Les bons samaritains humains sont-ils devenus racistes et manquent d'empathie?

développer l'empathie 5 1

«Il est très surprenant et décevant de constater que les taux d'entraide sont si bas et que les patients afro-américains et ceux des pays pauvres doivent attendre plus longtemps pour avoir de l'aide», explique Erin York Cornwell.

Les personnes qui ont une urgence médicale dans un lieu public ne peuvent pas nécessairement compter sur la gentillesse des étrangers, rapportent les sociologues.

Seulement 2.5 pour cent des gens, ou 1 dans 39, ont reçu l'aide d'étrangers avant l'arrivée du personnel médical d'urgence, selon une étude American Journal of Public Health.

Pour les Afro-Américains, ces résultats lamentables ne font qu'empirer. Les Afro-Américains étaient moins de moitié moins susceptibles que les Caucasiens d'obtenir de l'aide d'un spectateur, indépendamment du type de symptômes ou de la maladie qu'ils souffraient - seul 1.8 pour cent, ou moins que 1 chez 55 Afro-Américains, a reçu de l'aide. Pour les Caucasiens, le nombre correspondant était 4.2%, ou 1 dans 24.

Les habitants des comtés à faible revenu et densément peuplés étaient également moins susceptibles d'obtenir de l'aide, selon les chercheurs. Inversement, ceux des comtés moins densément peuplés et ayant des niveaux socio-économiques moyens étaient les plus susceptibles d'obtenir de l'aide.

"Il est très surprenant et décevant de constater que les taux d'entraide soient si faibles et que les patients afro-américains et ceux des pays plus pauvres doivent attendre plus longtemps", explique Erin York Cornwell, professeure adjointe de sociologie à l'Université Cornell. . York Cornwell a écrit l'étude avec Alex Currit, un étudiant au doctorat en sociologie.

York Cornwell souligne que les types de spectateurs de soutien pourraient offrir peu ou pas de formation, et pourraient inclure offrir un verre d'eau, couvrir quelqu'un avec une couverture, faire pression sur une plaie, ou aider avec des médicaments.

"Nous trouvons des preuves que les passants peuvent fournir de l'aide dans une vaste gamme de scénarios, mais les taux d'assistance sont si incroyablement bas", dit-elle.

Dans cet article, York Cornwell et Currit ont analysé des données sur presque les patients 22,500 de l'ensemble de données du Système national d'information sur les services médicaux d'urgence (NEMSIS) 2011, qu'ils ont lié aux caractéristiques des comtés où les incidents sont survenus.

Les données proviennent des fournisseurs de services médicaux d'urgence, qui remplissent un formulaire après chaque appel d'ambulance. Le formulaire comprend une indication du type d'aide, le cas échéant, que les patients ont reçu de tiers avant l'arrivée du personnel médical sur les lieux. En raison de la sous-représentation des Latinos dans les données, les chercheurs se sont concentrés sur les Afro-Américains et les Caucasiens.

York Cornwell pense que les disparités dans la réception de l'aide pourraient provenir des différences dans le contexte social des quartiers où les situations d'urgence se sont produites. La recherche sociologique suggère que les désavantages socio-économiques dans une zone déterminent la façon dont les gens interagissent les uns avec les autres. Par exemple, les quartiers qui ont un degré élevé de pauvreté et d'instabilité résidentielle tendent à avoir moins d'institutions sociales comme les synagogues, les églises et les organisations communautaires, ce qui peut compliquer la tâche des résidents de se connaître.

"Lorsque vous avez un environnement de quartier où les gens ne se connaissent pas, où les gens se méfient des étrangers dans la rue, et que quelqu'un a besoin d'aide à ce moment-là, les gens ont plus tendance à regarder ailleurs ou à marcher sans prêter main », dit-elle.

Les sociologues ont utilisé cette théorie pour expliquer les disparités dans le développement des maladies liées au stress à long terme. Mais York Cornwell applique la théorie à des moments brefs et urgents où les gens pourraient utiliser l'aide, mais ne l'obtiennent pas; Au fil du temps, ces moments pourraient s'ajouter et contribuer aux disparités en matière de santé entre les groupes raciaux, dit-elle.

"Les disparités en matière de santé entre races sont persistantes et grandissantes dans de nombreux cas. Nous ne comprenons pas vraiment les raisons pour lesquelles nous constatons de telles disparités. Ces processus au jour le jour pourraient être un contributeur important », explique York Cornwell.

À propos des auteurs

L'Institut des sciences sociales de Cornell, où York Cornwell est membre du corps professoral, a apporté son soutien.

La source: L'Université Cornell

Livre connexe:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = développer de l'empathie; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Have Human Good Samaritans Gone Racist And Lack Empathy?

developing empathy 5 1

"It's very surprising and disappointing to find such low rates of people helping each other and that African-American patients and those in poorer counties are left to wait longer for help," says Erin York Cornwell.

People who have a medical emergency in a public place can’t necessarily rely on the kindness of strangers, sociologists report.

Only 2.5 percent of people, or 1 in 39, got help from strangers before emergency medical personnel arrived, according to a study in the American Journal of Public Health.

For African Americans, these dismal findings only get worse. African Americans were less than half as likely as Caucasians to get help from a bystander, regardless of the type of symptoms or illness they were suffering—only 1.8 percent, or fewer than 1 in 55 African Americans, received assistance. For Caucasians, the corresponding number was 4.2 percent, or 1 in 24.

People in lower-income and densely populated counties were also less likely to get help, the researchers say. Conversely, those in less densely populated counties with average socioeconomic levels were most likely to get assistance.

“It’s very surprising and disappointing to find such low rates of people helping each other and that African-American patients and those in poorer counties are left to wait longer for help,” says lead author Erin York Cornwell, assistant professor of sociology at Cornell University. York Cornwell wrote the study with Alex Currit, a doctoral student in sociology.

York Cornwell points out that the types of support bystanders could offer require little to no training, and could include offering a glass of water, covering someone with a blanket, putting pressure on a wound, or assisting with medications.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“We find evidence that bystanders can provide help in a huge range of scenarios, but the rates of assistance are so incredibly low,” she says.

In the paper, York Cornwell and Currit analyzed data on nearly 22,500 patients from the 2011 National Emergency Medical Services Information System (NEMSIS) data set, which they linked to characteristics of counties where the incidents occurred.

The data came from emergency medical services providers, who fill out a form after each ambulance call. The form includes an indication of what type of help, if any, patients received from bystanders before medical staff arrived on the scene. Because of underrepresentation of Latinos in the data, the researchers focused on African Americans and Caucasians.

York Cornwell thinks that disparities in receiving help could stem from differences in the social context of the neighborhoods where emergencies occurred. Sociological research suggests that socioeconomic disadvantage within an area shapes how people relate to each other. For example, neighborhoods that have a high degree of poverty and residential instability tend to have fewer social institutions like synagogues, churches, and community organizations—and this can make it difficult for residents to get to know each other.

“When you have a neighborhood environment where people don’t know each other, where people are wary of strangers on the street, and someone needs help right in that moment, people may be more likely to just look away or keep walking without lending a hand,” she says.

Sociologists have used this theory to explain disparities in the development of stress-related illnesses over the long term. But York Cornwell is applying the theory to brief, urgent moments when people could use help but don’t get it; over time those moments could add up and contribute to health disparities across racial groups, she says.

“Disparities in health across race are persistent and growing in many cases. We don’t really have a good understanding of the reasons why we see such large disparities. These day-to-day processes could be an important contributor,” York Cornwell says.

About the Authors

Cornell’s Institute for the Social Sciences, where York Cornwell is a faculty fellow, contributed support.

Source: Cornell University

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=developing empathy;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…