الواقع القاتم والأمل من أجل مستقبل أفضل

الواقع القاتم والأمل من أجل مستقبل أفضل

يواصل العالم نضاله ضد جائحة COVID-19. أكثر من 7.4 مليون حالة وفاة و 416,000 حالة وفاة تم الإبلاغ عنها في جميع أنحاء العالم. الولايات المتحدة لديها أكبر عدد من الحالات في العالم ، تفوق 2 مليون مارك لأنه يعيد فتح الأعمال التجارية بينما لا يزال يحاول احتواء انتشار الفيروس.

لا يمكن إنقاذ الاقتصاد ومعالجة الأزمة الصحية في نفس الوقت. تظهر الأبحاث من جميع أنحاء العالم ذلك. إنها حقيقة قاتمة حيث يؤدي الانكماش الاقتصادي إلى البطالة ويقلل من رفاهية الناس. سيكون الفقراء دائما الأكثر تضررا.

ومع ذلك ، هناك دائمًا ضوء في نهاية النفق ، وما زلنا نأمل أن نتمكن من تحقيق شيء إيجابي في نهاية الوباء. يرى البعض أن هذا هو الوقت المناسب لتحسين الأشياء ، من تحسين النظام الغذائي في أفريقيا إلى إجبارنا على تصميم مباني أكثر صحة.

في جولة هذا الأسبوع من قصص الفيروسات التاجية من علماء حول العالم ، نستكشف التأثيرات غير المتناسبة لـ COVID-19 وآخرها على تجارب المخدرات.

الخراب مستمر

ولا يزال الوباء يلقي بظلاله على الجبهات المختلفة ، من قتل آلاف الأرواح إلى الاقتصادات المدمرة ورفاهية العديد من الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم.

  • ارتفاع حصيلة القتلى. ليس هناك شك في أن المملكة المتحدة تضررت بشدة من الفيروس التاجي. الأمة لديها ثاني أكبر عدد من الوفيات في جميع أنحاء العالم ، تليها الولايات المتحدة فقط ، التي يبلغ عدد سكانها خمسة أضعاف. تشرح جاسمينا بانوفسكا-غريفيث ، الخبيرة في النمذجة الرياضية حيث أخطأت المملكة المتحدة وكيف سيمنع المزيد من الوفيات إذا حدثت موجة ثانوية من العدوى عند إعادة فتحها.

  • تأثير صعب. من الأكثر تضررا من إغلاق جنوب أفريقيا؟ استخدم ثلاثة باحثين من المعهد الدولي لبحوث السياسات الغذائية (IFPRI) ، وتشانينج أرندت ، وشيرمان روبنسون ، وشيروين غابرييل ، أداة النمذجة الاقتصادية تسمى تحليل مضاعف SAM (مصفوفة المحاسبة الاجتماعية) ، وهي مناسبة تمامًا لتقييم الصدمات قصيرة المدى إلى الاقتصاد ، للعثور على الإجابات.


    الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


  • ديون كبيرة. يمكن القول إن صدمة الاقتصاد الكلي التي يتعرض لها الاقتصاد العالمي من جائحة COVID-19 غير مسبوقة في العصر الحديث. كانت الاستجابة المالية من قبل حكومات الاقتصادات الكبرى كبيرة. يوضح أنطون موسكاتيللي ، الخبير الاقتصادي ومدير جامعة غلاسكو ، السبب يجب أن يكون الدفع مقابل الفيروس التاجي مثل ديون الحرب - منتشرة عبر الأجيال.

التدخلات المالية COVID-19 مقابل الأزمة المالية العالمية

الواقع القاتم والأمل من أجل مستقبل أفضل المجلس الأطلسي

  • حل مشاكل الرعاية الصحية في إندونيسيا. من المتوقع أن يزيد جائحة COVID-19 من عجز الوكالة التي تدير التأمين الصحي الوطني الإندونيسي - المعروف باسم BPJS-Kesehatan - والذي بلغ بالفعل 1.9 مليار دولار أمريكي. لدعم الوكالة ، تخطط الحكومة لزيادة أقساط التأمين الصحي الوطني. ومع ذلك ، تجادل لجنة من الخبراء بهذه الإرادة لن تحل مشاكل الرعاية الصحية في إندونيسيا.

  • تمويل التحفيز تعهد بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي الأمريكي بتقديم ما يصل إلى 2.3 تريليون دولار أمريكي من الإقراض لدعم الأسر وأرباب العمل والأسواق المالية وحكومات الولايات والحكومات المحلية التي تكافح نتيجة لفيروسات كورونا وطلبات البقاء في المنزل. يكتب ويليام ج. لوثر ، خبير في الاقتصاد بجامعة فلوريدا أتلانتيك ، عن كيفية قيام الاحتياطي الفيدرالي بالمعنى الحرفي يجني المال لتقديم الدعم.

التغييرات المشجعة

يمكن القول بأن الوباء العالمي يمكن أن يحدث أو يفرض تغييرات إيجابية في العديد من جوانب حياتنا.

  • أمن غذائي. حذر برنامج الغذاء العالمي من أن جائحة COVID-19 يمكن أن يسبب واحدة من أسوأ الأزمات الغذائية منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية. ويتنبأ بمضاعفة عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الجوع - أكثر من نصفهم في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى. يجادل فريق من الخبراء بذلك يعد انتعاش COVID-19 فرصة لتحسين نظام الغذاء الأفريقي.

  • مبنى صحي. سوف يجبرنا جائحة COVID-19 على تصميم وهندسة المباني من أجل صحة أفضل. كما تظهر الأبحاث أن 85٪ من وقتنا يقضي في الداخل ، فنحن المصدر الرئيسي للبكتيريا في البيئات الداخلية. يكتب خبير البناء الصحي جاكو نيس عن هذا الموضوع في مقاله الحدود المعمارية الجديدة: المباني وميكروبيوماتها.

  • مساحة أكثر أمانًا. كما أجبر جائحة COVID-19 الحكومات على تقييم فوائد إبقاء المساحات الخضراء مفتوحة مقابل مخاوف الصحة العامة الناشئة عن استخدامها. للمساحات الخضراء آثار إيجابية على الصحة العقلية واللياقة البدنية والتماسك الاجتماعي والعافية الروحية ، ولكن العديد منها مغلق من أجل سلامة الناس. في هذا الصدد ، تشرح مجموعة من الخبراء كيف يمكن للمدن إضافة مساحات خضراء يمكن الوصول إليها في عالم ما بعد الفيروس التاجي.

  • ثورة الرعاية الصحية. في جميع أنحاء العالم ، تراجعت العوائق التي تحول دون توفير الرعاية الصحية عن بُعد - المعروفة باسم "التطبيب عن بُعد" - بين عشية وضحاها. لقد نقلنا COVID-19 من نقاش حذر حول استخدام الطب عن بعد إلى الحاجة الفورية لإحداث ثورة في الممارسة. شرح ثلاثة خبراء من جامعة باث ، كريستوفر إكليستون ، وإدموند كيوج وإيما فيشر كيف أجبرنا الفيروس التاجي على تبني الرعاية الصحية الرقمية.

البحث عن علاج

لم يتم العثور بعد على لقاح مضاد للفيروس التاجي وهناك العديد من اختبارات المخدرات والخلافات حوله.

الواقع القاتم والأمل من أجل مستقبل أفضل تشير الدلائل إلى أن استخدام هيدروكسي كلوروكوين يمكن أن يؤدي إلى عدم انتظام ضربات القلب. غيتي إيماجز / فيسوت أوثيرام

  • الحقيقة حول هيدروكسي كلوروكوين. قال الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب في مايو الماضي إنه يتناول هيدروكسي كلوروكين لتجنب الإصابة بـ COVID-19. تقارير وسائل الإعلام الإخبارية تدير سلسلة من القول أن هيدروكسي كلوروكوين فعال بنسبة 91 ٪ لأنه غير فعال وخطير. كيف يعرف الناس ماذا يؤمنون؟ يكتب خبير الصيدلة من جامعة كونيتيكت ، C. Michael White وجدت مراجعة جديدة للعديد من الدراسات عيوبًا في البحث ولا فائدة.

  • النظر إلى ما وراء بروتينات السنبلة. إن تطوير لقاح صعب في أفضل الأوقات ، ولكن نادرًا ما كنا في وضع حيث يجب اكتساب المعرفة الأساسية حول الفيروس مباشرة إلى جانب السباق للقضاء عليه. شرح خبيرين من جامعة مانشستر ، شينا كروكشانك ودانيال م.ديفيس كيف تشارك الخلايا التائية وما قد يعنيه لتطوير اللقاح.

الواقع القاتم والأمل من أجل مستقبل أفضل يتكون OM85 من جزيئات مستخرجة من جدران البكتيريا. شترستوك

نبذة عن الكاتب

Yessar Rosendar ، Business + Economy (الطبعة الإندونيسية) ، المحادثة يدعم هذا المقال معهد جوديث نيلسون للصحافة والأفكار.المحادثة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
by كاثرين موفيت برادفورد وآخرون
لماذا قد لا يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم أفضل مؤشر لصحتنا
لماذا قد لا يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم أفضل مؤشر لصحتنا
by كارين كولمان وسارة ساوتشيلي توران

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

The Grim Reality And Hope For A Better Future

The Grim Reality And Hope For A Better Future

The world continues its struggle against the COVID-19 pandemic. More than 7.4 million cases and 416,000 deaths have been reported worldwide. The United States has the largest number of cases in the world, surpassing the 2 million mark as it reopens businesses while still trying to contain the spread of the virus.

Saving the economy and tackling the health crisis cannot be done at the same time. Research from around the globe shows that. It is a grim reality as an economic downturn leads to unemployment and reduces the welfare of the people. The poor will always be the hardest hit.

However, there is always light at the end of the tunnel, and we can still hope we can achieve something positive at the end of the pandemic. Some view this as the right time to improve things, from improving the food system in Africa to forcing us to design healthier buildings.

In this week’s round-up of coronavirus stories from scholars around the globe, we explore the disproportionate impacts of COVID-19 and the latest on drug trials.

The havoc continues

The pandemic continues to take its toll on various fronts, from taking thousands of lives to devastating economies and the welfare of many people worldwide.

  • Rising death toll. There is no doubt the UK has been hit hard by coronavirus. The nation has the second-largest number of deaths worldwide, trailing only the USA, which has five times the population. An expert in mathematical modelling, Jasmina Panovska-Griffiths explains where the UK went wrong and how will it prevent further deaths if a secondary wave of infections occurs as it reopens.

  • Hard impact. Who has been hit hardest by South Africa’s lockdown? Three researchers from the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), Channing Arndt, Sherman Robinson and Sherwin Gabriel, used an economic modelling tool called SAM-multiplier analysis (Social Accounting Matrix), which is well suited to assessing short-term shocks to an economy, to find the answers.


     Get The Latest From InnerSelf


  • Big debts. The macroeconomic shock to the world economy from the COVID-19 pandemic is arguably unprecedented in modern times. The financial response by governments of the major economies has been substantial. Anton Muscatelli, an economist and Principal of the University of Glasgow, explains why paying for coronavirus will have to be like war debt – spread over generations.

Fiscal interventions COVID-19 versus Global Financial Crisis

The Grim Reality And Hope For A Better Future Atlantic Council

  • Solving Indonesia’s health-care problems. The COVID-19 pandemic is expected to increase the deficit of the agency managing Indonesia’s national health insurance – known as BPJS-Kesehatan – which had already reached US$1.9 billion. To support the agency, the government plans to increase national health insurance premiums. However, a panel of experts argues this will not solve Indonesia’s health-care problems.

  • Funding the stimulus The US Federal Reserve has vowed to provide up to US$2.3 trillion in lending to support households, employers, financial markets and state and local governments that are struggling as a result of the coronavirus and stay-at-home orders. William J. Luther, an expert in economics at Florida Atlantic University, writes about how the Federal Reserve literally makes money to provide the support.

Encouraging changes

The global pandemic also arguably can bring about or force positive changes in many aspects of our lives.

  • Food security. The World Food Program has warned that the COVID-19 pandemic could cause one of the worst food crises since the second world war. It predicts a doubling of the number of people going hungry – more than half of them in sub-Saharan Africa. A panel of experts argues that the COVID-19 recovery is a chance to improve the African food system.

  • Healthy building. The COVID-19 pandemic will force us to design and engineer buildings for better health. As research shows 85% of our time is spent indoors, we are the main source of bacteria in indoor environments. Healthy building expert Jako Nice writes about this issue in his article The new architectural frontier: buildings and their microbiomes.

  • Safer space. The COVID-19 pandemic has also forced governments to weigh the benefits of keeping green spaces open against the public health concerns arising from their use. Green spaces have positive effects on mental health, physical fitness, social cohesion and spiritual wellness, but many are locked off for the safety of the people. In this regard, a group of experts explains how cities can add accessible green space in a post-coronavirus world.

  • Health-care revolution. Around the world, barriers to providing health care remotely – known as “telemedicine” – have come down overnight. COVID-19 has moved us from a cautious debate about whether to use telemedicine to an immediate need to revolutionise practice. Three experts from the University of Bath, Christopher Eccleston, Edmund Keogh and Emma Fisher, explain how the coronavirus has forced us to embrace digital health care.

The quest for a cure

A vaccine for the coronavirus is yet to be found and there are many drug tests and controversies around it.

The Grim Reality And Hope For A Better Future Evidence suggests use of hydroxychloroquine could lead to heart arrhythmias. Getty Images / Visoot Uthairam

  • The truth about hydroxychloroquine. US President Donald Trump said last May he was taking hydroxychloroquine to avoid contracting COVID-19. News media reports run the gamut from saying hydroxychloroquine is 91% effective to it being both ineffective and dangerous. How do people know what to believe? A pharmacy expert from the University of Connecticut, C. Michael White, writes a new review of several studies finds flaws in research and no benefit.

  • Looking beyond spike proteins. Developing a vaccine is difficult at the best of times, but rarely have we been in a situation where basic knowledge about a virus has to be acquired so directly alongside the race to eradicate it. Two experts from the University of Manchester, Sheena Cruickshank and Daniel M. Davis, explain how T cells are involved and what it might mean for vaccine development.

The Grim Reality And Hope For A Better Future OM85 is made from molecules extracted from the walls of bacteria. Shutterstock

  • The good bacteria. Scientists around the world are continuing to test countless vaccines and drugs in the hope of finding effective ways to prevent and treat COVID-19. Among the drugs being trialled in Australia is something called OM85. It is not a conventional drug, but a combination of molecules extracted from the walls of bacteria that commonly cause respiratory infections. An expert from The University of Queensland, Peter Sly, writes about how bacteria in a capsule could protect us from coronavirus and other respiratory infections.

About The Author

Yessar Rosendar, Business + Economy (Indonesian edition), The Conversation This article is supported by the Judith Neilson Institute for Journalism and Ideas.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)