Как язык стал инструментом социальной изоляции

Как язык стал инструментом социальной изоляции
Zurijeta / Shutterstock

В течение недели после Зальцбургский глобальный семинар Заявление о многоязычном мире Запуская в феврале 2018, документ, который призывает к политике и практике, поддерживающим многоязычие, получил впечатления от социальных сетей 1.5m.

Заявление начинается с некоторых поразительных фактов, в том числе того, что «все государства-члены 193 ООН и большинство людей говорят на многих языках». Это также указывает на то, что на языках 7,097 в настоящее время говорят по всему миру, но 2,464 подвергается опасности. Только языки 23 доминируют среди этих 7,097, и на них говорит более половины населения мира.

Как показывает эта статистика, саундтрек нашей жизни и визуальные пейзажи наших городов многоязычны. Языки в своей множественности обогащают наш мировой опыт и наш творческий потенциал. Многоязычие открывает новые способы существования и деятельности, связывает нас с другими и открывает окно в многообразие наших обществ. И все же, несмотря на более позитивную статистику, приведенную выше, в настоящее время мы наблюдаем глубокий разрыв.

С одной стороны, многоязычие связано с мобильностью, производительностью и созданием знаний (см., Например, цель ЕС по все граждане говорят на двух языках в дополнение к их первому). С другой стороны, монолингвизм (говорящий только на одном языке) все еще воспринимается как и норма, и идеал для якобы хорошо функционирующего общества. Языковое разнообразие рассматривается как подозрительный и дорогостоящий.

Лингвистические штрафы

Это особенно заметно в отношении наиболее уязвимых групп, ищущих новый дом: беженцев и лиц, ищущих убежища. Новички часто требуется чтобы доказать, что они могут читать, писать и говорить национальный язык (и), чтобы получить право остаться. Свободное владение, однако, выходит за рамки технических возможностей в большинстве языков. В 1980s, исследователи показали этот язык - больше, чем просто код, с помощью которого мы общаемся, он связан с социальными и политическими знаниями и доступом к властным структурам.

Выделяясь из толпы. (как язык стал инструментом социальной изоляции)Выделяясь из толпы. Nat.photo/Shutterstock

Знание языков крайне важно для взаимодействия с принимающим обществом, и отсутствие этих навыков может стать непреодолимым препятствием для доступа к возможностям в сфере образования, работы и других сферах общественной жизни. Однако успех в поиске своего места в новом социальном контексте требует не только инструментального использования языка.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Исследования показали, что беженцы платятязыковой штраф»При переходе в новую социально-экономическую среду. Это наказание относится к последствиям отнесения к категории «разные» или не «один из нас» на основании языковой эффективности, которая не соответствует установленным социальным нормам.

Спикеры, которые непреднамеренно нарушают общественные правила ожидаемого поведения, оцениваются как «нехватка языка», который становится прокси за неспособность «вписаться». Эта неспособность, в свою очередь, интерпретируется как моральный недостаток: отсутствие беглости становится признаком недостаточное желание стать «одним из нас» и означает, что мигрант является и «неудачным», и «плохим» гражданином.

Язык, который считается признаком принадлежности, становится привратником для включение / исключениерегулирование доступа к гражданству и образованию, здравоохранению и правовой защите. Ответственность за успех или неудачу ложится на плечи «другого» - мигранта, члена меньшинства, того, кто «Не вписывается», Этот процесс хорошо виден в гражданских и языковых тестах. Тесты размывают оценку языка с воспроизведением и оценкой абстрактных ценностей о домашнем обществе. Они берут узкий подход к культурному разнообразию и представлять один гегемонистский набор «способов делать вещи здесь».

Дефицитный подход

Миф об одной нации, одном (национальном) языке, одной (национальной) культуре - который был в основе идеала национального государства в 19th и 20th веках - увековечивает мастер повествования о национальной однородности. последовательные и надежные доказательства что «носители языка» (сам по себе политический термин) не проходят тесты на гражданство и что процесс оценки является глубоко политическим, еще не было альтернативного повествования.

Проецируя дефицитный подход на беженцев и лиц, ищущих убежища, их вклад в развитие общества отклоняется, и их присутствие и языковое разнообразие, связанное с ним, воспринимаются как проблемы или издержки. Этот механизм исключения опирается на иерархию, в которой не все языки равны или желательны.

«Их» язык (и) низок в том порядке, который большинство воспринимает как необходимое или желаемое. Одноязычные модели настаивают на «субтрактивном» принципе, при котором один доминирующий язык заменяет другой, менее «желательный», вместо того, чтобы признавать и ценить то, как многоязычие, добавляя способность общаться более чем на одном языке, может принести пользу всем в нашем все более взаимосвязанном мире ,

Такое отношение заставляет замолчать тот вклад, который новые многоязычные граждане вносят в экономический рост, социальную сплоченность или художественное производство. Срочно необходим другой подход, который отходит от многоязычия как дефицита и к признанию языкового и культурного разнообразия как творческого двигателя гражданского участия и социального благополучия.

Об авторахБеседа

Лоредана ПолецциПрофессор переводческих исследований, Университет Кардиффа; Джо АнгуриПрофессор прикладной лингвистики, Университет Уорвики Рита УилсонПрофессор переводческих исследований, Университет Монаш

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = чувство исключено; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Учись влюбляться
Учимся заводить любовь
by Нэнси Уиндхарт
Компания, которую вы держите: учиться выбирать выборочно
Компания, которую вы держите: учиться выбирать выборочно
by Доктор Пол Napper, Psy.D. и доктор Энтони Рао, доктор философии

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Компания, которую вы держите: учиться выбирать выборочно
Компания, которую вы держите: учиться выбирать выборочно
by Доктор Пол Napper, Psy.D. и доктор Энтони Рао, доктор философии
5 мифов о луне
5 мифов о луне
by Daniel Brown

How Language Has Become A Tool For Social Exclusion

How Language Has Become A Tool For Social Exclusion
Zurijeta/Shutterstock

Within a week of the Salzburg Global Seminar’s Statement for a Multilingual World launching in February 2018, the document – which calls for policies and practices that support multilingualism – had received 1.5m social media impressions.

The statement opens with some striking facts, including that “all 193 UN member states and most people are multilingual”. It also points out that 7,097 languages are currently spoken across the world but 2,464 of these are endangered. Just 23 languages dominate among these 7,097, and are spoken by over half of the world’s population.

As these statistics show, the soundtrack of our lives and the visual landscapes of our cities are multilingual. Languages, in their plurality, enrich our experience of the world and our creative potential. Multilingualism opens up new ways of being and of doing, it connects us with others and provides a window into the diversity of our societies. And yet, despite the more positive statistics above, we are currently witnessing a deep divide.

On the one hand, multilingualism is associated with mobility, productivity and knowledge creation (see, for instance, the EU’s objective for all citizens to speak two languages in addition to their first one). On the other, monolingualism (speaking only one language) is still perceived as both the norm and the ideal for an allegedly well-functioning society. Linguistic diversity is seen as both suspicious and costly.

Linguistic penalties

This is particularly visible in relation to the most vulnerable groups seeking a new home: refugees and asylum seekers. Newcomers are often required to prove they can read, write and speak the national language/s to be given the right to remain. Fluency, however, goes beyond technical ability in the majority languages. In the 1980s, researchers showed that language is more than just a code by which we communicate, it is related to social and political knowledge, and access to power structures.

Standing out from the crowd. (how language has become a tool for social exclusion)Standing out from the crowd. Nat.photo/Shutterstock

Language skills are critically important for engagement with a host society and lacking those skills can be an insurmountable barrier for accessing opportunities in education, work, and other areas of social life. Success in finding one’s place in a new social context, however, requires more than instrumental use of language.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Research has shown that refugees pay a “linguistic penalty” when transitioning to a new socioeconomic environment. That penalty refers to the consequences of being categorised as “different” or not “one of us” on the basis of language performance that does not follow established societal norms.

Speakers who inadvertently break societal rules of expected behaviour are assessed as “not having enough language”, which becomes a proxy for an inability to “fit in”. That inability, in turn, is interpreted as a moral deficiency: lack of fluency becomes a sign of insufficient desire to become “one of us” and marks the migrant as both a “failed” and a “bad” citizen.

Language, held up as a sign of belonging, becomes a gatekeeper for inclusion/exclusion, regulating access to citizenship and education, health and legal protection. The responsibility for success or failure falls firmly on the shoulders of the “other” – the migrant, the minority member, the one who “does not fit in”. This process is clearly visible in citizenship and language tests. The tests blur language assessment with reproducing and assessing abstract values about the home society. They take a narrow approach to cultural diversity and represent one hegemonic set of “ways of doing things around here”.

Deficit approach

The myth of one nation, one (national) language, one (national) culture – which was at the heart of the ideal of the nation state in the 19th and 20th centuries – perpetuates the master narrative of national homogeneity. The consistent and robust evidence that “native speakers” (a political term in its own right) fail citizenship tests and that the evaluation process is deeply political has not yet produced an alternative narrative.

By projecting a deficit approach onto refugees and asylum seekers, their contribution to society is dismissed and both their presence and the linguistic diversity attached to it are perceived as problems or costs. This mechanism of exclusion relies on a hierarchy in which not all languages are equal or desirable.

“Their” language(s) are low on the pecking order that the majority perceive as needed or wanted. Monolingual models insist on a “subtractive” principle in which one dominant language replaces another less “desirable” one, rather than recognising and valuing how multilingualism, by adding the ability to communicate in more than one language, can benefit everyone in our increasingly connected world.

These attitudes silence the contributions that new multilingual citizens make to economic growth, social cohesion or artistic production. A different approach is urgently needed, one that moves away from multilingualism as deficit and towards a recognition of linguistic and cultural diversity as a creative engine of civic participation and social well-being.

About the AuthorsThe Conversation

Loredana Polezzi, Professor in Translation Studies, Cardiff University; Jo Angouri, Professor of Applied Linguistics, University of Warwick, and Rita Wilson, Professor in Translation Studies, Monash University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=feeling excluded;maxresults=3}

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…
Horoscope Week: May 3 - 9, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 3 - 9, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…

MOST READ

Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
by Samantha Murray, University of Florida
Insects are attracted to landscapes where flowering plants of the same species are grouped together…
What’s The Difference Between Misinformation, Disinformation and Hoaxes?
What’s The Difference Between Misinformation, Disinformation and Hoaxes?
by Michael J. O'Brien and Izzat Alsmadi, Texas A&M
Sorting through the vast amount of information created and shared online is challenging, even for…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The inner child waits patiently for the adult to notice it, to talk to it. It asks itself: "How can…
How Sex And Intimacy Coaching Can Help Strengthen Connections Between People
How Sex and Intimacy Coaching Can Help Strengthen Connections Between People
by Treena Orchard, Western University
Despite living in a sex-obsessed society, we rarely talk about our erotic lives in ways that foster…
Prolonged Brain Dysfunction In Covid-19 Survivors Is A Pandemic In Its Own Right?
Is Prolonged Brain Dysfunction In Covid-19 Survivors A Pandemic In Its Own Right?
by Chris Robinson, University of Florida
One in three survivors of COVID-19, those more commonly referred to as COVID-19 long-haulers,…
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
by Dawna Markova
It's time to ignite a small revolution, a revolution of angels carrying stories to balance the…
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
by Martine Postma
Apparently people worldwide are ready for change, ready to say goodbye to our throwaway society and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.