Какие спортивные звезды могут научить нас о преимуществах практической благодарности

Какие спортивные звезды могут научить нас о преимуществах практической благодарности
Энди Мюррей - секрет успеха? Быть добрым к самому себе.
Shutterstock

Для того, Открытый чемпионат США по теннису хорошо и действительно продолжается. Венера и Серена Уильямс, Мария Шарапова, Рафаэль Надаль и Роджер Федерер, как ожидается, будут соревноваться в Национальном теннисном центре в Нью-Йорке в течение следующих нескольких недель.

Изнурительное спортивное событие является одним из старейших теннисных чемпионатов мира. Игроки, без сомнения, пройдут свои шары с точки зрения их пригодности - с большим количеством тренировок, особенно в преддверии таких турниров. Но все чаще многие игроки также работают над аспектами своего психического здоровья, чтобы помочь им быть более упругим.

После того, как Ноак Джокович выиграл свой четвертый титул Уимблдона в июне, он опубликовал Открой письмо на своем веб-сайте о психических барьерах, которые он должен был преодолеть, чтобы победить. В письме он описывает, как травма и отсутствие мотивации оставили его уязвимым, когда он столкнулся с умственными препятствиями, с которыми он столкнулся.

Джокович также говорил о том, как сочувствие, благодарность и чувство перспективы позволили ему сбалансировать требования о том, чтобы быть спортсменом с полной занятостью, имея семью. Известная как позитивная психология, несколько других теннисистов также сообщили используя аналогичные методы, чтобы помочь построить и поддерживать успешную теннисную карьеру.

Например, болгарский профессиональный теннисист Гигор Димитров сказал, что один ритуал, который он никогда не уклоняется, записывает три вещи, которые он сделал в тот день, чтобы он был признательный для. Аналогичным образом, план игры Мюррея включает в себя "хорошо себе".

Положительная психология

Исследования подтверждают, что звезды звезд мировой элиты уже знают - что быть добрее к себе, а другим, и быть благодарными, хорошо для вашего психического здоровья.

Например, Барбара Фредриксон, ведущий научный сотрудник в области позитивной психологии, продемонстрировала, как положительные эмоции, такие как доброта, сострадание и благодарность может помочь людям чувствовать себя счастливее, Фредриксон протестировал медитативное вмешательство любящей доброты, которое представляет собой упражнение по медитации, предназначенное для создания чувства тепла и заботы о себе и других. Он обнаружил, что люди стали более внимательными, более самопринятыми и развили более позитивные отношения с другими. Их физическое и психическое здоровье также улучшилось

Тогда есть также ведущий научный эксперт в мире по признательности, Роберт Эммон, чей исследование показывает, что люди, которые практикуют благодарность, испытывают ряд преимуществ для физического и психического здоровья. К ним относятся меньше жалоб на здоровье, больше энергии и решимости, большее удовлетворение жизнью, а также более оптимизм и устойчивость.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Проект благодарности

Команда из Университета Ковентри работает с Надеждой для сообщества компания социального предприятия разработать ряд положительных психологических вмешательств, Надежда, За 5,000 люди, живущие с раком, деменцией, аутизмом, рассеянным склерозом и другими долгосрочными заболеваниями, страдают от этого заболевания, которое сочетается с когнитивно-поведенческой терапией (CBT).

Активность благодарности - самая популярная деятельность в программе, поэтому мы решили взять ее на путь распространения преимуществ. Мы создали стена благодарности, отмеченный наградами проект общинного искусства, который посетил музеи, галереи, фестивали, школы и рабочие места, как место, чтобы поделиться тем, за что люди благодарны и узнают о преимуществах благодарность.

Потратьте время, чтобы оценить позитивные вещи в своей жизни.
Очень важно уделить время, чтобы оценить позитивные моменты в вашей жизни.
Shutterstock

Стэн Вавринка, еще один великий чемпион по теннису, получает вдохновение и перспективу от цитаты Сэмюэля Беккета: «Когда-либо пытался. Никогда не сработало. Не важно. Попробуй еще раз. Сбой снова. Сбой лучше. татуировка на руке, Мы используем ту же цитату, чтобы вдохновлять наших участников на преодоление невзгод в их жизни, и мы разделяем настроения Вавринки о том, чтобы добиться баланса между стремлением сделать все возможное, принимая ваши ограничения:

Значение цитаты не меняется независимо от того, насколько хорошо вы это делаете. Всегда есть разочарование, душевная боль. Вы проигрываете почти каждый турнир. Вам нужно просто принять его и быть позитивным, потому что вы проиграете и потерпите неудачу. Мы не все Надаль или Джокович, которые могут выиграть большинство турниров.

Итак, будь вы элитарным спортсменом, человеком, живущим с долгосрочным здоровьем, или просто тем, кто хочет чувствовать себя счастливее в жизни, возможно, что регулярная практика самосознания и благодарности может помочь сделать ваш мир лучшее место.Беседа

Об авторе

Энди Тернер, профессор психологии здоровья, Университет Ковентри, Университет Ковентри

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Похожие книги:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = практика благодарности; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

What Sports Stars Can Teach Us About The Benefits Of Practicing Gratitude

gratitude

What Sports Stars Can Teach Us About The Benefits Of Practicing Gratitude
Andy Murray’s secret to success? Being good to himself.
shutterstock

The US Open championship tennis tournament is well and truly underway. Venus and Serena Williams, Maria Sharapova, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer are all expected to compete at the National Tennis Centre in New York over the next few weeks.

The gruelling sporting event is one of the oldest tennis championships in the world. Players will no doubt be put through their paces in terms of their fitness – with many training extra hard in the run up to such tournaments. But increasingly, many players are also working on aspects of their mental health to help them be more resilient.

After Novak Djokovic won his fourth Wimbledon title in June he posted an open letter on his website about the mental hurdles he had to overcome to win. In the letter, he describes how injury and lack of motivation left him vulnerable while dealing with the mental hurdles he faced.

Djokovic also talked about how having compassion, gratitude and a sense of perspective enabled him to balance the demands of being a full-time athlete with having a family. Known as positive psychology, several other tennis players have also reported using similar techniques to help build and maintain a successful tennis career.

Gigor Dimitrov, the Bulgarian professional tennis player, for example, said the one ritual he never sidesteps is writing down three things he’s done that day that he should be grateful for. Similarly, Murray’s game plan includes being “good to himself”.

Positive psychology

Research confirms what the world’s elite sports stars already know – that being kinder to yourself, and to others, and being grateful, is good for your mental health.

Barbara Fredrickson, a leading academic in positive psychology, for example, has shown how positive emotions such as kindness, compassion and gratitude can help people feel happier. Fredrickson tested a loving-kindness meditation intervention, which is a meditation training exercise designed to generate feelings of warmth and caring for the self and others. He found that people became more mindful, more self-accepting and they developed more positive relationships with others. Their physical and mental health also improved

Then there’s also the world’s leading scientific expert on gratitude, Robert Emmon, whose research shows that people who practice gratitude experience a range of physical and mental health benefits. These include fewer health complaints, more energy and determination, greater satisfaction with life, as well as more optimism and resilience.

The gratitude project

A team at Coventry University has been working with the Hope For The Community social enterprise company to develop a range of positive psychology interventions called the Hope Programme. Over 5,000 people living with and affected by cancer, dementia, autism, multiple sclerosis and other long-term conditions have attended the programme, which is combined with Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT).

The gratitude activity is the most popular activity on the programme and so we decided take it on the road to spread the benefits. We created the Gratitude Wall, an award-winning community art project that has toured museums, galleries, festivals, schools and workplaces, as a place to share what people are thankful for and learn about the benefits of practising gratitude.

Take time out of your day to appreciate the positive things in your life.
It’s important to take time out of your day to appreciate the positive things in your life.
Shutterstock

Stan Wawrinka, another grand slam tennis champion, gets inspiration and perspective from the Samuel Beckett quote: “Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” It is tattooed on his arm. We use the same quote to inspire our participants to overcome adversity in their lives and we share Wawrinka’s sentiments about getting the balance right between striving to do your best while accepting your limitations:

The meaning of the quote doesn’t change no matter how well you do. There is always disappointment, heartache. You are losing almost every tournament. You need to just accept it and be positive because you are going to lose and fail. We’re not all Nadal or Djokovic, who can win most tournaments.

So whether you’re an elite athlete, a person living with a long-term health condition, or just someone who wants to feel happier in life, it’s possible that a regular practice of self-compassion and gratitude could help to make your world a better place.The Conversation

About The Author

Andy Turner, Professor Health Psychology, Coventry University, Coventry University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Thanks!: How Practicing Gratitude Can Make You Happier

gratitudeAuthor: Robert Emmons
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Mariner Books
Studio: Mariner Books
Label: Mariner Books
Publisher: Mariner Books
Manufacturer: Mariner Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

The first major study of gratitude that shows how “wanting what we have” can measurably change people’s lives.

Did you know that there is a crucial component of happiness that is often overlooked? Robert Emmons—editor-in-chief of the Journal of Positive Psychology—examines what it means to think and feel gratefully in Thanks! and invites readers to learn how to put this powerful emotion into practice. Scientifically speaking, regular grateful thinking can increase happiness by as much as 25 percent, while keeping a gratitude journal for as little as three weeks results in better sleep and more energy. But there's more than science to embrace here: Emmons also bolsters the case for gratitude by weaving in writings of philosophers, novelists, and theologians that illustrate all the benefits grateful living brings.





Mindful Gratitude: Practicing the Art of Appreciation

gratitudeAuthor: Christel B. Wendelberger
Binding: Perfect Paperback
Studio: Forward Communications LLC
Label: Forward Communications LLC
Publisher: Forward Communications LLC
Manufacturer: Forward Communications LLC

Buy Now
Editorial Review: This sparkling collection of personal essays will capture your heart, engage your imagination, and help you find the extraordinary in your life, no matter your current circumstances. Here you'll discover magic in the mundane, celebration in loss, and a deep appreciation for all that is. But viewing life through a lens of gratitude takes practice, especially in our sometimes messy, busy, imperfect lives. Each of these stories is followed by reflective journaling questions designed to help you: •Find YOUR story. •Explore its MEANING. •Celebrate the beauty that exists in your life RIGHT NOW. Gratitude is one of the simplest and most profound gateways to greater peace, joy, wellness, and better relationships. Start practicing today!




The One-Minute Gratitude Journal

gratitudeAuthor: Brenda Nathan
Binding: Journal
Features:
  • The One Minute Gratitude Journal

Brand: Brenda Nathan
Studio: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Label: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Cultivating an attitude of gratitude yields many benefits: physical, mental and spiritual. In this Journal, you have flexibility to write down the dates of entry and not feel guilty if you miss a day. There are also pages in this journal where you can just draw something beautiful. Every page contains an inspirational quote (non religious).
Gratitude is a feeling of appreciation for what one has. Write down three to five things you are grateful for in this journal and turn your ordinary moments into blessings.




gratitude
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}