Pourquoi l'avenir du bien-être n'est pas une question d'argent

Pourquoi l'avenir du bien-être n'est pas une question d'argent

Selon de nouvelles recherches, des facteurs non matériels tels que le soutien social, les libertés et l'équité pourraient jouer un rôle plus important que l'argent dans le bien-être futur.

Le travail s'appuie sur des enquêtes mondiales sur le bien-être réalisées au cours des dix dernières années pour projeter les niveaux potentiels de bonheur dans le monde dans 2050. Il suggère que, pour améliorer autant que possible le bien-être de la population au cours des prochaines décennies, les décideurs devraient aller au-delà des calculs économiques étroits et accorder la priorité aux facteurs non matériels lorsqu'ils prennent de grandes décisions.

«Des politiques à long terme trop axées sur la croissance économique auront des effets limités sur le bien-être», a déclaré l'auteur principal Christopher Barrington-Leigh, professeur associé à l'Institut de recherche sur les politiques sociales et de santé et à la School of Environment de l'Université McGill.

«Si le bien-être humain est l'objectif principal des gouvernements, leurs ressources seraient dépensées plus judicieusement en fonction de ce qui compte le plus pour l'expérience humaine.»

Les chercheurs ont conçu un modèle statistique combinant deux types de mesures:

  • Indicateurs matériels objectifs, y compris le PIB par habitant et l’espérance de vie;
  • Indicateurs sociaux, tels que mesurés dans le sondage annuel Gallup World de ces dernières années; Ceux-ci incluent la liberté de choisir quoi faire dans la vie, les niveaux perçus de corruption au sein du gouvernement et des entreprises, la prévalence des dons et la disponibilité de soutiens sociaux informels.

Les données de l’enquête mondiale montrent que, sur une échelle allant de zéro à 10, les personnes interrogées évaluent en moyenne leur propre bien-être chez 5.24 dans 2016.

Les chercheurs ont utilisé les changements observés dans les données de 2005 à 2016 pour projeter des scénarios d’évaluation de la vie autodéclarée dans 2050.

Les résultats montrent que les modifications futures des variables matérielles, telles que les projets de l’OCDE, entraîneront probablement de modestes améliorations dans les évaluations de la durée de vie moyenne mondiale - une augmentation de zéro à 10% par rapport aux niveaux actuels. (Les projections de l'OCDE utilisent deux scénarios économiques mondiaux, conçus pour explorer les futurs possibles pour les principaux défis environnementaux, y compris le changement climatique.)


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


En revanche, les scénarios basés sur des variables non matérielles montrent un large éventail de résultats possibles, allant d'une augmentation en pourcentage des évaluations de la durée moyenne mondiale future dans le scénario le plus optimiste à une baisse en pourcentage du scénario le plus pessimiste du déclin de la société.

«Il est très peu probable que des changements réalisables du PIB jouent un rôle important dans les changements d'auto-évaluation de la vie au cours des années 30», déclare le co-auteur Eric Galbraith, de l'Institut des sciences et technologies de l'environnement de l'Université autonome de Barcelone en Espagne.

«Nos résultats montrent que les plus grands avantages potentiels au cours des prochaines décennies, ainsi que les pièges les plus dangereux à éviter, relèvent du tissu social», concluent les chercheurs.

La recherche apparaît dans Communications Nature.

La source: Université McGill

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = bien-être; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Why The Future Of Well-Being Isn’t About Money

Why The Future Of Well-Being Isn’t About Money

Non-material factors such as social supports, freedoms, and fairness may play a bigger role than money in future well-being, according to new research.

The work draws on global well-being surveys over the past decade to project potential levels of world happiness in 2050. It suggests that, to improve people’s well-being as much as possible in coming decades, policymakers should look beyond narrow economic calculations and prioritize non-material factors when making big decisions.

“Long-run policies that are overly focused on economic growth will have limited effects on well-being,” says lead author Christopher Barrington-Leigh, an associate professor at the Institute for Health and Social Policy and the School of Environment at McGill University.

“If human well-being is the main goal of governments, their resources would be more wisely spent based on what really matters most for human experience.”

The researchers designed a statistical model that combines two sets of measures:

  • Objective material indicators, including GDP per capita and life expectancy;
  • Social indicators, as measured in the annual Gallup World Poll of recent years; these include freedom to choose what to do with one’s life, perceived levels of government and business corruption, prevalence of donating, and availability of informal social supports.

The global survey data show that, on a scale of zero to 10, respondents on average rated their own well-being at 5.24 in 2016.

The researchers used observed changes in the data from 2005 to 2016 to project scenarios for self-reported life evaluations in 2050.

The results show that future changes in material variables, as the OECD projects, are likely to yield modest improvements in global average life evaluations—an increase of zero to 10 percent above current levels. (The OECD projections use two global economic scenarios, devised to explore possible futures for major environmental challenges including climate change.)


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


By contrast, scenarios based on non-material variables show a wide range of possible outcomes, from a 30 percent rise in future global average life evaluations in the most optimistic scenario, to a 35 percent drop in the most pessimistic scenario of societal decline.

“Feasible changes in GDP are very unlikely to play an important role in changes in life self-evaluations within 30 years,” says coauthor Eric Galbraith, of the Institute of Environmental Science and Technology at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB) in Spain.

“Our results show that the greatest benefits to be potentially made over the next decades, as well as the most dangerous pitfalls to be avoided, lie in the domain of social fabric,” the researchers conclude.

The research appears in Nature Communications.

Source: McGill University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=wellbeing;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)