Чтобы смело идти или не рисковать

Чтобы смело идти или не рисковать
Изображение на Лотар Дитрих

В марте 9, 2015, пилот Андре Боршберг поднял свой экспериментальный самолет Solar Impulse 2 со взлетно-посадочной полосы Абу-Даби. Его смелый план: летать на солнечной энергии по всему земному шару без капли ископаемого топлива.

В волнующем документальном фильме Невозможный полетМы катаемся на американских горках с трудностями и победами, которые характеризовали эпическое путешествие Solar Impulse 2. В то время как изобретатели планировали совершить поездку на двенадцати участках при скорости полета 45 миль в час, хрупкое судно постоянно срывалось из-за непогоды и неисправностей оборудования.

Самый сложный момент наступил, когда легкое судно должно было пролететь своей самой длинной ногой над Тихим океаном из Японии на Гавайи - изнурительный дневной поход 5 по системам с неблагоприятными погодными условиями. Пилот должен был сидеть в фиксированном положении почти всю поездку, за исключением случайных 20-минутных перерывов в силе.

Когда полет приблизился к средней точке невозврата, наземные метеорологи и инженеры команды с грустью пришли к выводу, что погода впереди была слишком опасной, и лихорадочно призвали пилота повернуть назад. Но пилот отказался. «У меня очень хорошее чувство, что мы можем это сделать», - ответил он и продолжил. После еще двух мучительных дней нанизывая иголки между штормами, Боршберг благополучно приземлился в Гонолулу. Позже SI2 вернулся к исходной точке, 504, через несколько дней после своего отъезда.

Два разных голоса

У вас на уме живут два разных человека: Один - инженер, который рассчитывает шансы и риски в соответствии с известной наукой. Другой - это голос страсти, намерения и духа, склонный к прыжкам веры за пределы известной науки. Оба важны. Наука помогает нам понять и маневрировать миром, который мы знаем. Наше видение и приключение побуждают нас выйти за пределы мира, который мы знаем, в более захватывающие измерения. Инженер измеряет вероятности. Дух мотивируется возможностями.

Мы должны уважать инженеров, которые спроектировали этот блестящий самолет, который мог побить рекорды; но если бы это были только инженеры, самолет повернул бы назад, и записи не были бы побиты. Что-то внутри пилота сказало: «Я могу и я сделаю», что в конечном итоге достигло цели.

Играя Безопасно?

Путь к успеху подобен поездке на поезде с паровым двигателем. Следы направляют поезд к выбранному месту назначения. Пар движет поезд вперед. Треки представляют собой приземленные расчеты, чтобы оставаться целенаправленными. Пар - это страсть к достижению цели. Если у вас есть треки, но нет пара, поезд никуда не денется. Если у вас есть пар, но нет гусениц, поезд будет подпрыгивать вокруг вертолета и падать или наносить ущерб. Чтобы достичь своей цели, вам нужны пара и треки.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Говорят, «цель жизни не в том, чтобы благополучно прийти к смерти». Некоторые люди проводят свою жизнь в безопасности, никогда не выходя на новую, захватывающую и, возможно, опасную территорию. В процессе они раздавливаются и теряют свою страсть; с каждым годом они становятся все менее живыми. Бенджамин Франклин сказал: «Большинство людей умирают в возрасте 25, но они не похоронены до возраста 75».

Франклин был одним из небольшой группы людей, которые основали нацию на радикальной идее, что граждане могут делать выбор для себя, а не позволять монарху контролировать свою жизнь. В то время как мы теперь воспринимаем демократию как должное, в то время в каждой стране правил король, император или царь. Чтобы установить первую современную демократию, потребовался огромный скачок веры. Отцы-основатели считали свой проект большим экспериментом. У них хватило смелости пойти смело.

Видение превосходит сомнения

Томас Джефферсон написал первый проект Декларации независимости, когда ему было всего 30 лет. Он мог бы сказать: «Я слишком молод, слишком неопытен. Этот проект больше меня ». Но видение свободной нации было больше, чем его личные сомнения. Он продолжил и инициировал один из самых важных документов в истории человечества.

Когда братья Райт летали на первом самолете в Китти-Хок в 1904, расстояние этого полета было меньше, чем размах крыла современного реактивного самолета 747. Если бы вы сказали кому-либо в этом году, что человек будет ходить на Луне только 65 лет спустя, менее чем за одну жизнь, вас бы назвали сумасшедшим. Но страсть побуждает людей делать то, что разум никогда не одобрит.

Вы можете и вы должны

В этот момент у вас есть видение сделать то, чего вы никогда не делали раньше. У вас есть книга, песня, отношения, семинар или бизнес, призывающие вас из чрева творчества. Голос внутри вас кричит: «Вы можете и должны это делать!», А другой ругается: «Повернись назад, пока не стало слишком поздно».

Делая свой выбор, вы стоите в той же точке посередине, где пилот Solar Impulse 2 оказался в этом историческом путешествии. Этот проект столкнулся с огромными трудностями, но его новаторы продолжали, пока мечта не стала реальностью.

Так будешь ли ты продолжать, пока не исполнишь свою судьбу? Каким-то образом, иногда, когда вы оглянетесь на свое приключение и узнаете, что оно было направлено духом. В этот момент инженер и провидец внутри вас дадут друг другу бурную пятерку и поздравят друг друга: «Молодец!»

* Субтитры добавлены Innerself
© 2019 Алана Коэна. Все права защищены.

Книга этого автора

Дух означает бизнес: путь к процветанию без продажи души
Алан Коэн.

Дух означает бизнес: путь к процветанию без продажи души Алан Коэн.Можете ли вы создать материальный успех и сохранить дух? Можно ли совместить процветание с целью и страстью? Можете ли вы продать свой продукт, не потеряв свою душу? Опираясь на источники мудрости из Дао Дэ Цзин Курс ЧудесЭта книга, а также рассказы клиентов Алана и его собственной жизни помогут вам найти духовный путь к желаемому успеху.

Нажмите здесь для получения дополнительной информации и / или заказать эту книгу. Также доступно как издание Kindle.

Другие книги Алана Коэна

Об авторе

Алан КоэнАлан Коэн - автор бестселлеров Курс Чудес Made Easy и недавно выпущенный Дух значит бизнес. Присоединяйтесь к Алану и музыканту Карен Друкер на Гавайях, декабрь 1-6, для необычного ретрита «Курс чудес: легкий путь». Для получения дополнительной информации об этой программе, тренинг Алана по целостному жизненному тренеру, начинающийся в январе 1, его книги и видео , бесплатные ежедневные вдохновляющие цитаты, онлайн-курсы и еженедельные радиопостановки, посещение www.alancohen.com

Посмотрите видео / интервью с Аланом Коэном: Let It Be Easy. Борьба не требуется.

Вам также может понравиться

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

To Boldly Go or To Play It Safe

To Boldly Go or To Play It Safe
Image by Lothar Dieterich

On March 9, 2015, pilot Andre Borschberg lifted his experimental aircraft Solar Impulse 2 from the Abu Dhabi runway. His bold plan: to fly a fully solar-powered airplane around the entire globe without using a drop of fossil fuel.

In the stirring documentary The Impossible Flight, we ride the roller coaster of challenges and triumphs that characterized Solar Impulse 2’s epic journey. While the inventors planned to make the trip in twelve legs at an airspeed of 45 miles per hour, the fragile craft was continually thwarted by rough weather and equipment malfunctions.

The toughest moment came when the lightweight vessel was set to fly its longest leg over the Pacific Ocean from Japan to Hawaii—a grueling 5-day trek through adverse weather systems. The pilot had to sit in a fixed position for almost the entire trip, with the exception of occasional 20-minute power naps.

As the flight neared the midway point of no return, the team’s on-ground meteorologists and engineers sadly concluded that the weather ahead was too dangerous, and feverishly urged the pilot to turn back. But the pilot refused. “I have a very good feeling we can do it,” he replied, and pressed on. After two more harrowing days threading the needle between storms, Borschberg landed safely in Honolulu. SI2 later went on to return to its starting point, 504 days after its departure.

Two Different Voices

Two different people live in your mind: One is an engineer calculating odds and risks according to known science. The other is the voice of passion, intention, and spirit, prone to take leaps of faith beyond known science. Both are important. Science helps us understand and maneuver the world we know. Our sense of vision and adventure propels us to go beyond the world we know, into more exciting dimensions. The engineer measures probabilities. The spirit is motivated by possibilities.

We must honor the engineers who designed that brilliant aircraft that could break records; but if it were up to the engineers alone, the airplane would have turned back and the records would not have been broken. Something within the pilot said, “I can and I will,” which ultimately achieved the goal.

Playing It Safe?

The journey to success is like a train ride powered by a steam engine. The tracks guide the train to its chosen destination. The steam propels the train forward. The tracks represent the earthy calculations to stay goal-focused. The steam is the passion to reach the goal. If you have tracks but no steam, the train will not get anywhere. If you have steam but no tracks, the train will bounce around helter-skelter and crash or do damage. To reach your goal, you need steam and tracks.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

It is said, “the purpose of life is not to arrive safely at death.” Some people spend their lives playing it safe, never launching out into new, exciting, and possibly dangerous territory. In the process they squash and lose their passion; each year they become a little less alive. Benjamin Franklin said, “Most people die at age 25, but they are not buried until age 75.”

Franklin was one of a small group of people who founded a nation on the radical idea that citizens could make choices for themselves rather than letting a monarch control their lives. While we now take democracy for granted, at that time every country was ruled by a king, emperor, or czar. It took a huge leap of faith to establish the first modern democracy. The founding fathers considered their project a great experiment. They had the courage to boldly go.

The Vision Is Greater Than The Doubts

Thomas Jefferson penned the first draft of the Declaration of Independence when he was just 30 years of age. He could have said, “I’m too young, too inexperienced. This project is bigger than me.” But the vision of a free nation was greater than his personal doubts. He pushed on, and initiated one of the most important documents in human history.

When the Wright Brothers flew the first airplane at Kitty Hawk in 1904, the distance of that flight was shorter than the wingspan of a modern 747 jumbo jet. If you had told anyone that year that a man would walk on the moon only 65 years later, less than one lifetime, you would have been called crazy. But passion moves people to do things that reason would never approve.

You Can and You Must

At this moment you have a vision to do something you have never done before. You have a book, song, relationship, seminar, or business calling to you from your womb of creativity. A voice within you shouts, “You can and must do this!” while another chides, “Turn back before it’s too late.”

When making your choice, you stand at the same midway point where the pilot of Solar Impulse 2 found himself in that historic journey. That project encountered tremendous adversity, but its innovators persevered until the dream became a reality.

So will you persevere until you fulfill your destiny? Somehow, some when, you will look back on your adventure and recognize it was spirit-guided. At that point the engineer and the visionary within you will give each other an exuberant high-five and congratulate each other, “Well done!”

*subtitles added by InnerSelf
©2019 by Alan Cohen. All Rights Reserved.

Book by this Author

Spirit Means Business: The Way to Prosper Wildly without Selling Your Soul
by Alan Cohen.

Spirit Means Business: The Way to Prosper Wildly without Selling Your Soul by Alan Cohen.Can you create material success and keep your spirit alive? Is it possible to combine prosperity with purpose and passion? Can you sell your product without losing your soul? Drawing on wisdom sources from the Tao Te Ching to A Course in Miracles, as well as stories from Alan's clients and his own life, this book will help you navigate a spiritually sound path to the success you desire.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book. Also available as a Kindle edition.

More books by Alan Cohen

 

About The Author

photo: Alan CohenAlan Cohen is the author of many inspirational books including A Course in Miracles Made Easy and his new illuminating guide, The Master Keys of Healing. Become a certified holistic life coach through Alan’s life-changing training program beginning in September 2021. For information on this program and Alan’s books, videos, audios, online courses, retreats, and other inspirational events and materials, visit AlanCohen.com 

Watch a video/interview with Alan Cohen: Let It Be Easy. Struggle Is Not Required.

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

The First Principle of Healing: Love Is The True Healer
The First Principle of Healing: Love Is The True Healer
by Jacques Martel
There exist several approaches to obtaining optimal health, all of them important, each of them…
Understanding and Developing Our Chakras on our Journey of Personal and Spiritual Development
Understanding and Developing Our Chakras
by Glen Park
We begin our journey through the chakras with the lower chakras, through which the individual ego…
Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Horoscope for Astrological Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…

MOST READ

High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
by Bishakh Rout, McGill University
Over the years, new scientific discoveries have led to softer and more comfortable contact lenses.…
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
by Anne Fishel, Harvard University
Most parents already know that family mealtimes are great for the bodies, the brains and the mental…
Why QAnon Hasn't Gone Away
Why QAnon Hasn't Gone Away
by Sophie Bjork-James, Vanderbilt University
By this point, almost everyone has heard of QAnon, the conspiracy spawned by an anonymous online…
Why Processed Food Might Boost the Risk for Chronic Infection Diseases
Why Processed Food Might Boost the Risk for Chronic Infection Diseases
by LaTina Emerson, Georgia State University
Researchers investigated how changing from a grain-based diet to a highly processed, high-fat…
Playing An Exercise Game Can Help Fight Dementia?
Can Playing An Exercise Game Help Fight Dementia?
by ETH Zurich
Cognitive motor training helps in the fight against Alzheimer’s and dementia, according to new…
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
by Jaci Brown, CSIRO
We wait in anticipation of droughts and floods when El Niño and La Niña are forecast but what are…
Three Cities That Are Switching To A Life-Affirming Economy
Three Cities That Are Switching To A Life-Affirming Economy
by Chris Winters
The city of Portland, Oregon, prides itself on being ahead of the curve. In 1993, it became the…
Here's Why You Should Carefully Revise What You Write
Here's Why You Should Carefully Revise What You Write
by Narmada Paul, University of Kentucky
When high school students get into the habit of revising their writing, it has a positive impact on…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.