لماذا الاعتقاد في الجدارة خاطئة وأخلاقية خاطئة

أداء

لماذا الاعتقاد في الجدارة خاطئة وأخلاقية خاطئة

"نحن صادقون في عقيدتنا عندما تدرك فتاة صغيرة تولد في فقر مدقع أن لديها نفس الفرصة للنجاح مثل أي شخص آخر ..." باراك أوباما ، العنوان الافتتاحي ، 2013

"يجب أن نخلق مجالًا متكافئًا للشركات الأمريكية والعاملين". دونالد ترامب ، العنوان الافتتاحي ، 2017

لقد أصبحت الجدارة مثالًا اجتماعيًا رائدًا. يعود السياسيون في جميع أنحاء الطيف الأيديولوجي باستمرار إلى فكرة أن مكافآت الحياة - المال ، السلطة ، الوظائف ، القبول الجامعي - يجب أن توزع وفقا للمهارة والجهد. أكثر التشبيه شيوعًا هو "حقل اللعب المتساوي" الذي يمكن للاعبين فيه أن يرتقوا إلى المنصب الذي يناسب مؤهلاتهم. من الناحية النظرية والأخلاقية ، يتم تقديم الجدارة على عكس النظام مثل الطبقة الأرستقراطية الوراثية ، حيث يتم تحديد الوضع الاجتماعي للمرء بواسطة يانصيب الولادة. في ظل الجدارة ، فإن الثروة والمزايا هما التعويض الشرعي للجدارة ، وليس الأرباح المفاجئة للأحداث الخارجية.

معظم الناس لا يفكرون فقط في العالم ينبغي يجرون بشكل جدي ، يعتقدون ذلك is الجدارة. في المملكة المتحدة ، ذكر 84 في المائة من المشاركين في استطلاع 2009 البريطاني للمواقف الاجتماعية أن العمل الجاد إما "ضروري" أو "مهم جدًا" عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمضي قدمًا ، وفي 2016 وجد معهد بروكينغز أن شنومكس في المائة يعتقد الأمريكيون أن الناس يكافأون على الذكاء والمهارة. يعتقد المستجيبون في كلا البلدين أن العوامل الخارجية ، مثل الحظ والقادمة من عائلة ثرية ، أقل أهمية بكثير. في حين أن هذه الأفكار هي الأكثر وضوحا في هذين البلدين ، فهي شعبية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

وعلى الرغم من أن الاعتقاد بأن الجدارة بدلاً من الحظ يقرر النجاح أو الفشل في العالم على الرغم من أنه تمسك به على نطاق واسع ، فإنه غير صحيح بشكل واضح. وهذا ليس أقلها أن الاستحقاق ذاته هو ، إلى حد كبير ، نتيجة الحظ. الموهبة والقدرة على بذل جهود حازمة ، وأحيانا تسمى "حصىتعتمد قدر كبير على الأوقاف الوراثية والتنشئة.

هذا لا يعني شيئاً عن الظروف الصعبة التي تبرز في كل قصة نجاح. في كتاب النجاح والحظ (2016) ، يسرد الاقتصادي الأمريكي روبرت فرانك اللقطات الطويلة والمصادفات التي أدت إلى ارتفاع بيل جيتس النجمية كمؤسس لمايكروسوفت ، بالإضافة إلى نجاح فرانك نفسه كأكاديمي. يتدخل الحظ من خلال منح الناس ميزة ، ومرة ​​أخرى من خلال توفير الظروف التي يمكن أن تترجم الجدارة إلى النجاح. هذا لا ينكر الصناعة والموهبة من الناس الناجحين. ومع ذلك ، فإنه يثبت أن الصلة بين الجدارة والنتيجة ضعيفة وغير مباشرة في أفضل الأحوال.

وفقا لفرانك ، هذا صحيح بشكل خاص حيث أن النجاح في السؤال كبير ، وحيث يكون السياق الذي يتحقق فيه منافسا. هناك بالتأكيد مبرمجون على نفس القدر من المهارة مثل غيتس الذي فشل في أن يصبح أغنى شخص على وجه الأرض. في السياقات التنافسية ، يمتلك العديد منهم ميزة ، لكن القليل منهم ينجحون. ما يفصل بين الاثنين هو الحظ.

Iبالإضافة إلى كونها مزيفة ، فإن مجموعة متنامية من الأبحاث في علم النفس وعلم الأعصاب تشير إلى أن الاعتقاد في الجدارة يجعل الناس أكثر أنانية ، وأقل انتقادا للذات ، وأكثر عرضة للتصرف بطرق تمييزية. الجدارة ليست خاطئة فقط. انها سيئة.

"لعبة الإنذار النهائي" هي تجربة شائعة في المختبرات النفسية ، حيث يُمنح لاعب واحد (مقدم العرض) مبلغًا من المال ويطلب منه اقتراح انقسام بينه وبين لاعب آخر (المجيب) ، الذي قد يقبل العرض أو يرفضونه. إذا رفض المستجيب العرض ، فلن يحصل أي لاعب على أي شيء. تم تكرار التجربة آلاف المرات ، وعادةً ما يقدم المقترح انقسامًا نسبيًا. إذا كان المبلغ المطلوب مشاركته هو 100 $ ، فستناقص معظم العروض بين 40- $ 50.

أحد الاختلافات في هذه اللعبة يدل على أن الاعتقاد هو أكثر المهارة يؤدي إلى سلوك أكثر أنانية. في بحث في جامعة بكين للمعلمين ، لعب المشاركون لعبة مهارة وهمية قبل تقديم عروض في لعبة الانذار. أدّى اللاعبون الذين كانوا (زوراً) إلى الاعتقاد بأنهم "ربحوا" زعموا بأنفسهم أكثر من أولئك الذين لم يلعبوا لعبة المهارات. دراسات أخرى تؤكد هذه النتيجة. الاقتصاديون ألدو روستشيني في جامعة مينيسوتا وألكسندر فوستركنوتوف في جامعة ماستريخت بهولندا وجدت كان الأشخاص الذين شاركوا لأول مرة في لعبة مهارة أقل احتمالًا لدعم إعادة توزيع الجوائز من أولئك الذين شاركوا في ألعاب الحظ. إن مجرد أخذ فكرة المهارة في الاعتبار يجعل الناس أكثر تحملاً بالنتائج غير المتساوية. في حين وجد أن هذا صحيح لجميع المشاركين ، كان التأثير أكثر وضوحًا بين "الفائزين".

على النقيض من ذلك ، تشير الأبحاث على الامتنان إلى أن تذكر دور الحظ يزيد من الكرم. يستشهد فرانك بدراسة ساهمت فيها ببساطة بمطالبة الأشخاص باستدعاء العوامل الخارجية (الحظ ، المساعدة من الآخرين) التي ساهمت في نجاحاتهم في الحياة ، مما جعلهم أكثر عرضة للتبرع للمؤمنين من أولئك الذين طلب منهم تذكر العوامل الداخلية (الجهد المبذول) والمهارة).

ولعل الأمر الأكثر إثارة للقلق هو أن مجرد تبني الجدارة كقيمة يبدو أنه يعزز السلوك التمييزي. ودرس عالم الإدارة إيميليو كاستيلا في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا وعالم الاجتماع ستيفن بينارد في جامعة إنديانا ، محاولات تطبيق الممارسات الجدارة ، مثل التعويضات القائمة على الأداء في الشركات الخاصة. هم وجدت أنه في الشركات التي لديها صراحة الجدارة كقيمة أساسية ، أعطى المديرون مكافآت أكبر للموظفين الذكور على الموظفات مع تقييم أداء متطابق. اختفى هذا التفضيل حيث لم يتم اعتماد الجدارة صراحة كقيمة.

وهذا أمر مثير للدهشة لأن النزاهة هي جوهر النداء الأخلاقي للجدارة. يهدف "الملعب المتساوي" إلى تجنب عدم المساواة غير العادلة على أساس الجنس أو العرق وما شابه. ومع ذلك ، وجد كاستيلا وبنارد أنه من المفارقات أن محاولات تطبيق الجدارة تؤدي إلى مجرد أنواع من عدم المساواة التي تهدف إلى القضاء عليها. إنهم يقترحون أن هذا "التناقض في الجدارة" يحدث لأن اعتماد الجدارة صراحة كقيمة يقنع الأشخاص بأخلاقهم الخاصة حسن النية. إذا كانوا راضيين بأنهم عادلين ، فإنهم يصبحون أقل ميلا إلى فحص سلوكهم الخاص للحصول على علامات التحيز.

الجدارة هي اعتقاد خاطئ وليس مفيد جدا. كما هو الحال مع أي أيديولوجية ، فإن جزءًا من قواها هو أنه يبرر الوضع الراهن، موضحًا سبب انتقال الأشخاص إلى مكان حدوثهم في النظام الاجتماعي. إنه مبدأ نفسي راسخ أن الناس يفضلون الاعتقاد بأن العالم عادل.

ومع ذلك ، بالإضافة إلى الشرعية ، تقدم الجدارة أيضا الإطراء. عندما يتم تحديد النجاح على أساس الجدارة ، يمكن النظر إلى كل فوز على أنه انعكاس لفضيلة الفرد الخاصة وقيمته. الجدارة هي أكثر مبادئ تهنئة بالنفس. وتحول خيميائها الأيديولوجية الملكية إلى مدح ، وعدم المساواة المادية إلى التفوق الشخصي. يرخى الأثرياء والأقوياء لأن يعتبروا أنفسهم عباقرة منتجين. في حين أن هذا التأثير هو الأكثر إثارة بين النخبة ، فإن أي إنجاز تقريباً يمكن رؤيته من خلال عيون الجدارة. يمكن اعتبار النجاح في المدرسة الثانوية أو النجاح الفني أو مجرد الحصول على المال دليلاً على الموهبة والجهد. وعلى نفس المنوال ، تصبح الإخفاقات الدنيوية علامات على العيوب الشخصية ، مما يوفر سبباً يجعل من هم في أسفل الهرم الاجتماعي يستحق البقاء هناك.

هذا هو السبب في أن النقاشات حول المدى الذي يمكن لأفراد بعينهم أن يكونوا "مصنفين ذاتيًا" وعلى تأثيرات أشكال مختلفة من "الامتياز" يمكن أن تصبح شديدة السخونة. هذه الحجج ليست فقط حول من يحصل على ما ؛ إنه يتعلق بكمية "الائتمان" التي يمكن أن يأخذها الناس لما يملكونه ، حول ما تسمح لهم نجاحاتهم بالاعتراف بصفاتهم الداخلية. وهذا هو السبب في أنه ، في ظل افتراض الجدارة ، فإن الفكرة ذاتها التي تقول بأن النجاح الشخصي هو نتيجة "الحظ" يمكن أن يكون مهينًا. إن الاعتراف بتأثير العوامل الخارجية يبدو أنه يقلل أو يحد من وجود ميزة فردية.

على الرغم من التأكيد الأخلاقي والانحناء الشخصي الذي تقدمه الجدارة للنجاح ، فيجب التخلي عنها كإيمان حول كيفية عمل العالم وكمثال اجتماعي عام. إنها زائفة ، والإيمان بها يشجع الأنانية والتمييز واللامبالاة بمحنة المؤسفة.عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كتب Clifton Mark عن النظرية السياسية ، وعلم النفس ، وغيرها من الموضوعات المتعلقة بنمط الحياة. يعيش في تورونتو ، أونتاريو.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Meritocracy;maxresults=3}

أداء
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why A Belief In Meritocracy Is False And Morally Wrong

performance

Why A Belief In Meritocracy Is False And Morally Wrong

‘We are true to our creed when a little girl born into the bleakest poverty knows that she has the same chance to succeed as anybody else …’ Barack Obama, inaugural address, 2013

‘We must create a level playing field for American companies and workers.’ Donald Trump, inaugural address, 2017

Meritocracy has become a leading social ideal. Politicians across the ideological spectrum continually return to the theme that the rewards of life – money, power, jobs, university admission – should be distributed according to skill and effort. The most common metaphor is the ‘even playing field’ upon which players can rise to the position that fits their merit. Conceptually and morally, meritocracy is presented as the opposite of systems such as hereditary aristocracy, in which one’s social position is determined by the lottery of birth. Under meritocracy, wealth and advantage are merit’s rightful compensation, not the fortuitous windfall of external events.

Most people don’t just think the world should be run meritocratically, they think it is meritocratic. In the UK, 84 per cent of respondents to the 2009 British Social Attitudes survey stated that hard work is either ‘essential’ or ‘very important’ when it comes to getting ahead, and in 2016 the Brookings Institute found that 69 per cent of Americans believe that people are rewarded for intelligence and skill. Respondents in both countries believe that external factors, such as luck and coming from a wealthy family, are much less important. While these ideas are most pronounced in these two countries, they are popular across the globe.

Although widely held, the belief that merit rather than luck determines success or failure in the world is demonstrably false. This is not least because merit itself is, in large part, the result of luck. Talent and the capacity for determined effort, sometimes called ‘grit’, depend a great deal on one’s genetic endowments and upbringing.

This is to say nothing of the fortuitous circumstances that figure into every success story. In his book Success and Luck (2016), the US economist Robert Frank recounts the long-shots and coincidences that led to Bill Gates’s stellar rise as Microsoft’s founder, as well as to Frank’s own success as an academic. Luck intervenes by granting people merit, and again by furnishing circumstances in which merit can translate into success. This is not to deny the industry and talent of successful people. However, it does demonstrate that the link between merit and outcome is tenuous and indirect at best.

According to Frank, this is especially true where the success in question is great, and where the context in which it is achieved is competitive. There are certainly programmers nearly as skilful as Gates who nonetheless failed to become the richest person on Earth. In competitive contexts, many have merit, but few succeed. What separates the two is luck.

In addition to being false, a growing body of research in psychology and neuroscience suggests that believing in meritocracy makes people more selfish, less self-critical and even more prone to acting in discriminatory ways. Meritocracy is not only wrong; it’s bad.

The ‘ultimatum game’ is an experiment, common in psychological labs, in which one player (the proposer) is given a sum of money and told to propose a division between him and another player (the responder), who may accept the offer or reject it. If the responder rejects the offer, neither player gets anything. The experiment has been replicated thousands of times, and usually the proposer offers a relatively even split. If the amount to be shared is $100, most offers fall between $40-$50.

One variation on this game shows that believing one is more skilled leads to more selfish behaviour. In research at Beijing Normal University, participants played a fake game of skill before making offers in the ultimatum game. Players who were (falsely) led to believe they had ‘won’ claimed more for themselves than those who did not play the skill game. Other studies confirm this finding. The economists Aldo Rustichini at the University of Minnesota and Alexander Vostroknutov at Maastricht University in the Netherlands found that subjects who first engaged in a game of skill were much less likely to support the redistribution of prizes than those who engaged in games of chance. Just having the idea of skill in mind makes people more tolerant of unequal outcomes. While this was found to be true of all participants, the effect was much more pronounced among the ‘winners’.

By contrast, research on gratitude indicates that remembering the role of luck increases generosity. Frank cites a study in which simply asking subjects to recall the external factors (luck, help from others) that had contributed to their successes in life made them much more likely to give to charity than those who were asked to remember the internal factors (effort, skill).

Perhaps more disturbing, simply holding meritocracy as a value seems to promote discriminatory behaviour. The management scholar Emilio Castilla at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the sociologist Stephen Benard at Indiana University studied attempts to implement meritocratic practices, such as performance-based compensation in private companies. They found that, in companies that explicitly held meritocracy as a core value, managers assigned greater rewards to male employees over female employees with identical performance evaluations. This preference disappeared where meritocracy was not explicitly adopted as a value.

This is surprising because impartiality is the core of meritocracy’s moral appeal. The ‘even playing field’ is intended to avoid unfair inequalities based on gender, race and the like. Yet Castilla and Benard found that, ironically, attempts to implement meritocracy leads to just the kinds of inequalities that it aims to eliminate. They suggest that this ‘paradox of meritocracy’ occurs because explicitly adopting meritocracy as a value convinces subjects of their own moral bona fides. Satisfied that they are just, they become less inclined to examine their own behaviour for signs of prejudice.

Meritocracy is a false and not very salutary belief. As with any ideology, part of its draw is that it justifies the status quo, explaining why people belong where they happen to be in the social order. It is a well-established psychological principle that people prefer to believe that the world is just.

However, in addition to legitimation, meritocracy also offers flattery. Where success is determined by merit, each win can be viewed as a reflection of one’s own virtue and worth. Meritocracy is the most self-congratulatory of distribution principles. Its ideological alchemy transmutes property into praise, material inequality into personal superiority. It licenses the rich and powerful to view themselves as productive geniuses. While this effect is most spectacular among the elite, nearly any accomplishment can be viewed through meritocratic eyes. Graduating from high school, artistic success or simply having money can all be seen as evidence of talent and effort. By the same token, worldly failures becomes signs of personal defects, providing a reason why those at the bottom of the social hierarchy deserve to remain there.

This is why debates over the extent to which particular individuals are ‘self-made’ and over the effects of various forms of ‘privilege’ can get so hot-tempered. These arguments are not just about who gets to have what; it’s about how much ‘credit’ people can take for what they have, about what their successes allow them to believe about their inner qualities. That is why, under the assumption of meritocracy, the very notion that personal success is the result of ‘luck’ can be insulting. To acknowledge the influence of external factors seems to downplay or deny the existence of individual merit.

Despite the moral assurance and personal flattery that meritocracy offers to the successful, it ought to be abandoned both as a belief about how the world works and as a general social ideal. It’s false, and believing in it encourages selfishness, discrimination and indifference to the plight of the unfortunate.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Clifton Mark writes about political theory, psychology, and other lifestyle-related topics. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

Meritocracy and Economic Inequality

performanceBinding: Paperback
Brand: Kenneth Arrow
Creator(s):
  • Kenneth Arrow
  • Samuel Bowles
  • Steven N. Durlauf

Studio: Princeton University Press
Label: Princeton University Press
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Manufacturer: Princeton University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Most Americans strongly favor equality of opportunity if not outcome, but many are weary of poverty's seeming immunity to public policy. This helps to explain the recent attention paid to cultural and genetic explanations of persistent poverty, including claims that economic inequality is a function of intellectual ability, as well as more subtle depictions of the United States as a meritocracy where barriers to achievement are personal--either voluntary or inherited--rather than systemic. This volume of original essays by luminaries in the economic, social, and biological sciences, however, confirms mounting evidence that the connection between intelligence and inequality is surprisingly weak and demonstrates that targeted educational and economic reforms can reduce the income gap and improve the country's aggregate productivity and economic well-being. It also offers a novel agenda of equal access to valuable associations.

Amartya Sen, John Roemer, Robert M. Hauser, Glenn Loury, Orley Ashenfelter, and others sift and analyze the latest arguments and quantitative findings on equality in order to explain how merit is and should be defined, how economic rewards are distributed, and how patterns of economic success persist across generations. Moving well beyond exploration, they draw specific conclusions that are bold yet empirically grounded, finding that schooling improves occupational success in ways unrelated to cognitive ability, that IQ is not a strong independent predictor of economic success, and that people's associations--their neighborhoods, working groups, and other social ties--significantly explain many of the poverty traps we observe.

The optimistic message of this beautifully edited book is that important violations of equality of opportunity do exist but can be attenuated by policies that will serve the general economy. Policy makers will read with interest concrete suggestions for crafting economically beneficial anti-discrimination measures, enhancing educational and associational opportunity, and centering economic reforms in community-based institutions. Here is an example of some of our most brilliant social thinkers using the most advanced techniques that their disciplines have to offer to tackle an issue of great social importance.





The Meritocracy Myth, Fourth Edition

performanceAuthor: Stephen McNamee
Binding: Paperback
Studio: RL
Label: RL
Publisher: RL
Manufacturer: RL

Buy Now
Editorial Review: This book challenges the widely held belief in meritocracy—that everyone has an equal chance of success based on individual merit and effort. The book considers non-merit factors such as social connections and discrimination. The fourth edition features new material on the current political climate, a new chapter on marriage and mobility, and more.




The Rise of the Meritocracy (Classics in Organization and Management Series)

performanceAuthor: Michael Young
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Creator(s):
  • Michael Young

Studio: Routledge
Label: Routledge
Publisher: Routledge
Manufacturer: Routledge

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Michael Young has christened the oligarchy of the future Meritocracy. Indeed, the word is now part of the English language. It would appear that the formula: IQ+Effort=Merit may well constitute the basic belief of the ruling class in the twenty-first century. Projecting himself into the year 2034, the author of this sociological satire shows how present decisions and practices may remold our society.It is widespread knowledge that it is insufficient to be somebody's nephew to obtain a responsible post in business, government, teaching, or science. Experts in education and selection apply scientific principles to sift out the leaders of tomorrow. You need intelligence rating, qualification, experience, application, and a certain caliber to achieve status. In a word, one must show merit to advance in the new society of tomorrow.In a new opening essay, Young reflects on the reception of his work, and its production, in a candid and lively way. Many of the critical ambiguities surrounding its original publication are now clarified and resolved. What we have is what the Guardian of London called A brilliant essay. and what Time and Tide described as a fountain gush of new ideas. Its wit and style make it compulsively enjoyable reading from cover to cover.




performance
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!