Неверно ли верить без доказательств?

Неверно ли верить без доказательств?

Вы, наверное, никогда не слышали о Уильяме Кингдоне Клиффорде. Он не находится в пантеоне великих философов - возможно, потому, что его жизнь была прервана в эпоху 33, но я не могу придумать никого, чьи идеи более актуальны для нашего взаимосвязанного, искусственного, цифрового возраста. Это может показаться странным, учитывая, что мы говорим о викторианском британце, чья самая известная философская работа - эссе почти 150 лет назад. Однако реальность догнала Клиффорда. Его однажды кажущееся преувеличенное утверждение о том, что «это всегда неправильно, везде и для кого-либо, верить чему-либо по недостаточным доказательствам», уже не является гиперболой, а технической реальностью.

в 'Этика веры'(1877), Клиффорд дает три аргумента относительно того, почему у нас есть моральное обязательство верить ответственно, то есть верить только тому, что у нас есть достаточные доказательства и что мы усердно исследовали. Его первый аргумент начинается с простого наблюдения, что наши убеждения влияют на наши действия. Все согласны с тем, что наше поведение определяется тем, что мы считаем истинным в мире, то есть тем, во что мы верим. Если я верю, что на улице идет дождь, я принесу зонт. Если я считаю, что такси не берут кредитные карты, я удостоверяюсь, что у меня есть наличные деньги, прежде чем прыгать в одну. И если я считаю, что кража ошибочна, тогда я буду платить за свои товары, прежде чем покинуть магазин.

То, что мы считаем тогда, имеет огромное практическое значение. Ложные убеждения о физических или социальных фактах приводят нас к плохим привычкам действий, которые в самых крайних случаях могут угрожать нашему выживанию. Если певец R Kelly искренне поверил словам своей песни «Я верю, что смогу летать» (1996), я могу гарантировать, что он не будет рядом.

Но здесь речь идет не только о нашем собственном самосохранении. Как социальные животные, наше агентство воздействует на окружающих нас людей, и неправильная вера ставит под угрозу наших соотечественников. Как Клиффорд предупреждает: «Мы все сильно страдаем от поддержания и поддержки ложных убеждений и смертельно неправильных действий, к которым они ведут ...» Короче говоря, неаккуратные практики формирования веры этически ошибочны, потому что, как социальные существа, когда мы верим что-то, ставки очень высокие.

Наиболее естественным возражением против этого первого аргумента является то, что, хотя может быть правдой, что некоторые из наших убеждений приводят к действиям, которые могут быть разрушительными для других, на самом деле большинство из того, что мы считаем, вероятно, несущественно для наших соотечественников. Таким образом, заявив, что Клиффорд сделал это неправильно во всех случаях верить в недостаточные доказательства, кажется, растягивается. Я думаю, что у критиков был момент - было - но это уже не так. В мире, в котором почти все убеждения мгновенно разделяются, при минимальных затратах, для глобальной аудитории, каждая вера обладает способностью быть поистине последовательной в том, как воображал Клиффорд. Если вы все еще считаете, что это преувеличение, подумайте о том, как верования, созданные в пещере в Афганистане, ведут к действиям, которые закончились жизнью в Нью-Йорке, Париже и Лондоне. Или подумайте о том, насколько влиятельны блуждания, проливающие ваши каналы в социальных сетях, в вашем собственном повседневном поведении. В цифровой глобальной деревне, в которой мы сейчас живем, ложные убеждения опирались на более широкую социальную сеть, поэтому аргумент Клиффорда, возможно, был гиперболом, когда он впервые это сделал, но уже не так сегодня.

Tвторой аргумент Клиффорда подтверждает его утверждение о том, что всегда неверно полагать, что недостаточные доказательства свидетельствуют о том, что плохие практики формирования веры превращают нас в неосторожных, доверчивых верующих. Клиффорд делает это красиво: «Никакая реальная вера, какими бы ни пугающими и фрагментарными она ни казалась, действительно ничтожно мала; он подготавливает нас к тому, чтобы получать больше от этого, подтверждает те, которые раньше напоминали его, и ослабляет других; и поэтому постепенно он кладет незаметный поезд в наши самые глубокие мысли, которые могут когда-нибудь взорваться в явном действии и оставить печать на нашем персонаже ». Переведя предупреждение Клиффорда в наши взаимосвязанные моменты, он говорит нам, что неосторожная вера превращает нас в легкую добычу для фальшивых новостных педалей, теоретиков заговора и шарлатанов. И позволить себе стать хозяевами этих ложных убеждений является морально неправильным, потому что, как мы видели, стоимость ошибки для общества может быть разрушительной. Эпистемологическая бдительность - это гораздо более ценная добродетель сегодня, чем когда-либо, поскольку потребность в просеивании через противоречивую информацию экспоненциально возрастала, и риск стать сосудом доверчивости - всего лишь несколько отводов смартфона.

Третий и последний аргумент Клиффорда о том, почему вера без доказательств является морально неправильной, заключается в том, что в нашем качестве коммуникаторов веры мы несли моральную ответственность не загрязнять колодец коллективного знания. Во времена Клиффорда способ, которым наши убеждения были вплетены в «драгоценное месторождение» общего знания, заключался, прежде всего, в речи и письме. Из-за этой способности общаться, «наши слова, наши фразы, наши формы, процессы и способы мышления» становятся «общей собственностью». Подвергая эту «реликвию», как он ее называл, добавив ложные убеждения, аморально, потому что жизнь каждого человека в конечном итоге зависит от этого жизненно важного ресурса.

Хотя последний аргумент Клиффорда звучит правдоподобно, снова кажется преувеличенным утверждать, что всякая ложная вера, которую мы поддерживаем, является моральным оскорблением общего знания. Но реальность, опять же, согласуется с Клиффордом, и его слова кажутся пророческими. Сегодня у нас действительно есть глобальный резерв веры, в который кропотливо добавляются все наши обязательства: его называют «большими данными». Вам даже не нужно быть активным публичным размещением в Twitter или рекламе на Facebook: все больше и больше того, что мы do в реальном мире записывается и оцифровывается, и оттуда алгоритмы могут легко заключить, что мы верить прежде чем мы даже выразим точку зрения. В свою очередь, этот огромный запас хранимой веры используется алгоритмами для принятия решений и для нас. И это тот же резервуар, к которому приходят поисковые машины, когда мы ищем ответы на наши вопросы и приобретаем новые убеждения. Добавьте неправильные ингредиенты в рецепт Big Data, и то, что вы получите, является потенциально токсичным продуктом. Если бы существовало время, когда критическое мышление было моральным императивом, а доверчивость - порочным грехом, то сейчас.Aeon counter - не удалять

Эта статья была первоначально опубликована в геологический период и был переиздан в Creative Commons.

Об авторе

Франсиско Меджиа Урибе является исполнительным директором Goldman Sachs в Гонконге. Имеет ученые степени в области философии и экономики Университета Лос-Анджелеса в Боготе, Колумбия, а также блоги в Блог Философа.

Эта статья была первоначально опубликована в геологический период и был переиздан в Creative Commons.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = выбор убеждений; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Is Believing Without Evidence Morally Wrong?

beliefs

Is Believing Without Evidence Morally Wrong?

You have probably never heard of William Kingdon Clifford. He is not in the pantheon of great philosophers – perhaps because his life was cut short at the age of 33 – but I cannot think of anyone whose ideas are more relevant for our interconnected, AI-driven, digital age. This might seem strange given that we are talking about a Victorian Briton whose most famous philosophical work is an essay nearly 150 years ago. However, reality has caught up with Clifford. His once seemingly exaggerated claim that ‘it is wrong always, everywhere, and for anyone, to believe anything upon insufficient evidence’ is no longer hyperbole but a technical reality.

In ‘The Ethics of Belief’ (1877), Clifford gives three arguments as to why we have a moral obligation to believe responsibly, that is, to believe only what we have sufficient evidence for, and what we have diligently investigated. His first argument starts with the simple observation that our beliefs influence our actions. Everyone would agree that our behaviour is shaped by what we take to be true about the world – which is to say, by what we believe. If I believe that it is raining outside, I’ll bring an umbrella. If I believe taxis don’t take credit cards, I make sure I have some cash before jumping into one. And if I believe that stealing is wrong, then I will pay for my goods before leaving the store.

What we believe is then of tremendous practical importance. False beliefs about physical or social facts lead us into poor habits of action that in the most extreme cases could threaten our survival. If the singer R Kelly genuinely believed the words of his song ‘I Believe I Can Fly’ (1996), I can guarantee you he would not be around by now.

But it is not only our own self-preservation that is at stake here. As social animals, our agency impacts on those around us, and improper believing puts our fellow humans at risk. As Clifford warns: ‘We all suffer severely enough from the maintenance and support of false beliefs and the fatally wrong actions which they lead to …’ In short, sloppy practices of belief-formation are ethically wrong because – as social beings – when we believe something, the stakes are very high.

The most natural objection to this first argument is that while it might be true that some of our beliefs do lead to actions that can be devastating for others, in reality most of what we believe is probably inconsequential for our fellow humans. As such, claiming as Clifford did that it is wrong in all cases to believe on insufficient evidence seems like a stretch. I think critics had a point – had – but that is no longer so. In a world in which just about everyone’s beliefs are instantly shareable, at minimal cost, to a global audience, every single belief has the capacity to be truly consequential in the way Clifford imagined. If you still believe this is an exaggeration, think about how beliefs fashioned in a cave in Afghanistan lead to acts that ended lives in New York, Paris and London. Or consider how influential the ramblings pouring through your social media feeds have become in your very own daily behaviour. In the digital global village that we now inhabit, false beliefs cast a wider social net, hence Clifford’s argument might have been hyperbole when he first made it, but is no longer so today.

The second argument Clifford provides to back his claim that it is always wrong to believe on insufficient evidence is that poor practices of belief-formation turn us into careless, credulous believers. Clifford puts it nicely: ‘No real belief, however trifling and fragmentary it may seem, is ever truly insignificant; it prepares us to receive more of its like, confirms those which resembled it before, and weakens others; and so gradually it lays a stealthy train in our inmost thoughts, which may someday explode into overt action, and leave its stamp upon our character.’ Translating Clifford’s warning to our interconnected times, what he tells us is that careless believing turns us into easy prey for fake-news pedlars, conspiracy theorists and charlatans. And letting ourselves become hosts to these false beliefs is morally wrong because, as we have seen, the error cost for society can be devastating. Epistemic alertness is a much more precious virtue today than it ever was, since the need to sift through conflicting information has exponentially increased, and the risk of becoming a vessel of credulity is just a few taps of a smartphone away.

Clifford’s third and final argument as to why believing without evidence is morally wrong is that, in our capacity as communicators of belief, we have the moral responsibility not to pollute the well of collective knowledge. In Clifford’s time, the way in which our beliefs were woven into the ‘precious deposit’ of common knowledge was primarily through speech and writing. Because of this capacity to communicate, ‘our words, our phrases, our forms and processes and modes of thought’ become ‘common property’. Subverting this ‘heirloom’, as he called it, by adding false beliefs is immoral because everyone’s lives ultimately rely on this vital, shared resource.

While Clifford’s final argument rings true, it again seems exaggerated to claim that every little false belief we harbour is a moral affront to common knowledge. Yet reality, once more, is aligning with Clifford, and his words seem prophetic. Today, we truly have a global reservoir of belief into which all of our commitments are being painstakingly added: it’s called Big Data. You don’t even need to be an active netizen posting on Twitter or ranting on Facebook: more and more of what we do in the real world is being recorded and digitised, and from there algorithms can easily infer what we believe before we even express a view. In turn, this enormous pool of stored belief is used by algorithms to make decisions for and about us. And it’s the same reservoir that search engines tap into when we seek answers to our questions and acquire new beliefs. Add the wrong ingredients into the Big Data recipe, and what you’ll get is a potentially toxic output. If there was ever a time when critical thinking was a moral imperative, and credulity a calamitous sin, it is now.Aeon counter – do not remove

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

About The Author

Francisco Mejia Uribe is an executive director at Goldman Sachs in Hong Kong. He has degrees in philosophy and economics from the University of Los Andes in Bogotá, Colombia, and blogs at The Philosopher Blog.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

Choosing My Religion: A Memoir of a Family Beyond Belief

beliefsAuthor: Stephen J Dubner
Binding: Paperback
Brand: Dubner, Stephen J.
Studio: Harper Perennial
Label: Harper Perennial
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Manufacturer: Harper Perennial

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Choosing My Religion is a luminous memoir, crafted with the eye of a journalist and the art of a novelist by New York Times Magazine writer and editor Stephen J. Dubner. By turns comic and heartbreaking, it tells the story of a family torn apart by religion, sustained by faith, and reunited by truth.





Choosing Happiness: Life and Soul Essentials

beliefsAuthor: Stephanie Dowrick
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: TarcherPerigee
Label: TarcherPerigee
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
Manufacturer: TarcherPerigee

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Winner of the 2009 Silver Nautilus Award representing “Better Books for a Better World”

The message of this book is very simple: Right now, you can be happier!

More things wont do it. Even a great relationship may not save you. In Choosing Happiness the focus is on the only place where real change can happen: in how you see yourself and relate to other people. The book uses practical guidance and warm, realistic inspiration to show clearly that while you can?t always choose what happens in your life, you can choose your responses, values and behaviors ? and the results are life changing.

Choosing Happiness offers skills and insights across all areas, from your most intimate relationships to your friendships, extended family, work, and community. Psychologically positive and astute, it also looks at the big spiritual questions that let you value your life rather than just spending it. Small changes bring big results. Beautifully packaged, with a flexibind spine and a red ribbon placeholder, this book is like the wise, kind friend you can?t wait to return to again and again.




Choosing Joy: The Secret of Living a Fully Christian Life

beliefsAuthor: Dan Lord
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Our Sunday Visitor
Label: Our Sunday Visitor
Publisher: Our Sunday Visitor
Manufacturer: Our Sunday Visitor

Buy Now
Editorial Review: What is joy? Ask ten different people and you'll get ten different answers.

Yet if you asked:

  • a man who grew up fatherless and destitute in the slums of Atlanta
  • a young widow who decided to bring a neglected garden back to life in spite of agonizing physical pain and a deeply wounded spirit
  • or author Dan Lord himself, ex-frontman for a popular indie rock band each would point to the one source of their joy: Jesus.

    They made the choice for joy, against all odds, and so can you, though the obstacles might seem insurmountable. Worry and anxiety, pain and suffering, the daily grind--all these and more can block your path. When faced with such challenges, is it possible to get past the barriers, let go, and experience God's joy?

    When you look around, you might wonder-although joy is a fruit of the Spirit, it doesn't seem to be hanging visibly from many Christian boughs. Choosing Joy aims to change that-and change your life in the process-as it helps you discover the key to this most attractive but seemingly elusive gift.

    Choosing Joy, will help you overcome the obstacles and focus your heart, mind and strength on God so that you can receive the happiness and peace that the world cannot give.





beliefs
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}