عالقة في زجاجة حبوب منع الحمل وكتاب محدود: المشكلة الأخرى في الطب النفسي والعلاج النفسي

عالقة في زجاجة حبوب منع الحمل وكتاب محدود: المشكلة الأخرى في الطب النفسي والعلاج النفسي
الصورة عن طريق جوكا نيتيتيما

نحن جميعًا على دراية بنموذج الرسوم الكاريكاتورية للطبيب النفسي باعتباره رجلًا ملتحًا يدون ملاحظات على وسادة بينما مريضه مستلقٍ على الأريكة. لكن في هذه الأيام ، من المرجح أن يكون المريض جالسًا في وضع مستقيم على كرسي ، وقد يقوم الطبيب النفسي بكتابة وصفة طبية أو ملاحظات مكتوبة على وسادة أو كتابة على جهاز كمبيوتر. علم الأدوية النفسي هو أمر اليوم.

لدي مشكلة؟ خذ حبة لا تعمل؟ جرب حبة أخرى ، أو أضف قرصًا آخر إلى ما تتناوله بالفعل. قد لا تستغرق الزيارة سوى خمسة عشر أو عشرين دقيقة ، وأحدث مصطلح يستخدم لهذا النوع من الرعاية هو "إدارة الدواء".

نعم ، قد يجد طبيبك النفسي في النهاية دواء يجعلك تشعر بتحسن ، وهذا شيء جيد. لكن الأدوية تعالج الأعراض ، وليس ما يسبب المشكلة. ولكي تحافظ على الشعور بالتحسن ، فأنت بحاجة إلى الاستمرار في تناول الدواء. بالنسبة لبعض المرضى ، فإن استمرار الدواء ضروري ، وهذا يتوقف على أنواع الاضطرابات العاطفية التي نتحدث عنها. لكن بالنسبة للكثيرين ، قد لا يكون الأمر كذلك.

ماذا في تلك الزجاجة؟

عندما يتعلق الأمر بمعالجة اضطرابات القلق ، فإن الأدوية التي تم تناولها لسنوات كانت (وفي كثير من الحالات لا تزال) البنزوديازيبينات ، تم بيعها لأول مرة تجاريًا في عام 1960 باسم Librium (الكلورديازيبوكسيد) ، ثم تبعتها Valium (الديازيبام) بعد ذلك بسنوات قليلة. على مر السنين ، تم إضافة المزيد من أنواع البنزوديازيبينات إلى القائمة الأصلية. يعد كل من Ativan (lorazepam) و Klonopin (clonazepam) و Xanax (alprazolam) حاليًا من بين الأكثر شعبية.

نظرًا للإمكانات المسببة للإدمان لهذه "benzos" ومسائل السحب اللاحقة ، يتم إدراجها كمواد خاضعة للرقابة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن أن تكون البنزوديازيبينات خطيرة عندما تقترن ببعض أدوية الألم ، بما في ذلك المواد الأفيونية. لذلك ، العديد من الأطباء الابتعاد عن هذه الأدوية المضادة للقلق. في الآونة الأخيرة ، تم اعتماد بعض مضادات الالتهاب الاشتراكية القاتلة (مثبطات امتصاص السيروتونين الانتقائية) ، التي استخدمت لفترة طويلة في علاج الاكتئاب ، واستخدمت لعلاج القلق. تم تقديم SSRI Prozac (فلوكستين) في عام 1987 ، تلاه لاحقًا Zoloft (sertraline) ، Paxil (paroxetine) ، Celexa (citalopram) و Lexapro (escitalopram).

لدي مشكلة؟ تأخذ حبوب منع الحمل؟

وصف حبوب منع الحمل هو الطريقة التي يريد الكثير من الناس علاج مشكلتهم ، سواء كانت عقلية أو جسدية. إن العديد من المنتجات الصيدلانية منقذة للحياة حقًا ، ويمكنها أن تعالج بنجاح مجموعة متنوعة من الاضطرابات العقلية والبدنية ويجب ألا ننسى ذلك. ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بمعالجة اضطرابات القلق - بما في ذلك متلازمة الإجهاد اللاحق للصدمة والقلق العام والرهاب - فإن الاختلافات العديدة في العلاج السلوكي المعرفي ، بما في ذلك طريقة LPA الخاصة بي ، يمكن أن تكون أكثر فاعلية. ذلك لأن النهج قادر على إحداث تغييرات دائمة في طريقة تفكير الناس وردهم. يقوم المريض بتطوير الأدوات للوصول إلى نفس المشكلة القديمة من منظور جديد ، وتغيير الطريقة التي سيتصرف بها.

نظرًا لأن هناك الكثير من الأدوية الموصوفة ، فإن إحدى المشكلات الكبيرة في نظام الرعاية الصحية النفسية والعقلية الحالية تتمثل في الإفراط الهائل في استخدام الدواء مع مزج الأدوية المؤثرات العقلية ومطابقتها ، وغالبًا ما لا يتم تخصيصها للعلاج المقصود. ليس من غير المعتاد رؤية شخص يتناول ثلاثة إلى خمسة أدوية ولا يشعر بتحسن ، أو حتى يشعر بسوء أكثر من الآثار الجانبية المتعددة. عدم وجود اختبار واضح للدم أو التصوير للكشف عن الاضطرابات النفسية يترك التشخيص يصل إلى الطبيب. في كثير من الأحيان ، يمكن أن يهيمن على الصورة التفكير الشخصي أو كتابة وصفة طبية سهلة أو التأثيرات الدوائية أو اعتبارات استرداد التأمين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


كما أرى ، فإن التشخيص المفرط للاضطراب الثنائي القطب للتهيج أو المزاج والاستخدام الواسع النطاق لمضادات الاكتئاب للأشخاص غير سعداء الذين لا يعانون من الاكتئاب السريري ، شيء لم تتعامل معه مهنة الطب النفسي بشكل كافٍ. وأشار بعض الخبراء الذين يدرسون اضطرابات المزاج والاكتئاب إلى أن أكثر من نصف الذين عولجوا بمضادات الاكتئاب يفشلون في الاستجابة للدواء.

عندما تبلى آثار حبوب منع الحمل ، تبقى المشكلة. الطريقة الوحيدة للحفاظ على المشكلة في الخليج هي الحفاظ على تناول الحبوب. في بعض الحالات ، يمكن أن يسبب الإقلاع عن حبوب منع الحمل الكثير من الخراب في كيمياء المخ مما يؤدي إلى حدوث مشاكل أكثر للمريض.

حتى مشاكل العقل والجسم ، مثل الأرق المزمن ، قد تستجيب بشكل أفضل للعلاج السلوكي المعرفي. في عام 2016 ، أوصت الكلية الأمريكية للأطباء العلاج المعرفي السلوكي كعلاج أولي بدلاً من الأدوية للعديد من المرضى البالغين الذين يعانون من صعوبات مزمنة في النوم. وفي مرضاي ، عندما يكونون قادرين على معالجة مشكلة تم التغلب عليها في الليل والتغلب عليها ، خمنوا ماذا؟ يمكنهم النوم. بدون المعونة من حبوب منع الحمل.

و DSM وسخطها

DSM لتقف على الدليل التشخيصي والإحصائي للاضطرابات النفسية. جنبا إلى جنب مع التدوين والتصنيف ، يتم استخدام هذه تومي بانتظام لتشخيص المرضى ، وإرسال الكثير في طريق الأدوية. على الرغم من أن DSM هو مورد ضروري لتدوين وتصنيف الاضطرابات العقلية ، وقد حاولت الميول البيولوجية الحالية لسوء الحظ تطبيب العديد من التجارب الاجتماعية والتغيرات البشرية الطبيعية ، وإلصاق الملصقات على العديد من الحالات التي يبدو أنها آراء أكثر ذاتية وتخمينات معقولة.

جميع في DSM يطلق عليه موقع الويب "التصنيف القياسي للاضطرابات العقلية المستخدمة من قبل متخصصي الصحة العقلية في الولايات المتحدة" أ DSM التشخيص هو شرط ضروري لمعظم التفاعلات مع شركات التأمين والمستشفيات والعيادات وشركات الأدوية والمحامين ونظام المحاكم. لذلك يمكنك أن ترى مدى أهمية هذه التعريفات التشخيصية.

لكن هذا لا يعني أن هذه التعريفات دقيقة دائمًا. كما أنها ليست شاملة: في بعض الحالات ، يتركون الأعراض الرئيسية أو يسيئون استخدامها ، لأن DSM "غالبًا ما يكون وضع العلامات التشخيصية أبسطًا وأحاديًا البعد. لا تأخذ في الاعتبار العوامل الأساسية مثل بيئة المريض أو نظام الدعم أو نوع الشخصية من أجل إعطاء تقييم دقيق. نحن جميعًا أفراد - تختلف حياتنا وعواطفنا وشخصياتنا وكيف يمكننا معالجة المعلومات من خلال أنظمتنا العصبية. لا يوجد اثنان منا متماثلان ، ويمكن أن يختلف كل ملصق تشخيصي من شخص لآخر.

حتى الآن ، في حين أن DSMإن الدقة قابلة للنقاش ، حيث يتم تصنيف عدد لا يحصى من المرضى أو العملاء من المتخصصين في الصحة العقلية وفقًا لمعاييرها - لدرجة أنه يشار إليها غالبًا باسم "الكتاب المقدس" للأمراض النفسية. لكنه أبعد ما يكون عن أي كتاب من أي نوع. في أحسن الأحوال ، إنه دليل. وقد أطلق البعض عليه اسم القاموس ، حيث يحاول تصنيف الاضطرابات العقلية المتعددة ، لكنه يتضمن تفكيرًا شخصيًا أكثر بكثير من التحقق العلمي. يتطلب الأمر نهجًا من أعلى إلى أسفل ، باستخدام قائمة مرجعية بالأعراض بطريقة أحادية البعد ، بدلاً من تقييم من القاعدة إلى القمة ، والذي من شأنه أن ينظر في العوامل المتعددة في حياة الشخص وخلفيته ، ويعالجها وكذلك الأعراض ، وبعد ذلك ، في التشخيص.

على عكس الطريقة التي يعمل بها التشخيص الطبي ، DSM التنسيق هو قائمة مرجعية. لا يتضمن تاريخًا متعدد الأبعاد للأعراض أو المعامل أو إجراءات التصوير (التي ، بالطبع ، لا وجود لها بعد) أو الأسباب المحتملة للاضطراب من خلال وسطاء بيولوجيين ، أو كيف يتعامل كل فرد مع هذه الأعراض بشكل مختلف. كل هذه عوامل أساسية في إجراء تقييم جيد والتخطيط لمسار العمل من حيث الرعاية. ولكن في الوقت نفسه ، مع إضافة المزيد من الملصقات مع كل إصدار جديد ، تم إدخال الصورة الطبية للعديد من السلوكيات ، والتي يمكن أن يكون بعضها بالكامل ضمن النطاق الطبيعي ، في الصورة. وهنا تعود الأدوية.

على سبيل المثال، DSM أعطت علامة جديدة لتهدئة نوبات الغضب: اضطراب اضطراب مزاج اضطراب المزاج. كذلك ، فإن الإفراط في تناول الطعام (يُعرَّف بأنه أكثر من اثني عشر مرة في ثلاثة أشهر ولكن ليس بالضرورة تم الالتزام به سريريًا) يسمى الآن Binge Eating Disorder وتمت الموافقة على علاج له ، على الرغم من أننا محاطون بالغذاء الجيد وأن الكثير من الأمريكيين يتناولون الطعام بشكل كبير. المسألة بالطبع. بالنسبة لمعظم الأشخاص الزائدين عن الحاجة ، قد يكون برنامج تعديل السلوك الذي يركز على اضطرابات الأكل أكثر فاعلية ويدوم لفترة أطول. ولكن لدينا الآن علامة للأمراض النفسية مع دراسات أو أبحاث محدودة تقدم للجمهور ، لذلك يتم الإعلان عن هذا السلوك كاضطراب. وتخيل ماذا؟ وهنا حبوب منع الحمل لعلاجه.

الإفراط في الأدوية الوباء

لقد قيل أن صناعة المستحضرات الصيدلانية لها تأثير أكبر وأكبر على عقول أولئك الذين ينشئون DSM. في السنوات الأخيرة ، رأينا "أوبئة" اضطراب نقص الانتباه / فرط النشاط (ADHD) واضطراب ثنائي القطب في مرحلة الطفولة ، مما يؤدي إلى التدبير المتكرر عن طريق الدواء. هذا يعزز أهداف "Big Pharma" المتمثلة في وصف الدواء لمعالجة معظم الاضطرابات العقلية ، على الرغم من أن العديد من المشكلات العقلية يمكن حلها من خلال الاختلافات التي تركز على المشكلات في "علاج الحديث" ، بل وأكثر من ذلك بواسطة CBT ونسختي ، LPA.

ومرة أخرى ، لا يمكن إنكار أن بعض الأمراض العقلية الشديدة ، مثل الفصام واضطرابات القطبين والاكتئاب السريري ، تستجيب جيدًا للأدوية وتتطلب أدوية مستمرة من أجل الإدارة الفعالة. ومع الإدارة الجيدة للأدوية ، أصبحنا جميعًا أكثر أمانًا وصحة ونعيش حياة أطول بسبب تقدم المستحضرات الصيدلانية. ولكن من الصحيح أيضًا أن الحاجة إلى توسيع وبيع المزيد من المنتجات يعد حافزًا لا نهاية له لهذه الشركات العملاقة.

إليكم مثال آخر: الحزن. الحالي DSM-5 قد خططت لتشمل الحزن ، أو الفجيعة ، كاضطراب الاكتئاب. كان ذلك سيسمح لأطباء الرعاية الأولية (الذين بالمناسبة يصفون أكثر من اللازم) 50 في المئة من الأدوية ذات المؤثرات العقلية) لإدماج الفجي كاضطراب مُدار طبيًا. بمعنى آخر ، إذا كنت حزينًا ، فقد يصفون علاجًا صيدلانيًا. الكثير من أجل إجراء عملية طبيعية وصحية للتجربة ومعالجة الفقد.

لحسن الحظ ، كانت الضجة ضد هذا التصنيف الخاطئ حادة لدرجة أنه تم إسقاطه من الجديد DSM-5. كما أن الإدمان السلوكي ، مثل "إدمان الجنس" ، و "إدمان التمرينات" ، و "إدمان التسوق" أثبت أنه مثير للجدل ولا يتم إدراجه في الجديد. DSMعلى الرغم من كثيرين على DSM-5 كانت اللوحات قد أحببت وضع علامة تشخيص على ما قد يكون تجارب أو اختيارات طبيعية للحياة ، بناءً على الآراء الشخصية أكثر من أي أساس طبي / نفسي سليم. لم يتم التحقق من صحة الاضطرابات النفسية الرئيسية عن طريق الاختبارات البيولوجية ، ومن المحبط أن ندرك أن الملصقات المذكورة أعلاه التي تم اقتراحها للجديدة DSM-5 قد تم إدراجها كاضطرابات دون التحقق من الصحة. إن الاعتقاد بأن الكثير من الأميركيين ، الذين يُقنعون بسهولة بالتسوق من قِبل المعلنين والذهاب إلى أماكن التسوق عندما تسمح مواردهم المالية بذلك ، يمكن أن يوصفوا بأنفسهم باضطراب عقلي يتحدى الفطرة السليمة.

لقد وصل كل هذا إلى انتباه المعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية (NIMH) ، والذي أوضح أن الجديد DSM-5 هو أكثر من القاموس من "الكتاب المقدس" من الاضطرابات. ال DSM يقدم مصطلحات مشتركة ؛ ضعفها ، وفقا لمدير NIMH الماضي ، الدكتور توماس Insel ، هو صحة. DSM تستند التشخيصات إلى مجموعات من الأعراض ، وليس على أي تدابير مختبرية ، كما في الطب العام.

نفس المشاكل ، نهج مختلف

لكن لحسن الحظ ، يواصل الأطباء المسؤولون استخدام حكمهم الطبي لتقييم الاضطرابات العقلية وتقييمها وعلاجها بطريقة متعددة الأبعاد. وهذا يعني أخذ تاريخ مفصل ، والنظر في الاستجابات الفردية والتكيفات ، بما في ذلك بعض العوامل والقضايا البيولوجية والاجتماعية والمتعلمة في خطة علاجية فعالة.

لا يمكن تسجيل التهيج وتقلبات الحالة المزاجية اليومية ببساطة كاضطراب ثنائي القطب ، وهو "تشخيص دو جور" الحالي ، فقط لإرضاء شركة تأمين ودعم استخدام الأدوية. لا يوجد سبب لتلقي العلاج لشخص ما لمجرد أنه محبط أو غير سعيد إذا لم يلب بعض المعايير السريرية الراسخة للاكتئاب أو اضطراب المزاج.

يمكن أن يؤدي الخلل في اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة الناجم عن الاكتئاب النقي ، والذي قد يكون أحد جوانب اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة (على سبيل المثال مجرد مثال للعديد من الأمثلة) إلى وصف مجموعة من الأدوية عديمة الفائدة التي لا تفعل شيئًا لحل المشكلة أو الكامنة وراء الأعراض. العثور على العلاج المناسب ليست بسيطة. ما قد يعمل لمريض واحد قد لا يعمل لآخر.

علم الأدوية النفسي ليس رصاصة سحرية ، كما تعلمنا في علاج الاكتئاب ، حيث قد يفشل الدواء في كثير من الأحيان. لا توجد علاجات نفسية ديناميكية تتعرج حولها مع عدم وجود هدف ثابت في الأفق. لكن تقنيات العلاج المعرفي السلوكي للدكتور آرون بيك العظيم أظهرت نتائج ممتازة في علاج العديد من أشكال الاكتئاب. تعمل تقنياته أيضًا مع العديد من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مشاكل شائعة - بما في ذلك الرهاب والقلق وأشكال اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة غير المعترف بها في كثير من الأحيان - لا الأدوية أو العلاجات النفسية الديناميكية فعالة تمامًا في المساعدة على حل المشكلة.

حقوق الطبع والنشر 2018 للدكتور روبرت لندن.
نشرتها Kettlehole Publishing، LLC

المادة المصدر

البحث عن الحرية بسرعة: العلاج على المدى القصير الذي يعمل
روبرت ط

البحث عن الحرية السريعة: العلاج على المدى القصير أن يعمل روبرت ت. لندن MDقل وداعا للقلق ، Phobias ، اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة ، والأرق. البحث عن الحرية بسرعة كتاب ثوري ، من القرن العاشر عشر ، يوضح كيفية إدارة المشاكل الصحية العقلية التي نراها بسرعة مثل القلق ، الرهاب ، اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة ، والأرق بعلاج أقل على المدى الطويل ، وأدوية قليلة أو معدومة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي. متوفر أيضًا في إصدار Kindle.

كتب ذات صلة

عن المؤلف

Robert T. London MDلقد كان الدكتور لندن طبيبًا / طبيبًا نفسيًا ممارسًا لمدة أربعة عقود. بالنسبة لسنوات 20 ، قام بتطوير وتشغيل وحدة العلاج النفسي على المدى القصير في المركز الطبي لجامعة نيويورك لانغون ، حيث تخصص وطور العديد من تقنيات العلاج المعرفي قصيرة المدى. كما يقدم خبرته كطبيب استشاري نفساني. في 1970s ، استضاف الدكتور لندن برنامج إذاعته للرعاية الصحية الموجهة نحو المستهلك ، والذي تم الترويج له على المستوى الوطني. في 1980s ، أنشأ "المساء مع الأطباء" ، وهو اجتماع على طراز قاعة المدينة لمدة ثلاث ساعات للجماهير غير الطبية - الرائد في برنامج تلفزيوني اليوم "الأطباء". لمزيد من المعلومات ، تفضل بزيارة www.findfreedomfast.com

مقابلة إذاعية مع Robert T. London: Find Freedom Fast

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
3 مفاتيح للعمل الهادف
3 مفاتيح للعمل الهادف
by مهران نجاتي وأزاده الشافعي

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
هل كنت جزءًا من المشكلة آخر مرة؟ هل ستكون جزءًا من الحل هذه المرة؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
هل قمت بالتسجيل للتصويت؟ هل صوتت؟ إذا كنت لن تصوت ، فستكون جزءًا من المشكلة.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...

Stuck in a Pill Bottle and a Limited Book: The Other Problem with Psychiatry and Psychotherapy

Stuck in a Pill Bottle and a Limited Book: The Other Problem with Psychiatry and Psychotherapy
Image by Jukka Niittymaa

We’re all familiar with the cartoon archetype of the psychiatrist as a bearded man taking notes on a pad while his patient lies prone on the couch. But these days, the patient’s more likely to be sitting upright in a chair, and the psychiatrist may well be writing a prescrip­tion, scrawling notes on a pad or typing into a computer. Psychopharmacology is the order of the day.

Got a problem? Take a pill. Doesn’t work? Try a different pill, or add another pill to what you’re already taking. The visit may be only fifteen or twenty minutes, and the newest term used for this type of care is “medication management.”

Yes, your psychopharmacologist may eventually find a medication that makes you feel better, and that’s a good thing. But medications treat symptoms, not what’s causing the problem. And in order to keep feeling better, you need to keep taking the medication. For some patients, continued medication is essential, depending on what types of emotional disorders we are speaking about. But for many, it may not be.

What’s in That Bottle?

When it comes to treating anxiety disorders, the go-to medications for years were (and in many cases still are) the benzodiazepines, first sold commercially in 1960 as Librium (chlordiazepoxide) and followed a few years later by Valium (diazepam). Over the years, more types of benzodiazepines have been added to the original list. Ativan (lorazepam), Klonopin (clonazepam), and Xanax (alprazolam) are currently among the most popular.

Due to the addictive potential of these “benzos” and subsequent withdrawal issues, they are listed as controlled substances. In addi­tion, benzodiazepines can be dangerous when combined with certain pain medications, including opiates. So, many clinicians are moving away from these anti-anxiety medications. Recently some the SSRIs (selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors), long used in the treatment of depression, have been approved and used for the treatment of anxiety. The SSRI Prozac (fluoxetine) was introduced in 1987, later followed by Zoloft (sertraline), Paxil (paroxetine), Celexa (citalopram) and Lexapro (escitalopram).

Got a Problem? Take a Pill?

Prescribing a pill is the way many people want to cure their prob­lem, whether it’s mental or physical. Many pharmaceutical products are truly life-saving, and can successfully treat a variety of mental and physical disorders and we should not forget that. But when it comes to treating anxiety disorders— including post-traumatic stress syndrome, generalized anxiety, and phobias—the many variations of Cognitive Behavior Therapy, includ­ing my own LPA method, can be even more effective. That’s because the approach is able to create lasting changes in how people think and respond. The patient develops the tools to come at the same old prob­lem from a new perspective, and change the way he or she will behave.

Because so many medications are prescribed, one of the great problems in today’s psychiatric and mental health care system is the tremendous overuse of medication with the mixing and matching of psychotropic medication all too often not designated for the intended treatment. It’s not unusual to see a person taking three to five medica­tions and not feeling any better, or even feeling worse from the mul­tiple side effects. The lack of clear blood testing or imaging to detect psychiatric disorders leaves the diagnosis up to the clinician. All too often, subjective thinking, writing a prescription that’s easy, pharma­cological influences, or insurance reimbursement considerations can dominate the picture.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


As I see it, the over diagnosis of bipolar disorder for irritability or moodiness and the widespread use of antidepressants for unhappy people who are not clinically depressed is something the psychiatric profession has yet to deal with adequately. And some experts who study mood disorders and depression have pointed out that more than half of those treated with antidepressants fail to respond to the medication.

When a pill’s effects wear off, the problem remains. The only way to keep the problem at bay is to keep taking the pills. In some cases, getting off the pills can cause so much havoc to the brain chemistry that it creates even more problems for the patient.

Even mind-body problems, such as chronic insomnia, may re­spond better to Cognitive Behavior Therapy. In 2016, the American College of Phy­sicians recommended CBT as first-line treatment instead of medication for many adult patients with chronic sleeping difficulties. And in my own patients, when they are able to tackle and overcome a problem that’s been keeping them up at night, guess what? They can get to sleep. Without the aid of a pill.

The DSM and Its Discontents

DSM stands for Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Men­tal Disorders. Along with codification and classification, this tome is regularly used to diagnose patients, sending many down the path of medica­tions. Although the DSM is a necessary resource to codify and classify mental disorders, its current biological leanings have unfortunately tried to medicalize many social experiences and normal human varia­tions, affixing labels to many conditions that appear to be more sub­jective opinions and reasonable guesses.

The DSM’s website calls it “the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the U.S.” A DSM diag­nosis is a necessary requirement for most interactions with insurance companies, hospitals and clinics, pharmaceutical companies, lawyers and the court system. So you can see just how important these diag­nostic definitions can be.

But that does not mean these definitions are always accurate. Nor are they comprehensive: in some cases, they leave out or misattribute key symptoms, because the DSM’s diagnostic labeling is often sim­plistic and one-dimensional. It does not take into consideration such essential factors as a patient’s environment, support system, or per­sonality type in order to give an accurate assessment. We are all individuals—our lives, our emotions, our personalities, and how we may process information through our nervous systems are different. No two of us are the same, and each and every diagnostic label can differ from person to person.

Yet, while the DSM’s accuracy is debatable, countless patients or clients of mental health professionals are nevertheless categorized by its standards—so much so that it’s often referred to as the “bible” of psychiatric illnesses. But it is far from a bible of any sort. At best, it’s a guidebook. Some have called it a dictionary, as it attempts to clas­sify multiple mental disorders, but includes far more subjective think­ing than scientific validation. It takes a top-down approach, using a checklist of symptoms in a one-dimensional manner, as opposed to a bottom-up assessment, which would look at the multiple factors in a person’s life and background, and factor them as well as the symp­toms, and then, on that, make a diagnosis.

Unlike the way medical diagnosis often works, the DSM format is a checklist. It does not include a multidimensional history of the symp­toms, labs, imaging procedures (which, of course, do not exist yet) or possible causes of the disorder through biological mediators, or how each and every individual copes differently with these symptoms. All of these are key factors in making a good assessment and plotting a course of action in terms of care. But at the same time, as more labels are added with each new edition, the medicalization of many behav­iors, some of which can be entirely within the range of normal, has entered the picture. And that’s where medications come back in.

For example, the DSM has given a new label to temper tantrums: Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder. Also, excessive eating (de­fined as more than twelve times in three months but not necessar­ily clinically adhered to) is now called Binge Eating Disorder and a medication has been approved for it, even though we are surrounded by great food and many Americans overeat as a matter of course. For most problem overeaters, a behavior modification program centered around eating disorders is probably more effective and longer lasting. But we now have a psychiatric label with limited studies or research offered to the public, so this behavior is advertised as a disorder. And guess what? Here’s a pill to treat it.

The Over-Medication Epidemic

It’s been suggested that the pharmaceutical industry is having a greater and greater influence on the minds of those creating the DSM. In recent years, we’ve seen “epidemics” of Attention-Deficit/Hyper-activity Disorder (ADHD) and childhood Bipolar Disorder, leading to frequent management by medication. This enhances the “Big Pharma” goals of prescribing medication to handle most mental disorders, even though many mental problems can be resolved by problem-fo­cused variations of the “talking cure,” and even more by CBT and my version, LPA.

Again, it’s undeniably true that some severe mental illnesses, such as the schizophrenias, bipolar disorders, and clinical depression, re­spond well to medication and require ongoing medication for effec­tive management. And with good medication management, we are all safer, healthier, and live longer lives due to the advances of pharmaceuticals. But it’s also true that the need to expand and sell more prod­ucts is an endless motivation for these corporate giants.

Here’s another example: grief. The current DSM-5 had planned to include grief, or bereavement, as a depressive disorder. That would have allowed primary care physicians (who by the way prescribe well over 50 percent of psychotropic medications) to incorporate bereave­ment as a medicinally managed disorder. In other words, if you were grieving, they might have prescribed a pharmaceutical cure. So much for going through a natural and healthy process of experiencing and processing loss.

Luckily, the outcry against this wrongheaded classification was so intense that it was dropped from the new DSM-5. And behavioral addictions, such as “Sex Addiction,” “Exercise Addiction,” and “Shop­ping Addiction” also proved controversial and are not included in the new DSM, although many on the DSM-5 panels would have loved to slap a diagnostic label on what might be normal life experiences or choices, based more on personal opinions than any sound medical/ psychiatric basis. The major mental disorders have yet to be validated by biological testing, and it’s disheartening to realize that the labels above that were proposed for the new DSM-5 would have been listed as disorders without scientific validation. To think that many Ameri­cans, who are easily persuaded to shop by advertisers and go on shop­ping sprees when their finances allow it, could be subjectively labeled with a mental disorder defies common sense.

All of this has come to the attention of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), which has made it clear that the new DSM-5 is more a dictionary than a “bible” of disorders. The DSM offers a com­mon terminology; its weakness, according to the past NIMH director, Dr. Thomas Insel, is validity. DSM diagnoses are based on clusters of symptoms, not on any laboratory measures, as in general medicine.

Same Problems, Different Approach

But fortunately, responsible clinicians do continue to use their own medical judgment to assess, evaluate, and treat mental disorders in a multidimensional manner. That means taking a detailed history, considering individual responses and adaptations, and including some biological, sociological, and learned factors and issues into an effective treatment plan.

Irritability and daily mood swings cannot be simply logged in as a bipolar disorder, the current “diagnosis du jour,” just to satisfy an insurer and support the use of medications. There is no reason to medicate someone for simply being frustrated or un­happy if they don’t meet certain well-established clinical criteria for depression or a mood disorder.

Mistaking PTSD for pure depression, which may be one aspect of PTSD (to cite just one example of many) may lead to prescribing a useless cocktail of medi­cations that do nothing to fix the problem or underlying the symp­toms. Finding the proper therapy is not simple. What may work for one patient may not work for another.

Psychopharmacology isn’t a magic bullet, as we have learned in treating depression, where often one or more medications may fail. Neither are psychodynamic thera­pies that meander around and around with no fixed goal in sight. But the CBT techniques of the great Dr. Aaron Beck have demonstrated excellent results in treating many forms of depression. His techniques also work as well as for many people who struggle with commonly seen problems—including phobias, anxiety, and often-unrecognized forms of PTSD—neither medications nor psychodynamic therapies are completely effective in helping to solve the problem.

Copyright 2018 by Dr. Robert London.
Published by Kettlehole Publishing, LLC

Article Source

Find Freedom Fast: Short-Term Therapy That Works
by Robert T. London M.D.

Find Freedom Fast: Short-Term Therapy That Works by Robert T. London M.D.Say Goodbye to Anxiety, Phobias, PTSD, and Insomnia. Find Freedom Fast is a revolutionary, 21st-century book that demonstrates how to quickly manage commonly seen mental health problems like anxiety, phobias, PTSD, and insomnia with less long-term therapy and fewer or no medications.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book. Also available in a Kindle edition.

Related Books

About the Author

Robert T. London M.D.Dr. London has been a practicing physician/psychiatrist for four decades. For 20 years, he developed and ran the short-term psychotherapy unit at the NYU Langone Medical Center, where he specialized and developed numerous short-term cognitive therapy techniques. He also offers his expertise as a consulting psychiatrist. In the 1970s, Dr. London was host of his own consumer-oriented health care radio program, which was syndicated nationally. In the 1980s, he created “Evening with the Doctors,” a three-hour town hall style meeting for nonmedical audiences—the forerunner to today’s TV show “The Doctors.” For more info, visit www.findfreedomfast.com

Radio interview with Robert T. London: Find Freedom Fast

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…