الحقيقة يمكن أن تكون مخيفة: الاعتراف عندما تكون مخطئا

الاعتراف عندما تكون مخطئا: الحقيقة يمكن أن تكون مخيفة
الصورة عن طريق جوناثان الفاريز

عمتي العمة وعمتي هما ثمانية وثمانون وتسع وثمانون عامًا ، على التوالي ، وأنا أحبهما إلى قطع.(كان عمي آفي في التاسعة والثمانين من عمتي وعظمي درة في الثامنة والثمانين في وقت حدوث هذه القصة.)

لديهم منزل صيفي اشتروه مقابل حوالي 1.50 دولار في عام 1970 ونمت بشكل هائل في القيمة لدرجة أننا ربما لم نتمكن من شراء شفرة من العشب على تلك الجزيرة بأسعار اليوم. (أنا أبالغ. لا أعرف السعر المحدد أو التاريخ المحدد. النقطة الأساسية هي أنه كان من الأقل تكلفة شراء عقار لقضاء العطلات في هذا الموقع في ذلك الوقت.)

كان لديّ عيد ميلادي الأول هناك ، وقد عدت تقريبًا كل شهر أغسطس. منذ مليون عام ، قمنا بتوقيت زيارتنا حول سباق 5 آلاف يأخذه زوجي على محمل الجد ، ويحاول الباقون إكماله في أقل من ست ساعات دون الحاجة إلى عكازات أو شريط كاحل أو مرافقة للشرطة.

عادة ، عمتي وعمه تسجل لنا للسباق. إنهم يوقعوننا في مركز المجتمع ، ثم يذهبون إلى الشارع للحصول على شريحة واحدة من البيتزا ، والتي يشاركونها أثناء الجلوس على كراسي هزاز على الشرفة.

هذا العام ، وللمرة الأولى على الإطلاق ، لم يعد الاشتراك الشخصي خيارًا. يجب أن تتم جميع عمليات التسجيل عبر الإنترنت ، على الإنترنت.

تعطيني خالتي هذه المعلومات وتقول لي إنهم يتطلعون لرؤيتنا ، وأنهم سيحضرون كراسي الحديقة لتشجيعنا ، وبعد السباق ، يمكننا جميعًا الذهاب عبر الشارع للحصول على البيتزا ، أو يمكننا القيام بذلك تناول الطعام وجلب البيتزا المنزل.

أخرجها من الهاتف وأنسى فورًا كل شيء باستثناء وعد البيتزا. المكان عبر الشارع من مركز المجتمع يجعل فطائرهم مع الطبقة الطازجة من المزرعة تتراوح بين البيض والشمر. لديهم الجبن عادي وبيبروني أيضا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بمناسبة التاريخ ... الآن

تمر عدة أسابيع ، ويحدث لي أن الاشتراك في السباق يجب أن يكون قريبًا. أتحقق من الموقع ، ولحسن الحظ ، لم أكن قد فاتني التاريخ - التسجيل عبر الإنترنت في بضعة أيام. أقوم بتحديد التاريخ وضبط المنبه على هاتفي.

يبدأ ذلك اليوم كأي يوم آخر. أستيقظ وأذهب إلى العمل وألتقط قهوتي في تيم هورتون في الطريق ، وكتم صوت التنبيه من أجل الاشتراك في سباق عبر الإنترنت. تحقق من بريدي الإلكتروني ، وكتم المنبه مرة أخرى ، وقم ببعض العمل ، واسكب قهوة XL (حليبان - سكران) ، وامسح الفوضى ، ثم قم بالتمرير لرؤية ما كان يحدث منبه في وقت سابق. أوه ، صحيح - سباق الاشتراك.

أجد موقع الويب ، وقم بتسجيل جميعنا (زوجي وأنا وأطفالنا الثلاثة) ، وانقر للدفع. لا يمر.

قم بالتحديث مرة أخرى ، استخدم بطاقة ائتمان أخرى ، وتساءل عما يحدث.

سباق ممتلئ.

سباق ممتلئ؟

سباق بيعت في أقل من ساعتين. تم فتح التسجيل في 8 أنا وبواسطة 9:37 أنا لم تكن هناك بقع. إنه الآن بعد الساعة الثانية بعد الظهر.

كيف يمكن لذلك أن يكون ممكنا؟

منذ بداية الوقت ، كل صيف - لا شيء! - ركض شخص ما من منزل عمته وعمتي في سباق الطريق. لديهم تي شيرت تذكاري من كل عام. كان لديهم مصور يلتقط صوراً لجميع القمصان التي صنعوها في ملصق تبرعوا به للجنة السباق. تم بيع الملصق كمجمع لجمع التبرعات في عيد الميلاد الخامس والثلاثين للسباق.

هذه القمصان متوفرة فقط لأولئك الذين يديرون السباق. ولن تكون تي شيرت هذا العام متاحة الآن لأي واحد منا ، لأننا لسنا مسجلين وبالتالي لن نركض.

سوف أعترف أنني كنت مخطئًا ... لاحقًا

كيف سأفرج عليهم الخبر؟ هذا لن يكون سهلا. سأعترف بأنني كنت مخطئًا ، لكنني قررت تأجيله إلى أن أصل إلى هناك ، على أمل أنه بمجرد رؤية وجوهنا الشجاعة ، ستختفي بعض اللدغة. سأحضرها بعد العشاء ولكن قبل ذلك خطر! بهذه الطريقة ، سنكون مرتاحين ، ولكن يجب أن تكون المناقشة سريعة لأن عرضهم على وشك البدء.

إننا نقود السيارة قرابة ثماني ساعات ، ونأخذ عبارة ، ونقود أربعين دقيقة أخرى ، ونتكدس من السيارة. ربطت الدرج لأستقبلهم بينما ديف وأطفاؤه فكوا السيارة. ألقِ نظرة واحدة على وجه عمي ، وتخطّط خطتي المنطقية لتقسيمها بلطف إلى خارج النافذة.

لقد انفجرت على الفور: "نحن لسنا مسجلين في السباق. لقد بذلت قصارى جهدي لكن السباق بيع بسرعة كبيرة ، ولم أستطع الحصول على مكان ". أنا بالكاد أحبط الدموع. أشعر بسوء شديد لدرجة أن هذا التقليد الذي يزيد عن ثلاثين عامًا على وشك الانهيار ، لمجرد أنني كتم صوت المنبه. لم أكن أدرك مدى سرعة بيع المواقع.

عمي يأخذ كل يدي في بلده. أركع ، حتى نكون وجهاً لوجه. "ايمي" ، كما يقول ، صوته خشن. "أنا حقا ، بخيبة أمل حقا فيكم."

يا رجل. اقتلني الان. كان سكين في القلب أقل إيلاما.

إنه آخر شخص على وجه الأرض أود أن أحبطه. وأكثر من شيء يمكن الوقاية منه. كيف سأصلح هذا؟ إنه غير قابل للإصلاح. ما زلت بجانبه ، مجمدة في مكانها ، عندما يأتي زوجي ويدرس المشهد.

يقول: "سنذهب أولاً في مركز المجتمع في الصباح". "أنا متأكد من أننا سنكون قادرين على شراء قميص." انه هادئ تماما.

"لا ، لن نفعل ذلك ،" بكيت. هذا جزء من فكرة هذا الشيء. لا يمكنك ذلك يشترى القمصان. لديك لتشغيل السباق للحصول عليها. هذه كارثة. "

لقد شهد زوجي كوارث حقيقية ، وهو يعرف كيف تبدو. إن الافتقار إلى التسجيل عبر الإنترنت وقصر قميص ، حتى أنه يمكن تحصيله وهذا جزء من تقليد عائلي قديم ، ليس كارثة حقيقية. يحاول أن يقول لي ذلك ، لكن لا يوجد أي سبب معي ؛ حتى اليكس تريبك لا يجعلني أشعر بتحسن.

أنا أرفض إذلال نفسي!

في صباح اليوم التالي ، استيقظنا ، ويريد ديف الذهاب إلى مركز المجتمع لتجربة حظنا. انا لا. إنه يحاول كل أسلوب الإقناع في كتيب زوجه ، وأنا لست على استعداد للتزحزح. "لا توجد طريقة لإذلال نفسي من خلال التسول بغرباء كاملين في مركز المجتمع للسماح لي بالدخول في سباق بيع بطريقة عادلة ومربعة" ، كما أقول.

"هيا ، أمله. (* يدعوني أميلة. آي-ماه-لاه.) يقول: "يمكننا المرور عبر الشارع والحصول على البيتزا".

"حسنا جيد. لكنني لن أدخل. يمكنك أن تجرب حظك مع السباق الناس ، أنا في السيارة ".

نصل إلى مركز المجتمع ، وهو يعج بالنشاط. لافتات وعلامات وبالونات وموسيقى. هناك عدد قليل من البائعين حول بيع زجاجات المياه والسترات الواقية من الرصاص. يصطف الناس للحصول على حزم السباق وأرقامهم. السباق غدا.

الآن ، يعرف زوجي شيئًا مهمًا عني أدى بنا إلى هذه اللحظة. إنه يعلم أنه ليس لدي أي تحكم بالذات عندما يتعلق الأمر بحل المشكلات. إذا وضعت معضلة صعبة أمامي ، فلن أتوقف عند أي شيء للمساعدة في حلها. إنه يعلم أنه حالما ننتقل إلى مقر السباق ، ونرى أن الناس يلتقطون ويحاولون ارتداء قمصانهم ، سوف أخرج من السيارة وأحاول الحصول على واحد منا على الأقل مسجل في هذا السباق. على الرغم من أنني أعرف أنه من المستحيل. أعلم أن هناك قائمة انتظار. أعلم أنه لا يوجد على الإطلاق

مهلا ، هل تلك المرأة تحمل الحافظة؟

الحقيقة ولا شيء سوى الحقيقة!

أذهب إلى المرأة. يقول اسمها علامة دونا. هي مشغولة جدا. أنا أنتظر دوري. أنا أقدم نفسي لها. أشرح الموقف ، بدءًا من عمتي وعمتي والتزامهما بالسباق ، وانتهي بحساباتي الخاطئة فيما يتعلق بالسرعة التي سيبيع بها التسجيل عبر الإنترنت. "ولهذا السبب ، إذا كان ذلك ممكنًا ، أرغب في تسجيل شخص واحد فقط في السباق والحصول على قميص."

"انتظر هنا" ، تقول دونا. "انا سأكون متوفر لمساعدتك."

عادت بعد عشر دقائق مع استمارة التسجيل ، وحزمة سباق ، وقميص مطمعا. انها تسليمهم لي. "لقد أخبرني الكثير من الأشخاص هنا أنهم سجلوا عبر الإنترنت ، لكن التأكيد لم يتم ، أو أنهم تلقوا بريدًا إلكترونيًا ، لكنهم نسوا طباعته. لا يمكنك تخيل عدد القطط التي تناولت التسجيل عبر الإنترنت هذا العام. تقول: "أنت الوحيد الذي أخبرني بالحقيقة". "شكرا لك لأنك صادق. قلت لي الحقيقة حول ما حدث من خطأ ، وكنت حقيقي. لهذا السبب أردت مساعدتك. "

على الرغم من أنه كان من المؤلم الاعتراف بأنني كنت مخطئًا ، لو لم أكن شفافة مع Donna-with-clip-clipboard ، فإنها لم تكن حريصة جدًا على منحنا حزمة تسجيل. ما جعلني أكثر تعاطفا هو أنني كنت صادقا وحقيقيا. شرحت الخطأ الذي حدث بالفعل ، ولهذا السبب ساعدتني في حل مشكلتي.

عند الشكوى ، يكون أسهل الطرق هو الأكثر صدقًا. على الرغم من أنه قد يكون من الصعب أن تتنازل عن أخطائك ، إلا أن الأمر يستحق العناء إذا عدت إلى المنزل حاملاً أخبارًا جيدة وقميصًا مطمئنًا ، وبالطبع بيتزا بروكلي راب-سبانخ-بيستو لتناول طعام الغداء.

أسئلة للتأمل

  1. هل من الأهمية بمكان بالنسبة لك؟ هل يمكنك التفكير في وقت يكون فيه الحق في طريقه للتوصل إلى حل لمشكلة ما؟

  2. هل تختار 5K أو البيتزا؟ كن صادقا.

  3. هل هناك أي شخص في حياتك تكره أن يخيب أملك؟ هل سيمنعك هذا من التحدث عن عقلك أو يشجعك على التحدث؟

© 2019 من إيمي فيش. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتطفات بإذن من الكتاب: أردت فرايز مع ذلك
الناشر: مكتبة العالم الجديد. www.newworldlibrary.com.

المادة المصدر

أردت فرايز مع ذلك: كيفية السؤال عما تريد والحصول على ما تحتاجه
بواسطة ايمي فيش

أردت فرايز مع ذلك: كيف تسأل عن ما تريد واحصل على ما تحتاجه من إيمي فيشتكشف إيمي عن أساليب براغماتية لمعالجة مظالمها بكل إخلاص وصدق ونزاهة لكل المعنيين - سواء كنت تحاول تصحيح أخطاء العالم أو مجرد المطالبة بالبطاطس المقلية التي طلبتها.

(متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle و Audiobook.)

انقر لطلب على الأمازون


كتب ذات صلة

عن المؤلف

ايمي السمككأمين مظالم في جامعة كونكورديا في مونتريال ، ايمي السمك يحل شكاوى الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين. وقد كتبت ل هافينغتون بوست كندا, مجلة ريدرز دايجست، و ال جلوب اند ميل وظهر على CBC Marketplace ومنظمة الأغذية أخبار CTV. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في https://www.amyfishwrites.com/

الفيديو / العرض التقديمي: المتحدث الرئيسي إيمي فيش مونتريال إطلاق كتاب

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

وجهات نظر الحيوانات على فيروس كورونا
by نانسي الرياح
في هذا المنشور ، أشارك في بعض الاتصالات والإرسالات من بعض معلمي الحكمة غير البشرية الذين تواصلت معهم حول وضعنا العالمي ، وعلى وجه الخصوص ، بوتقة ...
لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...

The Truth Can Be Scary: Admitting When You’re Wrong

Admitting When You’re Wrong: The Truth Can Be Scary
Image by Jonathan Alvarez

My great-aunt and great-uncle are eighty-eight and eighty-nine years old, respectively, and I love them to pieces.(My great-uncle Avi was eighty-nine and my great-auntie Dora was eighty-eight at the time this story happened.)

They have a summer house that they bought for about $1.50 in 1970 and has grown so tremendously in value that we probably could not afford to buy a blade of grass on that island at today’s prices. (I am exaggerating. I don’t know the exact price or the exact date. The point is, it was way less expensive to buy vacation property in this loca­tion at that time.)

I had my first birthday there, and I have come back almost every August since. For a million years, we have timed our visit around a 5k race that my husband takes very seriously, and the rest of us try to complete in under six hours without requiring crutches, ankle tape, or a police escort.

Normally, my aunt and uncle register us for the race. They sign us up at the community center and then go across the street for a single slice of pizza, which they share while sitting in rocking chairs on the porch.

This year, for the first time ever, in-person sign-up is no longer an option. All registration has to take place online, on the internet.

My great-aunt gives me this information and tells me that they are looking forward to seeing us, that they will be bringing lawn chairs to cheer us on, and after the race we can all go across the street for pizza, or we can do takeout and bring the pizza home.

I get off the phone with her and promptly forget every­thing except the promise of pizza. The place across the street from the community center makes their pies with farm-fresh toppings ranging from eggs to fennel. They have plain cheese and pepperoni too.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Mark The Date... Now

Several weeks pass, and it occurs to me that the sign-up for the race must be soon. I check the website, and, thankfully, I haven’t yet missed the date — online sign-up is in a couple of days. I mark the date and set an alarm on my phone.

That day begins like any other. I get up, go to work, pick up my coffee at Tim Horton’s on the way, and mute the alarm for online race sign-up. Check my email, mute the alarm again, do some more work, spill my XL coffee (two-milk-two-sugar), wipe up the mess, and then scroll through to see what my alarm was going on about earlier. Oh, right — race sign-up.

I find the website, register all five of us (my husband and me and our three kids), and click for payment. It doesn’t go through.

Refresh again, use another credit card, wonder what’s going on.

Race is full.

Race is full?

Race sold out in less than two hours. Registration opened at 8 a.m. and by 9:37 a.m. there were no spots to be had. It’s now after two o’clock in the afternoon.

How can that be possible?

Since the beginning of time, every summer — bar none! — someone from my aunt and uncle’s vacation house has run in the road race. They have a commemorative T-shirt from every single year. They had a photographer take pictures of all the shirts, which they had made into a poster that they donated to the race committee. The poster was sold as a fundraiser for the race’s thirty-fifth birthday.

Those T-shirts are only available to those running the race. And this year’s T-shirt will now not be available to any of us, because we are not registered and therefore will not be running.

I Will Admit I Was Wrong... Later

How am I going to break them the news? This is not going to be easy. I will admit that I was wrong, but I decide to put it off until I get there, hoping that once they see our brave faces, some of the sting will be gone. I will bring it up after dinner but before Jeopardy! That way, we’ll be relaxed, but discussion will have to be quick because their show is about to start.

We drive close to eight hours, take a ferry, drive another forty-ish minutes, and pile out of the car. I bound up the stairs to greet them while Dave and the kids unpack the car. I take one look at my uncle’s face, and my rational break-it-to-them-gently plan flies out the window.

I blurt out immediately: “We aren’t registered for the race. I tried my best but the race sold out too quickly, and I couldn’t get us a spot.” I am barely holding back tears. I feel so bad that this thirty-plus-year tra­dition is about to be broken by me, just because I muted an alarm. I didn’t realize how quickly the spots would sell out.

My uncle takes both my hands in his. I kneel, so that we are face-to-face. “Amy,” he says, his voice raspy. “I am really, really disappointed in you.”

Oh man. Kill me now. A knife in the heart would have been less painful.

He is the last person on earth I would ever want to disap­point. And over something so preventable. How am I going to fix this? It’s unfixable. I am still next to him, frozen in place, when my husband comes in and surveys the scene.

“We’ll go by the community center first thing in the morn­ing,” he says. “I’m sure we’ll be able to buy a T-shirt.” He is completely calm.

“No, we won’t,” I wail. “That’s part of the shtick of this thing. You can’t buy the shirts. You have to run the race to get them. This is a disaster.”

My husband has seen actual disasters, and he knows what they look like. Missing an online registration and being short a T-shirt, even a collectible that’s part of a long-standing family tradition, is not a real disaster. He tries to tell me that, but there is no reasoning with me; even Alex Trebek is not making me feel better.

I Refuse To Humiliate Myself!

The next morning, we wake up, and Dave wants to go to the community center to try our luck. I don’t. He tries every persuasion technique in his husband handbook, and I am not willing to budge. “There is no way I’m going to humiliate myself by begging complete strangers at the community center to let me into a race that sold out fair and square,” I say.

“C’mon, Amelah. (* He calls me Amelah. Ay-muh-lah.) We can go across the street after, and get pizza,” he says.

“Okay fine. But I’m not going in. You can try your luck with the race people, I’m waiting in the car.”

We get to the community center, and it’s buzzing with ac­tivity. Banners and signs and balloons and music. There are a few vendors around selling water bottles and windbreakers. People are lining up to get their race packets and their num­bers. The race is tomorrow.

Now, my husband knows something important about me that has led us to this moment. He knows that I have no self-con­trol when it comes to problem solving. If you put a challenging dilemma in front of me, I will stop at nothing to help solve it. He knows that as soon as we pull up to the race headquarters, and we see people picking up and trying on their shirts, I will get out of the car and try to get at least one of us (him) registered for this race. Even though I know it’s impossible. I know there’s a waiting list. I know there is absolutely no—

Wait, is that woman carrying a clipboard?

The Truth and Nothing But The Truth!

I go up to the woman. Her name tag says Donna. She is very busy. I wait my turn. I introduce myself to her. I explain the situation, beginning with my great-aunt and -uncle and their commitment to the race, and ending with my miscalcu­lation regarding how quickly the registration would sell out online. “And that’s why, if at all possible, I would like to register just one person for the race, and get them a T-shirt.”

“Wait right here,” Donna says. “I may be able to help you.”

She comes back ten minutes later with a registration form, a race packet, and the coveted T-shirt. She hands them to me. “I have so many people here telling me that they registered on­line, but the confirmation didn’t go through, or that they got an email, but they forgot to print it. You can’t imagine how many cats ate online registration this year. You are the only one that told me the truth,” she says. “Thank you for being honest. You told me the truth about what went wrong, and you were genuine. That’s why I wanted to help you.”

Although it was painful to admit I was wrong, had I not been transparent with Donna-with-her-clipboard, she would not have been so eager to give us a registration package. What made me the most sympathetic was that I was honest and real. I explained what was really wrong, and that’s why she helped me solve my problem.

When complaining, the easiest route is often the most truthful. Even though it can be hard to concede your own mis­takes, it’s worth it if you get to come home bearing good news, a coveted T-shirt, and of course, a broccoli rabe–spinach–pesto pizza for lunch.

Questions for Reflection

  1. Is being right important to you? Can you think of a time where being right got in the way of figuring out a solution to a problem?

  2. Would you choose the 5k or pizza? Be honest.

  3. Is there anyone in your life you would hate to disappoint? Would this prevent you from speaking your mind or en­courage you to speak up?

©2019 by Amy Fish. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission from the book: I Wanted Fries With That
Publisher: New World Library. www.newworldlibrary.com.

Article Source

I Wanted Fries with That: How to Ask for What You Want and Get What You Need
by Amy Fish

I Wanted Fries with That: How to Ask for What You Want and Get What You Need by Amy FishAmy reveals pragmatic methods to redress grievances with civility, honesty, and fairness for everyone involved — whether you’re trying to right the wrongs of the world or just claim the french fries you ordered.

(Also available as a Kindle edition and an Audiobook.)

click to order on amazon

 


Related Books

About the Author

Amy FishAs ombudsman at Concordia University in Montreal, Amy Fish resolves complaints from students, faculty, and staff. She has written for the Huffington Post Canada, Reader’s Digest, and the Globe and Mail and appeared on CBC Marketplace and CTV News. Visit her website at https://www.amyfishwrites.com/

Video/Presentation: Keynote Speaker Amy Fish Montreal Book Launch

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)