الذكر الدجال: العار السري والخوف من عدم كفايتهما

الذكر الدجال: العار السري لعدم كفاية الخير
الصورة عن طريق خالية من صور

على الرغم من أن Imposter Syndrome (IS) اعتُبرت تقليديًا ظاهرة أنثوية ، إلا أنه لا يوجد الكثير من البيانات الصعبة لتأكيد أن النساء يختبرن هذا الأمر أكثر من الرجال. السبب في اعتبارها حالة أنثوية هو ببساطة أن هذه الظاهرة تم اكتشافها لأول مرة باستخدام البحوث المتعلقة بالمرأة وهي صورة نمطية يبدو أنها عالقة. على هذا النحو ، قد يتحمل الرجال الذين يعانون من هذا العبء الإضافي المتمثل في الشعور بالخجل بسبب معاناتهم من شكوى من الإناث على ما يبدو.

والرجال يعانون بالفعل من IS. لم تجد العديد من الدراسات أي اختلاف في مشاعر الدجال التي أبلغ عنها ذاتيا بين طلاب الجامعات من الذكور والإناث والأساتذة والمهنيين. هارفارد عالم نفسي قدمت إيمي كودي محادثة تيد حول القوة التي تمثلها في 2012، وذهلت لتلقي الآلاف من رسائل البريد الإلكتروني من الأشخاص الذين أبلغوا عن شعور وكأنه عملية احتيال - نصفهم تقريبا كانوا من الرجال.

تدعي الخبيرة فاليري يونغ على موقعها الإلكتروني impostersyndome.com أن نصف الحاضرين في ورش عمل متلازمة إمبوستر هم من الرجال. في الواقع ، في 1993 ، بولين كلانس ، مؤلف كتاب العمل الأصلي تحديد حالة IS، أقرت بأن نظريتها الأصلية لمتلازمة الدجال باعتبارها مشكلة أنثى فريدة من نوعها كانت غير صحيحة ، لأن "الذكور في هذه الفئات من السكان هم على الأرجح مثل الإناث لديهم توقعات منخفضة للنجاح وتقديم سمات لعوامل غير متعلقة بالقدرة".

وفقًا لباحثي IS في شركة التنميط النفسي ومقرها الولايات المتحدة ، Arch Profile ، لعينة من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من متلازمة Imposter:

  • لم يشعر 32٪ من النساء و 33٪ من الرجال بأنهم يستحقون أيًا من النجاح الذي حققوه.
  • أخذ 36٪ من النساء و 34٪ من الرجال الكمال إلى أقصى الحدود ووضعوا توقعات غير واقعية لأنفسهم.
  • يعتقد 44٪ من النساء و 38٪ من الرجال أن معظم إنجازاتهم كانت بمثابة صدفة.
  • 47٪ من النساء و 48٪ من الرجال لم يصدقوا ذلك
    حصل على المكافآت التي تلقوها نتيجة عملهم الشاق.

وبالتالي فإن تجربة داعش لا تختلف فيما بين الرجال والنساء. وعلاوة على ذلك ، ذكرت دراسة واحدة في ملحق التعليم العالي تايمز في 2016 يدعي أن الرجال أكثر عرضة للمعاناة من آثار IS أكثر من النساء. نظرت هولي هتشينز ، أستاذة مساعدة في تنمية الموارد البشرية بجامعة هيوستن ، في الأحداث التي أدت إلى ظهور متلازمة إمبوستور في ستة عشر أكاديمياً في الولايات المتحدة. أظهر هذا البحث أن الدافع الأكثر شيوعًا لمشاعر الدجال في العلماء هو التشكيك في خبراتهم من قِبل الزملاء أو الطلاب. أثارت مقارنة أنفسهم سلبًا مع الزملاء ، أو حتى تحقيق النجاح ، مشاعر النقص بين الأكاديميين.

ما كان مثيرًا للاهتمام حقًا هو الاختلافات بين الرجال والنساء في الطريقة التي تعاملوا بها مع داعش. كان لدى النساء استراتيجيات أفضل بكثير في التعامل ، حيث يستخدمن الدعم الاجتماعي والتحدث عن النفس بينما كان من المرجح أن يلجأ المحتالون الذكور إلى الكحول وغيرهم من الاستراتيجيات لتجنب العقبات.

متلازمة إمبوستر الذكور وردود الفعل النمطية

رغم أنه قد لا يكون هناك اختلاف واضح في أعداد الرجال والنساء الذين يعانون من داعش ، إلا أنه قد يكون هناك عدد أقل من الرجال يعترفون بذلك علانية. قد يكون الرجال أقل عرضة للتحدث عن مشاعر التزوير من النساء بسبب "رد الفعل النمطي" ، أو العقوبة الاجتماعية ، التي يمكن أن تتخذ شكل الإهانات أو حتى النبذ ​​الاجتماعي ، لفشلها في الامتثال للقوالب النمطية للذكور ، مثل تلك التي يقول الرجال يجب أن تكون حازمة وثقة. هذا قد يجعل الرجال يترددون في الاعتراف بشكهم الذاتي - إنها ليست مجرد سمة ذكورية ، وبذلك يؤدي ذلك إلى تآكل إحساسهم بالذكورة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


كمؤلف واحد في من الداخل الأعمال بعبارة أخرى ، يعاني الرجال من داعش لكنهم "يخجلون" من الاعتراف بذلك. وهكذا فإن مفهوم داعش كمشكلة أنثى مستمر - يبدو أن النساء ليس لديهن مشكلة في الاعتراف بشكهن بأنفسهن ، بينما يفعل الرجال.

كما أن المجتمع لديه توقعات سلوكية تجاه النساء ، لذلك لديه توقعات على الرجال - لكن مختلفة. من المتوقع أن "يرفع الرجال" منجزاتهم ، حتى يكونوا مغرورين ، ومتعجرفين. يُطلب منهم أن يكونوا أقوياء وليسوا ضعفاء عاطفيًا ، بحيث يصيبهم الشك الذاتي. هذا يمكن أن يتركهم أكثر تحفظًا للحديث عن شعورهم بالاحتيال.

هذا "التكبر" قد يُطلق عليه أيضًا ثقة مفرطة. يمكن للرجال أن يختبروا (أو يتوقع منهم أن يختبروا) الثقة المفرطة العليا ؛ يمكن القول أن هذه هي واحدة من الخصائص التي أشاد بأنها المذكر. هذا يمكن أن يعطي الرجال في الواقع ميزة حقيقية لأن الثقة تولد الثقة - نحن أكثر عرضة للثقة ونؤمن بالأشخاص الواثقين والطمأنينة ، مما يعني أنهم أكثر عرضة للنجاح. من الواضح أن مندوب المبيعات سيكون أقل نجاحًا من خلال الظهور غير متأكد من منتجاته من شخص ما. من السهل أن نرى كيف أن الثقة المفرطة يمكن أن تمنح الرجال الحافة.

ومن السهل بنفس القدر أن نرى كيف أن الرجل الذي يفتقر إلى الثقة ، أو يعاني من الشك في قدراته ، لن يفقد تلك الميزة الطبيعية فحسب ، بل إنه انقلب عليها وفقًا للردود المعيارية النمطية والمعايير المجتمعية . يتم الإشادة بالرجال وقبولهم في المجتمع بسبب صفاتهم الذكورية ، ومن ثم فإنهم سيحصلون على الأحكام السلبية لأي شيء أقل من ذلك.

لا يقتصر الأمر على أن يواجه الذكر المشكوك فيه ذاتياً رد فعل عنيف من جانب المجتمع إذا اعترف بمشاعره ، بل يمكنه أيضًا مواجهة رد فعل عنيف من تلقاء نفسه أيضًا. المحتال أنثى فقط للتعامل مع مشاعر كونها زائفة. يتعين على المحتال الذكر أن يتعامل مع السمنة بالإضافة إلى أن يصيب هويته الذاتية كرجل كنتيجة مباشرة لشعور مزيف. فهل من الغريب إذن أن يكون الرجال أقل عرضة للتأثر بالشعور بالاحتيال ، والأرجح أن يذهبوا إلى الإنكار أو يلجأون إلى استراتيجيات التجنب؟

متلازمة الدهن والصحة العقلية عند الرجال

واحدة من أكبر الطرق - ولكن ربما الأكثر إثارة للدهشة - التي أرى بها داعش تظهر في الرجال المختلفين عن النساء ، هي في مجال الصحة العقلية. أرى الكثير من الرجال في عيادتي الخاصة للصحة العقلية ، لكن الرجال غالبًا ما يقدمون بشكل مختلف تمامًا للنساء اللاتي يعانين من مشاكل الصحة العقلية.

في تجربتي ، يكون الرجال أكثر عرضة من النساء للتغلب على مشاكل الصحة العقلية. وجدوا الفكرة أكثر صعوبة بكثير من النساء.

تقليديًا ، تجلى ذلك في عدم الرغبة في طلب المساعدة ، وهذا ما زال صحيحًا إلى حد كبير ؛ أظهر بحث أجرته مؤسسة الصحة العقلية في المملكة المتحدة مؤخرًا كما أظهرت 2016 أن الرجال لا يزالون أقل عرضة لطلب المساعدة من النساء (28 في المائة من الرجال قالوا إنهم لم يطلبوا المساعدة في مشكلة صحية عقلية مقارنة بـ 19 في المائة فقط من الرجال) نساء). كما قال مصدر واحد ؛ يتجنب الكثير من الرجال الحديث عما يجري داخل عقولهم خوفًا من أن يتم الحكم عليهم أو تجاهلهم - أو يتم إخبارهم بـ "الرجل".

ليس ذلك فحسب ، فقد وجد نفس البحث أيضًا أن الرجال أكثر ترددًا من النساء في إخبار أي شخص أنه يكافح من أجل مشاكل الصحة العقلية ؛ فقط ربع الرجال يخبرون الآخرين مقارنة بثلث النساء ، ومعظمهم سينتظرون عامين قبل أن ينتزعوا الشجاعة للكشف.

خير مثال على ذلك هو ديف تشاونر ، الممثل الكوميدي الذي عاش مع مرض فقدان الشهية والاكتئاب لمدة عشر سنوات قبل طلب المساعدة. أخبر الحارس ذكرت الصحيفة أنه على الرغم من "السماح" للرجال من قبل المجتمع بالتحدث عن المشاعر مثل التوتر والغضب ، "يتم تفسير أي شيء آخر على أنه ضعف" ، لذلك شعر أن الرجال يسخرون من هذه المشاعر أكثر من ذلك بكثير.

"رجل فوق" - العبارة الأكثر تدميراً في الثقافة الحديثة؟

مقال في تلغراف في 2015 ، جادل بأن إخبار الرجال بـ "الإنسان" يمكن أن يكون له عواقب وخيمة للغاية لأن العبارة يمكن أن "تشوش فهم الرجولة والرجولة كمفاهيم". إن مطالبة الرجال بـ "التصرف كرجل" يشتري القوالب النمطية الذكورية لما يعنيه بالضبط أن يكون المرء رجلًا ، وهذه عادة ما تكون أنواعًا قوية من أبطال الحركة.

إن الثقافة التي يتوجب على الرجال أن يتصرفوا بها "مثل الرجال" هي السبب في أن الأولاد يتعلمون بسرعة كبيرة أن "الأولاد الكبار لا يبكون" ، وبالتالي يجب أن تُحشر العواطف وتقمعها. يتم تعليم الصبية الصغار أن الحساسية العاطفية ضعيفة وتنمو مع هذه المتأصلة في نفسيتهم.

هل من المستغرب أن يؤدي إخبار الرجل بـ "الرجل" إلى أن يؤدي بهم إلى التشكيك في إحساسهم بالذم - وتركهم يشعرون وكأنهم دجال لجنسهم؟

يصارع الرجال مع التنافر بين المعتقدات التي يحملونها عمومًا فيما يتعلق بالصحة العقلية. من ناحية ، من المفترض أن يكون الرجال أقوياء. يتم إخبارهم مرارًا وتكرارًا بـ "رجولة!" ، مما يعني أن تكون قاسيًا ، تتحكم في أنفسهم وعواطفهم ، وقبل كل شيء ، أن يكون قوياً. لا يشجع الذكور على متابعة العديد من الصفات الإيجابية أو الصحية التي ينظر إليها على أنها غير رجولية. وتشمل هذه القدرة على الشعور بمجموعة من العواطف ، بما في ذلك الخوف أو الأذى أو الارتباك أو اليأس.

"الرجل الحقيقي" مقابل الدجال؟

ماذا يحدث ، إذن ، عندما يدركون أنهم ليسوا من بين هذه الأشياء - أنهم في حاجة إلى مساعدة ، وأنهم "ضعفاء" وأن عواطفهم تهدد بإغراقهم ، وأنهم لا يستطيعون التغلب عليها؟ بعض الرجال قادرون على تغيير التأكيد الأول إلى تأكيد جديد - وهو أن الرجال لا يزالون رجالًا حتى لو شعروا بالعواطف. لكن العديد من الرجال لديهم صورة نمطية متأصلة لدرجة أنهم لا يستطيعون تغييرها - بل عليهم أن يستنتجوا أنهم ليسوا "رجلاً حقيقياً". وإذا لم تكن رجلاً حقيقياً ، فيجب أن تكون دجالًا.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن محاولة تجنب متلازمة إمبوستر ربما تسهم في اختيار الرجال لعدم الحصول على مساعدة الصحة العقلية التي يحتاجونها. إذا لم يعترفوا بصعوباتهم ، ولم يطلبوا المساعدة ، فلن يضطروا إلى الشعور بأنهم دجال لرجل.

لسوء الحظ ، هذا يؤدي إلى استراتيجيات تجنب بدلاً من مواجهة المشاكل ، وهذا ما يؤكده البحث ؛ الرجال أكثر عرضة بثلاث مرات للقتل بحياتهم مقارنة بالنساء ولديهم معدلات أعلى بكثير من تعاطي الكحول والمخدرات. هذا يشير إلى أن استراتيجيات التكيف غير المتكافئة ، مثل الهروب عن طريق الكحول والمخدرات وحتى الانتحار ، يتم استبدالها باستراتيجية أكثر صحية لطلب المساعدة المهنية. الخوف من أن تكون دجاسة يمكن أن تكون قاتلة بالنسبة للرجال.

في 2015 ، كلف مستشفى Priory للصحة العقلية دراسة استقصائية عن رجال 1,000 للكشف عن مواقف الرجال تجاه صحتهم العقلية. وجدوا أن 77 في المائة من الرجال الذين شملهم الاستطلاع عانوا من القلق / الإجهاد / الاكتئاب. علاوة على ذلك ، قال 40 في المائة من الرجال إنهم لن يطلبوا المساعدة حتى شعروا بالسوء لدرجة أنهم كانوا يفكرون في إيذاء النفس أو الانتحار. قال خمس الرجال إنهم لن يطلبوا المساعدة بسبب الوصمة المرفقة ، بينما قال 16 في المائة أنهم لا يريدون أن يظهروا "ضعفاء".

أفضل نصيحة للرجال

أفضل نصيحة هي الاعتناء بنشاط بصحتك العقلية وعدم الخوف من طلب المساعدة. كذلك ، شجع الرجال في مكان عملك والإعداد الاجتماعي للحديث عن مشاعرهم. معالجة وصمة العار وإلهام الناس على إعادة التفكير في معنى أن تكون رجلاً عصريًا.

© 2019 للدكتور ساندي مان. مقتبسة بإذن
من الكتاب: لماذا أشعر كأنني دجال؟.
نشرتها واتكنز للنشر ، لندن ، المملكة المتحدة.
|www.watkinspublishing.com

المادة المصدر

لماذا أشعر كأنني محتال ؟: كيف أفهم والتعامل مع متلازمة إمبوستر
ساندي مان

لماذا أشعر كأنني محتال ؟: كيف أفهم والتغلب على متلازمة إمبوستر للدكتور ساندي مانالكثير منا يشترك في سر صغير مُخزي: في أعماقه ، نشعر وكأننا عمليات احتيال كاملة ، ونحن مقتنعون بأن إنجازاتنا هي نتيجة الحظ وليس المهارة. هذه ظاهرة نفسية تُعرف باسم "متلازمة إمبوستر". يبحث هذا الكتاب في أسباب قيام ما يصل إلى 70٪ منا بتطوير هذه المتلازمة وما الذي يمكننا القيام به حيال ذلك. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

انقر لطلب على الأمازون

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا المؤلف

عن المؤلف

الدكتور ساندي مانالدكتور ساندي مان هي عالمة نفس ، محاضر جامعي ومديرة عيادة MindTraining في مانشستر حيث يتم اشتقاق الكثير من موادها لهذا الكتاب. وهي مؤلفة لأكثر من كتب علم النفس 20 ، وآخرها علم الملل. وقد كتبت أيضًا وبحثت على نطاق واسع حول التزوير العاطفي ، وبلغت ذروتها في كتابها إخفاء ما نشعر به ، وفشل ما نفعله. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في https://www.mindtrainingclinic.com

فيديو / مقابلة مع الدكتورة ساندي مان

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Male Imposters: The Secret Shame and Fear Of Not Being Good Enough

Male Imposters: The Secret Shame Of Not Being Good Enough
Image by Free-Photos

Although Imposter Syndrome (IS) has traditionally been seen as a female phenomenon, there isn’t an awful lot of hard data to confirm that women actually do experience this more than men. The reason that it is seen as a female condition is simply that the phenomenon was first discovered using research on women and it is a stereotype that seems to have stuck. As such, men who do experience it might have the additional burden of feeling emasculated for suffering from such an apparently female complaint.

And men do indeed suffer from IS. Many studies have found no difference in self-reported impostor feelings among male and female college students, professors, and professionals. Harvard psychologist Amy Cuddy gave a TED Talk on power posing in 2012, and was stunned to receive thousands of emails from people who reported feeling like a fraud – about half of which were from were men.

IS expert Valerie Young claims on her website impostersyndome.com that half of the attendees at her Imposter Syndrome workshops are men. Indeed, in 1993, Pauline Clance, the author of the original work defining the condition of IS, conceded that her original theory of impostor syndrome as a uniquely female problem had been incorrect, since ‘males in these populations are just as likely as females to have low expectations of success and to make attributions to non-ability related factors’.

According to IS researchers at US-based psychological profiling company, Arch Profile, of a sample of people experiencing Imposter Syndrome:

  • 32% of the women and 33% of the men didn’t feel they deserve any of the success they have attained.
  • 36% of the women and 34% of the men took perfectionism to an extreme and set unrealistic expectations for themselves.
  • 44% of the women and 38% of the men believed that most of their accomplishments were a fluke.
  • 47% of the women and 48% of the men didn’t believe that they have
    earned the rewards they have received as a result of their hard work.

Thus the experience of IS does not seem to differ between men and women. Furthermore, one study reported in the Times Higher Education Supplement in 2016 even claims that men are more likely to suffer from the effects of IS than women. Holly Hutchins, Associate Professor of Human Resources Development at the University of Houston looked at the events that triggered Impostor Syndrome in sixteen academics in the US. This research showed that the most common trigger for scholars’ impostor feelings was the questioning of their expertise by colleagues or students. Comparing themselves negatively with colleagues, or even securing successes, also sparked feelings of inadequacies among the academics.

What was really interesting were the differences between men and women in the way they coped with this IS. Women had much better coping strategies, utilizing social support and self-talk whereas the male imposters were more likely to turn to alcohol and other avoidant strategies to cope with feeling phony.

Male Imposter Syndrome and Stereotype Backlash

Although there may not be a marked difference in numbers of men and women experiencing IS, there may be fewer men openly admitting to it. Men may be less likely to talk about feelings of imposterism than women are because of ‘stereotype backlash’, or social punishment, which can take the form of insults or even social ostracism, for failing to conform to male stereotypes, such as the one that says men should be assertive and confident. This may make men reluctant to admit to self-doubt – it is just not a masculine trait and so doing this erodes their sense of masculinity.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


As one author in Business Insider put it, men do suffer from IS but they are just too ‘ashamed’ to admit it. Thus the perception of IS as a female problem is sustained – women seem to have no problem admitting their self-doubt, whereas men do.

Just as society has behavioural expectations on women, so it has expectations on men – but different ones. Men are expected to ‘big up’ their achievements, to be cocky, arrogant even. They are required to be strong and not so emotionally vulnerable as to be plagued by self-doubt. This can leave them much more reticent to talk about how they feel like a fraud.

This ‘bigging up’ might also be termed over-confidence. Men can experience (or are expected to experience) supreme over-confidence; arguably this is one of the characteristics lauded as being masculine. This can actually give men a real advantage as confidence breeds confidence – we are more likely to trust and believe people who are confident and self-assured, which means they are more likely to succeed. Clearly, a salesperson is going to be less successful by appearing to be unsure about their products than someone cocksure. It is easy to see how over-confidence can give men the edge.

And it is equally easy to see how a man who lacks confidence, or is plagued by self-doubt about his abilities, is going to not only lose that natural advantage, but have it turned against them in accordance with the stereotype backlash and societal norms; men are praised and accepted in society for their male qualities, so it follows that they will be the recipients of negative judgements for anything less.

Not only does the self-doubting male face a societal backlash if he admits his feelings, but he can face a self-imposed backlash, too. The female imposter only has to deal with the feelings of being a phony; the male imposter has to cope with the phoniness plus also take a hit on his self-identity as a man as a direct result of feeling fake. Is it any wonder, then, that men are less likely to own up to feeling like frauds, and more likely to go into denial or turn to avoidance strategies?

Imposter Syndrome and Mental Health In Men

One of the biggest – but perhaps most surprising – ways in which I see IS manifest itself in men that is different from women, is in the area of mental health. I see a lot of men in my private practice mental health clinic, but men often present very differently to women who are suffering mental health problems.

In my experience, men are far more likely than women to beat themselves up about having mental health issues. They find the idea much harder to accept than women do.

Traditionally, this has manifested itself in an unwillingness to seek help, and this is still true to a large extent; research by the Mental Health Foundation in the UK as recently as 2016 showed that men are still less likely to seek help than women are (28 per cent of men said they had not sought help with a mental health problem compared with just 19 per cent of women). As one source put it; So many men avoid talking about what’s going on inside their minds out of fear of being judged or ignored – or being told to ‘man up’.

Not only that, the same research also found that men are more reluctant than women to tell anyone that they are struggling with mental health issues; only a quarter of men tell other people compared with a third of women, and most of those would wait two years before they plucked up the courage to disclose.

A perfect example of this is Dave Chawner, a comedian who lived with anorexia and depression for ten years before seeking help. He told The Guardian newspaper that while men are ‘permitted’ by society to talk about emotions such as stress and anger, ‘anything else is interpreted as vulnerability’, so he felt that men bottle up those feelings far more.

‘Man Up’ – The Most Destructive Phrase In Modern Culture?

An article in The Telegraph in 2015, argued that telling men to ‘man up’ can have very damaging consequences because the phrase can ‘blur our understanding of masculinity and manhood as concepts’. Telling men to ‘act like a man’ buys into the male stereotypes of exactly what it means to be a man and these are typically strong action-hero types.

A culture in which men have to act ‘like men’ is why boys learn very quickly that ‘big boys don’t cry’ and that emotions must therefore be squashed and repressed. Young boys are taught that emotional sensitivity is weak and grow up with this ingrained in their psyches.

Is it any wonder that telling a man to ‘man up’ is likely to lead to them questioning their own sense of maleness – and leave them feeling like an imposter for their gender?

Men struggle with the dissonance between the two beliefs they generally hold with respect to mental health. On the one hand, men are meant to be strong. They are told repeatedly to ‘man up!’, which means to be tough, in control of themselves and their emotions and, above all, to be strong. Males are discouraged from pursuing many positive or healthy traits that are perceived as unmanly. These include the ability to feel a range of emotions, including fear, hurt, confusion or despair.

A "Real Man" vs. An Imposter?

What happens, then, when they realise that they are none of those things – that they need help, that they are ‘weak’ and their emotions are threatening to overwhelm them, that they can’t cope? Some men are able to change the first assertion to a new one – that men can still be men even if they feel emotions. But many men have the stereotype so ingrained that they can’t shift it – instead they have to conclude that they are not a ‘real man’. And, if they are not a real man, they must be an imposter.

In addition, trying to avoid Imposter Syndrome may well be contributing to men choosing not to get the mental health help that they need. If they don’t acknowledge their difficulties, and don’t seek help, they don’t have to feel like they are an imposter of a man.

Unfortunately, this leads to avoidance strategies instead of facing up to the problems, and this is borne out by the research; men are three times more likely to take their own lives compared to women and have much higher rates of alcohol and drug abuse. This suggests that maladaptive coping strategies, such as escape via alcohol, drugs and even suicide, are being substituted for the more healthy strategy of seeking professional help. Fear of being an imposter is potentially lethal for men.

In 2015, The Priory mental health hospital commissioned a survey of 1,000 men to uncover men’s attitudes toward their own mental health. They found that 77 per cent of men polled had suffered with anxiety/stress/ depression. Moreover, 40 per cent of the men said they wouldn’t seek help until they felt so bad that they were thinking of self-harm or suicide. A fifth of the men said that they wouldn’t seek help because of the stigma attached, while 16 per cent said that they didn’t want to appear ‘weak’.

The Best Advice for Men

The best advice is to actively look after your mental health and don’t be afraid to seek help. Also, encourage men in your workplace and social setting to talk about their emotions. Tackle the stigma and inspire people to rethink what it means to be a modern man.

©2019 by Dr. Sandi Mann. Excerpted with permission
from the book: Why Do I Feel Like an Imposter?.
Published by Watkins Publishing, London, UK.
|www.watkinspublishing.com

Article Source

Why Do I Feel Like an Imposter?: How to Understand and Cope with Imposter Syndrome
by Dr. Sandi Mann

Why Do I Feel Like an Imposter?: How to Understand and Cope with Imposter Syndrome by Dr. Sandi MannMany of us share a shameful little secret: deep down we feel like complete frauds and are convinced that our accomplishments are the result of luck rather than skill. This is a psychological phenomenon known as 'Imposter Syndrome'. This book examines the reasons why up to 70% of us are developing this syndrome-and what we can do about it. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

click to order on amazon

 

 

More Books by this Author

About the Author

Dr Sandi MannDr Sandi Mann is a psychologist, University Lecturer and Director of The MindTraining Clinic in Manchester where much of her material for this book is derived. She is author of over 20 psychology books, her most recent being The Science of Boredom. She has also written and researched extensively about emotional faking, culminating in her book Hiding What We Feel, Faking What We Do. Visit her website at  https://www.mindtrainingclinic.com

Video/Interview with Dr Sandi Mann

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}