من أنا الآن أنا متقاعد؟

حياة التغييرات

من أنا الآن أنا متقاعد؟

تأكد من أنك مهما كنت.
----- ثيودور روثيك

اتذكرك؟ توقف هنا لمدة دقيقة اذهب انظر في المرآة. أنت حقا نفس الشخص تحت هذا الشيب (أو لا) ، تراجع (أو لا) رأس الشعر ، تلك الحلاقة النظيفة (أو أي شيء - هو نمو الشعر الشائع في الوجه). ما زال الدماغ يدقّ ، ممتلئًا بأكثر مما قد نقدره في الوقت الحالي.

إذا كانت رؤيتك أقل وضوحا أو أن السمع ليس حادًا ، خذ القلب! أنت تعيش في وقت يتم فيه معالجة وتعديل معظم علامات الضعف. (أجهزة السمع هي أحدث ما تكون وغير مرئية عمليا). لديك أفضل صفات لك القديمة (العد) ، وإذا كنت واحدا من هؤلاء الرجال الذين يواجهون ما يشبه أزمة الهوية ، لن تجد نفسك مرة أخرى فحسب ، بل تكتشف أيضًا أن الذات التي ستجدها ستكون أفضل مما توقعته.

لقد أتيت لي القهوة وأقرأ الصحيفة. ماذا الآن؟

هذا هو بالضبط السؤال الذي طرحه آرثر S. من بالتيمور ، ماريلاند ، بينما كنا نتحدث على القهوة في العشاء. لقد حضرنا محاضرة في المكتبة ، حيث كنا جالسين بجانب بعضنا البعض ، وأجرينا محادثة. أخبرني آرثر أنه يحب القراءة وقرّر حضور محاضرة المكتبة ذلك الصباح. لكن هذا كان في الحقيقة وقتاً قاتلاً ، كما أخبرني ، ولم يكن مُرضياً فكريا. اعترف بأنه كان أحد المتقاعدين مؤخرا وقضاء معظم وقته بالملل بشكل لا يصدق. دعته ليخبرني أكثر.

حسنا ، ما زلت مستيقظا لمنبقي كل صباح. إنها عادة واحدة لا أستطيع كسرها. ما زلت أضع ساعتي على المنضدة في الحمام ، الدش ، الحلاقة ، واللباس. الآن فقط لم أعد أرتدي بدلة وربطة عنق. أذهب إلى الإفطار ، اقرأ الصحيفة ، وفي 11 am خطة بقية يومي. ولكن هذا هو المكان الذي يبدأ فيه الفراغ يلوح في الأفق. أنا مجبر على مواجهة حقيقة أن هناك ساعات عديدة متبقية في اليوم وكل يوم تبدو ساعات أطول. أحيانًا يكون لدي مشروع حول المنزل لإكماله. أحيانًا يكون لدي موعد مع الطبيب أو المحامي. لكن في معظم الأيام ، ليس لدي خطة. وصدقوا أو لا تصدقوا ، أنا ذعر تقريبا. أقرأ وألعب الجولف ، لكن هذا لا يكفي. الجولف مرتين في الأسبوع يكفي. أكثر من ذلك هو ممل ، ناهيك عن مكلفة للغاية!

لكن إليكم ما يأكلني. لدي ثلاثة أطفال. ابني الأكبر ناجح جدا ، لديه زوجة عاملة ، ولا أصدق ما فعله. لقد ترك وظيفته الجيدة للبقاء في المنزل ورفع ابنته! يقول إنه ليس قلقاً من أن يدمر مسيرته. لا يشعر بالحرج من الذهاب للتسوق أو أخذها في الرعاية النهارية مع الآباء الآخرين (النساء) أو التسكع في الملعب مع حفيدتي. أشعر بالحرج له عندما يجب أن أخبر الناس أنه زوج بيت. أتساءل عما إذا كان رجل حقيقي! أنا هنا ، أواجه صعوبة في التقاعد بعد حياة طويلة في العمل الناجح ، وقرر "التقاعد" في الأربعينيات. لكنه يقول أنها فقط لمدة عشر سنوات. أنا فقط لا تحصل عليه.

سنسمع أكثر من آرثر في وقت لاحق. لكن دعونا أولا نخلي مأزقه. وضع آرثر ليس فريدا. لديه مشكلتين: أولا ، لا يبدو أن آرثر لديه الموارد اللازمة لجعل سنوات تقاعده مجزية كما كانت حياته حتى هذه النقطة. ثانياً ، لم يتصالح مع حقيقة أن نظرة ابنه في الحياة قد تكون - في الواقع - مختلفة عن نظيره. ليس أقل قيمة ، مختلف فقط.

ربما يجب أن ترى هذا آت!

بدأ آرثر التحضير لحياته البالغة عندما كان طفلاً صغيراً. سأله الناس عما يريد أن يكون عندما نشأ ، وعرف أنه من الأفضل أن يكون لديه إجابة. وعندما كبر ، كان يعرف أنه كان متوجها إلى الكلية ، وربما الزواج ، ومنزل خاص به ، ووظيفة ينجح فيها ، مما يكسب قوته حتى يتمكن من رعاية أسرته. فعل آرثر كل شيء - وفعل ذلك بشكل جيد. آرثر هي قصة نجاح. ولكن بينما كان يفعل كل ذلك ، هل خطط لتقاعده؟ على الاغلب لا.

لم يتوقع آباء آرثر والجيل الذي سبقهم سنوات طويلة من التقاعد ، وربما ثلث عمرهم ، وسنوات عديدة من الحيوية الصحية الجيدة ، والوسائل - ربما صغيرة ، ولكنها ثابتة وموثوقة - والقدرة (على الأقل من خلال الإنترنت) لتبقى مشاركا في العالم. بطريقة ما ، كان آرثر وباقي جيله الذين ولدوا خلال 1930s و 1940s قد أذهلهم هذا الحظ السعيد من الحظ السعيد. كان آرثر ، وربما لا يزال ، قلقًا دائمًا من أن غدًا قد يجلب الطقس العاصف ويجب أن يكون مستعدًا باستخدام معطف واق من المطر. لذلك ربما لم يكن مستعدًا لحقيقة أنه عندما تقاعد في أوائل الستينيات من عمره ، كان قد دخل مرحلة جديدة تمامًا من الحياة ، حتى أنه قد يكون أمامه ثلاثين عامًا من العيش النشط.

وعادة ما يركز التحضير للتقاعد على التخطيط المالي والأمن. ولسبب وجيه. الحياة الآمنة مالياً أكثر سعادة من حياة غير آمنة. هناك أموال يجب أن يتم إعدادها هنا من قبل المستشارين في القطاع المالي ، وبالطبع ، لقد ارتفعوا إلى مستوى التحدي. ومع ذلك ، فإن الأمن العاطفي في هذه المرحلة من الحياة له نفس الأهمية ؛ للأسف ، لم يتم معالجة هذه المسألة بنشاط.

جعل معظم سنوات التقاعد

في كثير من الأحيان ، الرجال الذين كانوا أكثر سعادة وأكثر نجاحا في حياتهم العملية قد خلطوا التزامهم بعملهم ، حتى عناوينهم أو توصيف وظائفهم ، مع هويتهم ذاتها ، ويتآمر المجتمع عن طريق سؤال ثابت "ماذا تفعل؟" عندما يكون الرجل تم تقديمه. "من أنا؟" هو سؤال خطير عندما لا تكون هوية العمل أكثر من ذلك.

ما الذي يتطلبه الأمر لتحقيق أقصى استفادة من سنوات التقاعد هذه عند الحاجة إلى تغيير حقيقي؟ لجعلها ذات مغزى ، مجزية ، مثيرة ، مثيرة؟ أيضا لمواجهة التحديات التي من المحتم أن يكون من ذوي الخبرة؟ سيكون هناك خسائر وتناقص الصحة والطاقة والاحتياطيات ، حتى مع زيادة طول العمر والمعجزات الطبية. ربما لم يفكر آرثر في التعقيدات والفرص والمحاكمات التي تنتظره. هناك عمل ينبغي القيام به!

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
روان & لتلفيلد. حقوق الطبع والنشر 2017.

المادة المصدر

الرجل الكبير الجديد: استكشاف آفاق جديدة وفرص جديدة
من قبل ثيلما ريس وبربارا م. فليشر.

الرجل الكبير الجديد: استكشاف آفاق جديدة وفرص جديدة بقلم ثيلما ريس وبربارا م. فليشر.مثل المحادثة بين الأصدقاء ، يقدم الكتاب للقراء طرقاً جديدة للنظر إلى الحاضر والمستقبل ، بحيث يمكن للرجال أن يزرعوا أسلوب حياة لا يناسبهم فحسب ، بل يدعم إعادة صياغة الحياة الصحية والمجزية والممتعة. يعرض كل فصل موضوعًا ذا صلة بهذه المرحلة اللاحقة من الحياة: الذاكرة ، الديناميات العائلية ، العلاقة الحميمة الجنسية ، الخسارة ، والاستقلال ، من بين أمور أخرى.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

ريس ثيلماثيلما ريسإد. D. ، هو خبير عاطفي عن التقاعد. كانت أستاذة سابقة في اللغة الإنجليزية والتربية ، وكانت محو أمية محورية ومبادرات تعليمية في فيلادلفيا: حيث أنشأت وكونت المتحدثة باسم المجلس الاستشاري لمؤسسة Hooked on Phonics ، وقد ساعدت في العثور على Philadelphia Playwrights ، وأخرجت لجنة عمدة محو الأمية هناك ، وترأست مبادرة مجلس تعليم الأطفال. في 1994 ، نظمت الندوة العالمية حول محو الأمية الأسرية في اليونسكو في باريس. ظهرت بشكل متكرر على تلفزيون فيلادلفيا واستضافت عرض كابل. قامت هي وباربرا م. فليشر بإنشاء المدونة www.ElderChicks.com في 2012 ، وهم المؤلفون المشتركون لـ الجديد الكبير المرأة: إعادة اختراع سنوات ما بعد منتصف العمر.

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Thelma Reese؛ maxresults = 3}

حياة التغييرات
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Who Am I Now That I’m Retired?

life changes

Who Am I Now That I’m Retired?

Be sure that whatever you are is you.
                                 ----- Theodore Roethke

Remember you? Stop here for a minute. Go take a look in the mirror. You really are the same guy underneath that graying (or not), receding (or not) head of hair, that clean shave (or whatever-is-fashionable-facial-hair growth). The brain is still ticking along, actually filled with more than you may appreciate at the moment.

If your vision is a little less clear, or your hearing not quite as sharp, take heart! You’re living in a time when most oncoming signs of frailty are easily remedied and compensated. (Hearing aids are state-of-the-art and virtually invisible.) You have all the best attributes of the old you (count ‘em), and if you’re one of those men who experiences what feels like an identity crisis, you will not only find yourself again but also discover that the self you find will be even better than you ever expected.

I’VE HAD MY COFFEE AND READ THE NEWSPAPER. NOW WHAT?

This was precisely the question asked by Arthur S. of Baltimore, Maryland, while we were chatting over coffee in a diner. We had both attended a library lecture, where we happened to be sitting next to each other, and struck up a conversation. Arthur told me he liked to read and had decided to attend the library lecture that morning. But this was really just a time killer, he told me, and not too satisfying intellectually. He confessed to being a recent retiree and spending most of his time incredibly bored. I invited him to tell me more.

Well, I still awake to my alarm clock every morning. It’s one habit I can’t seem to break. I still put my watch on the counter in the bathroom, shower, shave, and dress. Only now I no longer wear a suit and tie. I go down to breakfast, read the paper, and at 11 a.m. plan the rest of my day. But that’s where the emptiness begins to loom large. I’m forced to confront the fact that there are many hours left in the day and every day the hours seem longer. Sometimes I have a project around the house to complete. Sometimes I have a doctor’s or a lawyer’s appointment. But on most days, I don’t have a plan. And, believe it or not, I almost panic. I read and I play golf, but that’s not enough. Golf twice a week is enough. More than that is boring, not to mention very expensive!

But here’s what’s eating me. I have three grown children. My eldest is quite successful, has a working wife, and I can’t believe what he’s done. He has quit his perfectly good job to stay at home and raise his daughter! He says he’s not worried that it will ruin his career. He’s not embarrassed to go shopping or pick her up at day care with other parents (women) or hang out at the playground with my granddaughter. I’m embarrassed for him when I have to tell people that he’s a househusband. I wonder if he’s a real guy! Here I am, struggling with retirement after a long working life in a successful business, and he’s decided to “retire” in his forties. But he says it’s only for about ten years. I just don’t get it.

We’ll hear more from Arthur later. But first let’s dissect his quandary. Arthur’s situation is not unique. He has two problems: First, Arthur doesn’t seem to have the resources to make his retirement years as rewarding as his life had been up to this point. Second, he hasn’t come to terms with the fact that his son’s perspective on life may be – in fact, is — different from his. Not of less value, just different.

MAYBE I SHOULD HAVE SEEN THIS COMING!

Arthur started to prepare for his adult life when he was a small child. People asked him what he wanted to be when he grew up, and he knew he’d better have an answer. As he grew up, he knew that he was headed for college, probably marriage, a home of his own, and a job in which he would succeed, making a living so that he could take care of his family. Arthur did it all – and did it well. Arthur’s is a success story. But while he was making all that happen did he plan for his retirement? Probably not.

Arthur’s parents and the generation that preceded theirs didn’t expect long years of retirement, perhaps another third of their lifetime, many years of good health vitality, and the means – perhaps small, but fixed and reliable – and the ability (at least through the Internet) to remain involved in the world. In a way, Arthur and the rest of his generation born during the 1930s and 1940s were blindsided by this bonanza of good fortune. Arthur was, and maybe still is, always worried that tomorrow may bring stormy weather and he must be prepared with a raincoat and galoshes. So maybe he wasn’t prepared for the fact that when he retired in his early sixties he would enter a whole new stage of life, that he might have thirty years of vigorous living ahead of him.

Preparation for retirement usually focuses on financial planning and security. And with good reason. A financially secure life is a lot happier than an insecure one. There’s money to be made here by advisors in the financial industry, and, of course, they’ve risen to the challenge. However, emotional security in this stage of life is of equal importance; sadly, this issue is not so energetically addressed.

MAKING THE MOST OF RETIREMENT YEARS

Often, men who have been happiest and most successful in their work lives have conflated their commitment to their work, even their titles or job descriptions, with their very identity, and society conspires by invariable asking “What do you do?” when a man is introduced. “Who am I?” is a serious question when the work identity is no more.

What does it take to make the most of these retirement years when real change is needed? To make them meaningful, rewarding, stimulating, exciting? To also meet the challenges that will inevitably be experienced? There will be losses and diminishing health, energy, and reserves, even as longevity and medical miracles increase. Arthur has perhaps not contemplated the complexities, the opportunities, the trials that are ahead of him. There is work to be done!

 Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Rowman & Littlefield. Copyright 2017.

Article Source

The New Senior Man: Exploring New Horizons, New Opportunities
by Thelma Reese and Barbara M. Fleisher.

The New Senior Man: Exploring New Horizons, New Opportunities by Thelma Reese and Barbara M. Fleisher.Like a conversation among friends, the book introduces readers to new ways of looking at the present and the future, so that men may cultivate a lifestyle that not only suits them, but supports a healthy, rewarding, and enjoyable reframing of life. Each chapter presents a topic relevant to this later stage of life: memory, family dynamics, sexual intimacy, loss, and independence, among others.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

About the Author

reese thelmaThelma Reese, Ed. D., is a passionate expert on retirement. A former English and Education professor, she was a pivotal figure literacy and educational initiatives in Philadelphia: she created and was spokesperson for the Advisory Council for Hooked on Phonics, helped found Philadelphia Young Playwrights, directed the Mayor's Commission on Literacy there, and chaired the Board of Children’s Literacy Initiative. In 1994, she organized the World Symposium on Family Literacy at UNESCO in Paris. She has appeared frequently on Philadelphia television and hosted a cable show. She and Barbara M. Fleisher created the blog www.ElderChicks.com in 2012, and are the co-authors of The New Senior Woman: Reinventing the Years Beyond Mid-Life.

Books by this Author

The New Senior Man: Exploring New Horizons, New Opportunities
life changesAuthor: Thelma Reese
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
List Price: $34.00

Buy Now

The New Senior Woman: Reinventing the Years Beyond Mid-Life
life changesAuthor: Barbara M. Fleisher
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
List Price: $22.00

Buy Now

Living Together in the Neighborhood
life changesAuthor: Thomas J. Durell Thelma Reese
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Harper & Row

Buy Now

life changes
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}