بركات حياة غير كاملة: اغتنام اللحظة

بركات حياة غير كاملة: اغتنام اللحظة
الصورة عن طريق سانتا 3

لأنني قضيت أكثر سعادة أجزاء من حياتي في الطرف الجنوبي من جبال نيو هامبشير والأبيض، واثنين من قمم حكم مخيلتي: لحجمها الهائل، والرياح والطقس سجلها قتل جبل واشنطن، وجبل لChocorua صورتها النبيلة ولل أسطورة من قائد التحدي الهندي Pequawket الذي قفز الى وفاته من قمته، شتم الرجال البيض الذين كانوا هناك متابعة له.

تسلقت مرة Chocorua كثير وهو صبي، ومنذ وقت الخطوبة لنا، أنا وزوجتي عدها بزيادة إلى قمتها باعتبارها واحدة من الطقوس السنوية. على واحد رفع هذا اتخذنا قرارا رومانسية وغير عملي بصورة عشوائية لبناء منزل الموسمية هنا في نيو هامبشاير، وبدلا من الصيف الصبا بلدي، وأكثر من ألف ميل بعيدا عن سهول الغرب الاوسط حيث نعيش ونعمل معظم شهور السنة.

على ارتفاع نفسه، بالمناسبة، تحدثت صبي من القفز من أعلى صخرة كبيرة الزاوي أن العلياء على بعد بضعة أمتار من أسفل قمة على الجانب الشرقي. وكان الصبي قفز من فوق صخرة، عن حجم مرآب سيارة واحدة، ومن ثم لا تستطيع أن تحقق تماما نفسه إلى النزول مرة أخرى. استدعائي لأنه كان على وشك القفز، بتشجيع من اصدقائه أدناه، صوتي أفضل الفصول الدراسية، وقال: "لا تفعل ذلك". ثم تحدثت عنه باستمرار على الطريقة التي قد تأتي. في الجزء الخلفي من ذهني كنت أفكر أنه لم يتم خفض هذا الشاب من اصل لمصير رئيس Chocorua ل.

الانتصارات الصغرى ...

منع حدوث معجزة، وأنا لا تسلق Chocorua مرة أخرى. لقد مضت حوالي أربع سنوات منذ أن تم تشخيص إصابتي بمرض لو جيريج، وهي حالة التنكسية العصبية وقاتلة في النهاية مع عدم وجود علاج فعال ولا شفاء منه. في ذلك الوقت، لقد تمكنت من الانتهاء من جميع التسلق 48 من قمم نيو هامبشاير فوق 4000 قدم، وهي مهمة بدأت في السادسة من عمره مع صعود أول من ماونت واشنطن. الآن، ومع ذلك، فإن ساقي لا يذهب المسافة، وأنا يجب أن أكتفي أقل الانتصارات في الحصول على الجوارب بلدي في الصباح، ويجعل من أسفل الدرج.

في الصيف الماضي يوم كانت عندما بدأت كتابة هذا المقال، زوجتي، كاثرين، ولنا سبع سنوات من العمر، هارون، وتسلق جبل واشنطن من دون لي. لم أتمكن من الانضمام اليهم في الجسم، والبحث السريع للشبكة وجدت وجهة نظر حية من كاميرا محمولة على المرصد في القمة. وأشار الى الشمال، وأظهرت الكاميرا قمم منحنية نحو مظلم من متوسط ​​الرئاسي الشمالي تحت السماء الزرقاء. وقدم آخر نقرة من الماوس لي الظروف الجوية الحالية. وبالقرب من يوليو يوم مثالي: وضوح 80 ميلا، وطاقة الرياح على 35 ميلا في الساعة، ودرجة الحرارة 42 درجة مئوية. مقتنعة بأن زوجتي وابني سوف تشهد القمة في أفضل حالاتها، وأنا ثم تبين لاكتشاف، على شرفهم، ما قد يكون من الممكن القول عن التسلق، وتسلق الجبال لا. حول ما تبقى منتصبة، والتعلم في الانخفاض.

تعلم السقوط. تعلم الفشل

الجهات الفاعلة وstuntmen تعلم أن يسقط: مثل الاطفال شاهدنا منهم قفز من قطارات متحركة والحناطير. لدي ذاكرة خافت من فئة الصف الثامن يتصرف التي كانت تدرس أنا في الانخفاض، ولكن لا يمكنني أن أتذكر هذه التقنية. الرياضيين تعلم أن يسقط، ومعظم الناس الذين لعبوا الرياضية لديها في مرحلة ما كان مدرب نقول لهم كيفية الغوص ولفة، فنا لم أكن أتقن. المحبون لتعلم فنون الدفاع عن النفس في الانخفاض، كما تفعل الراقصات ومتسلقون الصخرة. في الغالب، رغم ذلك، ونحن نعلم أن نفعل ذلك بشكل سيئ.

ذاكرة أقرب لي: انا واقفة وحدها في أعلى الدرج، وغمط، خائفة. وأدعو إلى والدتي، لكنها لم تأت. أنا قبضة درابزين وننظر إلى أسفل: لم يسبق لي أن فعلت هذا من تلقاء نفسي من قبل. انها اول قرار واع من حياتي. على مستوى بعض ويجب أن أعرف أنه من خلال ذلك أنني أصبحت شيئا جديدا: أنا أصبحت "أنا". الذاكرة هنا ينتهي: يدي التي تخيم على السكك الحديدية فوق رأسي، قدم واحدة تطلق في الفضاء.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بعد أربعين سنة، جعلت صلع الزاحفة من السهل أن نرى الندوب التي اكتسبت من هذه المغامرة. لا يزال، وأنا لست نادما على ذلك. واحد لابد أن يبدأ في مكان ما. وعدم الوقوع، بقدر ما التسلق، وحقا مكتسبا لدينا؟ في اللاهوت المسيحي للسقوط، نعاني جميعا من سقوط من نعمة، وسقوط من الترابط لدينا البدائية مع الله. وكان تعثر بلدي قليلا أسفل الدرج طرد بلدي من الحديقة: بعد من أي وقت مضى ولقد تم هبوط إلى الأمام وإلى أسفل في السنوات ندوب من حياة واعية، والوقوع في معرفة من الألم والحزن، والضياع.

لقد عانينا جميعا، ويعانون، وسوف يسقط منطقتنا. سقوط المثل العليا من الشباب، ويضعف من القوة البدنية، وعدم وجود الأمل المنشود، وفقدان القريب لنا وعزيزة، وسقوط إلى إصابة أو مرض، وتأخر أو قريبا، وسقوط إلى غاياتنا معينة. ليس لدينا أي خيار سوى تدخل إليها، ويقولون القليل فيما يتعلق بالوقت أو الوسائل.

ربما، ومع ذلك، فإننا لا يكون لها رأي في طريقة السقوط لدينا. وهذا هو، ربما لدينا رأي في المسائل ذات النمط. مثل الاطفال لعبنا كل لعبة القفز من لوحة الغوص أو قفص الاتهام، وقبل أن تصل إلى المياه وضرب بعض شائن أو أبله يطرح: الفأس، قاتل، واشنطن عبور، ولاية ديلاوير كلب مسعور ربما يتعلق الأمر الى ما لا يزيد عن هذا. لكن أود أن اعتقد أن تعلم أن يسقط أكثر من مجرد مسألة من يطرح، أكثر من فرصة للعب ليضحك. في الواقع، وأود ان تكون في طريق السقوط لدينا ونحن لدينا الفرصة لنعبر عن إنسانيتنا الأساسية.

تمسك باللحظة

هناك المثل المعروف زن عن الرجل الذي كان عبور حقل عندما رأى نمرا اتهام اليه. ركض الرجل، ولكن النمر المكتسبة عليه، تطارده نحو حافة الهاوية. وكان الرجل عندما وصل الى الحافة، أي خيار سوى القفز إلى. كان لديه فرصة واحدة لإنقاذ نفسه: فرع الوعرة متزايد من جانب جرف عن لأسفل حتى منتصفه. فتسلق فرع ومعلقة على. غمط، ما لم يرى على أرض الواقع أدناه؟ آخر نمر.

ثم رأيت الرجل الذي على بعد بضعة أقدام من لمحطة اليسرى صغيرة انبثقت من الهاوية، ومنه معلقة هناك 1 الفراولة الناضجة. ترك الذهاب يدا واحدة مع انه وجد انه يمكن ان تمتد يده خارج فقط بعيدا بما فيه الكفاية لنتف التوت مع أنامله وإحضاره إلى شفتيه.

كيف الحلو ذاقت ذلك!

العثور على أنفسنا في مأزق

وجدت نفسي في هذا الصيف ما قبل الماضي، في منتصف الطريق حتى الشريحة صخرة على قمة جبل شمال Tripyramid. الشريحة شمال Tripyramid هو على بعد ميل من ألواح الغرانيت البقعة والحصى نمت جزئيا مع أكثر من شجرة التنوب خضراء والبتولا على ملعب كما حاد كما في سقف المنزل. كنت قد فعلت هذا الارتفاع وهو صبي، في حذاء قماش وسروال طويل، لكنها لم تذكر كم كان الأمر صعبا.

في وقت سابق من هذا الصيف وكان لي ضعف، والساقين متهاد تمكن من الحصول على ما يصل لي Chocorua مع مشكلة سوى القليل على الحواف العليا. ولكن هنا قد فشلوا لي. كنت قد انخفض بالفعل مرتين، والكدمات الاضلاع، gashing الركبتين، يهرس 1 الكوع الى اللب. واقفا تطل على الوادي، واهتزت ساقي وجلبت كل نفس الألم. لقد كنت في المواقف الصعبة في الجبال من قبل، ولكن هذا كان أقرب كنت قد شعرت يوما إلى أعمال بائسة كامل من الفضلات، وفرق الانقاذ وسيارات الطوارئ. نظرت بها في الجبال لأنها كانت الشيء الوحيد الذي يمكنني أن ننظر. وكان وجهة النظر إلى أسفل المنحدر في قدمي مرعبا، وجهة النظر حتى في الصعود لا يطاق قدما.

النمور في كلتا الحالتين

في مثل هذه الحالة، ينظر المرء للسلم. كما وقفت هناك في ألم لا تبحث ولا تصل إلى أسفل، بل والخروج عبر الوادي إلى قمم الغرانيت حيث ارتفعت ضد سماء مضطربة، أحصيت بين سلم لي على حقيقة أنه لا تمطر. الشريحة صخرة شديدة الانحدار، كما كان الغادرة الآن، ستكون قاتلة عندما تكون رطبة. وكان لي سلم الأخرى لحساب، كذلك. ثلاث سنوات من خلال وجود المرض الذي يقتل معظم الناس في أربعة أو خمسة، ينتمي الأول، من الناحية الاحصائية، في كرسي متحرك، وليس على جانب أحد الجبال. كنت سعيدا إلى أن الوقوف في اي مكان، وخصوصا سعيد، كل الأمور في الاعتبار، أن أقف هنا، في جبال بلدي الحبيب الأبيض، وتبحث على مدى أميال من الغابات البرية.

ومع ذلك ، كانت هناك تلك السماء المضطربة. في الحقيقة ، كانت الأمطار تهدد طوال اليوم. أولئك الذين لم يقفوا أبداً في مكان مرتفع وشاهدوا العاصفة المطيرة تتحرك باتجاهك عبر الوادي ، فاتهم أحد الأشياء التي تم اختراعها لوصف الكلمات الرائعة والرائعة. أنت لست متأكدًا تمامًا من رؤيتك للمطر نفسه: مجرد ضباب رمادي يتدفق أسفل الغيوم ينجرف ببطء وثبات مثل السفن الشراعية العالية.

جميل ، نعم ، لكن في ظروفي الحالية شعرت بشيء أكثر من الجمال. رأيت مثل هذه العاصفة تأتي إلي الآن عبر تلك المساحة الشاسعة التي شعرت بدهشة السامية ، التي عرفها إدموند بورك في القرن الثامن عشر بأنها "ليست متعة ، بل نوع من الرعب المبهج ، نوع من الهدوء المشوب بالإرهاب". كان الأمر كما لو أنني حظيت بامتياز لمحة عن موتي ، ووجدت أنه أفظع وأجمل شيء رأيته على الإطلاق.

وهل الأخلاق؟

أفترض أنني أستطيع التوقف هنا وأختتم كل هذا بأخلاقي أنيق. يمكنني تقديم نوع المشورة التي تجدها في المجلات التي تباع في محل البقالة. أتعرف ما أقصده. لقد قمت بنصيبي من التسوق في البقالة ، ومثل جميع الآباء الأمريكيين ذوي الدم الأحمر ، أكافئ نفسي بقراءة مجلات النساء في خط الخروج. يبدو أنني لا أستطيع الحصول على ما يكفي من "ثلاثة أسابيع إلى أرق الفخذين" و "عشرة رجال ناجحين يخبرون ما يريدون حقًا في السرير". وقد حصلت دائمًا على أفضل نصيحة أبوية من مجلة Working Mother.

تتبع المقالات في الأم العاملة صيغة جامدة: ابدأ بحكاية جذابة ، ثم جرّب خبيرًا معتمدًا بشكل مناسب حول أي مشكلة كان من المفترض أن توضحها الحكاية - الطفل الصغير ، الآكل ، ثم دع الخبير ينزل إلى أعمال إزالة شذرات المشورة الواردة في النص بنقاط. الصيغة مريحة وفعالة. أنت تعرف ما هو قادم ، وإذا كنت في عجلة من أمرك ، يمكنك تخطي الحكاية وبيانات الاعتماد والوصول مباشرة إلى النقاط.

أنا يمكن أن تفعل الشيء نفسه مع قصص وقلت حتى الآن. بالتأكيد قصة النمور ومغامرة لي في شذرات جبل العائد Tripyramid من نصيحة جديرة نقطة رصاصة أو اثنتين:

  1. لا تنتظر مأساة لبدء تقدير الأشياء الصغيرة في الحياة. لا ينبغي لنا أن يكون مطاردا من قبل النمور أو القفز من على جرف لتذوق حلاوة من الفراولة واحدة.

  2. وقف ورائحة زهر العسل. أو على الأقل لاجل الخير "توقف ومشاهدة عاصفة ممطرة في المرة القادمة التي ترى واحد.

  3. عد بركاتك. نقدر ما لديك بدلا من يشكو ما لم يكن لديك.

الحياة لغز للتجربة

الآن، كل هذا هو نصيحة جيدة. ولكن أنا لا أكتب هذا لتقديم المشورة. أنا أكتب، أنا افترض، أن أقول إن الحياة ليست مشكلة يجب حلها. ماذا أعني بذلك؟ بالتأكيد حياة يقدم لنا المشاكل. عندما يكون لدي ألم في الأسنان، وأنا أحاول أن التفكير بعقلانية حول أسبابه. أنا أعتبر الحلول الممكنة، وتكاليفها ونتائجها. وأود أن استشارة خبير، في هذه الحالة وهو طبيب أسنان، وهو ماهر في حل هذا النوع من مشكلة خاصة. وبالتالي نحن من خلال الحصول على كثير من جوانب الحياة.

كثقافة ، حققنا الكثير من خلال رؤية الحياة كمجموعة من المشاكل التي يتعين حلها. لقد اخترعنا أدوية جديدة ، وسافرنا إلى القمر ، وقمنا بتطوير الكمبيوتر الذي أكتب عليه هذا المقال. تعلمنا طريقتنا من الإغريق. منذ الطفولة تعلمنا أن نكون أرسطو الصغار.

نحن نراقب العالم ، نحلل ما نراه في أجزائه المكونة. نحن ندرك المشكلات ونبدأ حلها ، ونضع حلولنا في تسلسل منظم مثل تعليمات تجميع دراجة الطفل. لقد نجحنا في هذه الطريقة لدرجة أننا نطبقها على كل شيء ، ولذلك لدينا مقالات في المجلات تخبرنا عن الطرق الست للعثور على رفيق ، والطرق الثماني لجلب المزيد من الفرح في حياتك ، والعناصر العشرة لعائلة ناجحة ، الخطوات الاثني عشر نحو التنوير الروحي. نختار أن نرى الحياة كمسألة تقنية.

وهنا حيث كنا على غير ما يرام. لفي الحياة أعمق مستويات ليست مشكلة ولكن سر أ. التمييز، والتي أنا الاقتراض من فيلسوف غابرييل مارسيل، أمر أساسي: يجب حل المشاكل ، ولا يتم حل الألغاز الحقيقية. أنا شخصياً أتمنى لو كنت قد تعلمت هذا الدرس بسهولة أكبر - ربما ، دون الاضطرار إلى التخلي عن مباراة التنس. لكن كل واحد منا يجد طريقه الخاص إلى الغموض.

في وقت أو آخر ، يواجه كل منا تجربة قوية للغاية ، محيرة ، مبتهجة ، أو مرعبة لدرجة أن جميع جهودنا لنرى أنها "مشكلة" عقيمة. يتم إحضار كل منا إلى حافة الهاوية. في مثل هذه اللحظات ، يمكننا إما التراجع عن المرارة أو الارتباك ، أو القفز إلى الغموض. وماذا يطلب الغموض منا؟ فقط أن نكون في حضوره ، وأن نسلّم أنفسنا بالكامل ، بوعي. هذا كل شيء ، وهذا كل شيء. لا يمكننا المشاركة في الغموض إلا بترك الحلول. هذا التخلي هو الدرس الأول من السقوط ، والأصعب.

أتقدم قصصي ليس على سبيل التوضيح وجود مشكلة ولكن كما مداخل الى سر هبوط. والآن أنا لا نقدم المشورة، وليس النقاط، ولكن نقاط الغموض، وانطلقوا في النص الذي قدمته ليس مع نقاط الجولة مألوفة، ولكنها مع علامات استفهام:

? إذا النمو الروحي هو ما كنت تسعى، لا أطلب أكثر من الفراولة، وطلب المزيد من النمور.

? تهديد للنمور، قفزة من الهاوية، هي التي تعطي لتذوق الفراولة لها. لا يمكن تجنبه، ولا يمكن للفراولة أن يتمتع بدونها. لا النمور، لا حلاوة.

? في هبوط نكتسب بطريقة أو بأخرى ما يعني أكثر من غيرها. في السقوط التي تعطى لنا مرة أخرى في حياتنا حتى ونحن تفقد لهم.

مقتطف بإذن من Bantam ، divn. شركة راندوم هاوس
© 2002. جميع الحقوق محفوظة. لا يجوز إعادة إنتاج أي جزء من هذا المقتطف
أو إعادة طبعها دون إذن خطي من الناشر.

المادة المصدر

تعلم السقوط: بركات حياة غير كاملة
بواسطة فيليب سيمونز.

تعلم الهبوط بواسطة فيليب سيمونز.كان فيليب سيمونز يبلغ من العمر 35 عامًا فقط ، في عام 1993 ، عندما علم أنه مصاب بمرض العصبية الحركية ، وهي حالة قاتلة عادة ما تقتل ضحاياه في غضون عامين إلى خمسة أعوام ، ولكن تجاوزها بالفعل بالفعل فيليب. مع زواج قوي ، طفلين صغيرين وبدء مهنة أدبية وأكاديمية واعدة ، كان عليه فجأة أن يودع. ولكن ، من خلال تعلم فن الموت ، نجح ، على عكس الصعاب ، في تعلم فن الحياة. في 12 فصلاً ، يروي هذا الكتاب قصة رحلة فيليب الروحية. العثور على إجابات لأعمق أسئلة الحياة - وتقديم مجموعة من الشخصيات الملونة على طول الطريق - يوضح فيليب ، قبل كل شيء ، أنه يمكننا أن نتعلم كيف نعيش حياة من العمق والتعاطف والشجاعة بغض النظر عن الحياة التي تلقيها علينا.

معلومات / اطلب هذا الكتاب. متوفر أيضًا كإصدار Kindle.

نبذة عن الكاتب

تعديل السلوك

وكان فيليب سيمونز وهو أستاذ مشارك في اللغة الإنكليزية في كلية ليك فورست في ولاية إيلينوي، حيث كان يدرس الأدب والكتابة الإبداعية لمدة تسع سنوات قبل ان يتم تعطيلها. وقد نشرت له منحة دراسية الأدبية على نطاق واسع ورواياته القصيرة قد ظهر في بلاي بوي، TriQuarterly، بلاوشيرز، ومراجعة ماساتشوستس، من بين غيرها من المجلات. توفي من المضاعفات الناجمة عن المرض في 27 يوليو، 2002. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في http://www.learningtofall.com

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
by جين رولاند وشانتيديفي
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
by فيليب روسو وبريت ميتشل
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
by ساثفيك براساد وبرادلي ريفز

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

Blessings of an Imperfect Life: Seize the Moment

Blessings of an Imperfect Life: Seize the Moment
Image by Santa3

Because I've spent the happier parts of my life at the southern edge of New Hampshire's White Mountains, two peaks rule my imagination: Mount Washington for its sheer size, its record winds and killing weather, and Mount Chocorua for its noble profile and for the legend of the defiant Pequawket Indian chief who leaped to his death from its summit, cursing the white men who had pursued him there.

I climbed Chocorua many times as a boy, and from the time of our courtship, my wife and I counted a hike to its summit as one of our annual rituals. On one such hike we made the romantic and wildly impractical decision to build a seasonal home here in New Hampshire, the place of my boyhood summers, over a thousand miles away from the Midwestern flatlands where we live and work most of the year.

On the same hike, incidentally, I talked a teenage boy out of jumping off the large angular boulder that perches just a few yards down from the summit on the east side. The boy had climbed atop the rock, about the size of a one-car garage, and then could not quite bring himself to climb down again. As he was on the point of leaping, encouraged by his friends below, I summoned my best classroom voice and said, "Don't do that." I then talked him down the way he had come up. In the back of my mind I was thinking that this young man was not cut out for Chief Chocorua's fate.

The Lesser Triumphs...

Barring a miracle, I'll not climb Chocorua again. It's been almost four years since I was diagnosed with Lou Gehrig's disease, a degenerative and ultimately fatal neurological condition with no effective treatment and no cure. In that time, I've managed to finish climbing all forty-eight of the New Hampshire peaks above four thousand feet, a task begun at age six with my first ascent of Mount Washington. Now, however, my legs won't go the distance, and I must content myself with the lesser triumphs of getting on my socks in the morning and making it down the stairs.

On the day last summer when I began writing this essay, my wife, Kathryn, and our seven-year-old son, Aaron, were climbing Mount Washington without me. Unable to join them in body, I did a quick search of the Web and found a live view from a camera mounted on the observatory at the summit. Pointed north, the camera showed the darkly hunched peaks of the northern Presidential Range beneath blue sky. Another click of the mouse gave me the current weather conditions. A near perfect July day: visibility eighty miles, wind at thirty-five miles per hour, temperature forty-two degrees. Satisfied that my wife and son would experience the summit at its best, I then set out to discover, in their honor, what it might be possible to say about climbing, and not climbing. About remaining upright, and learning to fall.

Learning to Fall, Learning to Fail

Actors and stuntmen learn to fall: as kids we watched them leap from moving trains and stagecoaches. I have a dim memory of an eighth-grade acting class in which I was taught to fall, but I can't remember the technique. Athletes learn to fall, and most people who have played sports have at some point had a coach tell them how to dive and roll, an art I never mastered. Devotees of the martial arts learn to fall, as do dancers and rock climbers. Mostly, though, we learn to do it badly.

My earliest memory: I'm standing alone at the top of the stairs, looking down, scared. I call for my mother, but she doesn't come. I grip the banister and look down: I have never done this on my own before. It's the first conscious decision of my life. On some level I must know that by doing this I'm becoming something new: I am becoming an "I." The memory ends here: my hand gripping the rail above my head, one foot launched into space.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Forty years later, encroaching baldness has made it easier to see the scars I gained from that adventure. Still, I don't regret it. One has to start somewhere. Is not falling, as much as climbing, our birthright? In the Christian theology of the fall, we all suffer the fall from grace, the fall from our primordial connectedness with God. My little tumble down the stairs was my own expulsion from the Garden: ever after I have been falling forward and down into the scarred years of conscious life, falling into the knowledge of pain, grief, and loss.

We have all suffered, and will suffer, our own falls. The fall from youthful ideals, the waning of physical strength, the failure of a cherished hope, the loss of our near and dear, the fall into injury or sickness, and late or soon, the fall to our certain ends. We have no choice but to fall, and little say as to the time or the means.

Perhaps, however, we do have some say in the manner of our falling. That is, perhaps we have a say in matters of style. As kids we all played the game of leaping from a diving board or dock, and before hitting the water striking some outrageous or goofy pose: ax-murderer, Washington crossing the Delaware, rabid dog. Maybe it comes to no more than this. But I'd like to think that learning to fall is more than merely a matter of posing, more than an opportunity to play it for laughs. In fact, I would have it that in the way of our falling we have the opportunity to express our essential humanity.

Seize the Moment

There's a well-known Zen parable about the man who was crossing a field when he saw a tiger charging at him. The man ran, but the tiger gained on him, chasing him toward the edge of a cliff. When he reached the edge, the man had no choice but to leap. He had one chance to save himself: a scrubby branch growing out of the side of the cliff about halfway down. He grabbed the branch and hung on. Looking down, what did he see on the ground below? Another tiger.

Then the man saw that a few feet off to his left a small plant grew out of the cliff, and from it there hung one ripe strawberry. Letting go with one hand he found that he could stretch his arm out just far enough to pluck the berry with his fingertips and bring it to his lips.

How sweet it tasted!

Finding Ourselves In A Predicament

I found myself in it summer before last, halfway up the rock slide on the north peak of Mount Tripyramid. The north slide of Tripyramid is a mile of slick granite slabs and loose gravel partially grown over with scrubby spruce and birch on a pitch as steep as the roof of your house. I had done this hike as a boy, in canvas sneakers and long pants, but had not remembered how hard it was.

Earlier that summer my weakening, wobbly legs had managed to get me up Chocorua with only a little trouble on the upper ledges. But here they had failed me. I had already fallen twice, bruising ribs, gashing knees, mashing one elbow to pulp. Standing there looking out over the valley, my legs shook and each breath brought pain. I had been in tight spots in the mountains before, but this was the closest I had ever felt to the entire wretched business of litters, rescue teams, and emergency vehicles. I looked out at the mountains because they were the only thing I could look at. The view down the slope at my feet was terrifying, the view up at the climb ahead intolerable.

Tigers Either Way

In such a situation, one looks for blessings. As I stood there in pain looking neither up nor down but out across the valley to where granite peaks rose against a turbulent sky, I counted among my blessings the fact that it wasn't raining. The steep rock slide, treacherous as it was now, would be deadly when wet. I had other blessings to count, as well. Three years into the course of an illness that kills most people in four or five, I belonged, statistically speaking, in a wheelchair, not on the side of a mountain. I was happy to be standing anywhere, and especially happy, all things considered, to be standing here, in my beloved White Mountains, looking out over miles of forested wilderness.

There was, however, that turbulent sky. Fact was, rain had been threatening all day. Those of you who have never stood in a high place and watched a rainstorm move toward you across a valley have missed one of the things the words awesome and majestic were invented to describe. You're never quite sure you're seeing the rain itself: just a gray haze trailing below clouds drifting slow and steady as high sailed ships.

Beautiful, yes, but in my present circumstances I felt something more than beauty. Seeing such a storm come at me now across that vast space I felt the astonishment of the sublime, which Edmund Burke defined in the eighteenth century as "not pleasure, but a sort of delightful horror, a sort of tranquility tinged with terror." It was as though I had been privileged with a glimpse of my own death, and found it the most terrible and beautiful thing I had ever seen.

And The Moral Is?

I suppose I could stop here and wrap all this up with a neat moral. I could give out the sort of advice you find in the magazines sold at the grocery store. You know what I mean. I've done my share of grocery shopping, and like all red-blooded American dads I reward myself by reading the women's magazines in the checkout line. Seems I can't get enough of "Three Weeks to Thinner Thighs," and "Ten Successful Men Tell What They Really Want in Bed." And I've always gotten my best parenting advice from Working Mother magazine.

The articles in Working Mother follow a rigid formula: start with a catchy anecdote, then trot out an appropriately credentialed expert on whatever problem the anecdote was meant to illustrate -- the whiny child, the fussy eater -- then let the expert get down to the business of dishing out nuggets of advice set off in the text with bullet points. The formula is comforting and efficient. You know just what's coming, and if you're in a hurry you can skip the anecdote and credentials and get right to the bullet points.

I could do the same thing with the stories I've told so far. Surely the story of the tigers and my escapade on Mount Tripyramid yield nuggets of advice worthy of a bullet point or two:

  1. Don't wait for a tragedy to start appreciating the little things in life. We shouldn't have to be chased by tigers or leap off a cliff to savor the sweetness of a single strawberry.

  2. Stop and smell the honeysuckle. Or at least for goodness' sake stop and watch a rainstorm the next time you see one.

  3. Count your blessings. Appreciate what you have instead of complaining about what you don't have.

Life Is A Mystery To Be Experienced

Now, all of this is good advice. But I'm not writing this to give advice. I'm writing, I suppose, to say that life is not a problem to be solved. What do I mean by that? Surely life presents us with problems. When I have a toothache, I try to think rationally about its causes. I consider possible remedies, their costs and consequences. I might consult an expert, in this case a dentist, who is skilled in solving this particular sort of problem. And thus we get through much of life.

As a culture we have accomplished a great deal by seeing life as a set of problems to be solved. We have invented new medicines, we have traveled to the moon, developed the computer on which I am writing this essay. We learned our method from the Greeks. From childhood on we are taught to be little Aristotles.

We observe the world, we break down what we see into its component parts. We perceive problems and set about solving them, laying out our solutions in ordered sequences like the instructions for assembling a child's bicycle. We have gotten so good at this method that we apply it to everything, and so we have magazine articles telling us the six ways to find a mate, the eight ways to bring greater joy into your life, the ten elements of a successful family, the twelve steps toward spiritual enlightenment. We choose to see life as a technical matter.

And here is where we go wrong. For at its deepest levels life is not a problem but a mystery. The distinction, which I borrow from the philosopher Gabriel Marcel, is fundamental: problems are to be solved, true mysteries are not. Personally, I wish I could have learned this lesson more easily -- without, perhaps, having to give up my tennis game. But each of us finds his or her own way to mystery.

At one time or another, each of us confronts an experience so powerful, bewildering, joyous, or terrifying that all our efforts to see it as a "problem" are futile. Each of us is brought to the cliff's edge. At such moments we can either back away in bitterness or confusion, or leap forward into mystery. And what does mystery ask of us? Only that we be in its presence, that we fully, consciously, hand ourselves over. That is all, and that is everything. We can participate in mystery only by letting go of solutions. This letting go is the first lesson of falling, and the hardest.

I offer my stories not as illustrations of a problem but as entrances into the mystery of falling. And now I'll offer not advice, not bullet points, but mystery points, set off in my text not with the familiar round dots but with question marks:

? If spiritual growth is what you seek, don't ask for more strawberries, ask for more tigers.

? The threat of the tigers, the leap from the cliff, are what give the strawberry its savor. They cannot be avoided, and the strawberry can't be enjoyed without them. No tigers, no sweetness.

? In falling we somehow gain what means most. In falling we are given back our lives even as we lose them.

Excerpted by permission of Bantam, a divn. of Random House Inc.
©2002. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced
or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Article Source

Learning to Fall: The Blessings of an Imperfect Life
by Philip Simmons.

Learning to Fall  by Philip Simmons.Philip Simmons was just 35 years old, in 1993, when he learned he had Motor Neurone Disease, a fatal condition that usually kills its victims in two to five years, but which Philip has already well exceeded. With a strong marriage, two young children and the start of a promising literary and academic career, he suddenly had to say goodbye. But, by learning the art of dying he has succeeded, against the odds, in learning the art of living. In 12 chapters, this book tells the story of Philip's spiritual journey. Finding answers to life's deepest questions - and introducing a host of colourful characters along the way - Philip illustrates, above all, that we can learn to live lives of depth, compassion and courage no matter what life throws at us.

Info/Order this book. Also available as a Kindle edition.

About The Author

Behavior Modification

Philip Simmons was an associate professor of English at Lake Forest College in Illinois, where he taught literature and creative writing for nine years before being disabled. His literary scholarship has been published widely and his short fiction has appeared in Playboy, TriQuarterly, Ploughshares, and the Massachusetts Review, among other magazines. He died from complications due to ALS on July 27, 2002. Visit his website at http://www.learningtofall.com

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…