لماذا مستقبل الرفاه ليس عن المال

لماذا مستقبل الرفاه ليس عن المال

يمكن أن تلعب العوامل غير المادية مثل الدعم الاجتماعي والحريات والعدالة دورا أكبر من المال في الرفاه في المستقبل ، وفقا لبحث جديد.

ويستند العمل إلى مسوحات الرفاهية العالمية على مدى العقد الماضي لتوضيح المستويات المحتملة للسعادة العالمية في 2050. وتقترح أنه لتحسين رفاهية الناس قدر المستطاع في العقود القادمة ، يجب على صانعي السياسة أن ينظروا إلى ما هو أبعد من الحسابات الاقتصادية الضيقة وأن يعطوا الأولوية للعوامل غير المادية عند اتخاذ قرارات كبيرة.

يقول المؤلف الرئيسي كريستوفر بارينغتون لي ، الأستاذ المشارك في معهد الصحة والسياسة الاجتماعية ومدرسة البيئة في جامعة ماكجيل: "إن السياسات طويلة الأجل التي تركز بشكل كبير على النمو الاقتصادي سيكون لها تأثير محدود على الرفاهية".

"إذا كان رفاه الإنسان هو الهدف الرئيسي للحكومات ، فسيتم إنفاق موارده بشكل أكثر حكمة استنادًا إلى ما يهم أكثر في الواقع بالنسبة للتجربة الإنسانية."

صمم الباحثون نموذجًا إحصائيًا يجمع بين مجموعتين من المقاييس:

  • مؤشرات المواد الموضوعية ، بما في ذلك نصيب الفرد من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ومتوسط ​​العمر المتوقع ؛
  • المؤشرات الاجتماعية ، كما تم قياسها في استطلاع Gallup العالمي السنوي للسنوات الأخيرة ؛ وتشمل هذه الحرية في اختيار ما يجب القيام به مع حياة المرء ، ومستويات الحكومة والفساد المدركة ، وانتشار التبرعات ، وتوافر الدعم الاجتماعي غير الرسمي.

تُظهر بيانات الاستقصاء العالمية ، على مقياس من صفر إلى 10 ، قيّم المستجيبون في المتوسط ​​مدى رفاههم الخاص في 5.24 في 2016.

استخدم الباحثون تغييرات ملحوظة في البيانات من 2005 إلى 2016 إلى سيناريوهات المشروع للتقييمات الذاتية المبلغ عنها في 2050.

تظهر النتائج أن التغيرات المستقبلية في متغيرات المواد ، مثل مشاريع منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية ، من المرجح أن تسفر عن تحسينات متواضعة في المتوسط ​​العالمي للتقييمات الحياتية - زيادة صفر إلى 10 في المئة فوق المستويات الحالية. (تستخدم إسقاطات منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية سيناريوهين اقتصاديين عالميين ، تم استنباطهما لاستكشاف فرص مستقبلية للتحديات البيئية الكبرى بما في ذلك تغير المناخ).

وعلى النقيض من ذلك ، فإن السيناريوهات المستندة إلى متغيرات غير مادية تظهر مجموعة واسعة من النتائج المحتملة ، من زيادة نسبة 30 في متوسط ​​تقديرات الحياة العالمية المستقبلية في أكثر السيناريوهات تفاؤلاً ، إلى انخفاض 35 في أكثر السيناريوهات تشاؤماً للتراجع المجتمعي.

يقول إيريك غالبريث ، المؤلف المشارك في معهد العلوم البيئية والتكنولوجيا في جامعة برشلونة المستقلة (UAB) في إسبانيا: "من غير المرجح أن تلعب التغييرات الممكنة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي دوراً مهماً في التغيرات في تقييمات الحياة الذاتية خلال سنوات 30".

وخلص الباحثون إلى أن "النتائج التي توصلنا إليها تشير إلى أن أكبر الفوائد التي يمكن تحقيقها خلال العقود القادمة ، فضلاً عن أخطر المزالق التي ينبغي تجنبها ، تكمن في مجال النسيج الاجتماعي".

يظهر البحث في طبيعة الاتصالات.

مصدر: جامعة ماكغيل

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = رفاهية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why The Future Of Well-Being Isn’t About Money

Why The Future Of Well-Being Isn’t About Money

Non-material factors such as social supports, freedoms, and fairness may play a bigger role than money in future well-being, according to new research.

The work draws on global well-being surveys over the past decade to project potential levels of world happiness in 2050. It suggests that, to improve people’s well-being as much as possible in coming decades, policymakers should look beyond narrow economic calculations and prioritize non-material factors when making big decisions.

“Long-run policies that are overly focused on economic growth will have limited effects on well-being,” says lead author Christopher Barrington-Leigh, an associate professor at the Institute for Health and Social Policy and the School of Environment at McGill University.

“If human well-being is the main goal of governments, their resources would be more wisely spent based on what really matters most for human experience.”

The researchers designed a statistical model that combines two sets of measures:

  • Objective material indicators, including GDP per capita and life expectancy;
  • Social indicators, as measured in the annual Gallup World Poll of recent years; these include freedom to choose what to do with one’s life, perceived levels of government and business corruption, prevalence of donating, and availability of informal social supports.

The global survey data show that, on a scale of zero to 10, respondents on average rated their own well-being at 5.24 in 2016.

The researchers used observed changes in the data from 2005 to 2016 to project scenarios for self-reported life evaluations in 2050.

The results show that future changes in material variables, as the OECD projects, are likely to yield modest improvements in global average life evaluations—an increase of zero to 10 percent above current levels. (The OECD projections use two global economic scenarios, devised to explore possible futures for major environmental challenges including climate change.)


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


By contrast, scenarios based on non-material variables show a wide range of possible outcomes, from a 30 percent rise in future global average life evaluations in the most optimistic scenario, to a 35 percent drop in the most pessimistic scenario of societal decline.

“Feasible changes in GDP are very unlikely to play an important role in changes in life self-evaluations within 30 years,” says coauthor Eric Galbraith, of the Institute of Environmental Science and Technology at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB) in Spain.

“Our results show that the greatest benefits to be potentially made over the next decades, as well as the most dangerous pitfalls to be avoided, lie in the domain of social fabric,” the researchers conclude.

The research appears in Nature Communications.

Source: McGill University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=wellbeing;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)