Warum wir uns besser um Narzisstiker kümmern müssen

Warum wir uns besser um Narzisstiker kümmern müssen
Shutterstock / Einfach tanzen

Narzisstinnen bekommen wie Haie eine schlechte Presse. Beides gilt allgemein als bedrohlich, negative Kräfte, die zu befürchten und zu vermeiden sind.

Aber wie jeder Biologe Ihnen sagen wird, spielen Haie eine entscheidende Rolle im marinen Ökosystem. Und es kann sein, dass NarzisstInnen auch eine notwendige Rolle in der menschlichen Gesellschaft spielen.

Dies widerspricht natürlich der allgemein akzeptierten Wahrnehmung von Persönlichkeitsmerkmalen - dass es gut ist, einverstanden und aufgeschlossen zu sein und schlecht, narzisstisch zu sein.

Schließlich sind narzisstische Menschen risikoreich, unrealistisch überlegen, übermütig, zeigen wenig Empathie für andere und haben wenig Scham oder Schuldgefühle. Aber wenn Narzissmus so sozial toxisch ist, warum bleibt er bestehen und warum ist er es? es soll sein auf dem Vormarsch in modernen Gesellschaften?

Die Antwort ist, dass die menschliche Natur komplex ist. Und während Narzissmus oft mit „dunklen Zügen“ wie Psychopathie und Sadismus assoziiert wird, ist es so hat auch Aspekte die allgemein als positiv eingestuft werden, wie Extroversion und Selbstvertrauen.

Damit meine ich nicht, die schlimmsten Beispiele narzisstischen Verhaltens zu verteidigen oder zu entschuldigen. Stattdessen möchte ich die potenziell nützlichen Elemente hervorheben, die es der Gesellschaft ermöglichen könnten, das positive Potenzial „dunkler“ Persönlichkeiten zu nutzen und gleichzeitig ihr Schadenspotenzial einzuschränken.

Die beste Art von Narzisst

Es gibt zwei Haupttypen von Narzissmus: "grandios" und "verletzlich". Verletzliche NarzisstInnen sind wahrscheinlich defensiver und betrachten das Verhalten anderer als feindselig, wohingegen grandiose NarzisstInnen normalerweise ein überhöhtes Gefühl für Wichtigkeit und eine Beschäftigung mit Status und Macht haben.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Die Ergebnisse aus unseren Studien zeigen, dass grandioser Narzissmus korreliert mit sehr positiven Komponenten der mentalen Zähigkeit. Dazu gehören Vertrauen und die Konzentration auf das Erreichen von Zielen, die zum Schutz vor Depressions- und Stresssymptomen beitragen.

Der Zusammenhang zwischen Narzissmus und geistiger Härte kann helfen, die unterschiedlichen Symptome einer Depression in der Gesellschaft zu erklären. Wenn eine Person geistig schwieriger ist, nimmt sie Herausforderungen eher direkt an, als sie als Hürde zu betrachten.

Warum wir uns besser um Narzisstiker kümmern müssen
Eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Shutterstock / Ken Kiefer

Obwohl nicht alle Dimensionen des Narzissmus gut sind, können bestimmte Aspekte zu positiven Ergebnissen führen. Und ein bisschen Narzissmus kann in Stresssituationen ein nützliches Mittel sein, um die zusätzliche mentale Härte zu erreichen, die wir brauchen.

Es ist ein bisschen so, als ob die Fähigkeit zum Laufen beim Gehen nicht ausreicht. Die Idee ist, dass Menschen flexibel sein müssen. Sie müssen laufen, wenn dies alles ist, aber laufen, wenn dies erforderlich ist. Ebenso ist die Fähigkeit, ein wenig Narzissmus in einer gesellschaftlichen oder beruflichen Herausforderung einzusetzen, eine nützliche Fähigkeit.

Eine Brücke zur anderen Seite

Jüngste Studien ab unser Labor schlägt vor, dass der Narzissmus als Brücke zwischen der „dunklen“ (unsozialen) und der „hellen“ (pro-sozialen) Seite der menschlichen Persönlichkeit fungieren könnte. Einfach gesagt, können Einzelpersonen diese Brücke überqueren, um ihre dunklen Eigenschaften in einer herausfordernden Situation und ihre pro-sozialen Eigenschaften in einer sicheren Umgebung zu nutzen.

Unsere Arbeit schlägt vor, die menschliche Persönlichkeit nicht als Dichotomie (narzisstisch versus angenehm) zu betrachten, sondern als ein sich ständig veränderndes Spektrum zu behandeln.

Es geht nicht darum, Grandiosität über gesundes Selbstwertgefühl und Bescheidenheit zu fördern. Stattdessen geht es darum, die Vielfalt von Menschen und Ideen zu fördern, indem dafür eingetreten wird, dass dunkle Züge wie Narzissmus nicht als gut oder schlecht angesehen werden sollten. Sie sind Produkte der Evolution und Ausdrucksformen der menschlichen Natur, die je nach Kontext nützlich oder schädlich sein können.

Dies kann dazu beitragen, die Marginalisierung von Personen zu verringern, die hohe Werte für dunkle Merkmale erzielen, und herauszufinden, wie bestimmte Erscheinungsformen dieser Merkmale am besten kultiviert werden können, während andere für das kollektive Wohl entmutigt werden.

Es ist zu simpel zu sagen, dass Persönlichkeitsmerkmale wie der Narzissmus, die zur Stärkung des Einzelnen beitragen, sozial toxisch sind. Menschen versuchen sich anzupassen, zu überleben und in einem sozialen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Umfeld erfolgreich zu sein, das den „selbst gemachten Mann oder die selbst gemachte Frau“ fördert, und wenn sie antagonistische Eigenschaften wie Narzissmus aufweisen, werden sie negativ wahrgenommen. Dennoch kann grandioser Narzissmus der Schlüssel sein, um Individuen vor solch unnötigem Druck zu schützen.

Ich glaube auch nicht, dass es Menschen gibt, die ohne Narzissmus leben. Wie bei anderen psychologischen Merkmalen ist es in einem Spektrum vorhanden, bei dem einige Personen höhere Punkte erzielen als andere.

Anderswo in der natürlichen Welt hat die menschliche Angst und das Misstrauen gegenüber Haien zu einer weit verbreiteten Haltung von „uns“ gegenüber „ihnen“ geführt. Nach dem Film Rachen wurde veröffentlicht, nach einem Naturschützer Es gab einen „kollektiven Testosteronrausch“, der dazu führte, dass Tausende von Anglern Haie vor der amerikanischen Küste anvisierten und töteten.

Die Haizahlen sind dramatisch gesunken (um bis zu 92%) im letzten halben Jahrhundert. Gerade als wir die Bedeutung der Haie für das marine Ökosystem zu verstehen beginnen, sind uns die Haie ausgegangen, um sie zu untersuchen.

Wir sollten nicht zulassen, dass NarzisstInnen in ähnlicher Weise an den Rand gedrängt werden, nur weil wir sie nicht verstehen. Anstatt Teile unserer Persönlichkeit zu verteufeln, müssen wir all ihre Aspekte feiern - und herausfinden, wie wir sie am besten nutzen können, zum eigenen Vorteil und zum Nutzen der Gesellschaft.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Kostas Papageorgiou, Dozent für Psychologie, Queens University Belfast

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why We Need To Take Better Care Of Narcissists

Why We Need To Take Better Care Of Narcissists
Shutterstock/Just dance

Narcissists, like sharks, get a bad press. Both are generally seen as menacing, negative forces to be feared and avoided.

But as any biologist will tell you, sharks play a vital role in the marine ecosystem. And it may be that narcissists also have a necessary part to play in human society.

This of course, goes against the widely accepted perception of personality traits – that it is good to be agreeable and outgoing, and bad to be narcissistic.

After all, narcissistic people engage in risky behaviour, hold an unrealistic superior view of themselves, are overconfident, show little empathy for others, and have little shame or guilt. But if narcissism is so socially toxic, why does it persist and why is it said to be on the rise in modern societies?

The answer is that human nature is complex. And while narcissism is often associated with “dark traits” like psychopathy and sadism, it also has aspects which are widely considered to be positive, such as extroversion and confidence.

In saying this, I do not mean to defend or excuse the worst examples of narcissistic behaviour. Instead, I want to highlight the potentially beneficial elements – which could then enable society to harness the positive potential of “dark” personalities while also curtailing their potential for harm.

The best kind of narcissist

There are two main types of narcissism: “grandiose” and “vulnerable”. Vulnerable narcissists are likely to be more defensive and view the behaviour of others as hostile, whereas grandiose narcissists usually have an over inflated sense of importance and a preoccupation with status and power.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The results from our studies show that grandiose narcissism correlates with highly positive components of mental toughness. These include confidence and a focus on achieving goals, which help protect against symptoms of depression and stress.

The association between narcissism and mental toughness may help to explain the variation in symptoms of depression in society. If a person is more mentally tough, they are likely to embrace challenges head on, rather than viewing them as a hurdle.

Why We Need To Take Better Care Of Narcissists
Playing a vital role. Shutterstock/Ken Kiefer

So while not all dimensions of narcissism are good, certain aspects can lead to positive outcomes. And a little bit of narcissism can be a useful tool when faced with stressful situations, providing that extra bit of mental toughness we need to get through.

It’s a bit like having the ability to run when walking is not enough. The idea is that people need to be flexible. They need to walk when that’s all that is required, but run when that’s what’s necessary. Likewise, the ability to call on a little bit of narcissism when faced with a challenge, socially or professionally, is a useful skill.

A bridge to the other side

Recent research from our lab suggests that narcissism may act as a bridge connecting the “dark” (anti-social) and “light” (pro-social) sides of the human personality. Put simply, individuals can cross that bridge to use their dark traits when facing a challenge, and pro-social characteristics when in a safe environment.

Our work suggests that instead of perceiving human personality as a dichotomy (narcissistic versus agreeable) we should treat it as a constantly changing spectrum.

It is not about promoting grandiosity over healthy self-esteem and modesty. Instead it is about promoting diversity of people and ideas by advocating that dark traits, such as narcissism, should not be seen as either good or bad. They are products of evolution, and expressions of human nature that may be beneficial or harmful depending on the context.

This may help to reduce the marginalisation of individuals that score high on dark traits, and work out how best to cultivate some manifestations of these traits, while discouraging others, for the collective good.

It is too simplistic to say that personality traits like narcissism, which help individual empowerment, are socially toxic. People are trying to adapt, survive and succeed in a social, political and economic environment that promotes the “self-made man or woman”, and if they exhibit antagonistic traits such as narcissism they receive negative attention. Yet grandiose narcissism may be the key to protecting individuals from such needless pressure.

Nor do I think there are individuals who live without narcissism. In common with other psychological traits, it exists on a spectrum, with some individuals scoring higher than others.

Elsewhere in the natural world, a human fear and distrust of sharks has led to widespread attitude of “us” versus “them”. After the movie Jaws was released, according to one conservationist there was a “collective testosterone rush” which led to thousands of anglers targeting and killing sharks off the American coast.

Shark numbers have dropped dramatically (by up to 92%) in the past half century. So just as we are starting to understand the importance of sharks for the marine ecosystem, we have run out of sharks to study.

We should not let narcissists be similarly marginalised just because we don’t understand them. Instead of demonising parts of our personality, we need to celebrate all of its aspects – and work out how best to use them, for our own benefit and the benefit of society.The Conversation

About the Author

Kostas Papageorgiou, Lecturer in Psychology, Queen's University Belfast

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Animal Perspectives on the Corona Virus
by Nancy Windheart
In this post, I share a few of the communications and transmissions from some of the non-human wisdom teachers I’ve connected with about our global situation, and in particular, the crucible of the…
The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…