الحب ، والخدمة ، وتذكر: العيش مع الغرض والفرح

الحب ، والخدمة ، وتذكر: العيش مع الغرض والفرح

في هذا الشهر من شهر مايو ، سيتحول كل من زوجي باري وأنا سبعين. في نصف حياتنا ، نكتب هذه المقالات مرة واحدة في الشهر ، وسنوات 35 للكتابة للمجلات ولقائمتنا الخاصة. (نعم ، اعتدنا على إرسال المقالات إلى تلك الموجودة في قائمة مراسلاتنا ، وكنا نكتب كل مقالة باليد). وهذا يعني أيضا أننا لم نعد نستطيع أن ننكر أننا مواطنون كبار بالفعل.

عندما كنا أصغر سناً ، كنا ننظر إلى الناس في عصرنا ونقول لبعضنا البعض أننا لن نكبر أبداً. وعلى الرغم من كوننا نشيطين للغاية وملتزمين بعدم الاعتزال أبداً ، إلا أننا في سن أكبر ، كما أن أجسامنا تتباطأ قليلاً.

التطلع إلى المستقبل

لكن الأهم من ذلك ، أن الدوران السبعين يجبرنا على التطلع إلى المستقبل. كيف نريد أن نعيش عشرين سنة أو أكثر؟

أنا سباح وأحاول السباحة لمدة ساعة على الأقل ثلاث إلى أربع مرات في الأسبوع. بعد السباحة في النادي المحلي ، أجلس أحيانًا في حوض الاستحمام الساخن لبضع دقائق من أجل الإحماء. عادة ما تكون مزدحمة ، والكثير من الناس يأتون فقط لحوض الاستحمام الساخن ويبدو أنهم يحبون التحدث مع الآخرين حتى لو كانوا لا يعرفونهم. معظم الناس هم عمري ، والموضوع العام للحوار هو عن أمراض الجسم.

يتحدث الناس عن عملياتهم ، وركبتهم ، وركبهم ، وكتفيك ، وظهورهم ، وما يؤلمهم وكيف يحاولون التغلب على الألم. أجلس هناك بهدوء وأتساءل إذا كان هذا هو ما أريد أن تكون عليه السنوات العشرين القادمة من حياتي؟ هل أريد أن يكون التركيز الكلي على جسدي وكيف لا يعمل بالطريقة التي اعتاد عليها؟ او اريد شيئا اكثر؟

أريد شيء أكثر

أريد أن أعيش عشرين سنة أو أكثر مع الهدف والفرح. غالبا ما أفكر في النصيحة المقدمة للمعلم الأمريكي ، رام داس ، من قبل معلمه. كان غورو يحتضر ، وكان رام داس يريد النصيحة حول كيف سيعيش بقية حياته. رام داس كان شابًا في ذلك الوقت.

ذهب معلمه إلى التأمل العميق ، وبعد عدة ساعات ، فتح عينيه وقال ببساطة: "أحب الجميع ، وخدم الجميع ، وتذكر الله". ثم أغلق عينيه مرة أخرى وتم إغلاق هذا الموضوع. هذه المجلدات من الحكمة في تلك الكلمات القليلة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


اريد ان أحب

أريد أن أعيش العشرون سنة القادمة في الحب. أريد أن أجد المزيد من طرق الحب وتكريم زوجي الرائع. اريد ان احبه بعمق اطفالي واحفادي. أريد أن أحب وأقبل نفسي بكل التغييرات التي سأمر بها.

بدلا من أن أكون على نفسي لأنني لا أستطيع القيام بشيء يمكنني القيام به بسهولة من قبل ، أريد أن أكون لطفاء مع نفسي وأحب جسدي وذهني. أريد أن أكون باستمرار أحاول أن أحمل الحب والتفاهم في كل موقف ، وأنا لطيف مع نفسي عندما لا أستطيع أن أكون الشخص المحب الذي أريده. أريد تطوير علاقة شخصية أكثر مع الله وأشعر كم أحب وأحتاج إلى ذلك التواصل.

اريد ان اخدم

أريد أن أكون باستمرار في هذه الحياة. أنا لا أريد أبدا أن أتوقف لا أريد الوصول إلى النقطة التي أقول فيها لنفسي: "لقد فعلت ما يكفي ، والآن يمكنك التوقف".

أمي وأبي كانا مثالين جميلين لي. كان أبي يعاني من مرض في القلب وفقد سمعه تماماً في أواخر الثمانينيات من عمره ، لكنه لم يفقد القدرة على صنع الأشياء من الخشب. بعد عدة أشهر من نقله إلى المستشفى بنوبة قلبية ، عاد إلى ورشة عمله لصنع ألعاب خشبية للأطفال المحرومين. في اليوم السابق قبل وفاته ، قام هو وأمي بتسليم هذه الألعاب الخشبية الجميلة إلى مدرسة ما قبل المدرسة سيئة للغاية والتي بالكاد كانت تحتوي على أي ألعاب. كان الأطفال سعداء للغاية.

نزل والدي على الأرض ولعب مع الأطفال والألعاب. شعر بسعادة بالغة لجلب السحر والفرح لوجهه وإعطاء شيء لنفسه. توفي والدي في صباح اليوم التالي في سن 89.

كانت والدتي تكتب باستمرار بطاقات التشجيع وتكتب ثماني مرات في اليوم. ثم جاء الوقت الذي لم يعد باستطاعته الكتابة فيه ، والتحدث على الهاتف أربكها. كانت محصورة على كرسي متحرك.

ذات يوم قالت لي وباري: "أدرك أنني لا أستطيع أن أفعل أشياء كثيرة. ولكنني ما زلت أستطيع أن أبتسم وأن هذه الخدمة ستكون من الآن فصاعداً. ”كل يوم تقريباً ، أخذ أحد أفراد عائلتنا والدتي إلى الشاطئ حيث دفعناها على الرصيف. كانت تبتسم عند كل من مررت وابتسمت دائما. بدا وجودها لرفعها. لقد وجدت طريقة للخدمة حتى وفاتها.

أريد أن أتذكر

أريد أن أتذكر خالقي وأن أكون ممتنًا. حتى لو كنت أشعر بألم جسدي ولا يعمل جسدي بالطريقة التي أريدها ، أريد أن أتذكر أن أكون شاكراً لجمال الأرض وشعبها وحياتها. أريد أن أتذكر أن الامتنان يمكن أن يحول أي موقف.

عندما كان عمري 20 عاما ، كنت أموت في مستشفى Columbia Presbyterian كطالب تمريض. لا يمكن العثور على أي شيء لمساعدتي ، وقد تم استدعاء والديّ للقدوم إلى جانبي من أجل وداعًا نهائيًا.

كنت أعرف أنني أموت وشعرت بالعجز. شعرت بالضعف الشديد حيث جاء العديد من الأطباء وطلاب الطب إلى غرفتي "لدراسة" حالتي وحالتي. حتى أن أحد الأطباء استخدم مؤشرًا خشبيًا على جسدي بينما كان يخاطب تلاميذه في أمور مختلفة خاطئة معي. ثم تذكرت قوة الامتنان.

بدأت بشكر كل شخص فعل أي شيء بالنسبة لي. كما فعلت ذلك ، شعرت بداخلي مختلفة وأدركت أن الامتنان كان يعطيني القوة لأكون نفسي مرة أخرى. لقد بدأت أشكر الله على حياتي بالرغم من أنه بدا وكأنه ينتهي بعد هذا الوقت القصير هنا على الأرض. في كل مرة شعرت بالامتنان ، شعرت بنقل السلطة من أجلي ولم أعد أشعر بالعجز.

الى ان اموت...

أريد أن أحبه وأخدمه وأتذكره حتى اليوم الذي أموت فيه.

أريد أن أكون قادرة على النظر إلى حياتي وأشعر أنني حاولت في مهمتي. لن أكون أبداً مثالياً في هذا ، لكن يمكنني أن أكون جاهداً لأكون الأفضل. بهذه الطريقة سوف أعيش مع الغرض والفرح.

* ترجمات من InnerSelf

الكتاب من قبل جويس وباري فيسيل:

هدية الأم الأخيرة من قبل جويس وباري فيسيل.الأم هدية النهائي: كيف يموتون واحدا المرأة الشجاعة تحولت عائلتها
جويس وVissell باري.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هؤلاء المؤلفين

عن المؤلفين)

جويس وVissell باريجويس وباري Vissell، وهما زوجان ممرضة / المعالج والطبيب النفسي منذ 1964، والمستشارين قرب سانتا كروز، كاليفورنيا. وينظر على نطاق واسع على أنها من بين الخبراء في العالم على علاقة واعية ونمو الشخصية. هم واضعو في القلب مشتركة، نماذج من الحب, المخاطر إلى أن تلتئم, للقلب الحكمة, من المفترض أن تكون, و الأم هدية النهائي.
فيما يلي بعض الفرص لجلب المزيد من الحب والنمو إلى حياتك ، في الأحداث التالية بقيادة باري وجويس فيسيل: فبراير 11-16، 2020 - في رحلة شهر العسل، Aptos (للأزواج)؛ يونيو 7-14 ، 2020 - تقاسم القلب ألاسكا كروز، المغادرة من سياتل (للأفراد والأزواج) ؛ و يوليو 19-24 ، 2020 - المشتركة قلب الصيف تراجع في Breitenbush الينابيع الساخنة ، أو (للأفراد والأزواج والعائلات). لمزيد من المعلومات حول جلسات المشورة عن طريق الهاتف أو شخصيا ، كتبهمأو التسجيلات أو الجدول الزمني للمحادثات وورش العمل. زيارة موقع الويب الخاص بهم في SharedHeart.org.

الاستماع إلى حديث اذاعي مع جويس وباري Vissell على "العلاقة كما مسار اليقظة".

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Love, Serve, and Remember: Living With Purpose and Joy

Love, Serve, and Remember: Living With Purpose and Joy

This month of May, my husband Barry and I will both turn seventy. For half of our lives, we have been writing these articles once a month, 35 years of writing for magazines and our own list. (Yes, we used to mail out the articles to those on our mailing list, and we used to write each article by hand). It also means we can no longer deny that we are truly senior citizens.

When we were younger, we used to look at people our age and say to each other that we would never grow older. And even though we are both very active and committed to never retiring, we are growing older and our bodies are slowing down a bit.

Looking Ahead to the Future

But most significantly, turning seventy is forcing us to look ahead to the future. How do we want to live the next twenty or more years?

I am a swimmer and try to swim for an hour at least three to four times a week. After my swim at the local club, I sometimes sit in the hot tub for a few minutes to warm up. It is usually crowded, and many people only come for the hot tub and seem to love to talk to others even if they do not know them. Most people are my age, and the general topic of conversation is about the ailments of the body.

People talk about their operations, their hips, knees, shoulders, their backs, what is hurting them and how they are trying to overcome the pain. I sit there quietly and wonder if this is how I want the next twenty years of my life to be? Do I want it to be a total concentration on my body and how it isn’t working the way it used to? Or do I want something more?

I Want Something More

I want my next twenty years or more to be lived with purpose and joy. I often reflect on the advice given an American teacher, Ram Dass, by his guru. His guru was dying, and Ram Dass wanted advice on how he should live the rest of his life. Ram Dass was a young man at the time.

His guru went into deep meditation and, after several hours, he opened his eyes and said simply, “Love everyone, serve everyone, and remember God.” Then he closed his eyes again and the subject was closed. Such volumes of wisdom in those few words.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


I Want To Love

I want to live the next twenty or more years in love. I want to find even more ways to love and honor my wonderful husband. I want to deeply love my children and grandchildren. I want to love and accept myself with all of the changes I will be going through.

Rather than being down on myself because I cannot do something I could easily do before, I want to be kind to myself and love my aging body and mind. I want to be constantly trying to bring love and understanding into every situation, and gentle with myself when I cannot be the loving person I want to be. I want to develop a more personal relationship with God and feel how much I love and need that connection.

I Want To Serve

I want to be constantly serving in this life. I never ever want to stop. I do not want to get to the point where I say to myself, “You have done enough, now you can stop.”

My mother and father were such beautiful examples of this to me. My father had heart disease and lost his hearing completely in his late eighties, but he did not lose the ability to craft things out of wood. Several months after being rushed to the hospital with a heart attack, he was back in his workshop making wooden toys for disadvantaged children. On the day before he died, he and my mother delivered these beautiful wooden toys to a very poor pre-school that hardly had any toys. The children were so happy.

My dad got down on the floor and played with the children and the toys. He felt so happy to be bringing magic and joy to their faces and to give something of himself to them. My father died the next morning at age 89.

My mother was constantly writing cards of encouragement and would write maybe eight a day. Then came the time when she could no longer write, and talking on the phone confused her. She was confined to a wheelchair.

One day she said to Barry and me, “I realize I cannot do many things. But I can still smile and that will be my service from now on.” Almost every day, someone in our family took my mother to the beach where we pushed her along the sidewalk. She would smile at everyone she passed and they always smiled back. Her presence seemed to uplift them. She had found a way to serve right up until her death.

I Want To Remember

I want to remember my creator and be grateful. Even if I am in physical pain and my body is not working the way I want it to, I want to remember to be thankful for the beauty of the earth and its people and animals. I want to remember that gratefulness can transform any situation.

When I was 20 years old, I lay dying in the Columbia Presbyterian Hospital as a nursing student. Nothing could be found to help me, and my parents had been called to come to my side for a final good-bye.

I knew I was dying and I felt helpless. I felt very vulnerable as various doctors and medical students came into my room to “study” me and my condition. One doctor even used a wooden pointer on my body as he addressed his students on the different things wrong with me. And then I remembered the power of gratitude.

I started thanking everyone that did anything for me. As I did so, I felt different inside and knew that the gratitude was giving me power to be myself once again. I began to thank God for my life even though it seemed to be ending after such a short time here on earth. Each time I felt grateful, I felt a power move through me and I no longer felt so helpless.

Until The Day I Die...

I want to love, serve and remember until the very day that I die.

I want to be able to look back at my life and feel that I tried in my mission. I will never be perfect in this, but I can strive to be the best I can be. In this way I will live with purpose and joy.

* Subtitles by InnerSelf

Book by Joyce & Barry Vissell:

A Mother's Final Gift by Joyce & Barry Vissell.A Mother’s Final Gift: How One Woman’s Courageous Dying Transformed Her Family
by Joyce and Barry Vissell.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

More books by these authors

About the Author(s)

Joyce & Barry VissellJoyce & Barry Vissell, a nurse/therapist and psychiatrist couple since 1964, are counselors near Santa Cruz, CA. They are widely regarded as among the world's top experts on conscious relationship and personal growth. They are the authors of The Shared Heart, Models of Love, Risk To Be Healed, The Heart’s Wisdom, Meant To Be, and A Mother’s Final Gift.
Here are a few opportunities to bring more love and growth into your life, at the following events led by Barry and Joyce Vissell: Feb 11-16, 2020 The Couples Journey, Aptos (for couples); Jun 7-14, 2020 Shared Heart Alaska Cruise, leaving from Seattle (for singles and couples); and Jul 19-24, 2020 Shared Heart Summer Retreat at Breitenbush Hot Springs, OR (for singles, couples and families). For further information on counseling sessions by phone or in person, their books, recordings or their schedule of talks and workshops. Visit their web site at SharedHeart.org.

Listen to a radio interview with Joyce and Barry Vissell on "Relationship as Conscious Path".
 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}