هل ذهب السامريون الصالحون إلى الإنسانية عنصرياً ونقصاً في التعاطف؟

تطوير التعاطف 5 1

تقول إيرين يورك كورنويل: "من المثير للدهشة والمخيبة للآمال أن نجد معدلات منخفضة من الناس تساعد بعضهم البعض ، وأن المرضى الأمريكيين من أصل إفريقي وأولئك الذين يعيشون في المقاطعات الأكثر فقراً قد تركوا للانتظار لفترة أطول للحصول على المساعدة".

يقول علماء الاجتماع إن الأشخاص الذين لديهم حالة طوارئ طبية في مكان عام لا يمكنهم بالضرورة الاعتماد على لطفاء الغرباء.

حصلت فقط 2.5 في المئة من الناس ، أو 1 في 39 ، على مساعدة من الغرباء قبل وصول أفراد الطوارئ الطبية ، وفقا لدراسة في الجريدة الامريكية للصحة العامة.

بالنسبة للأميركيين الأفارقة ، فإن هذه النتائج الكئيبة تزداد سوءاً. كان الأمريكيون من أصل أفريقي أقل من النصف من احتمال حصول القوقازيين على مساعدة من أحد المتفرجين ، بغض النظر عن نوع الأعراض أو المرض الذي كانوا يعانون منه ، فقط 1.8 في المئة ، أو أقل من 1 في 55 الأفريقيين الأميركيين ، حصلوا على المساعدة. بالنسبة إلى القوقازيين ، كان العدد المناظر هو 4.2 في المائة ، أو 1 في 24.

ويقول الباحثون إن الأشخاص في المناطق ذات الدخل المنخفض والمقاطعات ذات الكثافة السكانية المنخفضة هم أيضاً أقل احتمالا للحصول على المساعدة. وعلى العكس من ذلك ، كان من المرجح أن تحصل تلك المساعدة في المقاطعات الأقل كثافة على السكان ذات المستويات الاجتماعية الاقتصادية المتوسطة.

"إنه لأمر مثير للدهشة ومخيبة للآمال للغاية العثور على معدلات منخفضة من الأشخاص الذين يساعدون بعضهم البعض ، وأن المرضى الأفارقة الأمريكيين والمرضى في المقاطعات الأكثر فقراً يُتركون للانتظار لفترة أطول للحصول على المساعدة" ، كما تقول المؤلفة الرئيسية إيرين يورك كورنويل ، أستاذة مساعدة في علم الاجتماع بجامعة كورنيل. . كتب يورك كورنويل الدراسة مع أليكس كوريت ، طالب الدكتوراه في علم الاجتماع.

يشير يورك كورنويل إلى أن أنواع الدعم التي يقدمها المارة تتطلب القليل من التدريب ، وقد تشمل تقديم كوب من الماء ، أو تغطية شخص ما ببطانية ، أو الضغط على الجرح ، أو المساعدة في تناول الأدوية.

وتقول: "نجد دليلاً على أن المارة يمكنهم تقديم المساعدة في مجموعة كبيرة من السيناريوهات ، لكن معدلات المساعدة منخفضة للغاية".

في الورقة ، حلل York Cornwell و Currit بيانات حول مرضى 22,500 تقريبًا من مجموعة بيانات 2011 الوطنية لخدمات معلومات الطوارئ الطبية (NEMSIS) ، والتي ربطوها بخصائص المقاطعات التي وقعت فيها هذه الحوادث.

وجاءت البيانات من مقدمي خدمات الطوارئ الطبية ، الذين يملؤون استمارة بعد كل مكالمة سيارة إسعاف. يتضمن النموذج إشارة إلى نوع المساعدة ، إن وجدت ، التي تلقاها المرضى من المارة قبل وصول الطاقم الطبي إلى مكان الحادث. بسبب نقص تمثيل اللاتين في البيانات ، ركز الباحثون على الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي والقوقازيين.

ويعتقد يورك كورنويل أن التباينات في تلقي المساعدة يمكن أن تنبع من الاختلافات في السياق الاجتماعي للأحياء التي حدثت فيها حالات الطوارئ. تشير البحوث الاجتماعية إلى أن الحرمان الاجتماعي والاقتصادي في منطقة ما يشكل كيف يرتبط الناس ببعضهم البعض. على سبيل المثال ، تميل الأحياء التي تتمتع بدرجة عالية من الفقر وعدم الاستقرار السكني إلى وجود عدد أقل من المؤسسات الاجتماعية مثل المعابد والكنائس والمنظمات المجتمعية - وهذا يمكن أن يجعل من الصعب على السكان التعرف على بعضهم البعض.

"عندما يكون لديك بيئة حي لا يعرف الناس فيها بعضهم البعض ، حيث يشعر الناس بالقلق من الغرباء في الشارع ، ويحتاج شخص ما إلى مساعدة في تلك اللحظة ، فقد يكون الناس على الأرجح ينظرون بعيداً أو يستمرون في المشي دون أن يقرضوا اليد ، "تقول.

استخدم علماء الاجتماع هذه النظرية لشرح الفوارق في تطور الأمراض المرتبطة بالإجهاد على المدى الطويل. لكن يورك كورنويل تقوم بتطبيق النظرية على لحظات سريعة وملحظة عندما يستطيع الناس استخدام المساعدة ولكن لا يحصلون عليها. وتقول إنه بمرور الوقت يمكن أن تضيف تلك اللحظات وتساهم في التفاوتات الصحية بين المجموعات العرقية.

"إن التفاوتات في الصحة عبر العرق دائمة ومتنامية في العديد من الحالات. نحن لا نملك حقا فهم جيد للأسباب التي تجعلنا نرى مثل هذه الفوارق الكبيرة. "هذه العمليات اليومية يمكن أن تكون مساهمة مهمة" ، يقول يورك كورنويل.

حول المؤلف

ساهم معهد كورنيل للعلوم الاجتماعية ، حيث كان يورك كورنويل زميل هيئة التدريس ، في دعمه.

مصدر: جامعة كورنيل

كتاب ذات الصلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = develop empathy؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Have Human Good Samaritans Gone Racist And Lack Empathy?

developing empathy 5 1

"It's very surprising and disappointing to find such low rates of people helping each other and that African-American patients and those in poorer counties are left to wait longer for help," says Erin York Cornwell.

People who have a medical emergency in a public place can’t necessarily rely on the kindness of strangers, sociologists report.

Only 2.5 percent of people, or 1 in 39, got help from strangers before emergency medical personnel arrived, according to a study in the American Journal of Public Health.

For African Americans, these dismal findings only get worse. African Americans were less than half as likely as Caucasians to get help from a bystander, regardless of the type of symptoms or illness they were suffering—only 1.8 percent, or fewer than 1 in 55 African Americans, received assistance. For Caucasians, the corresponding number was 4.2 percent, or 1 in 24.

People in lower-income and densely populated counties were also less likely to get help, the researchers say. Conversely, those in less densely populated counties with average socioeconomic levels were most likely to get assistance.

“It’s very surprising and disappointing to find such low rates of people helping each other and that African-American patients and those in poorer counties are left to wait longer for help,” says lead author Erin York Cornwell, assistant professor of sociology at Cornell University. York Cornwell wrote the study with Alex Currit, a doctoral student in sociology.

York Cornwell points out that the types of support bystanders could offer require little to no training, and could include offering a glass of water, covering someone with a blanket, putting pressure on a wound, or assisting with medications.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“We find evidence that bystanders can provide help in a huge range of scenarios, but the rates of assistance are so incredibly low,” she says.

In the paper, York Cornwell and Currit analyzed data on nearly 22,500 patients from the 2011 National Emergency Medical Services Information System (NEMSIS) data set, which they linked to characteristics of counties where the incidents occurred.

The data came from emergency medical services providers, who fill out a form after each ambulance call. The form includes an indication of what type of help, if any, patients received from bystanders before medical staff arrived on the scene. Because of underrepresentation of Latinos in the data, the researchers focused on African Americans and Caucasians.

York Cornwell thinks that disparities in receiving help could stem from differences in the social context of the neighborhoods where emergencies occurred. Sociological research suggests that socioeconomic disadvantage within an area shapes how people relate to each other. For example, neighborhoods that have a high degree of poverty and residential instability tend to have fewer social institutions like synagogues, churches, and community organizations—and this can make it difficult for residents to get to know each other.

“When you have a neighborhood environment where people don’t know each other, where people are wary of strangers on the street, and someone needs help right in that moment, people may be more likely to just look away or keep walking without lending a hand,” she says.

Sociologists have used this theory to explain disparities in the development of stress-related illnesses over the long term. But York Cornwell is applying the theory to brief, urgent moments when people could use help but don’t get it; over time those moments could add up and contribute to health disparities across racial groups, she says.

“Disparities in health across race are persistent and growing in many cases. We don’t really have a good understanding of the reasons why we see such large disparities. These day-to-day processes could be an important contributor,” York Cornwell says.

About the Authors

Cornell’s Institute for the Social Sciences, where York Cornwell is a faculty fellow, contributed support.

Source: Cornell University

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=developing empathy;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…