العثور على لحظات خاصة وأخذ المهلات

حياة التغييرات

العثور على لحظات خاصة وأخذ المهلات

أنا شخص صباح اليوم. لقد استمتعت دائما ارتفاع في وقت مبكر، مما يجعل وعاء من القهوة، والحصول على صحيفة، ويستقر لمدة ساعة من الوقت الهادئ - الذي أسميه المهلة.

عندما كنت طفلا، وأتذكر والدتي باستخدام المهلات كنوع من العقاب. لكن، حتى ذلك الحين، لقد استمتعت ذاهب الى غرفتي لنفكر في كيفية التصرف وكنت ما أنا في حاجة للقيام به "ليكون ولدا طيبا". لقد استمتعت بلدي المهلة ذلك الحين، وأنا لا تزال تفعل، على الرغم من الآن أنا أعتبر مهلة لتكون المكافأة بدلا من العقاب.

والمحمومة، بكثافة الحياة العصرية اليومية

على مر السنين، وقد لاحظت أنه أصبح من الصعب أكثر فأكثر أن تخصص تلك اللحظات الخاصة من اليوم عندما نتمكن من إزالة أنفسنا من وتيرة، المحمومة المحموم من الحياة اليومية. العثور حتى الآن الوقت للحصول على بعيدا، لتعكس، إلى التركيز، أو لمجرد السماح بحرية التجول العقل مهم لصحتنا العامة. وقد أظهرت الدراسات أن الحد من الإجهاد في الحياة اليومية يقلل بشكل ملحوظ من مخاطر الاصابة بأزمات قلبية أو الحاجة إلى عملية جراحية في القلب.

أتذكر الأيام التي كانت فيها القيادة من وإلى العمل تزودني بالوقت الذي أحتاج إليه كل يوم. الآن ، مع هاتف خلوي بجانبي ، تلك الأيام قد انتهت. أنا يمكن الوصول إليها في أي وقت ، في أي مكان - حتى في سيارتي.

وكان يعتقد مرة واحدة أن حياة ربة منزل الأميركي سيكون أقل المحمومة ومرهقة مع إدخال الأجهزة مثل الثلاجات والغسالات، والمجففات وغسالات أطباق وأفران الميكروويف. كانوا مخطئين. على الرغم من أن ظهور وسائل الراحة الحديثة قد جعلت العديد من الناس أكثر إنتاجية بشكل مؤقت وبالتالي قادرة على تحرير وقتا ثمينا، كما زادت حمولتها العمل - لأنه مع الوقت الاضافي، وأضاف العديد من الأفراد مجرد المزيد من الأعمال ليومهم.

التكنولوجيا الحديثة غزت حياتنا. إن قراءة رسائلي الإلكترونية والإجابة عليها في العمل وفي وقت لاحق في المنزل كل يوم قد تبقيني على علم أفضل ، ولكنها تأخذ أيضًا وقتًا ثمينًا كنت أقضيه في قراءة كتاب أو زيارة الأصدقاء. وينطبق نفس الشيء على هاتفي الخلوي ، على الرغم من أنه يسمح لي أن أكون سريع الاستجابة لاحتياجات الآخرين.

ولكن ماذا عن احتياجاتي؟

بساطة، الصباح المبكر، خاطرة هادئة

العثور على لحظات خاصة وأخذ المهلاتكما صبي صغير، وأذكر مرة عندما كان عائلتنا فقط هاتف واحد مدسوس بعيدا في عطلة في قاعة وطننا. أن يشارك هاتف واحد من عدة عائلات أخرى - ما أسميناه الخطوط الحزبية. هواتف اليوم هي في غرف النوم والمكتبات وغرف المعيشة والمطابخ والحمامات وحتى، وغالبا ما يكون اثنين أو ثلاثة خطوط - مع انتظار المكالمات، بطبيعة الحال.

هذا كله يساعد على شرح لماذا أنا أحب الصباح الباكر. لا أحد مستيقظ ، المنزل هادئ ، الهاتف لا يرن ، جهاز الفاكس لا ينقل رسائله ، والكمبيوتر هو خامل. أنا وحدي مع قهوة وجريدة وأفكار هادئة. إنها مهلة يومي.

وأنا في السن، لقد لاحظت الحاجة إلى المزيد من هذه اليومية المهلات، لذلك في الآونة الأخيرة لقد بدأت في اتخاذ نزهة 15 دقائق مع زوجتي والكلب بعد العودة إلى وطنهم من المستشفى.

أترك جميع الأجهزة التكنولوجية الحديثة والاتصالات وراءها، والخروج أمام بابي رجلا حرا. زوجتي وأنا تبادل الأخبار في أيامنا هذه والحديث عن أي شيء آخر وهذا في أذهاننا. فمن لدينا مهلة معا.

ونحن إعادة إدخال وطننا، لا يسعني إلا أن الابتسامة كما ألاحظ الرسائل الثلاث الجديدة على جهاز الرد على المكالمات التي جاءت في حين كنا خارج المشي.

المهلة انتهت - على الأقل حتى صباح الغد في وقت مبكر.

© 2003 by Frank H. Boehm. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر:
هاي هاوس شركة www.hayhouse.com

المادة المصدر

صرخة الأطباء أيضا: مقالات من قلب الطبيب
بواسطة بوهيم H. فرانك، العضو المنتدب

الأطباء البكاء جدا بواسطة فرانك ه. بوهيم، NDبحجم الجيب مجموعة من المقالات التي تتعامل مع الأطباء والمرضى وذويهم، والتحديات المعقدة المتصلة هؤلاء الأفراد. يتضمن اللحظات الخاصة في حياة المؤلف، وكذلك مواضيع مثل الشجاعة، والإيمان، والاكتئاب، والغفران، والصداقة، والإجهاض، والعقم، وتربية الأطفال، وأكثر من ذلك.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب غلاف عادي أو شراء أوقد الطبعة

نبذة عن الكاتب

فرانك ه. بوهيم، دكتوراه في الطب

FRANK بوهيم هو أستاذ GYN / OB ومدير التوليد في كلية الحقوق بجامعة فاندربيلت الطبي في ناشفيل بولاية تينيسي. وهو أيضا رئيس لجامعة فاندربيلت الطبي جنة الأخلاقيات المركز. فرانك هو متخصص في الحمل عالية المخاطر، وقد ألف أكثر من المنشورات العلمية 160، وشارك في تحرير كتاب كبير. انه الكتاب حاليا عمود في تينيسي، وهي صحيفة ناشفيل، بعنوان "كلمات شفاء". وهو مؤلف كتاب "الأطباء صرخة جدا". يقع موقعه على الانترنت في http://dr-boehm.com.

كتاب آخر من هذا المؤلف

بناء المريض / دكتور ترست
حياة التغييراتمؤلف: MD فرانك بويم
ملزم: كتاب ورقي الغلاف
الناشر: فرانك هـ. بويم
قائمة الأسعار: $13.95

اشتر الآن

كتب ذات صلة

حياة التغييرات
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Finding Special Moments and Taking Time-Outs

life changes

Finding Special Moments and Taking Time-Outs

I am a morning person. I have always enjoyed rising early, making a pot of coffee, getting the newspaper, and settling down for an hour of quiet time -- which I call a time-out.

When I was a child, I remember my mother using time-outs as punishment. However, even then, I enjoyed going to my room to think about how I was behaving and what I needed to do "to be a good boy". I enjoyed my time-out then, and I still do, although now I consider a time-out to be a reward rather than a punishment.

The Hectic, Frenetic Pace of Everyday Modern Life

Over the years, I have noticed that it has become more and more difficult to set aside those special moments of the day when we can remove ourselves from the hectic, frenetic pace of everyday life. Yet finding time to get away, to reflect, to concentrate, or to just let the mind wander freely is important for our overall health. Studies have shown that reducing stress in daily life significantly reduces the risk of heart attacks or the need for heart surgery.

I remember the days when simply driving to and from work supplied me with the time-out I needed each day. Now, with a cell phone by my side, those days are over. I can be reached anytime, anywhere -- even in my car.

It was once believed that the American housewife's life would be less hectic and stressful with the introduction of appliances such as refrigerators, washing machines, dryers, dishwashers, and microwave ovens. They were wrong. Although the advent of modern conveniences may have made many people temporarily more productive and thereby able to free up valuable time, it also increased their work load -- because with the extra time, many individuals merely added more chores to their day.

Modern technology has invaded our lives. Reading and answering my e-mail at work and later at home each day may keep me better informed, but it also takes away from the precious time I used to spend reading a book or visiting with friends. The same goes for my cell phone, although it allows me to be rapidly responsive to the needs of others.

But what about my needs?

Simplicity, Early Mornings, Quiet Thoughts

Finding Special Moments and Taking Time-OutsAs a little boy, I recall a time when our family only had one telephone tucked away in a recess in the hall of our home. That one phone was shared by several other families -- what we called party lines. Today telephones are in bedrooms, libraries, living rooms, kitchens, and even bathrooms, and often have two or three lines -- with call waiting, of course.

This all helps to explain why I love early mornings. No one is awake, the house is quiet, the telephone isn't ringing, the fax machine isn't transmitting its messages, and the computer is dormant. I am alone with my coffee, newspaper, and quiet thoughts. It is my daily time-out.

As I grow older, I've noticed the need for more of these daily time-outs, so lately I've started taking a 15-minute stroll with my wife and dog after coming home from the hospital.

I leave all the modern technological and communication devices behind, and walk out my front door a free man. My wife and I exchange news of our day and talk about anything else that's on our minds. It is our time-out together.

As we reenter our home, I cannot help but smile as I notice the three new messages on the answering machine that came in while we were out walking.

Time-out is over -- at least until early tomorrow morning.

©2003 by Frank H. Boehm. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher:
Hay House Inc. www.hayhouse.com

Article Source

Doctors Cry, Too: Essays from the Heart of a Physician
by Frank H. Boehm, M.D.

Doctors Cry Too by Frank H. Boehm, N.D.Pocket-sized collection of essays dealing with physicians, patients, their loved ones, and the complex challenges relating to these individuals. Includes special moments in the author's life, as well as topics such as courage, faith, depression, forgiveness, friendship, miscarriage, infertility, parenting, and more.

Info/Order this paperback book or purchase the Kindle edition

About The Author

Frank H. Boehm, M.D.

FRANK BOEHM is a Professor of OB/GYN and Director of Obstetrics at Vanderbilt University Medical School in Nashville, Tennessee. He is also Chairman of the Vanderbilt University Medical Center Ethics Committee. Frank is a specialist in high risk pregnancy, has authored over 160 scientific publications, and co-edited a major textbook. He currently authors a column in the Tennessean, a Nashville newspaper, entitled "Healing Words". He is the author of "Doctors Cry Too". His website is located at http://dr-boehm.com.

Another book by this Author

Building Patient/Doctor Trust
life changesAuthor: MD Frank Boehm
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Frank H. Boehm
List Price: $13.95

Buy Now

Related Books

Calm-Down Time (Toddler Tools)
life changesAuthor: Elizabeth Verdick
Binding: Board book
Publisher: Free Spirit Publishing
List Price: $7.95

Buy Now

Breathe In, Breathe Out: Inhale Energy and Exhale Stress by Guiding and Controlling Your Breathing
life changesAuthor: James E. Loehr
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Time Life Education
List Price: $14.95

Buy Now

life changes
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}