Croire sans preuves est-il moralement faux?

Croire sans preuves est-il moralement faux?

Vous n'avez probablement jamais entendu parler de William Kingdon Clifford. Il ne fait pas partie du panthéon des grands philosophes - peut-être parce que sa vie a été interrompue à l'âge de 33 - mais je ne peux penser à personne dont les idées sont plus pertinentes pour notre ère numérique interconnectée, axée sur l'IA. Cela peut paraître étrange étant donné que nous parlons d'un Britannique victorien dont le travail philosophique le plus célèbre est un essai il y a près de 150. Cependant, la réalité a rattrapé Clifford. Son affirmation jadis exagérée selon laquelle «il est toujours faux, partout, et pour qui que ce soit, de ne rien croire en l'absence de preuves suffisantes» n'est plus une hyperbole, mais une réalité technique.

dans 'L'éthique de la croyance'(1877), Clifford donne trois arguments pour expliquer pourquoi nous avons l'obligation morale de croire de manière responsable, c’est-à-dire ne croire que ce pour quoi nous disposons de preuves suffisantes et ce sur quoi nous avons enquêté avec diligence. Son premier argument commence par la simple observation que nos croyances influencent nos actions. Tout le monde conviendrait que notre comportement est façonné par ce que nous considérons comme vrai du monde, c'est-à-dire par ce que nous croyons. Si je crois qu'il pleut dehors, j'apporterai un parapluie. Si je crois que les taxis n'acceptent pas les cartes de crédit, je m'assure d'avoir de l'argent avant de me lancer. Et si je crois que voler est une erreur, je paierai mes biens avant de quitter le magasin.

Ce que nous croyons est alors d’une extrême importance pratique. De fausses croyances sur des faits physiques ou sociaux nous mènent à de mauvaises habitudes d'action qui, dans les cas les plus extrêmes, pourraient menacer notre survie. Si le chanteur R Kelly croyait sincèrement aux paroles de sa chanson "I Believe I Can Fly" (1996), je peux vous garantir qu'il ne serait plus là.

Mais ce n'est pas seulement notre propre préservation de soi qui est en jeu ici. En tant qu'animaux sociaux, notre agence a un impact sur ceux qui nous entourent et une croyance inappropriée met nos concitoyens en danger. Comme Clifford le met en garde: "Nous souffrons tous assez du maintien et du soutien de fausses croyances et des actions fatalement mauvaises auxquelles ils conduisent ..." En résumé, les pratiques bâclées de formation de croyances sont éthiquement mauvaises parce que - en tant qu'êtres sociaux - lorsque nous croyons Quelque chose, les enjeux sont très élevés.

L'objection la plus naturelle à ce premier argument est que s'il est vrai que certaines de nos croyances conduisent à des actions pouvant être dévastatrices pour d'autres, en réalité, la plupart de ce que nous croyons est probablement sans importance pour nos semblables. En tant que tel, prétendre comme Clifford a fait qu'il est faux dans tous les cas croire sur des preuves insuffisantes semble être un étirement. Je pense que les critiques avaient un point - avait - mais ce n'est plus le cas. Dans un monde où presque toutes les croyances peuvent être partagées instantanément, à un coût minimal, pour un public mondial, chaque croyance a la capacité d'être réellement décisive dans la manière imaginée par Clifford. Si vous croyez toujours qu'il s'agit d'une exagération, réfléchissez à la manière dont les croyances façonnées dans une grotte en Afghanistan conduisent à des actes qui mettent fin à des vies à New York, à Paris et à Londres. Ou réfléchissez à l’influence exercée par vos propres comportements quotidiens sur les rumeurs qui jaillissent de vos médias sociaux. Dans le village numérique mondial que nous habitons aujourd'hui, les fausses croyances jettent un réseau social plus large, de sorte que l'argument de Clifford aurait pu être une hyperbole lors de sa création, mais ne l'est plus aujourd'hui.

TLe deuxième argument présenté par Clifford soutient qu'il est toujours erroné de croire que, faute de preuves suffisantes, de mauvaises pratiques de formation de croyances nous transforment en croyants insouciants et crédules. Clifford le dit bien: «Aucune croyance réelle, aussi légère et fragmentaire qu'elle puisse paraître, n’est jamais vraiment insignifiante; il nous prépare à recevoir plus de ses semblables, confirme ceux qui lui ressemblaient auparavant et affaiblit les autres; et ainsi, petit à petit, il forme une traînée furtive dans nos pensées les plus profondes, qui peut un jour exploser en action et laisser son empreinte sur notre caractère. En traduisant l'avertissement de Clifford à notre époque interconnectée, il nous dit que cette croyance insouciante nous transforme en une proie facile pour les marchands de fausses informations, les théoriciens du complot et les charlatans. Et se laisser héberger ces fausses croyances est moralement répréhensible car, comme nous l’avons vu, le coût des erreurs pour la société peut être dévastateur. La vigilance épistémique est une vertu beaucoup plus précieuse qu'elle ne l'a jamais été, car le besoin de filtrer des informations contradictoires a augmenté de façon exponentielle, et le risque de devenir un vaisseau de crédulité n'est plus qu'à quelques clics d'un smartphone.

Le troisième et dernier argument de Clifford pour expliquer pourquoi croire sans preuve est moralement faux est que, en tant que communicateurs de croyances, nous avons la responsabilité morale de ne pas polluer le puits de la connaissance collective. À l'époque de Clifford, la façon dont nos croyances ont été intégrées au «précieux gisement» de la connaissance commune s'est principalement manifestée par la parole et l'écriture. En raison de cette capacité à communiquer, «nos mots, nos expressions, nos formes et processus ainsi que nos modes de pensée» deviennent «propriété commune». Subvertir cet «héritage», comme il l'appelait, en ajoutant de fausses croyances est immoral, car la vie de chacun repose en fin de compte sur cette ressource vitale et partagée.

Bien que le dernier argument de Clifford sonne juste, il semble encore une fois exagéré de prétendre que chaque petite fausse croyance que nous portons constitue un affront moral à la connaissance commune. Pourtant, la réalité, une fois de plus, s’aligne sur Clifford et ses paroles semblent prophétiques. Aujourd'hui, nous avons véritablement un réservoir de confiance mondial dans lequel tous nos engagements ont été minutieusement ajoutés: il s'appelle Big Data. Vous n'avez même pas besoin d'être un internaute actif postant sur Twitter ou sur Facebook: de plus en plus de ce que nous do dans le monde réel est en cours d’enregistrement et de numérisation, et à partir de là, des algorithmes peuvent facilement déduire ce que nous avons. croyez avant même d'exprimer un point de vue. À son tour, cet énorme pool de croyances stockées est utilisé par les algorithmes pour prendre des décisions à propos de nous et à notre sujet. Et c'est le même réservoir que les moteurs de recherche exploitent lorsque nous cherchons des réponses à nos questions et acquérons de nouvelles croyances. Ajoutez les mauvais ingrédients à la recette Big Data et vous obtiendrez une sortie potentiellement toxique. S'il y a déjà eu un moment où la pensée critique était un impératif moral et la crédulité un péché calamiteux, c'est maintenant.Compteur Aeon - ne pas enlever

Cet article a été initialement publié sur Temps infini et a été republié sous Creative Commons.

A propos de l'auteur

Francisco Mejia Uribe est directeur exécutif chez Goldman Sachs à Hong Kong. Il est diplômé en philosophie et en économie de l’Université de Los Andes à Bogotá, en Colombie, et blogue à Le blog philosophe.

Cet article a été initialement publié sur Temps infini et a été republié sous Creative Commons.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = choix de croyances; maxresults = 3}

Is Believing Without Evidence Morally Wrong?

beliefs

Is Believing Without Evidence Morally Wrong?

You have probably never heard of William Kingdon Clifford. He is not in the pantheon of great philosophers – perhaps because his life was cut short at the age of 33 – but I cannot think of anyone whose ideas are more relevant for our interconnected, AI-driven, digital age. This might seem strange given that we are talking about a Victorian Briton whose most famous philosophical work is an essay nearly 150 years ago. However, reality has caught up with Clifford. His once seemingly exaggerated claim that ‘it is wrong always, everywhere, and for anyone, to believe anything upon insufficient evidence’ is no longer hyperbole but a technical reality.

In ‘The Ethics of Belief’ (1877), Clifford gives three arguments as to why we have a moral obligation to believe responsibly, that is, to believe only what we have sufficient evidence for, and what we have diligently investigated. His first argument starts with the simple observation that our beliefs influence our actions. Everyone would agree that our behaviour is shaped by what we take to be true about the world – which is to say, by what we believe. If I believe that it is raining outside, I’ll bring an umbrella. If I believe taxis don’t take credit cards, I make sure I have some cash before jumping into one. And if I believe that stealing is wrong, then I will pay for my goods before leaving the store.

What we believe is then of tremendous practical importance. False beliefs about physical or social facts lead us into poor habits of action that in the most extreme cases could threaten our survival. If the singer R Kelly genuinely believed the words of his song ‘I Believe I Can Fly’ (1996), I can guarantee you he would not be around by now.

But it is not only our own self-preservation that is at stake here. As social animals, our agency impacts on those around us, and improper believing puts our fellow humans at risk. As Clifford warns: ‘We all suffer severely enough from the maintenance and support of false beliefs and the fatally wrong actions which they lead to …’ In short, sloppy practices of belief-formation are ethically wrong because – as social beings – when we believe something, the stakes are very high.

The most natural objection to this first argument is that while it might be true that some of our beliefs do lead to actions that can be devastating for others, in reality most of what we believe is probably inconsequential for our fellow humans. As such, claiming as Clifford did that it is wrong in all cases to believe on insufficient evidence seems like a stretch. I think critics had a point – had – but that is no longer so. In a world in which just about everyone’s beliefs are instantly shareable, at minimal cost, to a global audience, every single belief has the capacity to be truly consequential in the way Clifford imagined. If you still believe this is an exaggeration, think about how beliefs fashioned in a cave in Afghanistan lead to acts that ended lives in New York, Paris and London. Or consider how influential the ramblings pouring through your social media feeds have become in your very own daily behaviour. In the digital global village that we now inhabit, false beliefs cast a wider social net, hence Clifford’s argument might have been hyperbole when he first made it, but is no longer so today.

The second argument Clifford provides to back his claim that it is always wrong to believe on insufficient evidence is that poor practices of belief-formation turn us into careless, credulous believers. Clifford puts it nicely: ‘No real belief, however trifling and fragmentary it may seem, is ever truly insignificant; it prepares us to receive more of its like, confirms those which resembled it before, and weakens others; and so gradually it lays a stealthy train in our inmost thoughts, which may someday explode into overt action, and leave its stamp upon our character.’ Translating Clifford’s warning to our interconnected times, what he tells us is that careless believing turns us into easy prey for fake-news pedlars, conspiracy theorists and charlatans. And letting ourselves become hosts to these false beliefs is morally wrong because, as we have seen, the error cost for society can be devastating. Epistemic alertness is a much more precious virtue today than it ever was, since the need to sift through conflicting information has exponentially increased, and the risk of becoming a vessel of credulity is just a few taps of a smartphone away.

Clifford’s third and final argument as to why believing without evidence is morally wrong is that, in our capacity as communicators of belief, we have the moral responsibility not to pollute the well of collective knowledge. In Clifford’s time, the way in which our beliefs were woven into the ‘precious deposit’ of common knowledge was primarily through speech and writing. Because of this capacity to communicate, ‘our words, our phrases, our forms and processes and modes of thought’ become ‘common property’. Subverting this ‘heirloom’, as he called it, by adding false beliefs is immoral because everyone’s lives ultimately rely on this vital, shared resource.

While Clifford’s final argument rings true, it again seems exaggerated to claim that every little false belief we harbour is a moral affront to common knowledge. Yet reality, once more, is aligning with Clifford, and his words seem prophetic. Today, we truly have a global reservoir of belief into which all of our commitments are being painstakingly added: it’s called Big Data. You don’t even need to be an active netizen posting on Twitter or ranting on Facebook: more and more of what we do in the real world is being recorded and digitised, and from there algorithms can easily infer what we believe before we even express a view. In turn, this enormous pool of stored belief is used by algorithms to make decisions for and about us. And it’s the same reservoir that search engines tap into when we seek answers to our questions and acquire new beliefs. Add the wrong ingredients into the Big Data recipe, and what you’ll get is a potentially toxic output. If there was ever a time when critical thinking was a moral imperative, and credulity a calamitous sin, it is now.Aeon counter – do not remove

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

About The Author

Francisco Mejia Uribe is an executive director at Goldman Sachs in Hong Kong. He has degrees in philosophy and economics from the University of Los Andes in Bogotá, Colombia, and blogs at The Philosopher Blog.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

Choosing My Religion: A Memoir of a Family Beyond Belief

beliefsAuthor: Stephen J Dubner
Binding: Paperback
Brand: Dubner, Stephen J.
Studio: Harper Perennial
Label: Harper Perennial
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Manufacturer: Harper Perennial

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Choosing My Religion is a luminous memoir, crafted with the eye of a journalist and the art of a novelist by New York Times Magazine writer and editor Stephen J. Dubner. By turns comic and heartbreaking, it tells the story of a family torn apart by religion, sustained by faith, and reunited by truth.





Choosing Happiness: Life and Soul Essentials

beliefsAuthor: Stephanie Dowrick
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: TarcherPerigee
Label: TarcherPerigee
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
Manufacturer: TarcherPerigee

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Winner of the 2009 Silver Nautilus Award representing “Better Books for a Better World”

The message of this book is very simple: Right now, you can be happier!

More things wont do it. Even a great relationship may not save you. In Choosing Happiness the focus is on the only place where real change can happen: in how you see yourself and relate to other people. The book uses practical guidance and warm, realistic inspiration to show clearly that while you can?t always choose what happens in your life, you can choose your responses, values and behaviors ? and the results are life changing.

Choosing Happiness offers skills and insights across all areas, from your most intimate relationships to your friendships, extended family, work, and community. Psychologically positive and astute, it also looks at the big spiritual questions that let you value your life rather than just spending it. Small changes bring big results. Beautifully packaged, with a flexibind spine and a red ribbon placeholder, this book is like the wise, kind friend you can?t wait to return to again and again.




Choosing Joy: The Secret of Living a Fully Christian Life

beliefsAuthor: Dan Lord
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Our Sunday Visitor
Label: Our Sunday Visitor
Publisher: Our Sunday Visitor
Manufacturer: Our Sunday Visitor

Buy Now
Editorial Review: What is joy? Ask ten different people and you'll get ten different answers.

Yet if you asked:

  • a man who grew up fatherless and destitute in the slums of Atlanta
  • a young widow who decided to bring a neglected garden back to life in spite of agonizing physical pain and a deeply wounded spirit
  • or author Dan Lord himself, ex-frontman for a popular indie rock band each would point to the one source of their joy: Jesus.

    They made the choice for joy, against all odds, and so can you, though the obstacles might seem insurmountable. Worry and anxiety, pain and suffering, the daily grind--all these and more can block your path. When faced with such challenges, is it possible to get past the barriers, let go, and experience God's joy?

    When you look around, you might wonder-although joy is a fruit of the Spirit, it doesn't seem to be hanging visibly from many Christian boughs. Choosing Joy aims to change that-and change your life in the process-as it helps you discover the key to this most attractive but seemingly elusive gift.

    Choosing Joy, will help you overcome the obstacles and focus your heart, mind and strength on God so that you can receive the happiness and peace that the world cannot give.





beliefs
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}