Comment nettoyer votre chemin vers le bonheur

Comment nettoyer votre chemin vers le bonheur
Le premier magasin Muji de Sydney a ouvert ses portes dans 2015 et, avec lui, le minimalisme attrayant, la simplicité et la fonctionnalité - une sorte de consommation qui était en quelque sorte une consommation less.

Le détaillant japonais offrant maison-marchandises, meubles, vêtements, articles de papeterie et décrit sa formation comme «l'antithèse aux habitudes de la société de consommation" et vend des objets qui ont subi une «élimination minutieuse et la soustraction de fonctionnalités gratuites".

Il est difficile de ne pas être séduit par des articles durables qui remettent en question l'obsolescence planifiée des produits - la limitation inhérente à l'utilisation, la fonctionnalité ou l'attrait d'un produit au stade de la conception (pensez à la fréquence de remplacement des écouteurs ).

Videz votre esprit en rangeant votre placard

Le livre, japonais "consultant organisation" de Marie Kondo best-seller La magie qui change la vie du rangement: l'art japonais de la déglutition et de l'organisation (2010), encourage le lecteur à adopter une certaine relation avec les objets: s'il ne «suscite pas la joie», jetez-le. Son dernier livre, Spark Joy: une classe de maître illustrée sur l'art de l'organisation et du rangement (2016) adopte une philosophie similaire avec des conseils pratiques sur le rangement.

Sites Web tels que Libérez votre habitat nous montre les plaisirs esthétiques du désencombrement avec des photos avant et après des intérieurs ménagers nouvellement rangés. Coaching organisationnel en tête-à-tête est disponible pour ceux qui veulent des conseils professionnels sur le désencombrement.

Un certain nombre de sites web, d'articles et de livres de bricolage encourageant la simplicité et le minimalisme ont également vu le jour, avec des mantras tels que "buste fouillis","laissez-le aller", et "efface ton esprit". Ce que ces slogans ont en leur cœur, c'est l'idée que nos choses signifient plus que les fonctions qu'elles servent.

Nos choses nous parlent de nous-mêmes. En tant qu'accumulations de souvenirs, de souvenirs d'un autre endroit ou de souvenirs d'une autre époque, ils nous rendent en quelque sorte compte. Qui nous sommes, avons été ou aimerions être, comment les autres nous connaissent, et où nous appartenons sont toutes des choses qui sont liées à notre relation avec les objets. Dans l'ombre de cette tendance est l'idée que vous pouvez être perçu comme étant aussi impliqué dans vos possessions.

Entretien ménager scientifique

L'émission de télévision documentaire américaine Hoarders (2009-), maintenant dans sa huitième saison, implique des interventions de mise en scène pour ceux catégorisés comme ayant une personnalité psychologiquement désordonnée liée à leur tendance à accumuler.

Les Etats-Unis idée d'un accapareur comme participant à «déviance matériel» est arrivé au milieu du 20th siècle. Le livre 2014 Scott Herring Les Hoarders: déviance matérielle dans la culture américaine moderne explore l'idée de «gestion scientifique», qui implique

la promotion d'une hygiène sociale, personnelle et matérielle qui prônait l'efficacité, la propreté et l'ordre du matériel à la maison.

Le découragement, héritier naturel du ménage scientifique, peut donc être vu comme une forme de distanciation, physique et sociale, de choses qui ont souvent des connotations négatives: le désordre, la saleté, la déviance, la thésaurisation, ainsi que le genre de personnes et les corps qui sont généralement considérés comme ayant besoin d'une transformation afin de «mieux correspondre» à certains idéaux sociaux.

En désencombrant nous ne jetons pas seulement des choses mais des associations. En désencombrant, nous redessinons les frontières entre nous et les autres, et entre nos choses et ce qu'elles signifient pour nous.

Il y a aussi quelque chose à dire sur la manière dont le mouvement est lié à nos idées sur le Japon, à la vie zen et à la façon dont la spiritualité et la philosophie de la vie sont évoquées. Comment nous imaginons un mode de vie japonais simple, organisé et ordonné fait également partie de l'attrait.

Consommation anti-ostentatoire

La tendance est ouverte à l'interprétation. S'agit-il d'un retour à «l'essentiel», à une manière soi-disant plus «authentique» d'être? Est-il motivé par un intérêt pour le mouvement croissant vers une vie durable? Est-ce alimenté par un anti-consumérisme semblable à l'idée de James Wallman que nous vivons à une époque de "bourrage"? Peut-être cela a-t-il à voir avec l'idée qu'en se débarrassant et en se réorganisant, nous deviendrons plus renouvelés, plus efficaces et plus productifs? Une résolution du Nouvel An tout-en-un.

Ou peut-être sa popularité a à voir avec le sentiment d'être rafraîchi et renouvelé après désencombrement - une idée qui conduit un commentateur à décrire désencombrement (unflatteringly) comme "le nouveau nettoyage de jus".

Les tendances récentes au désencombrement nous encouragent à changer notre relation avec les choses dont nous nous entourons et à être plus perspicaces sur ce que nous incluons et excluons de nos foyers et de notre perception de nous-mêmes. Cependant, où ces choses "vont" quand désencombrées?

Est-ce qu'ils deviennent "hors de vue, hors de l'esprit», comme ils se dirigent vers la décharge? Est-ce qu'ils deviennent le désordre dans les maisons d'autres personnes? Si nos objets sont porteurs de mémoire, des histoires et des biographies de nos souvenirs d'entre eux seront effacées? Serons-nous regrettons de les donner dans les moments de disette?

Ce qui est une nécessité maintenant peut devenir encombrant dans le futur, et ce qui est encombré maintenant peut être utile plus tard. Y aura-t-il une nostalgie persistante pour cette possession qui a été jadis abandonnée mais qui est maintenant douloureusement désirée?

A propos de l'auteur

Karma Eddison-Cogan, étudiante au doctorat au département d'études sur le genre et la culture, Université de Sydney

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = bonheur; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

How To Clean Your Way To Happiness

How To Clean Your Way To Happiness
Sydney’s first Muji store opened in 2015 and with it came attractive minimalism, simplicity, and functionality – a kind of consumption that was somehow about consuming less.

The Japanese retailer offering home-wares, furniture, clothing, and stationery describes its formation as the “antithesis to the habits of consumer society” and sells items that have undergone a “careful elimination and subtraction of gratuitous features”.

It is hard not to be seduced by long-lasting items that challenge the planned obsolescence of products – the in-built limitation of a product’s use, functionality, or desirability at the stage of design (just think about how often earphones need to be replaced).

Clear your mind by tidying your closet

The Japanese “organising consultant” Marie Kondo’s best-selling book, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing (2010), encourages readers to adopt a certain relationship to objects: if it doesn’t “spark joy”, discard it. Her latest book, Spark Joy: An Illustrated Master Class on the Art of Organizing and Tidying Up (2016) adopts a similar ethos with practical tips about tidying.

Websites such as Unfuck your Habitat show us the aesthetic pleasures of decluttering with before and after photos of newly tidied household interiors. One-on-one organizational coaching is available for those who want professional guidance on decluttering.

A number of do-it-yourself websites, articles, and books encouraging simplicity and minimalism have also popped up, with mantras such as “bust clutter”, “let it go”, and “clear your mind”. What these slogans have at their heart is the idea that our things mean more than just the functions they serve.

Our things tell us about ourselves. As accumulations of memories, souvenirs from another place or mementos from another time, they somehow reflect back on us. Who we are, have been, or would like to be, how others know us, and where we belong are all things that are tied up to our relationship with objects. In the shadows of this trend is the idea that you may be perceived as being too involved with your possessions.

Scientific housekeeping

The US documentary television show Hoarders (2009-), now in its eighth season, involves staging interventions for those categorised as having a psychologically disordered personality linked to their tendency to accumulate.

The United States idea of a hoarder as participating in “material deviancy” came about in the mid-20th Century. Scott Herring’s 2014 book The Hoarders: Material Deviance in Modern American Culture explores the idea of “scientific housekeeping”, which involved

the promotion of social, personal, and material hygiene that advocated efficiency, cleanliness, and material orderliness in the home.

Decluttering, the natural heir of scientific housekeeping, can therefore be seen as a form of distancing yourself, physically as well as socially, from things that often have negative connotations: disorder, dirt, deviance, hoarding, as well as the kinds of people and bodies that are usually seen as in need of transformation in order to “better fit” with certain social ideals.

In decluttering we are not only throwing away things but associations. In decluttering we re-draw the boundaries between ourselves and others, and between our things and what they mean to us.

There is also something to be said about how the movement is tied up with our ideas of Japan, of Zen living, and the way that spirituality and a philosophy of living are evoked. How we imagine a Japanese way of life to be simple, organised, and orderly also forms part of the appeal.

Anti-conspicuous consumption

The trend is open to interpretation. Is it about stripping back to the “bare essentials”, to a supposedly more “authentic” way of being? Is it driven by an interest in the growing movement towards sustainable living? Is it fuelled by an anti-consumerism akin to James Wallman’s idea that we are living in an age of “stuffocation”? Perhaps it has to do with the idea that by discarding and re-organising, we will become renewed, more efficient, and more productive? A New Year’s resolution all-in-one.

Or perhaps its popularity has to do with the feeling of being refreshed and renewed after decluttering – an idea that leads one commentator to describe decluttering (unflatteringly) as “the new juice cleanse”.

The recent trends towards decluttering encourage us to change our relationship to the things we surround ourselves with and to be more discerning about what we include and exclude from our homes and from our perception of ourselves. However, where do these things “go” when decluttered?

Do they become “out of sight, out of mind” as they head towards landfill? Do they become clutter in other people’s homes? If our objects are holders of memory, stories, and biographies will our memories of them be erased? Will we regret giving them away in moments of scarcity?

What is a necessity now may become clutter in the future, and what is clutter now may be of use later. Will there be a lingering nostalgia for that possession that was once discarded but is now painfully longed for?

About The Author

Karma Eddison-Cogan, PhD student in Department of Gender and Cultural Studies, University of Sydney

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=happiness;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

Rachael Wallis
What happens if you decide to jump in, Escape to the Country-style, and flee the city rat race?

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

Nicole Racine and Sheri Madigan
Bubble-wrapping children doesn’t work. They need to experience mild adversity, to know how to overcome it when they inevitably face it in life.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

What Are Panic Attacks And What's Happening When We Have Them?

Lynne Harris
What would you think was happening to you if out of nowhere your heart started to race, you were drenched in sweat, you found yourself trembling uncontrollably, short of breath, with chest pain and feeling nauseated, dizzy and lightheaded as though you might…