Le rôle surprenant des traumatismes de l'enfance dans la réussite sportive

Le rôle surprenant des traumatismes de l'enfance dans la réussite sportiveLa patineuse de vitesse et cycliste canadienne Clara Hughes est la seule athlète de l'histoire à remporter plusieurs médailles aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver et d'été. LA PRESSE CANADIENNE / Darryl Dyck

L’histoire de la patineuse de vitesse et cycliste canadienne Clara Hughes, la première olympienne à remporter de multiples médailles aux jeux d’été et d’hiver, est une histoire de triomphe sur l’adversité. Avant de pratiquer les sports d’endurance, elle buvait et consommait de la drogue. - une tentative d'adolescent de fuir la vie à la maison avec son père et son alcoolisme.

Le tennisman britannique Andy Murray a survécu au massacre de 1996 à l’école primaire de Dunblane en Écosse en se cachant sous un bureau, âgé de huit ans. La gymnaste américaine Simone Biles a passé sa petite enfance dans le système de placement familial. En effet, des recherches suggèrent que nombre des plus grands athlètes du monde pourraient avoir des histoires similaires d’adversité dans l’enfance.

Une étude dirigée par le professeur de psychologie du sport Lew Hardy au Royaume-Uni a comparé les champions olympiques 16 aux athlètes olympiques 16 non médaillés. Tous les médaillés ont été exposés à un traumatisme dans leur enfance - y compris le décès ou le divorce de vos parents, des abus physiques et verbaux ou un environnement familial instable - par rapport à seulement quatre des non-médaillés.

Ayant récemment terminé mon doctorat en psychologie du sport, j'ai été surprise d'apprendre que les expériences traumatisantes peuvent avoir un côté positif en sport. En fait, ces résultats vont à l'encontre de tout ce que je savais à propos de expériences défavorables de l'enfance (ACE). Les abus, la négligence et les dysfonctionnements domestiques avant l'âge de 18 augmentent le risque de conséquences négatives sur la santé, notamment la toxicomanie, la dépression et l'obésité - des ingrédients idéaux pour la réussite sportive, semble-t-il.

Les chercheurs et les psychologues du sport se sont attaqués à la notion que "le talent a besoin d'un traumatisme" dans les années récentes. Cette phrase a suscité un débat sur la définition du traumatisme et sur la nécessité de le traumatiser pour réussir dans le sport.

Peut-être plus important encore, on s’est inquiété de la façon dont les praticiens, tels que les dépisteurs de talents et les entraîneurs, pourraient s’appuyer sur ces conclusions - en particulier compte tenu des révélations récentes et des allégations de maltraitance généralisée des enfants dans le sport gymnastique aux États-Unis au football dans des endroits aussi éloignés que le United Kingdom et Afghanistan.

Apprendre de l'adversité

Malheureusement, les expériences défavorables de l’enfance sont relativement courantes. Selon le US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, environ 60% de la population rapporte au moins un ACE.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


En revanche, les données les plus récentes de la US National Collegiate Athletic Association suggèrent que seuls un athlète du lycée 2,500 le fera professionnellement, et beaucoup moins gagneront jamais une médaille d’or olympique. De toute évidence, le traumatisme à lui seul ne suffit pas à la célébrité sportive.

Une étude plus attentive de la recherche montre que ce ne sont pas les traumatismes qui créent les superstars du sport, mais bien ce que l'athlète apporte et retire de l'expérience, ainsi que les opportunités de participer à un environnement sportif favorable.

Il est à noter que les preuves suggèrent que le «traumatisme» ne se limite pas aux abus, à la négligence et aux problèmes du ménage. D'autres formes d'adversité peuvent également produire cet effet.

Plusieurs études ont identifié les traumatismes précoces non sportifs comme des périodes critiques de croissance, les athlètes ont également décrit blessures et autres difficultés liées au sport points tournants clés qui ont façonné les performances futures.

Face à l'adversité - dans le sport ou dans la vie - les athlètes qui ont le mieux réussi dans ces études étaient ceux qui pouvaient apprendre de l'expérience et réfléchir à celle-ci.

Instinct naturel ou croissance post-traumatique?

Après avoir analysé le autobiographies de huit champions olympiques de natation Dans 2015, Karen Howells et David Fletcher de l’Université de Loughborough, chercheurs en psychologie du sport, ont décrit le traumatisme comme un «déclencheur de motivation» qui alimentait une volonté intense de gagner.

En outre, les champions olympiques et les multiples médaillés dans l'étude de Hardy ont décrit des expériences de traumatisme infantile qui ont été suivies d'un événement positif lié au sport, tel que la recherche d'un entraîneur important, d'un mentor ou d'un sport dans lequel ils ont prospéré.

Ainsi, la capacité à surmonter un traumatisme et les possibilités de réussir dans un environnement sportif favorable apparaissent importantes pour la réussite sportive.

Je devrais ajouter que toutes les recherches menées dans ce domaine ne corroborent pas ces résultats. Dans une étude 2016 sur les «super champions» 54 (classés parmi les trois meilleurs de leur sport international), «champions» (classés parmi les meilleurs 40) et «presque tous» (médaillés mondiaux juniors sans succès de haut niveau), des chercheurs n'a trouvé aucune preuve que le sport ou un traumatisme de la vie était nécessaire au succès, pas plus que les expériences traumatisantes ne pourraient être utilisées pour différencier les groupes.

Une autre étude publiée dans 2017 a révélé que Les athlètes d'élite 20 ont signalé des traumatismes liés principalement au sport, négocié par des compétences psychologiques innées. En d'autres termes, ces athlètes étaient dotés des compétences nécessaires pour traverser efficacement l'adversité avant de s'y affronter.

Les athlètes résilients ont besoin d'un défi et Paper

Comment pouvons-nous donner un sens à cette recherche? Les meilleurs athlètes au monde sont-ils nés avec les compétences psychologiques nécessaires pour réussir ou développent-ils les outils mentaux nécessaires pour réussir grâce à une croissance post-traumatique?

Le rôle surprenant des traumatismes de l'enfance dans la réussite sportiveSimone Biles est la gymnaste la plus décorée de l'histoire américaine. La mère biologique de Biles était incapable de s'occuper de ses enfants et ils ont été impliqués dans le système de placement familial dès leur plus jeune âge. Biles a été adopté à l'âge de six ans. (AP Photo / Vadim Ghirda)

La façon dont je vois les choses, c'est un peu des deux. En tant que dépisteur ou entraîneur, vous ne pouvez pas espérer de grandes choses de la part d'un athlète simplement parce qu'il a eu une vie difficile. Il n'y a pas non plus de raison d'imposer l'adversité à quelqu'un en partant du principe qu'il va tirer parti de l'expérience.

Le meilleur moyen de produire des athlètes résilients est de fournir un environnement sportif stimulant et favorable - un lieu où les athlètes se sentent physiquement et psychologiquement en sécurité dans leurs expériences de réussite et d’échec.

Trauma peut se présenter comme une opportunité d'apprentissage unique pour certaines personnes, mais est loin d'être la recette du succès mondial.La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Veronica Allan, boursière mondiale en journalisme, Munk School, Université de Toronto

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = récupération après traumatisme de l'enfance; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

LES PLUS LUS

Vous pensez donc que vos mots de passe Internet sont sécurisés?
Vous pensez donc que vos mots de passe Internet sont sécurisés?
by Paul Haskell-Dowland et Brianna O'Shea
Ce qui fonctionne pour moi: "Je peux le faire!"
Ce qui fonctionne pour moi: "Je peux le faire!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf

DES ÉDITEURS

InnerSelf Newsletter: Septembre 27, 2020
by Personnel InnerSelf
L'une des grandes forces de la race humaine est notre capacité à être flexible, à être créatif et à sortir des sentiers battus. Être quelqu'un d'autre que nous étions hier ou la veille. Nous pouvons changer...…
Ce qui fonctionne pour moi: "Pour le plus grand bien"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
La raison pour laquelle je partage «ce qui fonctionne pour moi» est que cela peut également fonctionner pour vous. Si ce n'est pas exactement la façon dont je le fais, puisque nous sommes tous uniques, une certaine variation de l'attitude ou de la méthode pourrait très bien être quelque chose ...
Avez-vous fait partie du problème la dernière fois? Ferez-vous partie de la solution cette fois?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Vous êtes-vous inscrit pour voter? Avez-vous voté? Si vous n'allez pas voter, vous ferez partie du problème.
InnerSelf Newsletter: Septembre 20, 2020
by Personnel InnerSelf
Le thème de la newsletter de cette semaine peut se résumer comme suit: «vous pouvez le faire» ou plus précisément «nous pouvons le faire!». C'est une autre façon de dire "vous / nous avons le pouvoir de faire un changement". L'image de…
Ce qui fonctionne pour moi: "Je peux le faire!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
La raison pour laquelle je partage «ce qui fonctionne pour moi» est que cela peut également fonctionner pour vous. Si ce n'est pas exactement la façon dont je le fais, puisque nous sommes tous uniques, une certaine variation de l'attitude ou de la méthode pourrait très bien être quelque chose ...

The Surprising Role Of Childhood Trauma In Athletic Success

performance

The Surprising Role Of Childhood Trauma In Athletic SuccessCanadian speed skater and cyclist Clara Hughes is the only athlete in history to win multiple medals at both winter and summer Olympic Games. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck

The story of Canadian speed skater and cyclist Clara Hughes, the first ever Olympian to win multiple medals in both the summer and winter games, is a story of triumph over adversity. Before she was hard into endurance sports, she was hard into drinking and drugs — a teenaged attempt to escape life at home with her father and his alcoholism.

British tennis player Andy Murray survived the 1996 massacre at Dunblane primary school in Scotland by hiding under a desk, aged eight. American gymnast Simone Biles spent her early childhood in the foster care system. Indeed, research suggests that many of the world’s greatest athletes may have similar stories of childhood adversity.

One study led by sport psychology professor Lew Hardy in the United Kingdom compared 16 Olympic champions against 16 non-medaling Olympians. All of the medalists were exposed to trauma as children — including parental death or divorce, physical and verbal abuse or an unstable home environment — compared to only four of the non-medalists.

Having recently completed my PhD in sport psychology, I was surprised to learn that traumatic experiences may have a so-called silver lining in sport. In fact, these findings ran counter to everything I knew about adverse childhood experiences (ACEs). Abuse, neglect and household dysfunction before the age of 18 increase the risk of several negative health outcomes, including substance abuse, depression and obesity — not ideal ingredients for athletic success, it would seem.

Sport researchers and psychologists have grappled with the notion that “talent needs trauma” in recent years. The phrase has sparked debate over how trauma is defined, and the necessity of trauma for success in sport.

Perhaps more importantly, there’s been concern over how practitioners, such as talent scouts and coaches, may act on these findings — particularly considering recent revelations and allegations of extensive child abuse in sports, from gymnastics in the United States to soccer in places as far afield as the United Kingdom and Afghanistan.

Learning from adversity

Unfortunately, adverse childhood experiences are relatively common. According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, approximately 60 per cent of the population reports at least one ACE.

In contrast, the U.S. National Collegiate Athletic Association’s most recent data suggests that only one in 2,500 high school athletes will make it professionally, and substantially fewer will ever win an Olympic gold medal. Clearly, trauma alone isn’t enough for athletic superstardom.

With this caveat in mind, a closer look at the research shows that it’s not the trauma itself that creates sports superstars — it’s what the athlete brings into and takes away from the experience, as well as opportunities to participate in a supportive sport environment.

Of particular note, the evidence suggests that “trauma” is not confined to abuse, neglect and household challenges. Other forms of adversity may produce this effect as well.

While several studies have identified early non-sport traumas as critical periods of growth, athletes have also described injuries and other sport-related adversities as key turning points that shaped future performance.

When faced with adversity — in sport or in life — the most successful athletes in these studies were the ones who were able to learn from and reflect on the experience.

Natural instinct or post-traumatic growth?

After analyzing the autobiographies of eight Olympic swimming champions in 2015, sport psychology researchers Karen Howells and David Fletcher of Loughborough University described trauma as a “motivational trigger” that fuelled an intense will to win.

In addition, the Olympic champions and multiple medalists in Hardy’s study described experiences of childhood trauma that were followed by a positive sport-related event, such as finding an important coach, mentor or a sport in which they thrived.

Thus, both the ability to grow from trauma and opportunities to succeed in a supportive sport environment appear important for athletic success.

I should add that not all of the research conducted in this area supports these findings. In a 2016 study of 54 “super champions” (ranked in the top three in their sport internationally), “champions” (ranked in the top 40), and “almosts” (world junior medalists with no senior-level success), researchers did not find any evidence that sport or life trauma was necessary for success, nor could traumatic experiences be used to differentiate the groups.

Another study published in 2017 found that 20 elite athletes reported primarily sport-based trauma, negotiated through innate psychological skills. In other words, these athletes were equipped with the skills to effectively traverse adversity before they faced it.

Resilient athletes need challenge and support

How do we make sense of this research? Are the best athletes in the world born with the psychological skills to succeed, or do they develop the mental tools for success through post-traumatic growth?

The Surprising Role Of Childhood Trauma In Athletic SuccessSimone Biles is the most decorated gymnast in American history. Biles’ biological mother was unable to care for her children, and they were involved with the foster care system from an early age. Biles was adopted at the age of six. (AP Photo/Vadim Ghirda)

The way I see it, it’s a little bit of both. As a talent scout or coach, you can’t expect great things from an athlete just because they’ve had a hard life. There’s also no reason to thrust adversity upon someone with the assumption that they will benefit from the experience.

The best way to produce resilient athletes is to provide a challenging and supportive sport environment — one where athletes feel physically and psychologically safe in their experiences of success and failure.

Trauma may present itself as a unique learning opportunity for some people, but is far from a recipe for global success.The Conversation

About The Author

Veronica Allan, Global Journalism Fellow, Munk School, University of Toronto

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Carefrontation: Breaking Free From Childhood Trauma

performanceAuthor: Arlene Drake
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Regan Arts.
Label: Regan Arts.
Publisher: Regan Arts.
Manufacturer: Regan Arts.

Buy Now
Editorial Review: With more than thirty years of experience, Dr. Arlene Drake writes a guide for those desperately in need of a way to break free from the pain of childhood abuse and reclaim their lives.

When confronted with an abused child, our first impulse is to drop everything and provide comfort, get him or her out of danger, and find out what the hell is going on at home. It’s obvious that the child is helpless, in trouble, and needs protection. Parents or not, we instinctively know what to do: We take care of the child.

But what if the child is you?

Active and directive, Carefrontation is filled with exercises and the simple, effective tools Dr. Drake has used successfully with her own clients for more than three decades. It lays out a powerful way to repair the damage of childhood abuse and its lasting effects, by teaching you what your parents couldn’t: an invaluable set of skills and practices that will give you the resources to live as a healthy, happy adult.

With the clear path this book provides, you can finally acknowledge that the suffering and the pain can stop. The destructive patterns can end. You can graduate, at last, into a life beyond “abuse victim” and for the first time take the power back from your abusers and finally be at peace.




How to Survive Your Childhood Now That You’re an Adult: A Path to Authenticity and Awakening

performanceAuthor: Ira Israel
Binding: Paperback
Studio: New World Library
Label: New World Library
Publisher: New World Library
Manufacturer: New World Library

Buy Now
Editorial Review: As children, we learned to get approval by creating facades to help us get our emotional and psychological needs met, but we also rebelled against authority as a way of individuating. As adults, these conflicting desires leave many of us feeling anxious or depressed because our authentic selves are buried deep beneath glitzy or rebellious exteriors or some combination thereof. In this provocative book, eclectic teacher and therapist Ira Israel offers a powerful, comprehensive, step-by-step path to recognizing the ways of being that we created as children and transcending them with compassion and acceptance. By doing so, we discover our true callings and cultivate the authentic love we were born deserving.




WORTHY A Personal Guide for Healing Your Childhood Trauma

performanceAuthor: Josephine Faulk
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Freebird Press, LLC
Label: Freebird Press, LLC
Publisher: Freebird Press, LLC
Manufacturer: Freebird Press, LLC

Buy Now
Editorial Review: If you’ve suffered from childhood neglect, abandonment, physical, emotional or psychological trauma WORTHY A Personal Guide for Healing Your Childhood Trauma is the perfect antidote to the lingering effects of your unresolved childhood trauma. In WORTHY science and compassion merge as the author gently guides you through understanding: 1) Why your continued use of your childhood self-preservation mechanisms are your largest obstacle to happiness in adulthood. 2) Why recovery is so much more than just that 50-minute appointment once a week and a daily pill. 3) How to choose the best possible trauma therapist. 4) Which tools, techniques and practices have the greatest value in healing psychological, emotional and spiritual trauma wounding. 5) How and why your conditional amino acids have been depleted from childhood due to chronic traumatic stress, how that affects you now and how to fix them permanently. 6) How to preserve, sustain and protect all present and future recovery progress. 7) That you are not broken, defective, nor unworthy of love, especially self-love. 8) How to soothe, comfort and integrate your inner child by being your own loving parent. Let this be the day you reach down deep within yourself and tenderly take the hand of your frightened, wounded inner child. They want nothing more than your unconditional love and acceptance. You remember what that was like, don’t you?




performance
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}