Wie Sprache zum Werkzeug für soziale Ausgrenzung wird

Wie Sprache zum Werkzeug für soziale Ausgrenzung wird
Zurijeta / Shutterstock

Innerhalb einer Woche nach dem Salzburger Weltseminar Statement für eine mehrsprachige Welt Das im Februar gestartete Dokument 2018 - das Richtlinien und Praktiken fordert, die die Mehrsprachigkeit unterstützen - hatte 1.5m-Social-Media-Eindrücke erhalten.

Die Erklärung beginnt mit einigen bemerkenswerten Fakten, darunter "alle 193-UN-Mitgliedstaaten und die meisten Menschen sind mehrsprachig". Es wird auch darauf hingewiesen, dass 7,097-Sprachen derzeit weltweit gesprochen werden, von denen 2,464 jedoch gefährdet ist. Nur 23-Sprachen dominieren unter diesen 7,097 und werden von über der Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung gesprochen.

Wie diese Statistiken zeigen, sind der Soundtrack unseres Lebens und die visuellen Landschaften unserer Städte mehrsprachig. Sprachen in ihrer Pluralität bereichern unsere Erfahrung der Welt und unser kreatives Potenzial. Mehrsprachigkeit eröffnet neue Wege des Seins und des Handelns, verbindet uns mit anderen und gibt einen Einblick in die Vielfalt unserer Gesellschaften. Trotz der positiveren Statistiken sehen wir derzeit eine tiefe Kluft.

Zum einen ist Mehrsprachigkeit mit Mobilität, Produktivität und Wissensschaffung verbunden (siehe beispielsweise das Ziel der EU für Alle Bürger sprechen zwei Sprachen zusätzlich zu ihrem ersten). Andererseits wird Monolingualismus (spricht nur eine Sprache) immer noch als wahrgenommen sowohl die Norm als auch das Ideal für eine angeblich gut funktionierende Gesellschaft. Sprachliche Vielfalt wird als beides gesehen misstrauisch und teuer werden.

Sprachstrafen

Dies ist besonders deutlich in Bezug auf die am stärksten gefährdeten Gruppen, die ein neues Zuhause suchen: Flüchtlinge und Asylsuchende. Neuankömmlinge sind oft erforderlich um zu beweisen, dass sie es können lesen, schreiben und sprechen die Landessprache (n), die das Bleiberecht erhalten soll. In den Mehrheitssprachen geht die Sprachkompetenz jedoch über technische Fähigkeiten hinaus. In den 1980s Forscher zeigten Diese Sprache ist mehr als nur ein Code, durch den wir kommunizieren, sie bezieht sich auf soziales und politisches Wissen und den Zugang zu Machtstrukturen.

Von der Masse abheben. (Wie die Sprache zu einem Werkzeug für soziale Ausgrenzung geworden ist)Von der Masse abheben. Nat.photo/Shutterstock

Sprachkenntnisse sind für die Auseinandersetzung mit der Aufnahmegesellschaft von entscheidender Bedeutung, und das Fehlen dieser Fähigkeiten kann ein unüberwindliches Hindernis für den Zugang zu Möglichkeiten in Bildung, Arbeit und anderen Bereichen des sozialen Lebens sein. Um einen Platz in einem neuen sozialen Kontext zu finden, ist jedoch mehr als nur ein instrumentaler Gebrauch von Sprache erforderlich.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass Flüchtlingesprachliche Strafe”Beim Übergang in ein neues sozioökonomisches Umfeld. Diese Strafe bezieht sich auf die Folgen der Einstufung als „anders“ oder nicht als „einer von uns“ auf der Grundlage von Sprachleistungen, die nicht den etablierten gesellschaftlichen Normen folgen.

Sprecher, die versehentlich gegen gesellschaftliche Regeln des erwarteten Verhaltens verstoßen, werden als „zu wenig Sprache gesprochen“ bewertet. das wird ein Proxy für die Unfähigkeit zu "passen". Diese Unfähigkeit wird wiederum als moralischer Mangel interpretiert: mangelnde Fließfähigkeit wird ein Zeichen von unzureichender Wunsch, „einer von uns“ zu werden, und kennzeichnet den Migranten als „gescheiterten“ und „schlechten“ Bürger.

Die als Zeichen der Zugehörigkeit gehaltene Sprache wird zum Torwächter Inklusion ExklusionRegulierung des Zugangs zu Staatsbürgerschaft und Bildung sowie Gesundheits- und Rechtsschutz. Die Verantwortung für Erfolg oder Misserfolg liegt fest auf den Schultern des „Anderen“ - des Migranten, des Minderheitenmitglieds, des Wem "Passt nicht rein". Dieser Prozess ist bei Bürger- und Sprachtests deutlich sichtbar. Die Tests verwischen die Sprachbewertung mit der Wiedergabe und Bewertung abstrakter Werte über die Heimatgesellschaft. Sie nehmen eine enger Ansatz für kulturelle Vielfalt und vertreten ein hegemoniales Set von "Möglichkeiten, hier Dinge zu tun".

Defizitansatz

Der Mythos einer Nation, einer (nationalen) Sprache, einer (nationalen) Kultur - der Kern des Ideals des Nationalstaats im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert - verewigt die Meistererzählung der nationalen Homogenität. Das konsistente und robuste Beweise dass „Muttersprachler“ (ein eigener politischer Begriff) die Bürgerschaftstests nicht bestehen und der Bewertungsprozess tief politisch ist, hat noch keine alternative Erzählung hervorgebracht.

Durch die Projektion eines Defizitansatzes auf Flüchtlinge und Asylsuchende wird ihr Beitrag zur Gesellschaft abgelehnt, und sowohl ihre Präsenz als auch die damit verbundene sprachliche Vielfalt werden als Probleme oder Kosten wahrgenommen. Dieser Ausschlussmechanismus beruht auf einer Hierarchie, in der nicht alle Sprachen gleich oder wünschenswert sind.

"Ihre" Sprache (n) haben eine niedrige Rangordnung, die die Mehrheit als notwendig oder erwünscht empfindet. Monolingual-Modelle bestehen auf einem „subtraktiven“ Prinzip, bei dem eine dominante Sprache eine andere, weniger „wünschenswerte“ ersetzt, anstatt zu erkennen und zu bewerten, wie Mehrsprachigkeit durch die Fähigkeit, mehrsprachig zu kommunizieren, allen in unserer zunehmend vernetzten Welt nutzen kann .

Diese Einstellungen bringen den Beitrag, den neue mehrsprachige Bürger zum Wirtschaftswachstum, zum sozialen Zusammenhalt oder zur künstlerischen Produktion leisten, zum Schweigen. Es ist dringend ein anderer Ansatz erforderlich, der sich von der Mehrsprachigkeit als Defizit hin zu einer Anerkennung der sprachlichen und kulturellen Vielfalt als kreativer Motor für Bürgerbeteiligung und soziales Wohlbefinden entwickelt.

Über die AutorenDas Gespräch

Loredana Polezzi, Professor für Übersetzungswissenschaft, Cardiff University; Jo Angouri, Professor für Angewandte Linguistik, University of Warwick, und Rita Wilson, Professor für Übersetzungswissenschaft, Monash Universität

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Keywords = ausgeschlossenes Gefühl; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

MOST READ

So halten Sie Ihren Arbeitsbereich zu Hause sicher und hygienisch
So halten Sie Ihren Arbeitsbereich zu Hause sicher und hygienisch
by Libby Sander, Lotti Tajouri und Rashed Alghafri

VON DEN HERAUSGEBERN

Der Tag der Abrechnung ist für die GOP gekommen
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Die Republikanische Partei ist keine pro-amerikanische politische Partei mehr. Es ist eine illegitime pseudopolitische Partei voller Radikaler und Reaktionäre, deren erklärtes Ziel es ist, zu stören, zu destabilisieren und ...
Warum Donald Trump der größte Verlierer der Geschichte sein könnte
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Aktualisiert am 2. Juli 20020 - Diese ganze Coronavirus-Pandemie kostet ein Vermögen, vielleicht 2 oder 3 oder 4 Vermögen, alle von unbekannter Größe. Oh ja, und Hunderttausende, vielleicht eine Million Menschen werden sterben ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: Wie Rassismus gelehrt wird
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In dieser Oprah Show-Folge von 1992 brachte die preisgekrönte Anti-Rassismus-Aktivistin und Pädagogin Jane Elliott dem Publikum eine schwierige Lektion über Rassismus bei, indem sie demonstrierte, wie einfach es ist, Vorurteile zu lernen.
Eine Veränderung wird kommen...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(30. Mai 2020) Während ich mir die Nachrichten über die Ereignisse in Philadelphia und anderen Städten des Landes ansehe, schmerzt mein Herz für das, was sich abspielt. Ich weiß, dass dies Teil der größeren Veränderung ist, die sich vollzieht…
Ein Lied kann Herz und Seele erheben
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Ich habe verschiedene Möglichkeiten, um die Dunkelheit aus meinem Kopf zu entfernen, wenn ich feststelle, dass sie sich eingeschlichen hat. Eine davon ist Gartenarbeit oder Zeit in der Natur zu verbringen. Der andere ist Stille. Ein anderer Weg ist das Lesen. Und eine, die ...

How Language Has Become A Tool For Social Exclusion

How Language Has Become A Tool For Social Exclusion
Zurijeta/Shutterstock

Within a week of the Salzburg Global Seminar’s Statement for a Multilingual World launching in February 2018, the document – which calls for policies and practices that support multilingualism – had received 1.5m social media impressions.

The statement opens with some striking facts, including that “all 193 UN member states and most people are multilingual”. It also points out that 7,097 languages are currently spoken across the world but 2,464 of these are endangered. Just 23 languages dominate among these 7,097, and are spoken by over half of the world’s population.

As these statistics show, the soundtrack of our lives and the visual landscapes of our cities are multilingual. Languages, in their plurality, enrich our experience of the world and our creative potential. Multilingualism opens up new ways of being and of doing, it connects us with others and provides a window into the diversity of our societies. And yet, despite the more positive statistics above, we are currently witnessing a deep divide.

On the one hand, multilingualism is associated with mobility, productivity and knowledge creation (see, for instance, the EU’s objective for all citizens to speak two languages in addition to their first one). On the other, monolingualism (speaking only one language) is still perceived as both the norm and the ideal for an allegedly well-functioning society. Linguistic diversity is seen as both suspicious and costly.

Linguistic penalties

This is particularly visible in relation to the most vulnerable groups seeking a new home: refugees and asylum seekers. Newcomers are often required to prove they can read, write and speak the national language/s to be given the right to remain. Fluency, however, goes beyond technical ability in the majority languages. In the 1980s, researchers showed that language is more than just a code by which we communicate, it is related to social and political knowledge, and access to power structures.

Standing out from the crowd. (how language has become a tool for social exclusion)Standing out from the crowd. Nat.photo/Shutterstock

Language skills are critically important for engagement with a host society and lacking those skills can be an insurmountable barrier for accessing opportunities in education, work, and other areas of social life. Success in finding one’s place in a new social context, however, requires more than instrumental use of language.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Research has shown that refugees pay a “linguistic penalty” when transitioning to a new socioeconomic environment. That penalty refers to the consequences of being categorised as “different” or not “one of us” on the basis of language performance that does not follow established societal norms.

Speakers who inadvertently break societal rules of expected behaviour are assessed as “not having enough language”, which becomes a proxy for an inability to “fit in”. That inability, in turn, is interpreted as a moral deficiency: lack of fluency becomes a sign of insufficient desire to become “one of us” and marks the migrant as both a “failed” and a “bad” citizen.

Language, held up as a sign of belonging, becomes a gatekeeper for inclusion/exclusion, regulating access to citizenship and education, health and legal protection. The responsibility for success or failure falls firmly on the shoulders of the “other” – the migrant, the minority member, the one who “does not fit in”. This process is clearly visible in citizenship and language tests. The tests blur language assessment with reproducing and assessing abstract values about the home society. They take a narrow approach to cultural diversity and represent one hegemonic set of “ways of doing things around here”.

Deficit approach

The myth of one nation, one (national) language, one (national) culture – which was at the heart of the ideal of the nation state in the 19th and 20th centuries – perpetuates the master narrative of national homogeneity. The consistent and robust evidence that “native speakers” (a political term in its own right) fail citizenship tests and that the evaluation process is deeply political has not yet produced an alternative narrative.

By projecting a deficit approach onto refugees and asylum seekers, their contribution to society is dismissed and both their presence and the linguistic diversity attached to it are perceived as problems or costs. This mechanism of exclusion relies on a hierarchy in which not all languages are equal or desirable.

“Their” language(s) are low on the pecking order that the majority perceive as needed or wanted. Monolingual models insist on a “subtractive” principle in which one dominant language replaces another less “desirable” one, rather than recognising and valuing how multilingualism, by adding the ability to communicate in more than one language, can benefit everyone in our increasingly connected world.

These attitudes silence the contributions that new multilingual citizens make to economic growth, social cohesion or artistic production. A different approach is urgently needed, one that moves away from multilingualism as deficit and towards a recognition of linguistic and cultural diversity as a creative engine of civic participation and social well-being.

About the AuthorsThe Conversation

Loredana Polezzi, Professor in Translation Studies, Cardiff University; Jo Angouri, Professor of Applied Linguistics, University of Warwick, and Rita Wilson, Professor in Translation Studies, Monash University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=feeling excluded;maxresults=3}

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…
Horoscope Week: May 3 - 9, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 3 - 9, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…

MOST READ

Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
by Samantha Murray, University of Florida
Insects are attracted to landscapes where flowering plants of the same species are grouped together…
What’s The Difference Between Misinformation, Disinformation and Hoaxes?
What’s The Difference Between Misinformation, Disinformation and Hoaxes?
by Michael J. O'Brien and Izzat Alsmadi, Texas A&M
Sorting through the vast amount of information created and shared online is challenging, even for…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The inner child waits patiently for the adult to notice it, to talk to it. It asks itself: "How can…
How Sex And Intimacy Coaching Can Help Strengthen Connections Between People
How Sex and Intimacy Coaching Can Help Strengthen Connections Between People
by Treena Orchard, Western University
Despite living in a sex-obsessed society, we rarely talk about our erotic lives in ways that foster…
Prolonged Brain Dysfunction In Covid-19 Survivors Is A Pandemic In Its Own Right?
Is Prolonged Brain Dysfunction In Covid-19 Survivors A Pandemic In Its Own Right?
by Chris Robinson, University of Florida
One in three survivors of COVID-19, those more commonly referred to as COVID-19 long-haulers,…
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
Opening Ourselves To The Full Potential Of What We Can Achieve Together
by Dawna Markova
It's time to ignite a small revolution, a revolution of angels carrying stories to balance the…
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
by Martine Postma
Apparently people worldwide are ready for change, ready to say goodbye to our throwaway society and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.