المراهقين الذين يشعرون بانخفاض قد يفيد من مساعدة الآخرين

المراهقين الذين يشعرون بانخفاض قد يفيد من مساعدة الآخرين

فكر في آخر مرة قمت فيها بمساعدة شخص ما. ربما أرسلت نصًا داعمًا إلى صديق مجهول أو أعطت توجيهات لشخص غريب ضائع.

كيف لم تجعلك تشعر؟

إذا قلت جيدًا وسعيدًا أو ربما "دافئًا وغامضًا" ، فأنت لست وحدك. تظهر الأبحاث أن مساعدة الآخرين تقدم عددًا من الفوائد النفسية والصحية المهمة.

في الحياة اليومية ، يقوم الناس بالإبلاغ عن حالة مزاجية أفضل في الأيام التي يكونون فيها مساعدة غريب or تقديم أذن متعاطفة لصديق. الكبار الذين تطوع, إنفاق المال على الآخرين . دعم زوجاتهم أيضا تجربة تحسين الرفاه و تقليل خطر الموت.

مساعدة الآخرين مفيد جزئيا لأنه يعزز القرب الاجتماعي والمشاعر من الكفاءة الشخصية.

As باحث يدرس تنمية المراهقين، قررت أن أتحرى كيف يمكن أن يلعب كل هذا في المراهقين. أنا مهتم بدراسة السلوك الاجتماعي الإيجابي للمراهقين - أشياء مثل المساعدة والراحة والمشاركة - في سياق علاقاتهم الوثيقة. وبالنظر إلى أن فترة المراهقة هي وقت زيادة كثافة عاطفيةهل يستفيد المراهقون من مزاج المزاج من مساعدة الآخرين في الحياة اليومية؟

المراهقين والاكتئاب

بالنظر إلى سنوات الدراسة الثانوية الخاصة بك ، قد تتذكر أنك تشعر بالقلق الشديد حول المظهر البارد أمام زملائك في الصف أو أنك محبوب من قبل سحقك. خلال فترة المراهقة ، يصبح الشباب بشكل متزايد انشغلت بآراء زملائهم، بما في ذلك أصدقائهم وشركائهم الرومانسيين. في الواقع ، المراهقة هي وقت يمكن فيه تجارب الإقصاء الاجتماعي أو الرفض اللدغة بشكل سيء للغاية.

تعتبر سنوات المراهقة أيضًا فترة عالية المخاطر لتطوير أعراض الاكتئاب. تقريبيا 1 في كل 11 المراهقين والشباب في الولايات المتحدة تجربة حلقة اكتئابي كبيرة. وحتى الشباب الذين يعانون من أعراض الاكتئاب والذين لا يستوفون معايير التشخيص الرسمي للاكتئاب هم في خطر لمشاكل التكيف، مثل الشعور بالوحدة وصعوبات العلاقة الرومانسية.

المراهقين المكتئبين ، بالإضافة إلى الشعور باليأس وعدم احترام الذات ، وغالبا ما تستجيب ل الاجهاد الاجتماعي مع المشاعر السلبية المكثفة. على سبيل المثال ، المراهقين الذين يعانون من اضطراب اكتئابي رئيسي تأخذ الرفض الأقران أصعب من أقرانهم الأصحاء.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


إذا كان المراهقون المكتئبون يشعرون بالسوء بشكل خاص بعد اللقاءات الاجتماعية السلبية ، فهل يشعرون بالرضا بشكل خاص بعد اللقاءات الاجتماعية الإيجابية؟ يعرف علماء النفس أنه في حالة مخاوف المراهقين العامة حول الموافقة الاجتماعية ، يمكنهم إجراء تفاعلات إيجابية بين الأشخاص - مثل تقديم دعم أو دعم من الأقران - كل أكثر مكافأة. كنت أرغب في معرفة ما إذا كان ذلك حتى بالنسبة للمراهقين الذين كانوا يشعرون بانخفاض.

هل ساعدت احدهم اليوم؟

In دراستنا الأخيرة, أنا وزملائي تفحص السلوك الاجتماعي الإيجابي للمراهقين في تفاعلاتهم اليومية مع الأصدقاء والشركاء الرومانسيين. كان هدفنا هو فهم ما إذا كان تقديم العون يحسن بشكل خاص مزاج الشباب الذين يعانون من أعراض الاكتئاب.

قمنا بتعيين المراهقين المتأخرين 99 من المجتمع من حولنا في لوس أنجلوس. وكان معظمهم من طلاب المدارس الثانوية أو خريجي المدارس الثانوية الحديثة. أولاً قمنا بتقييم أعراض الاكتئاب في المختبر حتى نتمكن من معرفة كيف كانوا يشعرون بالأسابيع القليلة السابقة.

ثم طلبنا منهم إكمال 10 أيام متتالية من الاستطلاعات القصيرة في المنزل. في كل يوم من أيام 10 ، أخبرنا المشاركون ما إذا كانوا قد ساعدوا أصدقاءهم أو شركاء رومانسيين - أشياء مثل تقديم خدمة لهم أو جعلهم يشعرون بأهمية. هم أيضا ذكرت مزاجهم الخاصة.

في الأيام التي ساعد فيها المراهقون أصدقاءهم أو شركاء المواعدة ، عانوا من مزاج إيجابي متزايد. حتى لو كان مزاجهم لم يكن كبيرا في اليوم السابق أو إذا لم يتلقوا أي دعم اجتماعي في ذلك اليوم ، فإن مساعدة شخص آخر لا يزال مرتبطا بزيادة في معنوياتهم.

لكن هل يساعد في مساعدة بعض المراهقين أكثر من غيرهم؟ كانت التأثيرات الإيجابية للسلوك الاجتماعي الإيجابي اليومي على الحالة المزاجية التي رأيناها أقوى لدى المراهقين الذين لديهم مستويات أعلى من أعراض الاكتئاب. لذا فقد حصد الشباب الذين يعانون من ضائقة عاطفية مرتفعة أكبر مزايا المزاج من إقراض أقرانهم يد المساعدة.

وبينما نتحدث في كثير من الأحيان عن أهمية تلقي الدعم الاجتماعي عندما نشعر بالضعف ، فإن هذه النتائج تسلط الضوء على القيمة الفريدة لتقديم الدعم للآخرين.

مساعدة الآخرين على مساعدة نفسك

تقدم هذه الدراسة لمحة عن الفوائد المحتملة لتقديم المساعدة للمراهقين ، لا سيما أولئك الذين يعانون من أعراض الاكتئاب. تستند نتائجنا إلى الأبحاث السابقة التي تدل على أن السلوك الاجتماعي الإيجابي أكثر مكافأة للأشخاص الذين يعانون القلق الاجتماعي, العصابية . استياء الجسم.

على الرغم من أننا لم نختبر الآليات الكامنة وراء سبب ذلك ، فمن الممكن أن يساعد تقديم المساعدة في جعل الأفراد يشعرون بذلك يقدر من قبل الآخرين أو تعزيز إحساسهم بالهدف . إحترام الذات. بالنسبة للشباب الذين يعانون من مستويات عالية من الضيق الاجتماعي-العاطفي ، قد تكون فرص تعزيز العلاقات الاجتماعية والشعور بالكفاءة في إطار العلاقات الوثيقة مهمة بشكل خاص لتحسين المزاج.

العديد من الدراسات التي تربط بين السلوك الاجتماعي الإيجابي والمزاجي ، متضمنة لنا ، هي علاقة ارتباطية - لا يمكننا أن نستنتج أن مساعدة الأصدقاء أو الآخرين الرومانسيين يسبب مزاجًا أكثر إيجابية. دراسات تجريبية ذلك عشوائيا تعيين بعض المشاركين للانخراط في أعمال اللطف وسيساعد الآخرون على الانخراط في الأنشطة الاجتماعية غير المساعدة في استبعاد احتمال أن يكون المزاج إيجابيًا يدفع السلوك الاجتماعي الإيجابي اللاحق.

من المهم أيضًا أن نضع في اعتبارك أن قلة قليلة جدًا من المشاركين كانت تعاني من اكتئاب سريريًا. لا تزال الأبحاث بحاجة إلى تحديد ما إذا كان السلوك الاجتماعي الإيجابي مرتبطًا بالمزاج الإيجابي بين المراهقين الذين يعانون من اضطراب اكتئابي مُشخص. والسؤال المثير للاهتمام هو ما إذا كان بعض الشباب المكتئبين يجربون "الإرهاق" العاطفي من تقديم المساعدة بشكل متكرر للغاية.

على الرغم من أن كلمة "المراهقة" قد تستحضر صوراً للمراهقين المتهورين الذين يعانون من صراع بين الأشخاص والاضطرابات العاطفية ، فإن سنوات المراهقة هي وقت للفرص الاجتماعية الكبيرة والنمو. إن فهم متى وكيف يتصرف المراهقون بإيجابية - ولماذا يعطون العون الأكثر رفاهية - يمكن أن يسهم في فهمنا للتنمية الاجتماعية للمراهقين.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

هانا ل. شاكتر ، زميلة أبحاث ما بعد الدكتوراه في علم النفس ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا - كلية دورنسي للفنون والآداب والعلوم

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = مساعدة الآخرين ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Teens Who Feel Down May Benefit From Helping Others

service

Teens Who Feel Down May Benefit From Helping Others

Think about the last time you helped someone out. Maybe you sent a supportive text to a stressed-out friend or gave directions to a lost stranger.

How did it make you feel?

If you said good, happy, or maybe even “warm and fuzzy,” you’re not alone. Research shows that helping others offers a number of important psychological and health benefits.

In daily life, people report better mood on days that they assist a stranger or offer an empathetic ear to a friend. Adults who volunteer, spend money on others and support their spouses also experience improved well-being and reduced risk of death.

Helping others is beneficial in part because it promotes social closeness and feelings of personal competence.

As a researcher who studies adolescent development, I decided to investigate how all this might play out in teenagers. I’m interested in studying teens’ prosocial behavior – things like helping, comforting and sharing – in the context of their close relationships. Given that adolescence is a time of heightened emotional intensity, do teens reap mood benefits from helping out others in everyday life?

Teens and depression

Looking back on your own high school years, you might recall feeling intensely anxious about looking cool in front of classmates or being liked by your crush. During adolescence, youth become increasingly preoccupied with the opinions of their peers, including their friends and romantic partners. Indeed, adolescence is a time when experiences of social exclusion or rejection can sting particularly badly.

The teenage years are also a high-risk time for developing depressive symptoms. Almost 1 in every 11 adolescents and young adults in the U.S. experience a major depressive episode. And, even youth with depressive symptoms who don’t meet criteria for an official diagnosis of depression are at risk for adjustment problems, such as loneliness and romantic relationship difficulties.

Depressed adolescents, in addition to feeling hopeless and lacking self-esteem, often respond to social stress with intensified negative emotions. For example, adolescents with major depressive disorder take peer rejection harder than do their healthy peers.

If depressed adolescents feel especially bad after negative social encounters, might they feel especially good after positive social encounters? Psychologists know that in general adolescents’ concerns about social approval can make positive interpersonal interactions – like offering a peer support or assistance – all the more rewarding. I wanted to see if that held even for teens who were feeling down.

Did you help someone today?

In our recent study, my colleagues and I examined teenagers’ prosocial behavior in their everyday interactions with friends and romantic partners. Our goal was to understand whether giving help is particularly mood-enhancing for youth with depressive symptoms.

We recruited 99 late adolescents from the community around us in Los Angeles. Most of them were high school students or recent high school graduates. First we assessed their depressive symptoms in the lab so we could find out how they’d been feeling the prior couple weeks.

Then we asked them to complete 10 consecutive days of short surveys at home. Each of the 10 days, participants told us whether they helped out their friends or romantic partners – things like doing them a favor, or making them feel important. They also reported their own mood.

On days that teens helped their friends or dating partners, they experienced increased positive mood. Even if their mood wasn’t great the day before or if they themselves didn’t receive any social support that day, helping someone else was still related to a boost in their spirits.

But does helping help some teens more than others? The positive effects of day-to-day prosocial behavior on mood that we saw were strongest for teens with higher levels of depressive symptoms. So youth with elevated emotional distress reaped the greatest mood benefits from lending their peers a helping hand.

While we often talk about the importance of receiving social support when we’re feeling down, these findings highlight the unique value of providing support to others.

Helping others helps yourself

This study provides a glimpse into the potential benefits of help-giving for teens, particularly those experiencing depressive symptoms. Our finding builds upon previous research demonstrating that prosocial behavior is most rewarding for people experiencing social anxiety, neuroticism and body dissatisfaction.

Although we did not test for underlying mechanisms for why this might be, it’s possible that providing help can make individuals feel appreciated by others or promote their sense of purpose and self-esteem. For youth with high levels of social-emotional distress, opportunities to strengthen social connections and feel competent within close relationships might be especially important for improving mood.

Many studies linking prosocial behavior to mood, ours included, are correlational — we cannot conclude that helping friends or romantic others causes more positive mood. Experimental studies that randomly assign some participants to engage in acts of kindness and others to engage in non-helping social activities will help rule out the possibility that it’s actually positive mood that drives subsequent prosocial behavior.

It’s also important to keep in mind that very few of our participants were clinically depressed. Research still needs to determine whether prosocial behavior is similarly linked to positive mood among adolescents with a diagnosed depressive disorder. An interesting question is whether some depressed youth experience emotional “burnout” from very frequent help-giving.

Although the word “adolescence” may conjure up images of reckless teens experiencing interpersonal conflict and emotional turmoil, the adolescent years are a time of great social opportunity and growth. Understanding when, how and why teens behave prosocially – and for whom help-giving most promotes well-being – can contribute to our understanding of adolescent social development.The Conversation

About The Author

Hannah L. Schacter, Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Psychology, University of Southern California – Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Give and Take: Why Helping Others Drives Our Success
serviceAuthor: Adam Grant
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin Books
List Price: $18.00

Buy Now

Fantastic Kids: Helping Others - TIME FOR KIDS® Informational Text - Great for School Projects and Book Reports - (Time for Kids Nonfiction Readers)
serviceAuthor: Teacher Created Materials
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Teacher Created Materials
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now

Helping Others (Kids Making a Difference)
serviceAuthor: Elizabeth Raum
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Heinemann
List Price: $9.95

Buy Now

service
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!