هل الإيمان بدون أدلة أخلاقية خاطئة؟

هل الإيمان بدون أدلة أخلاقية خاطئة؟

ربما لم يسمع من قبل عن وليام Kingdon كليفورد. إنه ليس في كنيسة الفلاسفة العظماء - ربما لأن حياته اختُصرت في عمر 33 - لكنني لا أستطيع التفكير في أي شخص تكون أفكاره أكثر صلة بعمرنا الرقمي المترابط والمبني على الذكاء الاصطناعي. قد يبدو هذا غريبا بالنظر إلى أننا نتحدث عن بريطاني من العصر الفيكتوري أكثر أعماله الفلسفية شهرة هو مقال كتبه 150 منذ سنوات تقريبا. ومع ذلك ، فقد وقعت الواقع مع كليفورد. زعمه الذي بدا مبالغ فيه في وقت ما أنه "من الخطأ دائمًا ، في كل مكان ، ومن أجل أي شخص ، أن يصدق أي شيء بسبب عدم كفاية الأدلة" لم يعد غلوًا بل واقعًا تقنيًا.

في "أخلاقيات الاعتقاد'' (1877) ، يقدم كليفورد ثلاث حجج بشأن سبب التزامنا الأخلاقي بالاعتقاد مسؤولأي أننا نؤمن فقط بما لدينا من أدلة كافية ، وما قمنا بالتحري عنه باجتهاد. تبدأ حجته الأولى بملاحظة بسيطة مفادها أن معتقداتنا تؤثر على أعمالنا. يتفق الجميع على أن سلوكنا يتشكل من خلال ما نأخذه ليكون حقيقة حول العالم - وهذا يعني من خلال ما نعتقد. إذا كنت أعتقد أنها تمطر في الخارج ، سأحضر مظلة. إذا كنت أعتقد أن سيارات الأجرة لا تأخذ بطاقات الائتمان ، أتأكد من أن لدي بعض النقود قبل أن أقفز في واحدة. وإذا اعتقدت أن السرقة خاطئة ، فسوف أدفع ثمن بضاعتي قبل مغادرة المتجر.

ما نعتقد أنه ذو أهمية عملية هائلة. إن المعتقدات الزائفة حول الحقائق المادية أو الاجتماعية تقودنا إلى عادات سيئة في العمل يمكن أن تهدد بقاءنا في أقصى الحالات. إذا كان المغني آر كيلي يصدق بصدق كلمات أغنيته "أنا أؤمن بأنني أستطيع الطيران" (1996) ، فيمكنني أن أضمن لك أنه لن يكون موجودًا الآن.

ولكن ليس فقط الحفاظ على أنفسنا هو على المحك هنا. وباعتبارنا حيوانات اجتماعية ، تؤثر وكالتنا على من حولنا ، ويصدق الإعتقاد غير اللائق أن إخواننا من البشر معرضون للخطر. كما يحذر كليفورد: "نحن جميعا نعاني بشدة من صيانة ودعم المعتقدات الخاطئة والإجراءات الخاطئة القاتلة التي يؤديان إليها ..." وباختصار ، فإن الممارسات القبيحة لتشكيل المعتقدات خاطئة أخلاقياً لأنها - ككائنات اجتماعية - عندما نعتقد شيء ما ، الرهانات عالية جدا.

إن أكثر اعتراض طبيعي على هذه الحجة الأولى هو أنه في حين قد يكون من الصحيح أن بعض معتقداتنا تؤدي إلى أعمال يمكن أن تكون مدمرة للآخرين ، إلا أن معظم ما نعتقد أنه ربما غير منطقي لأخواننا البشر. على هذا النحو ، ادعى ك Clifford أنه من الخطأ في جميع الحالات الاعتقاد بعدم كفاية الأدلة يبدو وكأنه امتداد. أعتقد أن لدى النقاد نقطة - كان - لكن هذا لم يعد كذلك. في عالم تتجادل فيه معتقدات كل شخص على الفور ، وبأقل تكلفة ، إلى جمهور عالمي ، فإن كل اعتقاد واحد لديه القدرة على أن تكون له عواقب حقيقية في الطريقة التي يتصور بها كليفورد. إذا كنت لا تزال تعتقد أن هذه مبالغة ، ففكّر في كيفية تأثير المعتقدات في كهف في أفغانستان على الأعمال التي أنهت حياة في نيويورك وباريس ولندن. أو ضع في اعتبارك مدى تأثير التشوهات التي تتدفق من خلال خلاصات الشبكات الاجتماعية على سلوكك اليومي الخاص. في القرية العالمية الرقمية التي نعيش فيها الآن ، تؤمن المعتقدات الخاطئة بشبكة اجتماعية أوسع ، وبالتالي فإن حجة كليفورد ربما كانت غليظة عندما حققها لأول مرة ، ولكنها لم تعد كذلك اليوم.

Tإن الحجة الثانية التي يقدمها كليفورد تدعم إدعائه بأنه من الخطأ دائمًا الاعتقاد بأن الدليل غير الكافي هو أن الممارسات الضعيفة في تكوين المعتقد تحولنا إلى مؤمنين لا مباليين. يقول كليفورد بشكل جيد: "لا يوجد أي إعتقاد حقيقي ، مهما بدا تافهًا ومجزمًا ، غير مهم على الإطلاق ؛ فهي تعدنا لتلقي المزيد من ما يشبهها ، وتؤكد تلك التي تشبهها من قبل ، وتضعف الآخرين ؛ وهكذا تدريجيًا يضع قطارًا خفيًا في أفكارنا الفائقة ، والتي قد تنفجر في يوم ما إلى عمل علني ، وتترك طابعها على شخصيتنا ". ترجمة تحذير كليفورد إلى أوقاتنا المترابطة ، ما يخبرنا به هو أن الإيمان اللامبالي يحولنا إلى فرائس سهلة لدارسيات الأخبار المزورة ، ومنظري المؤامرة ، والمشعوذين. والسماح لأنفسنا بأن نصبح مضيفين لهذه المعتقدات الخاطئة أمر خاطئ من الناحية الأخلاقية ، كما رأينا ، فإن تكلفة الخطأ بالنسبة للمجتمع يمكن أن تكون مدمرة. إن اليقظة المعرفية هي اليوم فضيلة أكثر قيمة بكثير مما كانت عليه في أي وقت مضى ، حيث أن الحاجة إلى فحص المعلومات المتضاربة ازدادت بشكل كبير ، وخطر أن تصبح سفينة سذاجة هو مجرد بضع نقرات من الهاتف الذكي بعيدا.

حجة كليفورد الثالثة والأخيرة حول سبب الاعتقاد من دون أدلة خاطئة من الناحية الأخلاقية هو أنه ، بصفتنا مؤمنين بالإيمان ، تقع علينا المسؤولية الأخلاقية عن تلويث بئر المعرفة الجماعية. في زمن كليفورد ، كانت الطريقة التي تم بها دمج معتقداتنا في "الرواسب الثمينة" للمعرفة الشائعة هي في المقام الأول من خلال الكلام والكتابة. وبسبب هذه القدرة على التواصل ، فإن "كلماتنا ، وعباراتنا ، وأشكالنا وعملياتنا وأساليب تفكيرنا" تصبح "ملكية مشتركة". إن تخريب هذه "الإرث" ، كما أسماه ، بإضافة معتقدات زائفة أمر غير أخلاقي لأن حياة كل فرد تعتمد في نهاية الأمر على هذا المورد الحيوي والمشاركة.

في حين أن حجة كليفورد النهائية تبدو صحيحة ، فإنه يبدو من المبالغة مرة أخرى أن ندعي أن كل اعتقاد خاطئ صغير نأخذه هو إهانة أخلاقية للمعرفة المشتركة. لكن الحقيقة ، مرة أخرى ، تتماشى مع كليفورد ، وكلماته تبدو نبوءة. واليوم ، لدينا بالفعل مخزون عالمي من المعتقدات التي يتم فيها إضافة جميع التزاماتنا بعناية: تسمى البيانات الكبيرة. لا تحتاج حتى إلى أن تكون من مستخدمي الإنترنت النشطين على تويتر أو صخب على فيسبوك: المزيد والمزيد من ما نحن عليه do في العالم الحقيقي يجري تسجيلها ورقمنتها ، ومن هناك يمكن أن تستنتج خوارزميات بسهولة ما نحن اعتقد حتى قبل أن نعبر عن رأي في المقابل ، يتم استخدام هذه المجموعة الهائلة من المعتقدات المخزنة من خلال الخوارزميات لاتخاذ قرارات بشأننا وعننا. وهو نفس الخزان الذي تستخدمه محركات البحث عندما نسعى للحصول على إجابات لأسئلتنا ونكتسب معتقدات جديدة. أضف المكونات الخاطئة إلى وصفة البيانات الكبيرة ، وما ستحصل عليه هو مخرجات قد تكون سامة. إذا كان هناك وقت في أي وقت كان فيه التفكير النقدي ضرورة أخلاقية ، وخطبته خطيئة كارثية ، فهو الآن.عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

نبذة عن الكاتب

فرانسيسكو ميخيا أوريبي هو المدير التنفيذي في غولدمان ساكس في هونغ كونغ. وهو حاصل على درجات علمية في الفلسفة والاقتصاد من جامعة لوس أندس في بوغوتا بكولومبيا ، ومدونات في مدونة الفيلسوف.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = اختيار المعتقدات ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Is Believing Without Evidence Morally Wrong?

beliefs

Is Believing Without Evidence Morally Wrong?

You have probably never heard of William Kingdon Clifford. He is not in the pantheon of great philosophers – perhaps because his life was cut short at the age of 33 – but I cannot think of anyone whose ideas are more relevant for our interconnected, AI-driven, digital age. This might seem strange given that we are talking about a Victorian Briton whose most famous philosophical work is an essay nearly 150 years ago. However, reality has caught up with Clifford. His once seemingly exaggerated claim that ‘it is wrong always, everywhere, and for anyone, to believe anything upon insufficient evidence’ is no longer hyperbole but a technical reality.

In ‘The Ethics of Belief’ (1877), Clifford gives three arguments as to why we have a moral obligation to believe responsibly, that is, to believe only what we have sufficient evidence for, and what we have diligently investigated. His first argument starts with the simple observation that our beliefs influence our actions. Everyone would agree that our behaviour is shaped by what we take to be true about the world – which is to say, by what we believe. If I believe that it is raining outside, I’ll bring an umbrella. If I believe taxis don’t take credit cards, I make sure I have some cash before jumping into one. And if I believe that stealing is wrong, then I will pay for my goods before leaving the store.

What we believe is then of tremendous practical importance. False beliefs about physical or social facts lead us into poor habits of action that in the most extreme cases could threaten our survival. If the singer R Kelly genuinely believed the words of his song ‘I Believe I Can Fly’ (1996), I can guarantee you he would not be around by now.

But it is not only our own self-preservation that is at stake here. As social animals, our agency impacts on those around us, and improper believing puts our fellow humans at risk. As Clifford warns: ‘We all suffer severely enough from the maintenance and support of false beliefs and the fatally wrong actions which they lead to …’ In short, sloppy practices of belief-formation are ethically wrong because – as social beings – when we believe something, the stakes are very high.

The most natural objection to this first argument is that while it might be true that some of our beliefs do lead to actions that can be devastating for others, in reality most of what we believe is probably inconsequential for our fellow humans. As such, claiming as Clifford did that it is wrong in all cases to believe on insufficient evidence seems like a stretch. I think critics had a point – had – but that is no longer so. In a world in which just about everyone’s beliefs are instantly shareable, at minimal cost, to a global audience, every single belief has the capacity to be truly consequential in the way Clifford imagined. If you still believe this is an exaggeration, think about how beliefs fashioned in a cave in Afghanistan lead to acts that ended lives in New York, Paris and London. Or consider how influential the ramblings pouring through your social media feeds have become in your very own daily behaviour. In the digital global village that we now inhabit, false beliefs cast a wider social net, hence Clifford’s argument might have been hyperbole when he first made it, but is no longer so today.

The second argument Clifford provides to back his claim that it is always wrong to believe on insufficient evidence is that poor practices of belief-formation turn us into careless, credulous believers. Clifford puts it nicely: ‘No real belief, however trifling and fragmentary it may seem, is ever truly insignificant; it prepares us to receive more of its like, confirms those which resembled it before, and weakens others; and so gradually it lays a stealthy train in our inmost thoughts, which may someday explode into overt action, and leave its stamp upon our character.’ Translating Clifford’s warning to our interconnected times, what he tells us is that careless believing turns us into easy prey for fake-news pedlars, conspiracy theorists and charlatans. And letting ourselves become hosts to these false beliefs is morally wrong because, as we have seen, the error cost for society can be devastating. Epistemic alertness is a much more precious virtue today than it ever was, since the need to sift through conflicting information has exponentially increased, and the risk of becoming a vessel of credulity is just a few taps of a smartphone away.

Clifford’s third and final argument as to why believing without evidence is morally wrong is that, in our capacity as communicators of belief, we have the moral responsibility not to pollute the well of collective knowledge. In Clifford’s time, the way in which our beliefs were woven into the ‘precious deposit’ of common knowledge was primarily through speech and writing. Because of this capacity to communicate, ‘our words, our phrases, our forms and processes and modes of thought’ become ‘common property’. Subverting this ‘heirloom’, as he called it, by adding false beliefs is immoral because everyone’s lives ultimately rely on this vital, shared resource.

While Clifford’s final argument rings true, it again seems exaggerated to claim that every little false belief we harbour is a moral affront to common knowledge. Yet reality, once more, is aligning with Clifford, and his words seem prophetic. Today, we truly have a global reservoir of belief into which all of our commitments are being painstakingly added: it’s called Big Data. You don’t even need to be an active netizen posting on Twitter or ranting on Facebook: more and more of what we do in the real world is being recorded and digitised, and from there algorithms can easily infer what we believe before we even express a view. In turn, this enormous pool of stored belief is used by algorithms to make decisions for and about us. And it’s the same reservoir that search engines tap into when we seek answers to our questions and acquire new beliefs. Add the wrong ingredients into the Big Data recipe, and what you’ll get is a potentially toxic output. If there was ever a time when critical thinking was a moral imperative, and credulity a calamitous sin, it is now.Aeon counter – do not remove

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

About The Author

Francisco Mejia Uribe is an executive director at Goldman Sachs in Hong Kong. He has degrees in philosophy and economics from the University of Los Andes in Bogotá, Colombia, and blogs at The Philosopher Blog.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

Choosing My Religion: A Memoir of a Family Beyond Belief

beliefsAuthor: Stephen J Dubner
Binding: Paperback
Brand: Dubner, Stephen J.
Studio: Harper Perennial
Label: Harper Perennial
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Manufacturer: Harper Perennial

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Choosing My Religion is a luminous memoir, crafted with the eye of a journalist and the art of a novelist by New York Times Magazine writer and editor Stephen J. Dubner. By turns comic and heartbreaking, it tells the story of a family torn apart by religion, sustained by faith, and reunited by truth.





Choosing Happiness: Life and Soul Essentials

beliefsAuthor: Stephanie Dowrick
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: TarcherPerigee
Label: TarcherPerigee
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
Manufacturer: TarcherPerigee

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Winner of the 2009 Silver Nautilus Award representing “Better Books for a Better World”

The message of this book is very simple: Right now, you can be happier!

More things wont do it. Even a great relationship may not save you. In Choosing Happiness the focus is on the only place where real change can happen: in how you see yourself and relate to other people. The book uses practical guidance and warm, realistic inspiration to show clearly that while you can?t always choose what happens in your life, you can choose your responses, values and behaviors ? and the results are life changing.

Choosing Happiness offers skills and insights across all areas, from your most intimate relationships to your friendships, extended family, work, and community. Psychologically positive and astute, it also looks at the big spiritual questions that let you value your life rather than just spending it. Small changes bring big results. Beautifully packaged, with a flexibind spine and a red ribbon placeholder, this book is like the wise, kind friend you can?t wait to return to again and again.




Choosing Joy: The Secret of Living a Fully Christian Life

beliefsAuthor: Dan Lord
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Our Sunday Visitor
Label: Our Sunday Visitor
Publisher: Our Sunday Visitor
Manufacturer: Our Sunday Visitor

Buy Now
Editorial Review: What is joy? Ask ten different people and you'll get ten different answers.

Yet if you asked:

  • a man who grew up fatherless and destitute in the slums of Atlanta
  • a young widow who decided to bring a neglected garden back to life in spite of agonizing physical pain and a deeply wounded spirit
  • or author Dan Lord himself, ex-frontman for a popular indie rock band each would point to the one source of their joy: Jesus.

    They made the choice for joy, against all odds, and so can you, though the obstacles might seem insurmountable. Worry and anxiety, pain and suffering, the daily grind--all these and more can block your path. When faced with such challenges, is it possible to get past the barriers, let go, and experience God's joy?

    When you look around, you might wonder-although joy is a fruit of the Spirit, it doesn't seem to be hanging visibly from many Christian boughs. Choosing Joy aims to change that-and change your life in the process-as it helps you discover the key to this most attractive but seemingly elusive gift.

    Choosing Joy, will help you overcome the obstacles and focus your heart, mind and strength on God so that you can receive the happiness and peace that the world cannot give.





beliefs
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}