لماذا يمكن أن تجعلك منازل الجيران تشعر بأنك أسوأ عنك

لماذا يمكن أن تجعلك منازل الجيران تشعر بأنك أسوأ عنكقد يكون الرضا عن منزلك يعتمد على حجمه مقارنة بمنازل جيرانك ، وفقًا لبحث جديد.

وجد دانييل كولمان ، أستاذ مساعد في التخطيط المجتمعي والإقليمي في جامعة ولاية أيوا ، أن الناس أكثر عرضةً لأن يكونوا غير راضين عن منزلهم إذا كان أصغر من جيرانهم.

تقدم هذه الدراسة دليلًا على أن الناس لا يهتمون فقط بميزات منزلهم ، بل بموقفهم النسبي: كيف يقارن منزلهم من حيث الحجم بمنزل جيرانهم المباشرين.

مواكبة الجيران

يقول كولمان: "على الرغم من أننا قد لا ندرك ذلك ، فقد تؤثر قراراتنا في الإسكان على تصرفات جيراننا". "نظرًا لأن استهلاك الإسكان ينتج هذه الأنواع من العوامل الخارجية ، فمن خلال بناء منزل كبير ، يمكننا دفع جيراننا عن غير قصد إلى إنفاق المزيد من المال لشراء منازل أكبر للحاق بالركب".

يقول كولمان إن هذا أحد التفسيرات المحتملة للزيادة المطردة في حجم منازل الأسرة الواحدة في الولايات المتحدة على مدار سنوات 50 الأخيرة.

ويقول: "كلما أصبحت الضواحي أكثر تطوراً وتذهب من خلال بناء منازل جديد ، يمكن أن يحدث ذلك في شلال". "كان الشخص التالي الذي يقوم ببناء منزل على ما يرام مع منزل من غرف 10 - لكنهم يعتقدون الآن أنهم بحاجة إلى منزل من غرف 12 ليتم اعتباره في وضع جيد. المنازل الكبيرة تميل إلى أن تنجب المنازل الكبيرة. "

أكثر من الحجم؟

في هذه الدراسة ، حلل كولمان بيانات من المسح الإحصائي الوطني الأمريكي للإسكان 1993 ، الذي شمل عينة من الأحياء الخاصة تضم أكثر من منازل 1,000 وأقرب جيران 10 لتقييم الرضا. تميل معظم بيانات الإسكان إلى التركيز على الوحدات السكنية أو الأشخاص ، وليس كلاهما. يقول كولمان إن هذا القسم من استطلاع 1993 نادر الحدوث بهذا المعنى ، وهو أمر من المحتمل ألا يتكرر ، بسبب الجهود المتزايدة لتجنب التعرف على المشاركين في الاستطلاع.

يُظهر نموذج Kuhlmann أن أولئك الذين يعيشون في أصغر منزل في الحي الذي يقيمون فيه هم أكثر عرضة بنسبة 5٪ في المتوسط ​​للإبلاغ بأنهم غير راضين عن وحدتهم عن أولئك الذين يعيشون في أكبر منزل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يقول: "السبب في أنني أنظر إلى الحجم مقارنةً بخصائص الإسكان الأخرى هو أن هذا الحجم سهل القياس والمقارنة". "إذا كان الحجم مهمًا ، فمن المحتمل أن يكون هناك الكثير من خصائص الإسكان الأخرى المهمة ، مثل عصر مخزون الإسكان أو المنزل الذي عفا عليه الزمن من الناحية المعمارية - لكن من الصعب تحديد هذه الاختلافات."

يقول كولمان إن هذه النتائج يمكن أن تساعد الباحثين وواضعي السياسات الذين يرغبون في فهم وإيجاد حلول للمعارضة على مستوى الحي للتنمية الجديدة. أحد الشواغل المشتركة بين معارضي التنمية هو أن الإسكان الجديد سيغير طابع حيهم ، لكن دراسة كولمان تشير إلى أن "مخاوف المجتمع بشأن شخصية الحي قد تكذب المخاوف الملموسة حول كيفية تأثير التنمية على تصوراتهم لمنازلهم" ، يكتب في الصحيفة. .

تحدد هذه الدراسة إمكانيات البحث في المستقبل: ما إذا كانت اهتمامات الإسكان الموضعية هذه تسبب تحركات الناس ، وكيف يتغير الإطار المرجعي للأشخاص عند مقارنة منزل جديد بمنزلهم الحالي.

تظهر الدراسة في دراسات الإسكان.

مصدر: جامعة ولاية أيوا

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why A Neighbors’ Houses Can Make You Feel Worse About Your Own

Why A Neighbors’ Houses Can Make You Feel Worse About Your OwnSatisfaction with your home can depend on its size compared to the homes of your neighbors, according to new research.

Daniel Kuhlmann, assistant professor of community and regional planning at Iowa State University, found that people are more likely to be dissatisfied with their house if it is smaller than their neighbors’.

This study provides evidence that people care not only about their house’s features, but their relative position: how their house compares in size to those of their immediate neighbors.

Keeping up with the neighbors

“Although we may not realize it, our housing decisions may affect our neighbors’ actions,” Kuhlmann says. “Because housing consumption produces these types of externalities, by building a large house we could unwittingly push our neighbors to spend more money to buy larger homes to catch up.”

Kuhlmann says this is one possible explanation for the steady increase in the size of single-family houses in the US over the last 50 years.

“As suburbs become more developed and go through new homebuilding, that can waterfall,” he says. “The next person who builds a house would have been totally fine with a 10-room house—but now they think they need a 12-room house to be considered in good standing. Large houses tend to beget larger houses.”

More than size?

For this study, Kuhlmann analyzed data from the US Census’ 1993 National American Housing Survey, which included a special neighborhood sample of more than 1,000 homes and their 10 nearest neighbors to assess satisfaction. Most housing data tend to focus on either housing units or people, not both. This section of the 1993 survey is rare in that sense, and it’s something that likely won’t be replicated, Kuhlmann says, due to increased efforts to avoid identification of survey respondents.

Kuhlmann’s model shows that those living in the smallest house in their neighborhood are on average 5% more likely to report that they are dissatisfied with their unit than are those living in the largest house.

“The reason I look at size as opposed to other housing characteristics is that size is easy to measure and compare,” he says. “If size matters, there are probably a lot of other housing characteristics that matter, too, such as the age of housing stock or an architecturally outdated home—but it’s harder to quantify those differences.”

Kuhlmann says these results can help scholars and policymakers who want to understand and find solutions to neighborhood-level opposition to new development. A common concern among development opponents is that new housing will alter their neighborhood character, but Kuhlmann’s study suggests “that community concerns about neighborhood character may belie more tangible fears about how development will affect their perceptions of their own homes,” he writes in the paper.

This study identifies possibilities for future research: whether these positional housing concerns cause people to move, and how people’s frame of reference changes when comparing a new home to their current one.

The study appears in Housing Studies.

Source: Iowa State University

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}