لماذا يواجه عمال الخدمة ذوي الأجور المنخفضة مخاطر عاطفية جديدة في مكان العمل

لماذا يواجه عمال الخدمة ذوي الأجور المنخفضة مخاطر عاطفية جديدة في مكان العمل
غالبًا ما يتم تكليف عمال الخدمة بفرض قناع الشركة وسياسات التباعد الاجتماعي.
AP Photo / Nati Harnik

يواجه العمال ذوو الأجور المنخفضة بشكل متزايد مخاطر جسدية وعاطفية جديدة في مكان العمل نتيجة لوباء الفيروس التاجي ، وفقًا لمقابلات مع عمال أجريناهم في أبريل / نيسان. وجدنا أنه بالإضافة إلى الخوف والقلق بشأن صحتهم والتعرض المحتمل لـ COVID-19 أثناء العمل ، قال هؤلاء الموظفون إن التعامل مع عواطف العملاء غير المتوقعة كان له أثر إضافي.

أفاد العاملون الذين تحدثنا إليهم أن التفاعلات مع العملاء أصبحت مشحونة عاطفيًا بشأن قضايا مثل متطلبات القناع وإرشادات السلامة الأخرى. قال عمال ملون إنهم يعانون من زيادة التحرش العنصري.

كان التعرض لهذه المخاطر العاطفية منتشرًا على نطاق واسع بين العمال الذين قابلناهم ، وكان ينتشر أيضًا في حياتهم المنزلية. أخبرتنا عاملة بقالة تعاني من ظروف صحية كامنة أن ابنها "كان قلقاً للغاية ، مثل الدموع الحدودية ، لأنه لم يكن يريدني أن أذهب [إلى العمل] لأنه يعرف أنها ليست آمنة. وشعرت بالرعب لأنني لم أرغب في الذهاب ، لكنني كنت أعلم أنه يجب علي ذلك. "

لماذا يهم

بينما تحاول الدول والشركات إعادة فتح أبوابها مع مزيج من إرشادات وبروتوكولات السلامةغالبًا ما كان العمال في الخطوط الأمامية لفرض التدابير الصحية مثل مطالبة العملاء بارتداء قناع أو الحفاظ على البعد الاجتماعي. بعض تحول العملاء حتى إلى العنف، مما يضيف تهديدا بالضرر الجسدي للعمال الذين هم بالفعل يتعرض بشكل غير متناسب لفيروس قاتل.

تكشف تجارب العاملين في دراستنا ، الذين عمل معظمهم طوال فترة الإغلاق ، عن حاجة الحكومة والشركات لمعالجة هذه المخاطر العاطفية الجديدة وحمايتهم من مضايقة العملاء. بدون تفويضات سلامة حكومية واضحة، على سبيل المثال ، يصبح العمال بسهولة هدفا للمضايقة أثناء محاولتهم تطبيق سياسات شركاتهم. قال العمال أيضًا إن شركاتهم غالبًا ما كانت لديها آليات إنفاذ ضعيفة ، وكثيراً ما عدلوا سياساتهم ولم تقدم الدعم في التعامل مع التفاعلات المكثفة مع العملاء.

ماذا بعد

هذه النتائج هي جزء من سلسلة من الدراسات المستمرة التي نجريها مع العاملين الأساسيين في مجموعة متنوعة من الأدوار ، مثل الرعاية المنزلية وتجهيز الأغذية ، لفحص كيفية تنقلهم في هذه المخاطر العاطفية الجديدة أثناء الوباء. نحن ننظر أيضًا إلى جهود العمال للتنظيم للمطالبة بحماية أفضل وكيف تؤثر هذه التحديات على أسرهم.

كيف نقوم بعملنا

كفريق من علماء الاجتماع في جامعة أوريغون ، نعتمد على بيانات نوعية غنية من المقابلات المتعمقة ومجموعات التركيز وملاحظة المشاركين. نتائجنا هنا تأتي من إجراء مقابلات مع عشرات العاملين في صناعات خدمات الضيافة والتجزئة والمواد الغذائية في ولاية أوريغون الذين التقينا بهم لأول مرة في عام 2019 كجزء من دراسة طولية مستمرة.المحادثة


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


حول المؤلف

دكتورة لولا لوستوناو ، دكتوراه ، جامعة أوريغون؛ إلين سكوت ، أستاذ علم الاجتماع ، جامعة أوريغون؛ لاريسا بتروتشي ، باحثة مساعدة في مركز العمل والتعليم والبحوث ، جامعة أوريغون ، جامعة أوريغون، ولينا ستيبك ، كلية أبحاث سياسة العمل ، جامعة أوريغون

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الصعود بقوة الوها
الصعود بقوة الوها
by جوناثان هاموند

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...
تنهض النساء: كن مرئيًا ، كن مسموعًا ، وافعل
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
سميت هذا المقال "قوميات النساء: كن مرئيًا ، كن مسموعًا ، واتخذ إجراءً" ، وبينما أشير إلى النساء اللواتي تم إبرازهن في مقاطع الفيديو أدناه ، أتحدث أيضًا عن كل واحد منا. وليس فقط من هؤلاء ...

Why Low-wage Service Workers Are Facing New Emotional Hazards In The Workplace

Why Low-wage Service Workers Are Facing New Emotional Hazards In The Workplace
Service workers are often tasked with enforcing company mask and social distancing policies.
AP Photo/Nati Harnik

Low-wage service workers increasingly are facing new physical and emotional hazards in the workplace as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, according to interviews with workers we conducted in April. We found that in addition to being afraid and anxious about their own health and possible exposure to COVID-19 while working, these employees said dealing with unpredictable customer emotions was taking an additional toll.

The workers we spoke with reported that interactions with customers were becoming emotionally charged over issues such as mask requirements and other safety guidelines. Workers of color said they were experiencing increased racial harassment.

Exposure to these emotional hazards was widespread among the workers we interviewed and was also spilling over into their home lives. A grocery worker with underlying health conditions told us her son “was super worried, like borderline tears, because he didn’t want me to go [to work] because he knows it’s not safe. And I felt horrible because I didn’t want to go, but I knew that I had to.”

Why it matters

As states and businesses try to reopen with a mix of safety guidelines and protocols, workers have often been on the front lines of enforcing health measures such as requiring customers to wear a mask or maintain social distancing. Some customers have even turned violent, which adds a threat of physical harm to workers who are already disproportionately exposed to a lethal virus.

The experiences of the workers in our study, most of whom worked throughout the shutdown, reveal the need for government and companies to address these new emotional hazards and protect them from customer harassment. Without clear governmental safety mandates, for example, workers easily become the targets of harassment as they tried to enforce their companies’ policies. Workers also said their companies often had weak enforcement mechanisms, frequently adjusted their policies and didn’t provide support in dealing with intense interactions with customers.

What’s next

These results are part of a series of ongoing studies we’re conducting with essential workers in a variety of roles, such as home care and food processing, to examine how they are navigating these new emotional risks during the pandemic. We are also looking at efforts by workers to organize to demand better protections and how these challenges are affecting their families.

How we do our work

As a team of sociologists at the University of Oregon, we rely on rich qualitative data from in-depth interviews, focus groups and participant observation. Our results here come from interviewing dozens of workers in Oregon’s hospitality, retail and food services industries whom we first met in 2019 as a part of an ongoing longitudinal study.The Conversation


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


About the Authors

Lola Loustaunau, Ph.D Candidate, University of Oregon; Ellen Scott, Professor of Sociology, University of Oregon; Larissa Petrucci, Research Assistant at the Labor Education & Research Center, University of Oregon , University of Oregon, and Lina Stepick, Labor Policy Research Faculty, University of Oregon

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…