التعبير عن عواطفك من خلال الفن

التعبير عن العواطف من خلال الفن

وشهدت الذين الريح؟
لا أنت ولا أنا:
ولكن عندما الأشجار تنحني رؤوسهم،
الريح والمارة.

- كريستينا روسيتي (1830-1894)

مثل الريح في هذه أنشودة للأطفال القديمة، والعواطف غير مرئية. لا نستطيع أن نرى بشكل مباشر مع رؤيتنا العادية. بدلا من ذلك، فإننا نشعر بها في أجسامنا. نفس الكلمة - مشاعر - يصف كل من الأحاسيس الجسدية والعواطف. هذا ليس من قبيل الصدفة. بالتأكيد مرت عليك:

  1. العصبية التي أعطيتك الفراشات في معدتك
  2. الغضب الذي أحرق لكم
  3. الخوف من أن أوقفتم الباردة
  4. الإثارة التي كنت قد قفز من شدة الفرح
  5. الحب والعطف الذي ذاب قلبك
  6. المعبأة في زجاجات الحزن حتى أن يترك غصة في الحلق
  7. الإغاثة أن يشعر كما لو كان قد تم رفع الوزن من كتفيك

كما للكشف عن مشاعر الآخرين، وانت تعرف من خلال اللوحات. حتى عندما يجري الكلام لا توجد كلمات، وانت تعرف غالبا ما يحدث داخل شخص آخر. الحزن يظهر في الغضب، ودمعة في عبوس، هرج في لفتة اليد الهم والخوف في القدم بالعصبية الشديدة، والسعادة في ابتسامة الأذن إلى الأذن.

لغة الجسد أبلغ من الكلام

عندما يتعلق الأمر الى العواطف، ولغة الجسد أبلغ من الكلام. وقد أعلن أحد من أي وقت مضى لك، "من أنا؟ غاضب؟ لا، لست انا على ما يرام." وقال بعد لهجة قص والفك مجموعة قصة مختلفة. هذا هو جوهر التناقض: قول شيء واحد ولكن الشعور والتفكير بشيء آخر. حتى الآن وربما كنت لم ينخدع. الوجه والصوت تتناقض مع الحقيقة الحقيقية. وسوف يخرج العواطف، شئنا أم أبينا.

الجذور اللاتينية لكلمة العاطفة نقول للحكاية كاملة: ه (من) + movere (التحرك). مشاعر إما تدفق بصورة طبيعية، مثل النهر، أو الحصول على اقامة سد يصل. إذا منعت، فإنها قد تصل بشكل جيد في اللاوعي، تلك المنطقة الجوفية العميقة جدا للضوء من الوعي للوصول. يمكن زحزحة العواطف غير مرغوب فيه إلى أعماق لدينا يسبب الصداع التوتر أو ما هو أسوأ. في نهاية المطاف، فإن هذه المشاعر اليتامى تسرب، فيضان، أو انفجر في طوفان.

فمن طبيعة لتحريك العواطف. إذا كنت تريد أن ترى لنفسك، ومشاهدة الرضع والأطفال الصغار. قبل تعلموه إلى بعض العواطف سحق، الصغار مجرد السماح لهم للخروج. ثلاث سنوات من العمر جانا والحضن لها دمية دب عندما يتم سحبها فجأة للخروج من يديها من قبل زميل اللعب. جانا يعوي مع الغضب. تسعة عاما بوبي، على تعلم أن الأرانب الحيوانات الأليفة له قد مات، وعلى الفور رشقات نارية في البكاء من الحزن.

العواطف توفر الدافع للعمل من أجل بقائنا. تعلمت تانيا للخوف من حركة المرور عندما شاهدت كلب حي صدمته سيارة. خوفها يمنعها من اللعب في الشارع، وبالتالي خدمة الحياة.

العواطف تمكننا من احتضان الحياة

العواطف ستمكننا أيضا لاحتضان الحياة، والصدق الحماس والإبداع،. مشاعر إحياء لنا، وإعطاء اللون والملمس لتجاربنا. أن تشعر طائفة كاملة من العواطف مثل اللوحة مع لوحة كاملة من الألوان. اسأل أي شخص قد شهدت فترات شديدة أو مستمرة من الاكتئاب. عندما تتلاشى مشاعر، واحد مسطح عاطفيا، تبدو الحياة بالكاد تستحق أن تعاش. في الواقع، هذه الحالة الرمادية يؤدي أحيانا أفكار انتحارية أو الإجراءات.

من الباقين على قيد الحياة لمجرد تشهد حيوية صحيح، والعواطف يخدم مصالحنا جيدا. ومع ذلك، فإننا بحاجة إلى معرفة ما هي المشاعر وما علينا أن نتعلم منها.

  1. كيف يمكنني العثور على مشاعري وشعرت حقا لهم؟
  2. ذات مرة كنت في الحصول على اتصال معهم، وماذا أفعل مع مشاعري؟
  3. كيف يمكنني التعامل مع شعور معين مثل الخوف، والشعور بالوحدة والحزن، أو الغضب؟

العواطف يمكن ان يكون فوضوي وغير عقلاني

آه، نعم. العواطف. هؤلاء، غير منطقي فوضوي، التباس، غير مطيع المحتالون القليل الذي يطفو على السطح في أكثر لحظات في غير محله. فقط عندما كنت تعتقد انك قد انتهى الحزن وفاة أحد أفراد أسرته، والدموع تبدأ فجأة يموج في وسط من السوبر ماركت. أو كنت معينة لذلك كان لديك غضبك في الاختيار، فقط لأنها قد يقفز خارجا في نوبة غضب في مكان العمل، من جميع الأماكن. تقلصت فجأة من المهنية المختصة لطفل جامحة رمي نوبة. كيف محرجة، مدى خطورة. يمكن أن تفجر هذه حتى تصبح أكثر فتكا عندما تندلع باسم "طريق الغضب" بينما كان يقود سيارته الى منزله من العمل في التوقف والذهاب حركة المرور.

نقرأ عن إدارة عواطفنا أو السيطرة على الانفعالات. ونحن نحاول. ولكن ماذا يحدث في كثير من الأحيان هو أننا قمع (الاشياء لأسفل) أو قمع (تنكر) مشاعرنا الجامحة. مثل مجموعة متنوعة من الخيزران أن ينتشر عن طريق شبكة ضخمة من تحت الارض جذور متفرعة، خفض نحن عواطفنا الى هنا فقط ليكون لهم تظهر ياردة، من خلال الحصى والخرسانة والطوب من حياتنا. وحيث مشاعرنا الخفية جحظ التالي: في غرفة النوم أو في اجتماع لمجلس الادارة؟ في كنيسة أو في الطريق إلى العمل؟

على الجانب الآخر من الطيف هم الناس الذين لا يمكن أن يشعر عن المشاعر ما اذا كانت حياتهم تتوقف على ذلك. (ونوعية حياتهم وصحتهم لا تعتمد على ذلك، أود أن أؤكد لكم.) ماذا يحدث لأولئك الذين مخدر أو محشوة عواطفهم لانها كانت مجرد مؤلمة جدا، ومخيف، أو غير مقبول من يشعر بها؟ بعض من هؤلاء الناس تتحول إلى الإدمان أو دواء لمشاعرهم رزين. آخرون تخزين العواطف في الحجرات من أجسامهم ويعانون من اضطرابات الإجهاد. تذكر، وسوف يخرج العواطف، عاجلا أو آجلا. لديهم لمواصلة التحرك.

العواطف والطب الجسم العقل

وقد أظهرت الدراسات المختلفة التي 80 في المئة تقريبا من زيارات للطبيب هي نتيجة للظروف المرتبطة بالتوتر. وأدلة متزايدة على أن كثير من الأمراض هي مجرد صرخات الاستغاثة مع العواطف. البحث في مجموعات الدعم، وتقديم المشورة على الجسم، العقل، والتأمل، معبرة العلاج الفنون، والارتجاع البيولوجي، وغيرها من طرق العلاج علم النفس الروحاني يدل على ان الكثير من المرضى تحسن، والذهاب إلى مغفرة، أو يعيشون أطول من مجموعات المراقبة. هذا الخط من التحقيق ليست جديدة. في Selye 1970s الدكتور هانز، في كتابه ضغوط الحياة، وكينيث بللوتيه، في الذهن والعقل، كما المعالج القاتل، تعيين خارج الإقليم. قدم الدكتور هربرت بنسون من جامعة هارفارد التوجيه العملي في كتابه تخفيف الاستجابةوفي 80s '، الزميلة بينسون، والدكتور جوان Borysenko، وسعت على تقنيات التأمل والاسترخاء في كتابها التدبير الهيئة، اصلاح العقل.

بواسطة 90s في '، وفهمنا لكيفية الأفكار والمشاعر تؤثر في أجسامنا، والعكس بالعكس، ونمت على قدم وساق. كما أخصائي العلاج الطبيعي فن وزعيم مجموعات دعم صحة، في '80s وأوائل الراحل 90s نشرت العديد من الكتب عن هيئة العقل الشفاء والتعافي من خلال الفنون. وأنا ممتن للدعم والتأييد من Borysenko الدكتور الدكتور بيرني سيجل (الأورام، ومؤلف كتاب الحب، والطب ومعجزات)، أبناء العم نورمان (الذين ضحك نفسه أيضا)، والدكتور جيمس Pennebaker، الذي بحث في القوة الشافية للكتابة وقد أيدت نتائج بلدي.

البديل أو الطب الجسم العقل

في العقد الماضي، ما يسمى البديل أو الطب على الجسم، العقل، نظرت مرة fringy ويساير الموضة من قبل المؤسسة الطبية، وانتقلت تدريجيا في اتجاه التيار. شركات الأدوية الكبرى والإعلان عن خط الخاصة بهم من العلاجات العشبية على شاشات التلفزيون. قبل عشر سنوات، كانت لا تزال تعتبر هذه الجرع المجال من الدجالين أو السحرة. وبطبيعة الحال، إلا أنها لا تزال في بعض الأوساط، لكن المد يتحول بوضوح مطلب شعبي. استطلاعات الرأي والدراسات تشير إلى أن واحدا من كل ثلاثة أمريكيين يتجهون إلى وسائل الانتصاف والعلاجات البديلة أو كلية الطب: العلاج بتقويم العمود الفقري، والوخز بالإبر، جسد العقل العلاجات، الارتجاع البيولوجي، التنويم المغناطيسي، الطب الطبيعي، والمثلية. بعض شركات التأمين الصحي، بعد أن أدرك قيمة الدولار لإنقاذ هذه النهج، والتي تغطي الآن أشياء مثل العلاج بتقويم العمود الفقري والوخز بالإبر.

الأطباء السمعة مثل بيرني سيجل وDossey لاري حتى الحديث عن الصلاة والطب واستشهد البيانات من العلوم الصعبة مع استكمال الدراسات سيطرة على مجموعة قابلة للتكرار. الأمر يزداد أكثر وأكثر صعوبة لهؤلاء الأطباء تفنيد من ذوي الخبرة والباحثين وغريبي الأطوار. انطلاقا من شعبية من الكتاب والمتحدثين مثل الطبيب ديباك شوبرا، الذي شاع في الفن القديم الهندي من الطب الهندي القديم، والدكتور كريستيان نورثرب، الذي يجلب التعاطف والحس السليم للطب المرأة، ويتم الاستماع للجمهور مع كل آذان.

كتابة يوميات أو حول المرض واحد من

وقد أظهرت الأبحاث جيمس عالم النفس الدكتور Pennebaker وغيرهم أن الكتابة عن المرض المرء في الواقع يعزز مناعة واحدة. عندما التقينا ومقارنة الملاحظات في 80s الراحل '، Pennebaker اعترف على الفور قيمة لي طريقة مجلة الإبداعية. على الرغم من انه لم يدرج في رسم مشاريع أبحاثه المنشورة، واقترح أن Pennebaker كانت متجذرة شفاء عفوي كنت أشاهده مع موكلي والطلاب في نفس المنطلق كان يعمل مع: التعبير العاطفي والشفاء. عمل ألفريد طبيب Tomatis الدكتور (المؤلف من تأثير موزارت) هو جذب انتباه الأشخاص العاديين، فضلا عن العاملين في مجال الصحة. قد يكون وصفة طبية من الغد أن "استمع لهذه سوناتا واتصل بي في الصباح."

في (الفصل الثالثالذين يعيشون مع شعور بواسطة Capacchione لوسيا) عليك قراءة دراسة الحالة واحدة من الطلاب مجلة بلادي، لوسيل، الذي تلتئم نفسها من خلال حوار مكتوب. في تحول في الأدوار، وأبلغ هذا المريض شجاع طبيبها مشكك انها تريد ان تأجيل عملية جراحية استكشافية لحالة مزمنة لدرجة أنها يمكن أن يكتب لأول مرة الحديث مع جزء من الجسم في السؤال. بعد دردشة الجسم لوسيل، واختفت الأعراض، والى غير رجعة. وكانت المفاجأة الطبيب، وأصبحت عملية جراحية من أي نوع (استكشافية أو غير ذلك) لا لزوم لها.

صحي التعبير عن مشاعرنا الحقيقية

واحد من الباحثين الأكثر احتراما في الجسم، عقل العلم هو الدكتور كانداس باء برت، أستاذ باحث في قسم الفيزياء الحيوية وعلم وظائف الأعضاء في جامعة جورج تاون. في كتابها الرائد، جزيئات العاطفة: لماذا تشعر الطريقة التي تشعر بهاالدكتور برت يجعل حجة قوية للتعبير صحي من مشاعرنا الحقيقية. وقد وجدت أنه إذا كان التعبير الخارجي لا يطابق محسوسة العاطفة الداخلية - وبعبارة أخرى، إذا كان يتم تتعارض شخص - صراع تم إعداده في الجسم التي تستنزف الطاقة بعيدا عن الأجهزة الحيوية في الجسم. في كتابها، وقالت انها كتب ما يلي:

وقد أظهرت الأبحاث لي أنه عندما يتم التعبير عن المشاعر - وهذا هو القول بأن المواد الكيميائية الحيوية التي هي ركيزة من عاطفة تتدفق بحرية - كل الأنظمة المتحدة والتي كلها. عندما يتم قمع العواطف، ورفض، لا يجوز أن يكون أيا كانت، والحصول على سدت السبل شبكتنا، ووقف تدفق المواد الكيميائية تبدو جيدة توحيد حيوي التي تعمل على حد سواء لدينا علم الأحياء وسلوكنا. هذا، في اعتقادي، هي حالة من الشعور الدامي نريد ماسة جدا للهروب من. المخدرات، مشروعة أو غير مشروعة، ووقف زيادة مردود العديدة التي تسمح للشبكة نفسية لتعمل بطريقة متوازنة الطبيعية، ووضع الشروط اللازمة لذلك حتى الجسدية، فضلا عن الاضطرابات النفسية.

العواطف إحياء بنا والوقود إبداعنا

العواطف من خلال تحرك لنا عندما يتم قبولها، وأعرب عن. عندما يحدث هذا، والمشاعر إحياء لنا وقود قدرتنا على الإبداع. استنادا إلى مختبر من تجربتي الخاصة في الحياة، إلى جانب أكثر من خمسة وعشرين عاما من الممارسة السريرية، والتعليم، والمراسلات مع القراء، ولقد صممت أنشطة التي تعاني من العواطف مباشرة من خلال وسائل الإعلام الفنون التعبيرية. وتشمل هذه الرسم والتصوير، الكولاج، والصلصال، والموسيقى، وحركة، والكتابة، وصنع القناع، والحوارات المثيرة. أسارع الى القول أن ليس لديك لتكون موهبة أو مهارة في فنون استخدام هذه المواد.

اسمحوا لي أن أؤكد لكم أنه، على خلاف الفنون المسرحية والمعارض والفنون التعبيرية يخدم في المقام الأول باعتباره الطريق إلى المشاعر. انكم لن يكون نقد أو طلب لاظهار عملك إلى أي شخص آخر. الناقد فقط سوف يجتمع هو داخل واحد.

\أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
Penguin Putnam Inc. © 2002. www.penguinputnam.com

المادة المصدر:

الذين يعيشون مع الشعور: فن التعبير العاطفي
بواسطة لوسيا Capacchione.

 يوضح الدليل التفصيلي والدليل التعليمي كيفية استخدام التمارين البسيطة للتعبير عن الغضب المكبوت عن طريق التطبيل ، وإطلاق مشاعر الأذى عن طريق طين الصب ، والاتصال بالطفل الداخلي لدينا عن طريق الكتابة بيدنا غير المهيمنة ، والبدء في النهاية في طريق اكتشاف الذات .

للحصول على معلومات و / أو طلب هذا الكتاب (إصدار أحدث / غلاف مختلف).

عن المؤلف

لوسيا Capacchione

لوسيا CAPACCHIONE، دكتوراه، ATR، هو المعالج الفن والفنان والكاتب والزعيم الشعبي ورشة عمل، فضلا عن مستشار للشركات التي عملت على هولمارك، ماتيل، وشركة والت ديزني. وهي تعيش بالقرب من سور كبير، كاليفورنيا. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في http://www.luciac.com

الفيديو: طريقة المجلة الإبداعية و Visioning®

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا الكاتب.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Expressing your Emotions through Art

Express your Emotions through Art

Who has seen the wind?
Neither you nor I:
But when the trees bow down their heads,
The wind is passing by.

                                   -- CHRISTINA ROSSETTI (1830-1894)

Like the wind in this old nursery rhyme, emotions are invisible. We can't see them directly with our normal vision. Rather, we feel them in our bodies. The same word -- feelings -- describes both physical sensations and emotions. This is no accident. Certainly you have experienced:

  1. nervousness that gave you butterflies in your stomach
  2. anger that burned you up
  3. fear that stopped you cold
  4. excitement that had you jumping for joy
  5. love and affection that melted your heart
  6. bottled up sadness that left a lump in your throat
  7. relief that felt as if a weight had been lifted from your shoulders

As for detecting other people's emotions, you know by the signs. Even when no words are spoken, you often know what's going on inside another person. Sadness shows up in a teardrop, anger in a frown, playfulness in a carefree hand gesture, fear in a jittery foot, happiness in an ear-to-ear grin.

Body Language Speaks Louder Than Words

When it comes to emotions, body language speaks louder than words. Has anyone ever declared to you, "Who, me? Angry? No, I'm not. I'm just fine." Yet the clipped tone and set jaw told a different story. This is the quintessence of incongruity: saying one thing but feeling and thinking something else. Yet you probably were not fooled. The face and voice belie the real truth. Emotions will come out, like it or not.

The Latin roots of the word emotion tell the whole tale: e (out) + movere (move). Feelings either flow naturally, like a river, or get dammed up. If blocked, they may well up in the subconscious, that subterranean region too deep for the light of awareness to reach. Relegating unwanted emotions to our depths can cause tension headaches or worse. Eventually, these orphaned feelings will leak out, overflow, or burst out in a deluge.

It is the nature of emotions to move. If you want to see for yourself, watch infants and young children. Before they've learned to squelch certain emotions, little kids just let them out. Three-year-old Jana is cuddling her teddy bear when it is abruptly pulled out of her hands by a playmate. Jana howls with anger. Nine-year-old Bobby, upon learning that his pet rabbit has died, immediately bursts into sobs of grief.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Emotions provide motivation to act for our own survival. Tanya learned to fear traffic when she saw a neighborhood dog hit by a car. Her fear keeps her from playing in the street and is therefore life serving.

Emotions Enable Us to Embrace Life

Emotions also enable us to embrace life with honesty, creativity, and enthusiasm. Feelings enliven us, giving color and texture to our experiences. To feel the full range of emotions is like painting with a complete palette of colors. Ask anyone who has experienced severe or sustained periods of depression. When feelings vanish, and one is emotionally flat, life hardly seems worth living. In fact, this gray state sometimes triggers suicidal thoughts or actions.

From merely surviving to experiencing true vitality, emotions serve us well. However, we need to know what emotions are and what we have to learn from them.

  1. How do I find my emotions and really feel them?
  2. Once I get in touch with them, what do I do with my emotions?
  3. How do I handle a specific feeling such as fear, loneliness, grief, or rage?

Emotions Can Be Messy and Irrational

Ah, yes. Emotions. Those messy, irrational, confounding, naughty little tricksters who pop up at the most inopportune moments. Just when you thought you had finished grieving the death of a loved one, tears suddenly start welling up right in the middle of the supermarket. Or you were so certain you had your anger in check, only to have it leap out in a temper tantrum at work, of all places. Suddenly you shrank from a competent professional to an unruly child throwing a fit. How embarrassing, how dangerous. Such outbursts can become even more lethal when they erupt as "road rage" while driving home from work in stop-and-go traffic.

We read about managing our emotions or impulse control. And we try. But what often happens is that we suppress (stuff down) or repress (deny) our unruly feelings. Like the variety of bamboo that spreads through a massive network of underground branching roots, we cut our emotions down here only to have them show up yards away, through the concrete, gravel, and bricks of our life. Where will our hidden feelings pop out next: in the bedroom or at a board meeting? At church or on the way to work?

On the opposite side of the spectrum are the people who couldn't feel an emotion if their lives depended on it. (And the quality of their lives and health do depend on it, I assure you.) What happens to those who have numbed or stuffed their emotions because it's been just too painful, scary, or unacceptable to feel them? Some of these people turn to addictions or medication to sedate their feelings. Others store the emotions in the closets of their bodies and suffer from stress disorders. Remember, emotions will come out, sooner or later. They've got to keep moving.

Emotions and Body-Mind Medicine

Various studies have shown that approximately 80 percent of visits to the doctor are the result of stress-related conditions. And evidence is mounting that many illnesses are simply cries for help with emotions. Research into support groups, body-mind counseling, meditation, expressive arts therapy, biofeedback, and other psychospiritual treatment methods shows that, many patients improve, go into remission, or live longer than control groups. This line of inquiry is not new. In the 1970s Dr. Hans Selye, in his book The Stress of Life, and Kenneth Pelletier, in Mind as Healer, Mind as Slayer, mapped out the territory. Dr. Herbert Benson of Harvard provided practical guidance in his book The Relaxation Response, and in the '80s, Benson's associate, Dr. Joan Borysenko, expanded upon meditation and relaxation techniques in her book Minding the Body, Mending the Mind.

By the '90s, our understanding of how thoughts and emotions affect our bodies, and vice versa, had grown by leaps and bounds. As an art therapist and leader of health support groups, in the late '80s and early '90s I published several books on body-mind healing and recovery through the arts. I was grateful for support and endorsements from Dr. Borysenko, Dr. Bernie Siegel (oncologist and author of Love, Medicine and Miracles), Norman Cousins (who laughed himself well), and Dr. James Pennebaker, whose research into the healing power of writing has corroborated my own findings.

Alternative or Body-Mind Medicine

In the last decade, so-called alternative or body-mind medicine, once considered fringy and faddish by the medical establishment, has gradually moved toward the mainstream. Big pharmaceutical companies are advertising their own line of herbal remedies on television. Ten years ago, such potions were still considered the domain of quacks or witches. Of course, they still are in some quarters, but the tide is clearly shifting by popular demand. Polls and studies indicate that one in three Americans are turning to remedies and treatments of alternative or holistic medicine: chiropractic, acupuncture, body-mind therapies, biofeedback, hypnotherapy, naturopathic medicine, and homeopathy. Some health insurance companies, having recognized the dollar-saving value of these approaches, are now covering such things as chiropractic and acupuncture.

Reputable physicians like Bernie Siegel and Larry Dossey even talk about prayer as medicine and cite data from hard science complete with replicable control-group studies. It's getting more and more difficult to pooh-pooh these experienced clinicians and researchers as oddballs. Judging from the popularity of authors and speakers like physician Deepak Chopra, who has popularized the ancient Indian art of ayurvedic medicine, and Dr. Christiane Northrup, who brings compassion and common sense to women's medicine, the public is listening with all ears.

Writing or Journaling About One's Illness

The research of psychologist Dr. James Pennebaker and others has shown that writing about one's illness actually boosts one's immunity. When we met and compared notes in the late '80s, Pennebaker immediately recognized the value of my Creative Journal method. Although he hadn't included drawing in his published research projects, Pennebaker suggested that the spontaneous healing I was seeing with my clients and students was rooted in the same premise he was working with: Emotional expression is healing. The work of physician Dr. Alfred Tomatis (author of The Mozart Effect) is attracting the attention of laypeople as well as health professionals. The medical prescription of tomorrow may be "Listen to this sonata and call me in the morning."

In Chapter Three (Living with Feeling by Lucia Capacchione) you'll read the case study of one of my journal students, Lucille, who healed herself through a written dialogue. In a reversal of roles, this spunky patient informed her skeptical physician that she wanted to postpone exploratory surgery for a chronic condition so that she could first write a conversation with the body part in question. After Lucille's body chat, the symptoms disappeared, never to return. Much to the doctor's surprise, surgery of any kind (exploratory or otherwise) became unnecessary.

Healthy Expression of Our True Feelings

One of the most respected researchers in body-mind science is Dr. Candace B. Pert, researcher professor in the Department of Biophysics and Physiology at Georgetown University. In her groundbreaking book, Molecules of Emotion: Why You Feel the Way You Feel, Dr. Pert makes a strong case for the healthy expression of our true feelings. She has found that if the outward expression does not match the inner emotion being felt -- in other words, if a person is being incongruent -- a conflict is set up in the body that drains energy away from the vital organs. In her book, she writes:

My research has shown me that when emotions are expressed -- which is to say that the biochemicals that are the substrate of emotion are flowing freely -- all systems are united and made whole. When emotions are repressed, denied, not allowed to be whatever they may be, our network pathways get blocked, stopping the flow of the vital feel-good unifying chemicals that run both our biology and our behavior. This, I believe, is the state of unhealed feeling we want so desperately to escape from. Drugs, legal or illegal, are further interrupting the many feedback loops that allow the psychosomatic network to function in a natural balanced way, and therefore setting up conditions for somatic as well as mental disorders.

Emotions Enliven Us & Fuel Our Creativity

Emotions move through us when they are accepted and expressed. When this happens, feelings enliven us and fuel our creativity. Based on the laboratory of my own life experience, coupled with more than twenty-five years of clinical practice, teaching, and correspondence with readers, I have designed activities for experiencing emotions directly through expressive arts media. These include drawing, painting, collage, clay, music, movement, writing, mask making, and dramatic dialogues. I hasten to add that you don't have to be talented or skilled in the arts to use these materials.

Let me assure you that, unlike the performing and exhibition arts, expressive arts serve primarily as a road into feelings. You will not be critiqued or asked to show your work to anyone else. The only critic you'll meet is the one inside.

\Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Penguin Putnam Inc. ©2002. www.penguinputnam.com

Article Source:

Living With Feeling: The Art of Emotional Expression
by Lucia Capacchione.

 An outline and instructional guide explains how to use simple exercises to express pent-up anger by drumming, release hurt feelings by molding clay, contact our inner child by writing with our non-dominant hand, and ultimately begin on the road to self-discovery.

For Info and/or to /Order this book (newer edition/different cover).               

About the Author

Lucia Capacchione

LUCIA CAPACCHIONE, Ph.D., A.T.R., is an art therapist, artist, author, and popular workshop leader, as well as a corporate consultant who has worked for Hallmark, Mattel, and the Walt Disney Company. She lives near Big Sur, California. Visit her website at http://www.luciac.com

Video: The Creative Journal Method & Visioning®

More books by this author.

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...
InnerSelf.com Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
When we think of greed, we usually think about money and material possessions. However, greed can…

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
Transformation: Taking Back our Power from People and Parasites
Transformation: Taking Back our Power from People and Parasites
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
I believe that both Lyme disease and parasites are teaching us to love ourselves, claim our power,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
a model standing on a runway facing her shadow... all in green
Befriending the Shadow: Transforming Darkness Into Light
by Robert Ohotto
When we don't recognize or accept certain parts of our own nature - positive and negative - we'll…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.