ضد كل الصعاب ... معلقة على الأمل

ضد كل الصعاب ... معلقة على الأمل

في فيلم 2000 ، حيث هو قلب، تم التخلي عن Novalee Nation (البالغ من العمر 17 عامًا) (التي يلعبها ناتالي بورتمان) أثناء عبورها البلد بحثًا عن حياة جديدة ، من قبل صديقها الخاسر في متجر Walmart الصغير.

في الأسبوع الماضي ، شهد جويس وأنا قصة مشابهة بشكل مخيف. القيادة شمالاً عبر وادي ساكرامنتو على الطريق السريع 5 ، شاهدنا إشارة لمركز ترحيب كاليفورنيا في أندرسون وانسحبوا لتناول العشاء في الكارافانات. أثناء تسخين بعض الحساء ، كان الجو يخيم في الظلام ولاحظنا امرأة شابة تضغط عربة أطفال تصل إلى المنشأة المغلقة الآن. وبدأت في إعداد "منزلها" ، وهو ببساطة مجرد بطانية تستلقي عليها ، في كوة شبه محمية خارج أحد الأبواب المغلقة. كنت أنتهي من إعداد العشاء ، فذهبت جويس ومستعدها الذهبي روزي البالغة من العمر أربع سنوات لتقول مرحباً.

عادت وقالت لي قصة المرأة الشابة. أسقط لوسيندا من قبل صديقها في وول مارت عبر الشارع قبل عام ونصف. وعد بأن ينتظرها في الخارج في سيارته. ربما حصل على الفكرة من الفيلم ، لكنه ، أيضا ، اندفع. لقد كانت بلا مأوى منذ ذلك الحين ، لكنها قالت لويس جويس بصوت واضح وهادئ ، "سوف يعود ليصطحني".

اضطررت للتدقيق في نفسي ، فذهبت إليها. روزي ركض قدما. حتى الآن كانوا أفضل رفاقا. في حين أنها رقت روزي ، سألت: "هل تحب بعض الحساء؟"

"لا، شكرا". كان صوتها فعلا مرح. "كان لي عشاء بالفعل." كنت أتساءل إذا كان في ملجأ للمشردين.

مصممون على مساعدة، ثم سألته: "هل كنت بحاجة إلى أي المال؟"

"لا شكرا. أنا بخير."


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


معلقة على الأمل

فاجأني أنها بدت فعلا جيدة ، ولكن يبدو أيضا أنها لا تريد التحدث كثيرا. لقد نظرت في ممتلكاتها الكلية ، وبطانية تكذب عليها ، وبطانية أخرى لوضعها فوقها ، وعدد قليل من الأشياء الأخرى في عربة الأطفال. روزي وقلت لهما ليلة سعيدة وسارنا إلى الكارافيت لتناول العشاء.

تحدثت أنا وجويس عن هذه المرأة غير العادية. وكان جزء المعالج من ذوي الخبرة في أنفسنا لتسمية لها بعمق في الحرمان ، وعلى الأرجح مريضا عقليا بطريقة أو بأخرى. الشخص العادي لا ينتظر سنة ونصف بعد التخلي عنه. لكن شيئا لم يضف. كانت واضحة جدا في خطابها وفكرها ، على الأقل من القليل الذي سمعناه. رغم كل الصعاب ، بدا أنها مقتنعة بأن صديقها سيعود إليها.

من نحن لإنكارها هذا الأمل؟ من نحن لنقول لها انه لن يعود لها ، أن هذا هو الخيال الكلاسيكي سندريلا ، في انتظار أن يتم إنقاذها من قبل الأمير لها؟ هناك شيء ما مقتنع بها ببساطة ، وهي معلقة على الأمل.

الأمل كممارسة روحية

هناك مصطلح "أملا كاذبا." ولكن يمكن أن نأمل من أي وقت مضى أن يكون حقا كاذبة؟ ربما واردا، ولكن لم كاذبة. يأمل شخص بالسرطان، يستطيع أن تلتئم. انه من غير المحتمل، لكنه ليس مستحيلا. أنا على أمل أنا يمكن أن يشفي ركبتي دون أن يكون لها بديل الركبة. بلدي الأطباء يشككون، ولكن لدي شيء في بلدي نظام تضميد الجراح التي يعتقد بعض الأطباء فيها انها الأمل ... وقوة الصلاة. لقد رأينا ما يمكن القيام به الصلاة. إنها القوة التي تجعل من غير المحتمل ممكن جدا.

وهذا هو السر الحقيقي عن الأمل. انها ممارسة الروحية! الأمل هو في الواقع صلاة. لا يمكنك نأمل بدون صلاة. أمل شابة بلا مأوى هو صلاتها لحبيبها. لنا، فهو صديقها الخاسر. عليك أن تكون الخاسر على التخلي عن شخص من هذا القبيل. ولكن ماذا لو كان يمضي في تعلم الدروس القيمة عن الحب ... والمغفرة الذاتي ... ولا يعود رجل جديد، الاستغفار لها؟ واردا، ونحن نقول، لكنه ليس مستحيلا.

الإيمان الأمل والحب

تذكر الخطوط التي غالبًا ما يتم اقتباسها من First Corinthians 13 حول الإيمان والأمل والحب ، مع كون الحب هو الأكثر أهمية. ربما هذا هو الأمر ، لكني أعتقد أن الإيمان والأمل موجودان في الحب والحب في الإيمان والأمل. كيف يمكنك حقا فصل هذه المكونات الحيوية الثلاثة؟ عندما تأمل من كل قلبك ، فأنت تعيش في الحب. أن يكون الإيمان هو الانفتاح على قوة الحب. وعندما تحب ، أنت تعيش في حالة من الأمل والإيمان.

قبل سنوات عديدة ، بعد أن خنت جويس بممارسة الجنس مع صديقتها المفضلة ، أتذكر كم كنت أحتفظ بالأمل. كنت آمل أنها سترى التغييرات وتعلم أن تثق بي مرة أخرى. كنت آمل أن ننمو إلى المزيد من الحب والاتصال. لقد تحدثت عن هذا الأمل بصوت عالٍ خلال الأوقات التي كانت تعاني من ألم عميق وغضب. لقد أخبرتني دائمًا كم ساعدها ذلك في اللحظات المظلمة.

لا تفقد الأمل من أي وقت مضى، سواء كان ذلك لعلاقة جديدة، علاقة أفضل، وظيفة أكثر إشباعا، إنجاب الأطفال، وجود علاقة أفضل مع أطفالك، أو من خلال الحصول على التحديات الصحية. عندما تشعر أنك الأمل، أنت في حالة من الصلاة.

واحدة من أساتذتنا المحبوبين ، بيرل دوريس ، كثيرا ما اعتادت أن تقول ، "ما هو انتباهك ، تصبح". ضع انتباهك على الأمل ، وتصبح ما تأمل فيه. تذكر أن الأمل ليس مجرد فعل. إنها أيضا حالة من الوجود. يمكنك العيش في حالة من الأمل ، وفي تلك الحالة هناك أيضًا الحب والإيمان والسعادة.

باري Vissell هو المؤلف المشارك لكتاب:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1573241555. maxresults = 1}

عن المؤلفين)

جويس وVissell باريجويس وVissell باريممرضة / معالج وطبيب نفسي منذ عام 1964 ، هم مستشارون بالقرب من سانتا كروز كاليفورنيا ، وهم متحمسون للعلاقة الواعية والنمو الشخصي-الروحي. يُنظر إليهم على نطاق واسع على أنهم من بين أفضل خبراء العالم في العلاقات الواعية والنمو الشخصي. جوي وباري هم مؤلفو 9 كتب ، بما في ذلك في القلب مشتركة، نماذج من الحب, المخاطر إلى أن تلتئم, للقلب الحكمة, من المفترض أن تكون, و الأم هدية النهائي. اتصل برقم 831-684-2299 للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول جلسات الاستشارة عبر الهاتف / الفيديو أو عبر الإنترنت أو شخصيًا ، كتبهمأو التسجيلات أو الجدول الزمني للمحادثات وورش العمل. زيارة موقع الويب الخاص بهم في SharedHeart.org لفراغهم شهريا heartletter الإلكترونية، والجدول الزمني لها المحدثة، والمقالات الماضي ملهمة حول العديد من المواضيع حول علاقة والمعيشية من القلب.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

اكتشاف بوابتك الخاصة إلى الروح
اكتشاف بوابتك الخاصة إلى الروح
by سيرج بيدنجتون بيرنس
سن اليأس ، مستقبلك ، اختياراتك
سن اليأس ، مستقبلك ، اختياراتك
by بارب ديبري ، دكتوراه في الطب
ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

Against All Odds … Hanging on to Hope

Against All Odds … Hanging on to Hope

In the 2000 movie, Where the Heart Is, seventeen year old Novalee Nation (played by Natalie Portman), while crossing the country in search of a new life, is abandoned by her loser boyfriend at a small town Walmart store.

Last week, Joyce and I witnessed an eerily similar story. Driving north through the Sacramento Valley on Highway 5, we saw a sign for a California Welcome Center in Anderson and pulled off to have dinner in our camper. While heating up some soup, it was getting dark outside and we noticed a young woman pushing a baby stroller up to the now closed facility. She started setting up her “home,” basically just a blanket to lie on, in a semi-protected alcove outside one of the locked doors. I was finishing preparing dinner, so Joyce and our four-year-old golden retriever, Rosie, went to say hello.

She came back and told me the young woman’s story. Lucinda was dropped off by her boyfriend at a Walmart across the street one and a half years ago. He promised to wait for her outside in his car. Perhaps he got the idea from the movie, but he, too, drove off. She has been homeless ever since, but told Joyce in a clear, calm voice, “He’ll be back to pick me up.”

I had to check on her myself, so I went over to her. Rosie ran ahead. By now they were best buddies. While she petted Rosie, I asked, “Would you like some soup?”

“No thanks.” Her voice was actually chipper. “I had dinner already.” I wondered if it was at a homeless shelter.

Determined to help, I then asked, “Do you need any money?”

“No thanks. I’m fine.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Hanging On To Hope

It surprised me that she actually sounded fine, but also seemed to not want to talk very much. I glanced at her total possessions, a blanket to lie on, another blanket to put on top of her, and a very few other things in the baby stroller. Rosie and I said good night to her and walked back to our camper to have dinner.

Joyce and I talked about this very unusual woman. The experienced therapist part of ourselves had to label her as deeply in denial, and most likely mentally ill in some way. A normal person doesn’t wait a year and a half after being abandoned. But something just didn’t add up. She was very clear in her speech and thought, at least from the little we heard. Against all odds, she seemed to be convinced that her boyfriend would be coming back for her.

Who are we to deny her this hope? Who are we to tell her he will never come back for her, that this is a classic Cinderella fantasy, waiting to be rescued by her prince? Something in her is simply convinced, and is hanging on to hope.

Hope As A Spiritual Practice

There is the term “false hope.” But can hope ever really be false? Maybe improbable, but never false. Someone hopes their terminal cancer can be healed. It’s unlikely, but not impossible. I’m hoping I can heal my knee without having to have a knee replacement. My doctors are skeptical, but I have something in my healing regimen that few doctors believe in. It’s hope … and the power of prayer. I’ve seen what prayer can do. It’s a power that makes the improbable very possible.

And that’s the real secret about hope. It’s a spiritual practice! Hope is in fact a prayer. You can’t hope without praying. The homeless young woman’s hope is her prayer for her beloved. To us, he is a loser boyfriend. You have to be a loser to abandon someone like that. But what if he goes on to learn valuable lessons about love … and self-forgiveness … and does return a new man, asking her forgiveness? Improbable, we say, but not impossible.

Faith, Hope, and Love

Remember the often quoted lines from First Corinthians 13 about faith, hope and love, with love being the most important. Perhaps that’s so, but I believe faith and hope are contained within love, and love within faith and hope. How can you really separate these three vital ingredients? When you hope with all your heart, you are living in love. To have faith is to open up to the power of love. And when you love, you are living in a state of hope and faith.

Many years ago, after I betrayed Joyce by having sex with her best friend, I remember how deeply I held onto hope. I hoped she would see my changes and learn to trust me again. I hoped we would grow into even more love and connection. I spoke this hope out loud to her during the times when she was in deep pain and anger. She has always told me how much this helped her in the dark moments.

Don’t ever lose hope, whether it’s for a new relationship, a better relationship, a more fulfilling job, having children, having a better relationship with your children, or getting through health challenges. When you feel your hope, you are in a state of prayer.

One of our beloved teachers, Pearl Dorris, often used to say, “What your attention is upon, you become.” Put your attention upon hope, and you become what you hope for. Remember, hope is not just a verb. It’s also a state of being. You can live in a state of hopefulness, and in that state there is also love, faith and happiness.

Barry Vissell is the co-author of the book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=1573241555;maxresults=1}

About the Author(s)

Joyce & Barry VissellJoyce & Barry Vissell, a nurse/therapist and psychiatrist couple since 1964, are counselors, near Santa Cruz CA, who are passionate about conscious relationship and personal-spiritual growth. They are widely regarded as among the world's top experts on conscious relationship and personal growth. Joye & Barry are the authors of 9 books, including The Shared Heart, Models of Love, Risk To Be Healed, The Heart’s Wisdom, Meant To Be, and A Mother’s Final Gift. Call 831-684-2299 for further information on counseling sessions by phone/video, online, or in person, their books, recordings or their schedule of talks and workshops. Visit their web site at SharedHeart.org for their free monthly e-heartletter, their updated schedule, and inspiring past articles on many topics about relationship and living from the heart.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…