جديد للكلية؟ لماذا يجب أن تقضي بعض الوقت وحدها

جديد للكلية؟ لماذا يجب أن تقضي بعض الوقت وحدها

تشير الأبحاث إلى أن البحث عن العزلة - للأسباب الصحيحة - يمكن أن يكون مفيدًا لطلاب السنة الأولى في الكلية.

إن كيفية إدارة الشباب البالغين للانتقال إلى المرحلة الانتقالية المجهدة إلى الكلية لها آثار طويلة المدى على أدائهم الأكاديمي وقدرتهم على الالتزام بدراساتهم. أظهرت الأبحاث أن المأزق المتكرر خلال هذه الفترة الانتقالية من المدرسة الثانوية إلى الكلية هو العزلة الاجتماعية. يمكن للوحدة ، بالطبع ، أن يكون لها تأثير ضار خطير على الصحة العقلية للطالب ، مما قد يؤدي إلى الاكتئاب.

"أن تكون وحيدًا لا يجعلك وحيدًا."

لكن كونك بمفردك ليس سيئًا بالضرورة ، اقترح نتائج جديدة في المجلة الدافع والعاطفة.

يقول المؤلف الرئيسي ثوي نجوين ، الذي حصل على الدكتوراه في علم النفس من الجامعة: "يرتبط الاقتراب من العزلة للتمتع والقيم الجوهرية بالصحة النفسية ، لا سيما بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لا يشعرون وكأنهم ينتمون إلى مجموعاتهم الاجتماعية". من روتشستر في 2018 والذي قام بجزء كبير من البحث لهذه الدراسة في روتشستر.

يقول نغوين ، الذي سينضم إلى جامعة دورهام في إنجلترا في خريف هذا العام: "هذه النتائج تسلط الضوء على أهمية تعزيز القدرة على الاستمتاع وتقدير الوقت الانفرادي كتجربة ذات معنى ، بدلاً من محاولة تجاهلها أو الهروب منها". دكتور جامعى.

وحده للأسباب الصحيحة

ما الذي يميز الفرق بين العزلة المفيدة والضرر المحتمل؟ المفتاح هو الدافع الإيجابي ، وفقا للباحثين. يرتبط السعي السليم والمستقل للوقت وحده بمزيد من احترام الذات وإحساس أكبر بالشعور بالآخرين والشعور بالوحدة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وعلى العكس ، فإن الشخص الذي يريد أن يكون بمفرده بسبب التجارب الاجتماعية السلبية سيواجه على الأرجح الآثار السلبية للعزلة ، مثل العزلة أو الانسحاب الاجتماعي. تخلص الدراسة إلى أن الأسباب مهمة لأنها تحدد كيف نعاني من العزلة والفوائد التي يمكن أن نحصل عليها منه.

تقوم نغوين بالبناء على أبحاث مرشديها ، إدوارد ديسي وريتشارد ريان ، مؤسسا شركة نظرية تقرير المصير (المعاملة الخاصة والتفضيلية). يلاحظ الباحثون أن الإطار النظري للمعاملة الخاصة والتفضيلية يناسب بشكل جيد التحقيق في كيفية مساهمة دوافع الأفراد لقضاء الوقت بمفردهم في الرفاه. حسب التعريف ، يشير الدافع الذاتي للوحدة بمفرده إلى قرار الشخص بقضاء بعض الوقت في عزلة بطريقة قيمة وممتعة للشخص.

الوقت لنفسك

أظهرت الأبحاث السابقة أن قضاء الكثير من الوقت في التواصل الاجتماعي خلال السنة الأولى من الكلية - ونتيجة لقضاء القليل من الوقت لنفسه - قد يكون مرتبطًا بضعف التكيف.

ولكن على مدار دراستين ، أجريت مع طلاب جامعيين في السنة الأولى من 147 في الولايات المتحدة (اختبارًا لاحترام الذات) و 223 في كندا (اختبارًا للوحدة والترابط) ، تمكن الفريق من فصل التفاعل بين الطلاب الجدد الحياة الاجتماعية ودوافعها لقضاء الوقت وحده كمؤشر على التكيف الناجح للحياة الجامعية.

يقول نغوين إن التفاعل بين الوقت الانفرادي وتجاربنا الاجتماعية لم يدرس تجريبياً من قبل ، على الأقل ليس بهذه الطريقة.

في الأبحاث السابقة ، تم تأطيرها بطرق تميل الأشخاص الذين لديهم وصول أكبر إلى الروابط الاجتماعية إلى قضاء وقت أفضل في العزلة. ولكن في دراستنا ، يرتبط وجود حافز صحي للعزلة في الواقع بالعافية لأولئك الذين لديهم وصول أقل إلى الروابط الاجتماعية ، "يقول نجوين.

وتشمل النتائج الرئيسية ما يلي:

  • يبدو أن طلاب السنة الأولى الذين قيّموا وقتهم وحدهم أظهروا المزيد من الصحة النفسية
  • يمكن أن يكون الوقت الانفرادي مفيدًا لفصل نفسه عن الضغوط المجتمعية والعودة إلى القيم والاهتمامات الخاصة ، مما يتيح بدوره تنظيمًا أفضل للسلوك (مع شعور أكبر بالاستقلالية والاختيار والتوافق الذاتي)
  • العلاقة بين الدافع المختار بحرية للعزلة والصحة النفسية أقوى لأولئك الذين لا يشعرون بأنهم ينتمون إلى الكلية
  • عقدت النتائج على عينتين مستقلتين لطلاب السنة الأولى - واحدة في جامعة خاصة في الولايات المتحدة وواحدة في جامعة عامة في كندا

"أن تكون بمفردك لا يجعلك شخصًا وحيدًا ، وهو نوع من الأفكار النمطية السهلة للغاية لتستوعبها عند التحاقك بالكلية لأول مرة - خاصةً عندما تعتقد أن كل من حولك يتواصلون اجتماعيًا عندما لا تكون كذلك" ، يضيف نجوين. "تعد العزلة تجربة شخصية للجميع ، لذا فقد حان الوقت لتستغلها إذا أردت ، واستكشف طرقًا مختلفة لجعلها تجربة مفيدة وممتعة بالنسبة لك."

المشاركون في الدراسة من جامعة كارلتون في أوتاوا ، كندا ، وجامعة غنت في بلجيكا.

مصدر: جامعة روتشستر

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = رفاهية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

التنبؤ بمستقبل أزمة المناخ
هل بإمكانك توقع المستقبل؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

New To College? Why You Should Spend Some Time Alone

New To College? Why You Should Spend Some Time Alone

Seeking solitude—for the right reasons—can be good for first-year college students, research suggests.

How young adults manage to navigate the stressful transition to college has long-term implications for their academic performance and ability to stick with their studies. Research has shown that one frequent pitfall during this transition period from high school to college is social isolation. Loneliness, of course, can have a serious detrimental effect on a student’s mental health, potentially leading to depression.

“Being alone does not make you a loner.”

But being alone isn’t necessarily bad, suggest new findings in the journal Motivation and Emotion.

“Approaching solitude for its enjoyment and intrinsic values is linked to psychological health, especially for those who don’t feel as if they belong to their social groups,” says lead author Thuy-vy Nguyen, who received her doctorate in psychology from the University of Rochester in 2018 and who undertook a large part of the research for this study in Rochester.

“These findings highlight the importance of cultivating the ability to enjoy and value solitary time as a meaningful experience, rather than trying to disregard it, or escape from it,” says Nguyen, who’ll join Durham University in England this fall as an assistant professor.

Alone for the right reasons

What then marks the difference between useful and potentially detrimental solitude? The key is positive motivation, according to the researchers. A healthy, autonomous seeking of alone time is associated with greater self-esteem, a greater sense of feeling related to others, and feeling less lonely.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Conversely, someone who wants to be alone because of negative social experiences will more likely experience the negative effects of solitude, such as isolation or social withdrawal. The reasons matter as they determine how we experience solitude and the benefits we can get from it, the study concludes.

Nguyen is building on the research of her mentors, Edward Deci and Richard Ryan, co-founders of self-determination theory (SDT). The theoretical framework of SDT fits nicely into the investigation of how individuals’ motivations for spending time alone contribute to well-being, the researchers note. Per definition, autonomous motivation for being alone refers to a person’s decision to spend time in solitude in a manner that is valuable and enjoyable for the person.

Time for yourself

Previous research had shown that spending too much time socializing during the first year of college—and as a result having little time for oneself—may be associated with poor adjustment.

But over the course of two studies, conducted with 147 first-year college students in the US (testing for self-esteem) and 223 in Canada (testing for loneliness and relatedness), the team was able to untangle the interaction between new students’ social life and their motivation for spending time alone as a predictor of their successful adjustment to college life.

Nguyen says the interplay between solitary time and our social experiences has not been empirically studied before, at least not in this way.

“In previous research, it has been framed in ways that those with more access to social connections tend to have a better time in solitude. But in our study, having a healthy motivation for solitude actually is associated with wellness for those who have less access to social connections,” says Nguyen.

Key findings include:

  • First-year students who valued and enjoyed their alone time seemed to display greater psychological health
  • Solitary time can be useful for detaching oneself from societal pressures and getting back to one’s own values and interests, which in turn allows for better behavior regulation (with a greater sense of autonomy, choice, and self-concordance)
  • The association between freely chosen motivation for solitude and psychological health is stronger for those who don’t feel they belong in college
  • The findings held across two independent samples of first-year students—one at a private university in the US and one at a public university in Canada

“Being alone does not make you a loner, which is a very easy stereotype to internalize when you first enter college—especially when you think that everyone around you is socializing when you are not,” adds Nguyen. “Solitude is a personal experience for everyone, so it is a time for you to take if you want, and just explore different ways to make it a meaningful and enjoyable experience for you.”

Coauthors of the study are from Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada, and Ghent University in Belgium.

Source: University of Rochester

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=wellbeing;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}