عصر الانفصال: قصة الشعب

04 27 عصر الانفصال قصة الناس

أشعر أحيانًا بالحنين إلى الأساطير الثقافية لشبابي ، وهو عالم لم يكن فيه أي خطأ في موسيقى البوب ​​الصودا ، حيث كان Super Bowl مهمًا ، حيث كانت أمريكا تجلب الديمقراطية للعالم ، حيث يمكن للطبيب إصلاحك ، في أي علم كان من شأنه أن يجعل الحياة أفضل وأفضل ، وأنها وضعت للتو رجل على سطح القمر.

الحياة منطقية. إذا كنت تعمل بجد ، فيمكنك الحصول على درجات جيدة ، أو الالتحاق بكلية جيدة ، أو الذهاب إلى مدرسة التخرج أو اتباع مسار احترافي آخر ، وستكون سعيدًا. مع بعض الاستثناءات المؤسفة ، ستكون ناجحًا إذا كنت تطيع قواعد مجتمعنا: إذا اتبعت أحدث النصائح الطبية ، وأبقيت على اطلاع بقراءة New York Times ، وحصلت على تعليم جيد ، وطاع القانون ، وقمت باستثمارات حكيمة ، و بقي بعيدا عن الأشياء السيئة مثل المخدرات. بالتأكيد كانت هناك مشاكل ، ولكن العلماء والخبراء كانوا يعملون بجد لإصلاحها. قريبا تقدم طبي جديد ، قانون جديد ، تقنية تعليمية جديدة ، من شأنه أن يدفع إلى تحسين الحياة.

قصة الشعب

كانت تصورات طفولتي جزءًا من رواية أسميها "قصة الشعب" ، حيث كان من المقدر للبشرية أن تخلق عالماً كاملاً من خلال العلم والعقل والتكنولوجيا: لغزو الطبيعة ، وتجاوز أصولنا الحيوانية ، ومهندس مجتمع عقلاني.

من وجهة نظري ، بدا أن الأساس الأساسي لهذه القصة لا جدال فيه. تثقيفي ، ووسائل الإعلام ، والأهم من ذلك كله في الحياة الطبيعية الروتينية حولي تتآمر ليقول ، "كل شيء على ما يرام".

اليوم أصبح من الواضح بشكل متزايد أن هذا كان عالم فقاعات مبني فوق معاناة إنسانية هائلة وتدهور بيئي ، ولكن في ذلك الوقت كان يمكن للمرء أن يعيش داخل تلك الفقاعة دون الحاجة إلى الكثير من خداع الذات. كانت القصة التي أحاطت بنا قوية. احتفظ بسهولة نقاط البيانات الشاذ على الهوامش.

كان هناك شيء خاطئ مع تلك القصة

ومع ذلك ، شعرت (مثل كثيرين آخرين) بوجود خطأ في العالم ، وهو خطأ تسرب خلال شقوق طفولتي المتميزة والمعزولة. لم أقبل أبدًا ما تم عرضه بشكل طبيعي. كنت أعلم أنه كان من المفترض أن تكون الحياة أكثر سعادة من هذا ، أكثر واقعية وأكثر جدوى ، وكان من المفترض أن يكون العالم أكثر جمالا.

لم يكن من المفترض أن نكره الاثنين ونعيش في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع والأعياد. لم يكن من المفترض أن نرفع أيدينا حتى يُسمح لها بالتبول. لم يكن من المفترض أن نبقى في منازلنا في يوم جميل ، يومًا بعد يوم. ومع اتساع آفاقي ، عرفت أنه لا يُفترض أن الملايين يتضورون جوعًا ، وأن الأسلحة النووية لم يكن من المفترض أن تكون معلقة فوق رؤوسنا ، وأن الغابات المطيرة لم يكن من المفترض أن تتقلص ، أو أن الأسماك تموت ، أو الكندور والنسور تختفي.

لم أستطع أن أتقبل الطريقة التي تعاملت بها الرواية السائدة في ثقافتي مع هذه الأمور: كمشاكل مجزأة يتعين حلها ، كحقائق مؤسفة للحياة ، أو كموضوعات محظورة لا يمكن تجاهلها.

كلنا نعرف أفضل

على مستوى ما ، كلنا نعرف أفضل. نادراً ما تجد هذه المعرفة التعبير الواضح ، لذلك بدلاً من ذلك نعبر عنها بشكل غير مباشر من خلال التمرد السري والعلني. الإدمان ، التخريب الذاتي ، المماطلة ، الكسل ، الغضب ، التعب المزمن ، والاكتئاب كلها طرق تمنعنا من المشاركة الكاملة في برنامج الحياة الذي نقدمه لنا. عندما لا يستطيع العقل الواعي إيجاد سبب ليقول لا ، لا يقول اللاوعي بطريقته الخاصة. أكثر منا لا يستطيعون تحمل البقاء في "العمر الطبيعي" لفترة أطول.

هذه القصة الطبيعية تنهار على مستوى نظامي أيضًا. نحن نعيش اليوم في لحظة "الانتقال بين العالمين". المؤسسات التي حملتنا على مر القرون فقدت حيويتها ؛ فقط مع زيادة الوهم الذاتي يمكن أن ندعي أنها مستدامة.

لم تعد أنظمتنا من المال والسياسة والطاقة والدواء والتعليم وغير ذلك تقدم الفوائد التي كانت ذات يوم (أو بدا أنها). وعدهم الطوباوي ، الملهم منذ قرن ، يتراجع أكثر كل عام. ملايين منا يعرفون ذلك ؛ أكثر وأكثر ، بالكاد نزعج التظاهر بطريقة أخرى. ومع ذلك يبدو أننا عاجزون عن التغيير ، ولا حول ولا قوة حتى نتوقف عن المشاركة في اندفاع الحضارة الصناعية فوق الهاوية.

دعوة اليقظة

لقد عرضت في عملي السابق إعادة صياغة هذه العملية ، ورؤية التطور الثقافي الإنساني كقصة للنمو ، تليها الأزمة ، تليها الانهيار ، تليها النهضة: ظهور نوع جديد من الحضارة ، عصر إعادة التوحيد إلى اتبع عصر الانفصال. ربما يحدث تغيير عميق فقط من خلال الانهيار. بالتأكيد هذا صحيح بالنسبة للكثيرين على المستوى الشخصي.

قد تعلم ، فكريا ، أن نمط حياتك غير مستدام وعليك تغيير طرقك. "نعم نعم. أعلم أنني يجب أن أتوقف عن التدخين. البدء في ممارسة الرياضة. توقف عن الشراء بالائتمان ". ولكن كم مرة يتغير أي شخص دون دعوة للاستيقاظ ، أو في كثير من الأحيان ، سلسلة من مكالمات الاستيقاظ؟ بعد كل شيء ، هي جزء لا يتجزأ من عاداتنا بطريقة تشمل جميع جوانب الحياة. ومن هنا يقول "لا يمكنك تغيير شيء واحد دون تغيير كل شيء".

على المستوى الجماعي نفسه صحيح. بينما نستيقظ على الترابط بين جميع أنظمتنا ، نرى أنه لا يمكننا تغيير ، على سبيل المثال ، تقنيات الطاقة لدينا دون تغيير النظام الاقتصادي الذي يدعمها. نتعلم كذلك أن جميع مؤسساتنا الخارجية تعكس تصوراتنا الأساسية عن العالم ، وأيديولوجياتنا غير المرئية وأنظمة عقيدتنا. بهذا المعنى ، يمكننا أن نقول أن الأزمة البيئية - مثل كل أزماتنا - هي أزمة روحية. أعني بذلك أن الأمر يمضي على طول الطريق ، ويشمل جميع جوانب إنسانيتنا.

وما هو بالضبط في القاع؟

في أسفل حضارتنا تكمن قصة ، والأساطير. أسميها "قصة العالم أو قصة الناس" - مصفوفة من الروايات والاتفاقيات والأنظمة الرمزية التي تشتمل على الإجابات التي تقدمها ثقافتنا لأسئلة الحياة الأساسية:

من أنا؟

لماذا تحدث الأشياء؟

ماهو المغزى من الحياة؟

ما هي الطبيعة البشرية؟

ما هو مقدس؟

من نحن كشعب؟

من أين أتينا ومن أين نحن ذاهبون؟

الإجابات على هذه الأسئلة تعتمد ثقافياً ، لكنها تغمرنا تمامًا إلى درجة أننا رأيناها حقيقة واقعة.

تحول دور الإنسانية على كوكب الأرض

هذه الإجابات تتغير اليوم ، إلى جانب كل شيء تم بناؤه فوقها - مما يعني في الأساس حضارتنا بأكملها. هذا هو السبب في أننا في بعض الأحيان نشعر بشعور شديد بأن العالم كله ينهار. عند رؤية فراغ ما كان يبدو يومًا ما حقيقيًا وعمليًا ودائمًا ، فإننا نقف كما لو كنا في الهاوية. ماذا بعد؟ من أنا؟ ما هو المهم؟ ما هو الغرض من حياتي؟ كيف يمكنني أن أكون وكيل فعال للشفاء؟ الإجابات القديمة تتلاشى حيث تتداعى قصة الناس الذين أجابوا عليها من حولنا.

هذا الكتاب هو دليل من القصة القديمة ، عبر المساحة الفارغة بين القصص ، وإلى قصة جديدة. إنه يخاطب القارئ كموضوع لهذا الانتقال شخصيًا وكعامل انتقالي - بالنسبة للأشخاص الآخرين ومجتمعنا وكوكبنا.

مثل الأزمة ، فإن الانتقال الذي نواجهه يذهب إلى النهاية. داخليا ، ليس أقل من تحول في تجربة البقاء على قيد الحياة. خارجيا ، ليس أقل من تحول دور البشرية على كوكب الأرض.

مقتبسة بإذن من الفصل 1:
العالم أكثر جمالا قلوبنا يعرف ممكن.

المادة المصدر

العالم أكثر جمالا قلوبنا يعرف ممكن
من جانب تشارلز ايزنشتاين

العالم الأكثر جمالا قلوبنا يعرف ممكن بواسطة تشارلز ايزنشتاينفي وقت الأزمة الاجتماعية والبيئية ، ماذا يمكننا أن نفعل كأفراد لجعل العالم مكانًا أفضل؟ هذا الكتاب الملهم والمثير للتفكير يخدم كمضاد تقويمي للسخرية والإحباط والشلل ويطغى على الكثير منا يشعر به ، ليحل محل ذلك تذكيرًا حقيقيًا لما هو صحيح: كلنا مرتبطون ، وخياراتنا الشخصية الصغيرة تحمل الطاقة التحويلية لم تكن متصورة. من خلال تبني وممارسة مبدأ الترابط هذا - الذي يطلق عليه interbeing - أصبحنا أكثر فاعلية للتغيير ولدينا تأثير إيجابي أقوى على العالم.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب و / أو قم بتنزيل نسخة Kindle.

عن المؤلف

تشارلز أيزنشتاينتشارلز ايزنشتاين هو متحدث وكاتب يركز على مواضيع الحضارة والوعي والمال والتطور الثقافي البشري. وقد أثبتت أفلامه القصيرة الفيروسية والمقالات التي نشرها على الإنترنت أنه فيلسوف اجتماعي يتحدى النوع الاجتماعي والمثقف المعادي للأدوار. تخرج تشارلز من جامعة ييل في 1989 وحصل على درجة في الرياضيات والفلسفة وأمضى السنوات العشر التالية كمترجم صيني-إنجليزي. وهو مؤلف العديد من الكتب ، بما في ذلك الاقتصاد المقدسة و صعود الإنسانية. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في charleseisenstein.net

قراءة المزيد من المقالات التي كتبها تشارلز ايزنشتاين. زيارة له صفحة المؤلف.

فيديو مع تشارلز: قصة جديدة للشعب

كتب ذات صلة

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = "1623172489". maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = "1583945350". maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = "0977622215". maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
by يوهانا ليسيو ، دكتوراه

The Age of Separation: The Story of the People

04 27 the age of separation the story of the people

Sometimes I feel nostalgic for the cultural mythology of my youth, a world in which there was nothing wrong with soda pop, in which the Super Bowl was important, in which America was bringing democracy to the world, in which the doctor could fix you, in which science was going to make life better and better, and they just put a man on the moon.

Life made sense. If you worked hard you could get good grades, get into a good college, go to grad school or follow some other professional path, and you would be happy. With a few unfortunate exceptions, you would be successful if you obeyed the rules of our society: if you followed the latest medical advice, kept informed by reading the New York Times, got a good education, obeyed the law, made prudent investments, and stayed away from Bad Things like drugs. Sure there were problems, but the scientists and experts were working hard to fix them. Soon a new medical advance, a new law, a new educational technique, would propel the onward improvement of life.

The Story of the People

My childhood perceptions were part of a narrative I call the Story of the People, in which humanity was destined to create a perfect world through science, reason, and technology: to conquer nature, transcend our animal origins, and engineer a rational society.

From my vantage point, the basic premises of this story seemed unquestionable. My education, the media, and most of all the normality of the routines around me conspired to say, “Everything is fine.”

Today it is increasingly obvious that this was a bubble world built atop massive human suffering and environmental degradation, but at the time one could live within that bubble without need of much self-deception. The story that surrounded us was robust. It easily kept anomalous data points on the margins.

Something Was Wrong With That Story

Nonetheless, I (like many others) felt a wrongness in the world, a wrongness that seeped through the cracks of my privileged, insulated childhood. I never fully accepted what I had been offered as normal. Life, I knew, was supposed to be more joyful than this, more real, more meaningful, and the world was supposed to be more beautiful.

We were not supposed to hate Mondays and live for the weekends and holidays. We were not supposed to have to raise our hands to be allowed to pee. We were not supposed to be kept indoors on a beautiful day, day after day. And as my horizons broadened, I knew that millions were not supposed to be starving, that nuclear weapons were not supposed to be hanging over our heads, that the rainforests were not supposed to be shrinking, or the fish dying, or the condors and eagles disappearing.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


I could not accept the way the dominant narrative of my culture handled these things: as fragmentary problems to be solved, as unfortunate facts of life to be regretted, or as unmentionable taboo subjects to be simply ignored.

We All Know Better

On some level, we all know better. This knowledge seldom finds clear articulation, so instead we express it indirectly through covert and overt rebellion. Addiction, self-sabotage, procrastination, laziness, rage, chronic fatigue, and depression are all ways that we withhold our full participation in the program of life we are offered. When the conscious mind cannot find a reason to say no, the unconscious says no in its own way. More and more of us cannot bear to stay in the “old normal” any longer.

This narrative of normal is crumbling on a systemic level too. We live today at a moment of "transition between worlds". The institutions that have borne us through the centuries have lost their vitality; only with increasing self-delusion can we pretend they are sustainable.

Our systems of money, politics, energy, medicine, education, and more are no longer delivering the benefits they once did (or seemed to). Their Utopian promise, so inspiring a century ago, recedes further every year. Millions of us know this; more and more, we hardly bother to pretend otherwise. Yet we seem helpless to change, helpless even to stop participating in industrial civilization’s rush over the cliff.

The Wake-Up Call

I have in my earlier work offered a reframing of this process, seeing human cultural evolution as a story of growth, followed by crisis, followed by breakdown, followed by a renaissance: the emergence of a new kind of civilization, an Age of Reunion to follow the Age of Separation. Perhaps profound change happens only through collapse. Certainly that is true for many on a personal level.

You may know, intellectually, that your lifestyle isn’t sustainable and you have to change your ways. “Yeah, yeah. I know I should stop smoking. Start exercising. Stop buying on credit.” But how often does anyone change without a wake-up call, or more often, a series of wake-up calls? After all, our habits are embedded in a way of being that includes all aspects of life. Hence the saying, “You cannot change one thing without changing everything.”

On the collective level the same is true. As we awaken to the interconnectedness of all our systems, we see that we cannot change, for example, our energy technologies without changing the economic system that supports them. We learn as well that all of our external institutions reflect our basic perceptions of the world, our invisible ideologies and belief systems. In that sense, we can say that the ecological crisis—like all our crises—is a spiritual crisis. By that I mean it goes all the way to the bottom, encompassing all aspects of our humanity.

And What, Exactly, Is At The Bottom?

At the bottom of our civilization lies a story, a mythology. I call it the Story of the World or the Story of the People—a matrix of narratives, agreements, and symbolic systems that comprises the answers our culture offers to life’s most basic questions:

Who am I?

Why do things happen?

What is the purpose of life?

What is human nature?

What is sacred?

Who are we as a people?

Where did we come from and where are we going?

The answers to these questions are culturally dependent, yet they immerse us so completely that we have seen them as reality itself.

The Transformation Of Humanity’s Role On Planet Earth

These answers are changing today, along with everything built atop them—which basically means our entire civilization. That is why we sometimes get the vertiginous feeling that the whole world is falling apart. Seeing the emptiness of what once seemed so real, practical, and enduring, we stand as if at an abyss. What’s next? Who am I? What’s important? What is the purpose of my life? How can I be an effective agent of healing? The old answers are fading as the Story of the People that once answered them crumbles around us.

This book is a guide from the old story, through the empty space between stories, and into a new story. It addresses the reader as a subject of this transition personally, and as an agent of transition—for other people, for our society, and for our planet.

Like the crisis, the transition we face goes all the way to the bottom. Internally, it is nothing less than a transformation in the experience of being alive. Externally, it is nothing less than a transformation of humanity’s role on planet Earth.

Excerpted with permission from Chapter 1:
The More Beautiful World Our Hearts Know Is Possible.

Article Source

The More Beautiful World Our Hearts Know Is Possible
by Charles Eisenstein

The More Beautiful World Our Hearts Know Is Possible by Charles EisensteinIn a time of social and ecological crisis, what can we as individuals do to make the world a better place? This inspirational and thought-provoking book serves as an empowering antidote to the cynicism, frustration, paralysis, and overwhelm so many of us are feeling, replacing it with a grounding reminder of what’s true: we are all connected, and our small, personal choices bear unsuspected transformational power. By fully embracing and practicing this principle of interconnectedness—called interbeing—we become more effective agents of change and have a stronger positive influence on the world.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book and/or download the Kindle edition.

About the Author

eisenstein charlesCharles Eisenstein is a speaker and writer focusing on themes of civilization, consciousness, money, and human cultural evolution. His viral short films and essays online have established him as a genre-defying social philosopher and countercultural intellectual. Charles graduated from Yale University in 1989 with a degree in Mathematics and Philosophy and spent the next ten years as a Chinese–English translator. He is the author of several books, including Sacred Economics and Ascent of Humanity. Visit his website at charleseisenstein.net

Read more articles by Charles Eisenstein. Visit his author page.

Video with Charles: A New Story of the People

Related Books

More Books by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords="1623172489";maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords="1583945350";maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords="0977622215";maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}