اضطرابات الأكل هي حول الألم العاطفي - وليس الغذاء

اضطرابات الأكل هي حول الألم العاطفي - وليس الغذاء تايلور سويفت ، أحد ملايين الأميركيين الذين عانوا من اضطراب في الأكل. صور AP / Invision / تشارلز سايكس

في بلدها فيلم وثائقي "ملكة جمال أمريكا ،"أيقونة الموسيقى تايلور سويفت كشفت تاريخها من اضطرابات الأكل. ويؤكد الوحي لها حقيقة أن هذه الاضطرابات لا تميز. وفقًا لمنظمة الدعوة والتوعية اضطرابات الأكل التحالف، وضرب جميع الأجناس والأجناس والأعراق والخلفيات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية.

على الرغم من انتشارها - المشكلة في جميع أنحاء العالم - أساطير عن اضطرابات الأكل يزخر. مثل أنهم اختيار. هم ليسوا. أو أنها ليست مشكلة كبيرة. هم انهم. أو أن الشخص المصاب باضطراب الأكل يعاني من نقص شديد في الوزن. ليس دائما.

ك عالم نفسي مرخص وأستاذ علم النفس ، أجد أنه من الشائع لعملائي وطلابي أن يقولوا "إن القليل من الطعام يساعدني في قلقي" أو "أنا لست ضعيفًا بدرجة كافية لأعاني من اضطراب في الأكل". غالبًا ما تمنع هذه المعتقدات الناس من إدراك أن لديهم مشكلة. يشارك أكثر في اضطراب الأكل من الغذاء ، أو صورة الجسم. شخص ما يجتاحه أحد يحاول تنظيم بعض المشاعر الصعبة والمعقدة للغاية.

اضطرابات الأكل هي حول الألم العاطفي - وليس الغذاء اضطراب الأكل لا يتعلق بإدارة الوزن ؛ إنه يتعلق بإدارة العواطف. غيتي إيمجز / فوتو ستوك - إسرائيل

ما هو اضطراب في الأكل؟

اضطرابات الاكل تنقسم إلى ثلاث فئات أساسية: اضطرابات التقييد ، أو فقدان الشهية ؛ الشراهة ، المعروفة طبيا باسم الشراهة عند تناول الطعام ؛ والازدحام يليه تعويض - مثل القيء المستحث ذاتيا - والذي يسمى الشره المرضي.

تفكيك أكثر: تقييد يعني الحد من السعرات الحرارية لدرجة أن فقدان الوزن أكثر من المتوقع لطول معين والوزن. هذا لا يعني بالضرورة أن الشخص سيظهر هزيلًا. على سبيل المثال ، لا يزال الشخص الذي كان في التسعينات المئوية بالنسبة للوزن ، يُنظر إليه على أنه مصاب بفقدان الشهية إذا خفض وزنه إلى المئوية السبعين.

الشراهة هي أكثر من مجرد إفراط في تناول الطعام. تناول الطعام خارج عن السيطرة ، مما يؤدي إلى شعور شديد بالامتلاء والشعور بالذنب ، عادة في غضون ساعتين بعد الأكل. عن طريق الشراهة ، يمكن للشخص التحقق من ظروف الحياة للتركيز فقط على الطعام.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مع الشره المرضي، يتبع الشراهة إجراء لتعويض السعرات الحرارية المستهلكة. التطهير هو واحد منهم ، لكن هناك تمرينات أخرى ، بما في ذلك التمرين ، خاصةً عندما يتم نقله إلى أقصى الحدود. على الرغم من أن التمرين غالباً ما يتم تجاهله كشكل من أشكال التعويض ، إلا أنه شخص مدمن عليها لديه أكثر من ثلاثة أضعاف ضعف احتمالية إصابتك باضطراب الأكل أكثر من شخص واحد.

يجب التأكيد على أن كل هذه الاضطرابات لا تؤدي دائمًا إلى فقدان الوزن. أولئك الذين يعانون من اضطراب في الأكل والشره المرضي قد يكون في أو فوق الوزن المتوقع.

اضطرابات الأكل هي حول الألم العاطفي - وليس الغذاء مع اضطراب الأكل ، فإن تغيير أنماط الوجبة لا يكفي. صور غيتي / كونتريك

جذر اضطراب الأكل

اضطرابات الأكل ليست حول إدارة الوزن. بالأحرى ، إنها طريقة لإدارة العواطف. عندما يصف موكلي ما يعنيه تقييد أنفسهم عن الطعام ، فإنهم يتحدثون غالبًا عن "فارغة" والشعور "بالخدر" في العالم.

خذ شخصًا يتعامل مع ثلاثي الذنب والعار والإحراج. Bingeing فعال للغاية في دفن هذه المشاعر. كذلك تعويضات، أداة لإعطاء المصاب استراحة من الاضطراب العاطفي. الارتياح الذي يتلقونه هو معزز ، وهو قوي بشكل غير عادي. التطهير ، والإفراط في تناول الطعام ، والتعويض - كل ذلك شعور جيد. بسرعة كبيرة ، يتكرر النمط.

بعض الإجابات

ببساطة تغيير أنماط الأكل لن ينجح. بدلاً من ذلك ، يجب على المصابين تحديد المشاعر التي يواجهونها أولاً. ثم يأتي البحث عن استراتيجيات أفضل للتعامل مع تلك المشاعر. في غضون ذلك ، لا يوجد شيء جيد مثل اضطراب الأكل. ولكن ببطء ، عندما تتولى السلوكيات الصحية ، تصبح أكثر تقوية من الاضطراب.

مع 24 فبراير بمناسبة بداية الأسبوع الوطني للتوعية باضطرابات الأكل، هناك شيء واحد تحتاج إلى تذكره إذا كنت تعرف شخصًا يعاني من اضطراب في الأكل. انهم يعانون من آلام عاطفية كبيرة. اضطراب الأكل هو محاولة لتوصيل هذا الألم. إذا بدا أن الطعام أو التمرين يدير حياة أحد أفراد العائلة أو صديق أو زميل ، فيمكنك المساعدة بالتركيز عليها وعلى تجربتهما المعيشية - وليس فقط على الطعام.

عن المؤلف

ميشيل باترسون فوردمحاضر في علم النفس ، كلية ديكنسون

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Eating Disorders Are About Emotional Pain – Not Food

Eating Disorders Are About Emotional Pain – Not Food Taylor Swift, one of millions of Americans who has struggled with an eating disorder. AP Images/Invision/Charles Sykes

In her documentary “Miss Americana,” music icon Taylor Swift disclosed her history of eating disorders. Her revelation underscores the fact these disorders do not discriminate. According to the advocacy and awareness organization Eating Disorders Coalition, they strike all genders, races, ethnicities and socioeconomic backgrounds.

Despite their prevalence – the problem is worldwide – myths about eating disorders abound. Such as that they are a choice. They are not. Or they’re not a big deal. They are. Or that a person with an eating disorder is always severely underweight. Not always.

As a licensed psychologist and psychology professor, I find it’s common for my clients and students to say “A little food helps me with my anxiety” or “I’m not thin enough to have an eating disorder.” Such beliefs often prevent people from recognizing they have a problem. More is involved in an eating disorder than food, or body image. Someone gripped by one is attempting to regulate some very difficult and complicated emotions.

Eating Disorders Are About Emotional Pain – Not Food An eating disorder is not about managing weight; it’s about managing emotions. Getty Images / PhotoStock-Israel

What is an eating disorder?

Eating disorders fall into three basic categories: disorders of restriction, or anorexia; bingeing, known medically as binge eating disorder; and bingeing followed by compensation – such as self-induced vomiting – which is called bulimia.

Unpacked further: Restriction means limiting calories so much that weight loss is more than expected for a given height and weight. This does not necessarily mean the person will appear emaciated. Someone who was at the 90th percentile for weight, for example, could still be considered anorexic if they reduced their weight to the 70th percentile.

Bingeing is more than simply overeating. It’s out-of-control eating, leading to extreme feelings of fullness and guilt, typically within a couple of hours after a meal. By bingeing, a person can check out of life circumstances to focus only on food.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


With bulimia, a binge is followed by an action to compensate for the calories consumed. Purging is one of them, but there are others, including exercise, particularly when it’s taken to an extreme. Although exercise is often overlooked as a form of compensation, a person addicted to it has more than three-and-a-half times the likelihood to be diagnosed with an eating disorder than a person a without one.

It should be emphasized that not all of these disorders always result in weight loss. Those with binge eating disorder and bulimia may be at or above expected weight.

Eating Disorders Are About Emotional Pain – Not Food With an eating disorder, changing meal patterns isn’t enough. Getty Images / Kontrec

The root of an eating disorder

Eating disorders aren’t about managing weight. Rather, they’re a way to manage emotions. When my clients describe what it’s like to restrict themselves from food, they often talk of being “empty” and feeling “numb” to the world.

Take someone dealing with a trifecta of guilt, shame and embarrassment. Bingeing is exceedingly effective at burying these emotions. So is compensation, a tool to give the sufferer a break from the emotional turmoil. The relief they receive is a reinforcer, and it’s extraordinarily powerful. Purging, overeating, compensating – it all feels good. Very quickly, the pattern is repeated.

Some answers

Simply changing eating patterns won’t work. Instead, sufferers must first identify the feelings they’re experiencing. Then comes a search for better strategies to deal with those feelings. In the interim, nothing feels as good as the eating disorder. But slowly, as healthy behaviors take over, they become more reinforcing than the disorder.

With Feb. 24 marking the beginning of National Eating Disorders Awareness Week, there’s one thing you need to remember if you know someone with an eating disorder. They are experiencing significant emotional pain; the eating disorder is an attempt to communicate that pain. If food or exercise appears to be running the life of a family member, friend or colleague, you can help by focusing on them and their lived experience – and not exclusively on the food.

About the Author

Michele Patterson Ford, Lecturer in Psychology, Dickinson College

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)