواصل مع رغباتك الحقيقية للمستقبل. على المستوى الشخصي ، قد يتفرع ذلك إلى مهنة أو مهنة جديدة. أو إعادة اكتشاف إبداعك وما يجعل قلبك يغني. أو تعلم ما قد تختار تركه. قد تختار التخلي عن المظالم والحقد القديمة. قد تختار التخلي عن شخصية تبنتها ولا تتناسب مع شخصيتك الحقيقية.

يمكن أن يكون وقت العزلة هذا ، حيث تُجبر البشرية كلها على زمن "تراجع شخصي" ، وقت تفكير ، وقت للتواصل مع أنفسنا الحقيقية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


فلماذا يؤثر هذا الفيروس على الكوكب كله؟ ربما يمكننا جميعًا التفكير مليًا في المكان الذي نذهب إليه ... من خلال إجبارنا أولاً على الذهاب إلى أي مكان ، والبقاء في المنزل ، وإعادة إنشاء تجربة جديدة تمامًا لـ "المنزل" ... ثم التفكير في المكان الذي نريد الذهاب إليه من هنا.

لماذا يحدث هذا الآن؟

بشكل عام ، على كوكب الأرض ، كنا "نذهب ، نذهب ، نذهب" أحيانًا ، يبدو أن هدفنا الوحيد هو "الوصول إلى مكان ما ، في أي مكان" والذي يبدو وكأنه نوع من التقدم ... المزيد والمزيد والمزيد. .. وهذا الوقت من "البقاء في المنزل" يمنحنا الفرصة للتوقف ومعرفة ما إذا كنا متجهين إلى أي مكان نريده حقًا.

هل نريد حقًا أن نعمل في العديد من الوظائف "لتغطية نفقاتهم؟" هل نريد حقًا أن نسعى دائمًا للحصول على المزيد من الأشياء ... وظيفة "أفضل" ، سيارة "أفضل" ، منزل "أفضل". يمنحنا هذا الوقت "البطيء" الفرصة للتفكير في ما هو "الأفضل" حقًا ... هل من الأفضل مجرد منافسة مع الجيران ، أو مع زملائنا في العمل؟ أو "أفضل" ما الذي يجلب لنا المزيد من الحب ، والمزيد من الفرح ، والشعور بأن كل شيء على ما يرام في عالمنا وفي قلبنا؟

لا أعتقد أن أي شخص يمكن أن يقول حقًا أن كل شيء على ما يرام في عالمنا ... بعد آلاف السنين من الحروب ، لا تزال موجودة. بعد قرون من الجوع ، لا يزال موجودا. بعد كل هذا الوقت ، لا تزال عدم المساواة والظلم واللاإنسانية موجودة. هل هذا هو العالم الذي نريد العيش فيه؟ هل هذا هو العالم الذي نريد خلقه؟ هل هذا هو أفضل ما يمكننا فعله؟

ربما يوفر لنا Covid-19 فرصة التوقف والتأمل والتساؤل "لماذا" ... لماذا كنا نعيش هكذا؟ لماذا شعرنا بالانفصال عن البشر الآخرين ، عن البلدان والقارات الأخرى ، وحتى عن المقاطعات الأخرى في بلادنا؟

لماذا العالم كما هو؟ لماذا نلوث أمنا الأرض أو كما يقولون في الجيش ، "القرفصاء في مجموعة الفوضى". لماذا ندمر المنزل الذي نعيش فيه؟ لماذا نعيش مع عدم اهتمام بغد الأجيال السبعة المقبلة؟ لماذا ا؟

لقد جعلنا Covid-19 ندرك أننا جميعًا مترابطون. هذا ما يؤثر على شخص ما في الصين أو إيطاليا ، يؤثر علينا في نهاية المطاف أيضًا ، في أي مكان وفي كل مكان على كوكب الأرض. في النهاية ، كما أظهرت لنا شبكة الإنترنت ، نحن جميعًا مترابطون. ومع ذلك ، فهي ليست فقط على المستوى الفكري أو الإعلامي. نحن متصلون عقليًا وجسديًا وحيويًا. نحن واحد. نحن جميعًا معًا في هذا ... على هذا الكوكب ، في هذه العدوى ، في هذا الغزو ، والإصابة لا تتعلق بالفيروس فقط ... إنها غزو ، وكراهية ، وخوف ، وانعدام الحب والرحمة.

إنه ليس عن الماضي ... إنه عن المستقبل

التساؤل عن سبب عدم إلقاء اللوم. نعم ، يتعلق الأمر بإدراك ما أوصلنا إلى حيث نحن ... ولكنه في الغالب حول ما يجب القيام به الآن ، وفي المستقبل ، لتصحيح الوضع الذي نحن فيه. إدراك ما يجب تغييره وكيف.

يدرك الكثيرون في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الآن أهمية الرعاية الصحية للجميع والاستعداد ، من خلال رؤية ما يخلقه نقص كلاهما. في بلدان أخرى ، حيث يحصلون على رعاية صحية للجميع ، يرون أن هناك حالات أخرى تحتاج إلى تجديد ، وتحتاج إلى إصلاح ، ويجب إعادة تقييمها. ولكل دولة ولكل شخص "سبب" خاص به للإجابة والتصالح معه.

هذا هو الوقت المناسب للتساؤل عن كل شيء في حياتنا ، في عالمنا ، والسؤال لماذا ... لماذا نحتاج إلى هذا ، ولماذا نفعل الأشياء بهذه الطريقة ، ولماذا يحتاج هذا إلى التغيير وكيف ...

نظرًا لأن الكثيرين أجبروا على الدخول في موقف "البقاء في المنزل" ، فهذه فرصة رائعة للقيام بالأشياء بشكل مختلف ، والتفكير في ما نريد أن يبدو عليه مستقبلنا ، وما يتعين علينا القيام به حيال ذلك. هذا هو وقت إعادة التجمع ، حتى أثناء انفصالنا. لإيجاد أرضية مشتركة مع إخواننا من البشر ، في أحيائنا وأماكن عملنا وفي جميع أنحاء العالم. هذه فرصة تخلق "واقعًا جديدًا" ، وعالمًا جديدًا ، عالمًا نعترف فيه بوحدتنا ، وترابطنا ، ونعتمد شعار الفرسان الثلاثة: "الكل مقابل واحد ، والعالم للجميع".

كتاب ذات الصلة:

عشوائي أعمال البر
بواسطة Dawna Markova.

أداءاسمه أ الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية اليوم أفضل رهان للمعلمين ، هذا كتاب يشجع النعمة من خلال أصغر الإيماءات. مصدر إلهام لحركة اللطف ، عشوائي أعمال البر هو ترياق لعالم مرهق. قصصها الحقيقية ، واقتباساتها المدروسة ، والاقتراحات الخاصة بالسخاء تلهم القراء على العيش بمزيد من التعاطف في هذه الطبعة الجديدة الجميلة.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب. متاح أيضًا ككتاب مسموع.

المزيد من الكتب ذات الصلة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ماري رسل هو مؤسس مجلة InnerSelf (تأسست 1985). إنها أنتجت أيضا واستضافت الأسبوعية جنوب فلوريدا وبثت الاذاعة، والسلطة الداخلية، من 1992-1995 التي ركزت على موضوعات مثل احترام الذات، ونمو الشخصية، والرفاه. مقالاتها تركز على التحول وإعادة الاتصال مع مصدر لدينا الداخلية الخاصة بها من الفرح والإبداع.

المشاع الإبداعي 3.0: تم ترخيص هذا المقال بموجب ترخيص Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0. صف المؤلف: ماري T. راسل ، InnerSelf.com. رابط العودة إلى المادة: ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على InnerSelf.com

أيضا من المحررين

التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للعزلة الاجتماعية

ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.) استمر

إعلان خدمة بلوتو

روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية. استمر

الجانب الخفيف من التحليل النفسي لأرنب عيد الفصح

ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في InnerSelf ، نشجع الاستبطان ، وبالتالي كان من دواعي سرورنا أن نرى أنه حتى أرنب عيد الفصح قد طلب المساعدة في فهم عاداته وإكراهاته. استمر

ترك راندي قمع غضبي

روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد. استمر

ماريان ويليامسون تعكس جائحة فيروس كورونا

ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
تأملات ماريان ويليامسون حول جائحة فيروس كورونا الحالي في 31 مارس 2020. استمر

كارول كينغ - التكيف مع 2020

ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
نشرت كارول كينغ ، المغنية وكاتبة الأغاني المحبوبة ، مقطع فيديو قصيرًا على الإنترنت مؤخرًا ، تكيفًا لأغنيتها So Far Away. استمر

3 طرق تصحيح الوضعية لكثير من وقت الشاشة

ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، نقضي جميعًا وقتًا طويلاً أمام الشاشة ... سواء في المنزل أو في العمل أو حتى في اللعب. غالبًا ما يتسبب هذا في تشويه وضعنا الذي يؤدي بعد ذلك إلى مشاكل في أجسامنا تؤدي إلى الانزعاج والألم. استمر

اغنية اغسل اليدين

ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد سمعناها عدة مرات في الأسابيع القليلة الماضية ... اغسل يديك لمدة 20 ثانية على الأقل. حسنا ، واحد واثنان وثلاثة ... بالنسبة لنا الذين يواجهون صعوبة في التوقيت ، أو ربما ADD قليلاً ، قيل لنا أن نغني عيد ميلاد سعيد مرتين ، أثناء غسل أيدينا. استمر

الفيزيائي والنفس الداخلية

ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد قرأت للتو مقالة رائعة كتبها ألان لايتمان ، الكاتب والفيزيائي الذي يدرس في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا. آلان هو مؤلف كتاب "In Praise of Wasting Time". أجد أنه من الملهم العثور على العلماء والفيزيائيين يتحدثون ويكتبون عن موضوعات ذات صلة بـ "الذات الداخلية". استمر

مدينة الأشباح: Flyovers of Cities on COVID-19 Lockdown

روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
أرسلنا طائرات بدون طيار في نيويورك ولوس أنجلوس وسان فرانسيسكو وسياتل لنرى كيف تغيرت المدن منذ إغلاق COVID-19. استمر

نحن جميعًا في المنزل ... على كوكب الأرض

ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
خلال الأوقات الصعبة ، وربما في الغالب خلال الأوقات الصعبة ، نحتاج إلى أن نتذكر أن "هذا سوف يمر أيضًا" وأنه في كل مشكلة أو أزمة ، هناك شيء يمكن تعلمه ، خطوة أخرى يجب اتخاذها على سلم تعلم الحياة. نشهد جميعًا "التعليم المنزلي" هنا في المنزل على كوكب الأرض ، مع ... استمر

مراقبة الصحة في الوقت الحقيقي

روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يبدو لي أن هذه العملية مهمة جدًا للمضي قدمًا. إلى جانب الأجهزة الأخرى ، أصبح بإمكاننا الآن مراقبة صحة الأشخاص عن بُعد في الوقت الفعلي. استمر

لعبة تغيير اختبار الأجسام المضادة الرخيصة المرسلة للتحقق من صحتها في مكافحة الفيروسات التاجية

أليستر سموت وأندرو ماكاسكيل
لندن (رويترز) - بدأت شركة بريطانية وراء اختبار الأجسام المضادة لفيروس كورونا لمدة 10 دقائق ، والذي سيكلف نحو دولار واحد ، في إرسال نماذج أولية إلى المختبرات للتحقق من صحتها ، الأمر الذي قد يغير قواعد اللعبة في مكافحة الوباء. استمر

ربما يعجبك أيضا

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تولي مسؤولية صحتنا: تجسيد الوعي 5D
تولي مسؤولية صحتنا: تجسيد الوعي 5D
by جوديث كورفين بلاكبيرن
التباطؤ والاستيقاظ على الأرض
التباطؤ والاستيقاظ على الأرض
by إليزابيث إي ميتشام ، دكتوراه

من المحررين

التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للعزلة الاجتماعية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)
ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.
الجانب الخفيف من التحليل النفسي لأرنب عيد الفصح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في InnerSelf ، نشجع الاستبطان ، وبالتالي كان من دواعي سرورنا أن نرى أنه حتى أرنب عيد الفصح قد طلب المساعدة في فهم عاداته وإكراهاته.
ماريان ويليامسون تعكس جائحة فيروس كورونا
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
تأملات ماريان ويليامسون حول جائحة فيروس كورونا الحالي في 31 مارس 2020.

What Works For Me: Asking Why

What Works For Me: Asking Why
Image by Bessi

If we are here, on Earth, to live, to love, and to become who we are meant to be, then we need to grow and to learn. And, for me, learning often comes from understanding "why". Why things are the way they are, why things happen, why people are the way they are, why I act the way I do, why other people act the way they do. Once I understand the "why" of a situation, I can then understand how I need to respond both now and in the future.

I was living in Miami at the time of Hurricane Andrew, one of the most powerful hurricanes ever. A few days later when I spoke to many people whose homes had been devastated, what I heard the most is that this experience had reminded them of what was truly important. Yes, their house had been damaged in one way or another, yes they had lost their roof, yes, it was going to be a long way back, but what really counted was that their family and loved ones were safe.

So I understood that this was one of the lessons of Hurricane Andrew. To help people realize what really mattered in their lives. Not their job, not their car, not their house, not their status, but what mattered was the people they loved and who loved them. Learning this truth was their answer to "why". And there were surely other lessons or messages that came from the impact of Andrew. Each one of us has a different path, and different teachings and lessons.

So Here We Are Now...

So here we are, over 30 years later... and our new "hurricane" is called Covid-19.

So perhaps this can lead us to the "why" of the Corona virus. What is its higher purpose? And I would say that the purpose, while global, can also be specifically different for each one of us. Only each person individually can know in their inner being what their "why" is for this virus, and in any situation.

Perhaps it is realizing what is truly important in your life. Perhaps it is realizing what is not important. Or getting in touch with your true desires for the future. On a personal level, that may be branching out into a new occupation or career. Or rediscovering your creativity and what makes your heart sing. Or learning what you might choose to let go of. You may choose to let go of old grievances and grudges. You may choose to let go of a persona you've adopted and that doesn't fit who you really are.

This time of seclusion, where the whole of humankind is being forced into a time of "personal retreat", can be a time of reflection, a time of getting back in touch with our true selves.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


So why is this virus affecting the whole planet? Perhaps so we can all reflect on where we are going... by first being forced to go nowhere, to stay home, and to recreate a whole new experience of "home"...And then to reflect on where we want to go from here.

Why Is This Happening Now?

As a whole, on planet Earth, we've been "going, going, going" sometimes, it seems, with our only purpose "getting somewhere, anywhere" which feels like some kind of progress... more, more, more... And this time of "staying home" is giving us the opportunity to stop and see if we are headed anywhere we truly want to be.

Do we really want to be working several jobs "to make ends meet?" Do we really want to be always striving for more things... a "better" job, a "better" car, a "better" home. This "slow-down" time gives us the opportunity to reflect on what "better" truly is... Is better just a competition with the neighbors, or with our co-workers? Or is "better" what brings us more love, more joy, more feeling like everything is right in our world and in our heart?

I don't think anyone can truly say that everything is right in our world... after millennia of wars, they still exist. After centuries of hunger, it still exists. After all this time, inequality, injustice, inhumanity, still exist. Is this the world we want to live in? Is this the world we want to create? Is this the best we can do?

Perhaps Covid-19 is bringing us the chance to pause, to reflect, and to ask "why"... why have we been living like this? Why have we felt so separate from other humans, from other countries and continents, and even from other counties in our own country?

Why is the world the way it is? Why are we polluting our Mother Earth or as they say in the military, "shitting in our mess kit". Why are we ruining the very home we live in? Why are we living with no concern for the tomorrow of the seven future generations? Why?

Covid-19 has brought us to realize that we are all connected. That what affects someone in China or in Italy, ultimately affects us as well, anywhere and everywhere on Planet Earth. Ultimately, as the internet has shown us, we are all connected. However, it is not just on an intellectual or informational level. We are connected viscerally, physically, and energetically. We are ONE. We are all together in this... on this planet, in this infection, in this infestation.And the infestation is not just about the virus... it is an infestation of anger, of hatred, of fear, of lack of love and compassion.

It's Not About the Past... It's About the Future

Asking why is not about blame. Yes, it is about realizing what brought us to where we are... but it's mostly about what needs to be done now, and in the future, to rectify the situation we are in. Realizing what needs to change and how.

So many in the USA are now realizing the importance of health care for everyone and of preparedness, by seeing what the lack of both is creating. In other countries, where they do have health care for all, they are seeing that there are other situations that need revamping, that need fixing, that need to be re-evaluated. And each country and each person has their own "why" to answer and to come to terms with.

This is a good time to question everything in our life, in our world, and ask why... why do we need this, why are we doing things this way, why does this need to change and how...

Since many have been forced into a "stay at home" situation, this is a wonderful opportunity to do things differently, to reflect on what we want our future to look like, and what we need to do about it. This is a time to regroup, even while we are separated. To find common ground with our fellow humans, both in our neighborhoods, our workplaces, and worldwide. This is an opportunity create a "new reality", a new world, one where we recognize our oneness, our connectedness, and adopt the Three Musketeers motto: "All for one, and one for all".

Related Book:

Random Acts of Kindness
by Dawna Markova.

performanceNamed a USA Today Best Bet for Educators, this is a book that encourages grace through the smallest gestures. The inspiration for the kindness movement, Random Acts of Kindness is an antidote for a weary world. Its true stories, thoughtful quotations, and suggestions for generosity inspire readers to live more compassionately in this beautiful new edition.

Info/Order this book. Also available as an audiobook.

More Related Books

 

About The Author

Marie T. Russell is the founder of InnerSelf Magazine (founded 1985). She also produced and hosted a weekly South Florida radio broadcast, Inner Power, from 1992-1995 which focused on themes such as self-esteem, personal growth, and well-being. Her articles focus on transformation and reconnecting with our own inner source of joy and creativity.

Creative Commons 3.0: This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 License. Attribute the author: Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com. Link back to the article: This article originally appeared on InnerSelf.com

Also From The Editors

A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul

Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that lets my spirit soar is music and dancing. Continue

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser

Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct or indirect result. How much is that worth? It didn't have to be this way. Continue

Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation

Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.) Continue

Pluto Service Announcement

Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(updated 4/15/2020) Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self. Continue

The Light Side of the Psychoanalysis of the Easter Bunny

Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
At InnerSelf we encourage introspection, thus were pleased to see that even the Easter Bunny had sought help in understanding his (her?) habits and compulsions. Continue

Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness

Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out. Continue

Marianne Williamson Reflects on the Coronavirus Pandemic

Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Reflections by Marianne Williamson on the current coronavirus pandemic on March 31, 2020. Continue

Carole King - So Far Away 2020 Adaptation

Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Carole King, beloved singer and songwriter posted a short video online recently, an adaptation of her song So Far Away. Continue

3 Posture Correction Methods For Too Much Screen Time

Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In the 21st century, we all spend a ot of time in front of a screen... whether at home, at work, or even at play. What this often does is cause a distortion of our posture that then leads to problems in our body leading to discomfort and pain. Continue

The Hand Washing Song

Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
We all heard it many times in the past few weeks... wash your hands for at least 20 seconds. OK, one and two and three... For those of us who are timing-challenged, or perhaps slightly ADD, we've been told to sing Happy Birthday twice, while washing our hands. Continue

The Physicist and The Inner Self

Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I just read a wonderful article by Alan Lightman, a writer and physicist who teaches at MIT. Alan is the author of "In Praise of Wasting Time". I find it inspiring to find scientists and physicists speaking and writing about "inner self" related topics. Continue

Ghost Town: Flyovers of Cities on COVID-19 Lockdown

Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
We sent drones out in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Seattle to see how the cities have changed since the COVID-19 lockdown. Continue

We're All Being Home-Schooled... on Planet Earth

Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
During challenging times, and probably mostly during challenging times, we need to remember that "this too shall pass" and that in every problem or crisis, there is something to be learned, another step to be taken on the ladder of life's learning. We are all experiencing "homeschooling" here at home on Planet Earth, with… Continue
enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(updated 4/15/2020) Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.