Почему вера в меритократию является ложной и морально неправильной

Почему вера в меритократию является ложной и морально неправильной

«Мы верны нашему кредо, когда маленькая девочка, рожденная в самой мрачной бедности, знает, что у нее такой же шанс добиться успеха, как и у любого другого…» Барак Обама, инаугурационное обращение, 2013

«Мы должны создать равные условия для американских компаний и работников». Дональд Трамп, инаугурационный адрес, 2017

Меритократия стала ведущим социальным идеалом. Политики по всему идеологическому спектру постоянно возвращаются к теме, согласно которой награды за жизнь - деньги, власть, работа, поступление в университеты - должны распределяться в соответствии с навыками и усилиями. Самая распространенная метафора - это «ровное игровое поле», на котором игроки могут подняться на позицию, соответствующую их заслугам. Концептуально и морально меритократия представляется как противоположность систем, таких как наследственная аристократия, в которой социальное положение человека определяется лотереей рождения. При меритократии богатство и преимущество являются законной компенсацией заслуг, а не случайной случайностью внешних событий.

Большинство людей не просто думают, что мир должен быть запущенным меритократически, они думают это is меритократический. В Великобритании 84 процентов респондентов опроса 2009 British Social Atttitude заявили, что тяжелая работа является «необходимой» или «очень важной», когда дело доходит до продвижения вперед, и в 2016 Брукингский институт обнаружил, что 69% американцы считают, что люди вознаграждены за интеллект и мастерство. Респонденты в обеих странах считают, что внешние факторы, такие как удача и богатая семья, имеют гораздо меньшее значение. Хотя эти идеи наиболее ярко выражены в этих двух странах, они пользуются земной шар.

Хотя широко распространено мнение, что заслуга, а не удача определяет успех или неудачу в мире, явно ложна. Это не в последнюю очередь потому, что сама заслуга в значительной степени является результатом удачи. Талант и способность к решительным усилиям, иногда называемым «зернистость», зависеть много о своих генетических способностях и воспитании.

Это не говоря о случайных обстоятельствах, которые фигурируют в каждой истории успеха. В его книга Удачи и Удачи (2016), американский экономист Роберт Франк рассказывает о длинных кадрах и совпадениях, которые привели к звездному росту Билла Гейтса как основателя Microsoft, а также к собственному успеху Фрэнка как ученого. Удача вмешивается, предоставляя людям заслуги, и снова предоставляя обстоятельства, при которых заслуга может привести к успеху. Это не отрицает индустрию и талант успешных людей. Тем не менее, это демонстрирует, что связь между достоинствами и результатами является в лучшем случае незначительной и косвенной.

По словам Фрэнка, это особенно верно там, где рассматриваемый успех велик, а контекст, в котором он достигнут, является конкурентным. Конечно, есть программисты, почти такие же искусные, как Гейтс, которые, тем не менее, не смогли стать самым богатым человеком на Земле. В условиях конкуренции у многих есть свои заслуги, но немногие добиваются успеха. Что разделяет их, так это удача.

IПомимо того, что ложь, растущее число исследований в области психологии и нейробиологии предполагает, что вера в меритократию делает людей более эгоистичными, менее самокритичными и даже более склонными к действиям дискриминационным образом. Меритократия не только не права; это плохо.

«Игра в ультиматум» - это эксперимент, распространенный в психологических лабораториях, в котором одному игроку (заявителю) дается определенная сумма денег, и ему предлагается предложить разделение между ним и другим игроком (респондентом), который может принять предложение или отвергни это. Если ответчик отклоняет предложение, ни один из игроков не получает ничего. Эксперимент был повторен тысячи раз, и обычно предлагающий предлагает относительно равномерное разделение. Если сумма, подлежащая обмену, составляет $ 100, большинство предложений находится в диапазоне $ 40- $ 50.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Один из вариантов этой игры показывает, что вера в человека более умелого ведет к более эгоистичному поведению. В исследование в Пекинском педагогическом университете участники играли в фальшивую игру на ловкость, прежде чем делать предложения в ультимативной игре. Игроки, которых (ложно) заставили поверить, что они «выиграли», требовали больше для себя, чем те, кто не играл в игру на ловкость. Другие исследования подтверждают этот вывод. Экономисты Альдо Рустичини из Университета Миннесоты и Александр Вострокнутов из Маастрихтского Университета в Нидерландах найденный что субъекты, которые впервые участвовали в игре на ловкость, гораздо реже поддерживали перераспределение призов, чем те, кто участвовал в азартных играх. Простое представление о навыке делает людей более терпимыми к неравным результатам. Хотя это было признано справедливым для всех участников, эффект был гораздо более выраженным среди «победителей».

Напротив, исследования благодарности показывают, что помнить о роли удачи увеличивает щедрость. Фрэнк цитирует исследование, в котором простое обращение к субъектам с просьбой вспомнить внешние факторы (удача, помощь от других), которые способствовали их жизненным успехам, сделало их гораздо более склонными к благотворительности, чем те, кого попросили вспомнить внутренние факторы (усилия , умение).

Возможно, более тревожным является то, что просто сохранение меритократии как ценности способствует дискриминационному поведению. Исследователь по вопросам управления Эмилио Кастилья из Массачусетского технологического института и социолог Стивен Бенард из Университета Индианы изучали попытки внедрения меритократических методов, таких как компенсация на основе результатов в частных компаниях. Oни найденный что в компаниях, которые явно считали меритократию основной ценностью, руководители назначали большее вознаграждение работникам-мужчинам, чем работницам, с одинаковыми оценками эффективности. Это предпочтение исчезло, когда меритократия не была явно принята как ценность.

Это удивительно, потому что беспристрастность является основой моральной привлекательности меритократии. «Равное игровое поле» призвано избежать несправедливого неравенства по признаку пола, расы и тому подобного. И все же Кастилья и Бенард обнаружили, что, по иронии судьбы, попытки ввести меритократию приводят только к тем видам неравенства, которые она стремится устранить. Они предполагают, что этот «парадокс меритократии» происходит, потому что явное принятие меритократии как ценности убеждает субъектов в их собственной морали добросовестность, Удовлетворенные тем, что они справедливы, они становятся менее склонными проверять свое поведение на наличие признаков предубеждения.

Меритократия - это ложная и не очень целительная вера. Как и в случае с любой идеологией, часть ее ничьей заключается в том, что она оправдывает статус-кво, объясняя, почему люди принадлежат там, где они оказались в социальном порядке. Это устоявшийся психологический принцип, когда люди предпочитают верить, что мир справедлив.

Однако, в дополнение к легитимации, меритократия также предлагает лесть. Там, где успех определяется заслугой, каждая победа может рассматриваться как отражение собственной добродетели и ценности. Меритократия - самый хваленый принцип распределения. Его идеологическая алхимия превращает собственность в похвалу, материальное неравенство в личное превосходство. Он дает богатым и влиятельным людям право считать себя продуктивными гениями. Хотя этот эффект является наиболее впечатляющим среди элиты, почти любое достижение можно увидеть меритократическими глазами. Окончание средней школы, художественный успех или просто наличие денег можно рассматривать как свидетельство таланта и усилий. Точно так же мирские неудачи становятся признаками личных недостатков, что дает причину, по которой те, кто находится на дне социальной иерархии, заслуживают того, чтобы оставаться там.

Вот почему споры о том, в какой степени отдельные люди являются «самодельными», и о влиянии различных форм «привилегий» могут быть настолько вспыльчивыми. Эти аргументы не только о том, кто что получает; Речь идет о том, сколько «кредит» люди могут взять за то, что они имеют, о том, что их успехи позволяют им верить в свои внутренние качества. Вот почему в условиях меритократии само представление о том, что личный успех является результатом «удачи», может быть оскорбительным. Признание влияния внешних факторов, по-видимому, принижает или отрицает существование индивидуальных заслуг.

Несмотря на моральную уверенность и личную лесть, которые меритократия предлагает успешным, от нее следует отказаться как от веры в то, как устроен мир, так и от общего социального идеала. Это ложно, и вера в это поощряет эгоизм, дискриминацию и равнодушие к бедственному положению.Aeon counter - не удалять

Об авторе

Клифтон Марк пишет о политической теории, психологии и других темах, связанных с образом жизни. Он живет в Торонто, Онтарио.

Эта статья была первоначально опубликована в геологический период и был переиздан в Creative Commons.

Книги по этой теме

{AmazonWS: searchindex = Книга, ключевые слова = меритократия; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Why A Belief In Meritocracy Is False And Morally Wrong

performance

Why A Belief In Meritocracy Is False And Morally Wrong

‘We are true to our creed when a little girl born into the bleakest poverty knows that she has the same chance to succeed as anybody else …’ Barack Obama, inaugural address, 2013

‘We must create a level playing field for American companies and workers.’ Donald Trump, inaugural address, 2017

Meritocracy has become a leading social ideal. Politicians across the ideological spectrum continually return to the theme that the rewards of life – money, power, jobs, university admission – should be distributed according to skill and effort. The most common metaphor is the ‘even playing field’ upon which players can rise to the position that fits their merit. Conceptually and morally, meritocracy is presented as the opposite of systems such as hereditary aristocracy, in which one’s social position is determined by the lottery of birth. Under meritocracy, wealth and advantage are merit’s rightful compensation, not the fortuitous windfall of external events.

Most people don’t just think the world should be run meritocratically, they think it is meritocratic. In the UK, 84 per cent of respondents to the 2009 British Social Attitudes survey stated that hard work is either ‘essential’ or ‘very important’ when it comes to getting ahead, and in 2016 the Brookings Institute found that 69 per cent of Americans believe that people are rewarded for intelligence and skill. Respondents in both countries believe that external factors, such as luck and coming from a wealthy family, are much less important. While these ideas are most pronounced in these two countries, they are popular across the globe.

Although widely held, the belief that merit rather than luck determines success or failure in the world is demonstrably false. This is not least because merit itself is, in large part, the result of luck. Talent and the capacity for determined effort, sometimes called ‘grit’, depend a great deal on one’s genetic endowments and upbringing.

This is to say nothing of the fortuitous circumstances that figure into every success story. In his book Success and Luck (2016), the US economist Robert Frank recounts the long-shots and coincidences that led to Bill Gates’s stellar rise as Microsoft’s founder, as well as to Frank’s own success as an academic. Luck intervenes by granting people merit, and again by furnishing circumstances in which merit can translate into success. This is not to deny the industry and talent of successful people. However, it does demonstrate that the link between merit and outcome is tenuous and indirect at best.

According to Frank, this is especially true where the success in question is great, and where the context in which it is achieved is competitive. There are certainly programmers nearly as skilful as Gates who nonetheless failed to become the richest person on Earth. In competitive contexts, many have merit, but few succeed. What separates the two is luck.

In addition to being false, a growing body of research in psychology and neuroscience suggests that believing in meritocracy makes people more selfish, less self-critical and even more prone to acting in discriminatory ways. Meritocracy is not only wrong; it’s bad.

The ‘ultimatum game’ is an experiment, common in psychological labs, in which one player (the proposer) is given a sum of money and told to propose a division between him and another player (the responder), who may accept the offer or reject it. If the responder rejects the offer, neither player gets anything. The experiment has been replicated thousands of times, and usually the proposer offers a relatively even split. If the amount to be shared is $100, most offers fall between $40-$50.

One variation on this game shows that believing one is more skilled leads to more selfish behaviour. In research at Beijing Normal University, participants played a fake game of skill before making offers in the ultimatum game. Players who were (falsely) led to believe they had ‘won’ claimed more for themselves than those who did not play the skill game. Other studies confirm this finding. The economists Aldo Rustichini at the University of Minnesota and Alexander Vostroknutov at Maastricht University in the Netherlands found that subjects who first engaged in a game of skill were much less likely to support the redistribution of prizes than those who engaged in games of chance. Just having the idea of skill in mind makes people more tolerant of unequal outcomes. While this was found to be true of all participants, the effect was much more pronounced among the ‘winners’.

By contrast, research on gratitude indicates that remembering the role of luck increases generosity. Frank cites a study in which simply asking subjects to recall the external factors (luck, help from others) that had contributed to their successes in life made them much more likely to give to charity than those who were asked to remember the internal factors (effort, skill).

Perhaps more disturbing, simply holding meritocracy as a value seems to promote discriminatory behaviour. The management scholar Emilio Castilla at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the sociologist Stephen Benard at Indiana University studied attempts to implement meritocratic practices, such as performance-based compensation in private companies. They found that, in companies that explicitly held meritocracy as a core value, managers assigned greater rewards to male employees over female employees with identical performance evaluations. This preference disappeared where meritocracy was not explicitly adopted as a value.

This is surprising because impartiality is the core of meritocracy’s moral appeal. The ‘even playing field’ is intended to avoid unfair inequalities based on gender, race and the like. Yet Castilla and Benard found that, ironically, attempts to implement meritocracy leads to just the kinds of inequalities that it aims to eliminate. They suggest that this ‘paradox of meritocracy’ occurs because explicitly adopting meritocracy as a value convinces subjects of their own moral bona fides. Satisfied that they are just, they become less inclined to examine their own behaviour for signs of prejudice.

Meritocracy is a false and not very salutary belief. As with any ideology, part of its draw is that it justifies the status quo, explaining why people belong where they happen to be in the social order. It is a well-established psychological principle that people prefer to believe that the world is just.

However, in addition to legitimation, meritocracy also offers flattery. Where success is determined by merit, each win can be viewed as a reflection of one’s own virtue and worth. Meritocracy is the most self-congratulatory of distribution principles. Its ideological alchemy transmutes property into praise, material inequality into personal superiority. It licenses the rich and powerful to view themselves as productive geniuses. While this effect is most spectacular among the elite, nearly any accomplishment can be viewed through meritocratic eyes. Graduating from high school, artistic success or simply having money can all be seen as evidence of talent and effort. By the same token, worldly failures becomes signs of personal defects, providing a reason why those at the bottom of the social hierarchy deserve to remain there.

This is why debates over the extent to which particular individuals are ‘self-made’ and over the effects of various forms of ‘privilege’ can get so hot-tempered. These arguments are not just about who gets to have what; it’s about how much ‘credit’ people can take for what they have, about what their successes allow them to believe about their inner qualities. That is why, under the assumption of meritocracy, the very notion that personal success is the result of ‘luck’ can be insulting. To acknowledge the influence of external factors seems to downplay or deny the existence of individual merit.

Despite the moral assurance and personal flattery that meritocracy offers to the successful, it ought to be abandoned both as a belief about how the world works and as a general social ideal. It’s false, and believing in it encourages selfishness, discrimination and indifference to the plight of the unfortunate.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Clifton Mark writes about political theory, psychology, and other lifestyle-related topics. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

Meritocracy and Economic Inequality

performanceBinding: Paperback
Brand: Kenneth Arrow
Creator(s):
  • Kenneth Arrow
  • Samuel Bowles
  • Steven N. Durlauf

Studio: Princeton University Press
Label: Princeton University Press
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Manufacturer: Princeton University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Most Americans strongly favor equality of opportunity if not outcome, but many are weary of poverty's seeming immunity to public policy. This helps to explain the recent attention paid to cultural and genetic explanations of persistent poverty, including claims that economic inequality is a function of intellectual ability, as well as more subtle depictions of the United States as a meritocracy where barriers to achievement are personal--either voluntary or inherited--rather than systemic. This volume of original essays by luminaries in the economic, social, and biological sciences, however, confirms mounting evidence that the connection between intelligence and inequality is surprisingly weak and demonstrates that targeted educational and economic reforms can reduce the income gap and improve the country's aggregate productivity and economic well-being. It also offers a novel agenda of equal access to valuable associations.

Amartya Sen, John Roemer, Robert M. Hauser, Glenn Loury, Orley Ashenfelter, and others sift and analyze the latest arguments and quantitative findings on equality in order to explain how merit is and should be defined, how economic rewards are distributed, and how patterns of economic success persist across generations. Moving well beyond exploration, they draw specific conclusions that are bold yet empirically grounded, finding that schooling improves occupational success in ways unrelated to cognitive ability, that IQ is not a strong independent predictor of economic success, and that people's associations--their neighborhoods, working groups, and other social ties--significantly explain many of the poverty traps we observe.

The optimistic message of this beautifully edited book is that important violations of equality of opportunity do exist but can be attenuated by policies that will serve the general economy. Policy makers will read with interest concrete suggestions for crafting economically beneficial anti-discrimination measures, enhancing educational and associational opportunity, and centering economic reforms in community-based institutions. Here is an example of some of our most brilliant social thinkers using the most advanced techniques that their disciplines have to offer to tackle an issue of great social importance.





The Meritocracy Myth, Fourth Edition

performanceAuthor: Stephen McNamee
Binding: Paperback
Studio: RL
Label: RL
Publisher: RL
Manufacturer: RL

Buy Now
Editorial Review: This book challenges the widely held belief in meritocracy—that everyone has an equal chance of success based on individual merit and effort. The book considers non-merit factors such as social connections and discrimination. The fourth edition features new material on the current political climate, a new chapter on marriage and mobility, and more.




The Rise of the Meritocracy (Classics in Organization and Management Series)

performanceAuthor: Michael Young
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Creator(s):
  • Michael Young

Studio: Routledge
Label: Routledge
Publisher: Routledge
Manufacturer: Routledge

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Michael Young has christened the oligarchy of the future Meritocracy. Indeed, the word is now part of the English language. It would appear that the formula: IQ+Effort=Merit may well constitute the basic belief of the ruling class in the twenty-first century. Projecting himself into the year 2034, the author of this sociological satire shows how present decisions and practices may remold our society.It is widespread knowledge that it is insufficient to be somebody's nephew to obtain a responsible post in business, government, teaching, or science. Experts in education and selection apply scientific principles to sift out the leaders of tomorrow. You need intelligence rating, qualification, experience, application, and a certain caliber to achieve status. In a word, one must show merit to advance in the new society of tomorrow.In a new opening essay, Young reflects on the reception of his work, and its production, in a candid and lively way. Many of the critical ambiguities surrounding its original publication are now clarified and resolved. What we have is what the Guardian of London called A brilliant essay. and what Time and Tide described as a fountain gush of new ideas. Its wit and style make it compulsively enjoyable reading from cover to cover.




performance
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!