Warum es bei der Zukunft des Wohlbefindens nicht um Geld geht

Glück

Warum es bei der Zukunft des Wohlbefindens nicht um Geld geht

Nicht-materielle Faktoren wie soziale Unterstützung, Freiheiten und Fairness spielen laut neuen Forschungsergebnissen möglicherweise eine größere Rolle als das künftige Wohlbefinden.

Die Arbeit stützt sich auf globale Umfragen zum Wohlbefinden des vergangenen Jahrzehnts, um das potenzielle Maß an Weltruf in 2050 zu projizieren. Es legt nahe, dass die politischen Entscheidungsträger, um das Wohlbefinden der Menschen in den kommenden Jahrzehnten so weit wie möglich zu verbessern, über die engen wirtschaftlichen Kalkulationen hinausgehen und bei wichtigen Entscheidungen nichtmaterielle Faktoren priorisieren sollten.

"Langfristige Maßnahmen, die zu stark auf Wirtschaftswachstum ausgerichtet sind, werden nur begrenzte Auswirkungen auf das Wohlergehen haben", sagt der Hauptautor Christopher Barrington-Leigh, außerordentlicher Professor am Institut für Gesundheits- und Sozialpolitik und der School of Environment der McGill University.

"Wenn das Wohlergehen der Menschen das Hauptziel von Regierungen ist, würden ihre Ressourcen klüger eingesetzt, je nachdem, was für die menschliche Erfahrung am wichtigsten ist."

Die Forscher entwickelten ein statistisches Modell, das zwei Maßnahmenkombinationen kombiniert:

  • Objektive materielle Indikatoren, einschließlich BIP pro Kopf und Lebenserwartung;
  • Sozialindikatoren, gemessen in der jährlichen Gallup World Poll der letzten Jahre; Dazu gehören die Freiheit zu wählen, was mit dem eigenen Leben zu tun ist, das empfundene Maß an Korruption in Regierungen und Unternehmen, die Verbreitung von Spenden und die Verfügbarkeit informeller sozialer Unterstützung.

Die globalen Umfragedaten zeigen, dass die Befragten auf einer Skala von Null bis 10 im Durchschnitt ihr eigenes Wohlbefinden bei 5.24 in 2016 einschätzten.

Die Forscher verwendeten die beobachteten Änderungen in den Daten von 2005 zu 2016, um Szenarien für die Auswertung von Lebensdaten in 2050 zu erstellen.

Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass zukünftige Änderungen der Materialvariablen, wie die OECD-Projekte, wahrscheinlich zu geringfügigen Verbesserungen bei den Bewertungen der globalen Durchschnittslebensdauer führen werden - eine Steigerung von null bis 10 Prozent über dem derzeitigen Niveau. (Die OECD-Prognosen verwenden zwei globale Wirtschaftsszenarien, die entworfen wurden, um mögliche Zukunftsperspektiven für große Umweltprobleme, einschließlich des Klimawandels, zu untersuchen.)

Im Gegensatz dazu zeigen Szenarien, die auf nicht-materiellen Variablen basieren, ein breites Spektrum möglicher Ergebnisse, von einem 30-Prozentanstieg der zukünftigen globalen Durchschnittslebensdauer im optimistischsten Szenario bis zu einem 35-Prozentsatz im pessimistischsten Szenario des gesellschaftlichen Rückgangs.

"Es ist sehr unwahrscheinlich, dass realisierbare Änderungen des BIP eine wichtige Rolle bei Änderungen der Lebensbewertungen in 30 spielen werden", sagt Co-Autor Eric Galbraith vom Institut für Umweltwissenschaft und -technologie der Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB) in Spanien.

"Unsere Ergebnisse zeigen, dass die größten Vorteile, die möglicherweise in den nächsten Jahrzehnten erzielt werden können, und die gefährlichsten Fallstricke, die zu vermeiden sind, im Bereich des sozialen Gefüges liegen", schließen die Forscher.

Die Forschung erscheint in Nature Communications.

Quelle: McGill University

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Wohlbefinden; maxresults = 3}

Glück
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why The Future Of Well-Being Isn’t About Money

Why The Future Of Well-Being Isn’t About Money

Non-material factors such as social supports, freedoms, and fairness may play a bigger role than money in future well-being, according to new research.

The work draws on global well-being surveys over the past decade to project potential levels of world happiness in 2050. It suggests that, to improve people’s well-being as much as possible in coming decades, policymakers should look beyond narrow economic calculations and prioritize non-material factors when making big decisions.

“Long-run policies that are overly focused on economic growth will have limited effects on well-being,” says lead author Christopher Barrington-Leigh, an associate professor at the Institute for Health and Social Policy and the School of Environment at McGill University.

“If human well-being is the main goal of governments, their resources would be more wisely spent based on what really matters most for human experience.”

The researchers designed a statistical model that combines two sets of measures:

  • Objective material indicators, including GDP per capita and life expectancy;
  • Social indicators, as measured in the annual Gallup World Poll of recent years; these include freedom to choose what to do with one’s life, perceived levels of government and business corruption, prevalence of donating, and availability of informal social supports.

The global survey data show that, on a scale of zero to 10, respondents on average rated their own well-being at 5.24 in 2016.

The researchers used observed changes in the data from 2005 to 2016 to project scenarios for self-reported life evaluations in 2050.

The results show that future changes in material variables, as the OECD projects, are likely to yield modest improvements in global average life evaluations—an increase of zero to 10 percent above current levels. (The OECD projections use two global economic scenarios, devised to explore possible futures for major environmental challenges including climate change.)


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


By contrast, scenarios based on non-material variables show a wide range of possible outcomes, from a 30 percent rise in future global average life evaluations in the most optimistic scenario, to a 35 percent drop in the most pessimistic scenario of societal decline.

“Feasible changes in GDP are very unlikely to play an important role in changes in life self-evaluations within 30 years,” says coauthor Eric Galbraith, of the Institute of Environmental Science and Technology at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB) in Spain.

“Our results show that the greatest benefits to be potentially made over the next decades, as well as the most dangerous pitfalls to be avoided, lie in the domain of social fabric,” the researchers conclude.

The research appears in Nature Communications.

Source: McGill University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=wellbeing;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)