تعديل وجهة نظرك وجعل السلام أولوية

تعديل وجهة نظرك وجعل السلام أولوية
الصورة عن طريق أدريانو جاديني

العقل أداة. السؤال هو
هل تستخدم الأداة
أم أن الأداة تستخدمك.
--
زين المثل

سيفتقد معظمنا جوائز الحياة الكبرى ... الفائز بجائزة بوليتزر ، نوبل ، أوسكار ، تونيز ، إيمي ، الفائز باليانصيب. ولكن هناك العديد من الجوائز المذهلة التي نحن جميعًا مؤهلون لها.

على سبيل المثال ، هل سبق لك أن نظرت إلى سماء الليل وشعرت بالتساؤل التام حول اتساعها ؛ أو اندمجت بعمق مع إيقاع الموسيقى ولحنها لدرجة أن حسك اختفى؟ أو هل شعرت بجاذبية من ضوء الحب اللامع من خلال عيون الشخص المحبوب ؛ أو تنجرف ببطء مستيقظًا وتلتزم بهدوء الراحة اللذيذة قبل فتح عينيك ؛ أو جلس بجوار النهر ، يستمع إلى تدفقه الثابت ، ويدخل في السكون. هذه هي متع الحياة الصغيرة التي تحول يوم عادي إلى يوم من الروعة ، ورجل فقير إلى شخص ذو وسائل باهظة.

كل من هذه التجارب تمجد الروح وهي متاحة بسهولة لأي شخص يعانق اللحظة بصبر. إنها مسألة تعمد - أن تكون على استعداد للانخراط عمدا في الحياة بطريقة ما ، وبدافع تحويل تجربة عادية إلى تجربة لا تنسى.

رأيان مختلفان

تبدو فرصة مشاركة مواهب المرء مع العالم بمثابة تجربة رائعة وفرصة لتقديم الحب بطريقة رائعة. لكن بالنسبة للمغنية كارلي سيمون ، التي كانت تخشى المسرح بشكل لا يصدق ، كان الأمر مرعبًا. قبل العرض ، ستصاب بالغثيان والمرض وحتى الإغماء في إحدى حفلاتها. قررت أنها ليست مناسبة لتكون على خشبة المسرح بسبب أعصابها. لقد شعرت بالمرض بشكل روتيني ، وكانت يداها تتعرقان ، ولم تستطع الجلوس ساكنًا. وخلصت إلى أن وجود هذه المشكلة يشير إلى أنها لم تكن تهدف إلى الأداء وتوقفت بالفعل عن التجول بسببها.

من ناحية أخرى ، كانت ويتني هيوستن تعرف أنه عندما كانت أعصابها متدلية ، كانت يداها متعرقتان ، ولم تستطع الجلوس ساكنًا ، كانت على استعداد للذهاب إلى المسرح. اعتقدت أن عصبتها جعلتها حادة عقليًا وشعرت بالضخ!

كان كل من المطربين قلقين عند الذهاب إلى الجمهور وأظهروا ردود فعل جسدية مماثلة ، لكن كل منهم فسرها بشكل مختلف. هكذا هو الحال مع الناس. ما يمجد شخص ما سيعطل الآخر. وبعبارة أخرى ، هل أنت على استعداد للنظر للخوف في الوجه والتعامل معه أو تركه ينزل؟


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ما هي وجهة نظرك؟

إذا كنت متوترًا من مهمة أو موقف جديد ، فهذا لا يعني بالضرورة أنه لا يجب عليك المضي قدمًا فيه. قد تكون إشارة إلى أن شيئًا مهمًا على وشك الحدوث. قد يكون توقعًا لفتح باب جديد.

قبل أن تستسلم ، حاول تعديل وجهة نظرك. يمكن توقع الإثارة عند بدء مشروع جديد. إنها الطريقة التي نواجه بها التحدي ونواجه الفرصة ونتعامل مع المجهول. اعترف بحماسك لما هو عليه. هذا لا يعني أنه يجب عليك إلغاء الرحلة. تؤدي المشاريع الجديدة إلى التوسع الشخصي وتجعل الحياة أكثر إثارة للاهتمام.

لذلك ، عندما تجد نفسك في لحظة قلق ، توقف ولاحظ مكانك. حول تركيزك إلى اللحظة الحالية وإلى أنفاسك. وهذا يعني ملاحظة العناصر أو المواقع من حولك وبدء تسميتها. هناك شجرة وبعض العشب. أستطيع أن أشم رائحة العشب وأشاهد النسيم ينفخ في الشجرة. الآن أنا أقود وهناك سيارات في كل مكان. هناك تشيفي أبيض وشاحنة سوداء تنقل الحصى. أستطيع أن أشعر بعجلة القيادة الخاصة بي وأستطيع رؤية الشمس تشرق من خلال الزجاج الأمامي.

عندما تثبت نفسك وتتواصل مع اللحظة الحالية ، يتوقف عقلك عن السباق وتبدأ في الشعور بالهدوء. بعد ذلك ، انتقل إلى المكان في جسمك حيث يمكنك الشعور بالسلام والتنفس في تلك المساحة. (قد يكون قلبك أو بطنك.) تنفس خمسة أنفاس على الأقل أثناء تركيز انتباهك على جسمك.

ضع هذا التمرين في صندوق أدواتك الذهني وسيكون جاهزًا للاستخدام في أي وقت. خلاصة القول ، أنت تلفت انتباهك إلى اللحظة الحالية وهنا يحدث كل التغيير. هذا هو المكان الذي يحدث فيه كل المرح أيضًا. من هناك ، استقر وركز انتباهك.

على استعداد لتلقي الهدايا

كنت أعرف امرأة مصابة بالاكتئاب. ذات يوم ، في طريقها إلى العمل ، تصدرت تلة ونظرت إلى مشهد رائع. توسع الأفق أمامها بسماء لا تصدق فيروزي أزرق وغيوم ممتلئة. لقد صُعقت بجمال الطبيعة واتساعها وفتنتها صفائف رائعة من الزهور والأشجار الضخمة التي يبدو أنها توجت بأشعة الشمس. الامتداد الهائل للفروع يوفر الظل والراحة بشكل فاخر.

عندما سجلت هذا الروعة الطبيعية ، حدث لها كيف كانت غير واعية ومتورطة في نفسها. وتساءلت كم خسرت أثناء الاكتئاب؟ ومع ذلك ، استمرت الطبيعة طوال ذلك الوقت في إشراق نعمتها وصفاءها.

هذه هي الجوائز التي لا نهاية لها التي نقدمها. هل أنت على استعداد لاستقبالهم؟ يتطلب تحولا في المنظور. ربما التخلي عن الإكراه على الشك في الذات وترك العزلة السلبية لفتح الباب أمام إدراك أعمق وتقدير.

خذ لحظة للبحث عن أناقة الحياة وستجدها. أو ، ابتكر بعضًا من عملك الخاص - جرب نفسك على ظهرك ، وابتسم على شخص ما ، واتخذ موقفًا مرحّبًا بالحياة. اخرج من طريقك لتكون ودودًا مع جارك. أو خذ وقتًا لتنظر بذهول إلى القمر والنجوم أو الاستماع إلى أصوات الطبيعة الرخاء. شاهد حريق طقطقة. الاسترخاء.

استمتع بسعادة طفل هادئ ، أو رفاهية وجبة رائعة ، أو غروب رائع ، أو وعاء من الحساء الساخن ، أو بيرة باردة. هذه هي الجوائز التي تهدئ القلق وتذكرك بأن الحياة جيدة.

لا داعي للقلق بشأن خسارة جوائز الحياة اللامعة. نقدر أفراحها بدلاً من ذلك. هناك الكثير من هذه الأشياء. انظر حولك. ما السحر الذي يحدث الآن والذي كنت ستفتقده إذا لم تكن منتبهًا؟ يمكنك ممارسة ممارسة لاحظ؟

القلق يخلق في العقل

الحالات لا تسبب التوتر. معتقداتك عنها. يرى جيم ساحة مليئة بالأوراق ويبدأ في الضغط على نفسه لإخراجها. لا يستطيع جيم أن يفرج عن هوسه بتنظيف الفوضى.

في هذه الأثناء ، يلاحظ جاره المجاور ، هاري ، نفس المشهد ، ويلاحظ أنه لديه أولويات أخرى ، ويمشي في الماضي دون ذنب أو ذعر. هاري ليس لديه ضغط لأنه يقدر راحة البال فوق هدر الفناء.

يعتقد جيم أنه لكي تكون شخصًا جيدًا ، يجب أن يكون لديك فناء نظيف يعاني منه. على الرغم من أنه يعلم أنه لا يوجد وقت للعمل في الفناء ، فهو مثقل. وبدلاً من ذلك ، يمكنه التركيز على أمور أكثر إلحاحًا بما في ذلك رعاية الذات.

يتطلب هذا التحول في المنظور ضبط النفس وإعادة تعريف المتطلبات المسبقة للوجود ، أ شخص جيد. إن المعتقدات من هذا النوع ، والضغوط التي تلحقها ، تبقي العقل غير منظم. على العكس من ذلك ، يمكن تحقيق السلام بجعله الأولوية. دع نفسك من الخطاف. ما هو أهم من الانسجام العقلي؟ أليس هذا ضروريًا لإنجاز أي شيء؟

جعل السلام أولوية

إن وضع السلام على رأس قائمة أولوياتك أمر منطقي. كثيرون غير راغبين في وضع هذه الحاجة على قائمتهم على الإطلاق ، ناهيك عن القمة. سأصل إلى احتياجاتي عندما ينتهي كل شيء آخر. " ليس من المستغرب إذن ، عندما ينتهي اليوم ، لا تزال تنتظر دورك.

ابدأ بتخصيص ساعة يوميًا لتحويل نموذج القلق لديك إلى سلام. افعل ذلك عن طريق الجلوس بهدوء أثناء التفكير في الجمال والسلام والحب والمرح ، وكل شيء يعمل بشكل مثالي ، وما إلى ذلك. سيصبح عالمك أكثر هدوءًا وإشراقًا وأكثر أملاً. تتحدث البساطة - امشِ على مهل ، استقبل أشعة الشمس (أو المطر) ، اجلس في خيالية ، تخيل حياة مثالية ، اقرأ كتابًا ملهمًا ، شم رائحة الزهور ، تنفس بعمق ، اكتب لنفسك مذكرة حب ، تأمل. الاحتمالات لا حصر لها.

في كثير من الأحيان ، يحدث هذا النوع من إعادة الهيكلة عندما يضرب المرض في الأسرة. فجأة ، يفقد الفناء الفوضوي أو الأثاث المترب أو أي عمل مهم آخر أهمية. الصحة تأتي أولاً. الذوبان يتلاشى عندما يتم تجاهل المهام. يأتي المريض أولاً (ربما أنت المريض). لا تنتظر الطوارئ لتضمينك في قائمة الأولويات.

يجري في وئام

هل يأتي الغضب ، والناس الذين يرضون ، ويقلقون من المواعيد النهائية ، والقلق بشأن الجيران قبل توليد الهدوء؟ ما هي المعتقدات غير الواقعية التي تملكها والتي تتدخل في الصفاء؟ كيف تريد استبدالها؟

مهمتنا هي أن نكون متناغمين ، مثل التيار إلى الصخور. يتطلب الاستعداد والصبر والصبر لتغيير أولوياتك ومعتقداتك.

في عالمنا الغربي ، يمكن أن يكون هذا إنجازًا هائلاً. ليس كثيرا في الدول الشرقية حيث يزرع الصمت.

منح نفسك إذن

ابدأ بمنح نفسك الإذن لتدلل نفسك بطريقة جديدة. في الوقت الذي ستحصل على تعليق منه وسوف تغذيك ، حتى تشفيك. استمر في السكون لمدة ثلاثة أيام أو أسبوع ، ربما ثلاثة أشهر. استمر حتى تنسى جميع الأدوار التي تلعبها ، والطرق التي تلبس بها نفسك بالهوية والسلوكيات والمعتقدات المختلة. ابق حتى تصبح لا شيء ، مجرد فراغ هادئ.

من هذه النقطة ، يمكنك الانتقال إلى طاقة أعمق. دع العقل ينجرف برفق إلى تجربة إحساس أعمق بالحياة. لاحظ أنفاسك. تشعر أنها تأتي والخروج. لاحظ قوامه ودرجة حرارته وإيقاعه. تشعر بوظائف أعضاء الجسم. واشعر بروحك. دعها تتوسع مع كل نفس حتى تتمكن من تجاوز نفسك الجسدية لتشعر بالمساحة التي تشغلها. ثم تشعر بكل المساحة.

سيبدأ عقلك في تغيير الملمس أثناء القيام بذلك. يصبح أكثر نعومة وأخف وزنا وأكثر امتلاء. ابق في هذه المساحة. لا حكم ، لا شيء ، مجرد وجود. أنت تمد نفسك وتصبح نفسك الحقيقية الأصيلة.

© 2020 بواسطة جان والترز. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتطف بإذن.
الناشر: اتصالات داخلية.

المادة المصدر

الرحلة من القلق إلى السلام: خطوات عملية للتعامل مع الخوف واحتضان النضال والقضاء على القلق لتصبح سعيدًا وحرًا
جان والترز

الرحلة من القلق إلى السلام: خطوات عملية للتعامل مع الخوف وتبني الكفاح والقضاء على القلق لتصبح سعيدًا وحرًا بقلـم جان والترزيؤثر الإجهاد اليومي على سلامتك وإحساسك بالفرح ويمكن أن يقصر حياتك. في هذا الكتاب سوف تكتشف ممارسات تساعدك على الانتقال من القلق والقلق إلى راحة البال ، وسوف تقرأ قصص الأشخاص الذين نجحوا في الانتقال. إنها عملية. وقد انتقل آخرون بنجاح بهذه الطريقة ويمكنك أيضًا. إنه مثل عبور جدول ، والقفز من صخرة إلى صخرة. خذ خطوة وستظهر أمامك الخطوة التالية (الخطوة). الشيء الرئيسي هو البدء !!

لمزيد من المعلومات ، أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

المزيد من الكتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

عن المؤلف

جان والترزجان والترز أستاذ في مبادئ التمكين الذاتي في سانت لويس لأكثر من ثلاثين عامًا. درست الميتافيزيقيا على نطاق واسع وتطبق المبادئ العالمية على كل مجال من مجالات حياتها. كتب جان أعمدة أسبوعية وشهرية للصحف والمنشورات الرئيسية في سانت لويس وتم نشره في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. تشمل كتبها: أطلق العنان لنفسك: عش الحياة التي كان من المفترض أن تعيشها ، كن فاحشًا: افعل المستحيل. أحلام ورموز الحياة ؛ انظر يا ما ، أنا أطير. صممت وقدمت دروسًا وورش عمل في التمكين والتأمل والقوانين العالمية وتفسير الأحلام وتعزيز الحدس للمنظمات والكليات والجامعات والمجموعات الروحية والشركات في جميع أنحاء الغرب الأوسط. من مكتبها في سانت لويس ، تعمل مع أشخاص حول العالم كمدربة تحويلية وقارئ أكاشيك. أعطت أكثر من 35,000 قراءات مع التركيز على توفير نظرة ثاقبة فيما يتعلق بالنمو الشخصي ، والغرض من الحياة ، وتعزيز العلاقات ، والتحرك من خلال العقبات.

فيديو / عرض تقديمي مع جان والترز: التأمل الموجه للضوء والحب والإمكانيات

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
by جين رولاند وشانتيديفي
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
by فيليب روسو وبريت ميتشل
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
by ساثفيك براساد وبرادلي ريفز

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

Adjusting Your View and Making Peace a Priority

Adjusting Your View and Making Peace a Priority
Image by Adriano Gadini

The mind is a tool. The question is
do you use the tool
or does the tool use you.
                                       --
Zen Proverb

Most of us will miss out on life’s big prizes…the Pulitzer, Nobel, Oscars, Tonys, Emmys, winning the Lottery. But there are many, more incredible prizes for which we’re all eligible.

For instance, have you ever looked at the night sky and felt complete wonder at its vastness; or merged so deeply with the rhythm and melody of music that your sense of self disappeared? Or have you felt magnetized by the light of love shining through a loved one’s eyes; or drifted slowly awake and lain quietly embracing delicious restfulness before opening your eyes; or sat by a river, listening to its steady flow, and entered into stillness. These are life’s small pleasures that transform an ordinary day to one of splendor, and a poor man into a person of extravagant means.

Each of these experiences exalts the soul and is readily available to anyone patiently embracing the moment. It is a matter of deliberateness—being willing to deliberately engage in life in a way, and, with the motive of transforming an ordinary experience to a memorable one.

Two Differing Views

The opportunity to share one’s talents with the world seems like a wondrous experience and a chance to offer love in a grand way. But for singer, Carly Simon, who had incredible stage fright, it was terrifying. Before a performance, she would become nauseous and ill and even fainted at one of her concerts. She decided that she was not suited to be on stage because of her nerves. She routinely felt sick, her hands would sweat, and she couldn’t sit still. She concluded that having this problem indicated that she was not meant to perform and actually stopped touring because of it.

Whitney Houston, on the other hand, knew that when her nerves were jangled, her hands were sweaty, and she couldn’t sit still, she was ready to go on stage. She believed her nervousness made her mentally sharp and she felt pumped!

Both singers were anxious when going before an audience and demonstrated similar physical reactions, yet each interpreted them differently. So it is with people. What exalts one person will disable another. In other words, are you willing to look fear in the face and deal with it or let it take you down?


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


What's Your Viewpoint?

If you are nervous with a new assignment or situation, it doesn’t necessarily mean that you shouldn’t go through with it. It could be a signal that something important is about to happen. It could be anticipation for a new door opening.

Before you give up, try adjusting your viewpoint. Excitement when starting a new venture can be expected. It is the way we meet challenge, face opportunity, and deal with the unknown. Acknowledge your excitement for what it is. It doesn’t mean you should cancel the journey. New ventures lead to personal expansion and it makes life more interesting.

Therefore, when you find yourself in an anxious moment, stop and notice where you are. Shift your focus to the present moment and to your breath. That means notice the items or sites around you and start naming them. There is a tree and some grass. I can smell the grass and watch the breeze blow through the tree. Or, I am driving and there are cars everywhere. There is a white Chevy and a black truck hauling gravel. I can feel my steering wheel and I can see the sun shining through the windshield.

When you steady yourself and connect with the present moment, your mind stops racing and you begin to feel calmer. Next go to the place in your body where you can feel peace and breathe into that space. (It might be your heart or your belly.) Breathe at least five breaths while you fix your attention on your body.

Put this exercise in your mental toolbox and it will be ready to use at any time. Bottomline, you are bringing your attention to the present moment and that is where all change happens. That is where all the fun happens too. From there, stabilize and center your attention.

Being Willing to Receive the Gifts

I knew a woman who was depressed. One day, driving to work, she topped a hill and gazed upon a gorgeous scene. The horizon expanded before her with an incredible turquoise-blue sky and plump fluffy clouds. She was struck by the beauty and vastness of nature and entranced by brilliant arrays of flowers and massive trees that seemed to be crowned with sunshine. The immense stretch of branches opulently offering shade and comfort.

As she registered this natural splendor, it occurred to her how unconscious and self-involved she had been. She wondered how much had she lost while depressed? Yet, throughout that time nature continued to radiate its grace and serenity.

These are the endless prizes we are offered. Are you willing to receive them? It requires a shift in perspective. Perhaps dropping a compulsion to self-doubt and letting go of negativism to open the door to deeper perception and appreciation.

Take a moment to look for the elegance of life and you will find it. Or, create a few of your own—pat yourself on the back, smile at someone, assume a welcoming stance to life. Go out of your way to be friendly to a neighbor. Or take time to gaze with wonderment at the moon and stars or listen to the melodious sounds of nature. Watch a crackling fire. Relax.

Enjoy the happiness of a cooing baby, the luxuriousness of a great meal, a gorgeous sunset, a bowl of hot soup, or a cold beer. These are the prizes that soothe anxiety and remind you that life is good.

There’s no need fretting at losing out on life’s illustrious awards. Appreciate its many joys instead. There are plenty of those to go around. Look around. What magic is happening right now that you would have missed if you weren’t paying attention? Can you make a practice of noticing?

Anxiety Is Created In The Mind

Situations do not cause stress. Your beliefs about them do. Jim sees a yard full of leaves and starts pressuring himself to rake it. Jim can’t release his obsession to clean up the mess.

Meanwhile, his next-door neighbor, Harry, observes the same sight, and, noting he has other priorities, walks right past without guilt or consternation. Harry has no pressure because he values his peace of mind above the yard waste.

Jim’s belief that in order to be a good person, you must have a clean yard plagues him. Even though, he knows there is no time for yard work, he is burdened. Instead, he could focus on more compelling matters including self-nurturing.

This shift in perspective necessitates self-control and a redefinition of the prerequisites to being, a good person. Beliefs of this sort, and the ensuing pressure they instill, keep the mind disorganized. Contrarily, peace can be achieved by making it the priority. Let yourself off the hook. What’s more important than mental harmony? Isn’t that essential to accomplishing anything?

Making Peace A Priority

Putting peace at the top of your priority list makes sense. Many are unwilling to put this need on their list at all, much less at the top. I’ll get to my needs when everything else is finished.” It’s no surprise then, when the day is over, you’re still waiting your turn.

Start by dedicating an hour daily to shifting your paradigm of angst to peace. Do this by sitting quietly while contemplating beauty, peace, love, fun, everything working perfectly, etc. Your world will become calmer, brighter, and more hopeful. Simplicity speaks—leisurely walk, receive the sunshine (or rain), sit in reverie, fantasize a perfect life, read an inspiring book, smell the flowers, breathe deeply, write yourself a love note, meditate. The possibilities are endless.

Often, this kind of restructuring takes place when illness strikes in a family. Suddenly the messy yard, dusty furniture, or other important work loses significance. Health comes first. Guilt dissolves as tasks are ignored. The patient comes first (perhaps you are the patient). Don’t wait for an emergency to include yourself on the priority list.

Being In Harmony

Do anger, people pleasing, fretting about deadlines, and worry about the neighbors come before generating calmness? What are the unrealistic beliefs you hold that are interfering with serenity? How would you like to replace them?

To be in harmony, as the stream is to the rocks, is our task. It requires willingness, patience, and fortitude to shift your priorities and beliefs.

In our Western world, this can be a monumental accomplishment. Not so much in Eastern countries where silence is cultivated.

Giving Yourself Permission

Start by granting yourself permission to indulge yourself in a new way. In time you will get the hang of it and it will nourish you, even heal you. Stay in stillness for three days or a week, maybe three months. Remain until you have forgotten all the roles you play, and the ways you clothe yourself with identity and dysfunctional behaviors and beliefs. Stay until you become nothing, just quiet emptiness.

From this point, you can move into a deeper energy. Let the mind drift gently into experiencing a deeper sensation of life. Notice your breath. Feel it coming in and going out. Notice its texture, temperature, and rhythm. Feel your body organs function. And feel your spirit. Let it expand with each breath so that you are able to move beyond your physical self to feel the space you occupy. Then feel all space.

Your mind will begin to change texture as you do this. It becomes softer, lighter, fuller. Stay in this space. No judgment, no anything, just being. You are stretching and becoming your true, authentic self.

©2020 by Jean Walters. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission.
Publisher: Inner Connections.

Article Source

The Journey from Anxiety to Peace: Practical Steps to Handle Fear, Embrace Struggle, and Eliminate Worry to become Happy and Free
by Jean Walters

The Journey from Anxiety to Peace: Practical Steps to Handle Fear, Embrace Struggle, and Eliminate Worry to become Happy and Free by Jean WaltersEveryday stress takes a toll on your well-being and sense of joy and can even cut your life short. In this book you will discover practices to help you move from anxiety and worry to peace of mind and you will read stories of people who have successfully made the transition. It is a process. Others have successfully transitioned in this way and you can too. It is like crossing a stream, jumping from rock to rock. Take a step and the next stone (step) will appear before you. The main thing is to start!!

For more info, or to order this book, click here. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

More books by this Author

About the Author

Jean WaltersJean Walters is a Saint Louis based teacher of self-empowerment principles for over thirty years. She has studied metaphysics extensively and applies universal principles to every area of her life. Jean has written weekly and monthly columns for major Saint Louis newspapers and publications and been published all over the United States. Her books include: Set Yourself Free: Live the life YOU were meant to Live, Be Outrageous: Do the Impossible; Dreams & the Symbology of Life; Look Ma, I'm Flying. She has designed and presented classes and workshops in empowerment, meditation, universal laws, dream interpretation, and strengthening intuition for organizations, colleges, universities, spiritual groups, and businesses around the Midwest. From her Saint Louis office, she works with people around the world as a Transformational Coach and Akashic Record reader. She has given over 35,000 readings with the emphasis on providing insight regarding personal growth, life purpose, strengthening relationships, and moving through obstacles.

Video/Presentation with Jean Walters: Guided Meditation for Light, Love and Potential

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…