Sind menschliche gute Samariter rassistisch geworden und leiden nicht an Empathie?

Entwicklung von Empathie 5 1

"Es ist sehr überraschend und enttäuschend, so niedrige Raten von Menschen zu finden, die sich gegenseitig helfen und dass afroamerikanische Patienten und diejenigen in ärmeren Ländern länger auf Hilfe warten müssen", sagt Erin York Cornwell.

Menschen, die an einem öffentlichen Ort einen medizinischen Notfall haben, können sich nicht unbedingt auf die Freundlichkeit von Fremden verlassen, berichten Soziologen.

Nur 2.5 Prozent der Menschen, oder 1 in 39, erhielten Hilfe von Fremden, bevor das medizinische Notfallpersonal eintraf, laut einer Studie in der American Journal für öffentliche Gesundheit.

Für Afroamerikaner werden diese düsteren Ergebnisse nur schlimmer. Afroamerikaner waren weniger als halb so wahrscheinlich wie Kaukasier, um Hilfe von einem Umstehenden zu bekommen, ungeachtet der Art von Symptomen oder Krankheit, an der sie litten - nur 1.8-Prozent oder weniger als 1 bei 55-Afroamerikanern erhielten Hilfe. Für Kaukasier war die entsprechende Zahl 4.2 Prozent oder 1 in 24.

Menschen in einkommensschwächeren und dicht besiedelten Landkreisen würden ebenfalls seltener Hilfe bekommen, sagen die Forscher. Umgekehrt erhielten diejenigen in weniger dicht besiedelten Kreisen mit durchschnittlichen sozioökonomischen Niveaus am ehesten Hilfe.

"Es ist sehr überraschend und enttäuschend, so niedrige Raten von Menschen zu finden, die sich gegenseitig helfen und dass afroamerikanische Patienten und solche in ärmeren Ländern länger auf Hilfe warten müssen", sagt Erstautorin Erin York Cornwell, Assistenzprofessorin für Soziologie an der Cornell University . York Cornwell schrieb die Studie mit Alex Currit, einem Doktoranden in Soziologie.

York Cornwell weist darauf hin, dass die Arten von Unterstützung Umstehenden bieten können erfordern wenig bis gar keine Ausbildung, und könnte beinhalten, ein Glas Wasser, Abdeckung jemand mit einer Decke, Druck auf eine Wunde oder die Unterstützung mit Medikamenten.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


"Wir finden Belege dafür, dass Umstehende in einer Vielzahl von Szenarien Hilfe leisten können, aber die Rate der Hilfe ist so unglaublich niedrig", sagt sie.

In der Studie analysierten York Cornwell und Currit Daten über fast 22,500-Patienten aus dem Datenmaterial des Nationalen Notfallmedizinischen Informationssystems (NEMSIS) von 2011, die mit Merkmalen der Bezirke, in denen die Vorfälle auftraten, verknüpft waren.

Die Daten stammten von Rettungsdienstleistern, die nach jedem Krankenwagenanruf ein Formular ausfüllen. Das Formular enthält einen Hinweis darauf, welche Art von Hilfe Patienten von Zuschauern erhalten haben, bevor das medizinische Personal am Einsatzort eingetroffen ist. Aufgrund der Unterrepräsentation von Latinos in den Daten konzentrierten sich die Forscher auf Afroamerikaner und Kaukasier.

York Cornwell ist der Ansicht, dass Ungleichheiten beim Erhalt von Hilfe auf Unterschiede im sozialen Kontext der Stadtteile, in denen Notfälle aufgetreten sind, zurückzuführen sind. Soziologische Untersuchungen deuten darauf hin, dass sozioökonomische Benachteiligung in einem Bereich die Beziehung der Menschen zueinander prägt. Zum Beispiel haben Viertel mit einem hohen Grad an Armut und instabiler Wohnsituation weniger soziale Einrichtungen wie Synagogen, Kirchen und Gemeindeorganisationen - und dies kann es den Bewohnern erschweren, sich näher kennenzulernen.

"Wenn man in einer Umgebung lebt, in der man sich nicht kennt, wo man sich vor Fremden auf der Straße hütet und man in diesem Moment Hilfe braucht, schaut man vielleicht eher weg oder läuft weiter, ohne ein Geld zu leihen Hand ", sagt sie.

Soziologen haben diese Theorie verwendet, um Disparitäten in der Entwicklung von stressbedingten Krankheiten auf lange Sicht zu erklären. Aber York Cornwell wendet die Theorie auf kurze, dringende Momente an, in denen Menschen Hilfe gebrauchen können, aber sie nicht bekommen; Im Laufe der Zeit könnten sich diese Momente summieren und zu gesundheitlichen Ungleichheiten zwischen den Rassengruppen beitragen, sagt sie.

"Unterschiede in der Gesundheit über die Rasse hinweg sind hartnäckig und wachsen in vielen Fällen. Wir haben nicht wirklich ein gutes Verständnis für die Gründe, warum wir so große Disparitäten sehen. Diese täglichen Prozesse könnten einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten ", sagt York Cornwell.

Über die Autoren

Cornell's Institut für die Sozialwissenschaften, wo York Cornwell ein Fakultätskollege ist, leistete Unterstützung.

Quelle: Cornell University

Verwandte Buch:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Empathie entwickeln; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Have Human Good Samaritans Gone Racist And Lack Empathy?

developing empathy 5 1

"It's very surprising and disappointing to find such low rates of people helping each other and that African-American patients and those in poorer counties are left to wait longer for help," says Erin York Cornwell.

People who have a medical emergency in a public place can’t necessarily rely on the kindness of strangers, sociologists report.

Only 2.5 percent of people, or 1 in 39, got help from strangers before emergency medical personnel arrived, according to a study in the American Journal of Public Health.

For African Americans, these dismal findings only get worse. African Americans were less than half as likely as Caucasians to get help from a bystander, regardless of the type of symptoms or illness they were suffering—only 1.8 percent, or fewer than 1 in 55 African Americans, received assistance. For Caucasians, the corresponding number was 4.2 percent, or 1 in 24.

People in lower-income and densely populated counties were also less likely to get help, the researchers say. Conversely, those in less densely populated counties with average socioeconomic levels were most likely to get assistance.

“It’s very surprising and disappointing to find such low rates of people helping each other and that African-American patients and those in poorer counties are left to wait longer for help,” says lead author Erin York Cornwell, assistant professor of sociology at Cornell University. York Cornwell wrote the study with Alex Currit, a doctoral student in sociology.

York Cornwell points out that the types of support bystanders could offer require little to no training, and could include offering a glass of water, covering someone with a blanket, putting pressure on a wound, or assisting with medications.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“We find evidence that bystanders can provide help in a huge range of scenarios, but the rates of assistance are so incredibly low,” she says.

In the paper, York Cornwell and Currit analyzed data on nearly 22,500 patients from the 2011 National Emergency Medical Services Information System (NEMSIS) data set, which they linked to characteristics of counties where the incidents occurred.

The data came from emergency medical services providers, who fill out a form after each ambulance call. The form includes an indication of what type of help, if any, patients received from bystanders before medical staff arrived on the scene. Because of underrepresentation of Latinos in the data, the researchers focused on African Americans and Caucasians.

York Cornwell thinks that disparities in receiving help could stem from differences in the social context of the neighborhoods where emergencies occurred. Sociological research suggests that socioeconomic disadvantage within an area shapes how people relate to each other. For example, neighborhoods that have a high degree of poverty and residential instability tend to have fewer social institutions like synagogues, churches, and community organizations—and this can make it difficult for residents to get to know each other.

“When you have a neighborhood environment where people don’t know each other, where people are wary of strangers on the street, and someone needs help right in that moment, people may be more likely to just look away or keep walking without lending a hand,” she says.

Sociologists have used this theory to explain disparities in the development of stress-related illnesses over the long term. But York Cornwell is applying the theory to brief, urgent moments when people could use help but don’t get it; over time those moments could add up and contribute to health disparities across racial groups, she says.

“Disparities in health across race are persistent and growing in many cases. We don’t really have a good understanding of the reasons why we see such large disparities. These day-to-day processes could be an important contributor,” York Cornwell says.

About the Authors

Cornell’s Institute for the Social Sciences, where York Cornwell is a faculty fellow, contributed support.

Source: Cornell University

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=developing empathy;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…