Mutig gehen oder auf Nummer sicher gehen

Mutig gehen oder auf Nummer sicher gehen
Bild von Lothar Dieterich

Am 9-März hob Pilot Andre Borschberg sein Experimentalflugzeug Solar Impulse 2015 von der Landebahn in Abu Dhabi ab. Sein kühner Plan: Ein voll solarbetriebenes Flugzeug um den ganzen Globus zu fliegen, ohne einen Tropfen fossilen Brennstoffs zu verbrauchen.

In der mitreißenden Dokumentation Der unmögliche Flug, fahren wir die Achterbahn der Herausforderungen und Triumphe, die die epische Reise von Solar Impulse 2 geprägt haben. Während die Erfinder planten, die Reise in zwölf Etappen mit einer Fluggeschwindigkeit von 45 Meilen pro Stunde durchzuführen, wurde das fragile Fahrzeug durch raues Wetter und Ausrüstungsstörungen immer wieder vereitelt.

Der härteste Moment kam, als das leichte Schiff seine längste Etappe über den Pazifik von Japan nach Hawaii fliegen sollte - eine anstrengende 5-Tagestour durch widrige Wettersysteme. Der Pilot musste fast die ganze Zeit in einer festen Position sitzen, mit Ausnahme gelegentlicher 20-Minuten-Nickerchen.

Als sich der Flug der Mitte der Nullzeit näherte, kamen die Meteorologen und Ingenieure des Teams traurig zu dem Schluss, dass das Wetter zu gefährlich war, und drängten den Piloten fieberhaft, umzukehren. Aber der Pilot lehnte ab. "Ich habe ein sehr gutes Gefühl, dass wir es schaffen", erwiderte er und machte weiter. Nach zwei weiteren harten Tagen landete Borschberg sicher in Honolulu. SI2 kehrte später, 504 Tage nach seiner Abreise, zu seinem Ausgangspunkt zurück.

Zwei verschiedene Stimmen

In Ihrem Kopf leben zwei verschiedene Menschen: Einer ist ein Ingenieur, der nach bekannten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen Chancen und Risiken berechnet. Die andere ist die Stimme der Leidenschaft, Absicht und des Geistes, die dazu neigt, über die bekannte Wissenschaft hinaus Glaubenssprünge zu machen. Beides ist wichtig. Die Wissenschaft hilft uns, die Welt, die wir kennen, zu verstehen und zu manövrieren. Unser Sinn für Vision und Abenteuer treibt uns an, über die uns bekannte Welt hinaus in aufregendere Dimensionen zu gelangen. Der Ingenieur misst Wahrscheinlichkeiten. Der Geist ist durch Möglichkeiten motiviert.

Wir müssen die Ingenieure ehren, die dieses brillante Flugzeug entworfen haben, das Rekorde brechen könnte. aber wenn es nur den ingenieuren überlassen wäre, hätte das flugzeug umgedreht und die rekorde wären nicht gebrochen worden. Etwas innerhalb des Piloten sagte: "Ich kann und ich werde", was letztendlich das Ziel erreichte.

Auf Nummer sicher gehen?

Die Reise zum Erfolg ist wie eine Zugfahrt mit einer Dampfmaschine. Die Gleise leiten den Zug zum gewünschten Ziel. Der Dampf treibt den Zug vorwärts. Die Tracks repräsentieren die irdischen Berechnungen, um zielgerichtet zu bleiben. Der Dampf ist die Leidenschaft, um das Ziel zu erreichen. Wenn Sie Gleise aber keinen Dampf haben, kommt der Zug nirgendwo hin. Wenn Sie Dampf haben, aber keine Gleise, springt der Zug um Helter-Skelter herum und stürzt ab oder fügt Schaden zu. Um Ihr Ziel zu erreichen, brauchen Sie Dampf und Spuren.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Es heißt, „der Zweck des Lebens ist es nicht, sicher zum Tod zu gelangen.“ Manche Menschen verbringen ihr Leben damit, auf Nummer sicher zu gehen und betreten niemals neues, aufregendes und möglicherweise gefährliches Territorium. Dabei zerquetschen sie und verlieren ihre Leidenschaft; jedes Jahr werden sie etwas weniger lebendig. Benjamin Franklin sagte: "Die meisten Menschen sterben im Alter von 25, aber sie werden erst im Alter von 75 begraben."

Franklin gehörte zu einer kleinen Gruppe von Menschen, die eine Nation auf der radikalen Idee gründeten, dass die Bürger Entscheidungen für sich selbst treffen könnten, anstatt es einem Monarchen zu überlassen, ihr Leben zu kontrollieren. Während wir Demokratie für selbstverständlich halten, wurde zu dieser Zeit jedes Land von einem König, Kaiser oder Zaren regiert. Es bedurfte eines großen Vertrauenssprungs, um die erste moderne Demokratie aufzubauen. Die Gründerväter betrachteten ihr Projekt als großes Experiment. Sie hatten den Mut, mutig zu gehen.

Die Vision ist größer als die Zweifel

Thomas Jefferson schrieb den ersten Entwurf der Unabhängigkeitserklärung, als er gerade 30 Jahre alt war. Er hätte sagen können: „Ich bin zu jung und zu unerfahren. Dieses Projekt ist größer als ich. “Aber die Vision einer freien Nation war größer als seine persönlichen Zweifel. Er drängte weiter und initiierte eines der wichtigsten Dokumente in der Geschichte der Menschheit.

Als die Gebrüder Wright das erste Flugzeug in Kitty Hawk in 1904 flogen, war die Entfernung dieses Fluges kürzer als die Spannweite eines modernen 747-Jumbo-Jets. Wenn Sie in diesem Jahr jemandem gesagt hätten, dass ein Mann nur 65 Jahre später, also weniger als ein Leben lang, auf dem Mond wandeln würde, wären Sie verrückt geworden. Aber Leidenschaft bewegt Menschen dazu, Dinge zu tun, die der Verstand niemals billigen würde.

Sie können und Sie müssen

In diesem Moment haben Sie die Vision, etwas zu tun, was Sie noch nie zuvor getan haben. Sie haben ein Buch, ein Lied, eine Beziehung, ein Seminar oder ein Geschäft, das Sie aus Ihrer Kreativität heraus anspricht. Eine Stimme in dir ruft: "Du kannst und musst das tun!", Während eine andere schimpft: "Kehre um, bevor es zu spät ist."

Wenn Sie Ihre Wahl treffen, befinden Sie sich auf dem gleichen Weg, auf dem sich der Pilot von Solar Impulse 2 auf dieser historischen Reise befand. Dieses Projekt stieß auf enorme Schwierigkeiten, aber seine Innovatoren hielten durch, bis der Traum Wirklichkeit wurde.

Wirst du also durchhalten, bis du dein Schicksal erfüllt hast? Irgendwann werden Sie auf Ihr Abenteuer zurückblicken und erkennen, dass es vom Geist geleitet wurde. An diesem Punkt geben sich der Ingenieur und der Visionär in Ihnen gegenseitig ein ausgelassenes High-Five und gratulieren einander: „Gut gemacht!“

* Untertitel hinzugefügt von Innerself
© 2019 von Alan Cohen. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Buch von diesem Autor

Geist bedeutet Geschäft: Der Weg, um wild zu wachsen, ohne Ihre Seele zu verkaufen
von Alan Cohen.

Geist bedeutet Geschäft: Der Weg, um wild zu wachsen, ohne Ihre Seele zu verkaufen von Alan Cohen.Können Sie materiellen Erfolg schaffen und Ihren Geist am Leben erhalten? Kann man Wohlstand mit Sinn und Leidenschaft verbinden? Können Sie Ihr Produkt verkaufen, ohne Ihre Seele zu verlieren? Anhand von Weisheitsquellen aus dem Tao Te Ching nach Ein Kurs in WundernNeben den Geschichten von Alans Kunden und seinem eigenen Leben wird dieses Buch Ihnen dabei helfen, einen spirituellen Pfad zum gewünschten Erfolg zu finden.

Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen und / oder um dieses Buch zu bestellen. Auch als Kindle Edition erhältlich.

Weitere Bücher von Alan Cohen

Über den Autor

Alan CohenAlan Cohen ist der Bestsellerautor von Ein Kurs in Wundern Made Easy und die neu veröffentlichten Geist bedeutet Geschäft. Besuchen Sie Alan und die Musikerin Karen Drucker in Hawaii, Dezember 1-6, zu einem außergewöhnlichen Retreat mit dem Titel „Ein Kurs in Wundern: Der einfache Weg“. Weitere Informationen zu diesem Programm finden Sie in Alans Holistic Life Coach Training ab Januar 1 , kostenlose, täglich inspirierende Zitate, Online-Kurse und wöchentliche Radiosendungen finden Sie unter www.alancohen.com

Sehen Sie sich ein Video / Interview mit Alan Cohen an: Let It Be Easy. Kampf ist nicht erforderlich.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

To Boldly Go or To Play It Safe

To Boldly Go or To Play It Safe
Image by Lothar Dieterich

On March 9, 2015, pilot Andre Borschberg lifted his experimental aircraft Solar Impulse 2 from the Abu Dhabi runway. His bold plan: to fly a fully solar-powered airplane around the entire globe without using a drop of fossil fuel.

In the stirring documentary The Impossible Flight, we ride the roller coaster of challenges and triumphs that characterized Solar Impulse 2’s epic journey. While the inventors planned to make the trip in twelve legs at an airspeed of 45 miles per hour, the fragile craft was continually thwarted by rough weather and equipment malfunctions.

The toughest moment came when the lightweight vessel was set to fly its longest leg over the Pacific Ocean from Japan to Hawaii—a grueling 5-day trek through adverse weather systems. The pilot had to sit in a fixed position for almost the entire trip, with the exception of occasional 20-minute power naps.

As the flight neared the midway point of no return, the team’s on-ground meteorologists and engineers sadly concluded that the weather ahead was too dangerous, and feverishly urged the pilot to turn back. But the pilot refused. “I have a very good feeling we can do it,” he replied, and pressed on. After two more harrowing days threading the needle between storms, Borschberg landed safely in Honolulu. SI2 later went on to return to its starting point, 504 days after its departure.

Two Different Voices

Two different people live in your mind: One is an engineer calculating odds and risks according to known science. The other is the voice of passion, intention, and spirit, prone to take leaps of faith beyond known science. Both are important. Science helps us understand and maneuver the world we know. Our sense of vision and adventure propels us to go beyond the world we know, into more exciting dimensions. The engineer measures probabilities. The spirit is motivated by possibilities.

We must honor the engineers who designed that brilliant aircraft that could break records; but if it were up to the engineers alone, the airplane would have turned back and the records would not have been broken. Something within the pilot said, “I can and I will,” which ultimately achieved the goal.

Playing It Safe?

The journey to success is like a train ride powered by a steam engine. The tracks guide the train to its chosen destination. The steam propels the train forward. The tracks represent the earthy calculations to stay goal-focused. The steam is the passion to reach the goal. If you have tracks but no steam, the train will not get anywhere. If you have steam but no tracks, the train will bounce around helter-skelter and crash or do damage. To reach your goal, you need steam and tracks.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

It is said, “the purpose of life is not to arrive safely at death.” Some people spend their lives playing it safe, never launching out into new, exciting, and possibly dangerous territory. In the process they squash and lose their passion; each year they become a little less alive. Benjamin Franklin said, “Most people die at age 25, but they are not buried until age 75.”

Franklin was one of a small group of people who founded a nation on the radical idea that citizens could make choices for themselves rather than letting a monarch control their lives. While we now take democracy for granted, at that time every country was ruled by a king, emperor, or czar. It took a huge leap of faith to establish the first modern democracy. The founding fathers considered their project a great experiment. They had the courage to boldly go.

The Vision Is Greater Than The Doubts

Thomas Jefferson penned the first draft of the Declaration of Independence when he was just 30 years of age. He could have said, “I’m too young, too inexperienced. This project is bigger than me.” But the vision of a free nation was greater than his personal doubts. He pushed on, and initiated one of the most important documents in human history.

When the Wright Brothers flew the first airplane at Kitty Hawk in 1904, the distance of that flight was shorter than the wingspan of a modern 747 jumbo jet. If you had told anyone that year that a man would walk on the moon only 65 years later, less than one lifetime, you would have been called crazy. But passion moves people to do things that reason would never approve.

You Can and You Must

At this moment you have a vision to do something you have never done before. You have a book, song, relationship, seminar, or business calling to you from your womb of creativity. A voice within you shouts, “You can and must do this!” while another chides, “Turn back before it’s too late.”

When making your choice, you stand at the same midway point where the pilot of Solar Impulse 2 found himself in that historic journey. That project encountered tremendous adversity, but its innovators persevered until the dream became a reality.

So will you persevere until you fulfill your destiny? Somehow, some when, you will look back on your adventure and recognize it was spirit-guided. At that point the engineer and the visionary within you will give each other an exuberant high-five and congratulate each other, “Well done!”

*subtitles added by InnerSelf
©2019 by Alan Cohen. All Rights Reserved.

Book by this Author

Spirit Means Business: The Way to Prosper Wildly without Selling Your Soul
by Alan Cohen.

Spirit Means Business: The Way to Prosper Wildly without Selling Your Soul by Alan Cohen.Can you create material success and keep your spirit alive? Is it possible to combine prosperity with purpose and passion? Can you sell your product without losing your soul? Drawing on wisdom sources from the Tao Te Ching to A Course in Miracles, as well as stories from Alan's clients and his own life, this book will help you navigate a spiritually sound path to the success you desire.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book. Also available as a Kindle edition.

More books by Alan Cohen

 

About The Author

photo: Alan CohenAlan Cohen is the author of many inspirational books including A Course in Miracles Made Easy and his new illuminating guide, The Master Keys of Healing. Become a certified holistic life coach through Alan’s life-changing training program beginning in September 2021. For information on this program and Alan’s books, videos, audios, online courses, retreats, and other inspirational events and materials, visit AlanCohen.com 

Watch a video/interview with Alan Cohen: Let It Be Easy. Struggle Is Not Required.

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

The First Principle of Healing: Love Is The True Healer
The First Principle of Healing: Love Is The True Healer
by Jacques Martel
There exist several approaches to obtaining optimal health, all of them important, each of them…
Understanding and Developing Our Chakras on our Journey of Personal and Spiritual Development
Understanding and Developing Our Chakras
by Glen Park
We begin our journey through the chakras with the lower chakras, through which the individual ego…
Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Horoscope for Astrological Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…

MOST READ

High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
by Bishakh Rout, McGill University
Over the years, new scientific discoveries have led to softer and more comfortable contact lenses.…
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
by Anne Fishel, Harvard University
Most parents already know that family mealtimes are great for the bodies, the brains and the mental…
Why QAnon Hasn't Gone Away
Why QAnon Hasn't Gone Away
by Sophie Bjork-James, Vanderbilt University
By this point, almost everyone has heard of QAnon, the conspiracy spawned by an anonymous online…
Why Processed Food Might Boost the Risk for Chronic Infection Diseases
Why Processed Food Might Boost the Risk for Chronic Infection Diseases
by LaTina Emerson, Georgia State University
Researchers investigated how changing from a grain-based diet to a highly processed, high-fat…
Playing An Exercise Game Can Help Fight Dementia?
Can Playing An Exercise Game Help Fight Dementia?
by ETH Zurich
Cognitive motor training helps in the fight against Alzheimer’s and dementia, according to new…
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
by Jaci Brown, CSIRO
We wait in anticipation of droughts and floods when El Niño and La Niña are forecast but what are…
Three Cities That Are Switching To A Life-Affirming Economy
Three Cities That Are Switching To A Life-Affirming Economy
by Chris Winters
The city of Portland, Oregon, prides itself on being ahead of the curve. In 1993, it became the…
Here's Why You Should Carefully Revise What You Write
Here's Why You Should Carefully Revise What You Write
by Narmada Paul, University of Kentucky
When high school students get into the habit of revising their writing, it has a positive impact on…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.