تعلم العيش بدون تناقضات داخلية

التغلب على الإساءة والشعور بالذنب والإيذاء الذاتي

الكثير من البالغين لديهم تاريخ من سوء المعاملة في مرحلة الطفولة. قد يكون سوء المعاملة مدمر بحيث لم تتعاف من الصدمة. لقد رأيت الناس العمل على "الطفل الداخلي من الماضي" لسنوات عديدة. حتى بعد سنوات من العلاج والتأمل يمكن أن الخوف والغضب لا تزال مستمرة. على حد قول المعلم التأمل واحد الذي كان إيذاء في مرحلة الطفولة، قال: "لم يذهب بعيدا تماما".

كما ضار مثل هذه التجارب في وقت مبكر يمكن أن يكون لدينا نفسية ، في كثير من الأحيان يرافقها شكل من أشكال الإساءة. هذا هو الاعتداء الذي نعطيه لأنفسنا. هذا الشكل أكثر انتشارًا ويؤثر على معظمنا بطريقة أو بأخرى. إن ما فعله الآخرون بنا في الماضي يصوغ كرهنا الذاتي وعدم جدارة.

نضيف إلى الحزن الهائل لطفولتنا ، مع عدم وجود الرحمة لأنفسنا. كانت تجارب طفولتنا مرتبطة بالوقت ؛ نحمل المعتدي الداخلي حولنا باستمرار. إننا نعتبر أنفسنا مسؤولين أحيانًا عن ظروف خارجة عن سيطرتنا ثم نسيء أنفسنا لسنوات بسبب النتيجة.

تفتتح مجموعة دعم حزن مساكننا خدماتها للمجتمع ككل. وفي إحدى الليالي ، انضم رجل لم يحضره أحد النزلاء إلى الجلسة الأولى للمجموعة. خلال الاجتماع الأولي شارك كل مشارك قصته الفردية من الحزن. قال هذا الشخص إن زوجته توفيت قبل خمس سنوات من مرض الزهايمر. كانوا متزوجين أكثر من خمسين عاما. وقبل أن تصاب بالمرض ، كان الزوجان يتعهدان لبعضهما البعض بأن لا أحد سيضع الآخر في دار لرعاية المسنين. بعد ذلك بقليل بدأت زوجته تتدهور عقلياً. لم تعد قادرة على التعرف على عائلتها ، وكانت تتجول بعيداً عن المنزل ولا تستطيع أن تجد طريقها إلى الوراء. عند نقطة واحدة غادرت الموقد الغازي للموقد ، واقتربت من إحراق المنزل. وشجع كل من أطفال الزوجين وطبيب الأسرة الزوج على وضع زوجته في دار لرعاية المسنين. على مضض ، اعترف بها ووضعتها في أجمل منزل يمكنه العثور عليه. ماتت بعد أسبوعين من الانتقال إلى المنزل.

عند هذه النقطة في قصته وكان الرجل يبكي دون حسيب ولا رقيب. وقال انه لم أعش يوما واحدا في السنوات الخمس الماضية خالية من الشعور بالذنب من كسر نذره لزوجته. الشعب الأخرى في المجموعة تؤيد كل ما قام به. واقترحت امرأة واحدة للرجل يغفر نفسه لجعل وعد في المقام الأول بدلا من الشعور بالذنب من أجل العمل التي قطعت وعود. ورفض الرجل أن يستمع إلى أي من نصيحتهم، وقال "لا بد لي من العيش مع بالذنب من بوعدي كسر لبقية حياتي".

عقد أنفسنا الرهائن إلى الماضي

يبدو أننا لديها قدرة غير محدودة على عقد أنفسنا رهينة للماضي. منذ يتم إصلاح الماضي، فمن لا ترحم. فإنه لن يقدم لنا فرصة ثانية للتصرف بشكل مختلف. ماضينا يقول أن الضرر فعلنا لا يمكن اصلاحه. نحن سجناء من الإجراءات التي لا يمكن تغيير. ولكن يمكن وجهة نظرنا لأحداث تغيير على الرغم من أن الأحداث نفسها لا تستطيع ذلك.

الشعور بالذنب تنشأ عندما نحافظ على ثابت صورة الذات من الماضي إلى الحاضر. في الذنب ليس هناك مجال للتحسين الذاتي أو النمو، ولكن الكثير لإدانة الذات. فعلنا شيئا العرجاء أمس أو العام الماضي، ونحن نلوم أنفسنا اليوم عن تلك الأعمال الماضية. لكن الأمور ليست هي نفسها الآن. ونحن قد تستجيب بشكل مختلف للغاية إذا كان الوضع نفسه حدث اليوم. لماذا نحن نطيل في الذنب عن الشخص اعتدنا أن تكون؟ وقد توفي هذا الشخص، والتي ترك الذهاب من تلك الصورة، والسماح لأنفسنا بأن نكون ما نحن عليه اليوم، يمكننا أن تجربة الغفران.

الماضي لا يمكن تغييره

إن طريقة فهم الذنب لا تتمثل في تجاهلها أو قمعها بل لفتحها خارج نطاق محتواها وعلاقتها بالوقت. بما أن أعمالنا الماضية لا يمكن تغييرها ، فإن الحديث مراراً وتكراراً عما فعلناه خطأ يجعلنا نسجن في غضون فترة لا يمكن تغييرها. الكفاح بهذه الطريقة يعزز فقط عبودية لدينا. إنه شكل آخر من أشكال الإساءة الذاتية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الإجراءات غير الكاملة هي مؤشر على إنسانيتنا. عدد قليل جدا من الإجراءات التي نتخذها نقية تماما في الموقف والاستجابة. للإقرار بأن معظم استجابتنا كإنسان غير كاملة وجزئي هو الاعتراف بأن نمونا لم ينته. لقد وضعنا على هذه الأرض لننمو بطريقة مفتوحة ، لا أن نكون طاهرين.

عندما نكون متسامح، ونحن نحاول أن يغفر لنا هؤلاء الذين خاطئ عن الأضرار المحددة التي تسببت. ولكن يمكن أبدا حوادث مخالفات تتم حق. يمكن الصفح لا يأتي من خلال معالجة حادثة معينة وحدها. يمكن أن تأتي إلا من خلال اسقاط صفة الشخص الذي فعل خاطئ. الحرف هو المجموع الكلي لسلوك الشخص جميع. نحن نغفر الأشخاص الذين لا هم. نحن نغفر لهم لعدم البشر موثوق بها تماما. المغفرة مثل هذا ممكن فقط عندما قبلنا عيوبنا الشخصية الخاصة.

نحن نخلق الجحيم الخاصة بنا في أذهاننا

في مسرحية جان بول سارتر لا خروج، ثلاثة قتلى يجدون أنفسهم في الجحيم. هذا الجحيم ليس البيئة المادية المعذبة التي غالبا ما يتم تصويرها في اللاهوتيات ، لكن الموقف الذي لا يرحم من السكان تجاه بعضهم البعض. هؤلاء الثلاثة لا يمكن أن يتحملوا بعضهم بعضاً ولكنهم لا يجدون مخرجاً من شركة الآخرين.

توضح القصة كيف نخلق كل جحيم داخل العقل. لا نحتاج إلى مساعدة من ألوهية غاضبة لا ترحم. الجحيم الذي نخلقه على الأرض لبعضنا البعض هو أحد أعراض الجحيم الخاصة التي نخلقها عندما لا نكون قادرين على السماح بأي تجاوزات.

نحن عادة ما تكون غير قادر أن يغفر أنفسنا والسماح لأنفسنا بأن نكون بشرا غير معصوم. بسبب هذه القسوة، ونحن ليست جيدة على الآخرين متسامح. لدينا مجالا كبيرا في قلوبنا لقبول الذات، ناهيك عن المغفرة للآخرين. لمزيد من الضغط على أنفسنا نحن مع أخلاقنا، وأكبر بأنفسنا إدانة. عندما نعرف أنفسنا على أننا على طريق تنقية، ونحن إنشاء الظل الذي يتوقع منا أن يكون فوق طاقة البشر. فإن النتائج هي عار، والشعور بالذنب، وعقل لا ترحم.

الأخلاق الدينية لا يمكن أن تساعدنا

لا يمكن للأخلاق الدينية أن تساعدنا في الغفران لأنها تفرض فكرة المغفرة التي لا تأتي من القلب. "أسامحك لأن الله يتوقع ذلك مني." نحن نحاول أن نرقى إلى مستوى معايير الله. هذه الإيماءات لا تأتي من قلب مفتوح ولكن من معيار أخلاقي محدد.

لا يمكن أن تنشأ المغفرة إلا من الإنسانية العميقة. الغفران لم يكن ابدا. لقد نشأت دائما من براءة القلب التي تعطي الإذن بأن تكون غير معصومة.

واحدة من الأحداث المؤلمة في مرحلة البلوغ المبكرة كانت وفاة أمي. كنت أذهب إلى المدرسة في أوهايو وكان والداي يعيشان في جورجيا. من حين لآخر كنت أسافر إلى جورجيا لزيارتهم في العطلات وعطلات نهاية الأسبوع. في إحدى الرحلات ، كانت والدتي مريضة للغاية وكانت درجة حرارتها أعلى من درجة 102 لمدة أسبوعين. كانت قد رأت الطبيب قبل أسبوع ، وشخصت حالته كمرض أنفلونزا.

بعد الأسبوع الثاني من هذه الحمى الشديدة ، اعتقدت والدتي أن المرض قد يكون أكثر خطورة مما تم تشخيصه في البداية ، وطلب مني الاتصال بالطبيب والإبلاغ بأن الحمى مستمرة. كانت علاقتي مع أمي في ذلك الوقت متوترة ، وأخبرتها أن الطبيب قد شخصها بالفعل بالأنفلونزا ، ولم أكن أريد أن أزعجه مرة أخرى. طلبت مني أن أتصل به مرة أخرى ، وقد وافقت على مضض. عندما اتصلت به ، صرّحت المشكلة كقلق أمي المتزايد ، وقالت إنه إذا كان سيخبرها مرة أخرى أنها أصيبت بالأنفلونزا ، فستقبلها وتسترخي. أخبرني الطبيب أن أخبرها أنها كانت الأنفلونزا. نقلت هذا إلى والدتي ، وأصبحت أكثر استرخاء حول حمى.

انتهت رحلتي وعدت إلى البيت. بعد يومين من عودتي تلقيت مكالمة من أخي. توفيت والدتي بالتهاب رئوي.

السماح أنفسنا لارتكاب الأخطاء والتعلم منها

كيف كان لي أن أعيش مع هذا الموت؟ ومن شأن ذلك أن العمل في حرق لي منذ سنوات، وأنا نفسي أدان بقسوة أثناء محاولة للتكفير عن ذلك في العديد من الطرق. بعد سنوات من محاولة لتصحيح الخطأ، ورأيت لا يمكن أبدا أن هذا ينبغي القيام به. سوف الذاتي المغفرة لا تأتي أبدا من ترشيد عمل لي أو إلقاء اللوم على الطبيب. يمكن أن يأتي إلا من حكمة من الزمن، من مشاهدة أعمالي، مع العلم نواياي، ورؤية نتائج غير مكتملة. بعد أن المثل العليا وبدا للتو أن تسبب الصراع أكثر نحو الداخل. منذ أنا لا يمكن أبدا أن ترقى إلى مستوى توقعاتي من نفسي، لم يكن هناك شيء ترك القيام به ولكن أسمح لنفسي لارتكاب الأخطاء والتعلم من كل منهم على طول الطريق.

لقد وجدت أنني أصبحت أكثر تقبلا من أخطائي عندما كان في نيتي أن نتعلم منها. رأيت فعلت عادة أفضل ما يمكن، نظرا للظروف - مزاجي، علاقاتي الخلط بينه وبين الآخرين، تاريخ بلادي الماضي. من كل ذلك أود أن يتصرف، وكان في كثير من الأحيان عمل غير مكتمل. أكثر ما يمكن أن أفعله ولكن محاولة للتعلم وتبدأ مرة أخرى.

ونحن نفعل كل ما بوسعنا. عندما نرى هذا في بلدان أخرى، قلوبنا مفتوحة. عندما نراها في أنفسنا، يمكننا أن نبدأ ليغفر. صحيح، أفعالنا وغالبا ما تكون غير مكتملة ومؤذ. قد تفقد نحن في حالة الأنانية من العقل، ولكن في كثير من الأحيان هذا هو كل ما في وضوح عقولنا تسمح. بسبب فهمنا المحدود في تلك اللحظة، لا توجد وسيلة أخرى يمكننا أن نتصرف. لكن تحقيق هذه ليست سوى بداية لعملية معرفة الذات.

مع مرور الوقت أن نبدأ في عرض أنفسنا مع التعاطف أكثر من ذلك بقليل. نبدأ كونه متسامح. لكثير من الناس هذا من الصعب أن تفعل، لذلك نحن نطور التسامح مع التعصب لدينا. ونحن نملك أهوائنا. وقال: "أنا لا ينبغي أن يكون مثل هذا،" ظروف ببساطة أكثر التعصب في عقولنا. بدلا من ذلك فإننا قد فتح على الزوايا المظلمة في أذهاننا، والسماح للظل على ان يدخل حيز ضوء اهتمامنا. وعي الدول لدينا من العقل هو الضوء الذي يشفي. الوعي هو حماية نفسها من التصرف بشكل غير مسؤول.

أوه ، هذا فقط الطريق أنا

لتبرير سلوكنا قائلا: "أوه، هذا هو مجرد وسيلة وأنا"، هو استبعاد مسؤوليتنا عن كونها وسيلة ما نحن عليه. بل هو انحراف بعيدا عن ما نحن عليه من خلال توفير ذريعة ومبررات ما نقوم به. عندما نقبل تماما من نحن، نحن لسنا بحاجة عذر، ومن المسلم به تماما كل ما نقوم به وتملكها. نحن نعيش مع أنفسنا مجرد وسيلة ونحن، ودراسة ردود الفعل لدينا بشكل مكثف والاستجابات. نحن نكرم أنفسنا كبشر المتزايد وتحمل المسؤولية عن التصرف وفقا لتلك الإنسانية.

يجري الطبيعية كما يتضمن عقد أنفسنا والآخرين للمساءلة عن السلوك غير اللائق. لا يمكن أن العديد من السلوكيات التي تحملنا تغتفر بسهولة. نحن تحمل المسؤولية عن افتقارنا للمغفرة وعقد الآخرين للمساءلة عن أفعالهم. وهذا يمكن أن يتخذ شكل مواجهة أو تجنب الشخص تماما. لكنها تعتمد إجراءاتنا على كونه الإنسان كونه المسؤول وليس على رد فعل محدد. الغفران هو ممكن فقط عندما نأخذ المسؤولية الكاملة دون تشتيت اللوم أو ترشيد سلوكنا.

يجري الطبيعية هي مفتوحة الغفران. انها تعيش حياة كإنسان دون تناقض داخلي. هو على حد سواء كونها بسيطة ويجري ببساطة ما نحن عليه من دون ادعاء أو مبالغة. ونحن نملك أخطائنا دون إدانة بسبب ونحن مهتمون في النمو الذاتي، وليس الذاتي سوء المعاملة. مغفرة يتدفق بسهولة من أنفسنا للآخرين لأنه لا ينطوي قلوبنا في أي صراع داخلي.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
منشورات الحكمة ، بوسطن. © 1998.
http://www.wisdompubs.org

المادة المصدر

دروس من الموت
بواسطة رودني سميث.

دروس من الوفاة قبل سميث رودني.في اللغة اليومية التي يمكن أن نفهمها جميعا ، يمتد رودني سميث في الحديث عن الموت للأشخاص من جميع الأعمار والحالات الصحية. من خلال التدريبات والتأملات التأملية الموجهة في نهاية كل فصل ، تصبح دروس الموت مخططا لنمونا الخاص.

للحصول على معلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب. (طبعة جديدة ، غطاء جديد). متوفر أيضًا في إصدار Kindle.

نبذة عن الكاتب

رودني سميثقضى رودني سميث ثماني سنوات في معتكف مكثف في جمعية انسايت التأمل في ماساتشوستس وكراهب بوذي في آسيا. منذ أن كان راهبًا في 1983 ، عمل كموظف اجتماعي في مساكن الطلبة ، ومنسق الفجيعة ، ومدير البرامج ، والمدير التنفيذي. في نهاية 2016 ، تقاعد رودني من دور التدريس بدوام كامل بعد أكثر من سنوات التدريس 30. شغل منصب كبير المعلمين في جمعية التأمل البصيرة (IMS) والمعلم التأسيسي والموجه لتأمل سياتل إنسايت. وهو مؤلف الكتب دروس من الموت, الخروج من الخداع الذاتي: تحرير بوذا التعاليم اللاعقلانيةو الاستيقاظ: نقلة نوعية في القلب. لمزيد من المعلومات ، انتقل إلى http://www.seattleinsight.org/

فيديو مع رودني سميث: التحرر من القلق

كتب ذات صلة

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ، الكلمات الرئيسية = rodney smith buddhism ، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

10 27 هناك تحول جديد في النموذج اليوم
نقلة نوعية جديدة اليوم في الفيزياء والوعي
by إرفين لازلو وبيير ماريو بيافا
أسباب 3 لديك آلام الرقبة
أسباب 3 لديك آلام الرقبة
by كريستيان ورسفولد
لماذا يحتضن الأمريكيون منتجات اللحوم النباتية؟
لماذا يحتضن الأمريكيون منتجات اللحوم النباتية؟
by شيريل كيرشنباوم ودوغلاس بوهلر

Learning to Live without Internal Contradictions

Overcoming Abuse, Guilt, and Self-Abuse

Many adults have a history of childhood abuse. The mistreatment may have been so devastating that they never fully recovered from the trauma. I have seen people work on their "inner child of the past" for many years. Even after years of therapy and meditation the fear and rage can still continue. In the words of one meditation teacher who was abused as a child, "It never goes away completely."

As harmful as these early experiences can be to our psyche, an accompanying form of abuse frequently compounds them. This is the abuse we give ourselves. This form is even more widespread and affects most of us in one way or another. What others have done to us in the past shapes our self-dislike and unworthiness.

We add to the enormous sorrow of our childhood, with the lack of compassion for ourselves. Our childhood experiences were time bound; we carry the inner abuser around with us continually. We sometimes hold ourselves accountable for circumstances beyond our control and then abuse ourselves for years over the outcome.

Our hospice grief support group opens its services to the community at large. One evening a man who had not been served by hospice joined the first group session. During the initial meeting each participant shared his or her individual story of grief. This person said that his wife had died five years earlier of Alzheimer's disease. They had been married over fifty years. Before she became ill, the couple had pledged to each other that neither one would ever place the other in a nursing home. Soon after that vow his wife started to deteriorate mentally. She could no longer recognize her family, and she would wander away from home and not be able to find her way back. At one point she left the gas burner of the stove on and came close to burning down the house. The couple's grown children and the family physician all encouraged the husband to place his wife in a nursing home. Reluctantly, he conceded and placed her in the nicest home he could find. She died two weeks after moving to the home.

At this point in his story the man was crying uncontrollably. He said that he had not lived a single day in the last five years free from the guilt of breaking his vow to his wife. The other people in the group all supported what he had done. One woman suggested the man forgive himself for making the promise in the first place rather than feeling guilty for the action which broke the promise. The man refused to listen to any of their advice and said, "I must live with the guilt of my broken promise for the rest of my life."

Holding Ourselves Hostage To The Past

We seem to have an unlimited ability to hold ourselves hostage to the past. Since the past is fixed, it is unforgiving. It will not give us a second chance to act differently. Our past says that the harm we did is irreparable. We are prisoners of actions we cannot change. But our perspective of the events can change even though the events themselves cannot.

Guilt arises when we maintain a fixed self-image from past to present. In guilt there is no room for self-improvement or growth, but plenty for self-condemnation. We did something unskillful yesterday or last year, and we blame ourselves today for those past actions. But things are not the same now. We might respond very differently if the same situation occurred today. Why do we linger in guilt about the person we used to be? That person has died, and, by letting go of that image and allowing ourselves to be who we are today, we can experience forgiveness.

The Past Cannot Be Changed

The way to understand guilt is not to ignore or repress it but to open it up beyond its content and relationship to time. Since our past actions cannot be changed, to dwell again and again on what we did wrong keeps us imprisoned within immutable time. Struggling in this way only reinforces our bondage. It is another form of self-abuse.

Imperfect actions are an indication of our humanness. Very few actions we take are totally pure in attitude and response. To acknowledge that as a human being most of our responses are incomplete and partial is to admit that our growth is unfinished. We have been placed on this earth to grow in an open-ended way, not to be pure.

When we are forgiving, we attempt to forgive those who wrong us for the specific harm they have caused. But incidents of wrongdoing can never be made right. Forgiveness cannot come by addressing a particular incident alone. It can only come by forgiving the character of the person who did the wrong. The character is the sum total of all the person's behavior. We forgive persons for being who they are. We forgive them for not being totally reliable human beings. Such forgiveness is possible only when we have accepted our own character flaws.

We Create Our Own Hell In Our Mind

In Jean Paul Sartre's play No Exit, three dead people find themselves in hell. This hell is not the torturous physical environment often depicted in theologies but the unforgiving attitude of the inhabitants toward one another. These three people cannot tolerate one another but can find no way out of the others' company.

The story demonstrates how we each create a hell within the mind. We need no help from an angry and unforgiving deity. The hell we create on earth for one another is a symptom of the private hells we create when we are unable to allow for any transgressions.

We are usually unable to forgive ourselves and allow ourselves to be fallible human beings. Because of this harshness, we are not good at forgiving others. We have little room in our hearts for self-acceptance, much less for forgiveness of others. The more we pressure ourselves with our morality, the greater our self-condemnation. When we define ourselves as being on a path of purification, we create a shadow that expects us to be superhuman. The results are shame, guilt, and an unforgiving mind.

Religious Morality Cannot Help Us

Religious morality cannot help us forgive because it imposes an idea of forgiveness that does not come from the heart. "I forgive you because God expects that of me." We attempt to live up to God's standards of tolerance. Such gestures do not come from an open heart but from a prescribed ethical standard.

Forgiveness can only arise out of deep humanity. Forgiveness was never divine. It has always arisen from the innocence of heart which gives permission to be fallible.

One of the distressing events in my early adulthood was the death of my mother. I was going to school in Ohio and my parents were living in Georgia. Occasionally I would fly down to Georgia to visit them on holidays and weekends. On one trip my mother was very ill and had a temperature of over 102 degrees for two weeks. She had seen the doctor a week earlier, and he had diagnosed her illness as influenza.

After the second week of this high fever my mother thought that the illness might be more serious than originally diagnosed, and asked me to call the doctor and report that the fever was continuing. My relationship with my mother at that point in time was strained, and I told her that the doctor had already diagnosed her with the flu, and I did not want to bother him again. She asked me to call him once more, and I reluctantly agreed. When I called him, I phrased the problem as my mother's heightened concern, and said that if he would simply tell her again she had the flu, she would accept it and relax. The doctor told me to tell her it was the flu. I relayed this back to my mother, and she did become more relaxed about her fever.

My trip came to an end and I returned home. Two days after I got back I received a call from my brother. My mother had died of pneumonia.

Allowing Ourselves To Make Mistakes and Learn From Them

How was I to live with that death? That action would burn in me for years, and I condemned myself cruelly while trying to atone for it in many ways. After years of trying to right the wrong, I saw this could never be done. Self-forgiveness would never come from rationalizing my action or blaming the doctor. It could only come from the wisdom of time, from watching my actions, knowing my intentions, and seeing the incomplete results. Having high ideals just seemed to cause more inward conflict. Since I could never live up to my expectations of myself, there was nothing left to do but allow myself to make mistakes and learn from them all along the way.

I found I became more accepting of my mistakes when my intention was to learn from them. I saw I usually did the best I could, given the circumstances -- my mood, my confused relationships with others, my past history. Out of all of that I would act, and often the action was incomplete. What more could I do but attempt to learn and begin again.

We all do the best we can. When we see this in others, our hearts open. When we see it in ourselves, we can begin to forgive. True, our actions are often incomplete and hurtful. We may be lost in a selfish state of mind, but often that is all the clarity our minds will allow. Because of our limited understanding in that moment, there is no other way we can act. But realizing this is only the beginning of the process of self-knowledge.

Over time we begin to view ourselves with a little more compassion. We start by being tolerant. For many people this is difficult to do, so we develop tolerance for our intolerance. We own our prejudice. Saying, "I should not be like this," simply conditions more intolerance in our minds. Instead we might open to our mind's darkest corners, allowing the shadow to come into the light of our attention. Awareness of our states of mind is the light that heals. Awareness is its own protection from acting irresponsibly.

Oh, That's Just The Way I Am

To excuse our behavior by saying, "Oh, that's just the way I am", is to dismiss our responsibility for being the way we are. It is a deflection away from who we are by providing an excuse and a rationale for what we do. When we fully accept who we are, we do not need an excuse; everything we do is totally acknowledged and owned. We live with ourselves just the way we are, intensely studying our reactions and responses. We honor ourselves as growing human beings and take responsibility for acting according to that humanity.

Being natural also includes holding ourselves and others accountable for inappropriate behavior. Many of the behaviors that we have endured cannot be easily forgiven. We take responsibility for our lack of forgiveness and hold others accountable for their actions. This could take the form of either confronting or avoiding the person altogether. But our actions are based on being a responsible human being and not on a prescribed reaction. Forgiveness is possible only when we take full responsibility without deflecting the blame or rationalizing our behavior.

Being natural is open-ended forgiveness. It is living a life as a human being without internal contradiction. It is both being simple and simply being who we are without pretension or exaggeration. We own our mistakes without condemnation because we are interested in self-growth, not self-abuse. Forgiveness flows easily from ourselves to other people because our hearts are not involved in any internal conflict.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Wisdom Publications, Boston. ©1998.
http://www.wisdompubs.org

Article Source

Lessons from the Dying
by Rodney Smith.

Lessons from the Dying by Rodney Smith. In everyday language we can all understand, Rodney Smith extends the conversation about death to people of all ages and states of health. Through exercises and guided meditative reflections at the end of each chapter, the lessons of the dying become a blueprint for our own growth.

For info or to order this book. (new edition, new cover). Also available in a Kindle edition.

About The Author

Rodney SmithRODNEY SMITH spent eight years in intensive retreat both at the Insight Meditation Society in Massachusetts and as a Buddhist monk in Asia. Since disrobing as a monk in 1983, he has worked as a hospice social worker, bereavement coordinator, program director, and executive director. At the end of 2016, Rodney retired from a full-time teaching role after more than 30 years of teaching. He served as a Senior Teacher for the Insight Meditation Society (IMS) and the founding and guiding teacher of Seattle Insight Meditation. He is author of the books Lessons From the DyingStepping Out of Self-Deception: The Buddha's Liberating Teaching of No-Self, and Awakening: A Paradigm Shift of the Heart.  For more information, go to http://www.seattleinsight.org/

Video with Rodney Smith: Freedom from the Worry Mind

Related Books

Books by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=rodney smith buddhism;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}