لماذا يؤدي الطب المهن في الانتحار ، وماذا يمكننا القيام به حول هذا الموضوع

لماذا يؤدي الطب المهن في الانتحار ، وماذا يمكننا القيام به حول هذا الموضوع
ينتشر الانتحار بين الأطباء أكثر من أي مهنة أخرى. يمكن أن يكون الاحتراق سببا.
Iuri Silvestre / Shutterstock.com

في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، زار أحدنا مدرسة طبية أمريكية بارزة لإلقاء محاضرة حول موضوع نضوب وكيف يمكن للأطباء العثور على مزيد من الإيفاء بممارسة الطب. للأسف ، في ذلك اليوم نفسه ، استغرق طالب الطب في السنة الرابعة هناك حياتها الخاصة.

المشكلة ليست الفشل الشخصي. وكانت قد تطابقت مؤخرًا مع برنامج الإقامة التنافسية في واحدة من أرقى المستشفيات في البلاد. ومع ذلك ، فإنها على ما يبدو وجدت احتمال الحياة في المستقبل أكثر مما تستطيع تحمله.

هذا بالكاد حادث معزول. ا دراسة ذكرت في وقت سابق من هذا العام في الاجتماع السنوي للجمعية الأمريكية للطب النفسي وكشف أن من بين المتخصصين في الولايات المتحدة ، فإن الأطباء لديهم أعلى معدل الانتحار. وفقا للباحثين ، فإن معدل الانتحار في الطب أكثر من ضعف معدل الانتحار بين عامة الناس ، مما أدى إلى انتحار طبيب واحد على الأقل في اليوم في الولايات المتحدة. في الواقع ، فإن العدد الفعلي ربما يكون أعلى ، حيث أن الوصمة الناتجة عن الانتحار تؤدي إلى نقص في الإبلاغ. .

الأخبار تزداد سوءا. هناك سبب وجيه للاعتقاد أنه عندما يتعلق الأمر بالضيق بين الأطباء ، فإن الانتحار ليس سوى مؤشر ملحوظ بشكل خاص على مشكلة أكبر بكثير. لكل طبيب يحاول الانتحار ، يكافح الكثيرون الآخرون من الإرهاق والاكتئاب. واحد دراسة حديثة وجدت أن 42 في المئة من الأطباء في الولايات المتحدة أحرقت ، مع معدلات 38 في المئة بين الرجال و 48 في المئة بين النساء. تتجلى هذه المحنة بطرق أخرى ، مثل إدمان الكحول وتعاطي المخدرات وسوء رعاية المرضى.

ضغوط عالية ، ولكن مكافآت عالية

من وجهة نظر واحدة ، هذه النتائج ليست مفاجئة. منذ فترة طويلة تم الاعتراف الطب باعتباره مهنة مرهقةتتميز بالقدرة التنافسية وساعات طويلة وقلة النوم. يعمل العديد من الأطباء كل يوم مع العلم بأن الخطأ قد يؤدي إلى وفاة مريض ، وكذلك الإحباط الذي ، على الرغم من بذل قصارى جهدهم ، سيختار بعض المرضى عدم الامتثال للتوصيات الطبية وغيرها ، على الرغم من قيامهم بذلك ، لا يزال يمرض ويموت.

ومع ذلك يبدو أن الأطباء لديهم الكثير من الامتنان ل. وبالمقارنة مع الأميركيين في مجالات العمل الأخرى ، فهم متعلمون ومتعوضون بشكل جيد. انهم يتمتعون مستوى عال نسبيا الاحترام والثقة. ويوفر لهم عملهم فرصًا منتظمة لإحداث فرق في حياة المرضى والعائلات والمجتمعات. إنهم يتمتعون بالامتياز لرعاية البشر في بعض اللحظات التي لا تنسى ، مثل الولادة والوفاة ، وقد ينقذون حياة شخص ما في بعض الأحيان.

اختبار الطيارين

فلماذا تكون معدلات الانتحار بين الأطباء مرتفعة للغاية؟

في حين أن هناك الكثير من العوامل التي لا شك فيها ، بدءا من مشاكل في نظام الرعاية الصحية إلى الظروف الفردية ، في الآونة الأخيرة وفاة لقد ألهمنا الروائي توم وولف في عمر 88 أن ننظر إلى المشكلة من منظور مختلف. كان مؤلف العديد من الأعمال من الروايات الخيالية والغير خيالية ، وكان كتاب وولف الأكثر مبيعاً هو 1979's "الحق في الاشياء"، الذي أرخ في الأيام الأولى لبرنامج الفضاء الأمريكي.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"الحق في الاشياء"يسكنه مجموعتان مختلفتان جدًا من الأبطال. أولاً ، هناك طيارو الاختبار ، ممثلة بـ Chuck Yeager ، وهو طيار سابق كان في 1947 أول شخص يكسر حاجز الصوت أثناء تحليق المستوى في طائرة X-1 التي تعمل بالطاقة الصاروخية.

برواية <وولف> ، كان طيارو الاختبار من الرجال الجريئين الذين دفعوا بشكل منتظم حدود الطيران البشري ، حيث وضعوا أنفسهم في مواقف خطرة حيث يمكن أن يؤدي الفشل في الاستجابة للمشاكل في ثانية واحدة إلى فشل المهمة وحتى الموت. في مقدمةه لطبعة 1983 ، أبلغ وولف عن قائد معدل الوفيات من 23 في المئة. خلال 1950s ، ترجمت هذه إلى وفاة واحدة في الأسبوع.

ومع ذلك ، كانت الروح المعنوية والصداقة الحميمة بين طيارين الاختبار عالية. كانوا يعتقدون أنهم كانوا يشجعون الوطنية ، وتوسيع القدرة البشرية على الاستكشاف ، وكسر بشجاعة ما كان يعتقد أنه حدود بشرية غير قابلة للكسر. قال ييغر، "ما الجيد الذي يفعله ليكون خائفا؟ لا يساعد أي شيء. من الأفضل أن تحاول أن تعرف ما يحدث وتصححه. "

رواد الفضاء

من خلال عدم الاختيار من جانبهم ، في وقت لاحق رواد فضاء الزئبق كان سلالة مختلفة جدا ، وجد وولف. ورغم أن الكثيرين منهم يتمتعون بخبرة كطياري اختبار وطياري ، فإن دورهم في استكشاف الفضاء سيشبه دور الركاب أكثر من الطيارين. على سبيل المثال ، تم اختيارهم بناءً على شجاعتهم أو حكمهم أو مهارتهم أقل من قدرتهم على تحمل مجموعة من الاختبارات القاسية والمذلة في بعض الأحيان التي شملت جولات الطرد المركزي التي تحفز الغثيان والحقن الشرجية من زيت الخروع.

وبعبارة أخرى ، يعمل رواد الفضاء أقل كطيارين اختبار من المواضيع الاختبار. سوف يتم عمل رحلات الطيران إلى حد كبير عن طريق الحواسيب والتحكم الأرضي ، وكان دور رواد الفضاء إلى حد كبير هو تحملهم. عندما وصل الى تصميم من كبسولة الزئبق ، كان عليهم أن يناضلوا من أجل نافذة يمكنهم من خلالها رؤية المكان الذي يذهبون إليه ، فتحة يمكن أن يفتحوها من الداخل ، وحتى الحد الأدنى من التحكم اليدوي على الصاروخ.

كان رواد الفضاء وعائلاتهم يحظون بالتبجيل من قبل الجمهور الأمريكي ، الذي تعجب من الشجاعة التي قام بها لركوب صاروخ إلى المجهول ، لكنه لم يكن كافياً للرجال أنفسهم. كانوا يتوقون لفعل شيء ما. في "الاشياء المناسبة" ، يلتقط ييغر الكثير من احباطهم عندما يتحول عن المشروع قول"أي شخص يصعد في هذا الشيء اللعين سيكون مزعجًا في علبة."

الأطباء: اختبار الطيارين أو رواد الفضاء؟

التباين بين الطيارين ورواد الفضاء يلتقط بشكل رائع بعض خيبة الأمل والإحباطات التي تواجه الأطباء الأمريكيين. بعد أن دخلت الطب اعتقادًا بأن معرفتهم وتعاطفهم وخبرتهم ستساعد في إحداث فرق بين الصحة والمرض وحتى حياة وموت مرضاهم ، وجدوا أنفسهم يسكنون واقع مختلف جداالتي غالباً ما تجعلهم يشعرون وكأنهم الركاب أكثر من الطيارين.

النظر في كيفية تقييم أداء الطبيب. في الماضي ، غرق الأطباء أو سبح على أساس سمعتهم المهنية. اليوم ، على النقيض من ذلك ، يميل عمل الأطباء إلى أن يكون تقييم من خلال جودة وثائقها ، وامتثالها للسياسات والإجراءات ، ودرجة اتخاذ القرارات السريرية وفقا للمبادئ التوجيهية المنصوص عليها ، ونتائج الرضا. على مدى العقود القليلة الماضية ، أصبح الطبيب أقل من صانع القرار وأكثر من منفذ تنفيذ القرار.

لماذا هذا غير مشجع؟ ومثلما يعلم طيار الاختبار فقط ما يحدث في قمرة القيادة من الثانية إلى الثانية ، فإن الطبيب غالباً ما يكون هو الطبيب الوحيد الذي يتعرف على المرضى كأشخاص ، بما في ذلك الاحتياجات والاهتمامات الخاصة لكل منهم. يجري تقييمها من قبل المقاييس هذا ما أعلنه الاقتصاديون وصانعو السياسات والمسؤولون عن الرعاية الصحية الذين لم يلتقوا أبداً بالمريض ، ويعطي ممارسة الطب شكلاً مجوفاً.

معظم الأطباء لا يريدون أن يكونوا رواد فضاء ، يندفعون بشكل غير منضبط إلى مستقبل الرعاية الصحية الذي لا يمكنهم رؤيته. وبدلا من ذلك ، يريدون أن يكونوا طيارين - محترفو يمثلون السبب في أن امتلاك العينين والأذنين على المريض أهم بكثير من إتقان نظام الكمبيوتر أو رمز الفاتورة. إنهم لا يريدون أن يكونوا رواد فضاء ، عالقين في علبة تملي عليهم كل تحركاتهم ولا يتيح لهم فرصة لإحداث نوع من الاختلاف بالنسبة للمرضى الذين يولدون تحديًا شخصيًا ونموًا.

يتم تلخيص الوضع بشكل جيد عن طريق رسم قلم تلوين لمريض عمره ست سنوات رأيناه مؤخرًا. تحت عنوان "زيارتي إلى الطبيب" ، يصور المريض الشاب جالسًا على طاولة الفحص ، ويواجه الطبيب. لكن الطبيب ، عبر الغرفة على مكتب ، يواجه بعيداً عن المريض ، ثم ينحني فوق جهاز كمبيوتر يدخل إليه البيانات. الرسالة الضمنية لهذه الصورة البسيطة؟ الكمبيوتر أكثر أهمية للطبيب من المريض.

المحادثةإذا أردنا وقف موجة الإرهاق والاكتئاب والانتحار في الطب ، فنحن بحاجة إلى تمكين الأطباء من أن يكونوا أطباء جيدين - وليس مجرد "مقدمي رعاية صحية" - وممارسة الطب بطريقة يمكن أن يفخروا بها. يجب أن نسمح لهم بل وحتى تشجيعهم ليس فقط لإدارة المعلومات الصحية بل لرعاية البشر. مثل رواد الفضاء في وقت مبكر ، لا يمكن للأطباء ، ولا سيما أفضل منهم ، أن تزدهر إذا استمروا في الهبوط إلى دور هام astrochimp، أول رائد فضاء من الشمبانزي في أمريكا.

عن المؤلفين

ريتشارد غونديرمان ، أستاذ الطب في الجامعة ، والفنون الليبرالية ، والعمل الخيري ، جامعة إنديانا بيتر غوندرمان ، المقيم الأول في مستشفى IU Health Ball Memorial ، جامعة إنديانا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ريتشارد غوندمان:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Richard Gunderman؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Medicine Leads The Professions In Suicide, And What We Can Do About It

 Why Medicine Leads The Professions In Suicide, And What We Can Do About It
Suicide is more prevalent among doctors than any other profession. Burnout could be a reason.
Iuri Silvestre/Shutterstock.com

Earlier this year, one of us visited a prominent U.S. medical school to give a lecture on the topic of burnout and how physicians can find more fulfillment in the practice of medicine. Sadly, that very day, a fourth-year medical student there took her own life.

The problem was not personal failure. She had recently matched into a competitive residency program at the one of the nation’s most prestigious hospitals. Yet apparently, she still found the prospect of the life ahead more than she could bear.

This is hardly an isolated incident. A study reported earlier this year at the annual meeting of the American Psychiatric Association revealed that among U.S. professionals, physicians have the highest suicide rate. According to the researchers, the suicide rate in medicine is more than twice that of the general population, resulting in at least one physician suicide per day in the U.S. In fact, the actual number is probably higher, as the stigma of suicide results in underreporting.

The news gets even worse. There is good reason to think that when it comes to distress among physicians, suicide is only a particularly noticeable indicator of a much larger problem. For every physician who attempts suicide, many others are struggling with burnout and depression. One recent survey found that 42 percent of U.S. physicians are burned out, with rates of 38 percent among men and 48 percent among women. Such distress manifests in other ways, such as alcoholism, substance abuse and poor patient care.

High stress, but high rewards

From one point of view, these findings are not surprising. Medicine has long been recognized as a stressful profession, characterized by competitiveness, long hours and lack of sleep. Many physicians work each day with the knowledge that a mistake could lead to the death of a patient, as well as the frustration that, despite their best efforts, some patients will elect not to comply with medical recommendations and others, despite doing so, will still get sicker and die.

And yet physicians seem to have much to be grateful for. Compared to Americans in other lines of work, they are highly educated and well compensated. They enjoy a relatively high level of respect and trust. And their work provides them with regular opportunities to make a difference in the lives of patients, families and communities. They are privileged to care for human beings in some of their most memorable moments, such as in birth and death, and they may occasionally save someone’s life.

Test pilots

Why then might suicide rates among physicians be so high?

While there are undoubtedly many factors, ranging from problems in the health care system to individual circumstances, the recent death of novelist Tom Wolfe at age 88 has inspired us to look at the problem from a different perspective. The author of numerous works of both fiction and nonfiction, Wolfe’s best-selling book was 1979’s “The Right Stuff,” which chronicled the early days of the U.S. space program.

The Right Stuff” is populated by two very different sets of heroes. First there are the test pilots, represented by Chuck Yeager, a former flying ace who in 1947 became the first person to break the sound barrier during level flight in his X-1 rocket-powered jet.

By Wolfe’s account, the test pilots were men of daring who regularly pushed the limits of human flight, placing themselves in hazardous situations where failure to respond to problems in a split-second could result in mission failure and even death. In his introduction to the 1983 edition, Wolfe reports a pilot mortality rate of 23 percent. During the 1950s, this translated into about one death per week.

Yet morale and camaraderie among the test pilots were high. They believed that they were promoting patriotism, expanding the human capacity for exploration, and bravely breaking what were thought to be unbreakable human limits. Said Yeager, “What good does it do to be afraid? It doesn’t help anything. You better try and figure out what is happening and correct it.”

Astronauts

Through no choice of their own, the later Mercury astronauts were a very different breed, Wolfe found. Though many had experience as both combat and test pilots, their role in space exploration would resemble that of passengers more than pilots. For example, they were selected based less on their bravery, judgment or skill than on their ability to withstand a battery of grueling and sometimes humiliating tests that included nausea-inducing centrifuge rides and castor-oil enemas.

In other words, the astronauts functioned less as test pilots than test subjects. The work of piloting the flights would largely be done by computers and ground control, and the astronauts’ role was largely to endure them. When it came to the design of the Mercury capsule, they had to fight for a window through which they could see where they were going, a hatch that they could open from the inside, and even minimal manual control over the rocket.

The astronauts and their families were revered by the American public, who marveled at the courage it took to ride a rocket into the unknown, but it was not enough for the men themselves. They longed to do something. In “The Right Stuff,” Yeager captures much of their frustration when he turns away from the project saying, “Anyone who goes up in that damn thing is going to be spam in a can.”

Physicians: Test pilots or astronauts?

The contrast between pilots and astronauts captures nicely some of the disappointments and frustrations facing U.S. physicians. Having entered medicine believing that their own knowledge, compassion and experience would help make the difference between health and illness and even life and death for their patients, they have found themselves inhabiting a very different reality, one that often leaves them feeling more like passengers than pilots.

Consider how physician performance is assessed. In the past, physicians sank or swam based on their professional reputations. Today, by contrast, the work of physicians tends to be evaluated by the quality of their documentation, their compliance with policies and procedures, the degree to which their clinical decision-making conforms to prescribed guidelines, and satisfaction scores. Over the past few decades, the physician has become less of a decision-maker and more of a decision implementer.

Why is this discouraging? Just as only the test pilot knows what is happening in the cockpit from second to second, a physician is often the only health professional who gets to know patients as people, including each one’s particular needs and concerns. Being assessed by metrics promulgated by economists, policymakers and health care executives who have never met the patient gives the practice of medicine a hollow feel.

Most physicians don’t want to be astronauts, hurtling uncontrollably into a health care future they cannot see. Instead they want to be pilots – professionals who exemplify why having eyes and ears on the patient is far more important than mastering a computer system or billing code. They don’t want to be astronauts, stuck in a can that dictates their every move and provides no opportunity to make the kind of difference for patients that generates personal challenge and growth.

The situation is summed up nicely by a crayon drawing by a six-year-old patient we saw recently. Entitled, “My Visit to the Doctor,” it depicts a young patient seated on an examination table, facing the doctor. The doctor, however, is across the room at a desk, facing away from the patient, bent down over a computer into which he is entering data. The implicit message of this simple image? The computer is more important to the doctor than the patient.

The ConversationIf we want to stem the tide of burnout, depression and suicide in medicine, we need to enable doctors to be good doctors – not mere “health care providers” – and to practice medicine in a way they can be proud of. We must allow and even encourage them not merely to manage health information but to care for human beings. Like the early astronauts, physicians, especially the best among them, cannot thrive if they remain relegated to the role of Ham the Astrochimp, America’s first chimpanzee astronaut.

About The Authors

Richard Gunderman, Chancellor's Professor of Medicine, Liberal Arts, and Philanthropy, Indiana University and Peter Gunderman, First-year Resident at IU Health Ball Memorial Hospital, Indiana University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by Richard Gunderman:

We Come to Life with Those We Serve: Fulfillment through Philanthropy
healthAuthor: RICHARD GUNDERMAN
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Indiana University Press
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

Essential Radiology: Clinical Presentation · Pathophysiology · Imaging
healthAuthor: Richard B. Gunderman
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Thieme
List Price: $69.99

Buy Now

We Make a Life by What We Give (Philanthropic and Nonprofit Studies)
healthAuthor: Richard B. Gunderman
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Indiana University Press
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}