كيف أصبحت اللغة أداة للاستبعاد الاجتماعي

كيف أصبحت اللغة أداة للاستبعاد الاجتماعي
Zurijeta / شترستوك

في غضون اسبوع من سالزبورغ الندوة العالمية بيان لعالم متعدد اللغات في فبراير 2018 ، تلقت الوثيقة - التي تدعو إلى سياسات وممارسات تدعم التعددية اللغوية - مرات ظهور 1.5m لوسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية.

ويفتح البيان ببعض الحقائق المذهلة ، بما في ذلك أن "جميع الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة 193 ومعظم الناس متعددو اللغات". ويشير أيضًا إلى أن لغات 7,097 تحدث حاليًا في جميع أنحاء العالم ولكن 2,464 من هذه اللغات معرضة للخطر. تهيمن فقط 23 على اللغات بين هذه 7,097 ، ويتحدث بها أكثر من نصف سكان العالم.

كما تظهر هذه الإحصاءات ، فإن الصوت في حياتنا والمناظر الطبيعية في مدننا متعددة اللغات. اللغات ، في تعددهم ، تثري تجربتنا في العالم وإمكاناتنا الإبداعية. التعددية اللغوية تفتح طرقًا جديدة لكونها وعملها ، فهي تربطنا بالآخرين وتوفر نافذة لتنوع مجتمعاتنا. ومع ذلك ، وعلى الرغم من الإحصاءات الأكثر إيجابية أعلاه ، فإننا نشهد الآن فجوة عميقة.

من ناحية ، يرتبط التعددية اللغوية بالحركية والإنتاجية وخلق المعرفة (انظر على سبيل المثال ، هدف الاتحاد الأوروبي كل المواطنين يتحدثون لغتين بالإضافة إلى أول واحد). من ناحية أخرى ، لا يزال ينظر إلى اللغة أحادية اللغة (التي تتحدث بلغة واحدة فقط) كل من المعيار والمثل الأعلى لمجتمع مزعوم بشكل جيد. وينظر التنوع اللغوي على حد سواء مشكوك فيه و مكلفة.

العقوبات اللغوية

وهذا واضح بشكل خاص فيما يتعلق بأكثر المجموعات ضعفاً التي تبحث عن بيت جديد: اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء. القادمون الجدد هم غالبا ما تكون مطلوبة لإثبات قدرتها القراءة والكتابة والتحدث تمنح اللغة / اللغات الوطنية الحق في البقاء. الطلاقة ، ومع ذلك ، يتجاوز القدرة التقنية في لغات الأغلبية. في 1980s ، أظهر الباحثون هذه اللغة هي أكثر من مجرد رمز نتواصل من خلاله ، وهي مرتبطة بالمعرفة الاجتماعية والسياسية ، والوصول إلى هياكل السلطة.

تبرز من الحشد. (كيف أصبحت اللغة أداة للاستبعاد الاجتماعي)تبرز من الحشد. Nat.photo/Shutterstock

تعتبر المهارات اللغوية مهمة للغاية للتواصل مع مجتمع مضيفة ، ويمكن أن تكون هذه المهارات بمثابة حاجز لا يمكن التغلب عليه للوصول إلى فرص التعليم والعمل وغيرها من مجالات الحياة الاجتماعية. إلا أن النجاح في العثور على مكان في سياق اجتماعي جديد يتطلب أكثر من استخدام فعال للغة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وقد أظهرت الأبحاث أن اللاجئين يدفعون "عقوبة لغوية"عند الانتقال إلى بيئة اجتماعية اقتصادية جديدة. تشير هذه العقوبة إلى عواقب تصنيفها على أنها "مختلفة" أو لا "واحدة منا" على أساس الأداء اللغوي الذي لا يتبع المعايير الاجتماعية الراسخة.

يتم تقييم المتحدثين الذين يخرقون عن غير قصد القواعد الاجتماعية للسلوك المتوقع على أنهم "ليس لديهم ما يكفي من اللغة" ، الذي يصبح وكيل لعدم القدرة على "احتواء". هذا العجز ، بدوره ، يفسر على أنه عيب أخلاقي: عدم الطلاقة يصبح علامة على رﻏﺒﺔ ﻏﻴﺮ آﺎﻓﻴﺔ ﻓﻲ أن ﺗﺼﺒﺢ "واﺣﺪة ﻣﻨﺎ" وﺗﺸﻴﺮ إﻟﻰ اﻟﻤﻬﺎﺟﺮ ﻋﻠﻰ أﻧﻪ ﻣﻮاﻃﻦ "ﻓﺎﺷﻞ" و "ﺳﻲء".

تصبح اللغة ، كدليل على الانتماء ، حاملة للبواب إدراج / استبعادتنظيم الحصول على المواطنة والتعليم والصحة والحماية القانونية. تقع مسؤولية النجاح أو الفشل بثبات على عاتق "الآخر" - المهاجر ، العضو الأقلية ، الشخص الذي "لا يصلح في". هذه العملية مرئية بوضوح في اختبارات المواطنة واللغة. الاختبارات تمويه تقييم اللغة مع استنساخ وتقييم القيم المجردة عن المجتمع المنزلي. يأخذون النهج الضيق للتنوع الثقافي وتمثل مجموعة مهيمنة واحدة من "طرق لفعل الأشياء هنا".

نهج العجز

أسطورة أمة واحدة ، لغة واحدة (قومية) ، ثقافة (وطنية) واحدة - والتي كانت في قلب مثال الدولة القومية في 19th وقرارات 20th - يديم السرد الرئيسي للتجانس الوطني. ال أدلة متسقة وقوية أن "المتحدثين الأصليين" (وهو مصطلح سياسي بحد ذاته) يخفقون في اختبارات المواطنة وأن عملية التقييم سياسية بعمق ولم تسفر بعد عن سرد بديل.

من خلال طرح مقاربة العجز على اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء ، يتم إسقاط مساهمتهم في المجتمع ، ويُنظر إلى وجودهم والتنوع اللغوي المرتبط به كمشاكل أو تكاليف. تعتمد آلية الاستبعاد هذه على تسلسل هرمي لا تكون فيه جميع اللغات متساوية أو مرغوبة.

"اللغة" (اللغات) الخاصة بهم منخفضة على ترتيب النغمة التي ترى الأغلبية أنها مطلوبة أو مطلوبة. تصر النماذج الأحادية اللغة على مبدأ "subtractive" حيث تحل لغة واحدة مهيمنة محل لغة أخرى أقل "مستحبة" ، بدلاً من الاعتراف وتقييم كيف أن تعدد اللغات ، بإضافة القدرة على التواصل بأكثر من لغة واحدة ، يمكن أن يفيد الجميع في عالمنا المتواصل بشكل متزايد .

تساهم هذه المواقف في إسكات المساهمات التي يقدمها المواطنون الجدد متعددو اللغات إلى النمو الاقتصادي أو التماسك الاجتماعي أو الإنتاج الفني. هناك حاجة ملحة إلى مقاربة مختلفة ، نهج بعيد عن التعددية اللغوية كعجز ونحو الاعتراف بالتنوع اللغوي والثقافي كمحرك مبدع للمشاركة المدنية والرفاهية الاجتماعية.

حول المؤلفالمحادثة

لوريدانا بوليزي، أستاذ في دراسات الترجمة ، جامعة كارديف; جو انجوريأستاذ علم اللغة التطبيقي جامعة وارويكو ريتا ويلسون، أستاذ في دراسات الترجمة ، جامعة موناش

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ، الكلمات الرئيسية = الشعور مستبعد ، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
by جين رولاند وشانتيديفي
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
by فيليب روسو وبريت ميتشل
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
by ساثفيك براساد وبرادلي ريفز

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

How Language Has Become A Tool For Social Exclusion

How Language Has Become A Tool For Social Exclusion
Zurijeta/Shutterstock

Within a week of the Salzburg Global Seminar’s Statement for a Multilingual World launching in February 2018, the document – which calls for policies and practices that support multilingualism – had received 1.5m social media impressions.

The statement opens with some striking facts, including that “all 193 UN member states and most people are multilingual”. It also points out that 7,097 languages are currently spoken across the world but 2,464 of these are endangered. Just 23 languages dominate among these 7,097, and are spoken by over half of the world’s population.

As these statistics show, the soundtrack of our lives and the visual landscapes of our cities are multilingual. Languages, in their plurality, enrich our experience of the world and our creative potential. Multilingualism opens up new ways of being and of doing, it connects us with others and provides a window into the diversity of our societies. And yet, despite the more positive statistics above, we are currently witnessing a deep divide.

On the one hand, multilingualism is associated with mobility, productivity and knowledge creation (see, for instance, the EU’s objective for all citizens to speak two languages in addition to their first one). On the other, monolingualism (speaking only one language) is still perceived as both the norm and the ideal for an allegedly well-functioning society. Linguistic diversity is seen as both suspicious and costly.

Linguistic penalties

This is particularly visible in relation to the most vulnerable groups seeking a new home: refugees and asylum seekers. Newcomers are often required to prove they can read, write and speak the national language/s to be given the right to remain. Fluency, however, goes beyond technical ability in the majority languages. In the 1980s, researchers showed that language is more than just a code by which we communicate, it is related to social and political knowledge, and access to power structures.

Standing out from the crowd. (how language has become a tool for social exclusion)Standing out from the crowd. Nat.photo/Shutterstock

Language skills are critically important for engagement with a host society and lacking those skills can be an insurmountable barrier for accessing opportunities in education, work, and other areas of social life. Success in finding one’s place in a new social context, however, requires more than instrumental use of language.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Research has shown that refugees pay a “linguistic penalty” when transitioning to a new socioeconomic environment. That penalty refers to the consequences of being categorised as “different” or not “one of us” on the basis of language performance that does not follow established societal norms.

Speakers who inadvertently break societal rules of expected behaviour are assessed as “not having enough language”, which becomes a proxy for an inability to “fit in”. That inability, in turn, is interpreted as a moral deficiency: lack of fluency becomes a sign of insufficient desire to become “one of us” and marks the migrant as both a “failed” and a “bad” citizen.

Language, held up as a sign of belonging, becomes a gatekeeper for inclusion/exclusion, regulating access to citizenship and education, health and legal protection. The responsibility for success or failure falls firmly on the shoulders of the “other” – the migrant, the minority member, the one who “does not fit in”. This process is clearly visible in citizenship and language tests. The tests blur language assessment with reproducing and assessing abstract values about the home society. They take a narrow approach to cultural diversity and represent one hegemonic set of “ways of doing things around here”.

Deficit approach

The myth of one nation, one (national) language, one (national) culture – which was at the heart of the ideal of the nation state in the 19th and 20th centuries – perpetuates the master narrative of national homogeneity. The consistent and robust evidence that “native speakers” (a political term in its own right) fail citizenship tests and that the evaluation process is deeply political has not yet produced an alternative narrative.

By projecting a deficit approach onto refugees and asylum seekers, their contribution to society is dismissed and both their presence and the linguistic diversity attached to it are perceived as problems or costs. This mechanism of exclusion relies on a hierarchy in which not all languages are equal or desirable.

“Their” language(s) are low on the pecking order that the majority perceive as needed or wanted. Monolingual models insist on a “subtractive” principle in which one dominant language replaces another less “desirable” one, rather than recognising and valuing how multilingualism, by adding the ability to communicate in more than one language, can benefit everyone in our increasingly connected world.

These attitudes silence the contributions that new multilingual citizens make to economic growth, social cohesion or artistic production. A different approach is urgently needed, one that moves away from multilingualism as deficit and towards a recognition of linguistic and cultural diversity as a creative engine of civic participation and social well-being.

About the AuthorsThe Conversation

Loredana Polezzi, Professor in Translation Studies, Cardiff University; Jo Angouri, Professor of Applied Linguistics, University of Warwick, and Rita Wilson, Professor in Translation Studies, Monash University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=feeling excluded;maxresults=3}

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…
Horoscope Week: May 3 - 9, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 3 - 9, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…

MOST READ

Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
by Samantha Murray, University of Florida
Insects are attracted to landscapes where flowering plants of the same species are grouped together…
What’s The Difference Between Misinformation, Disinformation and Hoaxes?
What’s The Difference Between Misinformation, Disinformation and Hoaxes?
by Michael J. O'Brien and Izzat Alsmadi, Texas A&M
Sorting through the vast amount of information created and shared online is challenging, even for…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The inner child waits patiently for the adult to notice it, to talk to it. It asks itself: "How can…
How Sex And Intimacy Coaching Can Help Strengthen Connections Between People
How Sex and Intimacy Coaching Can Help Strengthen Connections Between People
by Treena Orchard, Western University
Despite living in a sex-obsessed society, we rarely talk about our erotic lives in ways that foster…
Prolonged Brain Dysfunction In Covid-19 Survivors Is A Pandemic In Its Own Right?
Is Prolonged Brain Dysfunction In Covid-19 Survivors A Pandemic In Its Own Right?
by Chris Robinson, University of Florida
One in three survivors of COVID-19, those more commonly referred to as COVID-19 long-haulers,…
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
by Dawna Markova
It's time to ignite a small revolution, a revolution of angels carrying stories to balance the…
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
by Martine Postma
Apparently people worldwide are ready for change, ready to say goodbye to our throwaway society and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.